enqyoob wrote:
THAT sounds ominous. This is no lightweight half-wit party hack speaking (I mean Dr. Prasad, not moi).
But WHY do all desi top babus like him assume that India cannot protect the military/ strategic research program, by removing it from the facilities that are to be "safeguarded"? It does imply some serious investment in military/strategic protected facilities, but isn't that justified by the prospect of having a thriving commercial civilian operation, that is removed from the backs of the military program?
I have not understood that.
The complaint here seems to be that there is no overt promise of substantial, meaningful tech transfer on several things that India wants.
Frankly, from what I have heard, the NPT signatories don't get any of this either - the "cooperation" consists of them giving up nuke weapons, and the P-5 giving them zilch in return. As for cooperation BETWEEN the P-5, maybe Unkil gives stuff to Poodle, but the other 3 are totally independent, except that China gets W-88, and all other US military secrets ready-made and transferred to them.
So what these guys claim the US is not giving, may be something the US doesn't give anyone.
The professor puts it succinctly in this post. N^3, this post of your's puts in clear perspective all t he objective which the naysayers have been having about this deal.
Point wise:
1. >>But WHY do all desi top babus like him assume that India cannot protect the military/ strategic research program
The reason why people are pissed off with the intrusion is that we do not need that self satisfied sweeperpower to keep looking over our collective shoulder. The deal will add irritants to India's nuclear program (civilian, I might add) that are not needed.
2. >>the "cooperation" consists of them giving up nuke weapons, and the P-5 giving them zilch in return
Exactly. If the NPT did not help the NNWS, then this 'NPT-like' deal will also not help us either. And, so the question remains, why the hell did we do this deal?
3. >>So what these guys claim the US is not giving, may be something the US doesn't give anyone.
And, so the question remains, why the hell did we do this deal?
-----------------
The worry that I had is coming back. This deal is nothing but NPT is sheep's disguise. Our hard won nuclear/energy independance is about to be given away by the MMS team. This deal is still a sell out.
What the yanks could not force us to give up by becoming our enemies, they are now take away by pretending to be our friends.