Possible Indian Military Scenarios - XII

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Possible Indian Military Scenarios - XII

please carry on here.
cheers vivek !
Rahul.

CHAPTER - ONE

THE PATHFINDERS

“Two to One. Target sighted. Inbound and jolly. Over”
“One here. Copy. Standby.” The ‘Lt-colonel’ spoke into the mouthpiece of his UHF radio, avoiding any sudden movements. Then he pulled up his binoculars and again started to see the terrain in front of him. The dust cloud was clearly visible now, coming from behind the peaks around which the road took a bend. The cloud was a good distance away, so that even on the binoculars it was nothing more than a small sight. But it was there, and it was coming this way. This one was a big target, and something for which the team of five were cooperating with a sister team in the region.

It was to be the most audacious job so far. To complicate matters, this wasn’t exactly the ideal terrain for this kind of job. The ‘luckier’ teams had their areas of operations assigned where there was thick forest cover, and they were happily creating merry hell for their opponents. But that was why the Lt-Colonel had volunteered for leading this team. The other teams had young officers leading them in action. But the two teams here had the most difficult of tasks, and that was why the two senior men were leading them forward.

The Lt-Colonel was a lot younger than his peers but still much older than his men and he knew it. But that was why he insisted on every man in his unit, young and old, to be as fit as humanly possible. As his men had come to realize, the limit of ‘Humanly Possible’ as interpreted by their leader was very much higher than what they would have imagined and the dropout rate had been high from the volunteer pool. All that meant was that by the time a man passed the grade for this job, he was already way ahead in terms of fitness than most men his age. Many had questioned the need for such a regimen but out here it was all paying off. Quite handsomely too, if I do say so myself... The team leader thought.

The situation demanded the best of men even under normal circumstances, and it only got worse. The biggest enemy here was the weather, followed soon after by the terrain. With the amount of killing potential within these two enemies, the actual human enemy didn’t even come into the picture, but was still something to be wary of, as all had come to realize in the last few weeks. At the moment, however, the skies were clear, and the ground and the air severely cold. There was no snow yet, but it would be there after a few weeks, if the forecast was accurate. At night here it became colder than anything anyone could even imagine, much less endure. Before he got here, that is. But that was why the job required and demanded the best of the best. The selected men were unique for the region, and under no circumstances meant to fight anywhere else...

It was dark now, and the low light intensification goggles were working wonders for the team when they moved, allowing them to see the ground in front of them before they stepped on it. But for long range vision, the moonlight was sufficient to give them what they wanted to see. The moon was partially out tonight, and it allowed both teams to see the dust cloud even in the night-time and from extreme distances.

The dust cloud was much closer now, and the first signs of smaller dust clouds within the larger one were becoming visible, allowing the two teams to identify the number of vehicles inbound on the convoy. Okay, that’s four…No…Five Vehicles…and the first one looks like one of the newer models…Oh well…let’s see what it can withstand. Should gain some good intel from this attack…

The Lt-colonel removed his binoculars and rubbed his eyes again. We have been out here for too long. Must not get complacent. Must stay alert at all times, Damn it! The teams had been out here long enough. They had hit a few targets worth mentioning in the time they had been here, and that was more than what the sister team had achieved. The team’s targets had included an isolated enemy military checkpoint on the highway through this region which had been manned by a squad of enemy troops. His men had raided this post in the dark of the night and killed all of the enemy soldiers with bursts of silenced gunfire in under a minute. They had taken no prisoners and shown no remorse, but they had taken all the documents present inside the office of the dead enemy officer. The documents had shown them all they needed to know about the convoys planned to cross this week along this section of the road and thus given them the time line details to plan this attack.

The raid on the outpost had been clean and efficient. The bodies had been removed and all signs of combat cleared over. The team had made sure that the now dead enemy officer did not make his last desperate radio call to his base to issue a warning. Not that he hadn’t tried...the Lt-Colonel thought.

When the Colonel had slammed open the door of his office during the raid, he had found the young officer with his hands reaching for the radio. They never got there. Three bursts of automatic fire had sent him reeling and crashing down to the floor under the impact of the bullets. Another burst had punched five holes on the radio sets and made them unusable. And that was that. No more radio calls. No aborting of this convoy which was now clearly within the view for the two teams, and no enemy troops beating the bush trying to locate the teams.

Of course, by the time this attack was over, the entire Infantry Division garrisoning the region would be out of their bases and looking for the culprits, but that couldn’t be helped. In any case, one of the first attacks conducted by the teams had been way to the north, and it had been a spectacular one at that.

The target had been an enemy communications center on top of a peak to the north of this region. It had been catering to both the local civilian and military communication needs. Since it had been the first target on the list for the Lt-colonel’s team, the enemy hadn’t been expecting them. They had hit it during the night and caught the guards outside relaxed and not alert. With them taken care of, other team members had burst into the building, silenced everyone as they went down floor by floor, and made sure that the military equipment was left untouched.

This had allowed the team’s Comms-Specialist to determine what all he needed to know about the enemy Communications network before they had left, blowing up the relay station as they left. With that explosion, however, the enemy force in the region had instantly mobilized, and had begun searching the local region. But by that time the Lt-colonel and his men had traveled far to the south. This meant that the enemy force was searching way to the north when they had hit the small outpost along the road to the south and now were poised to hit the convoy coming below them on the Highway.

