Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

g.sarkar wrote:
brihaspati wrote:Does his clearing the name of Edalji, somehow diminish or eliminate the sentiments expressed in his writings about India/Indians/1857? Why are we so keen to see or invent redeeming features in the British that we always have to bring up whenever something negatively revealing about British icons turn up in our explorations?
No. That is why I gave the example of Nivedita who is certainly more admired by Indians than Conan Doyle. "We" are not keen seeing on anything, or inventing anything. Just as people in that age could not escape the Yugadharma, that includes Conan Doyle and Kipling of that age (and this includes Indian leaders of that era), so are we affected by our Yugadharma, and we will be judged by our descendents at a later date in future. Just a little understanding is needed.
There has been, and still do exist - quite critical assessments of Nivedita, from both Indian and non-Indian sides. Yugadharma is a rather slippery slope, which can be used to justify any and all. The primary question here was, whether or not he showed racial and imperialist constructions towards India/Indians/1857 anti-Brit movement etc. IF you immediately respond to a quote by someone showing his possible feelings in this regard - with an item that appears to contradict in action such alleged feelings, you are trying to negate his racist side, aren't you?

Apply then your yugadharma theory to this very case again : if he was unable to rise above his yugadharma where India was concerned, how did he manage to surpass that very yugadharma in the case of Edalji? If he could rise above, as you seem to imply [just being careful here - so please let us know if you mentioned Edalji not to contradict or counterpose his racist position, and you mentioned it just for the fun of it - and in that case my "implication" would be incorrect], then he was not bound by his yugadharma, and in that case we don't expect to see his racist bias, isn't it?

Is this logical for you?

http://www.qub.ac.uk/imperial/india/conan-doyle.htm
Doyle's Holmes texts are of particular interest, occupying as they do a position at the interface between popular culture and canonical literature. By the time of the publication of the second Holmes' text, The Sign of Four, Dr Watson had already been marked as the narrator of the Holmes tales in A Study in Scarlet. Studyportrays Watson as a doctor who had served with the British army in India, 'deep in the enemy's country....', against the 'murderous Ghazis', from whom he was rescued by hus dutiful orderly (Study15). The first Holmes text establishes a biographical backdrop for its narrator that embodies a simple opposition between heroic British military strength and an oppositional, primitive colonised populace. Furthermore, Watson is a figure who has actively suppressed the native figure in India. Considering Said's comment that the 'cult of the military personality was prominent [in late Victorian British culture], usually because such personalities had managed to bash a few dark heads....'(Culture 181), Watson can be seen as signifying an element desiged by Doyle to fuse his Holmes texts with the contemporary British cultural outlook.

In Study, Watson treats anything originating in India as the rightful property of England. Consider his contracting 'enteric fever,' which he describes as 'the curse of all our English possessions....'(15). This view of the colonies as British property continues in The Sign of Four. The narrative of Sign centres around a box of Indian treasure brought to England by the father of the twins Bartholomew and Thaddeus Sholto. The box, in the estimation of Thaddeus Sholto, is the rightful property of Mary Morstan: however, an ex-soldier convict, Jonathan Small, and his native Indian accomplice, are seeking the treasure. Small, in collusion with native Indian Sikhs and the Morstan's father had stolen the treasure after the 1857 uprising.

Immediately upon hearing of the treasure, Watson conceives of it through the filter of the British economy. Its status as a part of Indian heritage is suppressed and it is taken to be the rightful propert of Mary Morstan. Thaddeus Sholto muses that '"the value of the jewels [is]....not less than half a million pounds sterling...."' (105). Doyle links Sign not only to non-literary British culture but also to the contemporary body of English literature via inserting the presence of the Indian Mutiny in Jonathan Small's narrative (145 - 51). Patrick Bratlinger notes that mid to late Victorian fiction contained an imense amount of writing about the Indian Mutiny: Doyle intersects with these texts when he mentions the Indian mutineer Nana Sahib (151), who became a widely used paradigm in English fictions of the time, to embody the perceived treacherous nature of the colonised Indian populace (Bratlinger 205).

