Internal Security Watch

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Internal Security Watch

Digvijaya Singh is right: Assam is no Gujarat. It’s worse
There is one other aspect of the Assam situation that renders it worse than the Gujarat parallel. For all the ethnic complexities in Assam that Digvijaya Singh cites (and which are true up to a point), the latest riots are only the most dramatic manifestation of the tension triggered by illegal immigration from Bangladesh that the Congress government in the State refuses to acknowledge to this day.

Even the Congress’ coalition partner in Assam, Hagrama Mohilary, noted earlier this week that illegal immigrants (from Bangladesh) were involved in the riots, but on Thursday Gogoi dismissed these charges as untrue. “The violence was orchestrated by our own people, and not by Bangladesh nationals,” he said.

What is far harder to dismiss is the Congress’ contribution to the build-up of tension over the years through its cynical exploitation of minority politics, which manifests itself in its refusal to acknowledge that illegal immigration is a problem. As Assam’s Sentinel newspaper noted in an editorial, the Congress has over the years been responsible for “changing the demographic profile of the state and making the minorities a majority community… (because of unabated influx of Bangladeshis with geometric population growth) in several districts.

And that cynical project, of actively feeding off minority politics, continues to this day.

brihaspati wrote: OT mostly ,
brihaspati wrote:
Are we the only nation that disses its leaders for any and every fault, maybe even invents some; but hardly ever recognize their positives? We have Gandhi hate, Nehru hate, Savarkar hate, Bose hate groups; 'official' historians consider 1857 a non-event and ignore INA, and in return others consider the congress efforts as useless.
There are enough data points -....in a perfectly complementary way to what the Brits were attempting. When we talk about open biases - and discriminatory steps and statements from the top boss of INC during Partition, regarding treatment to be meted out to two communities [ on record] for the same alleged misdeeds - you can dismiss it as "hate", but some of us look at it as discussing "facts" and not "hate".
Merely listing a few events and threading them into a CT does not imply MKG or some other leader (Say Bose) was working for the Brits or was 'Fascist'. There are enough 'fact' believers on both sides of the coin- and in my opinion both are incorrect. We continue to have 'factual' divisions in the country - but the facts seems to imply one or the other leader of the past was working against Indians and for some foreign power. As I said earlier the focus is on the faults, real or otherwise, and none on the positives.

We can discuss in another thread.
member_23629

Post by member_23629 »

Merely listing a few events and threading them into a CT does not imply MKG or some other leader (Say Bose) was working for the Brits or was 'Fascist'.
What do you think accounts for Gandhi's anti-Hinduism and siding with Muslims in any confrontation between the two? He was a strange leader of Hindus who would always bat for Muslim interests (the Brits too were batting for Muslim interests). Brits wanted their stooge Nehru to rule India and, lo and behold, Gandhi too latched on to him, trying to hold Patel back from prime ministership. Too many coincidences. I am always struck by how much of Gandhi's behaviour was in full confirmity with the British policy against the Hindus and in favour of Muslims.

You have to read more about how inconsistent and childhish "the great leader" was. I would recommend "Gandhi: A Sublime Failure."
member_19648

Post by member_19648 »

A nice article in Indiandefencereview on the Assam violence, worth a read!

http://www.indiandefencereview.com/news ... orth-east/

From above link
Here (in Assam) it is certainly not state-sponsored...
on Thursday Gogoi dismissed these charges as untrue. “The violence was orchestrated by our own people, and not by Bangladesh nationals,”..
Digvijaya Singh, in an interview to CNN-IBN, trotted out many alibis. Assam, he said, was “not an easy state to govern.” Its complex demographics, and the multiplicity of ethnic identities, rendered it volatile, which had manifested itself in many incidents of ethnic conflict over the years, he said.
Where are the ethnic conflicts in this aggression? After decades of good work done by state and countrymen to maintain peace, now the blame goes to natives for external aggression!! All the good work getting bad press now because of votebanking.

