LCA News and Discussions

arnab

Re: LCA News and Discussions

Post by arnab »

I think that it is important to hear what Air Cmde Muthana has to say on the subject:
Higher Defense Management. A fundamental challenge has been the structure of the Indian higher defense management. Broadly speaking, there are three verticals within the Indian Ministry of Defense that steer this program. One such vertical is headed by a war fighter, another by a bureaucrat and the third by a technocrat. In this totally State funded and State managed program, interdepartmental oversight has been lacking.
(This should disabuse the silliness being spouted about IAF being kept away from the program management loop)
The base document for development of LCA is a beautifully crafted Air Staff Requirement that was clearly ahead of its time and is relevant even today, nearly three decades later.
The ASR document however, mandated the use of US military specifications and standards of the day as the guiding document for design. The relevant standards and specifications were to have been culled out by D Aero at DRDO HQ. Any concessions were to be sought from IAF HQ. There is no evidence to show that a comprehensive process was followed. This apparent lapse
has lead to a number of challenges in design that we face today;

Customer Involvement. During the design and development process itself, it is vital that comprehensive knowledge of aviation in general and military aviation in particular is made available to the program. Scientists and design engineers do not have that knowledge. The Indian Air Force is the only repository of comprehensive military aviation knowledge in this country. Either its expertise was not sought or it was denied.
Originally a reluctant customer, the Indian Air Force involved itself sufficiently only after contracting for supply of the aircraft in 2006. It was late in the program and hundreds of ‘Requests for Action’ had to be raised in order to retrieve the situation to some extent, but this lead to time and cost overruns.
Do read it all

http://aeroindiaseminar.in/admin/techni ... _paper.pdf

I disagree on "there has to be a owner"

I agree on "there has to be many stake holders"

How many IAF officers are heading FGFA, Mirage upgrade, Pilatus production? We need to provide adequate funds to LCA production line and place massive orders. Rest is just blah blah!

too many stake holders is also not going to help

vic wrote:How many IAF officers are heading FGFA, Mirage upgrade, Pilatus production? We need to provide adequate funds to LCA production line and place massive orders. Rest is just blah blah!
They dont need to.

Funds is not a problem for LCA, money is neither the problem nor a silver bullet for everything -- you dont turn a 5 year old into Ambani by giving him money.

you dont turn a 5 year old into Ambani by giving him money.
Maharaj Ji. Can we PLEASE keep such whizz-dumb to the armor thread only ? If there is anything technical you can post here,please do . Otherwise, let this thread retain it's sanity . All the other stuff like Ambani and smoothbore guns and stuff can go in the armor thread .
member_23455

Post by member_23455 »

arnab wrote:I think that it is important to hear what Air Cmde Muthana has to say on the subject:
Higher Defense Management. A fundamental challenge has been the structure of the Indian higher defense management. Broadly speaking, there are three verticals within the Indian Ministry of Defense that steer this program. One such vertical is headed by a war fighter, another by a bureaucrat and the third by a technocrat. In this totally State funded and State managed program, interdepartmental oversight has been lacking.
(This should disabuse the silliness being spouted about IAF being kept away from the program management loop)

Yeah everyone is accountable and no one is accountable. How many people in any of these three verticals have been fired on the LCA program? The apologists who keep bringing up the F-35 fiasco, and it is one, should check how many got fired there. The irony is that if the IAF had been given a real stake in this program, it would have been the IAF top brass scurrying around defending the program, instead of taking cheap shots at it - which seems to be the source of great angst on this thread.

Since US examples seem to be given on this thread suitably cherry-picked to rationalize our inadequacies, perhaps googling Hyman Rickover might be a good way to start before dispensing advice on what the armed forces role in "program management" should be.

indranilroy wrote:Unfortunately on BR (and this my only opinion), there are some of us who just can't see anything wrong with our production agency. Even when they (DPSUs) don't man up to elementary things (it is not like they don't know this). Every short coming is blamed on the forces.
You are stating exactly of what actually happens, it's the DPSU's which are always at the center of jingo fire and the armed forces are painted as being squeaky clean who have been duped time after time. Even after recent events which show that the armed forces themselves have rot inside there system some people love to be in the ostrich mode. Even when critical literature by people from the armed forces are publicly available which point out the problems in all the agencies involved still it's always DRDO's/HAL's/ADA's fault onlee.

