Mangalyaan: ISRO's Mars Orbiter Mission

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Mangalyaan : ISRO's Mars Orbiter Mission

This is interesting...not to bring politics but it is striking that people who criticize ISRO also happen to criticize one particular political party. As for no one giving $hit to Indians outside, that is true, I never got $hit (it would be interesting to know how $hit is given anywhere - in gift packages or in a bucket or ..).
Bahu Dhuya hai, jalan kafi hai - If MARS mission did this, this Jingo is happy. Why India sent a probe to MARS, because it can!! G me dam hai to tum bhi bhejo.

Manu Joseph typifies the pathetic state of the colonized Indian mind. There are two ways to look at ISRO:

1. ISRO did this, wow, imagine what could be done in other areas like poverty alleviation, mining etc etc. Kudos to ISRO
2. ISRO did this. Why did ISRO do this? Bad bad ISRO, the money could have been better spent in all other areas and ISRO excellence left to languish.

Guess which any sane person would choose, and which the average Indian leftist nut like Manu Joseph, always chooses and then gets it reprinted in fancy papers? Its of course, coincidental, that by doing 2, India's technology will languish, its smartest people emigrate to the same countries which are such beacons of equality that occupy wall st occurs/put the roma in camps, and of course, India will be a nation of work for other people types. Pure coincidence.

Jhujar wrote:Congratulations to ISRO and South Asia!!

jamwal wrote:Madhvan Nair didn't oppose the mission. He just wanted it to be done differently
http://www.dnaindia.com/scitech/report- ... se-1914140
Former ISRO Chairman Madhavan Nair has also termed the Mars Mission as "utter non-sense".

"With a minuscule methane sensor, even if you want to look at methane, it cannot be done. NASA has come out very publicly after a rove experiment that there is no trace of life on Mars. In spite of that, somebody making this kind of statement....they are fooling the nation. There is a limit to fooling the people and fooling the nation", he said yesterday.

jamwal wrote:Madhvan Nair didn't oppose the mission. He just wanted it to be done differently
Yes, but criticizing ISRO publicly at such a time - he knew what he was doing. He is pretty up in arms against current ISRO leadership anyhow. He was engaged in a pretty big battle with them

Folks, I understand this month is muharram, but let us focus on the topic.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-24547892
a better article

"If we can't dare to dream big it would leave us as hewers of wood and drawers of water! India is today too big to be just living on the fringes of high technology."

Bad bad ISRO, the money could have been better spent in all other areas
* People, in the US, spent $3 Billion (with a B ) for Halloween
* Wonder if there are similar figures for spending on crackers for Diwali in India. Must be more than the $72 million on this spacecraft

Not sure if Indians have given rights to pass value judgements to anyone. In any case, why can't the same people inform benefits of space tech by ISRO. Obviously such uninformed/selective articles can't be called misinformation campaigns for sure but whose job it is to present exhaustive conscience information.

About crap in foreign media it is miraculous how people forget secularism on foreign shores and begin to lecture Indians on some topic every time a satellite is launched; but lectures of secularism aren't given when foreigners launch satellites. For example why is budget of NASA or ESA is that much when some people are facing poverty/costly education/high litigation costs/Human rights of Roma/Human rights of native Americans/etcetera/etcetera.

Madhavan Nair should shut his trap, very poor timing to air these views. He is just a rocket engineer. Sorry but had to say this. I would rather take Goswami, UR Rao or Kasturirangan's words more seriously or anyone from PRL A'bad SAC who are responsible for the payloads.
Comer

Post by Comer »

jamwal wrote:This forum is the last place where I expect to see old posters like manjgu post the stuff that he did. Anyhow, here are some comments from reddit:
OT: Been tracking that thread on reddit for a few hours now. Initially there was a bunch of whinging Brits(going by their aid comments). As the thread became popular and moved to front page, all the rubbish got downvoted and sensible comments became top, organically.
Even after Pranab M, openly said their aid was peanuts, we don't want it and it was only the Brit politicians were begging us to take it, you keep finding those idiotic comments.

