Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - Dec 25, 2012

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - Dec 25, 2012

What is this Asia Society meet

Those BRFites who are born in 80s and 90s may have read the past but may not have witnessed the timeline. Now they can witness the same again if US wins its game and if it reaches its goals. However, there is a basic difference. India has a regime that is facilitating US goals. The media in India was nationalistic in those times Vs a facilitating one this time around.

krishnan wrote:What is this Asia Society meet
Krishnana, From the Asia Society website,
Asia Society is the leading educational organization dedicated to promoting mutual understanding and strengthening partnerships among peoples, leaders and institutions of Asia and the United States in a global context. Across the fields of arts, business, culture, education, and policy, the Society provides insight, generates ideas, and promotes collaboration to address present challenges and create a shared future.

Founded in 1956, the Asia Society is a nonpartisan, nonprofit educational institution with offices in Hong Kong, Houston, Los Angeles, Manila, Melbourne, Mumbai, New York, San Francisco, Seoul, Shanghai, and Washington, DC.

The aftermath. Litter leaves residents bitter.
the thousands of protesters have begun polluting the city in an unprecedented way, leaving residents bitter
after the venue shifted to D-Chowk protesters started using greenbelts as toilets
TMQ should have given hygiene training to participants before the protest 8)
Our forefathers had been using fields and it also increases fertility of the land
Now you know why that benighted nation for the pure was named thus. Paki is as paki does.

What I really find incredulous is that even before a customary 13 day Hindu mourning period has passed, the media seemed to have not just called for restraint despite the most ignominious act, they have actively colluded with the enemy in writing an report. This is treachery.
Where the faq are hawks in the government?
------
B.Raman may be a ex-babu . But I read his article.
The FIRST thing you do is express your sympathies and condolences to the fallen soldier!
Not one word from B.Raman about a) the fallen man b) the soldier c) his family or a) services to the motherland.
And yet this guy preaches and has a bunch of followers. Was he the babu for Jairam Ramesh and together were they cleaning toilets?

That RSS man is right. The elite of this nation( India) are so disconnected with the population (of Bharat ) that they forget to express sympathy first.

What does DumbMan B.Raman do? He accuses the BJP of trying to gain political mileage! This is low, cheap garbage in the name is Strategic Analysis.
Did B.Raman not think one moment before writing that in an hour or solemn mourning? Fool! May the worst befall you!

The main meat of his article is who wins and who loses in the political space after the gruesome incident. And there is one paragraph in the last with a nam-ke-vaas strategic thinking.
Remember , this man propounded Priyanka as the rightful heir to the throne.

This GoI has gone low and is beyond redemption. Every man is thrown a bone and in return, is asked to sing in praise of the powers that be in N.Delhi. And B.Raman has his price too it seems. He brought politics into this . Can I then ask in return - "Why Mr.Raman, what;s in it for you in seeing no harm comes to Congress?" Parasite!
-----

In any other country, the guys who wrote that poisonous article in the Hindu would have been lynched. These are no peaceniks. These are treacherous scum who have not expressed regret when Indian soldiers have fallen. Where is the sympathy from them after the beheading. In cozy A/C-ed rooms, these guys write articles that can very well be used as evidence for treason . Spreading disinformation even when the family of the soldier were on hunger strike! "Stop baying for blood" eh? Of course what can be expected from traitors for whom the word "honor" has no meaning. Effete morons who stay in India, plunder its riches, and stab it in the back.

This has gone too far. For too long. This injection of anti-national opinion in the airwaves and media portends of dark times ahead!
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

^^^^When Fai was arrested on spying charges by FBI and when we came to know about who all attended his conferences and supported his 'Kashmir cause' from India, our gov should have promptly prosecuted them and made sure they are off the road rotting in some pest infested jails with no latrines. But they are free attending another such conferences and colluding with anti-Indian agencies. We have fast tracked visas to Hurriyat members so they am collude with TSP vermin and plot against us.

When our gov is sympathetic to TSP how and why are you blaming its pawns sir? It appears gov it self is the enemy of India and we voted and put them there.

Those vermin are keeping low profile for some time now. Not heard or seen on TV /Newspaper these days.

Please cross post in another thread and delete your post in this thread.

My good friend DocJi has said in the past that I over estimate US power. I disagree, but the reason I am bringing this up is to tell you that all this anger on the Indian side amounts to nothing, it willl dissipate in a few days, it will be business as usual, and aman ki tamasha will be back in full force. TSP has sent its message to Indian army, you dare make an aggressive move, and see what we can do to you.

And the reason is the Lord Unkil in my opinion has got an assurance from their men/women in Delhi led by the honorable MMSJi and the Italian madam respectively that they will concentrate on "Hindu extremists" and not the real Paki extremists because Paki extremists and US-led NATO are doing God's work in AfPak.

What is my evidence? The other day, I was laughing my ass off when someone here said DDM doesn't have the so called "ethics" of NYT dorks. Yeah right. The ethics of NYT dorks is to regurgitate what state dept and white house sources tell them. So you see on the latest skirmish, I see very little in the NYT. Meaning the handlers in the state dept and WH are not worried enough to have called up their NYT messengers and issued travel warnings etc. That itself tells me that the few goras in the state dept, white house, and Pentagon assigned to watch the India TSP monkey show are just having a few laughs and emjoying the entertainment, knowing fully well that the higher ups have got an assuarnce from their munnas in Delhi and Slumbad that God's work will go and won't be disrupted. Make no mistake, nothing will be printed in the NYT if its either not noteworthy enough to impact US interests, or for some entertainment/condescending value like how "India rapes its women". NYT is not like DDM that it literally interprets and takes seriously, objective reporting as taught at the Columbia school of journalism.

But make no mistake, under the scenes TSP has sent a message to Indian army through these be-headings. So like in Mumbai 26/11, its game and set if not match to TSP.

As an aside, consider that there is daily coverage in the NYT of Frenchies taking on the "mighty" Islamic rebels in Mali, US is even militarily helping the Frenchies on that count. While those who be-head Indians, terrorize and challenge it to a nuke war, gets to speak "strategic doctrines", Indians war mongering etc in the halls of power in NY and DC, not to mention the billions in military/economic aid.

arun wrote:
arun wrote:Read and weep.

