QuickClot Donation Project - Lessons Learned

Rajput

Re: QuickClot Donation Project - Lessons Learned

Post by Rajput »

Money can make people do strange things....

IANAL ("I am not a lawyer"), but: if people wired Bhavesh money across state lines (i.e., from states other than California), and the dollar amount is more than $5K, then the FBI can be brought in. FBI usually won't get involved with lesser amounts, but beyond 5K, they will. This is an open-and-shut case.

Since RB and others know Bhavesh's name, address, etc., reporting this to the FBI is trivial.

I would suggest this course of action: give Bhavesh an ultimatum to either cough up the dough, or be ready for a visit from the FBI. If he gets into trouble with the FBI, he'll stand to lose _way_ more than just $5K.

To me, the bigger loss is not the $5K (in the grand scheme of things, $5K isn't that much); but it is the loss of trust. In the future, if heaven forbid we need to raise money for some cause, people will withhold their donations or not give money at all.
Karna_A

Post by Karna_A »

Lets put my money where my mouth is:
I'll give $20 to buy the stake of anyone who has $20 money with this guy. Then you write me a letter that you are selling your stake to me which you sent to this guy.
Anyone else who was not in original donation list but would like to sort this thing out can do similar thing.

Since this man has Indian Army blood on his dirty hands, I'll make sure that the money he has stolen goes where its due, or he feels the enough heat that no one ever will dare do the same.

UPDATE

As they say, "No Good Deed Goes Unpunished". Sorry for the late update but I had other stuff going on. The Indian Army Jat Regiment has returned the donation made by BRF on the grounds that the amount is slightly different from the original donation draft for which approval was received from higher-ups (Lucknow HQ and Comptroller General) hence, a new approval process would be required. As people may recall the reason for the difference in amount is due to the fact that the Jat Regimental Center did not get the proper approvals on time, which caused the original draft to expire. A new draft was reissued and sent by Rajiv which was deposited and a receipt issued as posted on this thread. This is the donation which has been now returned.

As per the current accounts officer of the Jat Regimental Center (the one we dealt with has been transferred), the Indian Army is fully equipped and Jawans have no shortage of any life saving drugs or blood clotting kits. Moreover, as per him and his superiors the amount of donation is too small for them to go through the process of getting fresh approval. Hence, based on that decision they declined the donation and mailed the donation back to Rajiv.

Rajiv, George and I have decided that we have tried to the best of our efforts and ability to ensure that the donation reach the proper authorities at the Jat Regimental Center, Bareilly, U.P., India. However, now the recipients themselves have refused the donation hence, there are no more avenues to reach the original goal. Hence, now we will donate the total amount to the "ARMY CENTRE WELFARE FUND (CORPUS)" at the Indian Embassy in Washington D.C, U.S.A. Currently Rajiv is trying to contact the necessary personnel at the Indian Embassy (the Houston Consulate has not responded for 2 weeks) and then the donation will be made as per their instructions. Any receipt received will be posted on this thread immediately and this merry-go-round of donation will be closed once for all.

Raja, its amazing that you guys have not gone bald over this.. (or maybe you did).. echo what you say, no good deed goes unpunished...." by babudom "...

Heh heh...I still have my head of hair (which is a miracle considering my father went bald at 25) but perhaps Rajiv has lost all of his hair (if he had any to lose to begin with, i.e.) - if I ever meet him in person, I shall know for sure! :wink:

I hope Bhavesh is enjoying the remaining few thousand dollars he embezzled coz that's probably the only profit his phata startup is going to see for a while.

May i suggest that you donate this money to the widow of NSG commando killed in 26/11

^^That will just get her in trouble. One thing I have learnt from quite a few incidents this year and past year - "The Road to Hell is paved with Good Intentions".

True, but the NSG facilitates this.
She had come to our office where money collected by our company was given to her. NSG had sent their men as escorts

Raja,

My suggestion

http://para-rehab.org/donations.html

Aditya,

Cold hearted as it may appear when I say this, the NSG losses for 26/11 are well taken care of. The very award of Ashoka Chakra to the martyrs opens up many windows of opportunity for their families. Donation attempts should try and cater to those who got none of the state sops or awards..

Jagan,

I had done a personal donation to PRC last year (separate from the tea box thing) but yet to receive a proper receipt from them after months of follow up. The main problem in these efforts (incld. QuikClot) seems to be the lack of a local person who has the persistence to keep bugging the babus.

For those who want to donate to NSG widows and others, best is to make the effort to go to India, get your donation converted to Rupees and hand it over personally or through a trusted acquaintance. Ponying up the money for the donation is the easiest part of the equation. :)

FINAL UPDATE FOR THE QUIKCLOT DONATION PROJECT (hopefully)

Today, Rajiv informed me that he got a draft issued for the amount of USD 6383.12 in Indian Rupees (Rupees 2 Lakhs, Eighty Thousand Nine Hundred and Fifty Five and 58 Paise only, INR 2,80,955.58) in favour of "Army Central Welfare Fund" and has fedexed it to the Indian Army Central Welfare fund office in New Delhi, India. This amount is after taking into account any exchange rate losses, bank charges and postal charges incurred during the duration of this entire effort (2009-2010). The draft is marked as a donation from B-R and Rajiv has provided them with his name and mailing address so that they can issue a receipt and send it to him - though the chance of getting a receipt is slim given the exemplary babudom seen till date.

With this final step, the donation effort is closed once for all. This thread can either be deleted or archived by the admins after a week or two.
chiru

Post by chiru »

so finally mr.bhavesh had a change of heart ?