Indian Naval Discussion

Rupak

Re: Indian Naval Discussion

Post by Rupak »

Hi Aditya G,
Even tough your question is addressed at Tsarkar, I couldn't resist the opportunity to try to pull some info together (thanks to uncle google!). What you have below is an estimate (since not all prices are available) of what would be needed to give the NOPVs ASW capability that you ask for.

Senors:
HUMSA-NG: approximately 30-90 crore, depending on size of array (figures calculated based on BEL info circa 2008)
NAGAN towed array: (no figure available), let's take the lower end from above so that cost is 30 crore.

Weapons and associated controls:
Based on SRGM cost circa 2011 from BHEL (47 crore), one set each of RBU-6,000 plus 2 x Triple ILAS system would likely coast between 40-50 crore each.
ASW Decoy system Meerch is 6 crore for a set of two.

So if we stay with the lower end of costs this at a minimum will be around:
30 crore + 30 crore+ 40 crore + 40 crore + 6 crore + fitting out costs/integration/redundency/overead (say 30% or 42-45 crore) = Rs 190 crore

IIRC these ships were originally ordered for about 600 crore each, so adding on ASW capability would add at a minimum some 30% more to their costs.

I would welcome any additions and corrections.
member_23364

Post by member_23364 »

^^^Wiki lists the Steregushchy class corvette (2200 tons displacement) costing $120-$150 M/ship with a armament and sensor suite below-

Sensors and
processing systems:
Air search radar: Furke-E 3D, E/F band
Surface search radar: Granit Central Scientific Institute Garpun-B/3Ts-25E/PLANK SHAVE radar
Monument targeting radar
Fire control radar: Ratep 5P-10E Puma for A-190
HOT FLASH radar
Sonar: Zarya-ME suite, bow mounted. Vinyetka low frequency active/passive towed array
Navigation: GORIZONT-25 integrated navigation system
Electronic warfare
& decoys: TK-25E-5 ECM, 4 x PK-10 decoy
Armament:
1 x Arsenal A-190 100mm
2 x MTPU pedestal machine gun 14.5 mm
1 x Kashtan CIWS-M CADS or
12x Redut VLS cells
2 x AK-630М CIWS
1x8 VL Kh-35 missiles
2x4 330mm torpedo tubes (for Paket-NK)
Aircraft carried: Hangar for Ka-27 Helicopter

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steregushc ... s_corvette

Granted that wiki data tends to be not very accurate, but we are already spending $100MM/Saryu.
Wouldn't spending $50-60MM extra/boat and making it more lethal make sense?

On second thoughts, would exchanging balance sheets in times of war ensure us victory? You know, we throw our balance sheet and they throw us theirs. Whoever has the better one, wins.
SNaik

Post by SNaik »

Russian Wiki gives price for 20380 at 10 bln RUR which is around 300 million USD. I'd rather go with that estimate.

Sounds about right, Even P-28s will likely cost around 350 million each i wouldn't be surprised if Project 20385 costs little bit more than that.

what VL system does the KH35 use in the RUS corvette? is it the same sold for VL shtil on the 054 ships and then being trialed in other cheen ships?

not that VL is any use on small ships, things are best left in inclined tubes to preserve interior space.

Singha wrote:what VL system does the KH35 use in the RUS corvette?
Mounted amidship in inclined launcher
keshavchandra

Post by keshavchandra »

suryag wrote:Nuke sub Chakra is facing spares problems because the Indian submariners do not know how to use them :D
may you enlight us, with indepths of your comment/clain....?

^^^Ask philip ji for explanation
bmallick

Post by bmallick »

What is being suggested vis-e-vis the Saryu Class OPV's could be up-armed by pouring in a bit more of money, is a classic case of requirement/mission creep. People tend to think that adding a bit more would a great panacea for everything. But the catch is the requirement/mission needs never ends.