Sagar G wrote:
indranilroy wrote:Unfortunately on BR (and this my only opinion), there are some of us who just can't see anything wrong with our production agency. Even when they (DPSUs) don't man up to elementary things (it is not like they don't know this). Every short coming is blamed on the forces.
You are stating exactly of what actually happens, it's the DPSU's which are always at the center of jingo fire and the armed forces are painted as being squeaky clean who have been duped time after time. Even after recent events which show that the armed forces themselves have rot inside there system some people love to be in the ostrich mode. Even when critical literature by people from the armed forces are publicly available which point out the problems in all the agencies involved still it's always DRDO's/HAL's/ADA's fault onlee.
There are people on both sides.

indranilroy wrote: There are people on both sides.
Who is on the services side? No one.

krishnan wrote:too many stake holders is also not going to help
Perhaps a non-binding but influencing role from BR ACGs as stake holders could be one example... but could be very effective, as there could be accountability on the pigs., and the BR ACGs could behave like chickens. :)
arnab

Post by arnab »

RajitO wrote:Yeah everyone is accountable and no one is accountable. How many people in any of these three verticals have been fired on the LCA program? The apologists who keep bringing up the F-35 fiasco, and it is one, should check how many got fired there.
So exemplary punishment is the only way to manage a program? If people got fired in the F-35 fiasco - why is it a 'fiasco'? Presumably 'no one being fired' for the LCA 'fiasco' include the IAF component of the verticals?
arijitkm

Post by arijitkm »

Stealth and Tejas
Given its small size anyway, it’s “virtually invisible” to adversary fighter; were how a Tejas Test pilot described Tejas RCS signature. Use of carbon fibre gives Tejas natural stealth characteristics and advantage of low operating costs, use of carbon fibre composites (CFC) gives Tejas 45 percent content by weight and 90 per cent of its surface is made of carbon fibres, Carbon fibre doesn’t make aircraft stealthily but reflection of radar beams by CFC is much less when compared to metallic components in the aircrafts but CFC with Radar-absorbent material coating and given the smaller size of aircraft gives Tejas low radar signature or stealth characteristics .

Expert believe that RCS of Tejas is three times smaller than a Mirage-2000, but it might be speculation since official RCS figure of Tejas has never been made available in public domain, CFC have other advantages they don’t deteriorate with age nor corrode due weather elements, CFC also gives Tejas better operational empty weight giving Tejas better thrust to weight ratio when compared with other aircrafts with similar engines. CFC does have their own disadvantages, there are expensive to make but India has already invested heavily in development of CFC making it among the best in CFC technology in the world.

Sensing an opportunity and possibility of further reduction in radar signature of Tejas, DRDO has put towed with idea of development of Tejas MK-3 with better improvements and lowering its radar signatures, DRDO plans to use up to 70 percent of CFC in Tejas MK-3 up from 45 percent currently used in Tejas MK-1. DRDO also plans to focus on reducing infrared signature of the aircraft by reducing exhaust temperatures from the engine, to make Tejas MK-3 near Stealth aircraft DRDO also plans to improve fuselage and improve engine ducts to achieve low radar signature.

Research work carried out on AMCA will help in development of Tejas MK-3 and MK-3 will also benefit in avionics development which according to DRDO will borrow heavily from AMCA. Two current projects on Stealth front headed by DRDO are development of Stealth aircraft AMCA and development of unmanned combat aircraft Aura, MK3 likely will be testbed for such development and technology developed will benefit all three projects in long term in future.
member_23455

Post by member_23455 »

arnab wrote:
RajitO wrote:Yeah everyone is accountable and no one is accountable. How many people in any of these three verticals have been fired on the LCA program? The apologists who keep bringing up the F-35 fiasco, and it is one, should check how many got fired there.
So exemplary punishment is the only way to manage a program? If people got fired in the F-35 fiasco - why is it a 'fiasco'? Presumably 'no one being fired' for the LCA 'fiasco' include the IAF component of the verticals?
This is the forum equivalent of putting words in someone's mouth - who said anything about xyz being the only way to manage a program?

There is a magical term oversight in your original highlighted quote -What is the bottomline about oversight? To hold regular meetings to show that oversight was done? To produce status reports about a program? To "recommend" action but not take it? Firing someone is an extreme step but it needs to be done in specific cases - and yes if you follow the fundamental direction of my argument, had an IAF program manager been put in charge, he would have been the first to get the sack.

