Terrorism Worldwide

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Terrorism Worldwide

Things have changed in Europe. Terrorists are no more militants.It has come to bite.Suddenly people here remember that there was an terrorist attack in Mumbai and how painful it can be. India has suffered most and when terrorism goes global (truly global), worlds understanding about India's problem will improve. So instead of disusing in bit here and there let's have a dedicated thread for news and views concerning international terrorism.

Re: Terrorism Worldwide

The thread below links to the source of worldwide terrorism
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... f=1&t=6928

Terrorism is not a newcomer to Europe. They simply had a 20 year break that's all.

Even in the 80s - the IRA was active in the UK and a little earlier the Red Brigades and the Baader Meinhof gang were active. Spain had its share of terrorism from the Basque separatists.

I recall being evacuated from a train in the UK because of a suspect IRA bomb on board.

Belgian police were very efficient. Country is on alert level 3 (highest is 4) but no police visible on streets. This defys all logic. Not a single police officer on road. Indian community is keeping very low profile (as usual). All the raids were in Muslim dominated (which they share with Bakistni community) areas.

rsingh wrote:Belgian police were very efficient. Country is on alert level 3 (highest is 4) but no police visible on streets. This defys all logic. Not a single police officer on road. Indian community is keeping very low profile (as usual). All the raids were in Muslim dominated (which they share with Bakistni community) areas.
Did you read this post
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 0#p1780900
ashvin wrote: Its does get scary for us SDREY people here, too. They do not know the difference.
Last week (day after the Paris shooting) there was a terror alert at the Charleroi airport in Belgium. I was walking from my work building to another building for a meeting with a colleague. The two buildings are roughly half a kilometer apart. Anyway, it was raining and windy and I was holding up my hood to cover my head. I had a bag slung over my shoulder and I was walking down the path toward my colleague's building. I had covered around 300m, when two squad cars suddenly appeared and blocked my path. I looked back and an officer rushed out of the car and starting ordering me to stand still (in French). I was confused, but I immediately assumed the position with my hands on my head. They grabbed my bag and did a full body search and took my wallet for my ID card. While they were checking, another officer stood in front of me. He was in full tactical gear with an Uzi pointed at me. He asked me if I was a muslim and I replied that I was a Hindu. He then asked me where I was from and replied, India. They asked me all sorts of questions as to what I was doing here and where I was going? I replied that I worked here and was on my way to see a colleague for work. I gave them all the details. I was scared. I asked the officer with the Uzi as to the reason for stopping me? He replied that I looked like a terrorist (shrugged his shoulders). Finally everything checked out and they let me go.

What struck me and stayed with me was his last statement about my looks.

shiv wrote:Terrorism is not a newcomer to Europe. They simply had a 20 year break that's all.

Even in the 80s - the IRA was active in the UK and a little earlier the Red Brigades and the Baader Meinhof gang were active. Spain had its share of terrorism from the Basque separatists.

I recall being evacuated from a train in the UK because of a suspect IRA bomb on board.
You are right sir but that was their own terrorism.....white on White , with due warning to lessen the co lateral damage etc. This is something new.People here thought that it is a third world problem. Things started to change after 9/11.

I recall how Europeans have cautioned India about the Indian army's "excesses" against the freedom fighters of Kashmir. Don't you think what is happening in Europe is NOT terrorism?.

Europeans should be sensitive to the religious sentiments of all religions including Muslims no? Poor Muslims feelings being hurt.

I am wholly sympathetic to the sentiments of the minority Muslims in Europe. Muslims in Europe should not be insulted any more than the freedom fighters of Kashmir and Chechnya.

http://www.samaa.tv/international/25-Ma ... g-in-india
STRASBOURG: The European Parliament unanimously passed a resolution against the secret execution of Mohammad Afzal Guru in India
Last edited by shiv on 16 Jan 2015 19:44, edited 1 time in total.

