Internal Security Watch

Re: Internal Security Watch

fanne wrote:The latest India today is a treasure trove on the terrorist and their organization. It is free and one can read it
http://emagazine.digitaltoday.in/indiat ... /home.aspx

This is what it has to say -
Top group comprise of 12 people - Only known member Tauqeer (probably working on ISI order)
Next group - code name - call of Islam, 60,000 in number. Lead double life, Activate once they receive order from top group. Present all over India. Over 35 yrs age
Next group - 6,000 call Ikhwan, Sleeper cell, activated to do a job and lead a double life
Next group - 550 called Ansars (helpers), They plant bombs and what not. All caught, including Nagori are ansars (so some 12 down)
Next group - Code named white falcon - Indoctrinate 5 to 10 yrs in jehad
Next group - Last group Muslim Brotherhood, facilitate Jihad, money etc, 10 lakh donors, mainly in gulf.

rgds,
How will this end?

It needs a resolve, a dedicated agency, lots of intelligence (as in spying), justice the way black Panther group was finished in US (i.e. a robust system of covert courts, police and execution agency, making sure no innocent is killed but no terrorist is spared) and patience. This current group of jokers won't do it. In fact they all long for the day when India breaks so their favorite project like (fill in the blanks, there are over a million reasons) can be fulfilled. Make no mistake; we face the crisis of our existence, the likes of one we have not faced in 1000s of years of existence. The most important of that challenge does not come from IM but our lack of political resolve, confusion created by FHL (fake Hindu liberals) and the inability to take hard decision. We are at a point where we are loosing without even fighting. Our Newclear option has been castrated, the 5 years have seen growth in Armed forces stymied. Think of it, one of the real reasons of allowing partition was, then Indian army was 40-60% Muslim, today this government in guise of Sachar report and such is trying to create similar conditions.
If the nationalistic parties do not win the next election, I would say, democracy is not answer to our ill. We will then have to find other ways to stop the anti- Indian forces from undoing India.
rgds,

Fanne,

Like somebody mentioned on this forum, an emerging concern due to the political drift and lack of resolve is that the conditions are being created for a savior on a horse to come riding through from the yindoo majority's POV, so to say.

This horseman shall promise (and likely deliver) security at the cost of small but precious freedoms, IMHO. Has happened before in the 30s Europe.

What are the chances that with media manipulation, western backing and maybe 7th fleet (to make us heathen see reason), that person could be the Rajkumar, only to give false hope and permanently extinguish our freedom, make these 60 years of freedom but an aberration in our long history of 1000 years of slavery to be followed by another 1000 years of slavery. We cannot agree here at the forum (where I would say maybe 10% of security conscious, well read Jingo people of India come) what and who is our enemy and what should be the response. In China, they made the history of China slavery a part of the curriculum (which was then opposed by western govt. and their agents as NGOs and the A Roy’s, but communist govt. had it's way) with ends with the message that they will never repeat that mistake. We are being fed wrong history which is only confusing us. Who knows what will happen.
Zin

Post by Zin »

Singha wrote:north kt has become a den of terrorists in the hubli-dharwad-bijapur-gulbarga type belt.
the presence of mining industry guarantees some easy access to stuff like detonators.
You left out belgaum were peaceful indian muslims have welcomed their peaceful bangladeshi muslim birathers and are living happily while the locals are complaining about the illegal immigrants who brought with them loads of fake indian currency and lots of peaceful books and cds preaching peaceful religion with osama explaning the finer ascepts of it.

One of the place that these peaceful people love is castle rock.
My botany teacher too loved this place and used to go there to collect botanical plants which are abundance there.
But now he cant go there since he is a kafir christian and peaceful people dont allow kafir to walk on their territory.

The only way to rectify this peaceful situation is structural realignment of facial features of peaceful people who are trying to implement their peaceful religion.

And another important thing, to welcome kafirs passing through hubli through the new highway, peaceful people have built a arabic college and masjid right next to that road. Kafirs may ask why this type of structures are needed to welcome kafirs.
Well you uneducated kafirs need to read the holy book of peaceful people and get yourself educated on the finer ascepts of this religion.

And dont try the old route either that passes right through the heart of hubli.
Peaceful people have already built a fortified masjid with shops on it's outside to prevent any untoward incidents.
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

Blast in Sabarkantha, Gujarat: 1 dead
http://www.rediff.com/news/2008/sep/29guj.htm

Low intensity blast in Gujarat; two killed
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Indi ... 542011.cms

Blasts in Gujarat, Maharashtra; 3 dead, several injured
http://www.zeenews.com/articles.asp?aid=472897&sid=NAT
Gujarat Global News Network, Ahmedabad
Two persons were killed and seven other injured in bomb blast in Modasa town of the Sabarkantha district of Gujarat. The incident took place around 8.30 pm in the Chokha bazaar area of the town.