“One to Two. Target jolly. Thirty seconds...” The team leader spoke slowly into the radio transmitter. His eyes never left the road and the convoy which was approaching that one special spot along the highway. The response was a whisper and nothing else.
“Copy”

And then there was the silence. The calm before the storm…
The Lt-colonel reflected that this was probably the first time in half a century that someone from his side had managed to even be where his men were now, much less doing what he was about to do. It was just too bad that he couldn’t talk about it to anyone afterward. Assuming he survived to talk about it in the first place…he reminded himself

Just then the unsuspecting convoy finally reached that one spot on the road and a flurry of activity erupted among the attackers…

“One to Two. This is it! Light them up!”

The explosives specialist in each team reached for the cover of their firing triggers, flipped it open with their thumbs and then depressed the button to its entirety…

There was a gap of about a quarter second during which there was no action, causing the heartbeats of the attackers to come to a stop…and then there was a massive flash in the darkness that overpowered the dim light of the moon…then another…then another, after which the flashes became almost continuous. Then came the shockwaves along the ground followed by the thundering noise as large orange-yellow balls of fire rose into the sky one behind the other along a stretch of the road that had been occupied by the unsuspecting enemy vehicle convoy only a second ago. The clean painted military vehicles were now black, burning pyres and hulks. Just as soon as the fireballs had emerged, they vanished, leaving behind a drifting cloud of smoke and dust, and five fiercely burning vehicles…

The debris had been thrown all around. Amazingly, a crew member from the APC in the front of the convoy stumbled out of the turret hatch moments before flames poured out, hurt badly, and fell on the ground next to his vehicle. As the attackers watched, amazed at the miraculous escape of an enemy in front of them, the injured survivor began to drag himself away from the burning hulk of the APC and started to move back along the road, hoping to meet friendly forces up on the road to the north. That the nearest friendly forces were at least several dozen kilometers away from him was not a concern for the desperate enemy soldier.

It was almost sad, the Lt-colonel thought, and decided to put that man out of his misery. He picked up his rifle and fitted the magnification scope on his assault rifle before raising it up on his shoulders and then started to take aim on the enemy soldier on the plain below him. It took him a couple of seconds to fix his aim and was about to depress the trigger when his target collapsed on the road and stopped moving. The Lt-colonel lowered his rifle and looked at that small speck lying on the road below before removing the scope and tucking it away in his pack and ordered his men to pack up and move out. Nobody spoke a word. There was no time for it. They had a job to do, and a long way to go. The explosion had probably been seen by a lot of people in the surrounding hills. This was now an unhealthy place to stay.

As the team members put on their low-light goggles, put their backpacks on and pulled their rifles up, a UHF call came through for the Lt-colonel. It was the 'Major’, who commanded his second team and who was also his second-in-command. Out here he was ‘Two Actual’.
“Two to One. The fires are burning. Next one’s by the Playbook?”

“Roger, Two. Catch up with you guys later. Good Luck. Out” This was where the two teams were to separate out and move towards different targets. The Lt-colonel gave the radio back to his Comm-Specialist and signaled his ‘Point’ man to move out. His Comm-Specialist had a question for his CO: “Where to now, sir?”

The Lt-colonel just smiled back. He felt like smiling. They had had a good night. The fact that they had just eliminated several dozen enemy troops in a convoy in the blink of an eye was no longer on his conscience. If they had wanted to live, they should have stayed in their own country. But this area is mine. Step on it and you will die… the Lt-colonel reflected.

They now had a very long walk ahead of them. The Lt-Colonel looked back at the camouflage paint covered face of his men standing before him.

“The job’s just begun. Let’s move out.”

The moonlight was a problem, but they had no choice. As the team began their long walk to the south-east, they disappeared within the long dark shadows of the hills surrounding the plain. The team left behind five burning wrecks of what were military vehicles on the road in the plain below, otherwise known as the Chinese National Highway-219…
Nitesh

Re: Possible Indian Military Scenarios - XII

Post by Nitesh »

The actions begins welcome vivek

Welcome back Vivek jee
Its been a long time :)
asbchakri

Post by asbchakri »

The Dawn of a new Beginning :twisted: :eek:
Misraji

Post by Misraji »

Woohoo ... Vivek is back ....... :D

Vivek Saar ... You write awesome ... Big fan of yours ......

Ashish.
tina

Post by tina »

welcome commander vivekji we alll had been waitin fr u only... :mrgreen:

ss_shady, your handle has been changed to tina.
check forum guidelines to know why. tell me if you prefer
another one.welcome to BRF.
Rahul.
Mihir.D

Post by Mihir.D »

Vivek,

When is the book of yours coming out ? I would love to have it for Diwali.
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

Vivek,
Is this a new scenario? Or is it a continuation of the previous series by you?
Your previous scenarios had a timeline attached, which put everything in perspective, and was simply wonderful.
Keep up the good work, and please tell us when the book is due.
sunny_s

Post by sunny_s »

good 2 see that our commander vivekji has cm back...time 2 welcome chink comrades for their last party

Vivek very happy to see you back in action boss....cant wait to read out this one.
Also Vivek if I wanted to get the book in Australia what would I have to do??? Alternatively I will be coming up in Dec/Jan in India. Would be great if you could let me know please.

