2019 General Elections News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: 2019 General Elections News and Discussion

KL Dubey wrote:Correct. This is called "latent claim" to citizenship of another country, and indeed there are probably a lot of Indians with such "latent claims". And vice versa there are many non-Indians with "latent claims" to Indian citizenship.

It is only when a person tries to avail of the privileges/facilities afforded by that latent citizenship, that there is an issue. As far as I have read, the Indian nationality law is not 100% clear in listing out such activities.
Yes, Indian citizenship law conflates citizenship with acquisition of passport onlee. It's a very narrow view, and other countries have quite a different view. For example, someone can be a foreign citizen with claim to Indian citizenship, gain Indian citizenship and never renounce the other citizenship with that country, and legitimately remain a citizen of two countries according to their own laws, even if you offer an Indian government an affidavit drawn up in Indian that you have no other citizenship / gave up other citizenship - such an affidavit is only worth TP to the other govt, who only recognize a renunciation with their own authorities. Not every country requires a passport to enter them - some will endorse another passport with an endorsement indicating additional citizenship. It doesn't even have to be something printed on it that could be seen and used against you - it can be electronically linked, like this.

Bliss to translate this person's comments, I couldn't easily follow:
https://twitter.com/Sootradhar/status/1 ... 0351114241

RD, So long we don't quote verbatim and deprive him of revenue to his site.

Suraj wrote:Bliss to translate this person's comments, I couldn't easily follow:
All is good, Modi is good.

Suraj wrote:Bliss to translate this person's comments, I couldn't easily follow:
Tears into opposition on "Non-employment". Points out eloquently that employment does not mean government jobs only or government payroll only. It means that people have a chance to livelihood via their chosen profession including working as engineers in private companies. Points out electiricity line engineers, road and rail engineers and several other. Also says that opposition does not have a plank and hence are using a false canard of unemployment. Banks are now flush with cash given that corruption has gone down and that money is being used to open up new schemes which is boosting economy and hence employing more people* Also mentioned everybody getting electricity.

*The gentleman was very angry. In effect, he (and several others like him) will come out and vote for Modi since they see him as an incorruptible person working hard to improve common persons' life. In nutshell opposition is seen as what they are - CONgoons and MahaMilavat.

Suyash Bharadwaj
@Suyash75
Dear @GautamGambhir
Stop being humble & humane. Just a positive vision won't help. You are fighting dirty pigs. Inorder to defeat @AtishiAAP whose family celebrated death of Kargil martyrs & raised funds for terrorists like Afzal Guru, you need to get into mud and respond in kind

Suyash Bharadwaj
@Suyash75
Suyash Bharadwaj Retweeted Atishi
Someone should advise @GautamGambhir on how to deal with this sadakchhap naxal Gunda element @AtishiAAP.
Atishi has entire media might, loads of hawala funds behind her. Gambhir should be advised well to speak, campaign carefully to counter these Gundas.
Suyash Bharadwaj

@Suyash75

The way Kejriwal has sacrificed 6 Delhi candidates in Delhi to the extent of them losing deposits just to support Naxalite Atishi Marlena is stunning. Just like Desh Drohi Naxal Kanahiiya, she is getting unprecedented support from Media, celebrities etc.
Absolutely stunning!
This Naxal crook should not enter Parliament. I am not sure why Gautam Gambhir was given this seat. They should have given it to regular politician like M

Ardeshir wrote:Subramanian Swamy Interview: BJP Would Have Got Only 160 Seats If Not For Balakot
The more I think of SuSwamy, the more I feel he is a trojan horse. No wonder Modijee has kept him out of the government.
Q)What about Nitin Gadkari?
A)He is a nice man. A great friend of mine. Lovely man. What more do you want to know?

Q)Is he an alternative to Modi?
If he is, then it would be wonderful. He is qualified. He is as good as Modi.

Q)There are also rumours of BJP trying to sabotage him.
A)That happens all the time in politics. :evil:

Q)You speak very bluntly about the PM. You also think he should make you Finance Minister.
A)It is not a question of him making me. I’m qualified to be Finance Minister.
Q)Would you have a greater chance of being finance minister if the BJP gets a majority or if there is a coalition?
A)Some questions should not be answered. :rotfl:

Kudos to Betwa Sharma for asking above two question of her interview. She did PIF a good turn by badly exposing SuSu once again.
SuSu has always been clear in openly enunciating his selfish interest of PIF weakening(to 160 seats) - since it means he can become Finance Minister.
Its only the swamytards on twitter who are blind or pretend to be .

