Armoured Vehicles Discussion Thread - Jan 12, 2012

Re: Armoured Vehicles Discussion Thread - Jan 12, 2012

arjun may have come late, but for every bhishma, an arjun is a must have. [for myth to bust]

srai wrote:
uddu wrote:
Well made! Finally a detailed documentary on Arjun MBT.
Why I can't see this video?

If you use "https://" in your URL instead of "http://" then the linked images and videos are not shown because they're not secure like the text. In Google Chrome you'll see a silver shield to the right of the URL address bar. Click on the shield and choose "Load anyway".

No luck, maybe the video has been removed!!

Sanku wrote: This is very different from Arjun + T 90 mix were 1600 T 90s are there in the plan (and the decision was taken about 10 years ago and has NOT changed since) -- the tentative plan calls for something like 1500 Arjuns too, but it is only any body guess when they will come.
Any links? Looked around, found nothing so far. 1500 does sound good though.

Some of my older posts had the links, am not sure if those links are still alive. This was on the floor of the parliament in 2003-3 timeframe.

As far as I remember, there was never any talks of 1500 arjuns. It has always been 124 till the 2nd batch was ordered.

Sanku wrote: This is based on the statement given by Minister of state for Defence in NDA cabinet, this is also captured in one or two reports of standing committee for defense.

This has always been the grand plan, IFF some one can persuade those making the tanks to actually make them.

It is one thing to plan and want, and another to actually create a working product in enough numbers.
Uh, make which tanks? The Army ordered only 124 Mk1s. The next batch is for Mk2s, which can't be produced until the definitive Mk2 model is finalized. And yet again, they have ordered only 124 Mk2s with no commitments for any further orders. What a former MoS for Defense said in 2003 makes no difference if the Army keeps talking about 50 tonne FMBTs without saying anything decisive about how many Arjun's they are planning to order. And HVF Avadi can't build production facilities for making 50 tanks a year when they have only 124 orders.

Meanwhile we are happily buying hundreds of foreign tanks which provide no advantages over the Mk1 and which have suffered from their own issues that the Army didn't mind getting fixed after induction.

If the T-90 had been an American tank, you would have said the whole thing stinks to high heaven, which it does.

nachiket wrote:.........
Actually nachiket, your critisim is not well founded. For example you say we are buying, when the tense is we brought, in 2004. Since then the T 90s are done deal. This is before the Arjun LSP was even ready for a user trial. So repeatedly trying to bring in T 90 is entirely irrelevant to the discussion.

The ONLY question is
Avadi has a line for 100 T 90s a year. It seems to be producing 100 T 90s a year, it can handle upgrades to those as and when they come and the production line does not shut down because a upgrade

OTOH 124 Arjuns were ordered in 1998-99. The Arjuns were in shape to be inducted in any practical sense only by 2007-8. Since then has Avadi been making its 50 tanks a year? Why/why not.

That is question 1.

Question 2 is. If IA has asked for Mk II. Is is fair for Army to ask for Mk II or should it go for Mk I and discard Mk II?

If it is acceptable for IA to want Mk II (Sarawsat is on record accepting that the Mk II is needed) -- how soon can be made ready and manufactured.

I think instead of looking for scapegoats on why things are not happening, the focus should be on making things happen -- the crucial thing is quick development and deployment of Mk II.

Mk II was supposedly tested in 2012 (it was supposed to be and there were reports that it was going to Thar) -- my intrest is more in knowing what became of that -- by all indications -- Mk II is a great looking beast. Did it work as advertised? Is Avadi starting its manufacture?

Why is no body focusing on Mk II tests is the question -- otherwise it will be the same saga -- everybody will blame somebody but net net, there will be no Arjun's ready when they are needed.

Has the order for 1600 placed to Russia? That was bad plan and a corrupted one at that, knowing fully our own DRDO is making the best one for IA. I am sorry to say this, I think our defense purchase is actually putting the country at risk. Chippanda club could potentially overrun T90s with their numbers and ukaranaian support. Just orbats alone.

We do need that 1500 Arjuns. yes. make it so, let it come in tranches of 124 and from Mk.2 .. Mk.n... and IA has the option of incremental GSQRs for each tranches.. they will get the best tank in the world., and futuristic as tranches develop and mature.