Can anyone point out any ethnic conflict at all in this violence?

From Assam riots: 'Our houses were burnt, we sought revenge, retaliated'
While the Bodo leadership is trying to revive its separate Bodoland demand, the Muslims have been opposing it, and have even set up an all-party forum that does not include the Bodos.
'All' party forum can't be all party without Bodos.
Mongal Chandra Basumatray, who has also sought shelter at the relief camp, said he has large land holdings in Burichitam village. Like in the past, he had given 16 bighas of land for cultivation to Muslim farmers this year also. While Mongal funded the expenses, the Muslim farmers provided the labour. As per their arrangement, they would share the crop equally. Planting of paddy was about 40 per cent over when the clashes began.
Very well planned violence.
“There is no shortage of food at the camp. We are getting rice, dal and soyabean curry, but we want to return to our homes and start rebuilding from whatever is left,” she added.
Should be top most priority that all lands run over by criminals is rebuilt.
the security posts are too few to restore the confidence of both the communities.
Any clues why the state Govt does not think of overcoming this challenge?

viv wrote:
brihaspati wrote: Merely listing a few events and threading them into a CT does not imply MKG or some other leader (Say Bose) was working for the Brits or was 'Fascist'. There are enough 'fact' believers on both sides of the coin- and in my opinion both are incorrect. We continue to have 'factual' divisions in the country - but the facts seems to imply one or the other leader of the past was working against Indians and for some foreign power. As I said earlier the focus is on the faults, real or otherwise, and none on the positives.

We can discuss in another thread.
There was no discussion of faults per se in my post. You raised "events" - specifically in this thread - like "war effort", or "social reform without which we would not have become a nation" etc., which I picked on. If you are using such "few events" and threading them into apologetics for past blunders in policy which have contributed to current Islamist militancy and the state's political paralysis before any and all Muslim-identity based atrocious demands - it was my legitimate right to discount them - again based on facts.

My sole concern was to show, that contrary to your claims, and this has been discussed many times on this forum

(1) MKG's stance on contributing to the war effort was hilariously self-contradictory. His opposition to any form of active promotion of violence and bloodshed, even in defence [his demand specifically for Bengali Hindus to accept Islamist aggression on them without reisting or fighting back] from Indians resisting British violence. But his rare calls for promoting violence and bloodshed - seems to have coincided with onlee when it was a matter of defending the British imperial power against competitors. [Two occasions]

In his WWI pamphlet, he uses exactly all those logical arguments, he lambasts about "insurrectionist" freedom fighters. Youc an look this doc up, and compare with his writings on insurrectionist approach especially in his 1918, and 1921-28 articles.

(2) You omitted the entire sordid episode of the kihilafat movement sponsored by MKG [using funds collected by opponents of the move - no ethical qualms here either], which brought into political legitimacy such figures like Suhrawardy. [I think I have posted on this about other future ML genociders recruited and patronized at this stage.] You failed to mention the immediate first proof of the resulting empowerment of Islamic genocidal separatism through his political attempts - in the moplah fallout of the Khilafat movement.

(3) You blamed "Jinnah" the pet hate - for radicalism, but failed to mention that at this early stage, during the Khilafat and future-ML action-men's political recruitment under MKG and his devotees - Jinnah opposed this move,a nd opposed "radical islamism".

(4) you mentioned "scoial reform without which we would not have been a nation" - which is obnoxious. This is the INC Nehruvian propaganda line that no nation existed before the top-boss invented the nation. I merely pointed out that very person you mention as the "reformer" who created this nation, himself did not think so for he already argued against the Brits based on the pre-existing claim of a nation. Again look at his writings from 1919, and especially in the post Moplah phase - 1924 onwards.

(5) JLN's discriminatory attitudes have been described in details on the partition thread regarding Bengal and Bihar muslims versus Hindus. His actions on the ground to intervene specifically on behalf of muslims and giving excuses while not intervening to protect Hindus - giving two completely opposite legalistic arguments in exactly same case, is on record.