For ex. by adding 30% more cost we get a ASW armed vessel. Great. But then someone might say why not add 20% more and fit in a bunch of AShM too. Boy then we would get a great multi-role vessel. Wah kya baat hai. But then, hey presto, why not add 400-500 tons more in size, fit in a bunch of Barak-1, throw in a few dollars more, you get a formidable ship, a light frigate. :-)...Send it to south china sea and see PLAN shitting in its pant. See it never ends.

One needs to understand what is the role that is being envisaged here for these OPV's. Basically a ship which can patrol not only our shoreline, but go across the Arabian sea and patrol the pirate infested sea's there for long periods, cheaply. Go across the Bay of Bengal into the Andaman Sea and patrol there. Basically where ever the need be in the entire Indian Ocean Rim, we can send it there and it can stay for prolong period. Hence the huge range of the vessel and it large endurance. Which basically results in size, for carrying the fuel & provisions needed. Also remember, these very sea's & oceans and very rough during the monsoon and cyclone season. The larger size helps there too. Day to day patrolling may not be as glamorous as going all guns blazing in war, but remember, these mundane work actually helps maintain peace & security.

Plus ships like these cuts sailing time requirements of real warships during peace time which is costly overkill mostly perhaps. Costly in terms of reduces chance in a real warship being available when needed because some equipment in maintenance/replacement.

Adding more equipment would also mean more time on maintenance therefore a little reduced time in patrolling.

Just 2 cents. Perhaps more such ships are needed, may be in a batch of 2/3 but looking at the ship it looks like each of such ship are sufficient. In any case, even a boat of Indian Navy must not be attacked without huge overall damage to attackers which should be made clear in patrolling doctrines etc.

According to Livefist, INS Tarkash (F46), the second of the three Improved Talwar class guided missile Frigate has arrived in Desh and joined the Western Naval Command.
http://livefist.blogspot.com/2012/12/he ... es-in.html

Improved Talwar class and the Project 17 Shivalik class have given a huge fillip to our blue-water capability.

Some of the reports by the press are quite juvenile and often hilarious.One would give more credence if the report was from "official sources".However,being a new nuclear boat,it is quite possible that even after sea trials before delivery,glitches take place.If you study the recent history of nuclear boats in western navies,particularly that of the USN and RN,some of their latest and most touted boats have experienced major problems.We aren't even mentioning the problems of the subs of OZ here!

The delivery of the second batch-2 of the Talwar class is a welcome development.These frigates,based upon the decades old Cold War Krivak DDG hull,have proved their worth.Delivered in pretty quick time,these Brahmos armed frigates will now join the Rajputs (mod-Kashins) in carrying our most lethal anti-ship missile.VAYU reporting from Izvestia,says that B'mos is now equipped with a new sat guidance system,
"borrowed from the cruise missile X-555 and its latest version X-101",which use the GLONASS system to increase its range and precision.

"The integration of B'mos and X-555 systems has produced a 'super missile' with sub-strategic capability beyond its tactical range.Fired from land,sea or air,it can hit targets at ranges from '300-500km' and is also capable of carrying a nuclear warhead,continued the Russian official.This is very good news indeed,as the improved B'mos,will be able to carry part of our strategic deterrent if need be.Especially useful if our conventional AIP subs of the future are equipped with B'mos,adding to our nuclear SSBN boats,giving us a very useful number of cost-effective solutions to dealing with the Paki threat in particular.

The air-launched version which will be carried by our SU-30MKIs will also be able to carry a tactical nuclear armed B'mos with a stand-off range of 500+km.

PS:Read this report on the RN's latest Astute class SSN.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scott ... bn-1507929
Admiral admits teething problems with £1.5bn nuclear submarine
28 Dec 2012 00:01

THE HMS Astute has been dogged by several design and construction faults, and was grounded off Skye in 2010.
The HMS Astute The HMS Astute

AN admiral yesterday admitted the launch of a £1.5billion nuclear submarine had been a shambles.

Defence chiefs heralded HMS Astute as the most advanced sub in the world when she arrived at Faslane in 2009. But the first of seven planned hunter-killer vessels was dogged by a series of design and construction faults.