'After the Mutiny,' Bratlinger writes, 'India is portrayed as mired in changeless patterns of superstition and violence which can be dominated but not necessarily altered for the better....' (200). Such a view is embodied, as noted above, in the character and outlook of Watson. Bratlinger continues that 'Victorian writing about the Mutiny expresses in concentrated form the racist ideology that Edward Said calls Orientalism....' (199). Said defines Orientalism as being comprised of both the study of the East by the West, and any ideological outlook held and expressed by the West which serves to create and affirm 'ontological and epistemological distinction[s]' between the Orient and the Occident....' (Orientalism 2-3).

Doyle treats the distinction between East and West as objective fact. Watson, once the imperial dominator abroad, functions in the same capacity at home, continuing to suppress the Indian figure in England as in India. Doyle uses Watson as a device to oppress and eradicate the native Indian islander Tonga, Small's accomplice, whom he shoots as he stands on a barge on the River Thames (138-9).

Jonathan Small is highly distrustful of Tonga, viewing him through a Christian ethnocentric perspective as a '"hell-hound'".(138) The native Indian in Doyle's text is associated with the English criminal underground: however, if anything, Doyle gives the Indian native a status below that of his accomplice. Thaddeus Sholto's butler Lal Rao portrayed in the same way. He leads Holmes, Watson and Morstan down 'a sordid and common passage....'(100) It is unsurprising that Doyle elects to reveal Lal Rao as another of Small's accomplices (158).
Actually, since we have been pondering on enjoying a text forgetting any possible subtext that is unpalatable for us, the above rather academic analysis is a good window.

The reason, I am quoting this here - is not because a simple case of getting unduly biased against what is after all supposed to be "good literature". I thought that too when I was 16. But following my dad's advice, who was a guru of English literature - repeated reading of the same text at various ages, does reveal layers that do not appear on mere "enjoyment".

We need to become aware of the sublayers of what we are reading, seeing, absorbing as merely "good literature", "good movies", "good poems". This textual, movie, poetic is also making us subliminally accepting of the themes/dogmas/perception/associations created within the material. We wonder how we become dhimmis' - the more highly "educated", more "modernized" - the greater the potential for being a generalized dhimmi. Gloating and fawning over anything that is "not us", "not me", "not mine". We should read/experience the colonial, even post-colonial texts/movies with this new awareness.
lakshmikanth

Post by lakshmikanth »

g.sarkar wrote:
johneeG wrote:An interesting excerpt from "The Crooked Man" from "The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes", which is a collection of Sherlock Holmes stories. It was originally published in 1894, by Arthur Conan Doyle.
I am posting it because it can be a sample of the depiction of India and Indians by the colonial brits. This particular one deals with 1857.
Sirji,
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a Victorian and a product of his times. Most of his books are peppered with racism that was natural of that time. The fact was that India was looted and raped by the British Empire. This unpalatable thought was hidden by the invention of a civilizing British empire. No one who was educated in England during that time was immune to it. I would bring to you the example of Ms. Margaret Noble, who to us is famous as Sister Nivedita, who also suffered from this.
In defence of Sir Conan Doyle I can say that in spite of his inherent racism, he did help to clear the name of Edalji who was half Indian. We can still enjoy his writings.

Let me bring in Godwin's Law here (he he). Back in the day most of the German's were Nazi sympathizers, including film makers like Leni Riefenstahl. If you remove the hatred for Jews shown by her which was normal for someone who grew up in her environment, she is a very likeable, highly talented film maker who made pioneering advances in movie making. Infact, she showed disgust when she actually happened to witness a German soldier shooting up a bunch of Jews in Poland.

She is analogous to Conan Doyle. In such a case, why was she dropped like a hot potato by the "new and enlightened" west after the defeat of Germany?

"Sir" is a title of Knighthood conferred to any person who contributed to a kingdom that cannibalized, looted and pillaged India. That title itself should qualify anyone to be persona non-grata in India. Anyone who holds that title should be looked upon with scorn and not respect.

"Sir" Kipling: Rumored that Kipling actually ran a fund that amounted to around 26000 to help the Butcher of Amritsar (REH Dwyer) to get his retirement after he was kicked out of his post following Jallianwalla Bagh. (Kipling never accepted his Knighthood.. I am curious as to why). Kipling called the Butcher "The man who saved India".

