N^3 ji, but ... this prof Chari can use very impressive words in his titles of scholastic articles...I see that the latest fizzlexpert conveniently omits the Khetolai Certainty
.Pokharan II: The Incestuous Debate
N^3 ji, but ... this prof Chari can use very impressive words in his titles of scholastic articles...I see that the latest fizzlexpert conveniently omits the Khetolai Certainty
.Pokharan II: The Incestuous Debate
Ah. I c.Gagan wrote:Err,NRao wrote:N^3,
What is Gagan talking about?
Merely that the yield was controlled because of the proximity of Khetolai.
The tests were a success.
N^3 saar has posted this several times and the jingo junta has posted the conspiracy theories even more number of times.
No intention to rip any person, Note that there is "FWIW" qualification, nothing wrong in getting some back ground information on the person.Sanku wrote:
Meanwhile Amber G et al. It would be good to not shoot the messenger. This appears to have become way to common here where we are too eager to rip the person apart and talk of the message.
From BRF archives about CORTEXSanku wrote: Also why does CORRTEX have to be cumulative?
Different cables for different shafts would be used. Surely the destruction of cables in different shafts did not show any interference (like seismic signature)
Here a cable is lowered and gets crushed during the test. You measure the radius of the hole by measuring the cable length. Then you back calculate what should be the yield that causes the cable to be of a particular length
FAS org has pretty substantial info on nuke tests and measurements for arm chair bombermans like us ; it refers to use of fiber optic cables for relaying information from detectors (visible/x-ray) placed in the cavity and even around the test site to the measuring stations ; idea is to relay the information before the blast destroys the everything from the device to the transmitting media itself.K Sanathanan also says DRDO carried out fiber optic based "advanced tests", those I took to mean DRDOs version of hydrodynamic testing/CORRTEX -- but right now does not have a clear official confirmation of my understanding yet.
Yes, but CORRTEX is also touted to be the second most accurate method after radiochem, I guess they would have set up one for each shaft, but as you said, there is no official statement saying "we had CORRTEX for each shaft" there is a semi-official press article which was supporting BARCs position which made this statement about CORRTEX not working out.negi wrote: Given that seismic waves travel around anywhere between 3-8km/sec approx (depending on the type) I just brought up this possibility of CORTEX being used to measure the cumulative YIELD for there is no public statement disclosing CORTEX measurements of the TN or any other device tested under POK-II.
Actually fiber optics can be used for hydrodynamic measurements too, this was posted and discussed a while back as well. (in addition to all the other things you said)FAS org has pretty substantial info on nuke tests and measurements for arm chair bombermans like us ; it refers to use of fiber optic cables for relaying information from detectors (visible/x-ray) placed in the cavity and even around the test site to the measuring stations ; idea is to relay the information before the blast destroys the everything from the device to the transmitting media itself.
This certainly does not add value to debate, this is a clear use of sarcasm and mockery rather than meaningful opposition to the content.Amber G wrote:his prof Chari can use very impressive words in his titles of scholastic articles...
Pokharan II: The Incestuous Debate
Because the seismic measurements were measuring total yield and not only S1 yield. So if the total yeild has to be scaled down (since one of its components S2 is scaled down) that automatically throws the yield calculation out of sorts and then the equations have to be rebalanced again.Even Santhanam says S1 is the issue, so how does that impact S1? In fact from the Toman equations it should not impact it at all!!! (I am glad you did not bring up the other three devices though. )
Amber GThis certainly does not add value to debate, this is a clear use of sarcasm and mockery rather than meaningful opposition to the content.Amber G wrote:his prof Chari can use very impressive words in his titles of scholastic articles...
Pokharan II: The Incestuous Debate
Any issues with the title (which I personally think is quite a good approximation of the issue at hand) can be handled in words describing what the issue is rather than barbs of this sort.
I am sorry but I will have to maintain that this is in line with "shooting the messenger" tactics.
. and Incest means: "Of, involving, or suggestive of incest
Please go ahead and explain it.Sexual relations between persons who are so closely related that their marriage is illegal or forbidden by custom."
Unless you know something that I do not, POK-I data can come in use only in pre-testing phase. Specifically to determine the depth (and therefore crater size, etc). The soil determines most of these metrics.Because the seismic measurements were measuring total yield and not only S1 yield. So if the total yeild has to be scaled down (since one of its components S2 is scaled down) that automatically throws the yield calculation out of sorts and then the equations have to be rebalanced again.
