Armoured Vehicles Discussion Thread - Jan 12, 2012

member_19648

Re: Armoured Vehicles Discussion Thread - Jan 12, 2012

Post by member_19648 »

Is it only me or someone else has also found this debate disappointing?

It is explicitly stated that "We are not planning to have adequate numbers", now the common lament is that, the Arjun is a world class tank taking into consideration its capability but maintainability is a problem because of low numbers. If they know the root of the problem and that is because of low numbers, why lament? The corrective action would be more orders and building up the logistics and supply chain. From the debate, I am left more confused as to what the real problem is which seems to be an artificial one and can be mitigated. Also it is said that the FMBT in the weight class of 40-50 tons is the one they are looking for after perfecting the art of heavier tanks. Why not have a combination as has been aptly asked, since there is a huge requirement for the desert itself? Unfortunately the question is left unanswered. Hope the Mark 2 which might well as become the best tank in the world doesn't meet the same fate as the Mark 1, specially when the rail infra, BLT infra, ARV infra have already been developed for this weight class. :(

Lament because they cant do anything about the DGMF, which was clearly stuck in a time warp, had no clue about production numbers and its impact on logistics/capacity build up to support the equipment, and couldnt care less about what happens to the Arjun. A bit of a disgrace actually, and shows that in our set up, individual silos can hold up progress.

However, lets hope that after a definitive MK2 clears trials, the DGMF accepts the tank for what it is, and commits to a reasonable production run. There are reports suggesting the same that some 2 more regiments will be ordered above the current 248 MK-2. Thats 496 MK-2s. Hopefully, the DGMF is wise enough to do so, and extends the order even beyond these 4 regiments.

The debate was rather disappointing, as most of the commentators, kept repeating the same old lines.
They admitted that the Arjun could take hit from T-72 at point blank range (I would assume betwen 1-2 Kms) and still survive. Yet all of them said that the comparative trials between the T-90 and Arjun were an unequal trial.
Also they repeated the oft repeated Army line that the T-90 and Arjun are two different class of tanks and hence cannot or should not be compared.

This is complete non-sense. Both are MBTs and both are expected to fight the same enemy equipment. The simple question to each one of them should have been, that if they had to command a regiment of Indian tanks and go up against a regiment of paki T-80UD or MBT Khalid or the chinese Type 99, would they prefer to command a regiment of Arjun's or a regiment of T-90s.

All of them admitted that the problem was the weight of the tank, with respect to non-availability of infrastructure to support this weight class of the tank. But then the GSQR given by the army, itself demanded a 60-ton tank. The army should have realized then itself that the infrastructure to support this tank did not exist.

They all admitted that the problem with the infrastructure and other associated equipment, like an ARV for arjun could be solved if adequate number of tanks were ordered, but none of them was willing to stick their neck out and say that sufficient quantity of Arjuns was really the need of the hour. In fact all of them seemed to imply that Arjun is a very good product, but its time has passed or that Indian army, infrastructure and logistics are geared for Tincans only and hence Arjun, inspite of being an excellent product, will not be inducted in numbers.

Also simply do not understand the IA fixation with a 40-50 ton FMBT specification. Though one of the gents was of the opinion that introducing an Auto-loader in Arjun and reducing the crew to three, would reduce the weight significantly. Not sure how true that would be.
tejas

Post by tejas »

The IA arguments for the Tin Can-90 and against Arjun are so laughable that I cannot accept anything but malafide intentions. Ah yes the Arjun is a BMW and the tin can-90 a Lada so please don't compare even thogh the army had to leave out necessary equipment off the T-90 to artificially lower its price to sell the product to the GOI. The argument is akin to saying you can't compare the Rafale to the MiG-21 (where the MiG-21 actually costs more) so lets load up on the Mig-21!!

the lack of more orders is the crux of the argument

all the pro Arjun gang here has been clamouring for that

and the guys who operated the Arjun agree

everything has been developed painfully ARV, transporters, new ammo, enhanced protection etc etc

the tank has so much potential compared to tin can and yet no large orders

and then chaiwallahs leak about maintenance issues :twisted:

as one of the panelist mentions - 2 regiments is miniscule and the intentions of eastern camp is suspect in this
d_berwal