rsingh wrote:Belgian police were very efficient. Country is on alert level 3 (highest is 4) but no police visible on streets. This defys all logic. Not a single police officer on road. Indian community is keeping very low profile (as usual). All the raids were in Muslim dominated (which they share with Bakistni community) areas.
Did you read this post
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 0#p1780900
ashvin wrote: Its does get scary for us SDREY people here, too. They do not know the difference.
Last week (day after the Paris shooting) there was a terror alert at the Charleroi airport in Belgium. I was walking from my work building to another building for a meeting with a colleague. The two buildings are roughly half a kilometer apart. Anyway, it was raining and windy and I was holding up my hood to cover my head. I had a bag slung over my shoulder and I was walking down the path toward my colleague's building. I had covered around 300m, when two squad cars suddenly appeared and blocked my path. I looked back and an officer rushed out of the car and starting ordering me to stand still (in French). I was confused, but I immediately assumed the position with my hands on my head. They grabbed my bag and did a full body search and took my wallet for my ID card. While they were checking, another officer stood in front of me. He was in full tactical gear with an Uzi pointed at me. He asked me if I was a muslim and I replied that I was a Hindu. He then asked me where I was from and replied, India. They asked me all sorts of questions as to what I was doing here and where I was going? I replied that I worked here and was on my way to see a colleague for work. I gave them all the details. I was scared. I asked the officer with the Uzi as to the reason for stopping me? He replied that I looked like a terrorist (shrugged his shoulders). Finally everything checked out and they let me go.

What struck me and stayed with me was his last statement about my looks.
That is unique. Never heard such thing. Never ever police asked somebody's religion on the spot. It is a big scandal if this goes to press. I am here for more than 22 years and have my own business but never heard such a thing.Last Feb some body left a bag with fake bomb in one of my retail outlet . It was a fake alarm. Young fellow was a regular customer who had a canraval party where he was dressed as a suicide bomber ( it was in news). At no time world religion was used.

shiv wrote:I recall how Europeans have cautioned India about the Indian army's "excesses" against the freedom fighters of Kashmir. Don't you think what is happening in Europe is NOT terrorism?.

Europeans should be sensitive to the religious sentiments of all religions including Muslims no? Poor Muslims feelings being hurt.

I am wholly sympathetic to the sentiments of the minority Muslims in Europe. Muslims in Europe should not be insulted any more than the freedom fighters of Kashmir and Chechnya.

http://www.samaa.tv/international/25-Ma ... g-in-india
STRASBOURG: The European Parliament unanimously passed a resolution against the secret execution of Mohammad Afzal Guru in India
Very well said completment d'accord avec vous

When the Chinese have trouble with Uighurs, we cheer the Uighurs

When Russians have trouble in Chechnya, we support the Russians

What about Europe?

In every case it is Muslims murdering people. Our support or lack of it should depend on our interests. Europe does not give a rats ass for the problems being caused to us by Pakistan. The same Islam. The same mindless killing. Why should any Indian support Europe against Islamist terrorism?
ashvin

Post by ashvin »

Dear rsingh,
I have been here 7 years and this is the first time I have encountered such a situation. One has to remember that this was the day after the Paris shooting and during that morning some idiot had made a prank call that there was an attack at the Charleroi airport. These guys were on the edge. Their body language was pretty aggressive and I was surprised at the questions, but the last statement will always stick like a fly on wax paper. Anyway, I am not going to dwell on this, just use it as a cautionary tale.

Anyway, I do not want any publicity on this and I have put it behind me.

Beslan School massacre
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beslan_sch ... age_crisis
The Beslan school hostage crisis (also referred to as the Beslan school siege or Beslan massacre)[2][3][4] started on 1 September 2004, lasted three days and involved the capture of over 1,100 people as hostages (including 777 children),[5] ending with the death of 385 people. The crisis began when a group of armed Islamic separatist militants, mostly Ingush and Chechen, occupied School Number One (SNO) in the town of Beslan, North Ossetia
September 11 attacks
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/September_11_attacks
The September 11 attacks (also referred to as September 11, September 11th, or 9/11)[nb 1] were a series of four coordinated terrorist attacks by the Islamic terrorist group al-Qaeda on the United States in New York City and the Washington, D.C., metropolitan area on Tuesday, September 11, 2001. The attacks killed 2,996 people and caused at least $10 billion in property and infrastructure damage.[2]

Mumbai 26/11
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2008_Mumbai_attacks
A series of twelve coordinated shooting and bombing attacks lasting four days occurred across Mumbai,[6][7] carried out by Pakistani members of Lashkar-e-Taiba... The attacks, which drew widespread global condemnation, began on Wednesday, 26 November and lasted until Saturday, 29 November 2008, killing 164 people and wounding at least 308.