Has anyone heard from Shankarda??? I hope he is well and good, been a while since he posted anything (even general posts)???

NEW DELHI
DAY 1 + 0950 HRS

“So what can you tell me about the Lhasa situation?” the Minister asked.
“Tense.” The Ambassador replied before reaching for his cup of tea. His eyes did not move up to match those of his host. A few seconds of silence then reminded him that more was required from him. His eyes finally caught up with those of the host.

“Martial law is still in place. It is for the public’s own security. There have been no more attacks in the city. Lhasa is locked down. The rebels continue to attack civilians elsewhere. The civilian losses have been high.”

The host finally looked away from the guest and stared out of the windows at the green grass being watered by the sprinklers. The blue sky above and a bright winter sun dominated the skyward view. The same as over Tibet...the Indian Foreign Minister reminded himself as he recollected the minute details from the NSC meeting the previous night. Rebels attacking civilians...my ass. This guy speaks outrageous lies without blinking. One needs to be dead inside for doing this job...

“You mean Chinese citizens or Tibetans?” The host said without looking away from the windows. The response was just as profound:
“I am afraid I do not know the statistics.” The Ambassador replied with a straight face.
You predictable ********...The Indian Foreign Minister thought with an inward smile before finally turning away from the windows to face his guest.
“Of course”

The Foreign Minister opened a file and removed a piece of paper from it and handed it to the guest across the table before continuing:
“That is the statement that the Government of India has released as of fifteen minutes ago. It asks for both sides to break off the cycle of violence that has been spiralling out of control in the Tibet Autonomous region for the last few weeks and asks for a return to the negotiating table. The violence being perpetuated by both sides is unacceptable to India. This is the gist of the page long statement you find in front of you. The PM wanted me to give you a personal assurance of help should Beijing need a mediator to intervene on behalf of both sides.”

The Foreign Minister leaned back in his chair while the guest grew significantly more uncomfortable.
“I will pass this offer back to Beijing, but I would also like to remind you and your government that the situation in Tibet is an internal affair, not an international one. While we thank India for taking a mature stand in these troubled times, I feel obliged to remind you that the resolution of an internal affair does not require international mediation, similar to your situation in Kashmir.” The Ambassador replied in an almost unnoticeable sterner tone than before. It did not escape his Indian host though.

“The two situations are somewhat different, Mr. Ambassador. I would not advise such a simple comparison. Further, there are historical issues to consider here. We have the Tibetan Government-In-Exile still on our soil.”
“You mean the rebel leaders. India would better serve both India’s and China’s interests by first removing such outlaw encampments from Indian soil before offering help to others.”
The Indian Foreign Minister now leaned forward:

“Mr. Ambassador, these may be troubled times for your government, but it is highly advisable for you to avoid accusing other countries with outrageous and, I if do say so myself, naive claims. You know better than that. Further, the Prime Minister has gone to great lengths to make such statements of support at a time when the emotions of our own citizens are high. Don’t make the situation worse for both of us.” And with that both sides had drawn an unseen line across the table that separated them. Both also knew it was time to back away...

“I am sorry for my emotional comments, but as you said it yourself, these are difficult times. I will pass back your government’s offer back to my government.” The Ambassador replied finally as he glanced the paper. A few seconds later he finally spoke again:

“There is one other matter that my government thought you might need to know. There has been an attack yesterday on a civilian convoy that cost the lives of more than three dozen civilians. The attack took place on the section of the highway just north of the border in Laddakh...” The Ambassador stared back into the eyes of the host who returned the favor:
“And I express my sympathies for the loss of lives, Mr. Ambassador. But what makes the attack different from all the others so far across Tibet?”

“Just that the close proximity of the attack near the border warranted a mention. It seems the rebels have begun attacking civilian targets closer and closer to the border with India ever since our security forces began pushing them out of the cities.” The Chinese Ambassador concluded with that straight face that he was known for. Fifteen minutes later he left, and the Indian Foreign Minister returned back to his office and sat back down in his chair before staring out of the windows again.

They are thinking something...and its taking them in the wrong directions...
But what the hell is it that they are thinking?

DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE
MINISTRY OF DEFENSE
NEW DELHI

DAY 1 + 1030 HRS

“What’s the latest figure?”
“Five vehicles neutralized. Thirty six dead and counting. Civilians of course...”
The merited a grunt and a smile from the person sitting in the chair across the table before a subtle statement: “That figures. What else?”
“Phase-II begins tonight if nothing goes wrong.”
“Good. Keep me informed.”
“Yes sir.” The other person said before closing the door behind him as he left. The person sitting in the chair returned back to his papers even as he decided to get some sleep. He knew there wouldn’t be much of that in the coming weeks...
sunny_s

Post by sunny_s »

vivek sir a very humble request..please give us 3 posts a day..we need smkind of compensation fr ur absence :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Shankar