If tomorrow Sonia maino offers him FM post SuSu is the kind of snake who will crawl into congress.
Last edited by Lilo on 02 May 2019 05:14, edited 2 times in total.

khatvaanga wrote:
He is way too soft going on italians. and tries to be good to everyone..
Velvet hand in velvet glove?

Maybe that was the need for first term.
This emboldened RaGa to hug and wink at NaMo in Lok Sabha.
he is card carrying founder member of the lootyens ecosystem (like many oldtimer BJP bigwigs) with "friends" of every hue and a finger in every pie in terms of access to and knowledge of the inner workings of these long established gangs and special interest groups. There is a vast lobby that is paki pasand and masquerades as "connoisseurs" of ghazals and "sufi" music. These events are patronized and often organized by the paki "diplomats" stationed in dilli.

his public hobnobbing and undeniable bonhomie with corrupted eminences of the congi inner circle, even today, has, intentionally or unintentionally, skewed the pitch and has left many baboo(n)s confused and thus many ongoing cases and investigations may have suffered from inertia or even simple sidelining.

All parties involved are truly aware of the insidious part played by optics and perception in the eye of the public and the effect thereof.

However, of late, he seems to be making a conscious effort to break out of this mold with his blog writings and public criticisms.

Any true change of heart can only be seen after the BJP comes back to power again because the actual proof of the pudding is still in the eating.

The home minister, for example, is not driven by such optics and perception issues.

Thanks, disha!

Tears into opposition on "Non-employment". Points out eloquently that employment does not mean government jobs only or government payroll only. It means that people have a chance to livelihood via their chosen profession including working as engineers in private companies. Points out electiricity line engineers, road and rail engineers and several other. Also says that opposition does not have a plank and hence are using a false canard of unemployment. Banks are now flush with cash given that corruption has gone down and that money is being used to open up new schemes which is boosting economy and hence employing more people* Also mentioned everybody getting electricity.

*The gentleman was very angry. In effect, he (and several others like him) will come out and vote for Modi since they see him as an incorruptible person working hard to improve common persons' life. In nutshell opposition is seen as what they are - CONgoons and MahaMilavat.
One more important point he mentions is "Unemployment during the previous govt was more than what is now".
Now we all have money. Look at our kids..they are going about with a thums up or sprite in hand. :)
Yogi has laid a solid foundation. In the next five years, we will have a huge structure built on it.

Nice timing of letter to RaGa from Ministry. May be a sign that the "Juggernaut"'s wheels have got over static friction and are now rolling. The Rafale and Chor lies may have done it, and orders gone out to start prosecuting.
Whole pharen citizenship thing is a nice surgical strike on RaGa, which was tough for him to avoid. Enough for MSM to take the headline to its logical conclusion. He has 15 days to get back which means all 6 phases will be done. My guess is that it does not go anywhere (only to be resurrected in the future when needed :D). In fact, for BJP, RaGa is like a "piñata", easy to beat and get candy reward. BJP needs him as a face of opposition in 2024 and 2029, and beyond. Why destroy his chances of becoming maha-thug-bandhan's PM face for future elections?

He says Rajiv Gandhi said only 15 paise reaches villages, but now cent-, percent reaches us through making roads bridges and infrastructure, thousands of engineers, lakhs of technicians are getting jobs, only government jobs aren't jobs, look at our children today carrying Thumbs Up, Coke, Sprite bottles why? Because they have money in pocket due to non-corruption and overflow of jobs. There was real unemployment in upa times due to corruption

chanakyaa wrote:
Nice timing of letter to RaGa from Ministry. May be a sign that the "Juggernaut"'s wheels have got over static friction and are now rolling. The Rafale and Chor lies may have done it, and orders gone out to start prosecuting.
Whole pharen citizenship thing is a nice surgical strike on RaGa, which was tough for him to avoid. Enough for MSM to take the headline to its logical conclusion. He has 15 days to get back which means all 6 phases will be done. My guess is that it does not go anywhere (only to be resurrected in the future when needed :D). In fact, for BJP, RaGa is like a "piñata", easy to beat and get candy reward. BJP needs him as a face of opposition in 2024 and 2029, and beyond. Why destroy his chances of becoming maha-thug-bandhan's PM face for future elections?
the timing seems a little unfortunate.

why allow pappu any sympathy at all by sending him the notice now. After all, they waited four years to do this and could have waited just a few short weeks more.