Praveen Swami of the Hindu with a story claimed to be an “exclusive” on the beheading of Indian soldiers.

Looks like our Congress Party led UPA Administration is trying to absolve itself for its pusillanimous dhimmi-like response to this latest provocative action by the Islamic Republic of Pakistan by spreading some of the blame for the beheading onto the Indian Army :x :

Runaway grandmother sparked savage skirmish on LoC
The Congress Party led UPA Administration’s strategy of covering up its pusillanimous and dhimmi-like behaviour in the face of provocations from the Islamic Republic of Pakistan by spreading the blame for the beheading of our soldiers onto the Indian Army seems not to be limited to Praveen Swami and the Hindu.

Yet more motivated (?) leaks from unnamed Government source this time from Saikat Datta of the DNA:

Uri Commanders Forceful Retaliation Led To Beheadings?
Talk about our media scoring self goals and handing out propaganda victories to those who have a history of killing Indians

The articles by Praveen Swami in the Hindu and Saikat Dutta in the DNA have come as a Godsend to commentators from the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

Ayesha Agha Siddiqa, not a known friend of the Uniformed Jihadi’s of the Army of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, gleefully uses the two articles, more then once, to draw an equal = equal between our Army and the Uniformed Jihadi’s:

Pakistan is currently suffering from political confusion: Ayesha Siddiqa

Altair wrote:Neela
Please cross post in another thread and delete your post in this thread.

Altair,
Will X-post but not delete.
kish

Post by kish »

deepan gill wrote:
The top leadership definitely has a contingency plan, as evidenced after Rajiv's death. IMHO, Certain religious minority leaders too have options.
Please elaborate on this a bit further. I am really interested in this "evidence" or your own analysis.

Thx
There are several instances, just quoting a few.

1) When Indira Gandhi was ousted from power in 1977. Rajiv Gandhi family moved out of India.
When Indira was ousted from office in 1977 in the aftermath of the Indian Emergency, the Rajiv family moved abroad for a short time
Sonia Gandhi
In 1977, when the Janata Party defeated the Congress at the polls, and
the government, Sonia with her two children, abandoned Indira Gandhi
and ran to the Italian Embassy in New Delhi and hid there
. Rajiv Gandhi was >a government servant then [as an Indian Airlines pilot], but he too tagged >along and hid in that foreign embassy ! Such was her baneful influence on >him. Rajiv did snap out Sonia’s influence after 1989, but alas he was >assassinated before he could rectify it.
Know the truth

2) Sonia Gandhi retrieved her Italian passpost in 1992.
Ms.Sonia Gandhi’s Indian citizenship acquired in record speed in April 1983 is vitiated by her incomplete answers to mandatory questions in the citizenship forms. She did not submit documents from the Italian government of relinquishing her Italian citizenship required for Indian citizenship, stating in the Form that it was ‘not applicable” [Annexure 12]. Italian Embassy in New Delhi simply affirmed what she told them and hence that cannot be taken as a valid document of relinquishment for the purposes of citizenship. She also retrieved her Italian passport in 1992 after citizenship laws in Italy were amended which under Section 10 of the Citizenship Act (1955) means cancellation of her Indian citizenship.
3) Rahul Gandhi's mafia girlfriend.
Rahul Gandhi was arrested at Boston airport. He had 160,000 dollars in cash. In united states, you cannot enter with more than 10,000 dollars without declaring it. He didn’t declare and got caught. He had with him a girlfriend by name Veronique Cartelli, citizen, passport holder spain, father Colombian. Cartelli, means drug mafia.
Rahul Gandhi's Colombian girl friend

4) Please read Dr. Yevgenia Albats ( a member of the official Commission on KGB) revelation on Sonia Gandhi.

5) Also read Schweizer Illustrierte Swiss magazines article on Black money

6) Search for Raul vinci & Bianca vinci's birth certificate, school certificate, etc either in BRF or in Google.

These information reinforces my belief, that top leadership of the country and certain religious minority leaders have contingency plan.

If you want to continue this debate, take it to the Off-topic thread as here it is "out of syllabus onlee". We are liable for punishment. :wink:
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

Arun,

Many years ago, I'd written the below snippet and the picture has not changed since then - during any Pakistani attack on India (in any form) - there will invariably be opinion formers who will squarely blame India and Indians for it, and thus misdirect any support that India may want to build up.

For example, the bloke who suggested that 26/11 was done by RAW and Mossad now forms opinions on TOI and is a key member of Congress.

When a Pakistani proudly announces in public "watch out for a narrative changer tomorrow in an Indian newspaper" - there's clearly an exchange of favors to purposely undermine India's case.

I have not seen any correction of facts or apologies from either Saikat or Praveen - in stead Praveen is pitching (in his latest article) the line that India should back down. Since, this happens for every attack on India, it is simply not possible, that all these articles are mere coincidences of left leaning politics.
Immediately, after the Nadimarg massacre of 24 Indians, including women and children, Farzana Versey wrote a scathing article, criticizing the Kashmiri Pandits, blaming them for leaving the valley – essentially the they-asked-for-it point-of-view. Times of India editorials and Kuldeep Nayar came out and blamed the Government of India. Mind you, not a word – not one word, criticizing either the Pakistani generals or the LeT. Akhila Raman blamed India directly and of course, a columnist in Greater Kashmir blamed the Pandits for it all. All these people, subtly yet completely undermined the case the GOI was trying to build in international media on the persistent and genocidal nature of Pakistani terrorism. In essence, these Indians equated the victims with the perpetrators, and made the case on behalf of Pakistan. After all, nobody in international media would cast any doubt on "Indian" writers, when they place the blame on GOI and the Pandits for such a heinous massacre.

Anindya- the Nation voted the party to power in 2009, so all I can say is the nation supports the current Foreign, Internal and defense policy.

We deserve whom we elect, so I would say the current policy w.r.t Pakistan is supported by those who vote irrespective what we in BRF think.
Nesoj

Post by Nesoj »

Interesting from Dawn ........ but how true !!!!