AdityaM wrote:Why is that MOM has a life of 6months, while the Viking probes are still working after all those years?
Well their main propulsion units have stopped working long time back; it is the UHF antenna and communications systems which is still functioning but then they had a Solar panel capable of generating upwards of 600 watts. They will continue to work until the satellites loose orbit gradually and disintegrate into Martian atmosphere. Viking probes weighed in excess of 3 tonnes each which included about 1+ tonne fuel. Ours is a much smaller payload .

Jamwal sirji,
could you please post a link to the reddit thread?
edit:nevermind. its on the front page
Last edited by Prasad on 06 Nov 2013 00:06, edited 1 time in total.

Moderator Note

Please stick to thread topic.

Posts about the mission, its technological complexity as well as the historical difficulties associated with a first Mars mission, are all worthwhile topics.

However, angst-ridden personal arguments are NOT. A certain amount of discussion on the justification of a Mars mission vs focus on GSLV etc is fine.

But keep in mind this is the mil/space forum and this is a thread on the Mars mission. If you really want to discuss social issues, please start a thread on it in GDF. Posting flamebait articles from disgruntled western journos and proceeding to beat it up here is not a useful exercise.

Akshay Kapoor: very good post on Indian passports. Same experience in my case as well.
Comer

Post by Comer »

Here you go, it is on front page now:

http://www.reddit.com/r/technology/comm ... ecraft_to/

Thanks ISRO for big ambition. We will be fully engaged for a year following this mission. It is like Apollo 8 for ISRO. (Until the GSLV comes online).

-----------------------------

From the Chinese commentary:

As poor as India is, New Delhi managed to carry out its Mars exploration program with a budget of only $73 million, much less than the spending of China and Japan."

India is confronted with a complicated public opinion environment on space development, similar to that which China has to face, it said.

"India is poor, so is China when compared with its Western counterparts. New Delhi has set China as its target, while China views the advanced level of the US and Russia as a reference," it said.

"China has achieved a leap forward in the development of manned space flight and space station technology. It has already been in advance of India," it added.

But in Beijing you can't see your feet on some days beacuse of the garbage Chinese factories spew into the air making the White man's toys. Surely China has more respect for the Yellow man than this...they need to stop playing advanced nation games until the the poor Chinese can breathe clean air (political rights in China we will leave to the 24 th century).
Last edited by sanjaykumar on 06 Nov 2013 00:06, edited 2 times in total.

India

India Races To Space With a Mission to Mars

India aims to join an elite group of nations to reach the Red Planet, and at a fraction of the cost

By Nilanjana Bhowmick / New Delhi Nov. 05, 20132 Comments

India launched its first unmanned mission to Mars on Tuesday as it tries to join a select group of countries that have managed to land spacecraft on the Red Planet. As the rocket sped off towards space from Sriharikota, a small island near Chennai in the southern part of the country, it was a huge boost for the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), which started in the 1960s with a local church as its main office, a converted bishop’s house as its workshop and a cowshed as its laboratory. The organization launched India’s first rocket from the middle of a coconut plantation in the southern state of Kerala in 1963.

Tuesday’s launch is just the first stage of Mangalyaan, as the mission has been named. The 1,350-kilogram orbiter will travel 780 million kilometers before reaching the Red Planet in September next year. “The biggest challenge will be precisely navigating the space craft to Mars,” K. Radhakrishnan, chairman of the Indian space agency, told the AP. “We will know if we pass our examination on Sept. 24, 2014.”

If it succeeds in reaching the surface, the Mars vehicle will probe the Red Planet for signs of life and test equipment for deep-space travel. India’s Prime Minister Manmohan Singh called Mangalyaan a huge step for India in the area of science and technology when he announced the mission from the parapets of the historic Red Fort – the seat of Mughal power – during his Independence Day speech in 2012.