Let us say, Arjun Mk-n is the FMBT.
rajsunder

Post by rajsunder »

nachiket wrote:.........
Actually nachiket, your critisim is not well founded. For example you say we are buying, when the tense is we brought, in 2004. Since then the T 90s are done deal. This is before the Arjun LSP was even ready for a user trial. So repeatedly trying to bring in T 90 is entirely irrelevant to the discussion.

The ONLY question is
Avadi has a line for 100 T 90s a year. It seems to be producing 100 T 90s a year, it can handle upgrades to those as and when they come and the production line does not shut down because a upgrade

OTOH 124 Arjuns were ordered in 1998-99. The Arjuns were in shape to be inducted in any practical sense only by 2007-8. Since then has Avadi been making its 50 tanks a year? Why/why not.

That is question 1.

Question 2 is. If IA has asked for Mk II. Is is fair for Army to ask for Mk II or should it go for Mk I and discard Mk II?

If it is acceptable for IA to want Mk II (Sarawsat is on record accepting that the Mk II is needed) -- how soon can be made ready and manufactured.

I think instead of looking for scapegoats on why things are not happening, the focus should be on making things happen -- the crucial thing is quick development and deployment of Mk II.

Mk II was supposedly tested in 2012 (it was supposed to be and there were reports that it was going to Thar) -- my intrest is more in knowing what became of that -- by all indications -- Mk II is a great looking beast. Did it work as advertised? Is Avadi starting its manufacture?

Why is no body focusing on Mk II tests is the question -- otherwise it will be the same saga -- everybody will blame somebody but net net, there will be no Arjun's ready when they are needed.
same old questions with same old misinformation. check shukla's blog for answers on the questions you posted.

65T Arjun MK-2 cannot be the FMBT because the specs for that are a 3-man crewed tank weighing about 50T.It should also have a superior main gun,auto-loader,missile firing capability-anti tank and anti-air,the latest self-defence suite,better armour protection,and networked commns.The DRDO initially said that this was "impossible" given the weight constraints,but R&D is certainly taking place.

As Sanku has said,he T-90 deal is about 10 years old.Improved versions of the T-90 are also being assembled/built by Avadi.The Q now is getting the MK-2 into production asap and increasing production rates of the same.As I said earlier,just 50 per year will mean only 500 tanks in one decade! This will give us very roughly an inventory of by 2020-2025, about 1000 upgraded T-72s,2000 T-90s and about 500+ Arjuns.The old T-72s will be replaced in due course by the FMBT which should be entering production around 2020+.
Remember the terrain where Arjun is best based and how many tanks are needed primarily for those sectors,which will gvie one a realistic figure of how many Arjun-MK-2s are required.

We have been over this "chicken-and-egg" question many times over already. If the IA only places 116 Arjun Mk.2 orders then why should Avadi build a factory that will build 200 units/year? It only makes sense for having larger capacity if the IA orders 500-1,000 tanks. Then Avadi will expand its capacity from 50 units/year to 100+ units/year. Simple as that.

Besides Avadi is dependent on couple of hundred private small/medium enterprises supplying various parts. These enterprises, in return, are depended on other suppliers for parts and raw materials. How are they to order raw materials/parts for 1,000 Arjuns if no confirmed orders are there from the IA? Do you expect these companies to go bankrupt?
Last edited by srai on 08 Mar 2013 05:24, edited 1 time in total.

Philip wrote:6DRDO initially said that this was "impossible" given the weight constraints,but R&D is certainly taking place.
Philip here is a CAG report on what the army wanted - a demand that turned out to be unrealistic
http://saiindia.gov.in/english/home/Our ... /Chap7.pdf
The GSQR envisaged the weapon system to have a
range of 10 Km, rate of fire of 8-
10 bombs per minute, with a burst fire
capability of 12-15 rounds per minute. For portability, the mass of the
equipment was not to exceed 700 kg and the weight of the three main
components required for man/mule packing was not to exceed 450 Kg.
The LRM developed by DRDO could not achieve the GSQR parameters as the
desired range and rate of fire or burst
fire capability could not be met with a
low weight Mortar which was an inconsistency in the GSQR framed by the
Army. Director General (DG) Artillery, decided against going ahead with the
project. As a result, DRDO foreclosed the main project from December 2004
after incurring expenditure of
9.29 crore. Subsequently the other project for
Smoke and Illumination ammunition was also foreclosed in December 2005
after incurring an expenditure of
1.08 crore. Army HQ while asking for
foreclosure of the project in Decemb
er 2004 accepted that the range of 10000
meters was not achievable with the low weight stipulations. It was also
accepted that a mortar system with such QRs is not available in the world
market and therefore a fresh GSQR was being initiated.
Misraji

