Aero India 2007 - Photo Thread

Sravan

Post by Sravan »

LCA on youtube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwQpx4LPw6Y (aero India 2007)
MN Kumar

Post by MN Kumar »

Kartik wrote:any idea how much that roll rate was ? if its as good as the Mirage, the Tejas will be one maneuverable jet ! but the landing appeared to be quite high speed..
Kartik Maybe the landing speed at the demo was high, I have seen it land at quite an easy pace.

BTW whast this MBDA missile on the LCH pylon? Is it an Anti Tank roun?

http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=2948
webmaster
BiG Boss - BR Site

Post by webmaster »

Photos of IJT Wreck from AI2007

http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=3187

News is that the canopy opened prematurely because of this the aircraft skidded of the runway. The aircraft is believed to be a write-off.
Anshul

Post by Anshul »

:(

1.The Fuselage looks in good shape.
2.We can retrieve the Engine (I presume).
3.The Right wing is in tatters.

Just plain bad luck.But how did the canopy open pre-maturely.I assume the canopy locking mechanism should be fool-proof.Not something that flips open on a bumpy landing.IJT is meant for intermediate stage training and is meant to be fool proof in this regard.

I assume we can attribute this to a technical-fault because the pilot would only open throttle after all pre-flight checks are green.This includes the canopy lock indicator.Few chances that the pilot messed up.

Sravan wrote:LCA on youtube

Heck that's my video taken off BR

Well what the heck - it's for sharing anyway. The real stuff will come out on a CD

Vick wrote:Can some convert the LCA vid to something else .mov or .wmv? Don't want to install that bloatware called RealPlayer. Or put it on youtube.
To be honest -I have done away with the bloatware called "Windows" and I do not use a Mac or Quicktime software for the Windows.

So rm it will be.

Sorry.

Kartik wrote:any idea how much that roll rate was ? if its as good as the Mirage, the Tejas will be one maneuverable jet ! but the landing appeared to be quite high speed..
To me the roll rate appeared better than the Gripen. Climb and turn rate looked good. We will see more as they open up the envelope.

Sorry to see an IJT writeoff. After 7 incident free shows we have this.

Kakkaji wrote: Shiv:

Does the Mig-35 engine still have smoke trails?
Couldn't tell. But the Gripen has a smoke trail.
Anshul

Post by Anshul »

JAGAN:

Have sent you a mail.

SHIV:

I have a Trade Visitor Ticket.Can I bring my camera and mobile phone without hitches?If not what to do and what not to do.

> But the Gripen has a smoke trail

I have noticed Tejas also briefly emit a trail near HAL airport as it circled
then accelerated and climbed away.
the Jaguar also emits such a temporary trail sometimes, saw it few days
back on its landing run.

but neither have the permanent billow of smoke behind the Mig29A.

Kakkaji wrote: Shiv:

Does the Mig-35 engine still have smoke trails?
Couldn't tell. But the Gripen has a smoke trail.
Thanks Shiv.

All AI-07 visitors please watch the Mig-35 demos carefully. If the 'smoke trail' issue has been taken care of, then that will eliminate its one strong negative for it to occupy the No. 1 contender slot for MRCA.

Many thanks in advance.
Anshul

Post by Anshul »

:) Bharat Stage III compliant engines...!

To be honest -I have done away with the bloatware called "Windows" and I do not use a Mac or Quicktime software for the Windows.
Embrace open standards! Use MPEG!
d_berwal

Post by d_berwal »

MN Kumar wrote:
Kartik Maybe the landing speed at the demo was high, I have seen it land at quite an easy pace.

BTW whast this MBDA missile on the LCH pylon? Is it an Anti Tank roun?

http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=2948
Thats a Air to Air, passive IR homing missile, 6km range called MISTRAL ATAM
http://www.mbda-systems.com/mbda/site/F ... oeu_id=122
dave

Post by dave »

Kakkaji wrote:
shiv wrote: Couldn't tell. But the Gripen has a smoke trail.
Thanks Shiv.

All AI-07 visitors please watch the Mig-35 demos carefully. If the 'smoke trail' issue has been taken care of, then that will eliminate its one strong negative for it to occupy the No. 1 contender slot for MRCA.

Many thanks in advance.
The engines has a big improvement for sure.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eg_dVNV8uG4

Video from Russian TV /Aero India '07. at time 01:45+ you cleary see smoke but not really in other parts of the clip.

Same with Any F404/F414 based jet (Hornet, Gripen, Tejas) they generally run smoke-less but it will of course be moments it will happen. The APU exhaust can also release smoke which Gripen did in the video at B-R's media section.

Compare with the old MIG-29 and Gripens in Hungary.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjvwmDuA6jg

davedogman:

Phil

Post by Phil »

Harry wrote:I'm not too happy with the EOS-400D. Image stabilization is a must.
Oh that easy mate, bump up your ISO to 800 or 1600 and you will get faster shutter speeds that wont blur your image. A tripod is a liability in such crowded places, you have to make do with an on camera flash when indoors and high ISO because image stabilization will only gain you 3 stops and that might not be enough, since you are capturing motion. If you have a heavy setup then get a monopod.

Have fun.
Sravan

Post by Sravan »

Sravan wrote:LCA on youtube

Heck that's my video taken off BR

Well what the heck - it's for sharing anyway. The real stuff will come out on a CD
Great Now i can give you credit, now that I know whose it is.

:p
Walker

Post by Walker »

Walker wrote:Vishnu on Mig 35
No smoke trails.

