Bharat Rakshak

Consortium of Indian Defence Websites
It is currently 20 Jun 2013 02:10

All times are UTC + 5:30 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1013 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26  Next
PostPosted: 06 May 2012 06:54 

Look at this high tech wonder!!!

PostPosted: 06 May 2012 07:04 

X Posted from the Indian Military Aviation thread.

Hindustan Times reports that R&AW is set to acquire two Bombardier Global 5000 aircraft equipped with ELTA supplied multi-mission airborne reconnaissance and surveillance systems.

These aircraft are substitutes for R&AW’s Grumman Gulfstreams and are to be delivered in two years time:

After 20 years, R&AW upgrades to super spy jets

PostPosted: 06 May 2012 11:10 

cant find the original link , but have some info

American Raytheon has sent written complaints to the Government of India protesting the selection of Israeli Elta for the surveillance systems payload to be integrated on the two business jets to function as Special Electronic Mission Aircraft, a deal worth 250 million dollars, with advanced sensors on board, for its strategic surveillance missions.

These special aircraft are configured with a flight management system comprising a worldwide satellite-based Global Positioning System. They can cruise at a particular altitude, and consist of a of an advanced weather radar, autopilot and head-up display for the pilot. Safety features include enhanced night vision/vision systems which increase visibility in all kinds of environments. State of the art communication systems, data link, ensure a safe voice and data quality. The crew mainly comprises two pilots, one flight engineer, one communications systems operator, and one flight attendant.

Carrying out approximately two missions a month, these aircraft are for India's immediate neighbourhood for collection of data, pictures and other information. Missions like 'strip mode' and 'spot mode' are also part of these far-reaching aircraft.

PostPosted: 08 May 2012 09:04 

The saint who doesn't take decisions, have no courage and only cares for his reputation, informed parliament that in last 5 years (11th Plan) contracts worth Rs 3.5lakh corers (~$70 Billion) have been signed for armed force modernization. In 10th plan they signed Rs 1.35lakh worth of contracts. Thats $100 Billion in last 10 years.
Capital budget utilization for last year was 99% and average close to 100% for last several years except for 2011 IIRC. Gone are the NDA/George Kaka days - loud mouth no results.

Go saint! Go MMS! Go Sonia! :mrgreen:

PostPosted: 08 May 2012 17:01 

And still our armed forces face shortage of critical equipments.

Go saint! Go MMS! Go Sonia! :mrgreen:

PostPosted: 08 May 2012 18:01 

See, we have not reequipped our forces for nearly 3 decades due to funds shortage. Except after Op Vijay, where we did some knee jerk purchases, we haven't actually done any shopping. The 10 years have been very fruitful. For example, it was not just we purchased equipment, we purchased in near correct perspective. For example, IAF has gone through MMRCA deal with actually calculating upfront price and life cycle costs. On contrast, Army purchases suffer on account of helios and arty for hanky panky stuff and Army could not fully finish the evaluation. So, there was a rationality in purchases. Other deals are in various stages due to their own unique perspective.

The fact that 100 $ $ will be spent by India in 10 years has been latched on by world 10 years back. others who are waking up also know that an almost near equal amount waits next ten years.

The shortage is on account of 3 decades of doing nothing. Contrary to popular belief, we have only benefited in past 10 years.

Quite a lot of work has gone in these years.

PostPosted: 09 May 2012 04:26 

Chako,
Don't bother with logics, mullahs will always have issues with Jews!

X-posting ToI report - India to raise 'offensive' corps to tackle threat from China
Saint uwacha in rajya sabha....

Antony said, "Under 12th Defence Plan, we have sent a proposal to Finance Ministry to raise an offensive Corps with two special divisions and it is in final stages. The force-level has been increased substantially."

He said the government had earlier approved raising of two mountain divisions along with a Special Forces battalion, an artillery brigade and an armoured regiment for deployment in the northeast sector.

"We have been given Rs 1.93 lakh crore this year but as per the estimated requirement of the armed forces, we would want Rs 2.39 lakh crore. We want Rs 45,716 crore more. I have asked the Government to provide us more money."

PostPosted: 09 May 2012 10:16 

Katare wrote:
Chako, Don't bother with logics, mullahs will always have issues with Jews!

