Let us converge to a common programme. Both of thought/ideology as well as plan of action. We "trust" in our "keepers".

1) By how long the hand has had experience using it, you mean "Lord of the Flies" ?brihaspati wrote:I have had good practice with best possible baitors in the world - commies. Power or money in a hand, shows how long the hand has had experience of using it - those who have not had it for long usually misuse it, and throw it around conspicuously. There are too many Chankyans around - alas no candidate for a Chandragupta Maurya.
Let us converge to a common programme. Both of thought/ideology as well as plan of action. We "trust" in our "keepers".But that does not mean we cannot plan for backups, just in case the "keepers" fall and fail.
Yes, the vision has to be aligned.sukhdeo wrote:3) The question is, core group. Core group has to have a commited bunch of people. But commited to what ? Just saying commited to a "great bharat" is not good enough. Even the two bit neta or the greediest businessman in India is commited to a "great bharat", only their idea of a great bharat is where they can continue to steal. As long as they can steal, they will keep sloganeering and chanting "mera bharat mahan". You have to get at least one step below in details to make sure that when you say, Brihispati, "great bharat", and I say, "great bharat", we both mean the same thing. So, we have to define the common set of values that we will all share and put into effect, if and when we have the power to do so.
Idealism is when your values dictate your road.sukhdeo wrote:The core group has to agree to this common set of values. When Rajesh says, let us lie or cheat or do whatever it takes to get into power, he is talking tactics not shared values. And we all will find that once we articulate a common set of values, the tactics will also have to conform to those, they cant be the tactics of the thugs.
sukhdeo ji,sukhdeo wrote:Besides, lying and cheating can only be a losing tactic for the likes of us, as we are just "wannabe" liers and cheaters, we can never outcompete the originals in that. The originals are psychotic sociopaths, and I am being kind, and we can never better a neta or a babu or a businessman operating India at lying and cheating. We will lose all the time.
RajeshA wrote:Hide your Dharma behind Corruption.
Hide your Corruption behind 'Dharma'.
Thirdly one would have to build up a 'Core Group' around which other groupings can arise - political parties, religious institutions, charities, ngos, citizen interest groups, lobbies, associations, networks, businesses.RajeshA wrote:'Lying' is used to cover up some behavior, which one does not deem desirable to be understood in its intended context.
Well said, sukhdeo.sukhdeo wrote:Our strength will be the common set of values. I propose those common set of values to be hard work, smart work, team work, institution building, honest work, reward in proportion to work, strong disincentive to be "clever", strong disincentive for taking short cuts, strong disincentives to lie and cheat. It is when the moral converges with strength, of convictions and resources and when they both converge with courage, and when the three of those converge with singularity of purpose (arjun style, keeping the eye on the fish) will we come up with great strategy and great tactics and then I would actually feel sorry for our enemies.
The end justifies the means!
The road to hell is paved with good intentions!
In critique of my own words, I would say that there is a danger of the line separating the actor from character of fading or disappearing altogether.Power corrupts, absolute power corrupts absolutely!
Because inside every organ has to work in sync, every organ ought to have full trust in the other, that the other would fulfill its function, would behave in an expected way. Only then can an organism, a party, a group function effectively.brihaspati wrote:Yes, tactically, with the core we are hoping for - all such compromises better be with the non-core elements - inside, absolutely no compromises.
I do not know of successful societies in the world which have been able to resolve such issues between good and evil.sukhdeo wrote: Look at successful societies around the world and in history .
harbans wrote:Indians love Lord Krishna, because they interpret his adopting "unethical" tactics to give each Indian a license to be promiscuous (I dont mean in a sexual sense, but in an ethical sense) all the time and they love it.
Look at successful societies around the world and in history and you will find that as long as these societies were and have been able to resolve this conflict satisfactorily, they were and have been successful.
All the other issues, whether they relate to the intricacies of Hindu philosophy, or our foreign and defence policies, economic policies etc are all secondary and are natural outcomes of how we resolve our core issue. They dont mean a damn, in the context of a flawed core and the results show it. Why do you think, a people who inherited such fantastic philosophical and theological heritage such as ours (with Vedas, our other scriptures, Geeta etc), can have such baseness and evil amongst us ? How is it that having the best engineers in the world, from IIT and other places and best managers (from IIM and other places), we cannot build one highway in India we can be proud of or one water works, or one world class manufactured and natively engineered product ? It is simply because everything is meaningless without a strong core of values and it shows in our highways and our manufactured products, just as examples.
You're misinterpreting everything and everybody here.. You are insuinating everyone here. All our ethos and values.
So instead of me or anyone spending an hour refuting you, why don't you Sukhdeo ji tell us..what is wrong with us? You had Iranians in our dorm laughing at a Khominei cleric..when Khominei was around...wow! I had too lots of Iranians my batch. And i know they were s..hit scared to laugh around at Khominei's clerics like you claim. Where did do your Univ BTW?
