AP Politics and runup to 2014 General elections

member_28173

Re: AP Politics and runup to 2014 General elections

Post by member_28173 »

My 2 Cents :::: This is from Ukraine Politics 101...

Read what Ukraine did for 10 years separating from Russia.... Just talk Language purity ... Discuss Discuss. Remove Russian from books etc....... when everybody was well versed in Russia..

Initial 10 years you waste on Non-essential and expect the country to do well.. GOOD LUCK

VenkataS wrote:BTW I dislike the term Seema-Andhra. It feels like forced union of two disparate entities.

I would prefer any of the following:
Telugu Desam
Telugu Rashtram
Andhra
Vijayanagaram
Kakatiya Desam

Do you guys have any other suggestions.
Telugu Desam will do, Telugu nadu is also good.
Recall the movie industry and media industry idiots from Hyderabad, only those who come back and set shop here can ply their offerings with respect in the new state, others who refuse to shift must be treated as outsiders and their offerings must be treated as those by outsiders. Those remaining back can continue churning their tolly crap from Hyderabad with greater and greater infusions of Urdu and Hindi as they have been doing it since a decade already.

Anyway Telugu identity based mobilization is the need of the hour.
Old habits like Telugu people conversant in Hindi , speaking in Hindi to an outsider (as a matter of extending courtesy) must be dumped. We think its a courtesy when we break out in Hindi and try to connect with an outsider. Most of them however think its our weakness showing a lack of pride in our language and culture. This has bread contempt over years which was on full display in the Parliament during the murder of our interests.
So either Telugu or English when in Telugu desham - Hame Hindi bolna pata nahi.

nageshks wrote:Folks - a newbie question from me. In Nalagonda, Bhongir, Khammam regions, Communists have a significant vote share. What is the social base of the Communists? Which section(s) of the society votes for the Communists?
Devesh Saheb has answered these

here and here.
The Future strategic scenario for Indian subcontinent GDF ed itself is a very good thread. Many ramifications from there on.

I think we should not repeat the same mistake again by concentrating on a single city as capital. We should identify two cities one Vizag and One Horsley Hills(in Chittoor district)
Horsley Hills can be the seat of the Government. It is perfect environment in otherwise a torrid climate. State Assembly can be built there with all government offices. Vizag can be developed as a Business and Financial city since Horsley Hills has a limited scope of expansion.
This way both Andhra and Rayala can gain and have mutual benefit. This also ensures no more divisions.

Convert Nellore and Hindupur as satellite cities to Chennai and Bangalore
Very good idea , Kmkr ji garu (Sorry forgot my own prescription of unnecessarily addressing others in Hindi :oops: an inveterate old habit - will not reoccur in the future).

Like how faridabad,noida,gurgaon were linked to Delhi.
Nellore and Tirupathi must be the regional hubs in industrial corridor linking chennai to vishakha .

Hindupur and Kurnool must be the hubs if another industrial corridor also develops linking Bangalore and Hyderabad.
But in the near term Hyd will be in dumps from liquidation of assets happening and the mad squabbles between Congis,TRS,MIM,BJP leaders for a share of its pie.

So Kurnool must at the least be made the seat of Telugu desham High Court and administrative tribunals (ie a Judicial capital) as its a risky bet to link its growth to the uncertain future growth prospects of Hyderabad.
Last edited by Lilo on 21 Feb 2014 16:57, edited 3 times in total.

I think NaMo needs to go on the offensive in SeemaAndhra. Many are angry in SeemaAndhra, but this is still the right moment for him to do so.

1) From now on, in every rally, regardless of where it is, NaMo should bring up SeemaAndhra, and speak of Congress's 'Zeher ki Kheti', how Congress divided not Andhra Pradesh into two administrative parts, as BJP's promise was, but Congress divided the Telugu people into two people through hatred.

2) BJP should asap come out with a comprehensive SeemaAndhra manifesto, covering a financial package, water sharing and justice. More importantly it should speak of a vision and of development.

3) BJP should also come out strongly appealing to people to reject crony capitalists and corrupt politicos of the past. BJP should say that SeemaAndhra can be another Gujarat, but cronyism and corruption can sabotage SeemaAndhra's future.

4) Also regardless of how YSR is seen in SeemaAndhra, his corruption should be a major focus of attack. More than Jagan's image, YSR's image should be sullied, and if there are any statues of him around in SeemaAndhra, they should be pulled down. In fact he should be constantly attacked for his role in division of the state. If in Telangana vitriol can be used, so too can it be done in SeemaAndhra. This is something TDP can do.

5) As NaMo speaks about SeemaAndhra ever more, even if it is outside the state, in his rallies, etc. SeemaAndhra politicos would again warm up to NaMo, and may join BJP. In fact NaMo can tell them that these politicos use their influence in Telugu media to get NaMo's message across to the people and they could join BJP.

6) NaMo needs to jack up his message on SeemaAndhra asap, and perhaps he can still make the lotus bloom there, also by increasing chances of an alliance between BJP and TDP.

There is still time and people are still politically unanchored!
Last edited by RajeshA on 21 Feb 2014 17:17, edited 1 time in total.

NaMo could say how YSJagan and KCR came on top with development agenda while others were mistreated or ignored.