:D yeah!

Kaman and Kineco form composites joint venture in India

They have a presence in def aerospace.

PostPosted: 09 May 2012 13:53 

chackojoseph wrote:
See, we have not reequipped our forces for nearly 3 decades due to funds shortage. Except after Op Vijay, where we did some knee jerk purchases, we haven't actually done any shopping. The 10 years have been very fruitful. For example, it was not just we purchased equipment, we purchased in near correct perspective. For example, IAF has gone through MMRCA deal with actually calculating upfront price and life cycle costs. On contrast, Army purchases suffer on account of helios and arty for hanky panky stuff and Army could not fully finish the evaluation. So, there was a rationality in purchases. Other deals are in various stages due to their own unique perspective.

The recent letter by General pointed out the lack of basic ammunition so it's no just the unavailability of "hanky panky stuff" which is causing pain. The purchase of these "hanky panky stuffs" don't full-fill the need of bread and butter ammo, otherwise the general wouldn't have had to write a letter to the PM.

The fact that 100 $ $ will be spent by India in 10 years has been latched on by world 10 years back. others who are waking up also know that an almost near equal amount waits next ten years.

This sentence shows the level of strategic blindness we suffer from and will continue to do so in the near future but going into this will only raise a lot of if's and but's so lets see for how long we remain in this state.

The shortage is on account of 3 decades of doing nothing. Contrary to popular belief, we have only benefited in past 10 years.

Quite a lot of work has gone in these years.

True but after committing loads of mistakes but nevertheless some movement has definitely occurred.

I don't see the need to do Jai X or Jai Y as if the people in power are doing some favour to India by doing what should be done. No need to bring in politics here.

PostPosted: 09 May 2012 20:07 

Additional $1.3 billion for defence communication network

PostPosted: 09 May 2012 23:07 

so that mahindra-rafael sounds interesting.. ton of systems we wanted, is in the vision.

PostPosted: 09 May 2012 23:58 

Who/what is Jai X and Jai Y?

PostPosted: 10 May 2012 03:05 

its like Hail X or Hail Y not names.

PostPosted: 10 May 2012 04:19 

Given the paucity of news around IJT, this is a welcome development.

Further, eight simulators of Intermediate Jet Trainer (IJT) aircraft, have also been contracted for.

Several other updates contained within the link as well.

- JaiX

PostPosted: 10 May 2012 13:54 

By Jai X or Jai Y I meant why do jai jai kaar of individuals for doing their job, they are not doing any favour to India. Though thank god I didn't write "Jai S" while putting my point forward could have let to a "situation" :rotfl:

PostPosted: 10 May 2012 19:01 

After Kargil, a definite momentum in defence acquisitions have happened. Successive NDA and UPA governments have been better than their predecessors.

PostPosted: 10 May 2012 21:08 

X Posted from the Indian Military Aviation thread.

Acquisition of 75 Pilatus PC-7 Mk 2 approved by the CCS:

Govt clears Rs.1,800 crore trainer aircraft deal

PostPosted: 11 May 2012 02:51 

Sagar G wrote:
By Jai X or Jai Y I meant why do jai jai kaar of individuals for doing their job, they are not doing any favour to India. Though thank god I didn't write "Jai S" while putting my point forward could have let to a "situation" :rotfl:

So only fck X and Fck Y no "Go X" and no "go Y" or jai X Y. Pretty mean innit?

give credit where it's due and you earn your right to criticise when you see a slip/fault or whatver, is all I say. Rest are just mullahs, driven by idiology not facts.

PostPosted: 12 May 2012 02:14 

Katare wrote:
So only fck X and Fck Y no "Go X" and no "go Y" or jai X Y. Pretty mean innit?

give credit where it's due and you earn your right to criticise when you see a slip/fault or whatver, is all I say.