Post by d_berwal »

tejas wrote:The IA arguments for the Tin Can-90 and against Arjun are so laughable that I cannot accept anything but malafide intentions
Please laugh why aren't you?
. Ah yes the Arjun is a BMW and the tin can-90 a Lada so please don't compare even thogh the army had to leave out necessary equipment off the T-90 to artificially lower its price to sell the product to the GOI.
prove it if you can and you cant
The argument is akin to saying you can't compare the Rafale to the MiG-21 (where the MiG-21 actually costs more) so lets load up on the Mig-21!!
prove it if you can and you cant
tejas

Post by tejas »

^^^^ What the hell are you smoking? I have seen quotes from IA officer who states you can't compare a Mercedes (Arjun) to a Maruti (T-90). Another direct quote from a very high ranking officer was the IA was interested in future technology and the Arjun was a current technology tank. Not only is this the most idiotic statement on its own but it is compounded by the purchase of a modified T-72 (the T-90) which is not even current technology.

As for equipment not included this was already leaked out information that is well known. No APU, no AC, no active protection system, no muzzle reference system. The T-90 comes with so many problems( including ToT agreed upon and not transferred) and is ordered in the 1000s. Meanwhile a MkI Arjun bests the T-90 in comparative trials and still needs nearly a 100 modifications so that a few 100 can be ordered. This has been be beat to death many times so I give up.

Such a nice, informative and authentic discussion and people are back to their ultra partial arguments. Anyhow once a "jingo always a jingo"!

About APFSDS issue, Sarswat gave an interview in reference to VKS letter to PM where he stated that we are importing because DRDO round has penetration capability of 450mm against Russian round's 650mm penetration. He said a new DRDO round witt 550mm capability is under trial and we are working on a 650mm penetration capability round now. All these rounds, I beleive are for T series family that is in service for 40 years with IA.

The ~400 mm round referred to in the interview is the old 125mm MK1 which was superceded by the IMI 125mm round assembled at OFB with penetrators machined from IMI blanks. The new DRDO round in trials is the 125mm MK2, which is being improved further. The import of Russian rounds is because the DRDO MK2 project was in limbo since the Army was not interested, but since the IMI round got blacklisted, its been revived with tests underway to improve it further. Meanwhile, the Russians are making hay, selling us the BM-42 rounds, while the Army is stocking up on thousands of INVAR missiles as a backup to the FSAPDS against advanced armor.

T90/72 rounds and DRDO solutions for the same is a separate issue but Arjun APFSDS also needs major upgrade to match T-90 performance.

I thought there was long and extensive discussion here a while back with Vina garu leading the charge on one side about "HEAT" rounds. How big a deal is it that Arjun does not fire HEAT round, as per the video posted in last page?

Except for these two things (and weight), all 3 gentelmen in that video (the customer) were unanimous that Arjun is a better Tank in deserts. These 2 short comings can be fixed and weight argument for intra theater transportation is over blown as explained by the older sikh gentelman. All major power s are relying on heavier tanks and they are being deployed in some of the most backward countries with sucess. I don't think Afghanistan has 70 ton bridges neither does Israel's neighbors.

Major reason for this fiasco is "mistrust" and "disconnect" between army and DRDO. With arjun's proven superior capabilities the mistrust part will disappear but the disconnect part may still need to be addressed. Unless serving generals are made project directors/controllers with budget commitment and share in sucess and failure things will remain iffy.

^^^I think it has gone way past mistrust. It is a simple case of organizational inertia with Russian+domestic arms lobby thrown in the mix.

Yes, desi man has developed an MBT that has blown away the videshi maal. Let's fix the disconnect and we have got a winning proposition.

Unless serving generals are made project directors/controllers with budget commitment and share in sucess and failure things will remain iffy
and what if that person turns out to be like the former DGMF who made the most ridiculous comments on the Arjun.

anyway looking at all the videos of the Syrian armor in action recently - I am perplexed at the utter lack of attempt to put some sort of protection for urban warfare.

WTF do these guys think?? not a skirt or mesh or anything. What were they learning in the last so many years as they watched armor in urban warfare from chechnya to iraq and their own backyard??

and tanks seem to be hardly mobile, taking hits and sedately backing out and getting more hits??

seems like they are all better at hunting tanks.

When you are co-owner of the project you have stake in it's success. This is very basic and primary principle of "new product development". You must keep your customer as partner and it should have skin in the game. If IA was integrate in Arjum it would have never got to 60 ton weigh class, IA would understood stupidity of it's GSQRs. Any how that is in the past, let's celebrate the success of Arjun (and DRDO) for now!