Principle political standpoints in Al-Absurdistan
http://dawn.com/2012/08/29/principle-po ... surdistan/

Principle standpoints in Al Bakistan II
http://dawn.com/2012/10/31/principle-st ... kistan-ii/

Principle standpoints in Al Bakistan III
http://dawn.com/2012/12/26/principle-st ... istan-iii/

Principle standpoints in Al Bakistan IV
http://dawn.com/2013/01/16/principle-st ... kistan-iv/
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Among others who voiced, I too feel that we need a twitter account, we need to counter these non-journalists, their lies and affiliations need to be exposed. Who keeps them in check but us common men? We have many gurus who are more than capable of dealing with Indian sold-out scum.

RamaY wrote:Watched Zero Dark Thirty. Nice movie. All the events so real because of BR knowledge. I was hoping to see the connection between this and the CIA agent who killed a paki on the road and walked out (don't remember that guys name).

Rehman Daoud?
kish

Post by kish »

Saudi Arabia beheads Pakistani for drug trafficking
Saudi Arabia beheaded a Pakistani man :mrgreen: in the eastern Khubar province on Wednesday after he was convicted of drug trafficking, the interior ministry announced.

Arshad Mohammed was arrested for smuggling heroin and hashish into the kingdom, the ministry was quoted as saying by the official SPA news agency.

His execution brings to four the number of people executed in Saudi Arabia so far this year.

Last year, the kingdom beheaded 76 people, according to an AFP tally based on official figures. The US-based Human Rights Watch put the number at 69.

Rape, murder, apostasy, armed robbery and drug trafficking are all punishable by death under Saudi Arabia’s Shariah, or Islamic law.

Aditya_V wrote:Anindya- the Nation voted the party to power in 2009, so all I can say is the nation supports the current Foreign, Internal and defense policy.

We deserve whom we elect, so I would say the current policy w.r.t Pakistan is supported by those who vote irrespective what we in BRF think.
This is the perpetual dagger we stab ourselves with. As if Congress went to polls on the basis of its foreign, internal and defense policy. This is a very unintelligent understanding of Indian democracy.

The earlier we stop this type of logic, the better. The common man always wants an efficient, effective and nationalistic leadership. No political party, even someone like MIM, can go to elections and win even a single MLA seat by saying they will join Pakistan or sell India to USA.

Check Akbaruddin Owaisi's speech. He said, India is ours, we live here and we die here. If he says this is not his land and his father land is Pakistan, he would have been laughed at by his own vote bank.

BRaman is fogging for his 'covert action' group without realizing its time to move on. TTP is doing much better job than his kachha folks ever did or could.
So there.

So far he has shown why its bad for the country to pick IB and IPS folks for external intelligence for all they know is intimidation and how to protcet the INC for the British. Even then they got two PMs murdered. And they still talk like Brig. Gerard character in Conan Doyle's books.
kasthuri

Post by kasthuri »

kasthuri wrote:B. Raman reveals his balls are shaved off ...

http://ramanstrategicanalysis.blogspot. ... arade.html
Sridhar,

I am perfectly fine for editing it as I cannot change the public opinion on cancer. However, for us here, we make a living out of it. We cannot think cancer as *dreadful* as public may think - simply for the reason that science/medicine would take a beating. Nor the folks on the line would care, I think...

kasthuri wrote:
kasthuri wrote:B. Raman reveals his balls are shaved off ...
http://ramanstrategicanalysis.blogspot. ... arade.html
Sridhar,I am perfectly fine for editing it as I cannot change the public opinion on cancer. However, for us here, we make a living out of it. We cannot think cancer as *dreadful* as public may think - simply for the reason that science/medicine would take a beating. Nor the folks on the line would care, I think...
Ex-Ferts like him are proof of God's existence and its special affection for India. Otherwise India would have long gone to wolves few years after 47. These ex=ferts suffer from Oedipus complex in regard to MisRulers of Desh.
Anurag

Post by Anurag »

ramana wrote:BRaman is fogging for his 'covert action' group without realizing its time to move on. TTP is doing much better job than his kachha folks ever did or could.
So there.

So far he has shown why its bad for the country to pick IB and IPS folks for external intelligence for all they know is intimidation and how to protcet the INC for the British. Even then they got two PMs murdered. And they still talk like Brig. Gerard character in Conan Doyle's books.
Ramana,

Can you explain what would be a better response than covert actions inside TSPA. I'm assunming this just doesn't include retailiatory strikes but proactive covert ops deep inside TSPA territory. I'm not sure what other options exists at this point in terms of a military response. Are you suggesting an all out war? What else do you mean by 'time to move on'? Move on to what?
kish

Post by kish »

kish wrote:DNA reports, UNGOMIP has started a probe on border attacks. Request someone to post that article or any other article confirming UN intervention. I am not able to access those sites with my mobile.

If this report is true, then this border escalation is an "west sanctioned" action. Acts as a precurser to settle the "Kashmir issue" through UN mediation.
Prior to his first term, ombaba wanted to resolve "kashmir issue".
A week back it has been discussed here, Now Colonel Anil A Athale (retd) doubts it may be part of America's plan. :mrgreen:

Is the LoC attack part of America's plan B?
It is this that opens up intriguing possibilities. By all accounts relations between India [ Images ] and Pakistan were on the upswing, thanks to the perpetual sway of the 'peace at any (mostly our) cost' lobby's all pervasive presence and influence and the ruling dispensation that had its eyes set firmly on consolidating its vote bank before the 2014 general election.
First, a few facts about the area of the recent clashes. The Nangi Tekdi area was captured from Pakistan in the 1971 war and has been a thorn for them ever since
One must also remember that the Pakistan army is no longer a professional and monolithic body. The Islamism of the Zia-ul Haq days has percolated down to its junior ranks and individuals are quite capable of acting at the behest of Mohammad Saeed :eek: of the Lashkar-e-Tayiba
Sridhar ji was saying this a couple of day back. Seems like, of all power centers the Jihadi network is gaining prominence and is on the verge of usurping Paki Army as the top dog.
Saeed is an admirer of the West. While Pakistan's political elite were 'living like kings and princes in palatial government houses,' Saeed wrote in a petition, Britain's prime minister lived in a 'four-bedroom flat.'

'When the sun never set on the British Empire,' he wrote, 'the chief executive of that great country lived in the same house in a small street. That is truly Islamic, that is like following the Sunnah of the Holy Prophet.'