For a Professor who claims a voice in a journal brought out by the "Institute of Conflict and Peace Studies" the RTI argument is a remarkably obvious strawman that is set up only to bring it down in the next sentence. Any Indian citizen is welcome to use the RTI and Prof Chari should really have used it himself. However the RTI act clearly excludes the revelation of data pertaining to national security. The failure of an RTI would in no way support the professor's case and the inclusion of that paragraph adds nothing to the overall level of the article in terms of excellence.This multitude of doubts, in fairness, requires an
independent analysis of the TN test yield. A RTI
application could be filed. It would be interesting to
see if the Government denies this information on the
‘national security’ pretext.
Qaid-e-Duh!It was estimated in the West that around a 25 kiloton yield had accrued based on seismic data.
DittoWhat the author heard from privileged sources at the time was that the first-stage boosted fission trigger functioned, but the second stage fusion reaction did not occur, resulting in a low yield of 20-25 KT being recorded.
Well privileged sources are often emails whose contents do not come under the purview of the RTI act, but are protected by the GFU (Go F.Yourself) act.enqyoob wrote: How can mere mortals, and sdres at that, counter such authoritative statements? I fear that if I post again my analysis of the "I heard from privileged sources who prefer to remain anonymous because they were violating the official secrets act" claim, will fly left and right to "Mr. Seetal", "Webmaster" etc. again, and cause much grief to more postors.
BALASORE: Amidst China’s concern over yet-to-be-tested longest range Agni-V missile, India
is poised to testfire an Agni variant missile to further strengthen the technological know-how.
Preparations are on a war-footing in the integrated test range (ITR) off Orissa coast for launching of 2000-km plus range Agni-II missile shortly. “The missile is scheduled to be fired from the Wheelers Island based test range facilities any time in-between November 3 and 8,” a source at the ITR told ‘Express’ today. Recently, China expressed concern over the scheduled test of 5000-km range Agni-V missile in late 2010 or early 2011 as the missile has the capability to strike most of the Chinese cities.
“India is building its minimum nuclear deterrence and the missiles are not targeted towards any of its hostile neighbours, including China and Pakistan. The 700-km range Agni-I along with Agni-II and the 3000-km range Agni-III form the triad of the country’s minimum, credible nuclear deterrence,” said a defence scientist.
Defence sources said the Agni-II missile, which was first testfired in 1999, is 21-meter long and 1.3 meter in diameter. It weighs 19 tonne and is designed to carry “special weapons” nuclear payload of over 1,000 kg. It has already been inducted into the Indian army and will be used by 555th missile group of the army.
This missile is part of the Integrated Guided Missile Development Programme (IGMDP). The other missiles include Prithvi, Trishul, Akash and Nag.
Agni-II has appropriate on-board thrusters fitted on the second stage of the missile. Both stages of Agni-II have a solid propulsion system which allows the missile to be mobile and flexible.
“Scientists are working hard as the last test of Agni-II missile was a failure. During the test, the missile instead of traveling on the pre-determined trajectory started wandering mid-way. So this time they don’t want to take any chances. The missiles will be tested by the Indian Army,” informed the source.
Agni-II is a ready-to-fire missile with a launch time of about 15 minutes. Experts said having South China as the main target, the missile is designed to carry a one-tonne weapon based on the “boosted fission device” exploded in Pokhran in 1998. “The hidden tie-up between China and Pakistan has provided enough reason for the defence and security strategists to doubt the intentions of both the countries, potential nuclear powered neighbours. And the tie-up will definitely boost the arms race in South East Asian region further endangering the already fragile security scenario,” said experts.
Arre Allah!Defence sources said the Agni-II missile, which was first testfired in 1999, is 21-meter long and 1.3 meter in diameter.
Again Arre Allah! As per official statement in 1998 there were only Fission device, Thermonuclear device and other sub-kt devices tested. By putting the boosted fission device quotes is he implying that as TN device ?Experts said having South China as the main target, the missile is designed to carry a one-tonne weapon based on the “boosted fission device” exploded in Pokhran in 1998.
Very interesting. A wholescale switchover to mav's side then?shiv wrote:Well privileged sources are often emails whose contents do not come under the purview of the RTI act, but are protected by the GFU (Go F.Yourself) act.enqyoob wrote: How can mere mortals, and sdres at that, counter such authoritative statements? I fear that if I post again my analysis of the "I heard from privileged sources who prefer to remain anonymous because they were violating the official secrets act" claim, will fly left and right to "Mr. Seetal", "Webmaster" etc. again, and cause much grief to more postors.
Surely you know that usage is figurative? And the closeness and marriage are terms related to organizations and relations are organizational relations?Amber G. wrote: Anyway, I did not think meaningful opposition to the content was warranted as the title was rather silly...
-. and Incest means: "Of, involving, or suggestive of incestSexual relations between persons who are so closely related that their marriage is illegal or forbidden by custom."