India’s Mars mission took fifteen months to complete at a cost of $74 million, the cheapest Mars mission yet attempted. According to a tally by the United States’ National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), there have been 40 missions to Mars by the U.S., Russia and the European Union, of which 18 succeeded. China attempted to send a space probe to Mars in 2011, but the craft failed to exit Earth’s orbit. “At least by NASA’s standards, the total mission cost is very low,” David Paige, professor of Planetary Science at the University of California, Los Angeles told TIME. “If India can be successful with this mission, it will open up new opportunities for more frequent low-cost Mars missions.”

One of NASA’s upcoming missions, MAVEN, which will be launched later this month, took five years and $679 million to build, a stark contrast with Mangalyaan in terms of time and money. “The global community is really excited about the low cost of this mission as nobody has billions of dollars lying around for planetary exploration,” says Pallava Bagla science editor at Indian television channel NDTV and author of Destination Moon: India’s Quest for Moon, Mars and Beyond.

India’s space program has always been something of a trailblazer despite its limited resources. The program has focused on what has been called people-centric applications. Its first step towards planetary exploration came only in 2008, when it sent an $89 million mission to the moon.

But critics have argued against the Mars mission, insisting that India should instead be diverting the millions towards social programs. Jean Drèze, a Belgian development economist, told the Financial Times last year, “I don’t understand the importance of India sending a space mission to Mars when half of its children are undernourished and half of all Indian families have no access to sanitation.”

Supporters counter that all Indians will ultimately benefit from the technological advances space exploration could produce. “The technology developed from such cutting-edge space exploration will ultimately trickle down to benefit the common man,” says Radhakrishnan.

Perhaps the best example of that so far may be how the country prepared for Cyclone Phailin, a powerful tropical storm that struck India in October. High-tech satellites and Doppler Radars along the coast of the Bay of Bengal gave early warnings, allowing for the evacuation of hundreds of thousands of people from low-lying areas. Less than 50 were reported killed by Phailin, while similar storms in the past wreaked unimaginable devastation. In 1999, the cyclone Orissa killed more than 10,000 people.

“Having a state-of-the art fleet of Earth-observation and telecommunication satellites for a subcontinent like India is a necessity, not a luxury,” says Susmita Mohanty, CEO of Earth2orbit, India’s first private space start-up. “As a nation, not only should we ensure food, shelter, education, jobs, healthcare and good public transport for our masses, but also give them a reason to dream, to dare, to explore, to reach for the stars.”

http://www.planetary.org/blogs/emily-la ... ssion.html
Nice pics!!!

btw, I just love the author's last name.

This is better one
Punekar
4:01 AM PST
Please do not frame arguments around the false dichotomy of "Poverty vs. Space". The assumption that space is a luxury meant for "first world" nations is patently rubbish.

Space exploration requires technology innovations in materials sciences, remote sensing, propulsion etc., all of which have huge civilian spin-offs. Today's Indian farmer gets free text feeds about weather changes, irrigation efficiency etc. from ISRO's existing space platforms and ground systems. This feeds more people on the ground.

And ISRO's cost for this mission is a paltry $74 million, nowhere close to the billions spent by space agencies elsewhere in the world. And our development spending - employment programs, food security programs, education, sanitation etc. is close to $75 billion. If you compare it to Nominal GDP for 2013 ($1.3 trillion), then we are looking at 0.000052%. Minuscule. So it's not space over food or anything like that.

National pride is needed to move ahead. This mission will generate that. Millions of Indian youngsters will be inspired to take on science and technology careers, which will create it's own virtuous circle. Please think beyond primitive binaries.

I have watched BBC closely all day long... the reportage has been largely mean-spirited, and constantly referencing both in language in the videos of extreme poverty and mentions of UK aid, whether India should be doing something else with the money, and repeated references to the "space race" with China - all of this on the basis that "some" critics feel that way. Completely and utterly editorialised propaganda. It was an excellent feeling watching that through the day.