If there is a problem with his citizenship, the effect will be as devastating after the elections too and even the congi CMs in the states will be very hard pressed to explain to their voters.

This is not something that will enthuse the urban voters or even influence the rural masses to rally against the congis.
but then again,

there is this view too

twitter

The MHA notice to Pappu on his citizenship isn't due to electoral reasons. It's a warning shot to Lutyen deep state which is planning a judicial coup on Modi to steal the mandate to deny PM chair to him post 23rd of May.

9:44 PM - 30 Apr 2019

Some of the anti-Modi or anti-BJP tweets going around that need further explanation.

ANI Verified account @ANI

Madhya Pradesh CM Kamal Nath on UNSC listing #MasoodAzhar as a Global Terrorist: It was long due, it is good that it has been done. This should have happened a long time ago. This has happened during elections, I don't know if this has something to do with the elections.

^^^What a buffoon. The rest of the world doesn't stop simply due to elections in India.

"Now this next part can be confusing: RaGa was born after 1948 to an Italian born mother, so he is technically Italian from the moment of his birth. There are many to whom such eligibility to another citizenship applies automatically (including me, not to Italy though. This is how I know about this technicality). Indian citizenship law is ok with this, UNLESS the person attempts to voluntarily acquire any other citizenship they are entitled to. Essentially 'it is ok if you have some other entitlement because of circumstances beyond your control. You remain Indian, as long as you don't try to gain that citizenship".
Knew the case of a civil servant who was posted in Washington DC on an UN assignment. Two of his children were born in the US and so we're automatically deemed as US citizens. He returned to India after the stint and his children studied in schools here. He had acquired Indian passports for his children. Imagine his surprise when he was reputed to Washington a second time, the US Embassy in Delhi refused to issue a visa to the two minor children on the ground that they were already US citizens. In fact the embassy official was surprised that anybody that too an Indian would refuse to accept US citizenship for his children! Anyway this was a day or two before he was to board a flight to the US. The embassy was very firm that they would not endorse a visa on an Indian passport and there was no question of a parent renouncing US citizenship on behalf of minor children. Anyway the children travelled on US passports issued at the time of their initial return to India. He was hopeful that India would not revoke the Indian passport merely because as minors the children travelled on US passports did not amount to an act of an Indian Citizen renouncing citizenship and hence will cease to be regarded as Indian citizens.

About citizenships: When RG Senior was assassinated, there was widespread discussion about the citizenship status of SG and the Kids. Given that it was before the omniscient interwebs and noose anchors, what we learned from the papers is that Sg and kids took Indian citizenship after RG Senior came into politics after Sanjay G was accidented. Till then they maintained Italian citizenship.

I am pretty sure that they have Indian passport now, and formally renounced Italian citizenship (to the Indian authorities) on paper. That is good enough to satisfy the law.

Having held another citizenship in the past is NOT a disqualification for being elected to Indian legislature. The only question is whether the person is Indian CURRENTLY.

Also, having multiple names is also not a disqualification. The election papers do not even ask for 'aliases' like the Americans do.

Right now pakilover cruhadi lutyens lefties, congis know they're been wiped out thoroughly.... from CBN , tap-thief, Mayawati, mamta to now pawar , hence they're preparing to blame EVMs

They are DESPERATELY trying to prepare grounds for it by sowing doubts against MODI TSUNAMI, AS THAT WILL HELP THEIR VIDHWA VILAAP POST 23rd May, remember they will have huge support from amrika, brishits, western Europe.

There efforts are Herculean.

Hence we had rain of lefty-congi bots here cautioning here against Enthusiasm.

SPREADING POSITIVITY AND ENTHUSIASM IS OUR PRIME DUTY.