Saeed's venom is reserved for India and not the West. The American bounty on him is mere window dressing to assuage the Indians, for despite this he roams around freely in Pakistan and addresses public meetings openly.

CRamS wrote:My good friend DocJi has said in the past that I over estimate US power. I disagree, but the reason I am bringing this up is to tell you that all this anger on the Indian side amounts to nothing, it willl dissipate in a few days, it will be business as usual, and aman ki tamasha will be back in full force. TSP has sent its message to Indian army, you dare make an aggressive move, and see what we can do to you.

And the reason is the Lord Unkil in my opinion has got an assurance from their men/women in Delhi led by the honorable MMSJi and the Italian madam respectively that they will concentrate on "Hindu extremists" and not the real Rjust having a few laughs and emjoying the entertainment, knowing fully well that the higher ups have got an assuarnce from their munnas in Delhi and Slumbad that God's work will go and won't be disrupted. Make no mistake, nothing will be printed in the NYT if its either not noteworthy enough to impact US interests, or for some entertainment/condescending value like how "India rapes its women". NYT is not like DDM that it literally interprets and takes seriously, objective reporting as taught at the Columbia school of journalism.

But make no mistake, under the scenes TSP has sent a message to Indian army through these be-headings. So like in Mumbai 26/11, its game and set if not match to TSP.

As an aside, consider that there is daily coverage in the NYT of Frenchies taking on the "mighty" Islamic rebels in Mali, US is even militarily helping the Frenchies on that count. While those who be-head Indians, terrorize and challenge it to a nuke war, gets to speak "strategic doctrines", Indians war mongering etc in the halls of power in NY and DC, not to mention the billions in military/economic aid.

The Indian army has killed 4 more Pakis after the 8th Jan. incidence. As per your logic, Indian army has sent a strong message to the the Paki that you kill 2 of ours, we will 5 of yours.

So it seems to me Indian army has delivered the Paki a strong message, no?

Other thing I got to say is that you give way to much importance to NYT and westerm media, Most Indian's don't give a F.

Sharp slowdown in India weakens South Asia's growth rate: Report

Since The paper Is RNIsque The Hindu And Its about South Asia ,News fits here
WASHING TONGUE, JAN 16:
A sharp slowdown in the Indian economy has weakened the growth rate of South Asia, the World Bank has said in a report.According the Global Economic Prospects 2013, released on Tuesday, economic growth in the region dropped to an estimated 5.4 per cent in 2012 from 7.4 per cent in the previous year.This is mainly due to a sharp slowdown in India, where the GDP growth is forecast at 5.4 per cent in the fiscal year ending March 2013, the Bank said.t added that weak global demand exacerbated region-specific factors, including subdued investment growth, electricity shortages, policy uncertainties, and a weak monsoon.“Regional GDP is projected to grow by 5.7 per cent in the 2013 calendar year, and by 6.4 and 6.7 per cent in 2014 and 2015, respectively, driven by policy reforms in India, stronger investment activity, normal agricultural production, and improvement in export demand.Growth in India (at factor cost) is projected at 6.4 per cent in the 2013 fiscal year, rising to 7.3 per cent by 2015,” the report said.Growth in Pakistan, the second largest economy in the region, remained broadly stable at a projected 3.8 per cent in the 2012-13 fiscal year compared with 3.7 per cent in 2011-12.

HT: No real business plan
Amitabh Mattoo, Hindustan Times
New Delhi, January 16, 2013

[Quoting in full]
[quote]The nationwide outrage at the beheading of Lance Naik Hemraj and the mutilation of the body of Lance Naik Sudhakar Singh is symptomatic of a collective and deep sense of angst across the country. The brutal streets of the national capital region (NCR) and the treacherous heights of the LoC are increasingly becoming a metaphor for a State that is unable to provide security to its citizens. Security, in its fundamental sense, is freedom from fear. Today, large sections of both urban and rural India are terrified at the prospect of what the future may unfold. And because emotions are running high, it is important for the prime minister to build a national consensus on critical issues before another incident overwhelms us all. What is needed, above all, is clarity of mind and sobriety of action based on distilling the lessons of our contemporary experience and past history. Nowhere is this clearer than in our Pakistan policy, steeped today in national confusion.

Consider this. At the height of the Kargil war, on June 3, 1999, the Pakistan International Airlines flight from Delhi to Lahore and then to Islamabad carried two unusual emissaries of Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. On board were joint secretary of the Pakistan, Afghanistan and Iran division of the ministry of external affairs, Vivek Katju, and chairman of the Observer Research Foundation, Rishi Kumar Mishra. Katju, a brilliant Kashmiri Pandit diplomat and a known hardliner on Pakistan, was later blamed by Pervez Musharraf for sabotaging the Agra Summit of 2001. Mishra — a fountainhead of Brahmanical wisdom, a confidante of Vajpayee and his ace principal secretary, Brajesh Mishra, as well as many former PMs — had been part of the back-channel established by Vajpayee and Nawaz Sharif at the Lahore Summit; his Pakistani counterpart was the experienced but rather fragile former Pakistani foreign secretary Niaz Niak.

This unusual Mishra-Katju couple delivered to a shocked Nawaz Sharif, a tape intercepted by the Research and Analysis Wing of a conversation between General Musharraf and his chief-of-staff, Lt-Gen Aziz Khan: incontrovertible evidence of the Pakistani army’s involvement in Kargil. Subsequently, Mishra remained in continuous dialogue with Naik to explore ways to find an amicable resolution to the war through bilateral means, and Katju would get a sense of the conversation as he escorted Naik from Delhi airport, on at least one occasion, to the Imperial Hotel. Kargil would have been settled bilaterally, as it almost was (the Mishra-Naik plan had Nawaz Sharif stopping briefly in New Delhi on his return from China towards the end of June, meeting Vajpayee and issuing a joint communiqué leading to a Pakistani withdrawal) if Nawaz Sharif had shown greater sagacity and foresight. Instead, Sharif had to travel to Washington on July 4, to be arm-twisted by US President Bill Clinton to declare a unilateral withdrawal of Pakistani forces from the LoC as well as call for a ceasefire and a restoration of the Lahore Summit peace process — precisely the terms that Mishra had communicated to Naik in a non-paper partially drafted by Vajpayee himself.