^+1. A co-capital system makes sense -have spring session of assembly in one co-capital (say, kurnool) and the monsoon one in the other (say, Ongole or mangalagiri on the Bezawada-Guntur road).

Have the HC located someplace else, say Nellore.

Altair wrote:I think we should not repeat the same mistake again by concentrating on a single city as capital. We should identify two cities one Vizag and One Horsley Hills(in Chittoor district)
Horsley Hills can be the seat of the Government. It is perfect environment in otherwise a torrid climate. State Assembly can be built there with all government offices. Vizag can be developed as a Business and Financial city since Horsley Hills has a limited scope of expansion.
This way both Andhra and Rayala can gain and have mutual benefit. This also ensures no more divisions.
If we need mega cities with 30-60 lakh population, water is essential, in that regard, Horsley Hills - Madanapalle will loose. In whole Rayalaseema, only Kurnool can provide decent water.

Having tasted bitterness twice (first Madras, now Hyderabad), go for distributed model, developing Tirupati, Kurnool, Guntur-Vijayawada, Rajamundry and Vizag as financial, educational and health hubs.

kmkraoind wrote: If we need mega cities with 30-60 lakh population, water is essential, in that regard, Horsley Hills - Madanapalle will loose. In whole Rayalaseema, only Kurnool can provide decent water.

Having tasted bitterness twice (first Madras, now Hyderabad), go for distributed model, developing Tirupati, Kurnool, Guntur-Vijayawada, Rajamundry and Vizag as financial, educational and health hubs.
The whole idea is not to build a Mega city. Thus the limited scope of Horsley Hills. It would only serve as a seat of Government.
We can develop many Tier-2 cities instead of repeating the same mistake again. Realistically no city of future can sustain >50 Lakh population. Since we have an option of developing a city we develop a string of cities hence contributing to equitable wealth generation through out the state.
We can start with Vizag as the Northern most end and terminating near Chittur district down. Ideally we must have 5~6 cities developing equally. It will defeat the idea of splitting states if we have development all throughout the state.

RajeshA wrote:I think NaMo needs to go on the offensive in SeemaAndhra. Many are angry in SeemaAndhra, but this is still the right moment for him to do so.
[...]
There is still time and people are still unhinged!
Good post. Lemme also bet you that what you say above won't happen. Would be happy to eat my words if it did. NM is good at strategy and tactics, yes, but not that good and certainly not when it comes to telugu peoples. Besides its a case of too little and way too late. 2014 has been squandered, again, in ex-AP. Again, I wish I'm wrong on this one - unhinged or otherwise.

Hari Seldon,

"unhinged" was a wrong word, I meant "politically unanchored"! Sorry

If NaMo does not strategize about AP, it will fall to YSRC+TRS+INC. This 42 seater is a goner and it will be like Jyoti Basu's historic blunder talk afterwards.

NaMo has to keep talking about SeemaAndhra. Even though SA does not need packages but keep talking about new ports, IT corridors, investment climates, tax holidays etc. Three months is a long time and they cannot leave it on a platter. Three surveys in a fortnight have put Jagan and TRS sweeping AP.

Even if the surveys are rigged, every election in the last three LS are plotted and won from the land of Telugus. You may curse them but you will lose because of them. Split or united they could still be your waterloo :)

From Sri Sri Ravi Shankar's blog

Telangana – Divide and Rule?
India is a phenomenon – the largest democracy on Earth, with a plethora of cultural, religious and linguistic diversity. It is simply a miracle that It still exists united, unlike the former Yugoslavian and Soviet countries. Though our forefathers had wisely divided the nation on linguistic basis for ease of administration and communication, the huge population and distances have forced many states to be further divided. One such crisis in the current scenario is Telangana. The situation of Telangana is very peculiar unlike Uttarakhand. Uttarakhand had to be carved out of UP as people in the hilly terrain of Tehri and Garhwal would take almost two days to reach the capital city, where most of the bureaucracy is situated. So it was justified that people of Uttarakhand wanted a separate state so that governance could be more efficient and communication more effective, giving a boost to economy and development in the region. The farther cities and towns are from the capital, the more they tend to get neglected with almost non-existent governance in some cases.

It was a similar case in Bihar where far flung areas, now in the state of Jharkhand, were considered a punishment posting for officers. For the sake of good governance and prosperity, the carving of Jharkhand was totally justified. The same applies to the case of Chhattisgarh. It is the people of Chhattisgarh who wanted to separate and the Madhya Pradesh government accepted that demand for it was that much less burden on Bhopal. Due to lack of infrastructure the border districts of many states are not accessible and welfare is ignored, though not intentionally. To prevent disgruntlement in the far away districts due to this, Karnataka even shifted its capital for a few months to Belgaon, which had a tendency to join Maharashtra.

Coming to the Telangana issue, it is completely opposite. Here the capital city – Hyderabad is in Telangana, and all the investment and development has poured into it. Over a third of the economy of the entire state is based in the capital. This being the condition, it is the coastal Andhra or Rayal Seema people who should have demanded a separate state for self governance. While these two regions do not want to separate, there is no logic for people in the capital not wanting to have their association with Andhra. It doesn’t make much sense why a government would want to abdicate parts of its own state while states like Nagaland are demanding inclusion of more districts from other states for Greater Nagaland. It appears completely unfair to push away people when they want to be a part of united Andhra Pradesh. If the Nizam was alive, he would have loved to have more area in his state rather than shrink it. Usually it is the children who want to separate from the joint family but in this case it is the father who is pushing them away. For what benefit? The basis of separation is not very clear other than for vote bank politics.