Post by Misraji »

Philip wrote:65T Arjun MK-2 cannot be the FMBT because the specs for that are a 3-man crewed tank weighing about 50T.It should also have a superior main gun,auto-loader,missile firing capability-anti tank and anti-air,the latest self-defence suite,better armour protection,and networked commns.The DRDO initially said that this was "impossible" given the weight constraints,but R&D is certainly taking place.
FMBT no more - Broadsword

--Ashish

The FMBT was called out as a joke on BRF the moment the specs came out. As Sanku saar likes to say, "BRF ahead of the curve!". 8)

srai wrote:^^^

We have been over this "chicken-and-egg" question many times over already. If the IA only places 116 Arjun Mk.2 orders then why should Avadi build a factory that will build 200 units/year?
srai ji lets forget more Arjun's for the moment.

The core issue is can Avadi do what it is supposed to, already. Not some unobtanium. If it cant, then we have a problem dont we?
Last edited by Sanku on 08 Mar 2013 11:35, edited 1 time in total.

nachiket wrote:The FMBT was called out as a joke on BRF the moment the specs came out. As Sanku saar likes to say, "BRF ahead of the curve!". 8)
Yes, BRF is indeed ahead of the curve. BTW FMBT was never a spec, it was a wish list of a vision statement for expolration. It was certainly doomed to fail.

I believe you will agree that I have always maintained that a FMBT will be Arjun++,or ++++ type platform.

That said, my wish list for future versions of Arjun include a auto-loader, a smooth bore canon, and other viz bangs (a lot like the FMBT schematic posted here)

SR,precisely,well over a year ago,I posted details from an IDR feature on our armour plans and the production problem with so many projects.Why can't BEML,Medak or any other PSU already involved in heavy vehicle manufacture be expanded to produce tanks? Has this idea ever been examined? Even assembling/local production of a T-series tank will require a huge facility.The country needs a facility/facilities which can produce 100 tanks per year-which will be able to replace obsolete tanks at a regular rate,plus the extra specialised versions for missile launchers,mine laying/clearing,anti-air artillery,bridge layers,etc.ICV production is another matter altogether.
arnab

Post by arnab »

FMBT PSQRs were formulated in 2010 before the army reluctantly realised that it is impossible to be built under the current technology frontiers :) I think the army 'vision' has been to ask for ridiculous product specifications from DRDO and then buy expensive crap from Russia citing inability for DRDO to meet specifications.

It would be amusing, except for the serious repurcussions this has led to; such as - 70% of our armour being night blind.

So effectively the army vision has landed us with an armoured force capable of fighting between 9 am - 5pm (10 am - 5pm in winter) :)

Same Old. Same Old.

It seems the main plank of arguments for T-90 is to repeat a set of lies and misinformation "N" number of times and hope it sticks. We are seeing a rerun of the same again.

Army makes Arjun jump through real and imaginary hoops and then people ask where are Arjuns? IA asks for improvement on Mk-1 without stating why Mk-1 is inadequate in first place - if T-90 with all its warts and pimples can be 'backbone' of the IA, god knows why Arjun cannot be. This when Arjun wiped the floor with T-90 during comparative trials.

Treatment of Arjun program by the army borders on being criminal.
arnab

Post by arnab »

rohitvats wrote:Same Old. Same Old.

It seems the main plank of arguments for T-90 is to repeat a set of lies and misinformation "N" number of times and hope it sticks. We are seeing a rerun of the same again.