Absolutely credit should be given where and when it's due but I don't see the reason to go Jai Ho for what, spending the allocated money ??? Or the billions of $$$ going into foreign coffers because of the strategic blindness suffered by our so called "leaders" for ages. I don't see anything exceptional being done by this government which makes sure that India will have a strong MIC and to top that as each day passes we only hope that our remote control doesn't carry out a strategic blunder to get a pat on his back by the gora brotherhood. And wasn't he recently whining about India being left behind in science by China. In power since 2004 and in 2012 our Sherlock Holmes has an epiphany that we are sucking in science. What the hell was he expecting, that he would wave his PhD in parliament and lo and behold India will become a super duper scientific power ???? After all these years being in power and getting all kinds of hanky panky stuffs what do we get to hear, that we have critical shortage of even basic ammunitions. This too wouldn't have been known if the General's letter hadn't been leaked and our Saint comes out and says "The person who did this is a traitor". In office since 2006, has the powers to take critical decisions, talks about drive against corruption at the drop of a hat and what do we get to know ??? That our war reserves are critically low. I will comment on Mata Rome when she gets time from trying to settle down her munna raja.

All the rants aside surely some work has been done LCA, Arjun, Akash, R&D Infrastructure creation etc. etc. and they have been commended upon as and when they have happened but please don't set the bar of duty/expectations so low that our defence money gets spent and you go lady gaga over it. Have you even spared a thought about knowing how and where the money was spent before doing Jai Ho ???? As I said before no one is doing a favour to India here, it's their duty which they have to fullfill. No jai jai kaar for doing so.

Rest are just mullahs, driven by idiology not facts.

True look for facts instead of doing Jai Ho.

PostPosted: 14 May 2012 17:09 

Delivery of Equipment by HAL

The government has taken cognizance of the complaints of Indian Air Force regarding the delayed delivery of equipment by the Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL). IAF has expressed concerns over the deliveries of some of the products of HAL. There have been delays in some projects in current range of production by HAL due to rework of Jigs supplied by the OEM in respect of Hawk; delay in establishing the facilities for complex engine components and radar software in respect of SU-30 MKI aircraft; delay in certification of Shakti engine by the OEM in respect of ALH; changes in Standard of Preparation (SOP) in respect of LCA and delay in engine development by the OEM in respect of IJT.

The government continuously monitors the performance of the company and takes steps to address the issues. In respect of Hawk, SU-30 MKI aircraft and ALH, the issues have been addressed. In respect of LCA and IJT development efforts have been intensified.

This information was given by Minister of State for Defence Dr MM Pallam Raju in a written reply to Shri Antony in Lok Sabha today.

PostPosted: 14 May 2012 20:26 

The fundamental problem with India's dysfunctional MIC is that it predominantly state owned AND virtually monopolistic. That is a fatal combination which if it is not undone will cause India to forever be importing propeller driven planes from countries smaller than India's largest cities. The example of BEML is nauseating. Importing 3rd rate trucks from a 4th rate Oiropean manufacturer and doing nothing but screwing on the license plates. Then when spare parts prices go up 5,000 percent simply pass that on to the IA.

Meanwhile St. Anthony can be counted on to in his own words "protect the interests of the (parasite DPSU union) workers." I thought his job was to protect the nation and its interests not selfish/useless unions. But you learn something every day. Of course both the useless management within these at best mediocre PSUs and their political masters can take advantage of the built in scam potential these companies provide. That is the real reason privatization (as in the rest of the civilized world) doesn't take place. Meanwhile I heard Bosnia Herzegovina has some seat covers for the Pilatus planes HAL will license build. They are willing to ToT for a reasonable price.

PostPosted: 14 May 2012 21:04 

According to the MOD no country makes the entire range of military equipment .It makes economic sense to outsource the low tech labour intensive equipment esp for nations with high end manufacturing.But India is not in the big league of manufacturing.I think its time the Tatra trucks are replaced by indigenous manufacturers.

PostPosted: 15 May 2012 01:56 

Russia ready to set up Mig Plant in India
May 14, 2012
Combined reports
A defence ministry delegation is expected to leave for Moscow shortly to finalise, arrangements for the purchase of Russian Mig Supersonic Jet Fighters for the Indian Air Force.

PostPosted: 15 May 2012 01:59 

^^ :shock: That article seems to be from the 60's. It talks about Pakistan's acquisition of F-104s from the US and India's subsequent decision to buy Migs (Mig-21s) from the Soviets. What is it doing here?

Talks have been going on for the purpose between India and the Soviet Union for some time and India is now understood to be anxious to obtain fighter planes of comparable performance in view of the supply of F-104-g jets to Pakistan by USA.