One of the main grievances of Telangana is that the people of Seemandhra dominate almost every aspect of the state. No one from Telangana was ever stopped from getting involved in the political or economic arena of the state. The talented and hardworking will always capture attention wherever they are, just like Gujaratis, Parsis, Jains and Marwadis are dominant almost everywhere.

There are pockets of underdeveloped areas everywhere. There are slums even in Hyderabad, though equal opportunities are available to everyone. Time bound reservation packages for the upliftment of the community could also have addressed any such grievances. All in all, to an onlooker, the reason for separation remains a puzzle. The language and culture being the same across Andhra Pradesh, it remains to be seen how the bifurcation will work out because there has been such an intermixing of people from one area to another.

There is an ancient Sanskrit saying,

“Yo vai bhuma tat sukham, na alpe sukham asti”

That which is big and great is joyful; there is no joy in being small.

Just because the people of a region are dominating, pushing them away does not solve everything. The long term development of any region will only happen through education and empowerment, not through division.

After division aided by BJP, Jagan is all smiles and CBN is all gloomy. Jagan knows that BJP fell in Congress-YSRC trap and they have good chances in SA

What common culture now ?

Wasn't Telangana culture based on repudiating all their similarities with Telugu culture in rest of AP ?

This belief was quite unambiguously expressed in Tank bund statue destruction rampage .. was it not?
member_19686

Post by member_19686 »

Lilo wrote:Telugu Desam will do, Telugu nadu is also good.
Recall the movie industry and media industry idiots from Hyderabad, only those who come back and set shop here can ply their offerings with respect in the new state, others who refuse to shift must be treated as outsiders and their offerings must be treated as those by outsiders. Those remaining back can continue churning their tolly crap from Hyderabad with greater and greater infusions of Urdu and Hindi as they have been doing it since a decade already.

Anyway Telugu identity based mobilization is the need of the hour.
Old habits like Telugu people conversant in Hindi , speaking in Hindi to an outsider (as a matter of extending courtesy) must be dumped. We think its a courtesy when we break out in Hindi and try to connect with an outsider. Most of them however think its our weakness showing a lack of pride in our language and culture. This has bread contempt over years which was on full display in the Parliament during the murder of our interests.
So either Telugu or English when in Telugu desham - Hame Hindi bolna pata nahi.
I wonder why the special exemption for English from such a fierce Telugu patriot lol.

So people in Telangana are ridiculed for trying to deSanskritize Telugu but tilting at the windmills of Hindi is fine as if Hindi had anything to do with the breakup of AP.

We don't need any such pseudo language pride mobilizations, if the breakup of AP has shown anything it is that language cannot solely bind people.

When I talk to average Telugu from the middle class, what I notice is this:
Today, the language in Andhra Pradesh is Tenglish, a Telugu dominated by English vocabulary. The words borrowed from English include such fundamental vocabulary like father, mother, brother, sister, wife, family, gender, food, water, milk, rice, air, numbers, home, house, hall, flat, apartment, animals like dogs, cats, etc., verbs and activities like, eat, sleep, make love, sex, love, live, brush, wash, bath, bathe, think, thank etc., fruits, vegetables and flowers like apples, banana, tomatoes, jasmine, roses etc., colors like violet, blue, green, yellow, orange, red etc. Body parts like ears, teeth, nose, hair, skin etc., diseases and conditions like fever, cold, cough, tired, headache etc., body fluids like phlegm, tears, semen, blood etc. replaced the old, archaic and embarrassing words! Words borrowed and modified by English from Telugu like curry, bandicoot etc. are now in Tenglish in their modified English forms. And of course, there are technical terms and inventions that must be borrowed from English or Latin, as Europeans discovered them, like car, bus, train, phone, etc. The list is endless.

By the way, they are replacing only those basic words that were borrowed from Sanskrit and Urdu! It is cyclical, just like life! By the end of the first millennium of Christian era, various kings of this region voluntarily embraced Sanskrit, invited Sanskrit speaking Brahmins from everywhere and by the time Muslims came Telugu was Sanskritized so much that until recently it was considered one of the Indo-European Sanskrit languages. So, some extremist Telugu chauvinists wish to translate (or misappropriate?) technical words for inventions and ideas they didn�t know and invent like car, TV, phone, Windows 95, (maybe) Bill Gates etc., into Telugu using Sanskrit vocabulary. If I were a Tenglish or if the Americans had their way, my name would be easily pronounceable "Wealthy-Sir Neem-Bitter " (Sreenivasa-rao Vepa-chedu ) or simply Rich Bitterman! Note that American government tempted me with that opportunity to change my name free of any hassles two times! While educated Hyderabad citizens told my mother that it was inappropriate to use Telugu word annamu and that the proper word was rice at functions in Hyderabad. Sad part of it is that my mother knows more Telugu literature than many of them and yet she is considered uneducated by Tenglish standards. And I have to add that she is now as educated as other Tenglish Hyderabadis are, much to my annoyance and frustration.