Sanku wrote:Sukhdeo, it is impossible to see what your thesis is. If it is that there are issues with India -- yes obviously. If it is that there is good in the rest of the world -- yes obviously.
The primary reason of what you look at has hostility is not hostility, it is a lack of comprehension of what you are saying, since it makes no sense what so ever.
It would be good to put down your central point in 2-3 lines so that can serve as a starting point.
Sounds like a rant to me frankly, and judging by other response you have been getting no one else seems to understand it either.sukhdeo wrote:Do read all my posts just on this page of this thread. Then if you ask me specifically for clarifications, I will make them. In general, I thought I was quite clear and logical, but if you find any logical inconsistencies, please point them out and I will try to respond as best as I can.
Are you a Hindu or a practicing Hindusukhdeo wrote: When you compromise your values, for whatever tactical reason, the danger is, that unless your entire core group consists of individuals with the character of Lord Krishna, anything short of it, is bound to doom the group. Indians love Lord Krishna, because they interpret his adopting "unethical" tactics to give each Indian a license to be promiscuous (I dont mean in a sexual sense, but in an ethical sense) all the time and they love it. To follow Lord Rama would be some much harder.
harbans wrote:Can you honestly say, Harbans, that most Indians today are not forced to break the law in order to survive ? How people rationalize this is by devaluing the law and saying that the laws are bad, which they are, because they are also made or perpetrated by the 1%, but the fact is that no matter how societally acceptable it has become, most people are breaking the law, rather than revolting to change the bad laws, revolting to overthrow the 1% goons.
What I AM saying is that just like in slum dynamics in India or anywhere for that matter, there is no law.
Rubbish. Goons don't run India. India is not an illegal slum. Your analog is flawed.
99% of Indians are now forced to break the laws of the country
Figure right out of your Musharaff.
When you expressed hostility to me, Harbans, I sensed that fear, that your conscience would be forced to be awakened against your natural instinct of survival without making waves and you will have to fight, out of decency buried deep inside your heart.
Rubbish again. My conscience is much more clearer than the clarity you display in the verbosity of your posts.
Then just stay out of it and ignore it. There are thousands of posts that you will understand "better" on this forum, go read them.Sanku wrote:Sounds like a rant to me frankly, and judging by other response you have been getting no one else seems to understand it either.sukhdeo wrote:Do read all my posts just on this page of this thread. Then if you ask me specifically for clarifications, I will make them. In general, I thought I was quite clear and logical, but if you find any logical inconsistencies, please point them out and I will try to respond as best as I can.
Are you ? and since you opened yourself up to this question by asking me that, forgive me for asking, but are you a "True Hindu" ? and do you practice "True Hinduism" ?Acharya wrote:Are you a Hindu or a practicing Hindusukhdeo wrote: When you compromise your values, for whatever tactical reason, the danger is, that unless your entire core group consists of individuals with the character of Lord Krishna, anything short of it, is bound to doom the group. Indians love Lord Krishna, because they interpret his adopting "unethical" tactics to give each Indian a license to be promiscuous (I dont mean in a sexual sense, but in an ethical sense) all the time and they love it. To follow Lord Rama would be some much harder.
I am. So now can you answer the question since your interpretation on Krishna raised the flag.sukhdeo wrote:
Are you ? and since you opened yourself up to this question by asking me that, forgive me for asking, but are you a "True Hindu" ? and do you practice "True Hinduism" ?
Acharya,The problem with compromises is that once you start making them, you get into a habit which you never can come out of. When you compromise your values, for whatever tactical reason, the danger is, that unless your entire core group consists of individuals with the character of Lord Krishna, anything short of it, is bound to doom the group. Indians love Lord Krishna, because they interpret his adopting "unethical" tactics to give each Indian a license to be promiscuous (I dont mean in a sexual sense, but in an ethical sense) all the time and they love it. To follow Lord Rama would be some much harder. But in truth, there is very little difference between Lord Krishna and Lord Rama. Lord Krishna only used "unethical" tactics at the most .1% of the time, on an exceptional basis and even there he was able to get away without polluting his entire character and cause, because he was presumably a God. But Indians love to emphasize only the .1% and not the 99.9% of Lord Krishna's life which was ethical to the core, full of tragedy and difficulty, tremendous courage and grace under fire, tremendously giving and generous, unbending commitment to Dharma, everlasting commitment to his people(Yadavas) and friends, very hard working, ability to come up from scratch and amazing ability to forgive, not to mention perseverence and resilience(Dwarika was rebuilt countless times, due to natural disasters etc). All these qualities are good qualities to emulate and perhaps can become the values of our core group.
Just as Indians dont emphasize the positive 99.9% of Lord Krishna, if you adopt any tactics, which even hint of being of unethical nature, even the strongest amongst us within the core group will take that as a license to be unethical all the time, regardless of whether it is "inside" or "outside", because after all, we are Indians. In fact, because we are Indians, we are more likely to use unethical tactics on the "inside", as it will be easier to cheat each other than the "outsider" who is well fortifide and well defended and who will not allow anyone to take advantage of him, whether he be a neta, babu, businessman outsider or a Islamist, Western prosylithizing outsider. Look around you. Indians like water always take the path of least resistance and therefore always are unethical with the weak and amongst each other, while staying subservient to the "outsider". Thats why we commit fratricide and suicide all the time and even manage to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.