And there was more embarrassment when she grounded off Skye in 2010.

The incident led to the commander being removed. The MoD had also said the Astute would be able to make 29 knots but the Record revealed how one naval whistleblower described the boat as having a “V8 engine with a Morris Minor gearbox”.

Yesterday, the head of the Navy’s £10billion sub programme, Simon Lister, admitted Astute had had a “difficult birth” and lessons had been learned in the building of the latest vessel, Ambush.

He added: “I wish I could buy a submarine as if it was a Mercedes-Benz coming off the production line after 10 years of development. It isn’t that.”

But the Navy insist the Astute is on schedule to make her debut in 2013.

Admiral Lister said: “Every aspect of that submarine has been tested to the limit. We have learned lessons and every engineering development that we put into Astute has gone into or is going into Ambush.”
member_23370

Post by member_23370 »

The Brahmos as it is will never fit into a SSK. I have a feeling even Soryu will have a tough time fitting them. I would hope the SSK carry Klub/Excocet and Nirbhay.

http://www.flightglobal.com/news/articl ... 8s-380553/

interesting titbit from article

The P-8A, based on the commercial 737-800ERX, is due to replace the Navy's aging Lockheed P-3s for maritime surveillance and anti-submarine warfare. The aircraft will work closely with about 60 Northrop Grumman MQ-4C Tritons, unmanned aircraft that will be used to identify and guide the armed P-8As to the target.

So obvious question .. how capable is the Neptune without the MQ 4C ??

MQ-4C being cheaper and longer duration will function as a wider set of 'eyes' and lord knows the USN wants to cover huge swathes of sea.
same or better sensors will be onboard the P8 as well.

btw the IN is also reported to be interested in the MQ4C BAMS 6-8 units initially. so is australia and perhaps many others.

it is inevitable given the size limitations of Heron which is one level below the MQ4C ghawk size. for deep ocean surveillance from very high alt the herons are not enough.

we should see movement in next fiscal year after aeroindia 2013.

Bheeshma,B'mos fitted onto Amurs in an 8 silo configuration have been shown in model form at past Aero-India air shows.,The same is poss. on Kilos as well.It just needs another hull section to be fitted to the sub,but will need a more powerful engine or AIP module as well.
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

Thought I will post this interesting video of component ship building... the video shows how super structures of USS Zumwalt is moved and mated with other structural components... our shipyards need to build this level of sophistication to churn out ships in no time... however we need to probably tear down existing shipyards before starting this journey...

Philip wrote:Bheeshma,B'mos fitted onto Amurs in an 8 silo configuration have been shown in model form at past Aero-India air shows.,The same is poss. on Kilos as well.It just needs another hull section to be fitted to the sub,but will need a more powerful engine or AIP module as well.
Brahmos is 8.4m long - so VLS is out of question because Amur is 6.4m high (both numbers from Wiki). It is also 600mm in diameter - but Amur only has 533mm torpedo tubes.

Either we go for a 'mini-brahmos' that can fit in a 533mm TT or we go for bigger subs.

SRIN,models of Amurs with Brahmos have been displayed at Aero-India shows and Def-Expos before.The design exists.I have pics of these somewhere in my archives,which will require an archaeological dig to unearth! Amurs also come in several sizes to suit the needs/budgets of navies.The long gestation of the basic sub,ironing out all glitches,now finally in production for the Russian navy,is also being offered to the IN for its next line of conventional subs after Scorpene production.

Here is the link to the pic of the model of the sub.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:BrahM ... aqette.jpg

looks like the model might not exactly be to scale but in any case, a arihant style smooth humpback section is visible.
Brando

Post by Brando »

Prithwiraj wrote:.. our shipyards need to build this level of sophistication to churn out ships in no time... however we need to probably tear down existing shipyards before starting this journey...
No need. GRSE and MDL have modular shipbuilding capabilities. The rest of them could also get such capability in short order. The only impediments are money, expertise and above all a desire for change.
Brando

Post by Brando »

Philip wrote:The long gestation of the basic sub,ironing out all glitches,now finally in production for the Russian navy,is also being offered to the IN for its next line of conventional subs after Scorpene production.
The Lada class (Amur's domestic cousin) was deemed unsatisfactory in propulsion and sensors after sea trials of the first boat Sankt Peterburg. The construction of the remaining boats of this class has been halted as a result. The Russians also have an AIP system that is largely untested.