Motorcycle was used in this terror attack in the Gujarat town. People say that motorcyclist threw the bomb. Seventeen crude bombs were found in the Kalupur area of Ahmedabad in the morning.
http://www.gujaratglobal.com/nextSub.ph ... ttype=NEWS
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

Blasts in Sabarkantha, Malegaon: 6 dead

www.rediff.com/news/2008/sep/29guj.htm
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

Modasa, a strong base of SIMI

http://indiatoday.digitaltoday.in/index ... 3&Itemid=1
Two people died and nearly dozen others were injured when a bomb kept in a motorcycle went off in the busy Sukha bazaar area of Modasa town of Sabarkantha district of north Gujarat around 10 pm on Monday creating a scare.

Modasa is known for the strong base that the banned SIMI has made in the town over the years. It is also a stronghold of Wahhabi Muslims from where one of the first of the Indian Muslims went to Pakistan in the early nineties to get arms training to fight against the pro-Russian forces in Afghanistan.

People had gathered in the market after breaking roza when the bomb which in the bag attached to a motor cycle parked at a turning of a small thoroughfare went off, injuring over a dozen people, of which two died in the hospital. One of the dead was a 19-year-old boy who died due to splinter injuries received in the chest.

The injured were immediately rushed to the hospital. The police cordoned off the area and launched a massive combing operation.

On the basis of the initial clues and on the condition of anonymity a senior police official told India Today that the possibility of the bomb going off accidentally due to the negligence of the bomb-makers can't be ruled out in the case.

Rafique Dadu, a SIMI worker of Modasa had gone to Pakistan in the early nineties to get arms training to fight against the pro-Russian forces in Afghanistan.

He was arrested along with the 123 workers of SIMI in Surat in January, 2001 when they were holding a secret meeting following the ban imposed on it. Sajid Mansuri , one of the main accused in the recent Ahmedabad and Jaipur blasts was also attending that meeting but managed to escape when the police raided the meeting place.

Dadu was one of the first Muslims in India barring Kashmir to undergo arms training in Pakistan. Dadu reportedly went to Pakistan on an official visa.

A town of 50,000 people, Modasa has been a very strong base of SIMI for years.

One of the few towns in Gujarat where Muslims are in a majority it is also known for its history of communal riots. The Modasa area witnesses massive riots in 2002 also.

Before it was banned, the Modasa unit of SIMI was very active. In the late nineties it organized a quiz for Muslim students in which a large number of the 50 questions asked to Muslim students aimed at instilling radical Islamic and anti-Hindu ideals in them
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

Thane: 1 killed, 50 injured over Navaratri pandal row

http://www.ptinews.com/pti%5Cptisite.ns ... enDocument

Thane, Sept 30 (PTI) One person was killed and more than 50 were injured in communal clashes which broke out at Rabodi here over setting up of a 'pandal' for the Navaratri festival around midnight, police said.
There was a dispute over the issue of erecting a pandal for the festival beginning today in the locality neighbouring Mumbai, they said.

Members of a particular community alleged that the pandal encroached over their area. The local mandal (group), organising the event, however, insisted that the pandal would be put up as per the last year's specifications resulting in the clashes, police said. PTI
A particular 'Navshakti Mahila Mandal' put up banners and pandal for the Durga festival at the start of a lane leading to a 'place of worship' of 'particular community'.
Members of a 'particular community' objected to it. Soon there was stone throwing.
The police arrived and were almost lynched. The 'particular community' put up some 4 wheelers on fire. The fire brigade was prevented from reaching the spot by the 'particular community'. Sec 144 in place

Nitesh

Post by Nitesh »

I don't know where to put this, so just posting it here:

http://weekly.ahram.org.eg/2004/687/in1.htm

With a population of 140 million people, India's Muslims make for an impressive political force. Asides from the sheer number of votes they provide, securing the Muslim vote was long considered indispensable for any political party claiming to be a secular, pan-national movement in India.

The only problem is -- as many political parties are only now discovering -- is that the Muslim vote doesn't actually exist.

While media and politicians alike often characterise India's Muslim community as a kind of monolithic entity that can be rallied behind a single party, this year's elections reveal a diverse community that increasingly votes for parties based on issues of education, economic opportunity and political stability. Whereas in the past political parties could get away with making lavish promises to the community at large, Muslims today are far more discerning.

M J Akbar, editor-in-chief of The Asian Age, told Al-Ahram Weekly that Indian Muslims were tired of being taken for granted by political parties.

"The Muslim vote has matured," Akbar explained from his office in South Delhi. "The community moved away from the lurid temptations offered by fundamentalists in the 1980s with their backward arguments against social reform. For the first time ever, Muslims are voting for the future and not the past."

Akbar felt it should come as little surprise that Muslims do not vote as a bloc given the huge diversity between Muslim communities across India.

"A Muslim in Delhi has more in common with a fellow Delhite who happens to be Hindu than he does with a Muslim in Tamil Nadu," he said. "Muslims, like the vast majority of Indians everywhere, are more concerned with regional issues than they are about religious ones, I mean the Hindu of Bengal does not call up the Hindu of Tamil Nadu to ask him how he will vote, does he?"