Please look at the context the figures being talked about are readings from sensors and not total yield alone.Shiv wrote:it is alleged that the DRDO figures for the S2 fission device were accepted, but not that of the TN device. That is patently untrue
Well I was under the impression that the data is also used for correlating the cumulative yield to seismic signature during the test itself. Again it has everything to do with the items you talked about but also to characterize the exact mb equation w.r.t. yield.NRao wrote:Unless you know something that I do not, POK-I data can come in use only in pre-testing phase. Specifically to determine the depth (and therefore crater size, etc). The soil determines most of these metrics.
Does this mean that the blanket around the boosted-fission/fusion device was indeed fissile and not inert at all?others urged that the passage of years and availability of open
data had enabled Indian scientists to fashion a low-yield TN
device; it was triggered by a fission core with a fissile
‘blanket’ around it to provide the second stage fusion
reaction.
I don’t think it means to say that pusher/tamper (Third Stage) is made up of fissile material..Sanku wrote:From the article above by Shri Chari
Does this mean that the blanket around the boosted-fission/fusion device was indeed fissile and not inert at all?others urged that the passage of years and availability of open
data had enabled Indian scientists to fashion a low-yield TN
device; it was triggered by a fission core with a fissile
‘blanket’ around it to provide the second stage fusion
reaction.
Precisely, so there are only two possibilities (since sloika is single stage as you say)dinesha wrote:I don’t think it means to say that pusher/tamper (Third Stage) is made up of fissile material..Sanku wrote:
Does this mean that the blanket around the boosted-fission/fusion device was indeed fissile and not inert at all?
May be he thinks that S1 was a primitive Sloika design.. but then Sloika is a single stage device..
Or... he does not know the subject matter.. (No disrespect and no attack to the messenger intended)
Conclude whatever you want... since your (et al) main conclusions are already drawn prior to post 1 of thread 1 “BARC and DAE has failed miserably and India has failed to maintain credible deterrence.”Sanku wrote:
Assuming for a moment that he is not definitely wrong (since the other points are all correct, let us suspend judgment on this point for a moment) -- this is at least a first open source claim that there was a third stage, which is also "somewhat credible" (by which I mean that Shri Chari may or may not be wrong, but cant be laughed off)
Interesting.
I suppose common sense says that if folks believe and support certain parts of his article then they would also believe and support this part. And why not? We've had a former AEC boss and one of the fizzle sides champion fighters, among others, also calling for international review.They need to be placed before a peer group from India and/or abroad to ascertain the truth, which is the accepted tradition to resolve scientific controversies.{So this great analyst thinks this is just a scientific controversy??? You know he missed a bargain, I had the Howrah Bridge to sell cheap!}
That truly can not be countered, just as no one can counter that I had a discussion with little green men from mars, since that is a assertion, only based on one persons opinion, on a internet fora, not backed up ANY public domain source or science.dinesha wrote:
Fizzle experts have no counter to N3’s Khetolai arguments and already discounted the “scaling up of the boosted” capabilities.
That is your view alone, the other view is that all the pieces fit in a perfect pattern if you chose route 1, the jumbled and non-substantiated issues etc keep happening because the data points are being forced fit into a different picture.Conclusions based on jumbled and non-substantiated argument is of no value and does not warrant any authority.
That whole approach to me is so wrong, that to me tells "we are convinced that it sizzled now lets bash up any arguments that come its way"I guess KS needs to publish fresh views (if any) so that it can be rebutted to the finality..
Just curious, what kind of data would "conclude a sizzle"? That is apart from the fact that all the head of two governments, BARC, DAE a former and highly respected President have said it was a sizzle.Today, short of belief in one section of GoI (not even the whole GoI any more) the fact remains that there is no data to conclude a sizzle.
One word -- Arihant.amit wrote:There is at least one point which this gentleman Chari has made which is not the first such open source demand from the fizzle camp. And that is:
They need to be placed before a peer group from India and/or abroad to ascertain the truth, which is the accepted tradition to resolve scientific controversies.{So this great analyst thinks this is just a scientific controversy??? You know he missed a bargain, I had the Howrah Bridge to sell cheap!}
Hardly, there is no 0 or 1. Mixing silver with 24 K gold reduces its caratage but does not make it equal to that of silver in one shot.Disclaimer: It is generally accepted that in speculative articles such as this one, the credibility (or otherwise) is determined by the least credible point in the article. The lowest common denominator if you so will.