Given all these factors, it would far more risky for India to invest in Amur than in some Euro sub. However, according to various Indian Navy planners 75I was meant to go to the Russians as India was keen to absorb Russian submarine know-how in the eventual push to develop an indigenous diesel electric.

But IMO, even if we absorb Russian know-how, why should India look to building a diesel electric fleet instead of transitioning to a SSN fleet with bigger boats offering longer persistence and greater capabilities at sea. After all, India is already investing in nuclear propulsion for the SSBN program so it makes sense to leverage that technology and investment as much as possible. Also, the greater operational experience would use would develop a greater knowledge base and skill set towards making our nuclear propulsion quieter, safer and more reliable.
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

Brando wrote:
Prithwiraj wrote:.. our shipyards need to build this level of sophistication to churn out ships in no time... however we need to probably tear down existing shipyards before starting this journey...
No need. GRSE and MDL have modular shipbuilding capabilities. The rest of them could also get such capability in short order. The only impediments are money, expertise and above all a desire for change.
I thought the current shipyards are extremely crammed to facilitate such movement of super structured. Not talking of smaller vessels here...
Brando

Post by Brando »

The problem isn't physical space but rather the limited dry-dock capacities and the archaic ship building practices in place. Besides, the surrounding areas are all industrial areas so the government can always acquire more land without any trouble of displacing people and such.

Ajai Shukla's blog has lots of pictures of the Goliath crane at MDL that is used to move 200-300 tonne blocks into place.

Brando wrote:But IMO, even if we absorb Russian know-how, why should India look to building a diesel electric fleet instead of transitioning to a SSN fleet with bigger boats offering longer persistence and greater capabilities at sea. After all, India is already investing in nuclear propulsion for the SSBN program so it makes sense to leverage that technology and investment as much as possible. Also, the greater operational experience would use would develop a greater knowledge base and skill set towards making our nuclear propulsion quieter, safer and more reliable.
I preached this for a while it simply doesn't make sense to spend close to 1 billion for diesel submarine that patrols at 10 knots and carries very limited payload. Unlike China we don't have choke points or straits for the subs to be most effective IMO we should be focusing on SSNs. Unless we can mass manufacture cheap (U-209 clones') for 100 million SSK for attrition warfare, Scorpenes' simply doesn't make sense to me in terms of getting the best bang for the buck.

Time. India navy will attain confidence about moving to ssn as mainstay only if arihant and sisters are deemed a operational success. That will be 2020 for decision time. Cost will likely be twice or thrice of even a uber expensive ssk given our low volume builds.

Plus additional deposits or supplies of uranium for naval reactors need to be found or tied up for. Our limited domestic supplies will be allocated at high priority for n warheads first for sure.

^^^ i wonder if the us navy wants to sell us some ssk s and ssn s?

buying or leasing some 688I SSN from USN stock has been mooted as a alternative to Aus submarine woes but looks like they want new build SSK.
USN has no SSK, no production facility for SSK and no plans to build such a class...thats why Taiwan has been left high and dry on that front - germany is unwilling to risk trade ties by selling their U-boats. and probably neither is france or spain.
russia is an option, but they would rather sell subs in volume to Cheen.

I dont think the US govt can just lease us nuclear submarines...far too much political opposition to such moves I would imagine....
member_23370

Post by member_23370 »

Why would IN need a 688-I? Better lease another Akula-II and get S-3 to S-5 out into the sea soon.

