Click here to go to Home Page
BHARAT RAKSHAK INDIAN LAND FORCES INDIAN NAVY INDIAN AIR FORCE
Bharat-Rakshak.com does not necessarily endorse the views and opinions voiced on these forums, and cannot be held responsible for the content of sites linked from these pages. The opinions expressed under these pages are those of the people who post them and in no way constitutes those of Bharat-Rakshak.com or its Webmasters.

It is currently 22 Nov 2009 04:14 am

All times are UTC + 5:30 hours

[CAUTION: You will be starting a new thread!]
Reply to topic
 [ 1393 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 31, 32, 33, 34, 35  Next
 Post subject: Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military
PostPosted: 03 Nov 2009 05:09 pm 

That mask across the face really adds to the attitude the guy conveys through his eyes.

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2009 05:36 pm 

soumik wrote:
That mask across the face really adds to the attitude the guy conveys through his eyes.

i agree with shiv, there are two women in that unit

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2009 06:17 pm 

^^^ Is it what is under the patka?

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2009 06:35 pm 

They are not women, c'mon guys. No mazak please. :D

Look at their hands, look at their demeanor as they stand, look at the face as a whole, and look at the statistics which say that India has not deployed women in hostile situations like the kashmir counter insurgency as frontline soldiers.

These guys are RR troopers with the Tavors TAR 21s with UBGLs.

Men men men :)

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2009 12:39 am 

India actually has deployed women in hostile areas - but not necessarily in hostile situations developing in those areas. We have seen so many pics - BSF at the India-Pak borders. Women on security duty in J&K. Women in UN missions.

I am glad to see women volunteering and being employed and covering their faces makes eminent sense. i just wonder if the Tavor is just the right size and weight for a smaller built person to use.

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2009 01:35 am 

^^^ Shivji, aapne unke Mardaangi ko lalkaara hai! :evil:

And whats with your location?

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2009 02:29 am 

As much as I see and appreciate these images, I continue to get apalled at the lack of true helmet protection for our Jawans. It just seems like we do not care about it, or the Jawans are supplied, and they do not care about it. And yet we complain, perhaps rightfully so of serious casualties.

We have got to do better.

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2009 03:10 am 

atma wrote:
As much as I see and appreciate these images, I continue to get apalled at the lack of true helmet protection for our Jawans. It just seems like we do not care about it, or the Jawans are supplied, and they do not care about it. And yet we complain, perhaps rightfully so of serious casualties.

We have got to do better.

http://www.securemobileindia.com/patka.htm

Also see
http://www.militaryphotos.net/forums/sh ... p?t=124994
The bullet-proof patka (Sikh head-dressing) helmets, provide comprehensive head protection. The patka helmets provide protection against fragmentation munitions and low velocity bullets. The bullet-proof patka helmets have been exclusively designed for the Indian Army, paramilitary forces and various state police departments. They hava a ballistic strip manufactured from a high-density, die-pressed phantom steel. Cushioning material is used in the inner lining of the patka helmets for additional comfort.
The patka helmets have a distinct advantage over standard bullet-proof helmets. Stadard bullet-proof helmets provide protection against 9mm weapons, whereas our patka helmets give protection against AK-47 to the forehead and rest of the head area.

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2009 09:28 am 

in urban COIN it makes huge sense to deploy women. there will be civilians present, women and children. in light if islamic sentiment (and also general indian sentiment) women dealing with women is always better. however, we cannot send our women soldiers and police in without arms and protection, makes sense for them to be heavily armed and ready to kick musharaffs

PostPosted: 05 Nov 2009 05:58 am 

Indigenously built ship Vijit dedicated to the Coast Guard in Karwar on Wednesday. It would help in intensifying patrolling in coastal areas. DH photo

PostPosted: 05 Nov 2009 12:59 pm 

That is the shiplift there.
Is this ship a new construction? Are they shipbuilding activities at Karwar or just repair? I thought it was the latter only.