Army makes Arjun jump through real and imaginary hoops and then people ask where are Arjuns? IA asks for improvement on Mk-1 without stating why Mk-1 is inadequate in first place - if T-90 with all its warts and pimples can be 'backbone' of the IA, god knows why Arjun cannot be. This when Arjun wiped the floor with T-90 during comparative trials.

Treatment of Arjun program by the army borders on being criminal.
I think it is because T-90 requires a 3 men crew and Arjun requires 4. God knows, if one thing the IA is short of - it is men (and that can't be imported from Russia) :)

rohitvats wrote:IA asks for improvement on Mk-1 without stating why Mk-1 is inadequate in first place - if T-90 with all its warts and pimples can be 'backbone' of the IA,
Lets cut to the chase, are are you saying that instead of asking for Mk II, more orders for Mk I should be given?

DRDO too agrees that the list of 63 improvements should be rolled in before the Mk II is made in bulk. It is typically common sense that the new batch should be as far upgraded as possible. This has been the case of Indian T 90s as well.

Please answer in yes or no to the above question, since the decision has to come down to yes and no, in the end.

Why do you disagree? Can you list the 63 improvements and mention why you think they are not needed/not present in T 90?

arnab wrote:FMBT PSQRs were formulated in 2010 before the army reluctantly realised that it is impossible to be built under the current technology frontiers :) I think the army 'vision' has been to ask for ridiculous product specifications from DRDO and then buy expensive crap from Russia citing inability for DRDO to meet specifications.

It would be amusing, except for the serious repurcussions this has led to; such as - 70% of our armour being night blind.

So effectively the army vision has landed us with an armoured force capable of fighting between 9 am - 5pm (10 am - 5pm in winter) :)
Thank you for the comic relief, 70% of our armor is night blind because till 30% of that Armor being T 90s and Upg T 72 happened post 2000 -- for 25 years or so no Armor was acquired.

This was not due to Army, IA had been regularly asking for upgrds, this was because
1) There was no money
2) IA was kept waiting for Arjun.

So for 25 years, Indian armor went down the path of obsolesce BECAUSE no new purchases were done despite requests.

Lies can only take you so far.
alexis

Post by alexis »

^@rohitvats
IMHO, there is no border; it is criminal. Else how could u justify a purchase decision outlined as below:

1. frame GSQRs that no one can meet
2. Ask DRDO/OFB to produce a product meeting those GSQRs
3. When they fail, order from outside the products that dont meet the GSQRs saying they are urgent requirement

The same thing is repeated in Arjun, long range mortar etc

if T-90 needs improvement after all these years of developement by an establist county which has been making tanks for ages, wouldnt it be better if we put that money in our own product ???
alexis

Post by alexis »

rohitvats wrote:IA asks for improvement on Mk-1 without stating why Mk-1 is inadequate in first place - if T-90 with all its warts and pimples can be 'backbone' of the IA,
Lets cut to the chase, are are you saying that instead of asking for Mk II, more orders for Mk I should be given?

DRDO too agrees that the list of 63 improvements should be rolled in before the Mk II is made in bulk. It is typically common sense that the new batch should be as far upgraded as possible. This has been the case of Indian T 90s as well.

Please answer in yes or no to the above question, since the decision has to come down to yes and no, in the end.

Why do you disagree? Can you list the 63 improvements and mention why you think they are not needed/not present in T 90?
Sanku, why are we continuing to buy T-90S when we know it has a lot of flaws (some of which are corrected in T-90 MS) ? We should stop production of T-90S by the same logic, right?

The step motherly treatment ot Arjun is causing khujli to a lot of posters here. The way IA handled T-90 purchase is to be followed in case of Arjun also.
alexis

Post by alexis »

And yes, Mk1 should be ordered as long as Mk1 is better than the T-55s and T-72s that are in service.

alexis wrote: Sanku, why are we continuing to buy T-90S when we know it has a lot of flaws (some of which are corrected in T-90 MS) ? We should stop production of T-90S by the same logic, right?