Charles Dickens (should have been Knighted) the less said the better: http://www.countercurrents.org/polya100212.htm
“I, The Inimitable, holding this office of mine, and firmly believing that I hold it by the permission of Heaven and not by the appointment of Satan, have the honor to inform you Hindoo gentry that it is my intention, with all possible avoidance of unnecessary cruelty and with all merciful swiftness of execution, to exterminate the Race from the face of the earth, which disfigured the earth with the late abominable atrocities"

^^^Reginald was retired on half pay, but he was not discharged, nor discharged "dishonourably". He was given a full military funeral.

Kipling worked on this case with Michael O'Dyer, an Irish Catholic servant of the empire from Tipperary - and what can be confirmed is that he contributed to the drafting of teh appeal on behalf of Rex in the Post. The funding aspect is a bit more hazy.

Michael was the Lt. governor of Punjab at the time, and he fully endorsed and supported Rex. Michael thought that proposals for democratic reforms in India were based "on the false premise that the Indian masses have the desire and capacity for representative institutions which British people have. The results of pouring the new heady wine of the West into the ancient wine skins of the east...have been so far disatrous" [India as I knew it, 1925].

Udham Singh dispatched him on 13th March, 1940, and was hanged in Pentonville. Any possibility of a statue for this action against a criminal against humanity? [Serbian leaders have been prosecuted for "abetting" and promoting and protecting crimes against humanity, even if they themselves cannot necessarily be shown as doing the deed by their own hands].

If historical figures can be honoured now, without thinking of whether they performed now-appreciated acts according to their then concurrent yugadharma, why not a retroactive appreciation for Udham Singh as a fighter for human rights?

brihaspati wrote: If historical figures can be honoured now, without thinking of whether they performed now-appreciated acts according to their then concurrent yugadharma, why not a retroactive appreciation for Udham Singh as a fighter for human rights?
When someone uses the escape route of yugadharma, I always check if it passes basic ethical and moral test. If it doesn't then someone is trying to protect that individuals legacy.

The next test for me is, if that individuals action results in a later good, then perhaps the one who is pulling Yugadharma to protect the said individual is more interested in protecting the greater good and not the individual. Examples of this is what we see in most of our scripts.

Now the third question is whose good. If the good is in intellectual/knowledge realm then it is for common good. But if it is for the good of an empire or a family then it is not real good.

Even while we recognize the foibles and sheer racism of earlier "gentlemen" -perhaps sometimes, we can still enjoy their work for the flashes of brilliance they otherwise convey, for our own sake to enjoy the best of literature.

Kipling was an out and out racist supporter of the Empire. Doesn't make Jungle Book any less fascinating or "Riki Taki Tavi" any less of a beautiful read for youngsters!

Conan Doyle was a product of his times, to expect him to think of Indians as anything less than "swarthy rebels" may be expecting the impossible. Sherlock Holmes remains a masterpiece of fiction & everyone who has not read the entire series, is in my humble opinion, missing out on a lot.

Sir Henry Newbolt was another "Empire knows best" type. But his poem, is evocative.
Vitai Lampada by Sir Henry Newbolt (1862-1938)

There's a breathless hush in the Close tonight -
Ten to make and the match to win -
A bumping pitch and a blinding light,
An hour to play and the last man in.
And it's not for the sake of the ribboned coat,
Or the selfish hope of a season's fame,
But his Captain's hand on his shoulder smote -
'Play up ! play up ! and play the game !'

The sand of the Desert is sodden red -
Red with the wreck of a square that broke; -
The Gatling's jammed and the Colonel's dead,
And the regiment's blind with dust and smoke.
The river of death has brimmed his banks,
And England's far, and Honour a name,
But the voice of a schoolboy rallies the ranks:

This is the world that year by year,
While in her place the school is set,
Every one of her sons must hear,
And none that hears it dare forget.
This they all with joyful mind
Bear through life like a torch in flame,
And falling fling to the host behind -
Yes, we may quibble that the above glorifies the imperial disaster that was Sudan, spins the constant theme of a noble English stereotype. But the lesson in the lines above applies as much to all of us as to those in the forces who have faced impossible odds but still stuck on.

Or for that matter Kipling & If, another remarkable piece of prose.
IF you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But make allowance for their doubting too;
If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
Or being lied about, don't deal in lies,
Or being hated, don't give way to hating,
And yet don't look too good, nor talk too wise:
If you can dream - and not make dreams your master;
If you can think - and not make thoughts your aim;
If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two impostors just the same;
If you can bear to hear the truth you've spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
And stoop and build 'em up with worn-out tools:

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings
And never breathe a word about your loss;
If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
To serve your turn long after they are gone,
And so hold on when there is nothing in you
Except the Will which says to them: 'Hold on!'