Post by Shankar »

nice write up vivek and thanks

sunny_s wrote:vivek sir a very humble request..please give us 3 posts a day..we need smkind of compensation fr ur absence :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Yes vivek ji... please..

with all his great posts and long breacks between them, I even pondered of filing a PIL against Shakar-da last month...

you must know that we evil kafirs are weak hearted and cannot take much suspense or tension... and we need the daily dose of your posts without fail... :D
HariC

Post by HariC »

mullah log.. can we have two seberate threads - one for vibheks's stories, and the other for shankar dada's stories? makj it eajier to consolidate.
parshuram

Post by parshuram »

Shankar wrote:nice write up vivek and thanks

Paaji Are u done with ur scenario and vivek brilliant start . You are really gifted . your fan following is just going to grow .. God Speed .. ..Keep it up

HILLS OVERLOOKING THE VILLAGE OF SHIQUANHE
SOUTHWESTERN TIBET
70 KM EAST OF L.A.C.
DAY 1 + 1830 HRS

The noise from random bursts of gunfire were still echoing in the hills as the sun began sneaking behind the western peaks amidst a darkening orange and red sky. The rebels had taken a beating from PLA forces after a botched ambush had turned into a drawn out fire-fight and left dozens killed in the outskirts of the once pristine village. The battles had shifted now into the hills outside the village as the rebels attempted to retreat to the east across the river that cut the village along a northeast-southwest axis. The buildings east of the river were nothing more than smouldering remains. Across the river the PLA troops were everywhere and were now beginning to initiate movements across the river to push the rebels out.

“There they go...” the Captain spoke without removing his eyes from the binoculars.
“There’s a lesson in here somewhere.” The Lieutenant replied as he joined the Captain where he lay behind the rock cover with his own pair of binoculars.
“True. Absolute idiots, those rebels. You don’t engage an entire PLA Battalion in conventional combat. Not when you are outnumbered ten to one!” The Captain continued.
“In broad daylight too. They aren’t going to last too long with such poor tactics. At this rate this revolt will be over before it ever started. Of course, that’s where we come in...” The Lieutenant replied. The Captain smiled without looking away.

The six members of Team-Three were holed up in the hills northwest of the village for the past day. Movement during daylight was suicidal, and so they had watched the day long drama played out in front of them without batting an eyelid, so to speak. They had watched the botched attempt on the PLA convoy by the rebels that had left the lead truck burning under the force of an improvised roadside bomb. Other such devices had apparently not worked as they should have, and sure enough the rest of the convoy had stopped and the dozens of soldiers had deployed into the houses bordering the road in what then became a house to house fight between an overwhelming PLA infantry force and a small rebel unit. But for all their flaws, the Tibetan rebels had fought bravely. That was something the members of Team-Three had agreed unanimously. Of course, from a military standpoint it had not been enough. The Tibetan forces within the eastern outskirts had been wiped out to the last man, but the battle was not over. More Tibetan fighters had converged from the east to help their besieged comrades, and they were now also retreating in a running battle with PLA regulars.

The PLA for their part had been caught by surprise initially, but that hadn’t lasted long. There were now APC convoys coming down the road from the northeast with their headlights switched on in a show of defiance. Artillery had pounded the hills east of the village for an hour before a fresh PLA infantry Battalion had begun advancing across the river towards the eastern hills. The original Battalion that had been ambushed was now on holding status in the western outskirts of the village, clearing the remaining houses in the village, near the foothills of the peaks where six keen observers were keeping a close eye on the proceedings.

“Incoming...” The Lieutenant reported as he watched a PLA mortar platoon getting ready to drop smoke cover for the advancing troops.
“Organized, disciplined...and predictable...” the Captain continued as he made mental notes about the PLA way of fighting, their equipment, logistics, command and control and ISR capabilities.

That was when a burst of gunfire rang out from one of the extreme western houses in the village. It caught everybody by surprise, Team-Three members included. The Captain and the other members immediately jerked at the close proximity of the sounds and refocused their binoculars to see the source of the commotion only to find a section of PLA troops returning fire on a small house near whose door a PLA officer now lay in a pool of blood. The tactical orientation of the PLA forces had been facing eastwards even as their first counterattack was being launched towards the east. Now there was confusion everywhere. There were several more grenade explosions in the streets in the western end of the village that left three more PLA soldiers dead or wounded on the street...

Oh Shit!!” The Captain said to no one in particular as he saw the battle going on in the valley just at the edge of the hills they were on. Although Team-Three was not under fire, the fact was that the Chinese would soon begin advancing into these hills and more eyes would be facing this way. The team ran an extreme risk of detection now more by accident rather than design. Sure enough, the first mortar shells were now hitting the foothills below where the observers were as the PLA counterattack was pulled off and being directed westwards...

“All right people, get ready to move. We need to get the hell out of here before they start searching these peaks. Move! Move!”

IAF PHALCON AWACS AIRCRAFT
SKIES OVER WESTERN LADDAKH
INDIA
DAY 1 + 1848 HRS

“Inbound. Single ship formation detected bearing two-one-nine heading southeast. Range two-one-zero kilo-mike. Angels thirty.” One of the radar console operators reported over the intercom. The Mission Commander (MC) was already walking over to the concerned console and peered at the computer screen from over the shoulders of the operator.