While regional diversity within the Muslim community is nothing new, India's fragmented political landscape is providing new opportunities for Muslims to assert their political diversity.

For the better part of 50 years, the Muslim community generally voted for the India's National Congress Party, owing to a widespread belief that Congress was the only secular party capable of looking after their interests. According to Akbar, however, over time Congress became increasingly complacent vis-ˆ-vis Muslim concerns.

"For years Congress took us [Muslims] for granted because they figured that there was no other alternative to their party," explained Akbar.

Today, however, India's political environment is far different: there are some 170 parties to choose from and secularism is increasingly prevalent across the political spectrum. The greater variety of political choice available, coupled with the Muslim community's increasing pragmatism, now opens the door to a host of new voting permutations, some of which were unimaginable just five years ago.

A case in point is the effort by the ruling Bahratiya Janta Party (BJP) to woo Muslims voters.

The BJP and the Muslim community share a difficult past. The BJP is widely believed to have helped unleash the mob of Hindu fundamentalists that destroyed the Babri Mosque in Ayodhya back in 1993 and many BJP allies still justify its destruction on the grounds that the mosque was built over an ancient temple to the Hindu god Ram.

While the BJP expressed deep regret over the communal violence that swept across India in the wake of the mosque's destruction killing thousands of Muslims, the party has yet to publicly condemn those who destroyed the mosque.

Now, as part of their effort to shed their nationalist image and broaden their overall appeal, the BJP, is taking great pains to reach out to the Muslim community. Indian Prime Minister Atal Vajpayee, considered by many to be the secular face of the BJP, last month unveiled an election manifesto that specifically outlines a plan to help the Muslim community through education, economic development and empowerment.

Coupled with a markedly softer approach towards resolving the Ayohdya dispute through a negotiated settlement, BJP spokesperson Maqtar Abbas Naqvi, also a former BJP cabinet minister, told the Weekly that the BJP was confident of making substantial gains within the Muslim community.

"Rather than treating Muslims like a vote machine, the BJP focuses on issues that matter to minorities. Many Muslims, you could even say a majority, now see the BJP as being honest and Muslim-friendly political party," he said, adding "I myself am a Muslim, I am proud to be a Muslim and I have been with the BJP for 20 years."

Despite Naqvi's optimism the BJP faces a tough time in selling its new softer, gentler image. A recent Times of India poll found that a majority of Indians felt the BJP's secular approach was a political gimmick and only a third of respondents felt the BJP was being sincere when it said it was committed to a negotiated settlement over the Ayodhya dispute.

Sadia Devli, a media consultant in Delhi, told the Weekly that she thought the BJP's secular image was "total eyewash".

"After what happened at Ayodhya and the communal riots in Gujurat, there is a lot of insecurity within our Muslim community, and the BJP is responsible for it," she said. "They say that they are a secular party but the fact of the matter is that they are not. They are responsible for Ayodhya and what happened in Gujurat and Muslims should vote to get rid of them."

Some Muslims, however, appear willing to give the BJP the benefit of the doubt. Sajit Khan, 33, a senior executive with the Taj hotel group, says he has no qualms voting for the BJP.

"I think that the BJP is a secular party," Khan says. "They are extremely focussed on the real meaning of development. Look at the progress they have made with the economy not to mention Pakistani relations. I appreciate the fact that they can make a difference."

Saeed Naqvi, a noted political commentator, explained to the Weekly that such views were indicative of the growing diversity within the community. According to him, the absence of a unified Muslim vote was good not only for the Muslim community, but the country as a whole.

"The search for a purely Muslim leadership would be divisive," he said. "It would play right into the hands of Hindu fundamentalists who would use it as an excuse to stir up Hindu nationalist feelings. What Muslims need is secular leadership and there are an increasing amount of options open to them."

Saeed Naqvi acknowledges that by voting for specific regional issues, Muslims run the risk of being let down over the few remaining truly pan-Muslim concerns in the country such as under-representation in the civil service and fears of a rise in right-wing Hindu fundamentalism. In his opinion, though, the benefits of a secular Muslim vote far outweigh its political consequences.

"Muslims have no choice but to vote along secular lines. There is a chance that political parties will ignore them, but this is a genuine democracy and through the ballot box a kind of harmony will be created," he said. "There is no more secular vote in this country than the Muslim vote and I think it has the potential to be a unifying force within the country."