Last year when I visited Hyderabad to attend my brother�s marriage, I went to a barbershop. The barber thought I was a villager visiting Hyderabad! He not only disliked my hairstyle, but also my language! Why? Because I was worse than an uneducated villager! Today, even an uneducated villager uses some Tenglish! Note that Andhra Pradesh is one of the most uneducated and illiterate states in the Indian Union! Telangana is the lowest with less than 36% literacy! Yet, I say bagunnara, they say "havaar yu ?" I say namaskaaramu, they say hello. I say snaanalagadi , they say baathroomu. I say annamu, they say raisu. I say okati, they say van (one). I say uppu, they say saalTu (salt)�. Well, you get the idea. I am not talking their language. My language is dead. My language is Telugu. Their language is Tenglish . Good thing about it is that Telugu joined the group of great languages like Sanskrit and Latin! The Tenglish don�t understand Telugu any more than they understand Sanskrit or Latin! Actually, you can never express in Telugu sentences like "I love you," "thank you," etc. without feeling extremely awkward! I feel like a Thescelosaurus (vegetarian dinosaur) amongst modern omnivores!

The Benefits: As a matter of fact, life is easier now. I can simply speak English and the Tenglish will understand me better! In every office, Tenglish gets the job done. In every home Tenglish has more currency. I just have to be careful not to be an arrogant American and add a couple of Tenglish words here and there and my English would be very good Tenglish! Anybody can do it, even a Russian who can speak some English! Amazing! Isn�t it?

And out of my sheer selfishness, I feel sad because I can't speak anywhere my language anymore. Of course, the bitterness is not only due to my family name, but also due to lack of enough practice of yoga as required by my family tradition to attain Nirvana. Let me digress a little bit here. You see, it requires a minimum threshold level of practice to get the benefit of any process. To get the benefits of meditation one has to meditate at least 40 minutes per sitting. Don�t forget that you need to do aerobic exercises for one hour to get their benefits and practice yoga exercises for another hour and then do yoga meditation. Who has the time? Nevertheless, if you want peace and health, you have no choice!

After all, who can stop the tide and control human nature? The Tenglish know better! The Tenglish people of Andhra Pradesh have a unique quality, which makes them the fittest supple and malleable survivors (be careful, I didn�t say �spineless�) and helps them through slavery and freedom equally! This ability is also responsible for their survival as Hindus for now. At least 50% of the population in Hyderabad City and 70% in Andhra Pradesh is still Hindu (including millions of Dalit Christians that are counted as Hindus), even after 700 years of Muslim rule, much to the chagrin of Gilanis, Osamas, Pakistanis, communists, leftists, and the likes. Although it is a foregone conclusion, but it takes at least another millennium to wipeout all Hinduisms from the Indian Continent , unless Jihadis and proselytizers come up with a better and aggressive plan. Thus the Tenglish technique guarantees Hindu survival for the time being.

This accomplishment also makes the life of an English speaker easier in Hyderabad, at least until English is replaced by another useful language which may not happen until several hundreds of years from now, hopefully. Also, that is why Telugus didn�t need a Telugu dictionary until C. P. Brown came along to Christianize (enlighten). They still don�t have a Thesaurus, because C. P. Brown failed to prepare one! Even if I want to teach my children my dead Telugu language, I don�t have the resources. One great payoff of this is that I don�t have to teach my children my dead Telugu at all. They will do better than me in Hyderabad with just English! Now Tenglish people just have to get rid of their script and adopt roman script. Thanks to Internet, it is already happening!

Conclusion: The Tenglish should feel vindicated and proud when they read Jerry Knowles� comments in this 1997 article . Tamils would do better if they use Tamglish and stop fighting for Elam in Sri Lanka, and, of course, only if Sinhalese became Singlish. I wish the French were as wise as the Tenglish and scrapped their strict rules related to their language and developed Frenglish! Similarly, Runglish, Spanglish, Itanglish, etc. are better than their counterparts. World would be a better place, if everybody learns the Tenglish way - the best way and the Tao!

avaru Tenglishu madaru ku jasminu gaarlanDu (Jasmine Garland to Our Tenglish Mother)

Better yet,

jasminu gaarlanDu Tu avaru Tenglishu madaru (Jasmine Garland to Our Tenglish Mother)

haava haappi nyu yiyaru!

Sreenivasarao Vepachedu

http://www.vepachedu.org/hyderabad.html
Oh but lets tilt at the windmills of Hindi while speaking Tenglish & sending our kids to English medium schools.

I for one am perfectly happy to speak in Hindi, the closest we have to a commection language & I also do my best to speak decent Telugu not Tenglish.

Such pseudo linguistic mobilizations are very low on my priority list & indeed I would oppose any such nonsense because under the guise of such bs the newly minted evangelical freaks will somehow suddenly become my mythical "Telugu brothers" blah blah blah. The number one priority for me is to roll back the missionary machine in SA + Hindu pride & then economic development not these pseudo Telugu pride politics.

This is not at all good. We are talking about TDP strongholds. People are angry.Congress is nowhere in SA to show them the anger. The next in line to show that anger would be BJP. Because of its association with BJP and riding on two horses attitude, TDP will suffer. May be the opinion polls are not wrong after all.