This happened too consistently to be dismissed as "few events". I did not mention anything about MKG working for the Brits, but mentioned the fact that his work in SA was helped by publicity given by a certain US based newsgroup, and that intra-ruling regime factional infighting in Westminster also helped.

As for Bose being a "fascist", I don't think I mentioend Bose at all in my post.

I have countered your claims with a clear objective of showing that the current internal security issues arising out of islamic-identity based assertion and separatism, or atrocities, are a direct result of pamepering and protection of the theological idenity and institiutions and even patronage, as well as what amounts to whitewashing and coverups - and the roots go back to MKG's political moves, as well as a Nehruvian policy of strong-arming non-Muslim violence while covering up for islamist ones.

Now no state or central admin dares confront the real issue of ideologically driven genocidal expansionist agenda of Islamism, indulging in exuses and pussyfooting, [fear of "riots" and communal violence that is inability to psychologically face up to Islamism - no such concerns ahown if the "riots" are seen to be initiated by non-Muslims].

It easy to dismiss facts as CT, but it does not help us to get to the root of the problem.
tejas

Post by tejas »

^^^ +1000. Is it a mere coincidence that after muslim violence was given a disproportionate response in 2002( perhaps for the first time in India's history) in Gujarat, there have been no more riots there in 10 years? I think not. That these BD ba$tards can engage in violence when they are illegal aliens is nauseating. The followers of Mohammed after been butchering Hindus with impunity for centuries. Look what has happened when the correct response was meted out.

Counter riots are not an answer to tackle riotous religio-political moves. A modernizing state cannot allow multiple identity claims to overrule certain convergences in values - especially where it concerns human interactions between citizens. Regardless of whatever we may think of diversity - a modern state cannot pussyfoot on issues of fundamental attitudes towards power, subjugation or dominance, and the power relationships between citizens.

A modern state cannot indulge in protecting any ideology that has built in provisions conditioing the minds of the faithful on such issues as say slavery, or right-to-convert by force, or right-to-violence, and most significantly the right to be immune from criticism.

Critical inquiry into ideologies, systems, are crucial to the modern state stabilization process. This helps in thrashing out issues that otherwise if protected, would lead to dissent and centrifugal forces. If on top of protecting an ideology there are biases or discrimination in allowing the protected to indulge in the very same things on others which are banned to these others - thats the recipe for civil war.
tejas

Post by tejas »

^^^ Is Islam compatible with democracy? A secular state? A multicultural country? I believe we all know the answers to these questions. Civil war is avoidable when the mohammedean population is below a certain threshold and they know they will be destroyed by the violence they create.The Kangress party is doing its best to see that threshold is crossed. At that point your two choices are another partition or civil war.

From the Christian Science Monitor

India riots: Illegal immigration is behind deadly clashes in Assam
At its heart, Assam’s troubles are about corrupt politicians encouraging illegal immigration at the expense of locals.

“Since 1971, there’s been a steady influx of immigrants from Bangladesh,” says Rahul Pandita, associate editor of Open magazine who’s covered India’s northeast extensively. “And local politicians gave them Indian identity documents so they would vote for them. They’ve changed the entire demographics of the area and created a powder keg ready to explode.”

Today's Gagoi is Diggy raja of the 90s. It is just that they are from INC and hence they will never be branded like the way Modi got the brand.
AbhiJ

Post by AbhiJ »

tejas wrote:^^^ +1000. Is it a mere coincidence that after muslim violence was given a disproportionate response in 2002( perhaps for the first time in India's history) in Gujarat, there have been no more riots there in 10 years? I think not. That these BD ba$tards can engage in violence when they are illegal aliens is nauseating. The followers of Mohammed after been butchering Hindus with impunity for centuries. Look what has happened when the correct response was meted out.
Neile Massacre?