"A Muslim in Delhi has more in common with a fellow Delhite who happens to be Hindu than he does with a Muslim in Tamil Nadu," he said. "Muslims, like the vast majority of Indians everywhere, are more concerned with regional issues than they are about religious ones,
Not so sure as to how true it is.....Is this a "secular" myth since whatever exposure i have had to IMs, it doesnt seem to hold good...Of course, i might be wrong.
"I think that the BJP is a secular party," Khan says. "They are extremely focussed on the real meaning of development. Look at the progress they have made with the economy not to mention Pakistani relations. I appreciate the fact that they can make a difference."
Why is that every muslim, however well off in life, is concerned with Paki relations? :-?
harik

Post by harik »

"A Muslim in Delhi has more in common with a fellow Delhite who happens to be Hindu than he does with a Muslim in Tamil Nadu," he said. "Muslims, like the vast majority of Indians everywhere, are more concerned with regional issues than they are about religious ones,
Not so sure as to how true it is.....Is this a "secular" myth since whatever exposure i have had to IMs, it doesnt seem to hold good...Of course, i might be wrong.
Why is that every muslim, however well off in life, is concerned with Paki relations? :-?
Ummah!.

Nitesh, When you have an imprtant post the first thing to highlight is the names and then what they said for that is how one can make some sense of the article. Otherwise its gibberish.
harik

Post by harik »

ramana wrote:Nitesh, When you have an imprtant post the first thing to highlight is the names and then what they said for that is how one can make some sense of the article. Otherwise its gibberish.
Ramana

You differentiated between Hanffi and Salafi.
GS : corrected you.
So what is the end result after that ?

harik wrote:
ramana wrote:Nitesh, When you have an imprtant post the first thing to highlight is the names and then what they said for that is how one can make some sense of the article. Otherwise its gibberish.
Ramana

I thought I had clarified that I was wrong but the end result is that the Indian Hanafi are getting Salafied ie Arabised/radicalized! And SSridhar agreed to that IM is getting radicalized no matter what school they follow. Its a revisionist trend in Indian Islam.

So need to look at all politico-religious movements and trace their fits and starts and extrapolate to India. The big thing is the outside links have to be cut-off by economic and cultural expansion.

BTW, I am no oracle. I only post what comes to my mind and is subject to correction.
harik

Post by harik »

harik wrote: Ramana

I thought I had clarified that I was wrong but the end result is that the Indian Hanafi are getting Salafied ie Arabised/radicalized! And SSridhar agreed to that IM is getting radicalized no matter what school they follow. Its a revisionist trend in Indian Islam.

So need to look at all politico-religious movements and trace their fits and starts and extrapolate to India. The big thing is the outside links have to be cut-off by economic and cultural expansion.

BTW, I am no oracle. I only post what comes to my mind and is subject to correction.
Idea wasnt to seek clarification.

Rest is not within your famework so. I wont bother you.

With Respect
Zin

Post by Zin »

Centre not helping in battling terror
DH News Service,Bangalore:

Home Minister Dr V S Acharya on Tuesday expressed his displeasure over the Centre not ‘extending’ its cooperation to the State government in combating terrorism.

Speaking to media persons, Dr Acharya charged the Centre with denial of intelligence reports on terrorists to the State.

“The Centre is neither advising us nor taking our advice in the matter,” he regretted.

The Centre had brought the terrorists arrested in connection with Delhi blasts to Bangalore and also Manipal. But no information was shared with the State.

He said though a team from the Union Home Ministry had visited the State a few days ago in the wake of attacks on churches, it did not seek any information regarding steps being taken to combat terrorism. “But we gave them all details,” he added.

He also observed that there was a big decline in the attacks on churches after the State government announced tough measures on September 25, to arrest the culprits under the Goonda Act. Barring the incidents on September 14 and 15, no major attacks were reported in the State. The investigation by police has shown that the glass of a church at Raja Rajeshwari Nagar was broken after it was hit by a cricket ball.

“But both the Centre and the media, created a big furore. The Centre which has failed to contain explosions in Delhi, is unnecessarily accusing the State,” he added.

http://www.deccanherald.com/Content/Oct ... 092981.asp

This will not satisfy the commie jokers.
They will keep repeating their old lies.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

3 persons working in HAL bengaluru arrested, one of them is officer, suspected SIMI link.
Joint interrogation by central and state agencies is going on.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Low intensity serial blasts hit Tripura
01 October, 2008 12:18:36

A series of low intensity blasts hit the capital city of Agartala on Wednesday evening. The blasts took place in Radhanagar and Gol Baazar area.

Reports suggest atleast 20 people have been injured in the wake of the serial blasts.

Sadly, India at war thread has been closed, I guess two days without any ISI sponsored (SIMI abetted) 'blast' is good enough to be called only a internal security issue and not a war. Tripura blast is just another. I guess another serial blast in Bengaluru is long overdue as last one is already more than a month old. Then maybe we can re-open the India at war thread once again. People who are missing the woods for the tree, mark my word, it is an escalation, not business as usual. Of course, we in India and at BR would continue to follow Gandhian principle - If I can personally sound intellectually TFTA let me be, at the expense of deaths and suffering of my community. I have nothing personally to loose so why not make hay while the sun signs (sorry while the bomb blasts).
Sorry for the rant. I am amazed at people lack of conviction even if their heart is at the right place.
Sorry, over and out,
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

fanne wrote:I guess another serial blast in Bengaluru is long overdue as last one is already more than a month old. Then maybe we can re-open the India at war thread once again.
If the next bomb in bengaluru hits basavanagudi then some people who want ignore the threat will wakeup from their sleep.