Actually even if KS does not say anything ever, he has already broken the mantle of sizzle.But then I'm not like a drowning man clutching at straws - a position that KS supporters have been reduced to on account of the fact that the other shoe is taking an inordinately long time to drop
That truly can not be countered, just as no one can counter that I had a discussion with little green men from mars, since that is a assertion, only based on one persons opinion, on a internet fora, not backed up ANY public domain source or science.dinesha wrote:
Fizzle experts have no counter to N3’s Khetolai arguments and already discounted the “scaling up of the boosted” capabilities.
That is your view alone, the other view is that all the pieces fit in a perfect pattern if you chose route 1, the jumbled and non-substantiated issues etc keep happening because the data points are being forced fit into a different picture.Conclusions based on jumbled and non-substantiated argument is of no value and does not warrant any authority.
That whole approach to me is so wrong, that to me tells "we are convinced that it sizzled now lets bash up any arguments that come its way"I guess KS needs to publish fresh views (if any) so that it can be rebutted to the finality..
The above is not data in any shape or form, they are claims or assertions.amit wrote:Just curious, what kind of data would "conclude a sizzle"? That is apart from the fact that all the head of two governments, BARC, DAE a former and highly respected President have said it was a sizzle.Today, short of belief in one section of GoI (not even the whole GoI any more) the fact remains that there is no data to conclude a sizzle.
Sanku wrote:The above is not data in any shape or form, they are claims or assertions.
I have already posted some data which would conclude that it was a sizzle.
The simplest and easily sharable non secret data would be that of Pokharan soil mechanics confirmed by a independent soil mech group.
Sorry for the error, I meant to say that I have already posted what kind of data would prove sizzle.amit wrote:Sanku,
You may have posted data to claim fizzle (you just did blasphemy and typed sizzle! )
Precisely. And I find the situation to be total disaster.So it all boils down to, whom do you believe KS or RC, nah?
Actually I cant claim credit, Austin and Singha AFAIK had pretty early on laid out a nice and clean scheme to bring Russians in the picture with minimal interference and sort the matter out (one based on test and one without one)Now (correct me if I'm assuming something that you did not intend to imply) we know that the Russians helped a lot with the Arihant. Are you suggesting that we have Russian referees to look at the data and decide if it was a fizzle or sizzle?
I hope not otherwise I'd have to do
Good for you otherwise you need to be able to live up to the claim that you have demonstrated that you can disagree without loosing your cool right.Now I'd call all this very creative arguments - but that's because I'm in a good mood.
How does 2 follow from 1?1) That would rule out the Pokharan test range for all future nuclear bomb tests as
2) anyone who knows the mechanics would be able to determine the accurate yield from sesmic signature.
Like I said and suspected!Sanku wrote:Actually I cant claim credit, Austin and Singha AFAIK had pretty early on laid out a nice and clean scheme to bring Russians in the picture with minimal interference and sort the matter out (one based on test and one without one)
I really liked their ideas.
I just happen to be someone with too much time at hand and so who just keeps picking up pieces of info from here and there and bringing it together
So yes, the option of involving Russians is one of the many meaningful possible options to solve the present mess.
Cant be laughed away, at the same time, not necessarily something WHICH IS TOTALLY CENTRAL to the argument.
Sanku,And anyway aren't we saying "no more tests are needed anyway" (as per RC)
Anyone who knows the structure of the Pokharan soil structure can correctly interpret seismic data. I though that was established a long time ago.How does 2 follow from 1?
amit wrote:Like I said and suspected!Sanku wrote:Actually I cant claim credit, Austin and Singha AFAIK had pretty early on laid out a nice and clean scheme to bring Russians in the picture with minimal interference and sort the matter out (one based on test and one without one)
I really liked their ideas.
I just happen to be someone with too much time at hand and so who just keeps picking up pieces of info from here and there and bringing it together
So yes, the option of involving Russians is one of the many meaningful possible options to solve the present mess.
Cant be laughed away, at the same time, not necessarily something WHICH IS TOTALLY CENTRAL to the argument.
But have you considered something?
What if John Snow/Umrao Das is right and it is a US design (faulty) bomb?
Kind of complicates matters right?
To which fizzle expert counters:dinesha wrote:
Ah! See how easy that was? Just declare that "it was based on one person's opinion, on a internet fora".That truly can not be countered, just as no one can counter that I had a discussion with little green men from mars, since that is a assertion, only based on one persons opinion, on a internet fora, not backed up ANY public domain source or science.
That is no more than an individuals statement of belief. To which he or she is entitled no doubt but no more.
Yes dear Sanku, you can expect me to ask for facts and not settle for shibboleths.Sanku wrote:As I said dear Amit, I am very well aware by now what to expect from you.
N^3 I agree with you 400 per cent!This thread is so much fun.