Do read about Rickover's nuclear navy - which has the same parallels of trying to kickstart something difficult with virtually no technological base and expertise - it is not the way to manage all programs but it might change perspectives about what is the degree to which armed forces need to involved in such programs.

nukavarapu wrote:Who can testify here that IAF wanted to take control of the LCA program and were denied by south block who put ADA instead in charge? ------ Nobody
ADA would anyway be in charge, IAF would be in charge of ADA. No IAF has not wanted to take control of anything civvy, the forces neither want to or be seen as remotely trying to want to control anything that civvies have.

This is a decision that MoD needed to have taken.

And Oh Marut was a disaster, it flew, but just about that, and that was ages ago. Hardly a history of credibility. Same story, airframe available, no suitable engine, shoe horn some other engine some how, with long delays and not so pretty results.

Sanku does not think a five year Old Indian can become an Ambani but wants Indian forces to have sex with AIDS inflicted, syphilis suffering foreign prostitute on the pretext that they have more experience.
Last edited by vic on 02 May 2013 10:22, edited 1 time in total.
arnab

Post by arnab »

RajitO wrote:This is the forum equivalent of putting words in someone's mouth - who said anything about xyz being the only way to manage a program?

There is a magical term oversight in your original highlighted quote -What is the bottomline about oversight? To hold regular meetings to show that oversight was done? To produce status reports about a program? To "recommend" action but not take it? Firing someone is an extreme step but it needs to be done in specific cases - and yes if you follow the fundamental direction of my argument, had an IAF program manager been put in charge, he would have been the first to get the sack.
The 3 verticals for managing the program was to bring 3 different perspectives to the program - those of the user, the bean counter and the developer. All 3 perspectives are needed. Air Cde Muthana says that there has not been enough co-operation / synergy between the three verticals in managing the program. He does not say that the concept of having 3 verticals is wrong.

It is you who are saying that if IAF was the project leader then they would have made it work (and if it did not work the IAF program manager would have been sacked!). I question the validity of your assertion. There is nothing remotely in IAF history that suggests that the IAF on its own has successfully managed and completed any defence development program. It has always relied on imported toys - where the hard yards were already done by the country that had developed it.

The IAF in this respect started out with open disbelief about the ability of HAL/ADA etc to do anything and only got on board in 2006 once the PVs were flying.
Last edited by arnab on 02 May 2013 10:07, edited 1 time in total.
arnab

Post by arnab »

Sanku wrote:ADA would anyway be in charge, IAF would be in charge of ADA. No IAF has not wanted to take control of anything civvy, the forces neither want to or be seen as remotely trying to want to control anything that civvies have.
I think that there is a fundamental disconnect between the first sentence and the second :)
member_23455

Post by member_23455 »

Since with every successive post more blind alleys are being created let's be clear on what the original assertion was, and by whom

What you consider as adequate IAF involvement/role and "silliness" may not be considered the same by other folks. What you consider as oversight and accountability may not be considered as adequate by other folks.

Illustrations have been provided on those fronts. If folks still choose to restrict the sample size of their research and stick to their beliefs, best of luck - keep hoping for future "indigenous" programs to meet a different outcome and fate.
Last edited by member_23455 on 02 May 2013 11:12, edited 1 time in total.

vic wrote:Sanku does not think a five year Old Indian can become an Ambani but wants Indian forces to have sex with AIDS inflicted, syphilis suffering foreign prostitute on the pretext that they have more experience.
Blaming others is fine, but in your words "AIDS inflicted, syphilis suffering foreign prostitute" is what is the best option available. Think about that.

Marten wrote:
Sanku wrote:And Oh Marut was a disaster, it flew, but just about that, and that was ages ago. Hardly a history of credibility. Same story, airframe available, no suitable engine, shoe horn some other engine some how, with long delays and not so pretty results.
Now you've taken to BS-ing again on this thread. I seriously hope you will stop posting on these threads. But that is my personal opinion.

Compare the Marut with any other program of its era, and show us why it was a disaster. You can't continue posting BS on the forum without any substantiation forever!

