manjgu wrote:
ShauryaT....
"There is no attack force coming in from the Glaciers or the Saltoro, so I do not get the import of this question." ..
you need to get ur geogrphy right..there are ingress routes from the southern glacier region into the Ladhak valley..if u let go Siachen then u should be prepared to let go Ladhak and make a last stand at Khardung La!!!
manjgu ji: Defense at Khardung La, assumes loss of Nubra Valley/Thoise and Siachen Base Camp to TSPA. I do not know why would someone jump to this conclusion of a loss of these, to make a stand at Khardung La. These locations have always been IA held. Also, do not know how many quotes from how many respected Generals and army men does it take to convince someone that TSPA is no match for the IA in the area and the topography of the land does not favor an invasion force for ANYONE, but I am convinced on the matter that Siachen can be held, without physical control. The only risk, as I see it is a stupid frontal assault like the one at Kargil, if demilitarization breaks down, for supposed political compulsions and moralistic positions by the political masters, which is an Indian problem and this assumes that all monitoring mechanisms break down with TSPA or IA failed to monitor and react in time.
Ladhak will become double vulnerable both from east and north.
You mean Ladakh is vulnerable from the North as PLA will somehow figure out to invade Ladakh from the desolate lands of Shaksgam by running over Indira col. Maybe my geography is weak, but from what little I know, it seems a near impossibility due to the terrain. Also, why on earth will PLA choose this route of ingress is beyond me.
Everybody is talking of Pakis reoccupying the heights..however what abt possibility of chinese occupying these heights? then which reserve force of yours will come into play??
Well the Chinese are there on the 2000+KM LAC, if they want to come in there are better routes and lands for them to occupy, right? Also, let us be a little realistic and have some faith in our forces. It is not like the Chinese are coming and we should dhoti shiver as we are sitting lambs. I have always maintained that on the Indo-China border, who is the hunter or the hunted between India and China is a toss up. IOW: 1962 comes only once and shall not be repeated.
Siachen has to be held at all costs.
Who is talking about giving it up?
This ambigous/lax attitude towards our own territory emboldens our enemies and gives them hope of squeezing us more.
Our claimed sovereign territory is the entire state. If we have not prepared and are NOT serious about PoK then no point in being an enemy forever. A compromise with the enemy is the next best step.
I was talking to Lt Gen Hoon ( Retd) who was one of the architects of Op Meghdoot and the plans at that time were to go much deeper into POK to secure our borders and to cut off KKH or atleast reach close to it almost till Skardu !! . However, Mrs Gandhi cautioned against that and gave permission for occupying Saltoro heights.
With all due respect to the General. My read is there is no logical invasion route to Skardu from the Saltoro ranges. The highest one is through the Shyok river valley, which we managed to progress on in 1971 and is south of NJ 9842. There are some serious critiques to General Hoon's analysis of the situation in 83/84.
Even authenticating the AGPL is only at best a precaution and no more.
It is the pre-cursor to a line of control. Once ratified TSPA is toast for any violation and the IA and GoI will give it back to them. In fact part of me hopes that PA violates it and the GoI is bold enough and the IA prepared for some real objectives in the region. Siachen is a waste of time and resources.
Do not intend to continue back and forth, as my mind on this issue is made up, based on current assessment of facts, as I see them. If facts or its assessment changes, I am more than willing to change my views.