This episode, buried in the saga of lost opportunities, is important, however, for at least one reason. It illustrates how even at a moment of Pakistan’s greatest perfidy, there was a range of options, instruments, out-of-the box thinking and creativity that were brought into play by the Indian political leadership. Not since the Bangladesh war had the Indian military force, intelligence and diplomacy worked in such flawless synergy in the pursuit of a clear objective. Contrast this with today and the manner in which television, rather than South Block, seems to be setting the national agenda on Pakistan and tapping the palpable anger on the streets of India. Foreign policy, it is said, is too important to be left to diplomats. And India’s Pakistan policy is far too important to be left to TV anchors, with their wars over TRPs and their penchant to appeal, often, to the lowest common denominator of public opinion. Indeed strident debates in the Indian media — frightening in their Manichaean simplicity — reflect a total lack of appreciation of the intricacies of the Gordian knot of bilateral relations.

The reality is, as our TV anchors must understand and appreciate, that Pakistan is not as much a foreign policy issue as it is part of a larger sub-continental tragedy of unsettled communal relations. That’s why the conflict between India and Pakistan may be easy to describe in terms of events and episodes, but it is painfully difficult to understand. When a street mechanic outside Agra describes a nearby Muslim colony as ‘chhota’ Pakistan, you know that this relationship is about more than just borders and border skirmishes. In reality, the India-Pakistan relationship is — and has been — about everything that matters: history, memory, prejudice, territory, identity, religion, sovereignty, ideology, insecurity, trust, betrayal and much more, in a very desi way.

The tragedy is that while Prime Minister Manmohan Singh understands Pakistan perhaps better than most scholars in the country, he has been unable to sell his goal of a grand reconciliation with Pakistan to a nation simmering with anger over multiple issues. And Pakistan, unfortunately, destroys its own case by instigating outrageous acts that seem to be almost designed to alienate Indian public opinion.

Today, there is no Indian strategic policy towards our most troublesome neighbour, only tactics. No long-term goals, only endless ‘debates’ over short-term gains and losses. No national consensus over Pakistan, only national confusion. We, as a nation, are not even clear about the kind of Pakistan that we want in the future: a stable and prosperous country; or a fragile and failing State; or disintegrated multiple Pakistans. While it may not be possible, as Singh stated, to have “business as usual” with Pakistan, can we at least have a long-term ‘business’ plan?

With the Americans marching out of Afghanistan next year, it is important to evoke the Pakistani academic Pervez Hoodbhoy’s wise words: “Pakistan’s State is already fractured by multiple violent ethnic and religious conflicts. Disintegration into molecular civil war with fiefdoms and warlords is a terrible possibility. India will find, too late, that it has created a South Asian nuclear Somalia for a neighbour.”

Amitabh Mattoo is professor at Jawaharlal Nehru University and Director of the Australia India Institute at the University of Melbourne. The views expressed by the author are personal.[/quote]

My comment in response:

This entire article has only one sentence regarding the crux of the problem in the India-Pakistan relationship - "And Pakistan, unfortunately, destroys its own case by instigating outrageous acts that seem to be almost designed to alienate Indian public opinion".

The author is feigning ignorance over the root cause of these "outrageous acts", i.e. the agenda of the Pakistan Army and ISI. Somehow the author seems to believe that a "business plan" is of any interest to the Pakistan Army and ISI and that these terrorist organisations would cease and desist from further outrageous acts if a business plan were to suddenly materialise.

Furthermore, in a rush to end the article in a grandiose manner the author chooses to quote Pervez Hoodbhoy seemingly without applying his mind to the content of the quote. I quote, "India will find, too late, that it has created a South Asian nuclear Somalia for a neighbour". This sentence implies two things.

Firstly, it seems to imply that India is somehow responsible for Pakistan's support of the Afghanistani Taliban, the Pakistani Taliban, the Lashkar-e-Whatever. Similarly, it seems to imply that India is responsible for Pakistan harbouring and engaging Dawood Ibrahim, David Headley, Hafiz Saeed, and other terrorists. No, Professor Mattoo, these are Pakistan's own doing. Surely, being the sovereign state that Pakistan is, as it keeps reminding the world despite repeated US drone attacks, they are responsible for their own actions? How can anyone hold India, a victim of Pakistani terrorism, responsible for Pakistan's actions?

Secondly, if Pakistan has in all its ignorance chosen to go down the path to becoming a "South Asian nuclear Somalia" then what is India supposed to do about it? Is India Pakistan's designated nanny? Is India supposed to attend to Pakistan like a mother attends to an unruly child throwing a tantrum, in the hope that the child will grow some self-respect some day?

One wonders if Pervez Hoodbhoy had anything to say at all to the mullahs instigating communal violence in Pakistan or the members of the Pakistani military and civilian administration bankrolling them. One wonders why someone seemingly accomplished as Professor Mattoo lets the ball drop in this regard.

Growth in TSP is hovering stably at Nehruvian levels and MMS is trying to bring down India economy growth rates to same level as a CBM or to reduce the jealousy in TSP?

In Amitabh Mattoo's article.
The tragedy is that while Prime Minister Manmohan Singh understands Pakistan perhaps better than most scholars in the country, he has been unable to sell his goal of a grand reconciliation with Pakistan to a nation simmering with anger over multiple issues.
How can agrand reconciliation rest on total sellout by the PM. This man was handed a very upperhand in the relationship with TSP by the NDA. He has single handedly destroyed every optiin India had and backtracked and undermined Indian interest in his sinlge handed pursit of Nobul prize. He has done everything opposite of the NDA govt to show his 'difference'! He is single handedly responisble for the nation seething in anger over mulitple issues!!!

Its the buthcer wondering why his is not allowed to perform surgery.