The step motherly treatment ot Arjun is causing khujli to a lot of posters here. The way IA handled T-90 purchase is to be followed in case of Arjun also.
There are no "flaws" in T 90, i.e. of the expected set of behavior, it performs as per specifications, mostly. There were flaws in Arjun Mk I, they were cleaned up by 2007 (as in product not working per spec, in fact some failures were dramatic, enough for people to first cry sabotage and then go slinking back when it was demonstrated that it had indeed failed and there was no sabotage)

What there are in T 90 now are improvements -- ditto for Arjun Mk II.

The new T 90s will be S standard. The new Arjun's will be Mk II standard.

There is absolutely no discrepancy. The question here on is only when the two get ready, or more important when does Arjun Mk II get ready. Unless of course, you say that Arjun Mk II should not be made and MkI should continue.

alexis wrote:And yes, Mk1 should be ordered as long as Mk1 is better than the T-55s and T-72s that are in service.
Wont they face the problem of fleet obsolesce again then? What would we have gained? Isnt it better to put the best possible Arjun in mass production?

DRDO also agrees with above btw.

Same way we are buying more SU-30MKIs when the "Super Sukhoi" upgrade of all MKIs is planned for the future.
At some point in a contract a decision has to be made.Upgrades,"extras" are always options.In the 10 years after acquiring the T-90,improvements have been developed as would be with any weapon system,east or west.Components acquired earlier for local production cannot just be junked.Every military has earlier versions of tanks,aircraft,warships, subs in its inventory which are regularly upgraded/modernised usually at their mid-life stage/refit.

However,with the T-72s ,we have a v. large number in service with lots of life left in them.They can take only a certain level of modernisation/upgrade because of their legacy design.Strategy,similar upgrade policy as with our limited upgrade of Sea Harriers (LUSH).makes for sound practical and economic sense.

alexis wrote:^@rohitvats
IMHO, there is no border; it is criminal. Else how could u justify a purchase decision outlined as below:

3. When they fail, order from outside the products that dont meet the GSQRs saying they are urgent requirement

Which GSQR ? Long range mortar yes. No such difficult GSQRs for Arjun. The important point to note was the there was NO GSQR for FMBT EVER. Some vision documents, some ideas and some Track II Shukla's insinuations. That is all.
alexis

Post by alexis »

alexis wrote:And yes, Mk1 should be ordered as long as Mk1 is better than the T-55s and T-72s that are in service.
Wont they face the problem of fleet obsolesce again then? What would we have gained? Isnt it better to put the best possible Arjun in mass production?

DRDO also agrees with above btw.
Mk1 can be upgraded to Mk2 or Mk3 when Mk2/Mmk3 are stabilised. That is the standard procedure for any defence forece except IA :( F16 is the best example. Pls see how many iterations M1 Abrams or Merkeva went through.

Similarly, as Philip pointed out, we are still procuring Su-30 MKI even though Super Sukhoi specifications are decided and upgrade for initial aircrafts will begin soon.
Last edited by alexis on 08 Mar 2013 12:14, edited 1 time in total.
alexis

Post by alexis »

alexis wrote:^@rohitvats

Which GSQR ? Long range mortar yes. No such difficult GSQRs for Arjun. The important point to note was the there was NO GSQR for FMBT EVER. Some vision documents, some ideas and some Track II Shukla's insinuations. That is all.
I didnt mention anything about GSQRs for FMBT.
Arjun GSQRs were difficult to be met by a 50T tank. So IA should not have complained about the weight later.
alexis

Post by alexis »

Philip wrote:Same way we are buying more SU-30MKIs when the "Super Sukhoi" upgrade of all MKIs is planned for the future.
At some point in a contract a decision has to be made.Upgrades,"extras" are always options.In the 10 years after acquiring the T-90,improvements have been developed as would be with any weapon system,east or west.Components acquired earlier for local production cannot just be junked.Every military has earlier versions of tanks,aircraft,warships, subs in its inventory which are regularly upgraded/modernised usually at their mid-life stage/refit.

However,with the T-72s ,we have a v. large number in service with lots of life left in them.They can take only a certain level of modernisation/upgrade because of their legacy design.Strategy,similar upgrade policy as with our limited upgrade of Sea Harriers (LUSH).makes for sound practical and economic sense.
nothing to comment on this aspect other than why is Arjun Mk1 not procured to the same effect?