Note: That it required higher powered engines is the only fact that you might be aware of. The rest, as usual with your posts on this thread, are pure BS and can be ignored safely.
I am afraid if you dont like reality, the reality will not change. Being foul mouthed is also not likely to change anything.

to begin with you can read the basics available on BRF

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Histo ... arut1.html

Marten wrote:
Sanku wrote:I am afraid if you dont like reality, the reality will not change. Being foul mouthed is also not likely to change anything.

to begin with you can read the basics available on BRF

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Histo ... arut1.html
Substantiate your statement that Marut was a DISASTER. And you can definitely do away with the condescension because you do not in any way constitute an expert on the Marut.

Calling you out is not being foul-mouthed - it is a necessity owing to your propensity to continue BS-ing based on your own previous posts.
There is no calling me out :rotfl: you are upset at the statement of "the sun rises in the east" as "you are against the west" and are into calling BS etc.

Marut program was a disaster since it fulfilled none of the original design requirement, dragged on forever without getting anywhere, had very limited role in the services, and provided NO path to future a/c design once Kurt Tank left taking the entire know-how with him.

What other definition of disaster do you need?
arnab

Post by arnab »

RajitO wrote:Since with every successive post more blind alleys are being created let's be clear on what the original assertion was, and by whom

What you consider as adequate IAF involvement/role and "silliness" may not be considered the same by other folks. What you consider as oversight and accountability may not be considered as adequate by other folks.

Illustrations have been provided on those fronts. If folks still choose to restrict the sample size of their research and stick to their beliefs, best of luck - keep hoping for future "indigenous" programs to meet a different outcome and fate.
Sorry sir - your assertion that the IAF can deliver only when it has: sole responsibility; unfettered funding; and an R&D system only geared to respond to its beck and call, you have to acquaint yourself with the harsh realities of working in a democratic environment.
Last edited by arnab on 02 May 2013 11:54, edited 1 time in total.

arnab wrote: Sorry sir - your assertion that the IAF can deliver only when it has: sole responsibility; unfettered funding; and an R&D system only geared to respond its beck and call, you have to acquaint yourself with the harsh realities of working in a democratic environment.
Is that supposed be a euphemisms for expecting results by name calling and blame games instead of getting the job done a la the babucracy.

Yes IAF sucks at that.

Given that all the services,paras ,etc., come under civilian control,the MOD is the major stakeholder in any defence programme.The buck stops with the DM Cabinet Committee on Security.In other words and broadly speaking,the govt. of the day.The GOI,DM,MOD, cannot absolve themselves of the responsibility to run the Def. Ministry and the entire acquisition of weapon systems for the armed forces,whether desi or imported. Further down the line of responsibility comes the DRDO head,PSU bosses,project directors,etc. and the service chiefs who have been crying out for aeons for the integration of the armed forces with the MOD and MEA in policy matters.Unlike as in the past,the service chiefs cannot meet the PM directly! The distance between the chiefs and the PM,DM,etc. has deliberately been widening thanks to the babus.Their status in the order of protocol has been steadily dropping too.They are looked upon by babudom and the political bosses primarily as a "milch cow",that has enormous funds at its disposal,which can be very efficiently "milked" by the babus and their bosses,and not as the key institution with which the country's external borders must be protected and with which we must punish enemy intrusion and attack.

For a long time the LCA project was allowed to drift from the various reports posted over time,and it is clear that the IAF finally got involved/embedded,so to speak,after much heartburn,only when they placed an initial order in 2006 and since then have been refining the ADA/HAL design to meet operational needs.It is now demanding deadlines,penalties,etc.,as the force is reaching a crisis point with the imminent retirement of hundreds of MIG-21s,etc. So much effort and money has been invested in the LCA,it cannot afford to fail and the intense and concentrated effort we are now seeing has to continue for many more years as only the MK-2 version is supposed to meet the IAF's ASR.

Guys,please don't "shoot each other",there will bound to be differing opinions,we should be aiming our guns elsewhere.A calmer form of respectful criticism would be preferable.
Last edited by Philip on 02 May 2013 11:44, edited 1 time in total.
arnab

Post by arnab »

arnab wrote: Sorry sir - your assertion that the IAF can deliver only when it has: sole responsibility; unfettered funding; and an R&D system only geared to respond its beck and call, you have to acquaint yourself with the harsh realities of working in a democratic environment.
Is that supposed be a euphemisms for expecting results by name calling and blame games instead of getting the job done a la the babucracy.