PostPosted: 05 Nov 2009 02:55 pm 

Check out this awesome pic of tank-ex. If IA wants a lighter tank component to its armored forces here you go. I love the new angled turret front. ( Spits on T-90).

http://www.picturesindia.com/media/occasions/14_000093.jpg

PostPosted: 05 Nov 2009 03:18 pm 

Gagan wrote:
That is the shiplift there.
Is this ship a new construction? Are they shipbuilding activities at Karwar or just repair? I thought it was the latter only.

The vessel was designed and built by Goa Shipyard limited (GSL).... More info here

Better pic, national flag is visible unlike in the previous one

PostPosted: 05 Nov 2009 05:14 pm 

Another angle of the Tank Ex at Defence expo 2008...

Added later.
Has anyone ever seen or heard of the light specialist vehicle???

Last edited by Bala Vignesh on 05 Nov 2009 05:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: 05 Nov 2009 05:16 pm 

What missile is this supposedly indigenous seeker for, AAD? http://i34.tinypic.com/289f09w.jpg

PostPosted: 05 Nov 2009 07:22 pm 

Bala Vignesh wrote:
Another angle of the Tank Ex at Defence expo 2008...

Added later.
Has anyone ever seen or heard of the light specialist vehicle???

It was the Tata product competing for an Indian army requirement and was up against the likes of Mahindra Axe. Apparently no updates/results have been forthcoming from the MoD after having extensively trialled the competitors over a year ago. Think of it as a desi Humvee.

A detailed brochure was available earlier on the Tata Defence Solutions website, it must be there still.

PostPosted: 05 Nov 2009 09:12 pm 

Weapons captured from suspected militants are displayed during a seminar on Counter Terrorism Operations organized by the Red Horn Division of the Indian Army, in Rangia, about 50 kilometers (31 miles) west of Gauhati, India, Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2009. The seminar was organized to examine the contemporary issues related to the counter insurgency operations in Assam state.

An officer (R) of Indian Air Force (IAF) Special Forces "Garuds" talks with a U.S. Air force "Special Operation Forces" officer during 'Cope-India-09', a joint exercise between the IAF and the U.S. Air Force in the northern Indian city of Agra, October 19, 2009. A six-day joint exercise begins here on Monday.

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 02:38 pm 

An Indian Army soldier lowers a flag at sunset at the Tawang War Memorial, made in the memory of 2,420 Indian soldiers who lost their lives in the 1962 India-China war, in Tawang, in the northeastern Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh, Friday, Nov. 6, 2009. Buddhist monks and nuns spruced up their monasteries and hung up welcome banners and prayer flags Friday in anticipation of the Dalai Lama's contentious visit to this remote Indian town near the Tibetan frontier. China has strongly protested the Dalai Lama's visit starting Sunday to the Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh, which lies at the heart of a long-running border dispute between the two Asian powers.

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 04:45 pm 

shyamd wrote:
Weapons captured from suspected militants are displayed during a seminar on Counter Terrorism Operations organized by the Red Horn Division of the Indian Army, in Rangia, about 50 kilometers (31 miles) west of Gauhati, India, Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2009. The seminar was organized to examine the contemporary issues related to the counter insurgency operations in Assam state.

Anyone recognize the gun in this photo??? seems rather crude...

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 04:54 pm 

Bala Vignesh wrote:
shyamd wrote:

Anyone recognize the gun in this photo??? seems rather crude...

Looks like a modern version of "Hatta"

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 04:56 pm 

Seems the Garud and the American are having an argument, in the 2nd and 3rd pics!!

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 05:01 pm 

Venkarl Sir,

Could you please enlighten me about the hatta...

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 05:09 pm 

Venkarl wrote:
Looks like a modern version of "Hatta"

Does it mean a country-made pistol also known as "katta" in U.P. ?

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 05:21 pm 

oops yeah "Katta"..seeing it after 7 yrs...forgive my memory...not only in UP...they are favorites among adivasis in Bihar too...I saw those kinds in Ranchi....they used to cut atlas cycle frames for barrel...that visible welding reminds me of katta

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 05:39 pm 

Ok... I've only heard of those but never actually seen one...

