AugustaWestland Bribery Cover-Up, Italian Marines Let Go

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: AugustaWestland Bribery Cover-Up, Italian Marines Let Go

Sankuji,

It is the duty of all citizens to support the Indian state in such matters.
I fully agree, the fishermen's family did a loathsome act and basically sold their people for money. However at this moment, it is India which has been spat on, and unless we can also say/show that this escape included the fishermen's familys willing acquiescence, I would not rope them in, for it dilutes the issue.

Harbans-ji is already trying to divert the attention.

More Italian than Italian?
STFU.

Baikul wrote:Sanku ji, I am sure harbans ji has good reasons and I respect those.
Baikul ji, I would urge you to re-evaulate.

harbans wrote:
Who are they to point out a failure of our system?
It;s their marines that are under trial here. If our system is flawed they will point to it and do their utmost to get their marines out of the clutches of a system that 'suicides' people under trial. You may like it or not, but it does give them the excuse and they will use this.
See, it's not a matter of winning arguments. The correct question is - can you make them afraid of annoying you or not.

harbans wrote:
Why are you linking RS hanging with the italian marines? What moral high ground are you talking about? and who's?
Atri ji, i also realize why you could never understand my points in the other threads. Look at it this way:

Italians: Why should we get our marines tried in India?
Indians: The crime happened in India.
Italians: NO that was the first point of controversy. But importantly we think these people cannot have a fair trial.
Indians: Our Justice system is very fair to prisoners.
Italians: Oh and the undertrial in the most high profile case underway just hanged himself in a cell with 3 others..and you say your justice system is fair?
Indians: But, but..

What is your response? What is India's response?
There was never a chance of the eyetalians going to tihar.

Even in kerala, they were kept in a government guest house.

They would have eventually been tried with them attending court in Delhi but continuing to stay in the eyetalian embassy.

We have already entered into an agreement with the eyetalians to let them serve out their sentences in eyetaly, if convicted in India.

TIHAR never ever entered or will enter the picture. Like I said earlier, unke paas MAA hai.

harbans wrote:
Who are they to point out a failure of our system?
It;s their marines that are under trial here. If our system is flawed they will point to it and do their utmost to get their marines out of the clutches of a system that 'suicides' people under trial. You may like it or not, but it does give them the excuse and they will use this.
It only gives them an excuse if we let them take it.

There are Indians being tried- I am sure- in the US as we speak. Should we point to the flawed US judicial systems where prisoner assaults and rapes are a daily occurrence?

You may say that Indo-US is not Indo-Italy. But that is not the point; the point is speaking up and taking a stance that reflects who we are or want to be, not laying supine.

harbans wrote: What is your response? What is India's response?
A person with Indian interests at mind, instead of cooking up excuses on behalf of Italians would have basically focused on Italian failings.

The question to you is, why are you so eager to link the unlinkable.

harbans wrote:
More Italian than Italian?
STFU.
I see.

harbans wrote:
Why are you linking RS hanging with the italian marines? What moral high ground are you talking about? and who's?
Atri ji, i also realize why you could never understand my points in the other threads. Look at it this way:

Italians: NO that was the first point of controversy. But importantly we think these people cannot have a fair trial.
Italians: Oh and the undertrial in the most high profile case underway just hanged himself in a cell with 3 others..and you say your justice system is fair?

Firstly, the sailors were placed on govt guest house and not in cell.

Indians: That is none of your phucking business. Marines should have thought this over before shooting the Indian citizens. Marines return OR we raise the stake.

On the side note, who is this altamas kabir guy? isn't he the same dude who has been denying bail to Sadhvi Pragya and others consistently? I have been curious about this dude for some time now (Sadhvi case and also his name which was new to me - never heard a dude named altamas)..

Baikul JI, lets see. From what i feel that the marines might have come back like the last time around in Xmas. The Tihar incident might have been a turning point. So lets wait.