I have no doubt it will get inducted in numbers in due time. More they see it's performance and advantages more they will buy. Older generals are retiring each years and newer guys will have a different outlook on things.

Katare wrote:T90/72 rounds and DRDO solutions for the same is a separate issue but Arjun APFSDS also needs major upgrade to match T-90 performance.
As mentioned earlier (check my post before the previous one)- the Arjun round was developed before the MK1 125mm round, but in the same timeframe more or less. Arjun round effort was begun in 1983, prototypes entered trials in 1993, finalized variants were available circa late 90s -2000. The 125mm MK1 round was begun in 1984, and entered trials 1994 onwards.

As such its not surprising that the current 125mm rounds are ahead. The question is whether the technology exists in India to make a round that matches the current gen rounds. The answer to that is clearly yes, seeing that the l:d ratio is at 20:1, the same as the l:d for the Israeli rounds assembled at OFB.
I thought there was long and extensive discussion here a while back with Vina garu leading the charge on one side about "HEAT" rounds. How big a deal is it that Arjun does not fire HEAT round, as per the video posted in last page?
HEAT is used against infantry and buildings, but mostly against other vehicles. Thing is HEAT rounds are ineffective against most of the modern ERA equipped vehicles, and not too effective against infantry for which specialized solutions (APERS - antipersonnel shrapnel rounds) are now available in the market. HESH is fairly effective against fortifications to begin with and can also be used against infantry, but is not as effective as an APERS. Against vehicles, it too faces limitations against modern composite armor, and like HEAT is no longer the first choice.

So, for Arjun, it can retain its HESH (fortifications, secondary choice against light armor -eg Pakistani M113s, trucks), FSAPDS (primary anti tank round), LAHAT (long range anti tank round, fired NLOS) and will probably get an APERS rounds for rounding it off (against say, suspected anti tank crews).

Today, DRDO has better tech for both the penetrator and the propellant.

They have designed and manufactured a new Mk2 round for the 125mm which matches the Israeli rounds we currently use on the T-90s and T-72s and which is currently in trials.
may be the reason the inside jobers and the other side of the forces look at such post from you as maturity that eats into their illegal money that might happen.

here:
http://www.deccanherald.com/content/266 ... -tank.html

After the blacklisting of supplier of the FSAPDS (Fin Stabilized Armour Piercing Discarding Sabot) used by T-90 and T-72 tanks, Russia has now been approached for supplying these tank shells
why can't we make this instead of going to Russia? we all know about the spares problem with Russians.

the business loss:
Recently, the Army Headquarters had initiated the process to procure within 12 to 18 months around 75,000 to one lakh rounds of FSAPDS ammunition from global sources but apparently not much progress has been made so far.

Not sure why IA is going for huge amount of 3BM42 Mango rounds thats really mid 80's stuff ....its really good to cut out a deal with Russian and opt for DU rounds with 650 plus penetration , the only reason i can think of is Mango is good enough for the foreseeable future in this continent till DRDO develops better round for 125 mm rounds.

Current DRDO rounds for both Arjun and T series are limited to 450mm penetration. 3BM42 will give them almost 50% greater penetration so seems like a good move to me.

In my estimate, it'll take DRDO 10 years to get a 650mm penetrator developed, tested and produced in numbers for IA to use. Why or why not DU is a good question.

Katare wrote:Current DRDO rounds for both Arjun and T series are limited to 450mm penetration. 3BM42 will give them almost 50% greater penetration so seems like a good move to me.
how does 3BM42 gives 50% more penetration?? this round as Austin rightly put is the one code called 'Mango' with a certified penetraion of 450mm at 2000m range.

apparently these are going to manufactured in india. Russia has made sure it has gone onto 3BM42M/3BM-46 with 600mm penetration while the 80's round is being passed on to India. good job i guess. :roll:

The issue is that we plumped for the T-90 at a time (debatable by some pro-Arjun supporters) when Arjun wasn't perfected.We also have a huge T-72 inventory that needs upgrading -a large %,for cost factors and numbers of MBTs in service.Both are smaller lighter 3-crwewed tanks unlike the larger,heavier 4-man crewed Arjun.Looking towards the future,the IA seems to be in a quandary about ordering large numbers of the improved A-MK 2 vs a new MBT of futuristic concept.It needs to define its current and future requirements fast so that eventually the IA does not have to wait inordinately for its next mainstay MBT.Until the IA decides,to also keep the HVF busy though,And with the success eventually of A-1,a decent order of several hundred A-2 should be made to keep up the health of this mega PSU and the numbers in the IA's inventory.There is enough battlefield terrain for both the T-90 and Arjun to be deployed!