“Type?” He asked even as he absorbed in the details from the screen. The operator shifted the interface screen to initiate inbound track. A second later the computer ran over the flight profile parameters with a known intelligence database before displaying the result on a corner of the screen.

“Possible J-10 variant. Designating inbound contact November-two-four. Track initiated.” The operator was already moving through the procedure for the job even as the MC watched over his shoulders before continuing:
“Might be a close formation two-ship flight. The commies don’t fly single aircraft patrols...or attack missions for that matter.”
“Could be, sir. Difficult to tell at this point. The contact is trying to keep within the peaks as best as he can. Once he gets closer we can differentiate the radar signature.” The operator replied without looking away from the screens.

“Point of origin?”
“Bearing suggests dust off from Kashgar, but we show no J-10 deployments that far west.”
“Until now that is. This is what is called real-time intelligence. The WAC Commander needs to know that his commie threat level just went up a notch.” The MC, a Group-Captain himself, noted. “Anyway, where is this bugger going?”
“The current flight path seems just a circuitous path designed to go around our borders. Hold on, the inbound is changing course...now heading south!”

“How close is he going to get to our airspace with the current heading?” the MC continued as he stared at that inverted ‘V’ on the screen heading downwards.
“Around sixty to seventy kilometres east of the L.A.C. heading towards Shipki Pass to the south. Doesn’t look like he is planning to approach anything important, though.”
“Doesn’t matter. That’s close enough. For all we know he might be trying to tickle our defences and gather electronic intelligence.” The MC said as he finally walked away from the console and walked to the airborne controller consoles.

“Who’s up today?” he asked the lead officer at the controls.
“Three Mig-29s at Leh. Alert pad readiness status.”
“Configuration?” the MC asked.
“A-to-A. BVR”
“Good. Get them in the air and direct them towards November-two-four. Keep them on radar standby and over our airspace. Weapons release on hold. We don’t want any accidents. Do it.” The MC ordered.
“Yes sir.”

LEH AIRBASE
INDIA
DAY 1 + 1915 HRS

The sun had gone down some time back, and now only the western edges of the sky were a shade of dark red with the bright stars appearing on the eastern skies. On the ground, the activities were frantic at the southern end of the airbase as the sounds of turbines spooling up, filled the air. Inside the well lit hardened shelters, three Mig-29 pilots were strapping into their seats while the ground crewmen armed the weapons and conducted the final visual checks.

A minute later the first Mig-29 taxied out of the shelter into the darkness outside. This was not war, and so the runway perimeter lights were still on, and so were the anti-collision strobe lights of the fighters themselves as the three aircraft moved out one behind the other towards the end of the runway. Another minute later the thunder of the afterburners reverberated the surrounding hills and the first of the three air defense fighters streaked down the end of the runway before lifting into the air...
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

Dear Vivek sir, we want more dose today :D
asbchakri

Post by asbchakri »

Vivek bhai simply Brilliant start 8) . Keep them comming :twisted:
Mihir.D

Post by Mihir.D »

Vivek Saar,

Waiting for today's dose :D
sunny_s

Post by sunny_s »

VICTOR(vivekji) this is SIERRA(Me) "WHATS THE STATUS OF THE PLAY GROUND" REPORT TO THE ZOO(HC) OVER.... :D viveksir n shankar da tuts are surely teaching us something :rotfl:
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

ROGER to that :lol:

SOUTHWESTERN TIBET
70 KM EAST OF L.A.C.
DAY 1 + 1930 HRS

The path down the other side of the hills was not as easy to traverse on as it might have sounded. The loose gravel and shifting rocks meant that one small mistake and one could end up sliding down the side and end up smashing into the rocks below. But there was no choice at the moment. The six members of Team-Three were moving down the northern side of the slope and attempting to reach the next line of hills parallel to the current one along an east-west axis. On the southern side of the hills the battle between the Tibetan freedom fighters and the PLA was in full flow, with the PLA now hammering the western outskirts of the village with artillery. In essence, the two PLA battalions in Shiquanhe were fighting on both the eastern and western outskirts of the village while controlling the central northeast-southwest road that ran through the village. But it was not a case encirclement for them, just a nuisance...

The Tibetan plateau is relatively flat. Unlike the steep gradients along the Greater Himalayas that divide the Indian and Chinese side of the borders along the southern edge of this plateau, where the number of access points and passes for any given FEBA sector can be counted on one hand from the Indian point of view, most urban and rural areas of Tibet are accessible from numerous directions. Most villages and towns can be accessed from multiple directions by both vehicles and humans. In the case of Shiquanhe, another road ran down from the direction of the Aksai Chin from the northwest.

Team Three had been positioned to the north of the village with both these roads on either side of them, having descended towards the village from the direct north. But now with two PLA convoys detected inbound towards the village from both these roads, the only escape route was back north. But doing so was not easy. The ground was barren and exposed. If detected while crossing these open terrains, the intruders ran the risk of complete annihilation with no hope of survival.