A lot of Indian Muslims actually have 'Paki relations' through marriage, so the concern is understandable.

Tripura blasts, casualty figure = 4 dead, scores wounded

http://www.tripurainfo.in/
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Three days after Mehrauli blast, 'unknown' victim identified, critical

Wed, Oct 1 02:14 AM

One of the last 'unknown' victims critically injured in the Mehrauli blast on September 27, a 25-year-old as per the hospital records, was identified late on Tuesday evening when his brother showed up at the hospital three days after the incident.

Doctors and police have also confirmed his identity.

The boy, identified as Dipu, is a 23-year-old who came to Delhi from Lucknow 11 months back. He used to live in Gadaipur village near Mehrauli and worked as a security guard in a farmhouse there.

According to doctors, Dipu received serious head injuries and his face was badly damaged in the blast. "There is a 40 per cent chance of his survival and his condition is declining. If he survives, there is a very high risk of infection," said senior surgeon Manish Singhal of the AIIMS Trauma Centre.

Dipu's brother Shamsher got to know of his brother's condition and whereabouts only on Monday after he asked his other roommates to look for him, because he was 'missing' for the last three days.

"We last spoke to Dipu on Tuesday over the phone. He never visited his home after he left for Delhi 11 months back. His friends told me that Dipu had taken a day off work on Saturday and had gone to buy a small cylinder from the Mehrauli market," said Shamsher. He took the next train to Delhi when the news was confirmed to him, and reached here on Tuesday evening.

"Our parents have also started from Lucknow now and will reach Delhi tomorrow morning," he added.

Meanwhile, Dipu has been operated upon and is on life support and ventilator systems, but doctors say his recovery has not been as well as expected.

"The boy could not be identified earlier since his head was bandaged and his face swollen," said Dr MC Mishra, Chief Medical Officer of the Trauma Centre.

Local Taxi - I took with my iphone

License number

Jamia jitters in Cong: ‘we must come clean on police encounter’
D K Singh & Vandita Mishra
New Delhi, October 1 Caught between the exigencies of election-eve politics and the need to repair its abysmal record on internal security, the Congress said today that it needs to address “questions raised” about the September 19 Jamia Nagar encounter in which two alleged terrorists were killed along with an inspector.

This despite the fact that the city’s police come under the Congress-led UPA, the encounter happened in a state run by the party’s Government and Union Home Minister Shivraj Patil was at the Delhi Police headquarters that day.

Party leaders met Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit asking for a judicial probe into the encounter.

Speaking to reporters, AICC general secretary Digvijay Singh said today that “questions have been raised (about the September 19 Jamia Nagar encounter) which have to be addressed.” At the same time, he maintained that this matter was “too sensitive for the party to take a political stand” in the absence of complete facts.
Am hoping this doesn't become standard practice. That any and every instance of police action in 'minority ghttos' should become occasion for demanding and getting away with a judicial probe. Will soon cause law enforcement to shirk and avoid those areas with grim repurcussions for internal security.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

vsudhir wrote: Am hoping this doesn't become standard practice. That any and every instance of police action in 'minority ghttos' should become occasion for demanding and getting away with a judicial probe. Will soon cause law enforcement to shirk and avoid those areas with grim repurcussions for internal security.
BRaman garu speaketh

Campaign to Discredit the Police When They Act Against Jihadi Terrorists - International Terrorism Monitor--Paper No. 451

Unfortunately, in India, there is a systematic disparagement of the police whenever they act against jihadi terrorists. This campaign of disparagement comes not only from some leaders of the Muslim community, but also sections of the so-called secular elite. Our police officers should treat this as an occupational hazard peculiar to India and go ahead with their investigation without worrying about the stones being trown at them from all sides.

http://www.southasiaanalysis.org/%5Cpap ... r2865.html

Well, somerthing to celebrate, I guess. The words of a PM, however weak he may be, mean something.

Posting in full from the Pioneer.
India opposed to all illegal migration:PM

PTI | On Board PM's Special Aircraft

Posted online: Oct. 01 , 2008

India is opposed to all illegal migration into the Country, be it from Bangladesh or elsewhere, and this should not be made a "political issue", Prime Minister Manmohan Singh said on Wednesday.

Stating that illegal migrants constituted a problem, Singh said there is a "complete unity" in the Country that illegal migration is not something that should be encouraged in any manner.

"I would not like this(illegal migration) to become a political issue. It is not an issue that should divide our political parties," he told reporters accompanying him on his return to India after a 10-day visit to the US and France.

"Illegal migrants constitute a problem. Sometimes they can indulge in illegal activities but I do not think it is an issue of controvery or debate. All political parties would like to prevent a situation where large-scale illegal migration takes place," the prime minister said.