3BM42 Mango has a penetration figure of 450-500 mm while 3BM42M has penetration figure of 600-650 mm , so it depends what was imported if it was the former or the latter.

Not sure if one could physically distinguish between 3BM42M and 3BM42 , the only difference is 42M is slightly longer compared to 42.

We should also make or get DU rounds those give better performance for the same rounds

do we have enough materials to make DU rounds locally? the leopard tank apparently uses tungsten rounds and gets a lot higher penetration than we are talking of here between the two mangos.

also state Govts will surely create a lot of problem if IA starts firing off DU rounds on test ranges. unlike new mexico , nevada or arizona we dont have vast empty places to throw crap in and not have to worry for 100 yrs.

Austin wrote:3BM42 Mango has a penetration figure of 450-500 mm while 3BM42M has penetration figure of 600-650 mm , so it depends what was imported if it was the former or the latter.

Not sure if one could physically distinguish between 3BM42M and 3BM42 , the only difference is 42M is slightly longer compared to 42.

We should also make or get DU rounds those give better performance for the same rounds
it is the 'Mango' - check this and this.

pragnya wrote:it is the 'Mango' - check this and this.
Yes I have read those and they have got it wrong , 3BUK20 is not Mango but Invar missile

http://zid.ru/eng/products/90/detail/218

Mango should be ( 3BM-44/3VBM-17 ) , for all we know it may be 3BM-44M or even 3BM-44 difficult to know and i am sure IA wont be too keen to make public all details

Yes I have read those and they have got it wrong , 3BUK20 is not Mango but Invar missile

Mango should be ( 3BM-44/3VBM-17 ) , for all we know it may be 3BM-44M or even 3BM-44 difficult to know and i am sure IA wont be too keen to make public all details
thanks for the link.

i did note the 3BUK20 which may be a typo error not because they got 'Mango' right but also they don't speak of the ATGM which is Invar.

besides IIRC 3BM-44M being a longer APFSDS may not fit in the carousal autoloader of the T-90S (confirmation needed).

so my understanding is it is infact MANGO (3BM42/3BM-44). however i am happy to be corrected. :mrgreen:

You could be right it may be simple 3BM42 round as well ......considering the newer high performance round dont have a seperate designation it is difficult to confirm ...both 42 and 42M are from mid 80' and early 90 one ....so its possible we might have both or just the former. Some one in the army needs to do the talking.

The new autoloader for accommodating longer rounds exists on Algerian and Russian T-90 tanks ...it was not there in the original T-90S tank imported directly but lic production variant may have it ..... it not a big task to change it seems but i am not aware if they actually did it with lic production model at Avadi . Although you can expect newer higher performance rounds inducted in mid 2000 to be available once its export is approved.

Austin wrote:You could be right it may be simple 3BM42 round as well ......considering the newer high performance round dont have a seperate designation it is difficult to confirm ...both 42 and 42M are from mid 80' and early 90 one ....so its possible we might have both or just the former. Some one in the army needs to do the talking.

The new autoloader for accommodating longer rounds exists on Algerian and Russian T-90 tanks ...it was not there in the original T-90S tank imported directly but lic production variant may have it ..... it not a big task to change it seems but i am not aware if they actually did it with lic production model at Avadi . Although you can expect newer higher performance rounds inducted in mid 2000 to be available once its export is approved.
actually both INVAR (10000 direct and 15000 local production later), Mango (66000) are being procured and the reports i linked have mixed up which is not surprising anyway. :wink: in addition Konkur-M (10000) are being procured too.