tejas ji,
just tried to deflect your post into channels that may help you continue to be able to say things. You still want to be heard, don't you! My views about what in which ideology is compatible just not with modernity, but humanity - is laid out in many pages and posts. :P

From an impersonal and objective viewpoint, counter-riots as the only means of preventing riots - is not helpful in running a state. It means, one way or other - you are giving up control over right to violence from the state side [even if the state leadership thinks it is in control]. Thus over time, the role of the state as the arbitor gets diluted. Note that this is different from allowing citizens to carry arms and the right to defend themselves with arms. In the latter case, the state is still not giving up the right to be the sole organizer of large scale violence - merely allowing the individual to postpone arbitrary outcomes moved by hostile other individuals - until state can respond and intervene.

To a very lareg extent, world has and will continue to be run by violence. In the ultimate authority - the legal system of even states like India, have no value unless the state has the coercive power to endorse judgments and enforce penalties. This in turn means the power of uniformed, regimented, weaponed coercive wings of the state. So violence as a monopoly of the state is behind every legal shenanigan. But the trend in modernization is bind both the state and the individual in a framework where things cannot solely be justified on the basis of violence or capacity/threat of violence only.

The act of violence should not only win but such a win has to be seen as legitimate win by the maximum number of people possible. This is the principle in action - rightly or wrongly, deceptively or genuinely - in the so-called ME spring. This is a transition stage where we are moving beyond the accepted prinicple of state monopoly over violence. This is very much desirable - as we have to delegetimize the entire Egypto-Judaeo-Christo-Islamic imperialist meme of violence itself as a legitimate tool of imposition of values. Our whole problem with them lies in their clamour for the right to impose their demands and values on us by violence.
kshatriya

Post by kshatriya »

tejas wrote:^^^ +1000. Is it a mere coincidence that after muslim violence was given a disproportionate response in 2002( perhaps for the first time in India's history) in Gujarat, there have been no more riots there in 10 years? I think not. That these BD ba$tards can engage in violence when they are illegal aliens is nauseating. The followers of Mohammed after been butchering Hindus with impunity for centuries. Look what has happened when the correct response was meted out.
Have also noticed that they firmly tuck their tails when there is also an disprortionate "economic" response.

Sooner or latter whole India have to follow the example set by Punjabis. There have been no Islamist caused riots in Punjab for the last 65 plus years.

Jehari jarr se uukhar dho,Jorr lagge tho Hoyyee
Charr dinna ka Rovna,Sukhi Jeevan Subb Bhoyyee .

But some of them were most comfortable with Islamists across the border to push for their own separatism. Identity distinction claims can be manipulated into separatism easily.

For that, we must look into the role of Congress. They caused, financed , manipulated and controlled it from the beginning. It stopped when the personal price had to be paid.

One way to tackling the problem is to give the Bodos Bodoland provided they are on board to their integration with India. That would
get territory out of the hands of the conniving INC Assamese leadership. I hope the NDA looks seriously into it if it comes to power.

If you look at wikipedia the illegals are predominantly existing in two areas 1) NW Assam and 2) Southern tip of Assam. NW Assam
overlaps the Bodo territorial council. So a Bodoland is going to take it out of the hands of the corrupt Assamese leadership and the
Bodos are going to take care of the problem.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Supratik wrote:If you look at wikipedia the illegals are predominantly existing in two areas 1) NW Assam and 2) Southern tip of Assam. NW Assam
overlaps the Bodo territorial council. So a Bodoland is going to take it out of the hands of the corrupt Assamese leadership and the
Bodos are going to take care of the problem.
You hit the nail in this and your previous post. Look at the map of the north east. The states after WB that shares maximum border length with Bangladesh are Meghalaya and Tripura. Assam has just 2 districts Dhubri (NW) and Karimganj (Southern tip) that border Bangladesh. But it is the most affected state because of this illegal immigration. The blame squarely goes on Assam politicians. The AGP govt that came to power in the 80's also was equally impotent.