And people wonder why he has been unable to sell his goal.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

ramana garu and others, even though I read many times about MMS is in pursuit of a nobel prize, how is this conclusion arrived at? kindly point me to sources, curious to know.
MurthyB
Location: "Visa Officer", Indian Consulate #13,451, Khost Province, Afghanistan

Post by MurthyB »

Warriors and that savage country

Tarun Vijay in TOI:
The peace process of the pusillanimous rulers has become another threat to the national security apart from what Pakistan poses to us. What peace process? With whom? And at what cost?
Such politicians would have received harshest possible reprimand from the people in any country, but alas, we have been tolerating such small people at top positions far too long. When we see how President Obama salutes and pays homage to the dead soldiers, often reproducing finest words from Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address, and saying the martyrdom of the soldiers would give "A New Birth of Freedom", the Indian leaders talk to the media in a lackadaisical, ‘matter of fact’ manner that lacks commitment.
Ram is celebrated and revered not because he left Sita with Ravana saying freeing her would mean war and I am a peacenik, hence returning Ayodhya, sacrificing my consort for the sake of a higher goal, the peace.

We do not celebrate Dusshera for the last thousands of years because Ram didn’t punish an unrepentant wicked Ravana. Each of our gods has punished the bad, the ugly and the savage. Each of our heroes, whether Vikramaditya, Guru Govind Singh, or Shivaji or the Chola kings have shown that they can fight and annihilate the agents of barbarism.

If our peace initiative receives beheaded bodies of our sons, it’s a sin not to swear and say, we shall avenge it.

The Asia Society,is strongly suspected of being another front for US covert ops.Read this sensational revelation about Obama and his family's alleged secret links to US intel and the CIA."Hein-ous" Khar is therefore part of the same tribe.

Bombshell: Barack Obama conclusively outed as CIA creation Alex ...
http://www.infowars.com/bombshell-barac ... -creation/
Aug 18, 2010 ... The first part of his report highlights the connections between Barack ..... Asian Development Advisory Group (SEADAG), an Asia Society group ...

http://www.infowars.com/bombshell-barac ... -creation/
PREFACE

Alex Jones & Aaron Dykes
Infowars.com
August 18, 2010

“Tonight is a particular honor for me because, let’s face it, my presence on this stage is pretty unlikely. My father was a foreign student, born and raised in a small village in Kenya. He grew up herding goats, went to school in a tin-roof shack. His father — my grandfather — was a cook, a domestic servant to the British. But my grandfather had larger dreams for his son. Through hard work and perseverance my father got a scholarship to study in a magical place, America, that shone as a beacon of freedom and opportunity to so many who had come before.”
- Barack Obama, 2004 Democratic National Convention Keynote Address

Far from being the mere ‘son of a goat herder’ (as he deceptively paraded during and even before his candidacy), strong evidence has emerged that President Barack Obama is the product of the intelligence community. Investigative reporter and former NSA employee Wayne Madsen has put together an extensive three-part (and growing) series with conclusive proof and documentation that Barack Obama Sr., Stanley Ann Dunham, Lolo Soetoro and President Barack Obama himself all hold deep ties to the CIA and larger intelligence community. And that’s just the beginning.

After his election, President Obama quickly moved to seal off his records via an executive order. Now, after two years of hints and clues, there is substantial information to demonstrate that what Obama has omitted is that his rare rise to power can only be explained by his intelligence roots. However, this is more than the story of one man or his family. There is a long-term strategic plan to recruit promising candidates into intelligence and steer these individuals and their families into positions of influence and power. Consider that it is now declassified former British Prime Minister Tony Blair was recruited into MI5 before becoming a labour leader, or that George H. W. Bush not only became CIA director in 1976 but had a deeper past in the organization. While we may never know many pertinent details about these matters, one thing that is certain is that the American people have never been told the truth about who holds the real power, nor who this president– and likely many others– really is. Thus, we urge everyone to read Wayne Madsen’s deep report and seek the truth for yourself
Pl. read this 3-part investigative feature.

Clinton Admin emmisarries used to bait the Indian leaders that settling Cashmere is worth atleast a couple of Nobul prizes meaning one of them would be for the Indian leader. NDA didnt fall for that.

MMS single minded pursuit of "grand reconiliation" at any cost to India is deduced to be as a result of that.

There are some op-eds which say how he muses about it.

In fairness for the remarkable neutering that the IUCNA was, he should have got it. But then it would be too obvious.
-----------------
Also google on the keywords throws up similar blogs and op-eds.
Sharam el Sheik was stepping stone for that.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

ramana garu, thanks.

^^ that is interesting ramanna sir, any article or paper in support?

Yes, the "Piss Prize",is a western bribe and political tool to further their interests.Here is Wik on the subject,which clearly shows who decides on this tainted "Piss Prize",far removed from Nobel' original intentions,an attempt to absolve himself of his guilt at his wealth's destructive origins.It is common knowledge that Norway and the US have one of the closest covert intel relations and Norway is often used by the US to do its "piss work" in our parts,Lanka for example-with disastrous consequences!

Our neutered "bull" of a lion,has long hungered for this ultimate reward for being a western serf par excellence.One never knows,he may yet be given it for showing the "maximum restraint in the face of maximum provocation"! Shall we petition the Nobull committee for the same?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nobel_Peace_Prize
According to Nobel's will, the Peace Prize shall be awarded to the person who "shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses."[2]

Alfred Nobel's will further specified that the prize be awarded by a committee of five people chosen by the Norwegian Parliament.

Nobel died in 1896 and he did not leave an explanation for choosing peace as a prize category. As he was a trained chemical engineer, the categories for chemistry and physics were obvious choices. The reasoning behind the peace prize is less clear. According to the Norwegian Nobel Committee, his friendship with Bertha von Suttner, a peace activist and later recipient of the prize, profoundly influenced his decision to include peace as a category.[3] Some Nobel scholars suggest it was Nobel's way to compensate for developing destructive forces. His inventions included dynamite and ballistite, both of which were used violently during his lifetime. Ballistite was used in war [4] and the Irish Republican Brotherhood, an Irish nationalist organization, carried out dynamite attacks in the 1880s.[5] Nobel was also instrumental in turning Bofors from an iron and steel company to an armaments company.