Government on overdrive to tide over tanks’ ammunition crunch

as to the highlighted portions can you provide a link please?? my own understanding is the 3BM-42Ms are for the T-90AM.

in what timeline are all these rounds being delivered? if its too short like 1 yr of signing could be Rus disposing off a mix of stockpiled older rounds while getting money and rackspace for new gen rounds :mrgreen:

Austin, all: a noob question. With APFSDS penetration distances being measured in 400-500mm on the lower end and 600-700mm on the higher end, would it be fair to say that an ATGM is more effective at a tank kill than an APFSDS round (because ATGM's like the latest TOWs, Spike etc all have 700-800mm penetrations)?

I am not saying that the tank gun's main armament is useless, just trying to compare the effectiveness

Prem Kumar wrote:Austin, all: a noob question. With APFSDS penetration distances being measured in 400-500mm on the lower end and 600-700mm on the higher end, would it be fair to say that an ATGM is more effective at a tank kill than an APFSDS round (because ATGM's like the latest TOWs, Spike etc all have 700-800mm penetrations)?

I am not saying that the tank gun's main armament is useless, just trying to compare the effectiveness
sorry for barging in. you are right but you also have to account for the weather as laser targetting can be affected by smoke. that apart, IMO, it all boils down to cost as you can see below.
10,000 3UBK-Invar missiles for T-90S tanks for Rs 1,386 crore from Russia.

15,000 3UBK-Invar missiles for T-90S tanks for Rs 2,079 crore from Bharat Dynamics.

66,000 "armour-piercing fin-stabilized discarding sabot'' tank shells for Rs 1,386 crore.
Govt acts on General VK Singh's complaint, fast-tracks acquisition of weapons

pragnya wrote:actually both INVAR (10000 direct and 15000 local production later), Mango (66000) are being procured and the reports i linked have mixed up which is not surprising anyway. :wink: in addition Konkur-M (10000) are being procured too.
Number seems extraordinary huge are they anticipating some war with Pakistan in next 2-3 years , that number should be over and above what they have now which may not be adequate would still be a huge number.
as to the highlighted portions can you provide a link please?? my own understanding is the 3BM-42Ms are for the T-90AM.
Came to know while discussing with some one associated with UVZ the OEM , T-90MS might have different APFSDS if it gets approved by MOD which is finicky about exporting it but would happen eventually , if not it would be Mango and high performing round.
rajsunder

Post by rajsunder »

will give a bit of time for it to sink in[/quote]

totally Biased discussion, No support vehicles designed for ARJUN Tank!!! Don't they know about the Arjun bridge layer??

And no one even discussed about the capability of Arjun to fire on the move which obviously T-90 lacks. was the whole discussion fixed by the procurement mafia???

Prem Kumar wrote:Austin, all: a noob question. With APFSDS penetration distances being measured in 400-500mm on the lower end and 600-700mm on the higher end, would it be fair to say that an ATGM is more effective at a tank kill than an APFSDS round (because ATGM's like the latest TOWs, Spike etc all have 700-800mm penetrations)?

Most certainly CE is more promising in the long run as it allows you target a weak area of tank without worrying about distance to target for eg top attack capability of nag.

CE though lacks mass and the jet could be influenced by ERA and Multi layer Composite armour working in tandem much more than KE from APFSDS would do and with the advent of APS the missile/RPG itself could be targetted much easier than a hypervelocity APFSDS.

CE might be more effective against some kind of armour composition while for the others it may not even dent it , check the video of RPG-29 versus M1A1 , the side of M1 blew off but the frontal armour could not be even dented.

KE on the other hand is affected by distance to target but since it has mass at effective ranges of 2-3 km would still cause enough penetration even with 500 mm to jolt the crew and stir and shake them up it wont be a happy thing for any tank crew to experience a APFSDS hit no matter what its penetration figures are though tank do have liners to take care of such shock , KE has gone better specially the one with DU and the latest German and US round are known to have penetration figures of 700 - 800 mm at effective ranges and then there are still newer ones under development. DU also causes fire post penetration.

So its not easy to answer which is better of the two both have their pros and cons it depends on the type of armour composition you are facing and how they are effective against the types so development on both front go on concurrently but CE seems more promising long term.

BTW the CE penetration figures and KE penetration figures are not representing the same fact , A KE penetration figure of ~ 800 mm frontal turret would be ~ 1200 CE for same frontal armour.