Telugu Desam leaders blame it on Naidu
A day after Lok Sabha passed A.P Reorganisation Bill 2013, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leaders in the district have begun introspection. A big question, now, before them is how to face the people and seek their support in the coming elections.

All their efforts since 2009 hunger strike to keep the Seemandhra people in good humour went in vain as TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu did not take a firm stance on united Andhra though the Samaikyandhra sentiment was riding quite high, they say.

The TD leaders are, in private, squarely blaming TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu for the catastrophe in the offing.

The TDP leader with his equal justice policy could neither please Telanganites nor Seemandhra people.

On top of it, the party lost confidence of people in districts like Krishna. They recall the ‘Vastunna Meekosam’ padayatra, which did not make the desired impact to provide a firm ground for the party in the district.

Mr. Naidu had to face the heat of Samaikyandhra agitation during much-touted Telugu Jati Atma Gaurava Yatra (a bus yatra) in the district. Response was very poor during his yatra, which passed through Telugu Desam strongholds like Mylavaram, Gannavaram, and Tiruvur constituencies in September 2013. Mr. Naidu ignored the Samaikyandhra sentiments here despite all this, they say.

Referring to Congress leader D. Srinivas’s statement that AICC president Sonia Gandhi took firm stand on Telangana though numerically it has less number of MPs compared to Seemandhra, the Telugu Desam leaders say, Mr. Naidu should have firmly said that Seemandhra has 25 MPs, and the party was committed for the interests of united Andhra.

“If Congress could dare to say that it was more concerned for Telangana which is geographically smaller area, why not TDP?” they ask.

The Telugu Desam leaders feel that the party’s inclination towards BJP also helped anyway. The BJP has ditched the Seemandhra with its hoodwinking statements. In fact, the alliance with the BJP would have worst impact on the voting in coming elections, they opine.

Rony wrote:This is not at all good. We are talking about TDP strongholds. People are angry.Congress is nowhere in SA to show them the anger. The next in line to show that anger would be BJP. Because of its association with BJP and riding on two horses attitude, TDP will suffer. May be the opinion polls are not wrong after all.

Telugu Desam leaders blame it on Naidu
If Chindu is coming with such articles, then something good will happen if BJP and TDP joins the hands, and TDP is not that weak as it being portrayed. My one golden rule, just think of opposite to what Chindu preaches when it comes to national politics.

Surasena garu,

What about English is not good enough when you want to have a business conversation with outsiders ?

I don't know about you but my Hindu pride is linked to my linguistic telugu cultural pride in fact its channelled through it. Now that the channel is damaged by the insulting way the division was foisted on us, i feel compelled to immediately repair it back by concentrating on my Telugu pride .

That said what about BJP and Hindi which makes the sole claimants for chanelling Hindutva or Bharateeyata ?

Hindi is not the mother language of Telugu - which is itself having a classical language status on its own right.
Mother language of Telugu is Sanskrit. Don't push your AIT conditioning that Hindi heartlands of today represent the true Sanskritic culture - when Annamayya is composing songs in praise of lord Venkateswara the Sanskritic culture of India evolved above the previous heights it ever reached. I recognise that fact and see the true successor to Sanskrit in Telugu language not Hindi. So I won't teach my kids any arabby Hindi for him to croon Bollywood stupidity, I will teach them Telugu first, English then as professional and study language and the basic feel of Sanskrit word creation and usage - so that they will construct and evolve their own words to express newer concepts in my mother tongue which is Telugu.

If any one hears any sanskritic Hindi song in Bollywood and say this is real Hindi I may reconsider, but as of now don't hear any sanscritised Hindi in usage and all Hindi songs are having Arabby sounding words(they can some times be farsi which again symbolizes Islamic subjugation of Hindi) like Maula,Mashallah,Kalima,ishq sufiyana etc these days.

So why should I listen to a Bollywood song in which the herrow is singing to the herrowine that your face is mashallah or your neck is as beautiful as kalima - Even Telugu Kannada malayali lyrics have less arabbi and more Sanskrit words than current conversational Hindi brought in vogue by decades of relentless Bollywoodisation of Hindi as opposed to what used to be heard in Akashvani bulletinof old.

So either make Sanskrit as link language or continue with English as the link language - I don't want any arabby Hindi foisted under the guise of link language. I want no truck with arabby Hindi.

In fact my language Telugu is better placed to express complex dhramic principles than Hindi of today can ever be among any other language except Sanskrit.

So you can call it charging at wind mill called Hindi but it is the hindi politicos from the ganga jamuni heartland who have rejected sanskrit hindi for their current Hindustani arabby who have injured my Telugu language pride which I used since growing up to channel my Bharateeyata (you can also call it Hindutva)

Ohh btw who said any thing about tenglish ?
Is it a straw man you created for this argument ?

Bottom line is this - we Telugus have sufficient Hindutva of our own in our own ranks than to depend for help from some outside BJP or congressi dud saviour to help us find us our moorings.

Lilo ji,

I agree. There is nothing special about Hindi. It is just one more regional language in India. Telugu is not less or more important than Hindi.