Yes IAF sucks at that.
Saar - like I said: has IAF ever developed and delivered a military program? :) But I forget for you success can be 'manufactured' - afterall a successful T-90 with 1600 odd orders still got beaten by a 'failed' Arjun with 119 orders :) One only has to know who to tap.

*sigh* another good thread bites the dust...

^OH, that is not a surprise right? We had some star posters enter the fray, and thus this was a forgone conclusion. I for my life can't guess how these people have time for this, singlehandedly trolling entire threads. I hope no one replies to these people, as barring a ban, this is the best way to deal with them. They thrive on attention and is utterly detached from any need to substantiate their BS.

i came to a similar conclusion some time back...

Marten wrote:Substantiate your statement that Marut was a DISASTER. And you can definitely do away with the condescension because you do not in any way constitute an expert on the Marut.

Calling you out is not being foul-mouthed - it is a necessity owing to your propensity to continue BS-ing based on your own previous posts.
Sirjee,

Asking Sanku ji to substantiate whatever he says is patently unfair. Why do you hold such high expectations? :)

You see, you need to always assume that Sanku ji does not read what he posts and he of course he does not read what others post. He only posts what he thinks is right. Unfortunately what he thinks is right is not really understood by others.

For example take this case. He calls the Marut experiment a disaster - in terms of developing a fighter - ab inito without any expertise whatsoever and with no notable industrial background in the country (remember this was in the 1950s). When called out he pulls out that article from BRF to back his assertion that the project was a "disaster".

Now let's see some excerpts from that article:

Exhibit 1:
The Marut was conceived to meet an Air Staff Requirement (ASR), that called for a multi-role aircraft suitable for both high-altitude interception and low-level ground attack. The specified performance attributes called for a speed of Mach 2.0 at altitude, a ceiling of 60,000 feet (18,290 m) and a combat radius of 500 miles (805 km). Furthermore, the ASR demanded that the basic design be suitable for adaptation as an advanced trainer, an all-weather fighter and for 'navalization' as a shipboard aircraft. It was directed that this aircraft be developed within the country. As an aside, it might be worth noting that the design philosophy and ASR for the current Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) is quite similar.
Now do note the bolded portion, particularly the colored bold. Keeping in mind that the ASR was conceived by the IAF in the mid 1950s, what they were looking for was a state-of-the-art fighter being developed in India as a first attempt.

Now look at the much maligned (by Sanku ji and a new Jonny Come Lately) production side:

Exhibit 2:
The task of meeting the ASR was assigned to Hindustan Aircraft Limited (now HAL Bangalore). However, in 1955 no infrastructure capable of supporting the programme existed in India. And there was scant appreciation on the part of the government of the technological hurdles that would need to be surmounted.
Along with the government I would include the IAF folks who drew up the ASR (perhaps even then they had bouts of brochuristists)
Hindustan Aircraft, in 1956, possessed only three senior Indian design engineers and the entire design department boasted only 54 personnel. The prototype shop had 60 people on staff and the entire strength of the production engineering department amounted to just 13. Worse yet, no hangar space was available for the construction of prototypes, no machine shop existed for prototype engineering, and there were no test equipment, structural test rigs or a flight test laboratory.

In fact, the Hindustan Aircraft complex lacked even a suitable runway from which the new aircraft could begin flight testing. The entire infrastructure had to be built from scratch. Much effort was invested in building up a viable design and testing infrastructure. And by the time the first prototype of the Marut commenced its flight test programme in 1961, Hindustan Aircraft employed 18 German design engineers, a design department possessing 150 personnel, a prototype shop with 631 personnel including 39 supervisors, and a production engineering department with more than 100 personnel.
Note the investments that were then made and which, to a certain extent, helped when we went for the LCA.

Yet despite all these hurdles and also thanks to Kurt Tank, the first plane flew in 1961:

Exhibit 3:
After a comprehensive three month ground test programme, HF-001, with the late Wg. Cdr. (later Grp. Cpt.) Suranjan Das at the controls, flew for the first time on 17 June 1961. This aircraft's first official flight took place a week later on June 24th, in the presence of the then Defence Minister, V.K. Krishna Menon. By then HF-001 had IAF roundels applied to it and had been assigned the serial number BR 462.
So, a programme which Sanku ji labels as a disaster, isn't it surprising that despite the ab inito nature of this task the first plane flew within 6-7 years of the programme starting with the ASR being framed?