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
' Or walk with Kings - nor lose the common touch,
if neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
If all men count with you, but none too much;
If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds' worth of distance run,
Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,
And - which is more - you'll be a Man, my son!
Again - parallels may be found in the wisdom that is in the Gita or elsewhere which are of course far more comprehensive, but it is stirring stuff even so and, something that can be appreciated for the ages.

Often, we judge people by today's standards - and we have to, because these same people are used as PR pieces/propaganda by today's supremacists. Even as we acknowledge their faults and remain on guard, I do think, as human beings - we can acknowledge their talent & contributions to literature & the human spirit as well.

PG Wodehouse may have been controversial, his view of British Gentry made up - but it was still hilarious.

His series on cricket - Mike & PSmith for instance - I still find it ages ahead of most of whatever our Indian authors of today can turn out even with the talent the Republic of India has put out over the ages.

Yes Minister - its coming on BBC nowadays - and the amount of biting sarcasm & truth to the face in that series is so incredible, that its beyond brilliance, to be honest. They had an entire episode in which Sir Humphrey Appleby schools the Minister Jim Hacker on how to double talk & discredit any opposition point or even twist a study so as to not take a decision. A few minutes later, switched channels & Manish Tiwari of the Congress was doing much the same, word to word. It was not even funny, but mind blowing.

Point is several Brits are jerks, agreed. They have some of the most insidious establishment figures who use each & every mean at their disposal to propagandize. Even so, their brilliance when using the English language, for either humor or fiction is often worth appreciating, if only that one day, we surpass it. I have only seen one author take a hammer to the Brits in their own language with sheer precision & amazing trenchant criticism - a gentleman called Preman Addy. I wonder if he is still writing.
lakshmikanth

Post by lakshmikanth »

Karan ji,

One cannot expect Indians (for whom this Englis language in Alien) to be masters of an alien tongue such as English. To expect it itself is unrealistic. I do not think we should aim for something as fickle as that. Fickle in the sense, the use of English itself has changed so much from its "stiff-upper-lips" days.

The other thing to note is this: The Bretards and their AngloSaxon brethen has in almost every instance done everything they can to destroy the essence of Indian culture. This is a persistent theme in their civilization narrative :- that their culture is "civilized" and ours is "of the brute" and hence inferior.

While you do have a point regarding occasional gems that lie embedded deeply in the middle of the gargantuan $hit that is Bretard literature, my question is why do we even care to respect those gems? Why wade through $hit to find those? Why give the rest of the $hit legitimacy in doing so? They have proven over and over again that they will not respect any of our works, and they have never been civil about it? Why accept a rabid dog which is 99% rabid and 1% "good".

Essentially you are saying this: "99% of Bretards are inbred racist bigots, but hey 1% is good and I like them"
They are saying this: "We dont care how good you are, or what you have to offer to us. We will take anything that we think is good from your culture, harvest it, digest it, steal it, make it our own and then claim that 100% of your culture is $hit"

Don't give them any legitimacy (even if it is deserved), intentionally or otherwise. Enjoy their works, steal from it, make it your own and rape it if possible, but never ever say its good or its a "gem". Because if you give them legitimacy, then you are giving your stage to someone who would use the same stage to prove how your culture is $hit.

Lakshmi,pl. read a book called "India Discovered" by John Keay.It records the famous Brits who truly discovered India,revered its ancient history,restored its monuments,etc. and revealed to the world the greatness of Indian civilisation.One artist,spent 10-20 years in making copies of the Ajanta frescoes,to see them burnt in a fire accident,returned to India,spent another 10-20 in making copies again!

Men like Lambton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Lambton) and Gen.Claude Martin (La Martiniere's founder who wrote: "By my perseverance and hard work I have accumulated a fortune from this country which is my second motherland. I have not cheated the people who have passively succumbed to the yoke of corrupt men."),who embraced India to his heart and is part of the history of Oudh ,surveyed the whole of India suffering nightmarish conditions.