Katare wrote:Current DRDO rounds for both Arjun and T series are limited to 450mm penetration. 3BM42 will give them almost 50% greater penetration so seems like a good move to me.
There are no current DRDO rounds for the T-series in production. The one that is in trials is significantly more than 450mm per public reports.
In my estimate, it'll take DRDO 10 years to get a 650mm penetrator developed, tested and produced in numbers for IA to use. Why or why not DU is a good question.
More like 5 years.
Last edited by Karan M on 23 Jul 2012 22:28, edited 1 time in total.

The Russian rounds being purchased are the more or less 80's era BM42, sought as replacement of earlier BM42 stocks procured from Russian with the T-90. These are designated as AMK339 in IA service. The Israeli round license manufactured at OFB (with the critical penetrator blanks being supplied by Israel and machined at OFB) has the designation AMK340A. Since the BM42 is qualified for both the T-72 and T-90 and Russia is the only supplier left whom we haven't blacklisted :roll:, the BM42 it is. The Russians have failed to get more advanced non DU rounds into series production and this is what they have for export. Pretty much all the East European new 125mm FSAPDS rounds rely on Israeli penetrators, and with the IMI blacklist they are all denied to us. The only other possible is a Rheinmetall 125mm round, but even there we have blacklisted Rheinmetall AD, so wonder whether that extends to the parent company. The brilliance of the Indian MOD leaves a lot to be desired.

Meanwhile, the DRDO MK2 round, in limbo for several years, is now in firing trials as the Army has been shocked into realizing that their Israeli favorite round is not available anymore, and the Russian round is a) behind the latest Israeli rounds in performance and b) is being given at outrageous prices. This is the reason for the huge orders for INVAR missile rounds. With their tandem warheads, the hope is that these missiles will allow for IA tanks to deal with more advanced Pakistani/Chinese tanks as and when they appear, if they appear, even if the FSAPDS alone cant handle them. Expensive silver bullets, being procured in huge number.

The so called deal for FSAPDS with Russia was for 17k rounds (which has been signed) with deliveries underway and a follow on order for 66,000 rounds (which has NOT been cleared, with delegations sent to Russia to negotiate on the cost). Russia has asked for FOUR times the regular cost, for these rounds and is clearly hoping to score money on the local license production deal itself. The license production may end up several times the initial order, easy.

It may be worth remarking that OFB, which set up the HAPP (Heavy Alloy Penetrator Factory) with DRDO assistance, to make penetrators, has been kept in business with only limited orders for Arjun rounds. The Israeli round production never really stabilized (so much for Army's blissful hopes of Israeli knights in shining armor giving easy TOT) and the production was basically putting rounds with local propellant and Israeli penetrators (albeit machined locally).

Now, we are running to Russia, because the indigenous 125mm MK2 production was never approved in time. The rounds only began trials in 2010-11 AFTER the Army finally decided to approve staff qualitative requirements for these rounds, and more rounds were to be put through AUCRT in 2011-12.

With such planning, India deserves to get gypped & of course, Russia is laughing all the way to the bank, hoping to make as much money off of us, as the Israelis did.

Thanks Austin and Pragnya
tejas

Post by tejas »

^^^^ Not sure whether to laugh or cry. Wonder if there are enough bullets in the world to takes care of the people in India who should be shot.

Karan I wont be too worried if we are opting in worst case for 3BM42 considering what we know now the Mk1 and Mk2 rounds for Arjun has 400 - 500 mm the figures for 3BM42 is respectable . Probably the IA thinks it is good enough against its potential adversary with Invar to back it up , may be new rounds might have better figures we wont know for sure , may be if OFB lic manuf it we might know better.

Most certainly banning IMI or Rheinmetall is the worst decision one can take or get in this situation.

BTW would Rheinmetal export its APFSDS to a non-NATO country ?

Austin wrote:Karan I wont be too worried if we are opting in worst case for 3BM42 considering what we know now the Mk1 and Mk2 rounds for Arjun has 400 - 500 mm the figures for 3BM42 is respectable .
No, thats wrong.. See, the Arjun MK1 round has ~450-500 mm performance depending on the target, range etc, usually 2 km, because it was developed at the same time as the MK1 125mm round. I have given the dates earlier, you can check them out for the history. Thereafter, the Indian MK1 round (still available on the OFB website) had its production stopped, as production shifted to the Israeli round which was an improved version of the Israeli rounds imported during the Kargil conflict. The OFB's disastrous mix-and-match with Russian propellant (which leaked) and a couple of rounds brewed up in the tanks, didn't help the round either. The DRDO design left the propellant sourcing to OFB, with the CCC cases, and penetrator sourced locally. The round was fixed, and production restarted, but the perception damage was done, and the Army jumped ship to the Israelis thereafter, once the latter promised to give TOT of an even better round than they had supplied during Kargil. Of course, the long term virtues of depending on TOT and what if it did not work out, were beyond the IA's concern.