Now that the deal is haath me, there will be sudden turn to the center. I was telling another member to watch the next 100 days as INC turns all old opinion on its head.

Ramana I don't understand what you mean when you say "watch the next 100 days as INC turns all old opinion on its head." Can you be more clear ?

Experts please note -

http://www.inc.com/magazine/20081001/ho ... nd-co.html
Today, we're the sole provider for the U.S. Treasury. We supply the Bureau of Engraving and Printing with currency paper that contains security features -- threads, watermarks, and special fibers -- that we've developed in conjunction with the government. We also make currency paper, and in some cases also print the currency, for Sweden, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, India, Paraguay, and a number of African countries. Even with debit cards and credit cards, the global growth of cash is strong, particularly in developing economies. We also make the paper for passports for the U.S. and for some other countries.

We buy raw materials from China, Latvia, Japan, and India. We have a manufacturing facility in China. For something like an office partition, we'll buy fibers from Latvia, ship them to Manchuria to make the component, send it to Michigan, where it's assembled into the finished product, and then it's sent to an office in Bangalore. It kind of makes you wonder if you can't make all of this closer to home, but that's how you compete right now in the world.
Huh - I thought we printed our own currency.
Manu

Post by Manu »

Don't wish to speak for Ramana, but I was kind of hoping for that myself.

INC part of UPA will turn centrist (especially in Election Mode) as the big Exam is over and seemingly, MMS has passed with Distinction.

The UPA seemed like an impotent, powerless body running around like a headless chicken in the face of almost daily terrorist outrages.

Perhaps, now that the insecurity is over, they will make a turn to the center from the left, where they have been firmly ensconced for the past 4 years.
R_Kumar

Post by R_Kumar »

History of INC says something else. Lets see.
Other day I was watching Digvijay singh saying how government should investigate Delhi encounter.

For the INC to redress the damage done to the nation through its indifference to security,from forces within and without the country, will be an almost impossible task.Neither the PM or HM has even made a token "aerial survey" to see Orissa reeling from floods and fire.Action in sending extra paramilirtary forces to douse the fires have come as usual too late and too little.We are told that there is a shortage of paramilitary forces to send to hotspots in the country! What then has the GOI been doing all these years? Other than the N-deal,there has been little else of importance on the mind of this govt.The PM now says that the next PM "if" the INC win the next eelction will be decided later.Very wise,as from all portents,neither will the INC be returned to power nor will he be PM again.Sonia Gsndhi remains hidden from view and speaks as much as the Sphinx. Rahul Gandhi is a novice and will have to display the dynamism of Sanjay Gandhi if he is going to be taken seriously in such a short time.

Newsweek had a recent issue with MMS on the cover,"India Not Shining".It catalogued his failures.Today,no community in India feels safe,from majority Hindus by the indiscriminate serial terror,to the 140 million Muslims,worried about a backlash due to the terrorist acts of some of their youth and now even mainstream Christians,facing a backlash from the acts of zealous evangelists and the controversy over their conversions and foreign funding.The borders of India are porous to the inflitration of hard-core agents from Pak and Bangladesh,acting in concert and using Nepal and other neighbouring countries to slip into India.The wave of serial blasts has become a series in itself,like a travelling circus,the diabolic bombings continue,which though of low intensity,have the highest intensity as far as their effect upon the psychology of the ordinary Indian citizen.

The blasts may have been carried out by our own citizens,but they have a foreign master.We are finally making efforts to locate and arrest the local conspirators,but it is nothing more than a knee-jerk reaction.The ministers of the govt. now mouth the need for a national anti-terror force,but has any action been taken taking the opposition parties and the nation into confidence? We seem paralysed and unable to even speak out frankly with Pak for it to stop its mayhem aimed against India.One member rightly said that Mrs.Gandhi stopped Pak overflights at one time,but that "Mrs.Gandhi" was of different mettle from the current bearer of the same name,who it appears,prefers to remain in "purdah".Yes,Mr.Zardari must be given some time to get to grips with governing his country,but there must be a deadline before India responds with action of its own.He must demonstrate his sincerity and cooperate with the GOI in concrete fashion.While efforts to encourage trade,etc. with Pak is to be applauded,when it comes to the overall idenbtity of the suncontinent through SAARC,there is little to crow about.We have neither a trade or security agreement and the organisation resembles a "headles chicken" in its antics.If Pak cannot stop its anti-India terror,we must then act at several levels,diplomatic and military if need be.We will have to see what the replacement of the ISI chief is going to have on the terror situ in India,but I fear that the timing to coincide with the arrival of the festive season in India,is to cause as much mayhem in the hope of sparking off massive communal violence and subvert India from within by dividing the country on ethno-religious lines.