Today,in Independent India,we treat our ancient monuments and temples,religious buildings,so poorly,shabbily,demolish buildings and homes that belonged to famous freedom fighters and authors like RK Narayan.The vast majority of our rulers have no respect or care for our ancient civilisation and pay lip service to men like Gandhi,wear khadi caps in jest and loot the nation.Look at the kind of leaders we have today.They are brigands,extortioinists and criminals who are raping the nation under the guise of parliamentary democracy,who hold the people of India in thralldom.They are no better than the worst of the colonial scum who ruled us earlier and behaved the same way.

Words ,whether coming from the pen of Kipling,Tagore,Iqbal,Keats,Burns, et al,are all part of the greater wealth of humanity and should be treated as such and not in racial terms.They often speak the same truths written from their historical perspective.We need to separate the "wheat from the chaff".

Once again, I have never this understood this "Indian psycology" or psycophancy or simply inferiority complex.

When it comes to our own, we nitpick like anything. But when it comes to the white skin, we make so many excuses that it makes me speechless.

If that Rudyard kipling was a ba$tard to Indians, he is a ba$tard for all I care about and if he was good to somebody random guy, let that guy call him an angel while we Indians should call him for what he is, a ba$tard instead of giving all these sick apologies.

Indians should stop carrying this whole world's burden on them. Its time to carry the neglected and abused Indian burden which has been kicked away to make space for this world's burden. Once again I repeat, Rudyard Kipling was a ba$tard.
Last edited by Virupaksha on 24 Oct 2012 08:24, edited 1 time in total.

how about this?

just as "enjoyment" comes supreme to some and there is no problem in "liking" somebody's work for "enjoyment", there is also the opposite side which has the right to "not like" and even "hate" some work based on the character of the personality which produced that work.

I will say that there is a very simple test to clarify this inferiority complex into the open.

Which of the following do you hate more.

a) Hitler/Stalin
b) Churchill.

My answer is b.

Devesh ji, simple english for the nanhas please. Your "ishaaras" are not clarifying for me at least.

"If that Rudyard kipling was a ba$tard to Indians, he is a ba$tard for all I care about and if he was good to somebody random guy, let that guy call him an angel while we Indians should call him for what he is, a ba$tard instead of giving all these sick apologies."

Well said. This( so and so did really good for.., said good to ....) is an approach used to defend such repulsive characters as Winston Churchill, among many others. And yes,you can find Indians speaking well of even an ass like Churchill. His name should be mud in India.

[.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 24 Oct 2012 08:34, edited 1 time in total.

Last edited by Vayutuvan on 24 Oct 2012 08:35, edited 1 time in total.

Karan M wrote:PG Wodehouse may have been controversial, his view of British Gentry made up - but it was still hilarious.
Controversial to the British elite - but certainly not for others. Understandable given that he completely blows the Brit class system smithereens.

Philip ji,
do you know who were the "corrupt men" he meant when he says : "I have not cheated the people who have passively succumbed to the yoke of corrupt men." ?

"By my perseverance and hard work I have accumulated a fortune from this country which is my second motherland. "

It would be interesting to know what were the conditions of trade and prosperity for Europeans vis-a-vis Indians aspiring to the same, at the time he was writing these lines.

Philip ji - the following is not meant for you in particular:

As for the literary quality, etc., I don't think anyone here is trying to ban English literature for Indians. Some of us are simply reserving our right to analyze the sublayers of racist and imperialist "orientalism" within the literature that others find so fascinating as to justify being oblivious of the underlying intonations.

If we admire Kipling's verse so much so, why are we not respecting his prfound wisdom about "East is east" and the "west is west", and that the "twain shall never meet"? After all, this not-meeting can somehow be forgotten, onlee if you are "strong men", and even if you have shared leavened bread and salt, or fire and sod, and two strong men from the two sides of east and west - at most the east can aspire to is to ride at his master the west's side - and hope for some power at the munificience of the "Queen", while the east's heritage is hanged at Peshawar.

Virupaksha ji,
a very good test actually. Churchill's inveterate hatred of Bharat+"Hindu" is not covered up by his small mercies towards his reconstruction of India+Indian - such as the protest against Rex Dyer's actions at Jallianwallahbag. The fact of what he did and said later on India as a conservative leader, is all the more revealing about what goes wrong with the British mindset - if we consider that he did and said all that, even after protesting Rex Dyer's massacre outing.