The entire zone is subject to several political calculations:
(1) ULFA's collaborative part that has been taken under "Indian" wing - almost surely therefore into congrez wing, and rehabilitation == use against other forces. My surmise is that the bodos are being experimented with a on a small scale.
(2) In BD, the forces have begun to move against the AL regime, that is the slightly hard-pressed Islamists, theologians who have escaped into adjacent safe havens in Muslim strongholds in WB and Assam and Tripura - and the dominant Islamist portion of the BD state machinery and armed forces. A section of the biz class is also involved and of course the current model from US/UK is also considering experiments at control through a "modernized" face of Islamism.

Hitting on the Bodos using the transborder criminal networks from BD, would be a good pressure on Sk Hasina. Note that the same pressure has been started off from the Myanmar side.

The pattern has been the same, organized, well-planned atrocities easily traceable to Islamics, and continued brutality by mobilizing the muslim networks raising fears of retaliation. So more atrocities, and then the inevitable counter-reaction. The counter-reaction can then be channeled back on BD gov in certain ways, and enhance the resurgence of islamist sentiments in BD society. This is all geared towards the next elections in BD.
(3) Any violence on the Bodos can be used by both Islamists on bothe sides of the border for their existing territorial expansion and consolidation. But equally such violence on the Bodos, is a testing ground to use such forces to tackle competing separatists vying for supremacy. The Assam valley regime interests would find this large scale displacement of Bodos from their current occupied territories and continued insecurity at the hand sof Muslim and trafficker gangs a most opportune way of rezoning the patterns of land occupation.

(4) the transnational criminal networks, mostly dominated and run by Islamists between BD - Myanmar, Assam+WB, Nepal - will be activated now, more, since MB is having a spat with the congrez in WB. It doesnt have to be formal patronage, but just that slight relief from state pressure - that translates into greater freedom to operate. As a side, the networks will use this opportunity to expand in all possible directions.

What they have been trying to do for some time is to create a depth of safe zone, exclusive of non-Muslims, all around the border. This is part of a longer term plan - but at the moment is simply to secure the transit routes. Maoists in WB and Nepal, drugs cartels in west of India and AfPAK, all need greater flows. Congrez's own cynical power games and the biz-communities possible callous hedging of bets all contribute.
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

^^Can you please specify the certain ways in which counter reaction can be channeled back on BD Gov?

giving bodoland is not the answer. I am no expert, but creating a tiny separate state in NE will open a pandora's box. and it also sets a negative long-term precedence for future ambitious power seekers who want to create personal fiefdoms in their own little corners. elements like Jagan will become emboldened.

nawabs wrote:^^Can you please specify the certain ways in which counter reaction can be channeled back on BD Gov?
If I were from the Brit side, I would try to get her face the foreign media - and raise humanitarian issues, the plight of refugees etc. Whatever answer she gives goes against her. Inside BD, the plight of "refugee" and violence being meted out to "innocent muslims" in India and Myanmar - and AL gov's inability/refusal to intervene on "Muslim" behalf - is a good mobilizing issue. I think both these methods will be tried out soon, if not already tried out. Not tracking the regional language media for some days so don't know.
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

Thanks for the answer.

Assam CM prescribes progress pill

http://in.news.yahoo.com/assam-cm-presc ... 43515.html
Chief minister Tarun Gogoi today ascribed the turmoil in the Bodo belt to the feeling of deprivation among all sections and prescribed economic development as the only cure.

He told reporters in Guwahati that there were more conflicts in Assam than in any other Indian state.

"There is conflict of interests everywhere because all the communities feel deprived, whether it is Ahom, Muttock, Moran, Scheduled Tribe or Muslims. It is because of this feeling (of deprivation) that such things happen. It is only through economic development that we can solve these problems," he said.

Officially, 48 people had died in the riots till this evening, including six in conflict with security forces. Nearly four lakh people are now lodged in 270 relief camps.