Bharat's cultural unity however is better expressed through Sanskrit!

maitas66 ‏@chinmaykrvd 11m
Venkayya Naidu:Modi will campaign in Seemandhra.BJP is planning rallies in Seemandhra.Dates will be announced soon

maitas66 ‏@chinmaykrvd 12m
Venkayya Naidu:BJP preparing a comprehensive action plan for Seemandhra development.Will bring it into public domain before elections

Lilo wrote:Surasena garu,

What about English is not good enough when you want to have a business conversation with outsiders ?

I don't know about you but my Hindu pride is linked to my linguistic telugu cultural pride in fact its channelled through it. Now that the channel is damaged by the insulting way the division was foisted on us, i feel compelled to immediately repair it back by concentrating on my Telugu pride .

That said what about BJP and Hindi which makes the sole claimants for chanelling Hindutva or Bharateeyata ?

Hindi is not the mother language of Telugu - which is itself having a classical language status on its own right.
Mother language of Telugu is Sanskrit. Don't push your AIT conditioning that Hindi heartlands of today represent the true Sanskritic culture - when Annamayya is composing songs in praise of lord Venkateswara the Sanskritic culture of India evolved above the previous heights it ever reached. I recognise that fact and see the true successor to Sanskrit in Telugu language not Hindi. So I won't teach my kids any arabby Hindi for him to croon Bollywood stupidity, I will teach them Telugu first, English then as professional and study language and the basic feel of Sanskrit word creation and usage - so that they will construct and evolve their own words to express newer concepts in my mother tongue which is Telugu.

If any one hears any sanskritic Hindi song in Bollywood and say this is real Hindi I may reconsider, but as of now don't hear any sanscritised Hindi in usage and all Hindi songs are having Arabby sounding words(they can some times be farsi which again symbolizes Islamic subjugation of Hindi) like Maula,Mashallah,Kalima,ishq sufiyana etc these days.

So why should I listen to a Bollywood song in which the herrow is singing to the herrowine that your face is mashallah or your neck is as beautiful as kalima - Even Telugu Kannada malayali lyrics have less arabbi and more Sanskrit words than current conversational Hindi brought in vogue by decades of relentless Bollywoodisation of Hindi as opposed to what used to be heard in Akashvani bulletinof old.

So either make Sanskrit as link language or continue with English as the link language - I don't want any arabby Hindi foisted under the guise of link language. I want no truck with arabby Hindi.

In fact my language Telugu is better placed to express complex dhramic principles than Hindi of today can ever be among any other language except Sanskrit.

So you can call it charging at wind mill called Hindi but it is the hindi politicos from the ganga jamuni heartland who have rejected sanskrit hindi for their current Hindustani arabby who have injured my Telugu language pride which I used since growing up to channel my Bharateeyata (you can also call it Hindutva)

Ohh btw who said any thing about tenglish ?
Is it a straw man you created for this argument ?

Bottom line is this - we Telugus have sufficient Hindutva of our own in our own ranks than to depend for help from some outside BJP or congressi dud saviour to help us find us our moorings.
Bravo Lilo garu. You have taken the words out of my mouth.This is what i tell my friends in Massa and Hyderabad. Forget this hindi vindi. Instead concentrate on Telugu followed by Sanskrit.
member_19686

Post by member_19686 »

The fact that only a minority of Indians can speak English well, the fact that I prefer other Indian languages to English, how about that for a start.

Rest of your post is nonsense attributing things to me which I never said or implied.

My point was simple, Tenglish is displacing Telugu but let us tilt at the windmills of Hindi to manufacture another pseudo Telugu pride movement, this has nothing to do with any love for Telugu as such but temper tantrums due to the breakup of AP. After all people who have no problem saying mummy, daddy, saaltu for amma, naanna, uppu suddenly discovering the dangers of Hindi and their Telugu pride is a joke of the highest order.

Horseley Hills? :roll: :shock: I thought that was a minor boondocks hill station usually deserted except for a govt run guest house at the top? similar to yellagiri or nandi hill...and no more. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4OixUF9GIcY

He tried for 6 months to get division in equitable terms. He says Congress with the help of BJP screwed Seemandhra.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTyl6JPydiA
Chandra babu with media on Telangana Bill issue & Captial City Development

With 17,000 cr deficit and 60% loans, Seemandhra is screwed for a few decades. Seemandhra should go default immediately and push loans to Central government. Alternative is to go seperate country and invite funds from other countries - it has geographical location to sell that is worth a lot to US or Russia for example.

Poll pact with BJP uncertain post Telangana Bill nod: TDP
Seething over BJP’s support to the Telangana Bill in Parliament, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has indicated its reluctance about going in for an alliance with the national party in the upcoming general elections.

Although the regional party had made no official announcement about entering into an alliance with BJP, the ground had appeared set for the coming together of the one- time allies after TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu established a rapport with Narendra Modi over the last few months.

TDP was banking heavily on BJP to somehow stall the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill, which provides for the creation of a separate Telangana state. The party had cited the “injustice” meted out to Seemandhra region as the reason behind its opposition to the Bill.

TDP —— or the Seemandhra section of it at least —— is angry that BJP “facilitated” the smooth passage of the Bill without extracting any concrete guarantees for the residuary state.