Dileep wrote: ....
I am pretty sure that they have Indian passport now, and formally renounced Italian citizenship (to the Indian authorities) on paper. That is good enough to satisfy the law.
A Passport officer had put query against Sonia Passport that she had not furnished proof of renunciation of Italian citizenship, this was ruled out by prime minister indira Gandhi (indira wrote this on that form itself) that sonia has informed Italian ambassador about it. THAT'S ALL!!!

Proof of renunciation of Italian citizenship is still pending...

Company house documents (registrar of companies of UK);

Income-tax returns filed for "BACKOPS Limited" in 2005 and 2006, Nationality of Rahul Gandhi is mentioned as "British" in both years

People should calm down. Forget all this predictioneering about "number of seats". You are being set up to receive Psyops.

Nachiket ji said it best.

For context & perspective, consider the number of seats won by the single largest party that formed the govt, for each election in the last 30 years.

Here, in terms of Seat Count, is what a "Mandate" looks like....

1989: Janata Dal 143
1991: INC 244
1996: JD (46) + CPIM (32) + INC (140)... Tthussss
1998: BJP 182
1999: BJP 183
2004: INC 145 (!)... UPA1
2009: INC 206... UPA 2
2014: BJP 282

If BJP alone gets even 245 seats, it will be a better seat count than even PV Narasimha Rao govt, which was the govt with biggest single-largest-party seat count in 25 YEARS before Modi became PM.

A lot of BS psyops are going to start percolating if by some chance, BJP gets less than 282 seats on May 23rd. "Moral victory". "Rejected by non-communal pluralistic India". "Rejected by job-seekers in an unemployment economy". "Won only because of fake Balakot airstrike claims".

All this nonsense WILL be peddled by the Usual Suspects if BJP ends up with 281 or less seats in GE 2019.

The important thing to remember is that it is all BS. The problem is that we so-called supposedly "nationalistic" people are always the FIRST to start doubting our own narrative, and instead accepting the discourse of an enemy that wants to recolonize & enslave us.

With the first fake-news story that comes out on NDTV or The Print or The Wire or The Quint, some among us will do the enemy's bidding and start an internal civil war. "Oh, it was Jet Lee's fault". "Oh, it was Amrita Phadnavis' fault". Etc. Etc.

The tragedy is that the "great" Internet Hindu Warriors of today are invariably a Suicide squad. Emphasis on the word "Suicide".

Why do you think Sonia could not become PM? She went uchalti-kudti (jumping with joy) to the Prez to press her PM'ship and then came back next day and put in maun-mohan. The speculation in media was that there is no reciprocity law for Italy to allow a naturalized Italian (not born as an Italian) to become PM and hence same for India.

I at time thought the above line of argument to be little facile, at least would not have intimidated Sonia and her apparatchiks in 2004. Here is one account from ADC to Kalam

https://www.rediff.com/news/2008/apr/20kalam.htm

My take is that even though SC cleared Sonia and declared her citizen (https://www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm ... story.html) there could be enough evidence that Sonia operated as a dual citizen. And Pappu might have operated as a triple-citizen (of Italy and UK and India).

Indian law is explicit -
The Constitution of India usually does not permit holding Indian citizenship and citizenship of a foreign country simultaneously.
So yes an explicit renunciation is required to prove that you do not have dual citizenship. And after that, I still break the law, like asking or renewing a passport of a different country, contravening my renunciation - then the renunciation being contravened you lose your right to Indian citizenship.

It could be as simple as Sonia/Pappu/Pappini applying for Italian passport (or UK passport) and travelling to that country on that passport. It could be fine by Italian law, but now Indian law is broken. On top of it one has committed perjury.