Anyways, the Arjun MK2 round - in development, will clearly be far ahead of the MK1 level, which we can judge from current DRDO technology level. For instance, the MK2 125mm round, is designed to match the IMI round which was assembled at India. This can be verified by the technical specifications. The IMI round and the DRDO 125mm MK2 round, both come in at 20:1 l:d for the penetrator.

Incidentally, the Arjun round by virtue of being one piece also enjoys an advantage. As shown earlier, the DRDO unitary round actually allows for almost ~1kg more of propellant, which is another plus. In contrast, when splitting rounds up into two piece systems, the packaging material gets duplicated. Longer rounds with even better l:d can be incorporated in the future.

The main challenge will be basically to get series production underway, but its not insurmountable by any means. For one, using the Arjun MK1, DRDO proved the entire ammunition development and manufacture cycle, including the penetrators at HAPP. Even with the 125mm, luckily, despite the Israeli TOT for penetrators not having worked out, the rest of the round was made in India. There are also two private firms in India which make the CCC (Combustible Charge Cases) for the 120 and 125mm rounds. Also, thanks to TD programs at ARDE per public reports, they have kept apace with propellant tech. Note after the other disaster of the Denel BMCS deal at OFB (Denel and then IMI got blacklisted), the tech is to be provided by ARDE.

So, the technology exists and is probably in trials already. "Enhanced penetrator" - code speak for FSAPDS penetrator - is one of the core improvements for MK2. Per an interview with Saraswat, 80% of MK2 improvements have already been delivered for testing. The interview should be around the forum someplace. The MK2 also entered the second phase of trials recently.

Point is a lot is going on without the sort of PR, export oriented organizations make. The interview above for instance has the blue turbaned gentleman (Brigadier) mention that an urban combat kit for the Arjun has also been developed and put on a trial tank! Ready for the Army if it wants. In all likelihood a better version of the BUSK shown for the BMP.
Probably the IA thinks it is good enough against its potential adversary with Invar to back it up , may be new rounds might have better figures we wont know for sure , may be if OFB lic manuf it we might know better.
The IA certainly does not think anything of the sort, they are just making do with the best of a worst situation, for which they share part of the blame, having sat on the development of a local round!

Cynics would argue that they did not push for the DRDO MK2 round because the obvious fear was that if the round cleared trials, DRDO would push for it to supplant the Israeli round in production and the Army just didn't want its easy supply of rounds to be affected. Others would state it was typical IA inertia and filepushing gone awry, with vital plans falling through the cracks. Eitherway, the chickens came home to roost when the Israeli round got cancelled.

Eitherways, the Army does NOT have an options today beyond BM42, since there is no other round available easily, in number, off the open market. Note India itself went for the Israeli round because it outperformed the Russian rounds available to us, and the Israelis promised that they would transfer TOT (didn't really work out) and as usual convinced us that they had more rounds in the pipeline.

The INVAR is our great hope, because with a large warhead and a tandem one, its the only round that can at least face off against the newer ERA heavy Chinese tanks (and Pakistani tanks are just export versions with tweaks). Its big problem is its time of flight. With LWCS, the Chinese tanks can pop smoke and attempt to escape...on the plus side, they don't have proper active countermeasures systems, so if it hits, the INVAR will create a mess. If not destroy the tank outright, it may well M-kill it.
Most certainly banning IMI or Rheinmetall is the worst decision one can take or get in this situation.
What else can one say about the brilliance that is Indian procurement.
BTW would Rheinmetal export its APFSDS to a non-NATO country
Times have changed. Our tax money has made many of these worthies see India in a new light. From new variants of HDW submarines, to EF Typhoon with TOT, everything is on the table.
Last edited by Karan M on 23 Jul 2012 23:50, edited 1 time in total.

Karan from what i could gather from VKS interview he says the production is for 400-425 mm which is the Mk1 and they then upgraded to 500 mm which is the MK2

The army wanted 600 he says and that did not fructify for some reason which i think is the IMI ban

interview