“BJP is as guilty as Congress for leaving the residual Andhra Pradesh a bankrupt state. Coming generations will suffer heavily because of this. Without realising this, BJP has settled for a package deal (for Seemandhra) which is nothing but eyewash,” TDP Politburo member Yanamala Ramakrishnudu had charged yesterday.

TDP has already started a campaign projecting Congress and BJP as the “main villains” in the bifurcation of the state.

The main opposition in AP conducted a survey over the last three-four days on whether it would be beneficial for itself to forge an alliance with the saffron outfit.

“The result (of the survey) is negative. People of Seemandhra are in no mood to accept our tie-up,” a TDP Politburo member said.

Interestingly, a sample survey conducted by a private agency on the day the Bill was passed in Lok Sabha showed a 19 per cent dip in Modi’s popularity in Seemandhra.

These factors have made TDP wary of going ahead with its plan of realigning itself with BJP, party sources said.

BJP may incidentally be averse itself to joining hands with TDP in Telangana due to the latter’s wavering stand on the separate statehood issue.

Naidu will be holding a meeting with his Telangana colleagues tomorrow to discuss these political developmentsand possibly announce a separate party unit for the new state.

The issue of possible electoral alliances is also expected to be discussed at the meeting, sources said.

Surasena wrote:The fact that only a minority of Indians can speak English well, the fact that I prefer other Indian languages to English, how about that for a start.

Rest of your post is nonsense attributing things to me which I never said or implied.

My point was simple, Tenglish is displacing Telugu but let us tilt at the windmills of Hindi to manufacture another pseudo Telugu pride movement, this has nothing to do with any love for Telugu as such but temper tantrums due to the breakup of AP. After all people who have no problem saying mummy, daddy, saaltu for amma, naanna, uppu suddenly discovering the dangers of Hindi and their Telugu pride is a joke of the highest order.
Surasena-ji,
My post probably belongs in an Indian Languages thread (hey - where is it?), but if you do an analysis of the grammar structure of the Indian languages, then you will find that south Indian languages (particularly, Kannada and Telugu, and Telugu even more than Kannada) have a greater resemblance to Sanskrit grammatically than Hindi. Hindi, in fact, feels much closer to a Semitic language, than any Indic language grammatically. The lack of cases, the focus on verbs, no neuter gender - all these Hindi features are also classic Semitic language features. If you check, none of the old Indian languages have these features. Maybe someone should push the BJP and RSS to be a bit more pro-Sanskrit than they already are, and try to make Sanskrit compulsory for kids in school as a language. Without knowledge of Sanskrit, we are sunk in re-discovering our own heritage.

Singha wrote:Horseley Hills? :roll: :shock: I thought that was a minor boondocks hill station usually deserted except for a govt run guest house at the top? similar to yellagiri or nandi hill...and no more. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4OixUF9GIcY
99% Andhra people can't locate where it is.

Most likely, Capital will be Mangalagiri in between Guntur and Vijayawada as private infra (if not government) is already there. Any other place needs to be built for Capital.

This is like going back to core of Andhra that has been center for 1000s of years.

Lilo, Rony & HS, Take heart from T Kiran and KMK's posts. They have the origins of a revival plan based on strengths and not hopes.
I like name Andhra Pradesh for it is truly that now. It also reminds people its like the India that is Bharat.

I also would like to emphasize on Telugu as the language of the future. By promoting English(I hardly read and cant write Telugu) it will cut off a large number from the stream of progress which is badly needed. Look at SoKo, Japan et al. They didn't need any English!!! Besides Nannayya and Raja Narendra had definte plans to make it the new lingua franca but for the Islamist invasions. Can't drop it.

Get rid of the old bogus leaders and get new thinking.

Its new dawn today.

ShyamSP, Cut that separate country talk. A creative leadership can handle the 60% debt and let the Center take it back from INC black money.
yvijay

Post by yvijay »

Surasena wrote:The fact that only a minority of Indians can speak English well, the fact that I prefer other Indian languages to English, how about that for a start.

ShyamSP wrote: Seemandhra should go default immediately and push loans to Central government. Alternative is to go seperate country and invite funds from other countries - it has geographical location to sell that is worth a lot to US or Russia for example.

When people said in other threads that Pakiness is a state of mind, I now know what that means. Similar arguements were voiced by Khalistanis for breaking Punjab in the 80s.
Last edited by Paul on 21 Feb 2014 20:23, edited 1 time in total.

ramana wrote:ShyamSP, Cut that separate country talk. A creative leadership can handle the 60% debt and let the Center take it back from INC black money.
Sorry man, it is opportunity to build whether to do under same crappy rules or set your own terms. If seperate country hurts egos, they need to go as independent state ala Kashmir. Within India, I see Seemandhra going down for a few decades as Indian laws are not conducive to development or resurrection.
member_19686

Post by member_19686 »

nageshks wrote: Surasena-ji,
My post probably belongs in an Indian Languages thread (hey - where is it?), but if you do an analysis of the grammar structure of the Indian languages, then you will find that south Indian languages (particularly, Kannada and Telugu, and Telugu even more than Kannada) have a greater resemblance to Sanskrit grammatically than Hindi. Hindi, in fact, feels much closer to a Semitic language, than any Indic language grammatically. The lack of cases, the focus on verbs, no neuter gender - all these Hindi features are also classic Semitic language features. If you check, none of the old Indian languages have these features. Maybe someone should push the BJP and RSS to be a bit more pro-Sanskrit than they already are, and try to make Sanskrit compulsory for kids in school as a language. Without knowledge of Sanskrit, we are sunk in re-discovering our own heritage.
Pseudo Telugu pride with an anti-Hindi slant but okay with English is what I have a problem with. I said I prefer Hindi to English, but nowhere did I dismiss Sanskrit or the need for promoting it.