Anshul wrote:
I have a Trade Visitor Ticket.Can I bring my camera and mobile phone without hitches?If not what to do and what not to do.
They are letting people in with cameras, but they stop people who ask if a camera can be taken inside and make the owners smash the camera with a sledge hammer.

Only joking..

Yes cameras are allowed.

Dileep wrote:
Embrace open standards! Use MPEG!
No disagreement - but my mpeg 1 version of the LCA clip was 24 mb. The Original mpeg 2 was even bigger, and the raw video humongous.

wmv could have been smaller - but in this case I own the bat and the ball - so rm it will be. I have real Player 10 for Linux.
JCage

Post by JCage »

More photos. :(( :mrgreen:

this youtube mig35 video is all russian.. i do see the radar, and the russian language something about it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wuy4b_9g0kc

anyone russian?
Vick

Post by Vick »

[quote="ajay_hk"Hi Vick,

Just uploaded it. Please find it here. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sK_rvEh_08I[/quote]

Thanks, appreciate it.

JCage, this is what you asked for in your earier post ?(if you havent seen it already)
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=3061
SShah

Post by SShah »

Sorry for my ignorance, but why is Dassault Aviation not in picture at all this year? Are they not pitching for Rafale? I personally think that Rafale has not only GOOD chance of winning the MRCA contract but probably is a front runner along with SH.
JCage

Post by JCage »

Jagan wrote:JCage, this is what you asked for in your earier post ?(if you havent seen it already)
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=3061

Jagan, you rock!! :) :shock:

Thanks a lot!!

Please put up pics of the BR group and stall.

Sree

This is not a complaint!!

Post by Sree »

Jagan Garu, what's with the six-second video of a Canberra crew in the Videos album? Do I recognize it as from the movie "Sangam"? Most BRF-ites are probably too young to remember!!
Praveen

Post by Praveen »

pradeepe wrote:BR Stall pictures are there -

http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... itemId=100
these are old pics
JCage

Post by JCage »

Two rounds, Indian FSAPDS and the New Israeli 125mm FSAPDS design manufactured by OFB (one on the right)

http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=2989

http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=2992
Shankar

Post by Shankar »

Hi Jagan -really wanted to meet you today but due to "heavy air space congestion in Bangalore" all flights into bangalore delayed .Most likely shall reach bangalore around 4-30 or so and then may be to late for yelenka.

Rest of you see you tomorrow for sure and then have lot of fun fighting over mig 35 and f-18 with the aircrafts right in front of us .

Igorr - by any chance -are you in aero india ????
abhinav.sharma

Post by abhinav.sharma »

Can any one help me? I am using Macromedia Flash 8 player but I still cannot see LCA's vedio on Youtube please help.
abhinav.sharma

Post by abhinav.sharma »

Don't no if anybody noticed but the mockup of LCH in Aero India this time seems to be significantly redesinged from previous one, and now it looks a lot more desinged for stealth.

the israeli design looks a unusual dual tandem sabot and looks bit thinner dart than desi apds. dunno how the dual sabot helps but the thinner means less drag (greater impact velocity) and may help in penetration also...I mean a injection needle goes in smooth, not so a pencil tip
:((

Bhai log please ensure that all pics are watermarked (even those which are being hosted on personal sites),for the other day I saw couple of pics from Aero03 on the 'unmentionable' forum (the poster forgot to remove HARRY ji's name ).
Sree

Gee, thanks buddies!!

Post by Sree »

Kapil wrote:

Do appreciate the fact that we are the ones on site,doing all the running around,sorting things out with organisers,catching up with people and at the same time maintaining some discipline in order to ensure timely uploads on the server.

And not the least,someone has got to say this and I have pulled the short stick--
We are doing all this gratis and if y'all think value this to be worth something -do click on the Donate button you see there and help us out.
We are massively out of pocket on this and we are all here doing this operating at the best of our ability.

Thanks!!
Btw, all you jingos running around in the heat of Bangalore and liaising with the organization-ocrats and having to deal with those matching blonde and brunette distractions ... :) ... I just wanted to assure you all that this lonely faraway jingo does appreciate your efforts ...

(Now where did I leave that chequebook ... ?)

Seriously, thanks for everything, guys. A lot of us do appreciate what you're doing - even if our way of showing our appreciation takes the form of repeating with increasing stridency, "More! More!! MORE!!!"

Have fun on the public days!!

abhinav.sharma wrote:Don't no if anybody noticed but the mockup of LCH in Aero India this time seems to be significantly redesinged from previous one, and now it looks a lot more desinged for stealth.
The mockup was made by Tata Elxsi or Tata someone - I have a photo of that will post after watermarking.

I spoke to the HAL people there.

The LCH is a completely different animal from the Combat ALH that we saw in mock-up form in AI 2005.

The design has been made in consultation with the potential end user - and as seems to be the new norm, HAL will have to compete with others to get their helo through to the finals.

Only the rotor/engine mechanics is shared with the ALH Dhruv. The rest is new. It is meant to be a dedicated combat helo with no transport capability.

I asked about the dorsal siting of the sensor pod as opposd to the under-chin ventral siting that has been mooted by forum jingos.

The dorsal siting again has been done after consulting the "end user" who want it that way. I asked if it would not be advantageous to have a 360 degree view. The people were aware of these issues and said that in this particular case all that was required was a 120 degree forward view for targeting, with the assumption that there would be friendly forces behind the helo. I was told that the function of the sensor was for targeting, and that had it been surveillance - a 360 degree view would have been necessary.