Gogoi started by saying that incidents of violence had come down since yesterday and normalcy was around the corner. But he became perturbed when confronted with questions such as whether the administration was late in reacting, whether there was intelligence failure, whether he had been warned by Assam PCC vice-president Y.L. Karna about the impending disaster early this month.

The chief minister blamed a "third" force for spreading rumours, which resulted in more people flocking to relief camps than in the previous riots that had seen more devastation and deaths. He pointed out that 113, 198, 186, 98, 106 and 64 persons were killed in the riots of 1994, 1996, 1998, 2004, 2005 and 2008 respectively.

Blaming the BJP for giving a communal colour to the riots, he dismissed the demand for his resignation. "If I resign, there will be more chaos. I will tackle the situation boldly," he said.

The chief minister denied the involvement of illegal Bangladeshi migrants in the incidents. "It has been carried out by miscreants. Those who have suffered are Indian citizens. Both sides (Bodos and Muslims) have suffered. And my priority is to ensure proper relief and then their rehabilitation," he said.

Gogoi was also emphatic about the rights of non-Bodos living in the Bodoland Territorial Areas District (BTAD) under the Bodo Accord signed on February 10, 2003. "They will continue to enjoy their rights, including that over land. Nobody can take away their land. Nobody will be deprived," he said to allay fears of those who have fled the BTAD in the wake of the riots.

Asked about Bodos affected by the riots and living outside the BTAD, he added, "I will ensure that nobody is deprived and all are protected."

Gogoi said he would request the Centre to keep a reserve paramilitary force in the state to tackle emergencies like the Kokrajhar riots which "flared up in no time", so that valuable time is not wasted while requisitioning paramilitary forces.

He said this time, too, he had "moved the Centre immediately" but certain procedures led to the delay. "Moving forces from one state to another also takes time. Therefore, I will submit a proposal to keep a reserve force on standby here."

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, a Rajya Sabha MP from Assam, and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi will visit the riot-affected districts tomorrow. This will be Singh's second visit to the state this month.

Assam PCC general secretary Haren Das condemned the BJP and other forces out to malign the Tarun Gogoi government.

"Most of those expressing opinions about the BTAD trouble do not have a thorough understanding of the situation, about the hopes and aspirations of the communities and ethnic groups that make up Assam. AICC general secretary Digvijaya Singh has presented the correct picture about the efforts of chief minister and recent happenings in Bodoland," he said this evening.

As a hassled Dispur pulled out all stops to restore order, AIUDF legislator from Dhubri, Jahanuddin, was allegedly manhandled by Youth Congress activists at Jhagrarpar Middle English School relief camp on the outskirts of Dhubri town.

The activists alleged that the displaced persons were not being given proper relief. Youth Congress member Anibul Haque said the AIUDF legislator had not responded despite repeated pleas. "Now that we have managed food and medicines for 480 camp inmates, the MLA has come here today with two bags of rice and 20kg of dal to take political mileage," he alleged.

Denying the charges, Jahanuddin alleged that some Youth Congress members were politicising his visit to the camps, to enquire about the wellbeing of the inmates. He said his party would raise this point before the Prime Minister.

In Baksa district, hoodlums torched three houses in Daodhara and Hatijan villages late last night. The houses belonged to Ratiram Kuzur, Gopal Goyary and Sukendra Brahma. Five houses were torched in Kathalguri village under Basugaon police station of Chirang district this afternoon.

The Baksa administration imposed night curfew but said the incidents were not related to the violence in the neighbouring districts. Army troops were move to the district today. The Kokrajhar administration lifted day curfew from 6am to 6pm while the Chirang administration lifted the curfew from noon to 4pm.

People were seen going to markets and shops.

There was high demand for vegetables, which were in short supply. Pontu Dey, secretary of Kokrajhar Merchant Association, said the shortage was due to breakdown of transport services, which had stemmed the supply from places like Bijni, Dhubri, Bilasipara, Barpeta and West Bengal. Daily wage earners, vegetable vendors and rickshaw-pullers were hard hit. "My family depends on whatever I earn by selling vegetables. The last six days have been really hard," a woman vegetable vendor in Kokrajhar said.