If you know Telugu then you should know that many people are ashamed of it not because of any love for Hindi but for English. They use English words for even the most common Telugu words, just watch the interviews of so called Telugu movie stars. Half the time they slip into English as if Telugu is not good enough for them, but that's okay let us set up the straw man of Hindi and knock it down to show our Telugu pride.

There are plenty of people who genuinely love Telugu & they are pained to see Telugu being neglected for English. But when you need to vent, this becomes inconvenient because after all we ourselves probably Tenglish, Tamglish etc & send our kids to English medium schools. So Hindi is the soft target to bash to show off Telugu pride even if it has zilch to do with the breakup of AP.

If my people love Telugu so much then they should try to emulate Taiwan or Japan, create conditions where Telugu won't be sidelined for English not tilt at windmills of Hindi.

Speak for your self.
I suspect too much English convent conditioning during schooling and too much BJP coolaid on their claims to be flag bearers of Hindutva on your rebound after growing up (infact consistenly BJP have been pallbearers for most Hindutva issues) have excised any Telugu moorings you might have had. No wonder you are shaking in your breeches on the mention of English.

Frankly iam bored of your and other Tvaadi claims that Telugu pride is a joke .
You maybe a new entrant to this dhaga jumped to lecture me seeing my post but there have long been other marxpasandi tvaadis here who have regularly made such claims(of non existence of Telugu pride) post facto to justify their tank bund statue destruction rampage. You are just another of them.Nothing more.

The fact is that Tvaadis spurred their agitation for T based on hatered for "other" - in the process they ended up repudiating much of Telugu culture they saw in the mirror whenever they gazed at dutty SAs. You may have the same problem.

Maybe you are uninformed with happenings in AP since 2-3 years.

KKR in his CM ship began a sequence of steps for resurrecting Telugu language centrality in the cultural realm - just because you are not aware doesn't mean what you see today will continue in the future .

The next govt will obviously take it forward in their term. And a good starting step for this process would be challenging the current status of arabby Hindi as link language .
Last edited by Lilo on 21 Feb 2014 20:40, edited 1 time in total.
member_19686

Post by member_19686 »

Lilo the arbiter of Teluguness.

Where would Telugu people be without you to tutor them in Telugu moorings.

Carry on BTW the fact that you assumed I must be from Telangana because I poked holes in your nonsense says a lot, just don't assume that everyone from SA is a moron ready to tilt at windmills like Hindi when the issues have nothing to do with it.

As for BJP, I rarely engage in political discussions here & I wasn't the one who felt the need to make a post saying I no longer support BJP because of Telangana lol.
member_19686

Post by member_19686 »

Lilo wrote:Maybe you are uninformed with happenings in AP since 2-3 years.

KKR in his CM ship began a sequence of steps for resurrecting Telugu language centrality in the cultural realm - just because you are not aware doesn't mean what you see today will continue in the future .

The next govt will obviously take it forward in their term. And a good starting step for this process would be challenging the status of arabby Hindi as link language .
Wow 65+ years of English dominance, Tenglish practically the language of educated middle class and KKR will sure change it, no doubt led by Telugu savants like Lilo who will batter down Hindi :rotfl:

Surasena wrote:Lilo the arbiter of Teluguness. Where would Telugu people be without you to tutor them in Telugu moorings. Carry on BTW the fact that you assumed I must be from Telangana because I poked holes in your nonsense says a lot, just don't assume that everyone from SA is a moron ready to tilt at windmills like Hindi when the issues have nothing to do with it. As for BJP, I rarely engage in political discussions here & I wasn't the one who felt the need to make a post saying I no longer support BJP because of Telangana lol.
That is a natural assumption for me to make on one who displayed obvious disconnect to reality.

So ok.

Neither are you the arbiter of my teluguness.
Lot of holes you poked btw, while shivering at the mention of english - I am quite upset.Truly.

Yes the issue has every thing to do with Hindi heartland dominance on what should have been a federal polity.
Last edited by Lilo on 22 Feb 2014 01:12, edited 2 times in total.
VenkataS

Post by VenkataS »

Telugu is a Dravidian language and is not derived from Sanskrit, unlike Marathi, Gujurathi, Hindi and Bengali. However Telugu loans a large number of its words from Sanskrit.

I agree with Lilo the new state should be based on a shared identity of Telugu language and Telugu culture. There should be a sense of pride inculcated in the general population with respect to our Telugu identity. It does not mean rejection of Hindi, but it means renewed focus on Telugu as our shared heritage.

We should start with the name of new state being either "Telugu Desam" or "Telugu Rashtram". I have never heard anyone say "Telugu Nadu" as someone suggested above (is "Nadu" even a Telugu word) so that should be ruled out.

The first order of business is making sure that further screwing of Telugu people by the dilli govt stops now, by not letting them choose a capital for us.