We are doing something right.

We are reaching the zone.

I agree JEM. Every action that India takes that gives khujli to these nations means that we are doing something right. Modi is another example, everybody prefers the Congress as they can manipulate.
I am surprised Pakis haven;t come up with a conspiracy theory that Mangalyaan is actually a spy satellite to watch over poor Pakis (so Umreeka, give us more weapons and money).
paramu

Post by paramu »

Why do people compare the Mangalyaan budget with educational budget or toilet budgets? It should be compared with corruption money involved. How does it compare with 2G scam money or with money illegally parked outside the country? It is peanuts!

With all the khujli coming from various quarters, means only one thing....we are definitely on the right track!

Well done ISRO! At warp speed, at fraction of the cost, done by scientists who wear chappals & saris and pray to their Gods before launching a mission - how more SDRE can you get! 8)

JE Menon wrote:I have watched BBC closely all day long... the reportage has been largely mean-spirited, and constantly referencing both in language in the videos of extreme poverty and mentions of UK aid, whether India should be doing something else with the money, and repeated references to the "space race" with China - all of this on the basis that "some" critics feel that way. Completely and utterly editorialised propaganda. It was an excellent feeling watching that through the day.

Perhaps we all should start posting comments on BBC and Sky News (two channels I have watched) which are pretty negative. I am sure we can come up with good stuff and with innovative user names;-) Lets drown them out.

R Singh thanks. I do post when I have something useful to say which is not that often!

KJoishy wrote:I am surprised Pakis haven;t come up with a conspiracy theory that Mangalyaan is actually a spy satellite to watch over poor Pakis (so Umreeka, give us more weapons and money).
They tried. They tried to shoot Mangalyaan down within in minutes with their Nasr (pronounced: Nah, Saar!). Unfortunately the 60 kilometer range killed nasr.

Akshay Kapoor wrote:Perhaps we all should start posting comments on BBC and Sky News (two channels I have watched) which are pretty negative. I am sure we can come up with good stuff and with innovative user names;-) Lets drown them out.
Remind them of how much they spent on their queen's diamond jubilee.

I have already posted on sky news. BBC is next. C'mon guys and gals (hopefully)!
member_23370

Post by member_23370 »

Seriously we are taking the limey's seriously now?? Ones who have to beg US for trident, tomahawk, nuke reactor and Europe for rockets and space access? Chill and watch as they swallow the bitter pill when Indian Mars Rover finally digs out the junk beagle-2.

Raja Bose wrote:With all the khujli coming from various quarters, means only one thing....we are definitely on the right track!

Well done ISRO! At warp speed, at fraction of the cost, done by scientists who wear chappals & saris and pray to their Gods before launching a mission - how more SDRE can you get! 8)
Well, like this

Gayathri loves Karthik...... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

^where is the mangal ghar shanti pack?
and punditji wearing red coral beeds, chanting 'Om kram kreem kroum sah bhaumaya namah'
Godspeed MOM !

As the country gets embraced in deep sleep – don’t forget a few hundred tireless minds at ISRO – rock-steady on their consoles and keeping their strict vigil on the several health parameters of the rocket and the MoM spacecraft,” said ISRO in a statement.

Read more: http://www.universetoday.com/106086/mom ... z2joUT4UD5

At warp speed, at fraction of the cost, done by scientists who wear chappals & saris and pray to their Gods before launching a mission - how more SDRE can you get! 8)

In fact there were many chappals in that 'clean room' :shock:

No need to try and salvage British pride here, sanjaykumar. Not in this thread. Based on the nature of reports coming out of the UK, there is little.

sanjaykumar wrote:At warp speed, at fraction of the cost, done by scientists who wear chappals & saris and pray to their Gods before launching a mission - how more SDRE can you get! 8)

