Military Multimedia - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Military Multimedia Content

Prithwiraj wrote:Can anyone ID the chopper? Is it Mi 24 or Mi-17?
From Zero to Four Seconds it seems like a 17. After that I am not sure.

Tha explosion was colossal. Nothing was left after. Can't even see anything minor falling down after the kaboom.
Sheeeez the pilots ......
Ankit Desai

Post by Ankit Desai »

NDTV India running a show on INS Sindhuraj.

-Ankit
nakul

Post by nakul »

Ankit Desai wrote:NDTV India running a show on INS Sindhuraj.

-Ankit
Recording available at http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/ndtv-i ... ory/251543
nakul

Post by nakul »

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/ndtv-i ... ory/245944

An NDTV program on the Indian C 130J. At 8:26 the anchor says that "zaroorat padne dushman pe bomb bhi barsaa sakta hai." (If needed, it can also drop bombs on the enemy)
nakul

Post by nakul »

http://khabar.ndtv.com/videos/special/show/779

Collection of all NDTV videos in Hindi.

Dhruv
INS Satpura
INS Viraat
Su30 MKI
LCA Tejas
MMRCA

I like Rajeev Ranjan's rustic style a lot :D
nakul

Post by nakul »

One more thing I like about him is the number system he uses. We are used to seeing nos above 1 crore as 100 crore or 1000 crore. Here is a better and easier one

1 crore = 100 lakh
1 arab = 100 crore
1 kharab = 100 arab

So India's budget which is approx 2 lakh crore rupees can be stated as 20 kharab rupees
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

Aerobatics -- Cockpit view of Su-27 and Su-34

Full HD Version

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=a5c_1351839859

Recent clip of F-22 Raptor taken on my SD(re)870is point and shoot :oops:

^^^ That has come to be F-22s signature move at aero shows.

indranilroy wrote:^^^ That has come to be F-22s signature move at aero shows.
Amriki pilots seem to like that. The F/A 18 did that maneuver at Aero India - I have clips of that somewhere on Youtube
Watch from here for 1 minute. He does it twice
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... CFRo#t=50s

Shivji,

I am sure that the F-18 can do it but not to the effect of the F-22 ... What the F-22 displays is its TVC to pitch quickly and then its very high TWR to climb ... the result is a really stunning turn, almost like pulling vertically from a slow-cobra maneuver(if one could call it so).

indranilroy wrote:Shivji,

I am sure that the F-18 can do it but not to the effect of the F-22 ... What the F-22 displays is its TVC to pitch quickly and then its very high TWR to climb ... the result is a really stunning turn, almost like pulling vertically from a slow-cobra maneuver(if one could call it so).
That maneuver is one of the more tame maneuvers from the F-22 I guess - but it does show off TV and power. The F/A 18 too was spectacular in its lazy climbs. A "lazy/slow" climb is a hallmark of excess power where kinetic energy from a high speed approach is not required to climb. Most modern fighters seem to show that off to a greater or lesser extent in airshows - but the MiG 29 and Su 27/30 set the trend from the late 80s. None of the older types - not even the F-16 can even compare IMO
Last edited by shiv on 05 Nov 2012 07:49, edited 1 time in total.

Mig-29 vanilla version (and the OVT) is definitely a beast when it comes to maneuvers. I think I have told the story of AI'07 when I saw the Mig-29 OVT go up standing next to F-16 and Gripen pilots. The crowds were enthralled, but we three almost simultaneously looked at each other. We all were gasping. As an aircraft jingo, I am yet to see something as orgasmic as that display and I am fairly certain that I won't see it for sometime.

Actually I was a strong supporter for the Mig-35 for MMRCA after seeing that (but ofcourse there is more to a plane than aerodynamics).

Spetsnaz Special: The Legendary Kalashnikov

indranilroy wrote:AI'07 when I saw the Mig-29 OVT go up standing next to F-16 and Gripen pilots.
I may be mistaken, but from my memories if AI'07, I think it was Mig-35 (in the brilliant red and blue livery) that performed those amazing manoeuvres no?