The US is acting on its own in the FATA/NWFP areas,striking with impunity at Taliban targets of opportunity,fed up with Pak duplicity.In comparison,the GOI refuses to alllow the Indian navy the right to go after pirates off Somalia who have attacked international shipping with impunity,while we crow about our efforts at combating piracy in the Straits of Malacca,actually protecting the USN's backside and relieving its naval forces as they prosecute the war in Iraq and Afghanistan! Somalia has now asked Russia to assist it to intervene against the pirates.

Take even the much touted economic front,inflation is now double-digit,the "trickle-down" of wealth seems to have stopped at the cup of the rich,one magazine had a feature on the wealth of the new desi billionaires,who vulgarly showed off their safes full of pocket watches,the number of luxury limos,yachts and aircraft and property that they possessed,while the ranks of the poor keep on increasing and the farmers' suicides continue on a daily basis.With the global economic meltdown thanks to the greed of US corporate bankers,we have the FM say one day that we "are not affected",even as the rupee loses 15% of its value,contradicting his own PM who says that we cannot not be affected by the global meltdown!

India is a country that now resembles a rudderless ,powerless ship,drifting into dangerous pirate waters,surrounded by the cut-throat "Pirates-from-Pakistan",while fires keep spreading on board as well.The Ides of elections are rapidly approaching when facing inevitable disaster,the passengers will have to decide whether to mutiny and throw overboard the ship's "master" or rather "Mistress-in-hiding",the ship's "spin-doctor" who doles out snake-oil as a remedy for the passenger's scurvy,the sartorially obsessed "first mate",concious only of his elegant uniform and not the seaworthiness of the vessel,the "purser"-who has stopped the rum ration and feeds the passengers not the promised "Chettinad Chicken",but weevil infested dogbiscuits and rotten Kashmiri apples,the engineers-who want only a foreign nuclear reactor to power the drifting tub,and the team of ancient,doddering,ineffective officers and the motley squabbling crew at each others throats most of the time.Unfortunately,the young "midshipman" and "master-apparent" in the crows-nest,cannot see the breakers and reef ahead that will rent the ship asunder as he has tender sealegs,poor vision and little experience of commanding even a bumboat,let alone a giant ULCC that is the "INS India"!

Phillip Sir: Good post.

I have said this before. History will remember these MMS years as the wasted years. They did not seize upon the moment, to make the necessary investments and reform in infrastructure and regulations, internal security is in the dumps, foreign policy has been mortgaged and defence has been left to the dogs.

Has there been any blast today?

Seems like the govt has thrown up its hands since there are almost daily "serial blasts" nowadays...

Anyways:
Namaaz passes off
peacefully in Malegaon
October 2, 2008
Morning on the occasion of Id passed of peacefully on Malegaon's Idgah ground this morning amidst tight police security. The special namaaz traditionally offered by Muslims to celebrate Id began at 9.30 am and wound up within an hour. More than 1,00,000 people offered their prayers.

The police took special measures to ensure a peaceful morning namaaz as rumours about some trouble during the namaaz were doing the rounds since September 29 when a bomb exploded in the busy Bhikku Chowk area, killing five people. The blast vitiated the atmosphere in the textile town, home to some 7 lakh people, majority of who are Muslims.
Earlier on October 1, Inspector General S P Gupta of Nashik Range had assured that Id festivities would pass off peacefully. Two companies of Rapid Action Force, one company of Central Reserve Police Force, two companies of State Reserve Police and Malegaon's Special Forces along with the police's discussions with the religious leaders ensured a peaceful morning Id at the Idgah.
The day after the blast claimed five lives in the Bhikku Chowk area of Malegaon a few TV journalists were roughed by a few locals in that area. As a result, a few media people were on the ground to cover the morning Id at Idgah. Some preferred to stay in a group on terraces of some under construction buildings while some preferred to be on the ground where the action was.Talk of there is safety in number
So, the great Malegaon residents first lynch the policemen and then expect security from them!!! :-? Secularism zindabad..

Well INC under Manmohan Sorry Sonia (Should be called Cong (s), has been opportunistic. It has been mainly to serve extraterritorial interest but occasionally its own, though never of a country called in India. It took help of BSP in the presidential election to get a puppet (who would come in handy in the next Lok Sabha election on whom to call to form a government, if there is even a chance to deny NDA a shot, however illegal, will be exercised) and then dumped BSP. It took help of SP in Newclear deal and then it is going to dump it, it took Left front help to undermine the Indic value system of India and then dumped it.....Needless to say Congress would try some antics, but then ManMohan or Sonia cannot change DNA, if they have a choice 1) Let 100 Indian die (mostly Hindus) or 2) Catch a terrorist belonging to religion of peace who is about to do that tragedy, I am convinced what they will choose. Sorry, Center space has already been filled in India, BJP I guess is no longer Right of Center, It says all the same thing that INC said in 1947-48 and at that time INC under Nehru was centrist. INC of yesteryears is BJP today!!

Have you seen one more difference, During 2001-2004 almost all publications menationed India along with China as the next rising power, now they have politely dropped any reference to India. Get ready for the next poodle
rgds,
Last edited by fanne on 02 Oct 2008 19:08, edited 1 time in total.