Exhibit 4:

We all know that the Marut suffered from the lack of a suitably powered engine. Well now look at what the article has to say about this:
The design of the HF-24 had been based around the availability of the 8170 lbs. (3705 kg) afterburning Orpheus BOr 12 engine. Unfortunately, the British requirement for this powerplant was discarded and the Indian Govt. declined to underwrite its continued development. In retrospect, this was a very shortsighted decision on the part of the Indian Government. The manufacturer had asked for £13 million as development costs, not a large sum even by the standards of the 1960s. And the Government's decision not to underwrite the costs of the BOr 12 development was to haunt the Marut programme for ever. In the even that the BOr 12 was no longer an option, the design team was forced to adopt the non-afterburning 4850 lbs. (2200 kg) Orpheus 703 for the initial and interim version of the fighter. India now initiated what was to prove a lengthy and frustrating search for an alternative power plant to the Orpheus BOr 12.
So the fact that lack of a suitable engine stymied the project was due to the stupid babus at HAL right, Sanku ji?

There are many more details about the search for a suitable engine. However, let's get back to Sanku ji's comment about the project being a disaster. The plane actually saw action in the 1971 war. And this is what the author of the article has to say about that:

Exhibit 5:
There is wide consensus about excellent handling characteristics of the aircraft. Most pilots who have flown the aircraft describe it as pleasant to fly and excellent for aerobatics with fine control responses. And its ability to out-accelerate the Hunter led one pilot to describe the Marut, with undisguised affection, as the Hunter Mk.II ! The Marut offered a stable gun platform and packed a formidable punch. While the Marut's pilots expressed an understandable desire for more thrust than the Orpheus 703 offered, they were unanimous in their view that the aircraft proved itself a thoroughly competent vehicle for the low-level ground attack profile.
Throughout the December 1971 hostilities, the Marut squadrons enjoyed extremely high serviceability rates (in contrast to the late 1960s), this undoubtedly owed much to an improved spares situation and the original design's emphasis on ease of maintenance. It should also be noted that from January '71 onwards, an improved version of the Marut with a lengthened wing cord (giving it greater wing area and hence greater lift), numerous cockpit changes and a sophisticated ISIS gunsight, started entering squadron service.
On one of these, a Marut returned to base without escort on one engine, from about 150 miles (240 km) inside hostile territory. On another occasion, Wg. Cdr. Ranjit Dhawan, flying his Marut through debris that erupted into the air as he strafed a convoy, felt a heavy blow in the rear fuselage of the aircraft, the engine damage warning lights immediately glowing and one engine cutting. Fortunately, the Marut attained a safe and reasonable recovery speed on one engine. Consequently, Dhawan had no difficulty in flying his crippled fighter back to base. Another safety factor was the automatic reversion to manual control in the event of a failure in the hydraulic flying control system, and there were several instances of Maruts being flown back from a sortie manually.
And the last Exhibit:
The Rolls-Royce RB.153 was considered for a while, but Hindustan Aeronautics was neither able to accept the terms of the proposed contract nor, at the time, was ready to consider the major redesign of the fuselage that adoption of the RB.153 would have entailed. In the event that by the early 1980s, the Air Staff requirements for a TASA (Tactical Attack and Strike Aircraft) and a DPSA (Deep Penetration and Strike Aircraft) were fulfilled by foreign aircraft, the need for a upgraded Maruts became somewhat superfluous. And by the mid-1980s enough Jaguars and MiG-23BN/27s were joining the IAF, that the Marut programme no longer remained viable.
So as is happening with the Arjun vis a vis Tin cans, it so happened that the IAF did not find it necessary to at least keep a local product humming even as it went for foreign planes (nobody begrudges them of that but sure they could have continued to keep on supporting the Marut?).

Sorry for a long post but I find it absolutely hilarious that Sanku ji uses this article of all articles to prove that the Marut programme was a Disaster?

Arun Menon wrote:^OH, that is not a surprise right? We had some star posters enter the fray, and thus this was a forgone conclusion. I for my life can't guess how these people have time for this, singlehandedly trolling entire threads. I hope no one replies to these people, as barring a ban, this is the best way to deal with them. They thrive on attention and is utterly detached from any need to substantiate their BS.
Oops sorry, I saw your post after hitting the send button. :oops:

Anyway there's a lot of interesting information and I dare say potential parallels to what happened to the Marut programme and the way things are going with Tejas.