It is unclear why Nobel wished the Peace Prize to be administered in Norway, which was ruled in union with Sweden at the time of Nobel's death. The Norwegian Nobel Committee speculates that Nobel may have considered Norway better suited to awarding the prize, as it did not have the same militaristic traditions as Sweden. It also notes that at the end of the 19th century, the Norwegian parliament had become closely involved in the Inter-Parliamentary Union's efforts to resolve conflicts through mediation and arbitration.[3]
Nomination and selection
The Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo, Norway

The Norwegian Parliament appoints the Norwegian Nobel Committee, which selects the Nobel Peace Prize laureate.
Nomination

Each year, the Norwegian Nobel Committee specifically invites qualified people to submit nominations for the Nobel Peace Prize.[6] The statutes of the Nobel Foundation specify categories of individuals who are eligible to make nominations for the Nobel Peace Prize.[7] These nominators are:

Members of national assemblies and governments and members of the Inter-Parliamentary Union
Members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration and the International Court of Justice at the Hague
Members of Institut de Droit International
University professors of history, social sciences, philosophy, law and theology, university presidents and directors of peace research and international affairs institutes
Former recipients, including board members of organizations that have previously won the prize
Present and past members of the Norwegian Nobel Committee
Former permanent advisers to the Norwegian Nobel Institute

The 14th Dalai Lama and Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Nobel Peace Prize laureates

Nominations must usually be submitted to the Committee by the beginning of February in the award year. Nominations by committee members can be submitted up to the date of the first Committee meeting after this deadline.[7]

In 2009, a record 205 nominations were received,[8] but the record was broken again in 2010 with 237 nominations; in 2011, the record was broken once again with 241 nominations.[9] The statutes of the Nobel Foundation do not allow information about nominations, considerations or investigations relating to awarding the prize to be made public for at least 50 years after a prize has been awarded.[10] Over time many individuals have become known as "Nobel Peace Prize Nominees", but this designation has no official standing.[11] Nominations from 1901 to 1956, however, have been released in a database.[12]
Selection

Nominations are considered by the Nobel Committee at a meeting where a short list of candidates for further review is created. This short list is then considered by permanent advisers to the Nobel institute, which consists of the Institute's Director and the Research Director and a small number of Norwegian academics with expertise in subject areas relating to the prize. Advisers usually have some months to complete reports, which are then considered by the Committee to select the laureate. The Committee seeks to achieve a unanimous decision, but this is not always possible. The Nobel Committee typically comes to a conclusion in mid-September, but occasionally the final decision has not been made until the last meeting before the official announcement at the beginning of Octo
So dear friends,let us never forget the origins of the Nobull prizes,awards dished out by an armaments company called "Bofors"!

The Cleric of Canada,exported to Pak.The Yanqui's "Great White Hope".

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/ja ... tan-crisis

Qadri's Islamabad sit-in raises fears of 'soft coup' among Pakistan's politicians

Mild mullah best known as an MP and legal expert has tapped into deep hostility to political class with his million-man march.
Jon Boone in Islamabad
The Guardian, Wednesday 16 January 2013 19.35 GMT

supporters of the cleric Tahir-ul-Qadri occupy the main avenue of Pakistan's capital, Islamabad.
Tahir-ul-Qadri's supporters occupy the main avenue of Pakistan's capital, Islamabad. Qadri says he wants fair elections but the government fears a return to military rule. Photograph: Anjum Naveed/AP

A mullah marching on Pakistan's capital with thousands of supporters calling for revolution has long been the stuff of nightmares for western policymakers who fear Islamists seizing control of the nuclear-armed state.

But no one expected a mild-mannered Canadian with a programme described by one newspaper columnist as "the most boring demands every made by a demagogue".

Nonetheless, Tahir-ul-Qadri is at the centre of a political crisis after the 61-year-old cleric led what he inaccurately describes as a "million-man march" on Islamabad on Monday and began a sit-in near parliament.

His supporters say they merely want the rules of the constitution to be applied to ensure fair parliamentary elections, which are due in the next few months, and turf out of office a corrupt and incompetent political class.

"The country is like a goat for them that they are sharing and eating," he said of Pakistan's politicians on Wednesday.

But his critics fear he is laying the ground for a "soft coup" by either the military or the judiciary, or both, in a country that has been plagued by army rule.

A shock announcement by the supreme court on Tuesday ordering the arrest of the prime minister on long-standing corruption charges electrified Qadri's supporters and confirmed the suspicions of many who fear a plot to topple the government. The army has chosen not to take any steps to scotch rumours that it is involved. :mrgreen:

Hailing from the moderate :eek: Barelvi tradition of south Asian Islam, Qadri has no interest in introducing Taliban-style sharia law.

Prior to shooting to fame last month with a massive rally in the city of Lahore, he was best known for his unexceptional career as an elected member of parliament and the 600-page fatwa, or religious ruling, that he issued against terrorism and suicide bombing.

On Wednesday he told the crowd that the government was "not facing a mullah but a constitutional expert".

"I have never been a prayer leader," he said in a lengthy speech on Wednesday. "I have been teaching law in universities."

Perhaps the world's first armchair revolutionary, he delivers his speeches while seated on a stripy chair behind a bullet-proof window set into a specially customised metal box that resembles a giant caravan, which he rarely leaves while his followers sleep on the streets.

Television pictures have shown the container, which one government minister has ridiculed as a "seven-star bunker", boasts running water, a fridge, microwave and a cushioned floor.

The message has seeped in. Ask almost anyone in the crowd why they are protesting and they will start explaining the intricacies of Pakistan's constitution.

"We do want elections on time, but first the criminals and the tax avoiders should be put behind bars through articles 62 and 63 of the constitution," said Farzan Ali, a 46-year-old driver.

Qadri has called for the caretaker government, which is constitutionally required three months before elections are held, to be appointed in consultation with the military and the judiciary.

And he says he wants vigorous "pre-election screening" of all candidates so that anyone who has broken the law or not paid taxes will be barred from standing (most MPs are thought to be tax avoiders).

His ideas have been strongly endorsed by Pervez Musharraf, Pakistan's last military leader who lost power in 2008.

The promise to break the grip of a political establishment Qadri describes as "looters, thieves and bandits" has energised a large section of Pakistanis who are deeply unimpressed by the performance of their rulers.

Five years of the coalition government led by the Pakistan People's party (PPP) has seen the country rocked by a surge in terrorism, outbreaks of sectarian murders and a collapsing economy.