Nation could lose battle against terror, says Malimath

Rajesh Singh | New Delhi

'Centre ignoring my panel recommendations'

Justice VS Malimath is a disappointed man. The eminent jurist who headed a committee on criminal justice reforms that recommended far reaching amendments to criminal laws dealing with terror among other crimes, fears the nation could lose its battle against terrorism if tough options were not exercised by the UPA Government.

The former Chief Justice of Karnataka and Kerala High Courts recently met Union Home Minister Shivraj Patil and conveyed his apprehensions, requesting him to act on the panel recommendations without further delay.

Speaking to The Pioneer on Wednesday, Justice Malimath said, "I met the Home Minister to tell him it was not possible to deal with terrorists under existing provisions. Our recommendations for revamping the laws should be brought in force.''

On the Home Minister's response to his appeal, he said, "Shivraj Patil was convinced but expressed helplessness saying the Government would have to take a political call since the views of the allies and the human rights activists had to be considered.''

Justice Malimath said the meeting took place at his initiative as he wanted to brief the Home Minister on the gravity of the developing situation and the urgency for firm and immediate action. "While I had publicly stated my willingness to meet political leaders and explain the need for quick affirmative action, none from the Government responded. So I took the first step,'' he revealed.

The Malimath committee comprising five other members besides Justice Malimath had suggested a series of measures to strengthen the system to provide "justice to victims'' and "protect the innocent.'' The comprehensive report commissioned by the NDA regime assumes importance in the backdrop of the increased terrorist attacks and a debate on ways to tackle the menace.

Strongly refuting the claim by some political leaders that present laws were adequate, he stated, "Today's laws do not ensure conviction. Terrorism has become profitable since terrorists, knowing they cannot be punished put in repeat performances.''

Pointing out that, not only was there a spurt in terrorist attacks but that such attacks were "of an increasingly gruesome nature'', the former Chief Justice advocated a no-holds barred approach against such crimes.

Referring to criticism of his recommendations by human rights activists, Justice Malimath remarked, "Terrorists violate human rights and when the law is set in motion, activists begin demanding the rights of the accused,'' adding he was primarily concerned about victims while the activists had regard for the accused.

The former Chief Justice said the panel had considered the rights of the accused and suggested all rights under the law be put in a Schedule as part of the CrPC.

Justice Malimath's dismay underlines the dithering attitude of the Centre in the face of repeated terror attacks. Neither can it decide on tough legislations nor a revamp of existing criminal laws to combat the menace more effectively. It has been sitting on the panel recommendations for four-and-a-half years since assuming power.

In tandem with Justice Malimath's views, former Union Law Minister Arun Jaitley, during whose tenure the committee was established, favoured immediate implementation of the recommendations and added some of the suggestions had been incorporated in the statutes during the NDA rule. "The Union Home Ministry before whom the matter rests should act promptly and implement the suggestions,'' he told The Pioneer.

The two most important recommendations of the panel having a direct bearing on terrorism-related cases are on `right to silence' and `burden of proof. ' Since Article 20 (3) of the Constitution provides a citizen the right to remain silent during questioning in a trial, the accused get away by simply maintaining silence when questioned since no adverse inference can be drawn. While recognising the right to silence, the panel suggested the court could draw an adverse inference from such silence, and recommended the substitution of section 313 of the CrPC with 313(B) where silence could attract the court's adverse conclusion.

The present concept of `burden of proof' is truly a burden for the investigating agencies and the prosecution in terror-related cases since the accused is considered innocent until proved guilty. The Malimath panel suggested the courts determine the burden of proof based on defence and prosecution statements.

The contentious definition of `proof' which becomes vital in terror-related trials was also considered by the panel. While the Indian Evidence Act does not precisely define `proof,' the standard understanding of proof is one `beyond reasonable doubt.' The panel felt it to be extremely stringent probably because `beyond reasonable doubt' rarely happens and the accused invariably escapes. It suggested replacement of `beyond reasonable doubt' with `clear and convincing' proof that would assist investigations and conviction in terror cases.

The panel suggested the law authorise audio and video statements, confessions and dying declarations, adding Section 25 of Indian Evidence Act be amended to make confessions recorded by the rank of superintendent of police and above as admissible in a court of law. This has been a contentious issue vociferously opposed by human rights activists since it is similar to provisions in the scrapped POTA and equally strongly demanded by those who believe terror can be best fought through tough provisions.

Yet another bone of contention is the recommendation to amend Section 167 of the Code which gives 90 days to the investigating authorities for filing charge-sheet failing which the accused gets bail. Clearly bringing in its fold crimes of terror, the committee suggested the period be extended to 180 days for offences punishable with imprisonment above seven years. The extension would be a boon to agencies probing terror attacks since they find the 90 days an inadequate period to tie up loose ends in a crime that often has inter-State ramifications.

http://www.dailypioneer.com/indexn12.as ... nter_img=4