If IA has decided to have Mk2 tanks in inventory, it makes sense to induct Mk1 for training and familiarisation purpose. Pls see how Typhoon is getting inducted. Nobody is waiting for definitive Tranche 3. Everybody inducted Tranche 1 inspite of the fact that T1 (not all but many) cant be upgraded to T3 standard.
Last edited by alexis on 08 Mar 2013 12:07, edited 1 time in total.
arnab

Post by arnab »

Sanku wrote: There are no "flaws" in T 90, i.e. of the expected set of behavior, it performs as per specifications, mostly. There were flaws in Arjun Mk I, they were cleaned up by 2007 (as in product not working per spec, in fact some failures were dramatic, enough for people to first cry sabotage and then go slinking back when it was demonstrated that it had indeed failed and there was no sabotage)
Saar - lies seem to be getting you far ahead of the curve :) so far up the curve that your head is pushing up your posterior :)
alexis

Post by alexis »

alexis wrote: Sanku, why are we continuing to buy T-90S when we know it has a lot of flaws (some of which are corrected in T-90 MS) ? We should stop production of T-90S by the same logic, right?

There are no "flaws" in T 90, i.e. of the expected set of behavior, it performs as per specifications, mostly. There were flaws in Arjun Mk I, they were cleaned up by 2007 (as in product not working per spec, in fact some failures were dramatic, enough for people to first cry sabotage and then go slinking back when it was demonstrated that it had indeed failed and there was no sabotage)

What there are in T 90 now are improvements -- ditto for Arjun Mk II.

The new T 90s will be S standard. The new Arjun's will be Mk II standard.

There is absolutely no discrepancy. The question here on is only when the two get ready, or more important when does Arjun Mk II get ready. Unless of course, you say that Arjun Mk II should not be made and MkI should continue.
Arjun Mk1 is also similar, sir. It also performs as per specifications, mostly

Pls refer T-90 S problems in http://www.india-defence.com/reports/2081
If T-90 S had no problems, i would have welcomed it whole heartedly. I am still ok with T-90S as an interim solution; only the treatment to Arjun Mk1 by the same army is baffling and causes a lot of khujli for me that is untreatable.
arnab

Post by arnab »

Sanku wrote:[

This was not due to Army, IA had been regularly asking for upgrds, this was because
1) There was no money

So for 25 years, Indian armor went down the path of obsolesce BECAUSE no new purchases were done despite requests.

and as a 'solution' army decided to spend scarce resources which still left us night blind and obsolete :)

alexis wrote: Mk1 can be upgraded to Mk2 or Mk3 when Mk2/Mmk3 are stabilised. That is the standard procedure for any defence forece except IA :( F16 is the best example. Pls see how many iterations M1 Abrams or Merkeva went through.

Similarly, as Philip pointed out, we are still procuring Su-30 MKI even though Super Sukhoi specifications are decided and upgrade for initial aircrafts will begin soon.
Yes, older models are upgraded once newer specs come out. But never are older model produced afresh when newer specs are already present and accepted as doable by manufacturer. (Remember DRDO has signed this on)

alexis wrote: I didnt mention anything about GSQRs for FMBT.
Arjun GSQRs were difficult to be met by a 50T tank. So IA should not have complained about the weight later.
I am not aware of Army complaining about the weight as a reason for non-induction? Where did it ever happen. Yes weight did raise additional steps of newer tank carriers, and bridges etc. But of course when a new system is integrated such points will be raised.

At no point of time weight has been a reason to delay the Arjun project (i.e. IA has never asked for another iteration of Arjun design based on weight)

arnab wrote:
Sanku wrote:[

1) There was no money

and as a 'solution' army decided to spend scarce resources which still left us night blind and obsolete :)
More ill informed comedy, Army decided to spend the scare resource wisely on upgrding the existing fleet (which is yet another saga of Indigenous effort) -- as well as in parallel induct tanks which are not night blind.

How do you think the figure of 100% night blind in 2000 changed to 70% night blind in 2010? Magic?

You are speaking TOTAL NONSENSE Sir.
Last edited by Sanku on 08 Mar 2013 14:59, edited 2 times in total.