Madrid train bombings
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2004_Madrid_train_bombings
The 2004 Madrid train bombings (also known in Spain as 11-M) were nearly simultaneous, coordinated bombings against the Cercanías commuter train system of Madrid, Spain, on the morning of 11 March 2004 – three days before Spain's general elections and two and a half years after the September 11 attacks in the United States. The explosions killed 191 people and wounded 1,800.[1] The official investigation by the Spanish judiciary found that the attacks were directed by an al-Qaeda-inspired terrorist cell,[2][3] although no direct al-Qaeda participation has been established.[4][5][6] Though they had no role in the planning or implementation, the Spanish miners who sold the explosives to the terrorists were also arrested
Bali bombing
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2002_Bali_bombings
The 2002 Bali bombings occurred on 12 October 2002 in the tourist district of Kuta on the Indonesian island of Bali. The attack killed 202 people (including 88 Australians, 38 Indonesians, 27 Britons, 7 Americans, 6 Swedish citizens and 3 Danish citizens).[3] A further 209 people were injured. Various members of Jemaah Islamiyah, a violent Islamist group, were convicted in relation to the bombings,
Boko Haram massacre Nigeria Jan 2015
The exact death toll in Baga and 16 surrounding villages is unknown, with estimates ranging from “dozens” to 2000 or more. “No one stayed back to count bodies,” one local resident told Human Rights Watch. “We were all running to get out of town ahead of Boko Haram fighters who have since taken over the area.”
Kenya Mall attack
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Westgate_s ... all_attack
On 21 September 2013, unidentified gunmen attacked the upmarket Westgate shopping mall in Nairobi, Kenya. The attack, which lasted until 24 September, resulted in at least 67 deaths, including four attackers. Over 175 people were reportedly wounded in the mass shooting, with all of the gunmen reported killed. The Islamist group al-Shabaab claimed responsibility for the incident
London Underground bombing 7/7
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/7_July_200 ... n_bombings
The 7 July 2005 London bombings (often referred to as 7/7) were a series of coordinated suicide attacks in central London, which targeted civilians using the public transport system during the morning rush hour.

On the morning of Thursday, 7 July 2005, four British Islamist men detonated four bombs—three in quick succession aboard London Underground trains across the city and, later, a fourth on a double-decker bus in Tavistock Square. As well as the four bombers, 52 civilians were killed and over 700 more were injured in the attacks, the United Kingdom's worst terrorist incident since the 1988 Lockerbie bombing as well as the country's first ever suicide attack.

Ashvin ji you have to know your rights. And do so with head held high. You (or your co) pays tax here and you have know your rights. Next time if you feel offended , just ask the police officer his "numero de affiliation" and he is obliged to do so. then you can complain . It is easy, just on Ministry of justice web site and write an email in English.

rsingh wrote: That is unique. Never heard such thing. Never ever police asked somebody's religion on the spot. It is a big scandal if this goes to press. I am here for more than 22 years and have my own business but never heard such a thing.Last Feb some body left a bag with fake bomb in one of my retail outlet . It was a fake alarm. Young fellow was a regular customer who had a canraval party where he was dressed as a suicide bomber ( it was in news). At no time world religion was used.
Is it? I know a few Indian 'Hindu' families in Nottingham and elsewhere in UK where women have given up wearing sarees for trousers and shirts, as the whites perceive them as 'malsi'. For a woman, this becomes a clearly demarcating dress code. non-malsi SDRE Men are not as lucky.

I know that in many big US metros Paki ladies suddenly gave up salwar and started wearing sarees
and bindi after 9-11 to assimilate with Indians.
Vamsee

Post by Vamsee »

LOL NYT and UPI twitter accounts were hacked and false news was tweeted (Like China has attacked USS washington & damaged it & US-China are engaged in naval combat in south china sea etc)

:-D

I wonder if anyone shorted the stocks and made a killing (casino royale)?

Bomb blast in Bangkok right in front of a Hindu temple, Erawan Shrine in central Bangkok. 20+ people dead.

http://time.com/4000300/bangkok-thailand-bombing/

http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/securit ... attraction