Costs.A conventional diesel AIP sub (not a Scorpene!) such as the Amur would cost not more than 1/3rd that of a nuclear boat (Though Wik has given the cost of an Amur as just $100M,I am sceptical of this figure,a figure of $250-$300M would be more accurate) and have Diesel subs are better suited to littoral warfare which is the primary task of the IN when dealing with the PN and sanitising our coastline.The added advantage of such subs equipped with Brahmos is that with the upgraded versions of the missile-longer range and nuclear warhead capability,they could be very useful as alternative vessels for part of our strategic deterrent.The PN by the way has decided-say some sources,to equip Chinese built AIP subs with nuclear tipped missiles,as Pak's low-cost method of establishing its third leg of its strategic "triad"

The number of subs in the IN's inventory are also woefully inadequate.I have given stats before showing that the PLAN's sub inventory by 2020 will be between 60-80 subs,mostly new ones.The In needs to have at least half that number to deal with the combined threat from Pak and China.It will take us at least a decade to build about 5-6 nuclear boats of the ATV class and we know the time it is taking us to build just 6 Scorpenes,the first that too without AIP.Unless about 6-8 new subs are built abroad,the IN is going to find it hard going keeping its existing subs operational,even if there are further upgrades to the Kilos to extend their lifespan as one option entails.The fastest way to plug the widening gap in numbers is to acquire a new B,mos equipped diesel AIP sub from Russia (as the Russians will not allow B'mos to be fitted to western subs,and in any case German U-boats are too small ).There is little point in acquiring a Scorpene follow-on fitted with a vastly inferior Exocet missile,as the French have yet to perfect a sub-launched non-strategic missile of the capability of B,Mos which in the future will have a hypersonic capability.

The acquisition of at least two more Akulas is another matter,which should simultaneously be pursued as Indian nuclear boat construction for the next decade will be firmly fixed upon building SSBNs first before we find the money and space in our yards to build SSGNs.

Bheeshma wrote:Why would IN need a 688-I? Better lease another Akula-II and get S-3 to S-5 out into the sea soon.
IIRC, that is what is being planned since as per Broadsword, Antony for the 1st time publicly mentioned the process ongoing for a 2nd lease

I think, like the Chinese, our navy is not being funded as well as it would like.

And, I would think, that if we come to blows with the chinese, ironically, our navy would be core of our asymmetric warfare strategem.

I wonder how much pressure we can put on the Sri Lankans, to deal with our interests favourably. We could not have them deal with the Tamilians to our satisfaction. I wonder if we can have them get rid of the Chinese govt. agencies and installations in Hambantota, or at least have them subject to our inspection, such that we know what is going on there.
I think we would have already gotten some deal like that out of them, behind the scenes.

The best option for IN is to opt for French-Spanish S-80 SSK which are bigger than Scorpene and come with AIP.

It always offers the most of logistics commonality when compared to existing Scorpene design. In long run it would be cheaper and cost effective to operate the S-80 submarine.

At best we can hope for one more Akula-2 a new built one takes 4-5 years to be built so a decision made today means we get the second Akula-2 by 2018
tushar_m

Post by tushar_m »

Austin wrote: At best we can hope for one more Akula-2 a new built one takes 4-5 years to be built so a decision made today means we get the second Akula-2 by 2018
wiki shows a improved Akula I who's construction was halted at 60% this sub could be used by us

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akula_clas ... e_to_India

K-xxx 971I/09719 Iribis Akula I Improved
tushar_m

Post by tushar_m »

my guess is that we are already going for Russian design maybe amur 950 with VLS tubes for bramhos missiles(not to keep all eggs in one basket)

also i found below sub which could be used as packs a good punch

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S1000_class_submarines

do any one know if we have any mini-subs under construction , they could be produced in number to defend the area whereas the bigger boats can go into enemy territory & do the attack task.

a series of New 120 km range surface to air missiles for new Navy warships
The Indian Navy is all set to get first of its warships fitted with the next generation of missiles by the summer of 2013. These missiles are expected to prove very effective against long-range incoming enemy missiles, weaponised drones and spy planes, among other threats.