At the bottom of the southern slope the Captain looked left and right to see his men taking cover behind some boulders with their heavy backpacks strapped on and their rifles at shoulder level as they scanned the open terrain in front of them before the next line of hills to the north. The sky above was lit with stars, but there was no moonlight. The massive peaks to the south jutted above the ground while the top of the hill the team had been on was now silhouetted against the continuous flashes of man made light from a mixture of flares and explosions. The headlights of the dozen odd vehicles driving down the road from the northwest were now visible, thanks to the good LOS from the current elevated positions...

“Troop trucks...” the Lieutenant reported as he handed the binoculars to the Captain.
“They will be swarming these peaks by tomorrow afternoon. I doubt they will do anything beyond securing the village tonight.” The Captain replied. A few seconds later he handed back the binoculars to the lieutenant:
“We have till daybreak to get under cover.”
“What about the contacts, sir?” the Lieutenant asked.
“They are probably dead. Those who aren’t will be taken away. Either way, there’s nothing for us here. Let’s move out.” The Captain answered in a deadpan voice.

“Yes sir.” The lieutenant adjusted the NVG attachment to his helmet before lowering it in front of his eyes. A few seconds later the rest of the team members had done the same. The Captain was the last one to do it as he gave the flashing lights silhouetting the southern peaks a final look. The northern peaks were completely dark. But when the NVGs were powered on, the starlight was magnified a thousand times but the hills were not. This gave a nice green background to a black hill line that they had to reach before the PLA soldiers began moving into these peaks. Thirty seconds later the Captain picked up his UBGL fitted INSAS rifle and moved out behind the lieutenant leading Team Three across the cold, dark plains...

THE SKIES ABOVE SOUTHWESTERN TIBET
DAY 1 + 1935 HRS

The air situation along the Sino-Indian border had been tense now for the past few weeks. Both sides had been accusing each other for the violence that had broken out inside Tibet and neither side was shying away from upping the ante. On the ground that had meant massive troop movements on both sides of the border while in the air, it meant increasingly aggressive patrolling. While both sides had limited aerial tanker fleets that were simply too small to be able to support a large enough presence over the skies, both sides had areas where one possessed an advantage over the other.

In the east the IAF Eastern Air Command was facing truly massive air patrols from a ring of PLAAF airbases surrounding the region in a deadly arc, the IAF Central Air Command was facing only ground to air threats, and for the most part the skies over central Tibet were clear save for the few patrols being maintained at huge operational costs by the PLAAF in a face saving exercise. And on the western sector the IAF faced a threat from the north but lesser threats from the northeast. This equilibrium had been maintained by both sides until a few days ago.

The increasing heavy handed use of the PLAAF in suppressing the Tibetan rebels was pushing the fight further southwards towards the Indian borders. With the southern push, the vicinity of the air strikes had also been moving southwards, and had now reached a stage where the PLAAF was depending solely on tanker support to allow heavily loaded strike aircrafts to be able to hit the targets in southern Tibet and still return home.

These strike aircrafts were lumbering machines on the way in, and faced little chance of survival against the hordes of air-to-air configured IAF fighters patrolling south of the border should hostilities break out suddenly. The only hope of support those strike aircraft had were the thin line of SU-27s and KJ-2000s that were patrolling the region every time a strike package headed into Tibet to attack a Tibetan rebel position...

The light in one side of the cockpit flipped green as the fuel flow stopped. A moment later the refuelling controller came over the radio to confirm completion. The pilot acknowledged and gently backed off from the drogue before banking to the right and gently diving away from the swept winged tanker. Then the pilot increased throttle and conducted a visual scan to ensure perfect formatting with the flight and pulled level on the left side of the line abreast formation before finally increasing engine throttle, along with the three other pilots simultaneously.

Behind him the tanker he had refueled from turned away from the southerly heading and resumed the elliptical loitering loop with the major axis directed east-west. The four fighters headed south. Fifty kilometers behind another aircraft entered the airspace. This one activated the on-board radar and sent a wave of radio energy hundreds of kilometers into the dark night skies of the southern hemisphere where it was detected by its counterpart beyond the Himalayas...

INDIA
DAY 1 + 1948 HRS

“More inbounds! Active airborne radar signatures!” the flight controller shouted over the intercom. The MC was behind him ten seconds later:
“SITREP!”
“Four inbound fighters in line abreast formation heading south. Active airborne radar aircraft forty to fifty kilometres behind the fighter formation. Computer thinks that we are looking at four Su-27s and a KJ-2000 patrol entering the airspace. I am inclined to agree.” The console operator reported without looking away from the screen.

“Okay. These will be the CAP support for November-two-four. And they are brining AWACS support with them. We see them, they see us. Now it’s about numbers.” The MC said more to himself than to anybody else.

A moment later he was using his intercom headset to alert the flight crew of the aircraft before warning the flight of three SU-30MKIs flying alongside the Phalcon as escorts. These fighters were now moving between the inbound threats and the Phalcon that was now taking evasive manoeuvres. All strobe lights were now switched off as combat conditions were initiated on board all aircraft south of the border. On board the Phalcon the MC was already in contact with Number 5 Tactical Air Centre (5-TAC) to decide the required response level.