Confirmed Losers - 1 .. Four rounds of voting over... @NarendraModi has mastered the art of driving the Oppn behavioural pattern... He has reduced them to a mere "abusive bunch".. The next Sickular step would be to plan to subvert a democratic election.. https://t.co/qtQMFiydfR https://t.co/FEsTFguEtV
“The only man I know who behaves sensibly is my tailor; he takes my measurements anew each time he sees me. The rest go on with their old measurements and expect me to fit them.” - George Bernard Shah... They dont know how to measure Modi... https://t.co/lsHiM88nb5
https://twitter.com/RavinarIN/status/11 ... 03875?s=19

nandakumar wrote:Knew the case of a civil servant who was posted in Washington DC on an UN assignment. Two of his children were born in the US and so we're automatically deemed as US citizens. He returned to India after the stint and his children studied in schools here. He had acquired Indian passports for his children. Imagine his surprise when he was reputed to Washington a second time, the US Embassy in Delhi refused to issue a visa to the two minor children on the ground that they were already US citizens.
Not really surprising because this is how I found out about my own latent claim (not to US, though) - I was told that technically I was a citizen so my visa was void but since I'd never attempted to claim it formally, they would go ahead and issue visa, but would really prefer I got a passport or right of abode endorsement instead. Unlike your example, this was a country I'd never even been to before - I literally asked them "how can I be a citizen of a country I've never been to ?" According to their law I was a citizen on the basis of a parent born there.
Dileep wrote:I am pretty sure that they have Indian passport now, and formally renounced Italian citizenship (to the Indian authorities) on paper. That is good enough to satisfy the law.
One cannot renounce citizenship to anyone except that country's own authorities. India has no control over Italian citizenship law, and vice versa. They can make an affidavit claiming to have given it up, but without actually doing so with Italian authorities (and no, letting passport expire does not count), the affidavit constitutes perjury.
Dileep wrote:Having held another citizenship in the past is NOT a disqualification for being elected to Indian legislature. The only question is whether the person is Indian CURRENTLY.
That is the point I am making - If Raul Vinci had been registered as an Italian citizen at any time, he automatically lost his birthright Indian citizenship at that time. He has to explicitly reclaim it, by both meeting Indian residency requirements and explicitly renouncing his other citizenship(s) with the authorities of those countries, and not with Indian authorities. Telling MEA babu that one gave up their Italian citizenship does not mean anything beyond having perjured oneself.
disha wrote:It could be as simple as Sonia/Pappu/Pappini applying for Italian passport (or UK passport) and travelling to that country on that passport. It could be fine by Italian law, but now Indian law is broken. On top of it one has committed perjury.
Don't know about Italy, but I know that you can be a UK citizen and never acquire a British passport, even when traveling outside. You can keep your other citizenships and endorse your other passport with a right of abode sticker. That is what their law permits. To an Indian immigration officer it looks like a visa or permanent residency sticker, but only the British will know the person is British but traveling in that manner.

A QUESTION FROM MADHU KISHWAR ON TWITTER
Is this for real? Mamta says give me 42 seats and I will show you how to make Hindus cry! https://t.co/UshzbGwNyt
Bengali readers can help translate?

https://twitter.com/madhukishwar/status ... 54304?s=19
Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

Manish_Sharma wrote:A QUESTION FROM MADHU KISHWAR ON TWITTER
Is this for real? Mamta says give me 42 seats and I will show you how to make Hindus cry! https://t.co/UshzbGwNyt
Bengali readers can help translate?

https://twitter.com/madhukishwar/status ... 54304?s=19
Its a fake, please see the tweets below with the original and photoshopped images.

Manish_Sharma wrote:
Dileep wrote: ....
A Passport officer had put query against Sonia Passport that she had not furnished proof of renunciation of Italian citizenship, this was ruled out by prime minister indira Gandhi (indira wrote this on that form itself) that sonia has informed Italian ambassador about it. THAT'S ALL!!!

Proof of renunciation of Italian citizenship is still pending...
In 1984, BBC radio while announcing the death of Indira Gandhi also reported that Rajiv Gandhi was being appointed as PM and that he is married to Sonia an Italian citizen. If BBC Radio report is to be believed, evidently her application for Indian citizenship post 1980, which merely said that she would undertake to renounce her Italian citizenship within six months (this is permitted under the Indian law) had not been followed through. On the other hand I believe that under Italian citizenship law there is no provision for renunciation. Implied in that is the proposition that Italian law recognises dual citizenship. But Indian law does not recognise dual citizenship. So how does one reconcile the two? It would seem absurd that Sonia should be denied the privilege of acquiring Indian citizenship merely because Italian law does not make any provision for renunciation! So she would be well within her right to contest elections in India and even stake a claim to be the PM. But if she performs any act such as acquiring third country citizenship only then her Indian citizenship would be at risk. If Indira Gandhi had put on record the fact that Sonia had informed the Italian Ambassador that would have to be taken as having complied with Indian law on citizenship. Of course if Subramaniam Swamy can produce sworn affidavit from the then Italian Ambassador that she did no such thing, then it would be different.