The long-range surface-to-air missile (LR-SAM), being jointly developed by Israel Aerospace Industry (IAI) and India’s Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), is in the final stages of development. “From now on, all newly inducted Indian naval warships will have these missiles for the protection of strategic assets along the coastline and self-defence,” sources said.

The older warships cannot be retrofitted with the system. However, all 18 new warships on order, or under construction, along with the indigenous aircraft carrier, will have these missiles. The new missiles can strike air-borne targets 120 km away.

The first warship to have the new set of missiles would be the Kolkata class destroyers. The first of the seven warships of this class is slated to be commissioned in July 2013. The ship is under construction at the Mazagon Docks Limited (MDL), Mumbai. The Rs 2,600-crore project for the LR-SAM aims to develop an advanced naval air-defence system. DRDO and IAI officials have been conducting a series of tests so far. The Indian Navy, along the DRDO and the IAI, will conduct final-user trials in early 2013 on board one of the warships in India before LR-SAM installation.

The project is running behind schedule by two years. At a meeting between defence ministry officials of India and Israel in the first week of December, India expressed concern over the delay. It stressed that the mass production of LR-SAM should begin at the earliest. The project was sanctioned in December 2005.

So far, the Indian Navy has been relying on Russian-origin “Shtil missiles” and Israeli Barak missiles for its air-defence. These missiles have a range of around 60-70 km. The LR-SAM will be an important upgrade, especially when the Indian Navy has been tasked to dominate an increasingly volatile Indian Ocean region.

The LR-SAM variant undergoing testing will have inclined launch. Work is also on to develop another variant having vertical launch. This will save a precious few seconds while counter-attacking an enemy missile. In a real-war scenario, the reaction time to launch an LR-SAM can be less than 30 seconds.

A specialised radar will be needed on board warships to locate the incoming threat and then fire the missile. The radars will be part of the kit on board all future Indian Navy warships.

The missiles have shown good performance in homing onto desired targets so far. The Hyderabad-based Defence Research and Development Laboratory (DRDL), a DRDO lab, is the Indian partner in the project. It is developing the rear section of the missile.
http://www.tribuneindia.com/2012/20121231/nation.htm#5
member_23370

Post by member_23370 »

When did Shtil have a range of 60-70 km? Other than the 7 Delhi class follow on and 2 AC there are only P-17a's. So are we ordering 9 of them?

tushar_m wrote:
Austin wrote: At best we can hope for one more Akula-2 a new built one takes 4-5 years to be built so a decision made today means we get the second Akula-2 by 2018
wiki shows a improved Akula I who's construction was halted at 60% this sub could be used by us

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akula_clas ... e_to_India

K-xxx 971I/09719 Iribis Akula I Improved
The remaining Akula hull and components were used to make the first 2 Borei class SSBN , so practically nothing exist they will have to build a new one for India.
tushar_m

Post by tushar_m »

austin it look's like 3 hulls of akula were used for borei class SSBN

K-337 971U Kuguar Akula II Sevmash 18 August 1992 x x Not completed. Hull used for Yuri Dolgorukiy SSBN[17] (project 955 Borei)
K-333 971U Rys Akula II Sevmash 31 August 1993 x x Not completed. Hull used for Alexander Nevsky SSBN[17] (project 955 Borei)
K-xxx 971M not named Akula II Sevmash 1992 x x Not Completed. Hull used for Vladimir Monomakh SSBN[17] (project 955 Borei)
K-xxx 971I/09719 Iribis Akula I Improved Amur Shipyard 1994 x x Construction halted at 60% completion

while the last hull can still be used by us named Iribis

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akula_clas ... rine#Units

the LRSAM thing brings to notice our lack of a trials ship for radars, EW and missile/gun system. every major naval power incl Cheen have converted some old crates or commercial ships to this end.

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9 ... ew5iNWi8XQ
http://www.defencetalk.com/pictures/chi ... -ship.html