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 05:53 pm 

Venkarl wrote:
oops yeah "Katta"..seeing it after 7 yrs...forgive my memory...not only in UP...they are favorites among adivasis in Bihar too...I saw those kinds in Ranchi....they used to cut atlas cycle frames for barrel...that visible welding reminds me of katta

I have seen them too, these are very unreliable . Was this captured from a maowadi.. why would a Jihadi use this

Venkarl sir can u send me a email @ ramprasad dot yamijala at gmail...I am from Ranchi too

sorry for OT

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 06:30 pm 

Bala Vignesh wrote:
Ok... I've only heard of those but never actually seen one...

going OT here but if you have done your schooling in U.P. you will definetly come across one of these in your lifetime :) .... as almost every school brawl where the protagonists have some "muscle" backing (in the form of elder brothers, chachas, mamas et al) gets escalated and sooner or later someone pulls out a "katta" for showing off how serious/crazy they are ... sometimes if things get pushed too far, someone fires one of these things and then either the guy who shoots or the one who is shot at lands up in the hospital (depending upon the quality and craftsmanship of the katta in question) ... :lol:

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 06:34 pm 

most of the illegal arms in a large part of east to central India comes from munger in bihar.
munger serves as the armoury for the maoists, UP/bihar mafia and most organised crimelords in the neighbouring states like WB, jharkhand etc.

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 06:38 pm 

Poor laborers in Bihar go to the big goons who run these arms factories in the forests and small villages. The laborers have to work for ~3months and are kept in a safe house within the compound of the factory. They are not allowed to go outside or be in contact with anyone. The factory then shifts location after the 3month stretch. The workers are paid quite well, but anyone stepping out of line = = death.

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 07:42 pm 

The two Tavor bearers in the pics above (link below) could be wimmens
viewtopic.php?p=765358#p765358

Nope. :mrgreen:

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2009 07:56 pm 

That weapon looks a bit like the Croatian Agram 2000.

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2009 05:55 am 

A question
I know about the katta. Fairly common amongst goons in UP. Depending on the cost, they may vary from cheap one-shot variants to revolver style six-shooters. But this one looks like a "sub-machine gun" katta. What is a katta doing in the hands of terrorists?

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2009 07:55 am 

Inspired by Sterling para?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tiNkmivkSqc

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2009 01:19 pm 

for heavens sake - its not a katta

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2009 01:52 pm 

The poor welding used in the weapon's manufacture along with the overall aesthetics of the gun could mean that it was probably manufactured in the (in)famous gun bazaar in Darra Adam Khel, Pakistan. For further info http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/5066860.stm

PostPosted: 08 Nov 2009 08:36 pm 

Hi all

sometime ago.. someone posted pictures of an army post in sikkim or somwhere in North.
One of the pictures showed a board which contained the word going Indian Vertically down.
it was centred on the board.

Intersecting it horizontally were the names for our major religions..
Hindu
Sikh
Islam
Christianity

each taking a common alphabet from the word India.

Anyone still have a copy or know where I can get that from ?

PostPosted: 09 Nov 2009 08:57 am 

These are possibly the first SFF photos seen in a long while!

PostPosted: 09 Nov 2009 09:11 am 

In the new IA website Clicky, select the ARTRAC Gallery from the drop-down list.

The Pic on the left most column, 2nd from bottom - looks like IA troops disembarking from a Chinook - can someone ID the location?

PostPosted: 09 Nov 2009 09:29 am 

^This one?

PostPosted: 09 Nov 2009 10:08 am 

[quote="Aditya G"]These are possibly the first SFF photos seen in a long while!

Excellent. Does anyone know which agency provides proximate security to the Dalai Lama? I can identify a number of his bodyguards in the other pictures, are they Tibetan exiles as well?

On a related note, is it true that para commandos provide security to the Chief of Army Staff?

[CAUTION: You will be starting a new thread!]
Reply to topic
 [ 1393 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 31, 32, 33, 34, 35  Next