^^+1 Oh, please do post like that. I would not want to encourage some other posters, but people like you are a joy to read. It is nice to read some one who actually contributes to the discussion, rather than just saturate the thread with their BS.

Lalmohan wrote:*sigh* another good thread bites the dust...
Foe list people. Foe list.

Oh Schweppes. I used to come here to read about the little toddling steps that the LCA was taking. Toddling, understandably so.

Now I am in a sort of :-? mood. Not due to the lack of progress, but this thread biting the dust. Sure, there is disappointment that I am not seeing a dozen of them based in Sulur. This thread, a delight for the paki/chins who troll this site.

But having chatted with my barber's fourth cousin ten times removed who has flown this baby, I can see the programme failing only because of the naysayers, alternate agendas, and love for all things phoren.

Not because of it's ability and the immense learning curve we have gained from it. A right step in going swadeshi even with the pitfalls strewn in our path by politics and our own blundering.

Arun Menon wrote:^^+1 Oh, please do post like that. I would not want to encourage some other posters, but people like you are a joy to read. It is nice to read some one who actually contributes to the discussion, rather than just saturate the thread with their BS.
Oh thank you Sir. :)

I do enjoy your posts as well, which is why I sent the mea culpa post. :mrgreen:

rajanb wrote:But having chatted with my barber's fourth cousin ten times removed who has flown this baby, I can see the programme failing only because of the naysayers, alternate agendas, and love for all things phoren.

Not because of it's ability and the immense learning curve we have gained from it. A right step in going swadeshi even with the pitfalls strewn in our path by politics and our own blundering.
Sirjee,

If you read that article I quoted from a couple of posts ago, you'd get a feeling that there are attempts on to do a Marut redux. In such cases to find out who's behind it, it's always best to look at who gains the most if Tejas bites the dust after having passed so many hurdles.

Is it a coincidence that along with all the nay saying we've also had very clever posts about how great the MiG35 plane is and how it would meet our declining squadron strength yada yada. Of course since its Ruskie maal there's no mention of the fact that the 35 is more of a paper plane; there are more units of Tejas flying than that of the latest rabbit pulled out of the Rodina hat.

Sigh!
arnab

Post by arnab »

There seems to be this theme ('meme' :) ) propagated by some on most domestic product development threads, that it is only the 'service wallahs' who are honourable and have work ethics (tight and fair so to say) but whose noble intentions are constantly stymied by the bloody babus. This seems to closely mirror what the paki military feel with respect to their civillians. I wonder if this should go into the 'fake assumption' thread as well.

amit wrote:
rajanb wrote:But having chatted with my barber's fourth cousin ten times removed who has flown this baby, I can see the programme failing only because of the naysayers, alternate agendas, and love for all things phoren.

Sirjee,

If you read that article I quoted from a couple of posts ago, you'd get a feeling that there are attempts on to do a Marut redux. In such cases to find out who's behind it, it's always best to look at who gains the most if Tejas bites the dust after having passed so many hurdles.

Is it a coincidence that along with all the nay saying we've also had very clever posts about how great the MiG35 plane is and how it would meet our declining squadron strength yada yada. Of course since its Ruskie maal there's no mention of the fact that the 35 is more of a paper plane; there are more units of Tejas flying than that of the latest rabbit pulled out of the Rodina hat.

Sigh!
I won't mention names, but there are quite a few senior ex service wallahs haunting the corridors of power in Delhi. And they have been there for decades. They are the influence peddlers. Their companies, foreign ofcouse, spend money on PR and lobbying. So I find, ironically, that our procurement is actually influenced by foreign MICs and not by an Indian MIC, because we don't have any! And believe me, PR can be a very strong propangandist tool.

its a copy of the washington system - but the difference is that their lobbyists push domestic vendors first
(big money is involved in both models)

Marten wrote: When you're done with the childish icons to replace data, please do let me know.
Immediately after you are done with immature behavior.

If you were at borderline civil, I would have quoted from the BR articles themselves to show how Marut program failed, however since you are so smart, read it yourself.

Do you think I need to substantiate the earth is flat to you?