Atri wrote: On the side note, who is this altamas kabir guy? isn't he the same dude who has been denying bail to Sadhvi Pragya and others consistently? I have been curious about this dude for some time now (Sadhvi case and also his name which was new to me - never heard a dude named altamas)..
Is he the guy who let them go?

He has also been loudly making excuses for the "juvenile" in the gang rape case.

He seems to be bad news.

He is CJI folks!!!

Sanku wrote:He is CJI folks!!!
Well there has been no shortage of compromised SC judges in India.

Pranav wrote:
Atri wrote: On the side note, who is this altamas kabir guy? isn't he the same dude who has been denying bail to Sadhvi Pragya and others consistently? I have been curious about this dude for some time now (Sadhvi case and also his name which was new to me - never heard a dude named altamas)..
Is he the guy who let them go?

He has also been loudly making excuses for the "juvenile" in the gang rape case.

He seems to be bad news.
another katju like drone bucking for a juicy post retirement sinecure.

as Arun Jaitly said, someone who knows the law minister better than he knows the law.

Pranav wrote:
Sanku wrote:He is CJI folks!!!
Well there has been no shortage of compromised SC judges in India.
Recall ex cji k. g. balakrishnan :evil:

Pranav wrote:Is he the guy who let them go?

He seems to be bad news.
Yes, he let them go.. He accepted the affidavit from them stating that they cannot vote via post and have to return.

Sanku ji,

Aah so !!!! CJI, eh?... :evil:

yaa devi sarva bhuteshu shakti roopena sansthita !!!

Atri wrote:
Indians: That is none of your phucking business. Marines should have thought this over before shooting the Indian citizens. Marines return OR we raise the stake.
Atri Ji, the problem here is raising the Stakes. When they respond, yes we want them tried but in a place where they are safe and not like in India where undertrials in high profile emotional cases are murdered/ suicided. Who will disagree. Where will you get the backers required for raising the stakes diplomatically, economically? Getting backers requires some high ground to say your justice systems do indeed provide the security needed for a fair trial.

Harbans ji,

Chetak ji already answered this question...
chetak wrote:There was never a chance of the eyetalians going to tihar.

Even in kerala, they were kept in a government guest house.

They would have eventually been tried with them attending court in Delhi but continuing to stay in the eyetalian embassy.

We have already entered into an agreement with the eyetalians to let them serve out their sentences in eyetaly, if convicted in India.

TIHAR never ever entered or will enter the picture.

harbans wrote:
Baikul JI, lets see. From what i feel that the marines might have come back like the last time around in Xmas. The Tihar incident might have been a turning point. So lets wait.
harbansji,
tihar was never involved in the case of these eyetalian marines, sirjee. Kindly do not divert the issue.

Even the timing of the announcement was such that it purposely missed the major scheduled news programs as well as the news papers. This news has appeared today in some inner page in the toilet paper.

harbans ji, I think our debate is done as we will now be speaking at cross purposes, with neither side willing to change their stance. Let us agree to disagree.

Moving on, I am going to try and compile a list of Italian companies in India with the aim of boycotting all of them. I understand that thousands of Indian employees may be working in these companies. I encourage them to keep earning their pay, and not buy their own brands. :mrgreen:

Please let me know if there is an error in the list below; feel free to add to it:

I'll start with Fiat. I am in the market for a midsize car; Fiat can get f*cked. List of Fiat brands: Alfa Romeo, Ferrari, Fiat, Lancia, Maserati; Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep–20-percent stake. Please not the brands you would traditionally not associate with Fiat: Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep. This is the India website: http://www.fiat-india.com

Piaggio is another automotive brand; however it makes commercial vehicles, the sales of which most individual buyers may not be able to impact. This is the India website: http://www.piaggio.co.in/category/home.aspx

Perfetti is a confectionary brand in India. It makes Apenliebe, Big Babol, Centerfresh, Chocoliebe, Chlordent, Happydent and Mentos. This is the India website: http://www.perfettivanmelle.in

But let's keep things in perspective. When we can't bring Sonia Gandhi to justice for brazen loot, who is very much on Indian soil, why :(( about the marines.