Therefore, I suggest we go the straight forward way. Have good values, practice them and we will find strength. Take the example of Gandhi. I am not advocating Gandhian values. But look at this life. He was at least perceived to be not a hypocrite. If he preached sacrifice, he lived like a pauper. If he preached against caste, he cleaned his own toilets. The image he had was that of a man who had high values and who practiced it. There was no sunlight between values and how he lived. At least that was the perception. He never seemingly condoned unethical practices, even in adversity. Yet he came from nowhere to become the most powerful man in India. His power eminated from the fact that Indians who were sick of hypocrites, saying one thing, doing another, found someone who had some semblance of consistency between his values and actions. That is the power we need to tap, not necessary to practice what Gandhi practised, but our own values that we come up with which may be more suited for the needs of today and the future. But the consistency and lack of hypocracy has to be visible and eminate from the core group.
Even in practical terms, once unethical practices come to be perfected and accepted within our core group to advance a just cause, even a great cause, because the battle is long and intergenerational, people will not be able to sustain the strain of constantly differentiating between tactics to be used against outsiders and tactics to be used inside and ultimately crack and use them on the inside, thus sabotaging our own cause and leading us to defeat.
Lastly, as evidence on the ground, I present India. Look at India after independence. We have tried "unethics" for 65 years. Look where that has led us. Let us try something different now.
Sorry does not work like that. Since you are new here it will help to post with clarity and in simple terms. Giving links and quotes also helps since others have already done the debate and discussion in the web world.sukhdeo wrote:
Acharya,
To answer your question about whether I am a Hindu, let me say that whether I am a Hindu or not, can a non Hindu or a non Indic to be more precise, write what I wrote above in the quote ?
You conveniently only quoted the first part of my quote on Lord Kishna. You left out the next lines, which only a "Krishna Bhagat" can write.
Acharya wrote:Sorry does not work like that. Since you are new here it will help to post with clarity and in simple terms. Giving links and quotes also helps since others have already done the debate and discussion in the web world.sukhdeo wrote:
Acharya,
To answer your question about whether I am a Hindu, let me say that whether I am a Hindu or not, can a non Hindu or a non Indic to be more precise, write what I wrote above in the quote ?
You conveniently only quoted the first part of my quote on Lord Kishna. You left out the next lines, which only a "Krishna Bhagat" can write.
If nobody knows who you are and you are commenting on my Dharma then there is a problem. It is upto to you to clarify from where you come from, to analyse the dharma. If it is not a serious discussion and your posts are just out of some random thinking then you can say that.sukhdeo wrote:
Sorry, in my mind it doesnt work as you suggest. What I am is not important. Only my thoughts. They should stand on their own merit, regardless of who I am. If they dont, please criticise, without getting to who I am. I only put my thoughts at stake here, not who I am. My thoughts are open to criticism and debate, not who I am. Who I am is non negotiable as far as I am concerned and not important for anyone else. One human being is not important in the whole scheme of things, only his thoughts and his deeds are.
USA may think of taking the type of approach it thinks works with the Saudis. It can maintain military presence but put up an unpopular and relatively weak civilian regime which will remain dependent on US military support. But they will encourage the Islamization of the regime along the lines of the Saudi arrangement. This can buy them some time, but withdrawal seems to be on the cards.Chiron wrote
What might be the damage to Unkil's Af-Pak policy if Bhaarat decides to test the Bums today?
Can Unkil afford delay in TSP's demise and disintegration?
On the contrary, if devguru's hypothesis turns out to be true and if Unkil really wants to get the hell out of that place, they must have presumed that PRC will fill in the vacuum.
If Unkil plans to stay on Af-Pak for 20-30 years more, and is forcing Bhaarat to sign the treaties, then the threat of Bum-test should suffice. This news process will accelerate the disintegration of TSP.
If it is in Unkil's mind to leave Af-Pak, then Bhaarat will do the actual testing asap.
There is no contradiction. There is a root and then evolution and there is cross fertilization. A common root does not take away anything neither is cross fertilization impure.shaardula wrote:i am totally against negating evolution of peoples in search of some uber-purity.
Perfectly correct. The problem is manufactured terms such as OBC and manufactured class differences using these colonial British constructed social classes. These social engineering taking all these history is the biggest problem.Sanku wrote: i am totally against negating evolution of peoples in search of some uber-purity.
There is no contradiction. There is a root and then evolution and there is cross fertilization. A common root does not take away anything neither is cross fertilization impure.
Meanwhile -- what is considered OBC is a modern fad -- many of these guys were Rulers, warriors and Kshatriya's, the Brits came and turned them all into OBCs (Ramana's quote) with external pressures gone Indic society is returning to its old dynamics.