"People are fed up of inflation, electricity load-shedding [power cuts] and unemployment," said Khalil Qadar, a farmer from Punjab province. "Our government knows nothing of the problems of the poor – they might as well be in space."

His powerful anti-politics message is complemented by organisational muscle through Minhaj-ul-Qur'an (MQI), an international education charity promoting religious tolerance. :eek:

A substantial portion of the estimated 50,000 people who have been standing, sitting and sleeping on Islamabad's grand Jinnah Avenue were mobilised through MQI, in particular its network of religious schools around the country.

There are also a noticeable presence from wealthy expats or dual-nationality Pakistanis, who support MQI through its local chapters and are crucial donors to a campaign that must have needed large sums.

Security for the well-behaved crowd is in the hands of huge numbers of volunteers. Mobile toilets, tents and rations have all been organised by the MQI.

The government has been at a loss to know how to respond, other than pouring scorn on the cleric and denouncing his tactics as unconstitutional.

Qadri has outfoxed all attempts to block him from coming to Islamabad, or approaching the symbolic parliament building.

On Wednesday Qamar Zaman Kaira, information minister, accused Qadri of disrupting life in Islamabad and warned that "the law will take its course". A "first investigation report" was registered against him in a police court on Wednesday.

But analysts say that any attempt to break up the massive occupation of Islamabad's main thoroughfare may create precisely the sort of crisis that could force the hand of the military.

http://www.cifiaonline.com/drtahirulqadri.htm
Qadri's alleged CIA links:
Watch this dangerous video clip - 4

Addressing Minhaj workers convention on April 8, 2012, from Canada, via video, Taher Ul Qadri informed that he will come to Pakistan in November 2012 for this revolution. May be he is planning to initiate his revolution towards the end of 2012. Later he postponed his visit and announced that he will arrive Pakistan on December 23, 2012, after living in Canada for about 5 years. He is currently Canadian citizen.

Watch this dangerous video clip - 5

In March 2012, Taher Ul Qadri appointed Joel Hayward, an Air bombardment expert of UK Royal Air Force, as his "Strategic Policy Adviser", most probably for Nato airstrikes on Pakistan during his proposed revolution.

Joel S.A. Hayward (born 1964 to Jewish parents), is a New Zealand-born "noted scholar of war and strategy. He was born and brought up as a Jew by his Jewish parents.

Joel Hayward moved to England in 2004, first teaching strategy and operational art at the Joint Services Command and Staff College. In November 2005 he became the head of the newly created Air Power Studies Division, a specialist unit of thirteen Defense Study academics established by the Royal Air Force and King's College London at the Royal Air Force College, Cranwell. In April 2007, he became Dean of the RAF College, Cranwell. He is a Director of the Royal Air Force Center for Air Power Studies, the Air Force's national think tank. He is also a member of the CAS Air Power Workshop, a small and highly select working group of scholars and other theorists convened by the Chief of Air Staff (the head of the Royal Air Force.). He holds fellowships from the United States Air Force and the Federal Government of Germany. He was born and brought up as a Jew. However, he now claims that he has converted to Islam.

Taher Ul Qadri working for US and Israeli Interests

Many people complain that Taher Ul Qadri may be working for the United States and Israel, an allegation which is denied by him.

It is a fact that Taher Ul Qadri never criticized United States for their high handedness in Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya and other countries. The whole world knows what happened on 9/11 and afterwords but Taher Ul Qadri never gets tired of singing US praise in all their actions, including their drone attacks on innocent civilians in many parts of the world.

Taher Ul Qadri sounds extremely apologetic in media interviews and gives the impression that only Muslims are behind terrorism in the world and that he is trying to stop Muslim youth from terrorism. Thus, many people in Islamic countries, particularly in Pakistan and Indian Sub continent are convinced that he is promoting US and Israeli interests in Muslim countries.

It is reported in Jang, published from Canada, that Taher Ul Qadri issued a Fatwa for Muslims that they should not raise any voice of discontent about what Nato forces are doing in many Muslim countries, including drone attacks that are killing large number of innocent civilians and destroying their houses.

The Fatwa was issued in front of print and electronic media representatives. It is reported that high ranking CIA and FBI officials were also invited to the function. Details can be read in the above cutting.

Lahore High Court verdict against Tarher Ul Qadri
It is reported that Lahore High Court declared Taher Ul Qadri as "a liar", "dishonest", "hungry and greedy", and "a person responsible for making dramas". A High Court verdict still stands against him for which he failed to plea in any Court. Read more....

Dr. Qadri's started his religious activities by giving lectures on Fridays in "Ittefaq" Mosque of Mian Mohammad, the father of Mian Nawaz Sharif, who later became the chief minister of of Punjab Province and later Prime Minister of Pakistan. Mian Nawaz Shariff and his brother Mohammad Shahbaz Shariff, were very much influenced by Dr. Qadri's lectures on Fridays. It is believed that they supported Dr. Qadri and his Minhaj by huge funding. However, Dr. Qadri and Mian Nawaz Sharif parted their ways and at one time Dr. Qadri filed a petition in Lahor High Court alleging that Mian Nawaz Sharif was behind a (fake) attempt of muder of Dr. Qadri. After a detailed investigation, the court found that the alleged attempt of murder charge on Nawaz Sharif was a political ploy of Dr. Qadri, and the blood strains on the wall of his house, shown as evidence, were actually the blood stains of the blood of a goat. :mrgreen: Thus, the High Court ruled that Dr. Qadri was a "Liar, dishonest", hungry and greedy person" Read more on Pakistani Newspaper Jung link.
rgosain

Post by rgosain »

Re Nobel prizes and the Cashmere cause. I once suggested to an Irish diplomat that a free cashmere will only come when Pakistan reverts to its individual parts and china vacates Tibet. Only then will the cost-benefit analysis suit India, but I hadn't reckoned on the UPA.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

TSP breaking into 30 pieces and Free Tibet -> distant mirages. When western powers sustain these entities in various ways for their benefit, that won't happen.
rgosain

Post by rgosain »

Venug. Exactly my point, solving cashmere at the behest of the west should be a very distant mirage as it offers India no benefit and creates even more issues. What exactly can the west offer India today that they couldn't 50 yrs ago?
Anindya

Post by Anindya »