PostPosted: 15 May 2012 02:05 

Folks this item is originally from DC 50 years ago section. The other website just copied it without looking at the content else they would have realized their mistake.
India is now understood to be anxious to obtain fighter planes of comparable performance in view of the supply of F-104-g jets to Pakistan by USA.

The original...

PostPosted: 15 May 2012 02:08 

Folks this item is originally from DC 50 years ago section. The other website just copied it without looking at the content else they would have realized their mistake.

That explains it. The geniuses at indrus.in didn't even notice anything odd with the mention of "Soviet Union" . :lol:

PostPosted: 15 May 2012 05:16 

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5052&start=240
pliss to visit for a double laugh! :rotfl:

reminds me of school kid joke.. a cheating kid asks his partner what is the answer for a question on test.. partner answers "goli maro".

teacher remands him next day in the class!

yes, he actually wrote that answer - goli maro.

PostPosted: 16 May 2012 00:42 

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NEWS/news ... wsid=18507
High Value link

PostPosted: 16 May 2012 14:48 

SaiK wrote:
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NEWS/newsrf.php?newsid=18507
High Value link

Looks like the FMS deals are also covered under the offsets clause. Details about the offset's would be even more interesting.

PostPosted: 16 May 2012 19:59 

That is good to hear. FMS have offsets

PostPosted: 17 May 2012 04:57 

Pranab's austerity measures

MoD isn't referenced but expect to see some portion of capital allocation returned.

PostPosted: 18 May 2012 11:58 

India to Help Boost Nigeria’s Air Defences

PostPosted: 20 May 2012 22:01 

shyamd wrote:
May 14, 2012
Combined reports
A defence ministry delegation is expected to leave for Moscow shortly to finalise, arrangements for the purchase of Russian Mig Supersonic Jet Fighters for the Indian Air Force.

MiG xy. Next lemon from Russia, after T 90zuw.

PS Hope IAF has better sense than IA

PostPosted: 20 May 2012 22:34 

Kersi D wrote:
shyamd wrote:
May 14, 2012
Combined reports

MiG xy. Next lemon from Russia, after T 90zuw.

PS Hope IAF has better sense than IA

Do you know that F-104g the article mentions was used in 65 Indo-Pak war... this seems to be a recycled article ... lol

PostPosted: 22 May 2012 15:18 

http://www.flightglobal.com/news/articl ... te-372155/

please cross post if needed,matter is sgnificant

The US Senate Armed Services Committee has issued a report stating that China is a major source of counterfeit electronic components found on aircraft such as the L-3 Communications/Alenia C-27J, Lockheed Martin C-130J and Boeing P-8A.

PostPosted: 28 May 2012 22:52 

I don't know where to put this. So..

A K Antony triples armed forces' financial powers to allow Rs 150 cr purchases

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 601225.cms

An important development when, especially when seen along with the recent power given to IA allowing it to purchase equipment for special forces.
Having said that, Rs 150 crore is still not much. Needs to be at least Rs 450-500 crore IMO.

PostPosted: 29 May 2012 20:55 

Lots of stuff that IA could use...

http://www.defensenews.com/article/2012 ... |FRONTPAGE

PostPosted: 30 May 2012 23:52 

Anthony Hines wrote:

hopefully the TSPA would not wind up with most of these stuff for free

PostPosted: 31 May 2012 03:40 

Gaur wrote:

An important development when, especially when seen along with the recent power given to IA allowing it to purchase equipment for special forces.
Having said that, Rs 150 crore is still not much. Needs to be at least Rs 450-500 crore IMO.

Rs 150 cr is around $30 to 40 million US dollars. It is enough for purchases of inventory parts and ammunition for existing equipments, but not enough for major purchases of new equipments.

PostPosted: 31 May 2012 04:59 

srai wrote:
Gaur wrote:

Rs 150 cr is around $30 to 40 million US dollars. It is enough for purchases of inventory parts and ammunition for existing equipments, but not enough for major purchases of new equipments.

Ideally, major purchases of new equipment should need civilian control.

We can't judge if Rs 150 cr is enough or not without data on how the Chiefs used this power in the past. Most important point would be to know if Service Chiefs can spend this with discretion or does the DPP process have to be followed.

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1013 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26  Next