In sharp contrast to Gogoi, Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) deputy chief Kampa Borgoyary reiterated that "illegal Bengali-speaking migrants" were the root cause of violence in lower Assam districts. "They are destroying the fabric of the region but intellectuals and political parties fear to comment on the issue. The tribals have become a minority in their own land because of influx from Bangladesh. This is not only the problem of the three affected areas but of entire Assam and the Northeast. We wanted our land to be secure," he said.

He appealed for early implementation of the Assam Accord, update of NRC and, like Gogoi, slammed AIUDF chief and Dhubri MP Badruddin Ajmal for holding Bodo leaders responsible for the violence. "We can also say he (Ajmal) is solely responsible for the violence. He is concerned only about the Muslims but 100 per cent of the Bodos have fled Dhubri because of insecurity."

Borgoyary also came down heavily on organisations demanding scrapping of the BTC. He said if the BTC is wrong, the Constitution is also wrong. "BTC is an arrangement under the Sixth Schedule which guaranteed protection of tribals," he said.

Ajmal today visited the Hapachera and Domkonamari relief camps in Bongaigaon district where nearly 3,000 displaced persons from Chirang district are taking shelter. He took stock of the situation in the relief camps and alleged that insufficient relief materials were supplied to the camps and there was no security in and around them.

The all-party team that had made a three-day stock-taking trip to the troubled Bodo belt, met the chief minister at his residence for nearly an hour this evening and apprised him of their findings. BPF legislators Chandan Brahma and Kamal Shing Narzary, who went with the team, were not present in the meeting.

Sources said the team, headed by deputy Speaker Bhimananda Tanti and comprising Congress, BPF BJP, AIUDF and AGP MLAs, has requested Gogoi to reshuffle the local administration as the latter has lost the confidence of the people. They requested posting of able and neutral officers to the BTAD; start of rehabilitation work within a week and direct monitoring of security issues from Dispur given the absence of faith in the local administration.
Samudragupta

Post by Samudragupta »

brihaspati wrote:The entire zone is subject to several political calculations:
(1) ULFA's collaborative part that has been taken under "Indian" wing - almost surely therefore into congrez wing, and rehabilitation == use against other forces. My surmise is that the bodos are being experimented with a on a small scale.
(2) In BD, the forces have begun to move against the AL regime, that is the slightly hard-pressed Islamists, theologians who have escaped into adjacent safe havens in Muslim strongholds in WB and Assam and Tripura - and the dominant Islamist portion of the BD state machinery and armed forces. A section of the biz class is also involved and of course the current model from US/UK is also considering experiments at control through a "modernized" face of Islamism.

Hitting on the Bodos using the transborder criminal networks from BD, would be a good pressure on Sk Hasina. Note that the same pressure has been started off from the Myanmar side.

The pattern has been the same, organized, well-planned atrocities easily traceable to Islamics, and continued brutality by mobilizing the muslim networks raising fears of retaliation. So more atrocities, and then the inevitable counter-reaction. The counter-reaction can then be channeled back on BD gov in certain ways, and enhance the resurgence of islamist sentiments in BD society. This is all geared towards the next elections in BD.
(3) Any violence on the Bodos can be used by both Islamists on bothe sides of the border for their existing territorial expansion and consolidation. But equally such violence on the Bodos, is a testing ground to use such forces to tackle competing separatists vying for supremacy. The Assam valley regime interests would find this large scale displacement of Bodos from their current occupied territories and continued insecurity at the hand sof Muslim and trafficker gangs a most opportune way of rezoning the patterns of land occupation.

(4) the transnational criminal networks, mostly dominated and run by Islamists between BD - Myanmar, Assam+WB, Nepal - will be activated now, more, since MB is having a spat with the congrez in WB. It doesnt have to be formal patronage, but just that slight relief from state pressure - that translates into greater freedom to operate. As a side, the networks will use this opportunity to expand in all possible directions.