I remember watching openmouthed at the jet coming to a near stop, swaying downwards like a falling leaf and then the engines "roaring" to life as the aircraft rocketed in a burst of speed.
Roperia

Post by Roperia »

A documentary on Op Black Tornado. Apologies if already posted.
mayankdr

Post by mayankdr »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... S0CSY3G3YE

Indian Missile - past,present future at glimpse

portion of an interview with Dr. Kota Harinarayana

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4zGOj4BOXM

Kashi wrote:
indranilroy wrote:AI'07 when I saw the Mig-29 OVT go up standing next to F-16 and Gripen pilots.
I may be mistaken, but from my memories if AI'07, I think it was Mig-35 (in the brilliant red and blue livery) that performed those amazing manoeuvres no?

I remember watching openmouthed at the jet coming to a near stop, swaying downwards like a falling leaf and then the engines "roaring" to life as the aircraft rocketed in a burst of speed.
The plane in the brilliant blue and the red livery is the Mig-29 OVT.

The Mig-35 was also present at AI'07. But it looked like this:

indranilroy wrote:The plane in the brilliant blue and the red livery is the Mig-29 OVT.

Thanks for the pics. I believe I may have seen both the jets put on some fabulous displays- I remember standing awestruck at the sheer audacity of some of those aerobatics.

Kashi wrote:
indranilroy wrote:The plane in the brilliant blue and the red livery is the Mig-29 OVT.

Thanks for the pics. I believe I may have seen both the jets put on some fabulous displays- I remember standing awestruck at the sheer audacity of some of those aerobatics.
True. I have a video but my video is not half as good as this one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bK1GChMOnrQ

This 47 minute video is a must watch for all Military Aviation freaks. It is the story of teh Vulcan bomber from Asuncion island to hit Port Stanley airfield in the Falklands in the last Hurrah of a superpower in its dying days.

The video highlights the complexity of force projection - even as piddly as one bomb raid 8000 miles away and shows how 13 refuellers and one two bombers, of which one turned back, resulted in one dumb bomb out of 21 hitting the runway.

When we talk of force projection - this last gasp of Britain shows just how powerful and organized the US is today and how far any competitor will have to go to catch up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40knj0qg_Us

^^ truly said , also the amount of power they used in Falklands , was almost all of their navy , since then there is a decline. US navy is ten times of that size and still growing. When they declared 60% of their fleet will move to China-pacific it means it ends chinese navy's dream of power projection or even local dominance.
member_23455

Post by member_23455 »

Samay wrote:US navy is ten times of that size and still growing

I know it's fashionable on this forum to never let facts get in the way of an opinion but just in case...

http://thinpinstripedline.blogspot.in/2 ... riers.html

^^ plz add these as well http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wasp_class ... sault_ship

just in case....

ps: the growth is in terms of increase in operational spread and no. of bases , lot more to come in SE Asia...,
i.e. more bases more spending.

shiv wrote:This 47 minute video is a must watch for all Military Aviation freaks. It is the story of teh Vulcan bomber from Asuncion island to hit Port Stanley airfield in the Falklands in the last Hurrah of a superpower in its dying days.

The video highlights the complexity of force projection - even as piddly as one bomb raid 8000 miles away and shows how 13 refuellers and one two bombers, of which one turned back, resulted in one dumb bomb out of 21 hitting the runway.

When we talk of force projection - this last gasp of Britain shows just how powerful and organized the US is today and how far any competitor will have to go to catch up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40knj0qg_Us
Thank you , Shiv !! Most interesting.

Apologies if already posted, via e-mail, F35 on USS Wasp

http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=Ki ... ure=colike

^^Thats the point Im trying to make, i.e, to see them as potential carriers as well as soon as f-35 comes into action full flegded.

Mine Kafon

Low cost anti-personnel mine clearance device

Utterly ingenious in it's pure simplicity !
Ganesh_S

Post by Ganesh_S »

Ganesh_S

Post by Ganesh_S »

New T-90MS video with English subtitles

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hzC4jSnRis
nelson

Post by nelson »

^ Great video. Raring to see that tank under Indian flag.

Rajeev Ranjan : INS Teg

AMAZING pictures and inside view of ops! Must say NDTV has launched a great program.
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

nelson wrote:^ Great video. Raring to see that tank under Indian flag.
Why would you like to see another gun covered with toilet paper as armour in Indian service?
Ganesh_S

Post by Ganesh_S »

an old clip from Yudh Abhyas 2009

don't remember it being shared. apologies if already done

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdNHQQS7lSQ