They do not want the details of the juvenile coming out. He is of a particular minority but has been identified sometimes as "Raju". Election year makes for interesting politics.

CJI has no bloody business commenting on or trying to influence the outcome of an ongoing case. This behavior is highly deplorable and objectionable.

What ever happened to sub judice??

harbans wrote:

The response is "Go .... yourself. We may have the most $crewed up system ,but they violated our law , killed our people. Well they have to go through this system. Bad luck for them. Should not have been trigger happy. They will be sent back to italy at the end of the due process if they are acquitted, provided they have not suicided themselves. Tough luck but you walked into it"

No he has not. Tihar is the best and most high profile Indian prison barely a few kms from the parliament itself. If you cannot expect to protect undertrials there, what chance in some remote part of India.

Chetak Ji, i know this case very well. I have commented on this forum with many excerpts from international maritime law etc posted. So i am very familiar with the details here and the perspectives. I know they are not being tried in Tihar. But lets wait for the Italians to respond on why they are not sending the marines back this time.

harbans wrote:But lets wait for the Italians to respond on why they are not sending the marines back this time.
Of course they are our lords and masters and their views must be reasonable.
No he has not. Tihar is the best and most high profile Indian prison barely a few kms from the parliament itself. If you cannot expect to protect undertrials there, what chance in some remote part of India.
To extend what some one else said in Nukkad -- It is a pity (for Pakis) that Kasab did not offer this argument for being tried in Pakistan, or maybe he did. It would be exactly like what you would expect from Pakistan.

BTW the Eyeties have already offered their excuse, "the matter is subjudice in intl courts and we see no reason for our citizens to be tried in India till the matter is resolved"

harbans wrote:I know they are not being tried in Tihar. But lets wait for the Italians to respond on why they are not sending the marines back this time.
I guess Italy clearly told that in their first letter. Quoting 'The Hindu'
Justifying the move, the new Italian Government said it was refusing to honour an Indian Supreme Court order because India had not responded to requests for a diplomatic solution to the case. Therefore it was now raising a dispute over jurisdiction with India on the interpretation of a clause in the United Nations Convention of the Law of the Sea (Unclos).

del
Last edited by svenkat on 12 Mar 2013 17:10, edited 3 times in total.

For some people, even if we had Raja Harishchandra, we still would have to hide our heads up our asses because we don't have any moral high ground or authority for anything at all! There would still be dog somewhere which has constipation!

Just shows what happens when one becomes a "moral values" extremist!

The other needs to bow to our laws because we are Bharat! Period! There should be no Ifs and no Buts!

RajeshA wrote: we still would have to hide our heads up our asses because we don't have any moral high ground or authority for anything at all!
RajeshA ji
Is this a case of passive head up the asses or is it a case of actively batting for the side one has chosen ?

Sanku ji,

I don't know!

Theory: One identifies oneself with x, y, z universalist values and by default one's own nation don't live up to them, so one sides with the more TFTA because they are taller and thus have moral high ground!
Last edited by RajeshA on 12 Mar 2013 15:15, edited 1 time in total.

harbans wrote:Baikul Ji, we cannot develop any response now. The high ground has been lost yesterday at Tihar. The Italians have every right not to send their marines to India for trial or sentencing after what happened yesterday. I hope the teeming hordes that were joyous with glee yesterday do realize the implications of the act. There is no high ground from which one can now take any action against the marines.

So the cunningly covered hatred is not just for Hindu but for Bharatvarsh itself, here Harbans Singh my apologies for increasing your workload since now you'll have additional work of defending italian judicial system plus accusing Bhartiya Nyaya System:

http://hiiraan.com/news4/2013/Jan/27607 ... tiary.aspx
Somali prisoner commits suicide in Lecce penitentiary
OSAPP
Monday, January 07, 2013

Italy's jails continue to suffer overcrowding

Lecce, January 7 - Italian Penitentiary Police Union (OSAPP) said on Monday that a 38-year-old Somali man committed suicide Sunday afternoon in the Borgo San Nicola penitentiary near the southern city of Lecce by hanging himself in the prison's infirmary cell.