What they have been trying to do for some time is to create a depth of safe zone, exclusive of non-Muslims, all around the border. This is part of a longer term plan - but at the moment is simply to secure the transit routes. Maoists in WB and Nepal, drugs cartels in west of India and AfPAK, all need greater flows. Congrez's own cynical power games and the biz-communities possible callous hedging of bets all contribute.
But B'ji what will happen once the Bodos who have already started to move under the greater banner hold their ground and beat back this assault?How do u see the Ahom's reacting to it...Do you think Paresh Babu will continue to hv any relevance after this incident?

devesh wrote:giving bodoland is not the answer. I am no expert, but creating a tiny separate state in NE will open a pandora's box. and it also sets a negative long-term precedence for future ambitious power seekers who want to create personal fiefdoms in their own little corners. elements like Jagan will become emboldened.

Actually if you look at wiki Bodoland is as big as the other NE states and I am not fundamentally opposed to smaller states provided they
have logic behind them and are economically viable. If you leave it in the hands of the corrupt Assamese leadership they are going to ruin it even further. They are taking advantage of the divisions within the Hindu community to remain in power. Right now many Muslims have shifted to the AUDF. So the INC strategy to have a permanent vote bank has not worked. Talk about short-sightedness. They have their brains stuck between their legs. However, INC does not yet control the Bodos. So the only way to save the Bodo and other tribal homelands is to give them self-rule.

Samudragupta ji,
Bodos do not have sufficient military strength to resist the combined Islamist+usual-suspect-political-side+state machinery. Destabilizing Bodo territory facilitates teh corridor that BD Islamists, Maoists and the Chinese want with Nepal. Too many interested parties.

Press reports say that Bodos are Christian as well as Hindu. I wouldn't count on Bodos lacking military strength for too long.

brihaspati wrote: Destabilizing Bodo territory facilitates teh corridor that BD Islamists, Maoists and the Chinese want with Nepal. Too many interested parties.
This is truly the core of the issue.

underachiever and gogoi are playing out a pre scripted role.

Remember how they pried away east timor.

Looks like a new "tiranga yatra" will be needed.. Or perhaps a rathyatra.. Dakkhineshwar se Kamakhya tak...

Not possible with UPA-X in power. Trains will be U-turned in the middle of the night to the loud cheering of NOT disturbing the fragile equilibrium with the disgruntled seditious elements.

Bodos are 1.3 million, 90% Hindu, 10% Christian. BTC is 27000 km2. I don't see why the Bodos should suffer under corrupt Assamese leaders.

Correction. BTC is about 8500 km2.
D Roy

Post by D Roy »

It's pretty amazing how even the BJP scarcely ever mentions Shyama prasad Mukherjee.

vera_k wrote:^^^

Press reports say that Bodos are Christian as well as Hindu. I wouldn't count on Bodos lacking military strength for too long.
As already pointed out the very large majority of Bodos are Hindus [not all portions follow all supposedly orthodox rites in all possible situations - but by that criteria no Hindus exist in India apart from those mythically reconstructed by our historians.]

But, the media is reporting it in the usual "aswathama hata, iti gaja" style : note that the usual expression is " Bodos are not onlee Hindoos, but also Christian ityadi". So the statement as such is not a lie, but it is placed in a form that does not give the relative proportions - making it look like that Bodos are equally Christian as they are Hindus. This is necessary for the media, since this impression can then be used to deny that the clash was against "Muslims", and that Islam has therefore nothing to do with any possible aggression on Bodos.

The political class also vehemently protests the "BD" label, that is because accepting the BD label jeopardizes "vote bank", as well as BD is almost entirely and overwhelmingly Muslim - and hence the BD tag would also reinforce the Muslim tag.

Bodo Hindus should avoid the trap of becoming Internet Hindus . The destinty of their community lies in being Barood o Hanood Changiara=spark.