Mort Walker wrote:Some of the anti-Modi or anti-BJP tweets going around that need further explanation.

We can rebut this quite effectively. For starters its NaMo govt that persuaded IA to order Arjun MK1A that the graphic uses scissors on the gun barrel.,

Folks I know you are all very sincere but let's the courts and govt decide the RaGa issues.

Mort Walker wrote:Some of the anti-Modi or anti-BJP tweets going around that need further explanation.

One can't cherry pick 1 year (of 10) of UPA and 1 (bad) year for NDA. I don't believe a 5 year comparison would show any difference.
More importantly, the denominator increased significantly after 2014. If both govt's had spent the same amount (adjusted for inflation)
in 2013 & 2018, the latter spend (after adjusting for inflation) would be 40% lower as a & of GDP.
Also, the figures do not include pensions, which increased significantly in 2018, as the NDA govt implemented OROP.

If an implicit citizenship is there from any foreign country, then I think it is required to explicitly renounce it.

My kids are entitled for Indian citizenship through me, but they were born in US and carry US citizenship. Until they come of age and go to consulate and renounce their US citizenship to a US consulate officer, they cannot apply for Indian citizenship.

This is what I understand. I can falsely procure an Indian passport now if I want, but that would be still illegal, even if they do qualify for citizenship by blood.

We can rebut this quite effectively. For starters its NaMo govt that persuaded IA to order Arjun MK1A that the graphic uses scissors on the gun barrel.,
Most likely, the lower percentage (if the figures are even true) are a result of GDP growth.

Anyway, if the percentages had gone up, we would find ourselves "refuting" claims that Modi snatched food from hungry babies to give money to military to kill peacefuls in Cashmere.

That is a spurious defence expenditure comparison 2.08 vs 1.49.It intentionally omits the defence pensions which have been hived off into a separate accounting head starting from 2016 Union Budget.
Same applies to defence budget as % of central expenditure.
But obviously one cant expect any factcheck on this fakenews from Wire/Scroll/Quint/BBC etc on this Congie fakenews.
..since 2016 Union Budget, defence pensions have been categorised under a new and separate head, resulting in a whole percentage point decrease in the budgeted nominal defence spend to GDP ratio.
This is the defence expenditure for past decade as compiled by PRS from GOI accounts.

Below is the longterm trend of % GDP expenditure as compiled by SIPRI(based on which WB publishes its reports) and it holds well post 2014.

https://swarajyamag.com/politics/discri ... -last-year

gory pics in link of 3 murdered sadhus who had protested and report cow killers to police.

Chintamani Retweeted
Anshul Saxena
Verified account
@AskAnshul
Apr 30

Tej Bahadur Yadav

What leftists tell you:

2017: He complained about bad food & was sacked from BSF

What leftists won't tell:

-1996: jailed for 14 days
-2003: jailed for 7 days
-2007: jailed for 28 days
-2009: punished for 3 months for abusing Seniors
-500 Pak facebook friends

With Fani expected to make a landfall in Puri it is time to prepare ourselves to make positive noise on the government's response to drown out others before the remaining 3 phases. Remember Kolkata which expects polls on 6th May is expected to be in park of cyclone.

interference sabarimala is OK but.........

it looks like the only heat, thirst and sunstroke resistant dopes not doing much are the pliable and docile Hindus who have been taken for granted since pak was created for a special interest group.

SC asks EC to check if voting can start at 5 AM after petition saying Muslim voters during Ramzan would face difficulty due to the heat

The Supreme Court has asked the Election Commission whether polling can start from 5 AM during the Muslim fasting period of Ramzan. The SC has asked the EC to pass necessary order in a representation that sought the preponement of voting from 7 AM to 5 AM owing to Ramzan. The petition said that this should be done to ensure convenient and fair opportunity for everyone to cast their vote, especially, the Muslim community.

and an earlier demand

‘Not conducive for Christians’: Tamil Nadu Bishops Council seeks a change in polling dates due to Maundy Thursday