Mohamed Abdi, who was serving time for theft, had been in the Lecce prison for approximately one year. OSAPP representative Domenico Mastrulli said that the prison, located in the region of Puglia, is "beset by several problems, first and foremost overcrowding". Roughly 60 prisoners in Italy commit suicide each year, approximately 20 times average for the general population, according to a study released in December.

The Permanent Observatory on Prison Deaths also found that 10 penitentiary police take their lives annually - a rate that exceeds the norm by a factor of three and ranks highest among the various branches of Italy's security forces. Contrary to most suicides, which are usually tied to personal events, a comparative study found that at least two-thirds of Italian prison suicide cases are due to "environmental factors".

The environmental factors in question do not refer to the prison environment per se but to "illegal" detention conditions, the study reported. The prison population has almost doubled in 40 years whereas prison capacity has only increased by 10,000 places. Marco Pannella, the historic leader of Italy's Radical Party, recently held a nine-day thirst-and-hunger strike to call for an amnesty to stop chronic overcrowding in Italy's jails, and for prisoners to be given the right to vote.
http://www.lifeinitaly.com/news/en/156872
Inmate commits suicide, 41st this year in Italian prisons

(ANSA) - Biella, September 28 - A 51-year-old inmate in the northern town of Biella committed suicide overnight Thursday, becoming the 41st prisoner to take his own life in Italy since the start of the year.

Prison authorities say the man used his shoelaces to hang himself from the window grating of his cell, where he was being held in isolation.

The man was jailed in 2006 for a series of robberies and his sentence was up in 2014.

Figures show that 186 people died in Italian prisons in 2011, and 118 since the beginning of the year, 41 of them suicides.

Penitentiary Police Union (OSAPP) leader Leo Beneduci said that the prison situation "is a full-out massacre that needs to be stopped at all costs".

Jails contain almost 68,000 inmates compared to a supposed capacity of 45,743, prisoners' rights association Antigone said recently.

Italy's prison population is now at its highest level since World War II and recent estimates suggest it will continue rising unless urgent action is taken, with the number expected to climb above 100,000 this year.

Overcrowding is believed to be more than partly responsible for the high number of suicides in Italian prisons compared to those in most other developed countries.

"Aside from the powerlessness in front of daily tragedies, the men and women who work in the penitentiaries are frustrated by the inertia of the administrators and politicians who have abandoned them," Beneduci said.

The country's jails are still bursting nine months after the government's so-called 'Save Prisons' package aimed at ending overcrowding that has contributed to the rising suicide rate, Antigone said.
http://internetphd95.blogspot.in/2012/0 ... de-in.html
Ex-Mafia boss commits suicide in Italian prison

A former leader of Sicily's most powerful Mafia clan hanged himselfin his prison cell in Milan, Italy, Sunday. Giacomo GiuseppeGambino, 55, died shortly after guards found him hanging with a bedsheet wrapped around his neck, according to news reports. Herecently was transferred from Sicily to a private cell in Milan aftercomplaining of health problems. Authorities said it was not clearwhy he killed himself. Gambino, who had been jailed since 1994, wasconvicted of leading many mob operations. He also was charged insome of the most ruthless attacks blamed on the Sicilian underworld,including the killings of two judges in 1992.Last Russian troops leaving ChechnyaA military convoy …
Last edited by Manish_Sharma on 12 Mar 2013 15:26, edited 2 times in total.

svenkat wrote:Yawn....