In fact there were many chappals in that 'clean room' :shock:
After success of this mission and many others like it, soon you will see TFTA NASA scientists in Mission Control wearing chappals and reams of books and papers being written on benefits of chappals and soon Nike will become the chappal company and filing patents with USPTO on invention of the chappal....just like the west is now 'discovering' barefoot running and benefits of tumeric :lol:

Emily Lakdawala's article confirms

perigee of 246.9 (target 250 +/- 5 ) kilometers
apogee of 23,566 (target 23,500 +/- 675 ) kilometers
From my memory, inclination achieved was 19.2 degrees (target 19.2 +/- 0.2) which needs confirmation.

all parameters were met well within target numbers.

Satellite weight 1,337 kg which includes propellant weight of 852 kg

1 x 440 N Liquid engine
8 x 22N thrusters
4 x 5 Nms reaction control thrusters
3 x solar panels 1800 mm x 1400 mm generating 840 W in Martian Orbit.
1x 36 AH Li-Ion battery
2.2 m Antenna diameter
S-band Data and telemetry

(Target numbers from launcher brochure http://www.isro.org/pslv-c25/pdf/pslv-c25.pdf

Magalyaan Mission Brochure

The craft is being referred to as MOM and Magalyaan by ISRO. I wish they would pick one (my preference is Magalyaan) and stick to it for consistency. Need to get Indic names out there.

Will have to wait for TSS to write his article for accurate numbers.
Last edited by rahulm on 06 Nov 2013 06:28, edited 1 time in total.
Comer

Post by Comer »

JE Menon wrote:I have watched BBC closely all day long... the reportage has been largely mean-spirited, and constantly referencing both in language in the videos of extreme poverty and mentions of UK aid, whether India should be doing something else with the money, and repeated references to the "space race" with China - all of this on the basis that "some" critics feel that way. Completely and utterly editorialised propaganda. It was an excellent feeling watching that through the day.

Have a look at the timeline of https://twitter.com/scarleyx . The account was soliciting views only from Indians/PIO twitter accounts which had something negative to say. Maybe offline he/she had sources which had positive views but not from twitter evidence.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

ChandraV wrote:Anupmisra and Akshay: agree 100%. Whenever the Briturds spend any money on stuff like aircraft carrier, upkeep of their royal family, etc., post snide and nasty comments about their insignificant dreary little island and why they need such things, etc.

Looking at the comments and negativity spread by Briturds each time India does anything noteworthy, I have developed a loathing for Briturds.
Jab hathi chale baazar
kutte bhoke hazar...

jane do yaar.... the turds cannot stand India since last 300 years,

on a side note

I had a life long dream of giving 1 pound to an English beggar. I fulfilled it a few years ago. Let everyone here take that vow, that is the kind of contempt we need to have for the turds.
sohamn

Post by sohamn »

Most of the UK news agencies can't tolerate the fact that India is becoming a space power when their country isn't. Reactions were not bad in CNN or other US news agencies apart from one comment I saw in latimes. Specifically UK has a very bad history regarding aero space and is highly dependent on sam. Funny they can't even have their own ballistic missile.

Magalyaan is using a minimum energy transfer orbit called the Hohman Transfer Orbit

@rsingh..i wish things were as u pretend them to be !! i like ur optimisitc spin on the topic..@jamwal...i am not against ISRO or their work. the recent tracking of the cyclone by indian sats beings a case a point, the boom in telecommunication , remote sensing etc. everybody india is proud of an institution that works. all i am saying is mars mission does not contribute in any meaningful way to develop any new tech(s) or contribute meaningfully to science or tell us something new abt mars. I am still waiting for BRF posters to englighten us on the new tech(s) that have been or are being validadated ! we have more pressing needs/ things to be done by ISRO. If i was PM of India , I would have give ISRO ten times more budget to do things really needed for india which can be as sexy as a mars mission!! and knowing a bit abt how govt works , i can assure u that this figure of Rs 450 crores is also not correct.