Bharat Rakshak -> Military Issues & History Forum
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#1: Request for Members - Aviation History Magazine Author: Samir, Posted: 19 Jan 2006 08:07 am
—
Folks, the latest issue of Aviation History Magazine (well, either the January or March issues), carries a review - by Walter Boyne - of the 1965 Air War Book. Boyne is a well-known, much respected, aviation historian. Both Jagan and I have been unable to find the magazine in our local Borders etc. Is there anyone out there who can find the magazine?
Last edited by Samir on 19 Jan 2006 05:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#2: Author: Jagan, Location: Earth @ Google.com Posted: 19 Jan 2006 08:33 am
—
Made Sticky, will non-stick it after a couple of days.
Please do try and locate the magazine.
#3: Author: Sumeet, Location: USA Posted: 19 Jan 2006 06:37 pm
—
Samir and Jagan,
Congratulations guru ji,
I study at UW madison and my library has electronic access to that magazine. Currently i am reading his review of your book
There is a warning displayed towards the end saying:
"Copyright of Aviation History is the property of Primedia Special Interest Publications. Copyright of PUBLICATION is the property of PUBLISHER. The copyright in an individual article may be maintained by the author in certain cases. Content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use."
Because of this i cannot paste the whole review on this public forum. Kindly give me your e-mail address and i will e-mail you the article.
Or contact me at
sumeet1981@yahoo.com. If you prefer any other way let me know. Also would you like it in PDF format or HTML format or both. Both formats are clear and his review is on page 58 of Aviation History March 2006. It fits completely in a single page.
Just to boil your curiosity let me type down his first and concluding statements:
First one:
"This is an unusually well-done book on a subject that has been almost completely overlooked in the American press."
Concluding one:
"This book is highly recommended, especially for the aviation history collector who thought he had everything."
Source: Aviation History, Mar2006, Vol. 16 Issue 4, p58, 1p
Item: 19157360
Ok so i bow in respect to our dear Samir Chopra and P.V.S. Jagan Mohan. Its our great fortune to have you amongst us.
UW madison is one of the largest university in US. And we have access to many magazines etc.... so in case in future you want to get some info which is otherwise hard to get, please contact me, i will be very glad if i could be of any help to people like you and others we have at BR.
Warmest Regards & Heartiest Congratulations,
Sumeet.
#4: Author: Jagan, Location: Earth @ Google.com Posted: 19 Jan 2006 07:07 pm
—
Sumeet,
Sent an email. Thanks!
#5: Author: Sumeet, Location: USA Posted: 19 Jan 2006 07:27 pm
—
Jagan and Samir,
Email sent to your accounts. I have copy pasted the review into the body of e-mail as well as attached it as a PDF document. Please notify me [here] when you get it.
#6: Author: Jagan, Location: Earth @ Google.com Posted: 19 Jan 2006 07:43 pm
—
Sumit, got it - thanks!
#7: Author: Sumeet, Location: USA Posted: 19 Jan 2006 08:31 pm
—
Jagan or Samir,
Please provide us with some info on what you think about his review.