Two KL christists killed by TFTA italians.christists have no problem.For them,christist identity is more important than India.Just note and move on.
India has been spat on. If the chirstist did this to each other somewhere else, we would not care. In India, India should be bigger than what christists feel about the issue.

harbans wrote:

Chetak Ji, i know this case very well. I have commented on this forum with many excerpts from international maritime law etc posted. So i am very familiar with the details here and the perspectives. I know they are not being tried in Tihar. But lets wait for the Italians to respond on why they are not sending the marines back this time.

harbansji,

maritime law is not relevant to tihar or any other jail. It may be relevant for jurisdiction. The advantage of " possession is nine tenths of the law" has shifted in the favor of the eyetalians. We should have retained this vital advantage.

The supreme court has erred grievously in granting bail as the marines like any other soldier, have the facility of postal ballot. The relations between nations is governed by governments not courts. Four weeks of bail for "voting" on top of the very recent christmas trip home is FOOLISH.

The supreme court basically muscled in on a case where it had limited authority and the authority of the state was far greater.

Nothing exceptional about tihar in any case.

Prisoners are at risk in any jail worldwide. Scores are easily settled inside. There is a special asocial cultural plus socioeconomic environment existing in every jail. In this case there is some grave suspicion about the connection of the accused with some very high profile kangressi bigwigs hence the "suicide" is suspicious. Given his enfeebled physical condition after some accident where the accused was unable to fully use one of his hands as well as the presence of many others in the cell when the alleged "suicide" took place it would have been an impossibility for him to commit "suicide"

svenkat wrote:Yawn....

Two KL christists killed by TFTA italians.christists have no problem.For them,christist identity is more important than India.Just note and move on.
India has been spat on. If the chirstist did this to each other somewhere else, we would not care. In India, India should be bigger than what christists feel about the issue.
This sounds noble but I used to fool myself with this kind of talk.

You and I are a third party. If you try helping them and I promise you'll return the sucker. Just take a look at the engagements between the ghetto muslims of hyderabad and saudi sheikhs. If you interfere with them, both will bite YOU.
Last edited by nvishal on 12 Mar 2013 16:00, edited 1 time in total.

nvishal wrote:
Sanku wrote: India has been spat on. If the chirstist did this to each other somewhere else, we would not care. In India, India should be bigger than what christists feel about the issue.
This sounds noble but I used to fool myself with this kind of talk.

You and I are a third party. If you try helping them and I promise you'll return the sucker
Vishal-ji --

I dont see as doing it for them, I see as doing it for us, and for the country since this destroys the concept of rule of law in the country which should be upheld for reasons of general good.

@ Sanku
It's not about the law of the land. Read what I read about hyd muslims and the saudi sheikhs. What the bedouin religious systems do is that they establish a master-servant relationship around the world. If you interfere with the hyd muslims, they'll turn hostile against YOU. Similarly, if you interfere with the catholics or the protestants of india, they'll see you(third party) as the enemy. That's why I have continued to say from the beginning of this thread - LEAVE THEM ALONE!! Let them settle it among themselves.

nvishal wrote:@ Sanku
It's not about the law of the land. Read what I read about hyd muslims and the saudi sheikhs. What the bedouin religious systems do is that they establish a master-servant relationship around the world. If you interfere with the hyd muslims, they'll be hostile. Similarly, if you interfere with the catholics or the protestants of india, they'll see you(third party) as the enemy. That's why I have continued to say from the beginning of this post - LEAVE THEM ALONE!! Let them settle it among themselves.
Today an italian catholic murders the malayam catholic Desh let them settle it as a internal cult/tribe members of vatican, or arab kills hyderabadi muslim and it should be ignored as the internal matter of wahabbi tribe. We should not make it a matter of a citizen murdered.

Only when catholic kills a muslim or a hindu, or an arab kills a christian, Sikh or Hindu should the matter be treated by Bhartiya Nyay system.

Is that what you're saying?

Manish_Sharma wrote: Is that what you're saying?
Yes please, I would like to know the same. Is the fact that a Indian law has been violated not reason enough for the Indian state to act?
nvishal wrote: they'll turn hostile against YOU
LEAVE THEM ALONE!! Let them settle it among themselves.
I think the whole problem has been that we have been leaving them alone too long for the fear of them turning hostile against us.