The problem was the same as those in the last few weeks and yet it needed only a small error to become something new and far nastier. Misunderstandings could lead to war. And wars based on misunderstandings were always the bloodiest ones of all. And yet every thought of decisive action was repelled by the very next thought: we are not at war...only to be followed by the realization that there was no way to predict whether the other side was thinking the same thing. So the more accurate adaption of the above thought among the Indian planners for each one of these kind of incidents in the past weeks had been: we are not at war...Yet.

And there was no way to tell the difference between the two...

vivek, just curious, what is the distance from the border of the bogey package ? and how far inside is the phalcon ? I would like to know what you envisage as the detection range in this case. also the mission profile of the chini flankers.
TIA.
Hari Sud

Post by Hari Sud »

Does anybody has Shankar's complete last scenario, in .pdf or .doc format?

Hari Sud

Rahul M wrote:vivek, just curious, what is the distance from the border of the bogey package ? and how far inside is the phalcon ? I would like to know what you envisage as the detection range in this case. also the mission profile of the chini flankers.
TIA.
Rahul,

I will be following one tradition from my previous scenario that included detailed maps of the various air battles fought. I will upload them along with the next installation of the scenario later today. It will be a much better visualization of the ranges and deployments I am talking about. As far as the mission profiles, detection ranges etc, keep reading the future scenario posts! Don't want to give the plot away...:) :wink:

Regards.

-Vivek

sure, author's independence is paramount ! keep up the good work !
Hari Sud

Post by Hari Sud »

Jamwal

Any other way to get Shankar's last scenario on .pdf or .doc without signing up for life or paying 15 cents a day fee.

Hari

Hari Sud wrote:Jamwal

Any other way to get Shankar's last scenario on .pdf or .doc without signing up for life or paying 15 cents a day fee.

Hari
Hari send me an email at anand-83 at hotmail dot com and I will send you the stuff that was sent to me by asbchakri....will send it to you after work.

Cheers

SOUTHWESTERN TIBET
70 KM EAST OF L.A.C.
DAY 1 + 2010 HRS

The slippery snow and rocky terrain were not making things any easier. The next set of hills were as far away as ever, and to their rear the sounds of the gunfire refused to die away. The terrain was cold and they were not. Any TI system would pick them up against the background whether it were on a UAV, and aircraft, helicopter or even in front of another human being’s eyes. But intelligence suggested that the units involved in suppressing the Tibetans in this sector were not equipped with these systems on a widespread scale. Even so, it only took one...

“Sir! Inbound chopper!” one of the team members pointed out to the north as a PLA Mi-17 suddenly popped over the top of the next set of hills against the greenish background of the NVGs. It took the others only a second to spot the threat before the sounds of the main rotor blades whipping through the thin mountain air reached their ears.

“Oh shit! Everybody: down! Now!” the Captain shouted unnecessarily, for the others were already doing the same: taking cover behind any clump of rocks they could find and hoping the ragged outline would break up their own...

For all that it was clear the Mi-17 was not looking for them, and sure enough, it flew past the crouching team members by a leisurely five hundred meters. A minute later it was beyond the peaks the team had been on when they had been overlooking the village. The Captain motioned for the rest to stay where they were for another minute to make sure the threat had dissipated. Fifty seconds later it was clear that the Chinese helicopter was busy dealing with the Tibetans.

“Doesn’t look like they know of our existence...” the Lieutenant mused. The Captain shook his head:
“You can thank the Tibetans for that. Looks like they are giving the Chinese a run for their money. Okay, let’s move out.”
The Lieutenant resumed his ‘point’ position for five seconds before a dark delta winged aircraft swept over their heads and streaked to the south, the sounds of its thunder sending the team diving for the rocky ground below...

“What the hell was that?!!!” the Lieutenant shouted as the thunder in their ears subsided. The Captain was already on his back and staring at the southern peaks to see where the aircraft had gone. The hills were dark, but the green sky in his NVGs picked up the dark blob in contrast as the aircraft reached for the sky at much slower speeds now as the pilot gained altitude to visually acquire his target...

INDIA
DAY 1 + 2018 HRS

“November-two-four has initiated attack runs. We have him gaining altitude above grid reference three-two-november slash seven-nine-echo.” The radar console operator read off the numbers from the screen. The MC was already on the SATCOM with Western-Air-Command HQ:

“This is Eagle-Eye-One actual. We show enemy strike package November-two-four initiating attack sequence. November-two-five through eight are still southbound with AWACS support.”
Back at the WAC C3I centre the Western Air Commander was monitoring the air situation personally along with his staff. It was the beginning of a long night for all of them. The giant digital map overlay showed everybody exactly what the Phalcon was seeing, and it was getting very crowded up there...

“Who do we have up today to greet the commies?” the WACinC asked his aide.
“Three Mig-29s from Leh inbound to greet the single J-10 attacking Shiquanhe to their southeast. Three sukhois from Eagle-Eye-One have assumed BARCAP positions and we have another four sukhois heading northwards to assume position alongside the BARCAP aircraft. Eagle-Eye-One is being pulled southwards.” The aide replied as he read off the details handed to him by an airman. The WACinC was already shaking his head. The aide was not finished, though...

“Sir, Eagle-Eye-One reports the inbound KJ-2000 will soon reach detection range of Snooper-One based on our known estimates of their airborne radar capabilities. I suggest we pull back Snooper-One to the south to avoid detection.” The final statement caused the WACinC to turn away from the main screen and face his aide.
“Do it. The last thing we need right now is to be caught with our pants down. Abort Snooper-One mission immediately. Get them out of there.”
“Yes sir.” The aide walked away to a console and picked up a SATCOM link to Leh...

LEH AIRBASE
INDIA
DAY 1 + 2022 HRS

With the current tense situation at the border, the number of flights inbound and outbound from Leh was immense. In between the massive number of transport flights during the day bringing in a surge of troops into the region along with their supplies were the incessant take-offs and landings by the various fighters forward deployed at the airbase. But one section of the airbase was far from hectic. Amidst the bunch of high-tech trailers covered with camouflage netting were a group of men whose job demanded being discrete and quiet. Their aircraft were deployed very near to the trailers themselves and were put in small protective shelters. An acute observer might have noticed that one of those shelters was wide empty tonight.

The person wearing a green flight overall put down the phone in one of the trailers and walked behind the other two sitting in their chairs and staring at the small television screens. One of these men had his right hand sitting on a small joystick fitted into the console even as his eyes never left the screen. The other person next to him was also staring into a television screen of his own, only that his view was different. It was this screen that the two other men in the room wearing similar overalls but with a whole lot more medals on their chest were interested in watching...

“That guy must have wiped out have of that village in that first run of his...” one commented to the other without looking away.

“An absolute lunatic. Might have killed his own people in that strike. Not a good sign of FAC coordination... ” the other commented as both watched the screen showing the black and white live-feed video from the onboard TI system of their ‘bird’. The screen was showing the struggling efforts of the TI data computer to resolve the massive fluctuations in light as white color fireballs raced into the sky and then turned black again in seconds. But for all that the view was clear so far.

Three hundred kilometers away and ten thousand feet above them, a Heron UAV was silently flying over south-eastern Tibet with its eyes pointed downwards. Except for the last hour, it had been flying over the region on a reconnaissance mission to ascertain the level of Chinese build-up in the Aksai Chin region. In the last hour its focus had changed to the ongoing battle near Shiquanhe where it had just recorded the devastating J-10 strike against the village outskirts that had left dozens of buildings destroyed or on fire.

But now the skies were getting crowded and with a powerful Chinese airborne radar aircraft entering the skies, and enemy fighters approaching, it was time to leave. The Flight-Commander inside the trailer at Leh now pushed the joystick slightly to the right even as his eyes watched his television screen. On this screen he was essentially seeing what the UAV was seeing as far as the flight was concerned. The ground surveillance optics was not his responsibility, but that of his neighboring console operator. The Heron was quick to respond to the remote pilot commands and it banked to the right before initiating a southern turn. The view on the remote pilot’s optics confirmed the same.

As the Indian Heron initiated its escape to the south, the race began. Two hundred kilometers to the north four Chinese SU-27s streaked through the skies on their way south...
asinghal

Post by asinghal »

Has a feel of Clancy's Clear and Present Danger!

Hari Sud wrote:Jamwal

Hari
You can download any file as an unregistered user without paying anything from most of the sites. Download one file from one site, then others from 2nd site if you want them all.

vivek_ahuja wrote:Thirty seconds later the Captain picked up his UBGL fitted INSAS rifle and moved out behind the lieutenant leading Team Three across the cold, dark plains...

Vivek saar jee,
If its a covert operation, then why are Indian soldiers carrying INSAS rifles.In case they are captured or killed, it'll prove Indian connection in the unrest.
Sudhanshu

Post by Sudhanshu »

I think they too use AK47 rounds itself?

There is low probability that these soldiers will be caught, and if by any chance they got discovered AND anyone dies in combat, other team member would strip him off the weapon and equipments (General procedure followed in any special ops forces).

One has to balance covertness and inferior quality of equipments.

Just my personal view to defend Vivek :)
Hope he will return favor by writing another post ASAP.

jamwal wrote:If its a covert operation, then why are Indian soldiers carrying INSAS rifles.In case they are captured or killed, it'll prove Indian connection in the unrest.
The difference between In-Area special operations (IASO) and Out-of-Area Special Operations (OASO) work. In the former, the identity of the teams as such is known to both sides and neither side denies it. In the latter case, there is a chance of avoiding declaring the presence of one's teams by using local weapons, clothing and tactics. In essence, instead of trying to ask as to what will make the Chinese suspect Indian involvement, you have to ask this question: What will not make them suspect? There is a subtle difference between the two, and that difference is what separates the IASO from OASO. With respect to India and her immediate neighbors, it is always going to be IASO.

Also, if it came down to the killing of one of the teams etc, the way the team fought, their tactics, fire-discipline etc will declare their identity to an acute PLA observer much before any he encounters physical evidence.

Just one of the dangers of a very dangerous job.
Hang in there. Next post in couple of hours at the most.

-Vivek
chandrabhan

Post by chandrabhan »

Hang in there. Next post in couple of hours at the most.

-Vivek[/quote]
Vivek Sir,
Many hours have passed... :((