Rahul M wrote:@varunkumar sometimes people need to stop arguing for the heck of it. clearly you have not read the Indian constitution which would have told you that all state sanctioned titles were abolished barring academic and military ones. bharat ratna is neither. it's an honour, not a title. knighthood is an honour with a title. if someone wants to refer to arthur conan doyle by his full name including his title, that's his choice. I don't see how you can have an opinion on the matter.
Beg to differ dada, the honour with the title hasn't been bestowed by India so it doesn't make sense to invoke it each and every time one uses the persons name, and honestly after sometime it becomes irritating to read. Also seeing what SDREs have done to the briturds "honorary" title it becomes more laughable when you read it :mrgreen:

But saar as you said it's an individuals choice, g sarkar used his and so did varunkumar to convey his dissatisfaction. It's fair only saar.
lakshmikanth

Post by lakshmikanth »

Philip wrote:Lakshmi,pl. read a book called "India Discovered" by John Keay.It records the famous Brits who truly discovered India,revered its ancient history,restored its monuments,etc. and revealed to the world the greatness of Indian civilisation.One artist,spent 10-20 years in making copies of the Ajanta frescoes,to see them burnt in a fire accident,returned to India,spent another 10-20 in making copies again!
Philip saar,

Please do the following exercise: Go to a "stiff-upper-lipped" bretard and tell him the depths of Indian culture and how positive Indian culture is.

Most likely you will be met with outright rejection, derision, condescension, ridicule. You will have to put a lot of efforts on "proving" your point. i.e. your culture is $hit until proven otherwise ... proven otherwise by YOU (and not them). They will reject everything from your culture, after ofcourse digesting what they can and claiming it as non-Indian (read the OIT thread for some examples).

I am turning the tables. I claim that the core of the western culture is loot and plunder, and bretard literature is a reflection of the same. I am going to reject, ridicule, condescend every attempt to prove otherwise. The burden of proof is upon the bretard, and if anything IS good, I claim that it is already present in Indian culture and it has been there when the bretard ancestors were swinging on the trees.

Let them prove otherwise, either ways I dont give a phlying phack on whether there are good people in their ecosystem that helped India or not. Their ecosystem was based on loot and plunder.

Lakshmikanth, you may antagonize the Brits all you want - all I am saying is there is a lot that is good in British led literature that we can still appreciate. We can appreciate privately if need be. We don't have to have an English lovers society. Or that I will be nodding my head to their paeans of self glorification while they act as condescending twits with everyone else. But the kind of pileon that I saw with Gsarkar over some obscure issue is over the top.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

lakshmikanth/Philip

"Go to a "stiff-upper-lipped" bretard and tell him the depths of Indian culture and how positive Indian culture is."

You are absolutley right about that.
I was born in the UK and have lived here all my life.
The only way the brits can justify their pillage/loot of India and other parts of the world is by painting the original inhabitants as savages, umcivilised, backwards etc.

I've heard/read these sort of comments all over the brit and western media.
"you were living in mud huts, until we civilised you"
"you used to burn widows on funeral pyres, until we stopped it"
"the countries gone down hill, after independence, they can't govern themselves"
etc, etc, it goes on and on.

The average gora in the UK does not know or care about ancient Indian civilisation.
Do you think they will acknowledge the achievments of ancient India? If they do that how will they justify their "civilising mission?"

The only people I have met who are aware are those of Irish background.

Trust me, until the queen and the UK government, media, establishment recognise this, we will always be viewed as the ungrateful dark savage.

brihaspati wrote:Philip ji,
do you know who were the "corrupt men" he meant when he says : "I have not cheated the people who have passively succumbed to the yoke of corrupt men." ?

"By my perseverance and hard work I have accumulated a fortune from this country which is my second motherland. "

If we admire Kipling's verse so much so, why are we not respecting his prfound wisdom about "East is east" and the "west is west", and that the "twain shall never meet"? After all, this not-meeting can somehow be forgotten, onlee if you are "strong men", and even if you have shared leavened bread and salt, or fire and sod, and two strong men from the two sides of east and west - at most the east can aspire to is to ride at his master the west's side - and hope for some power at the munificience of the "Queen", while the east's heritage is hanged at Peshawar.
People can admire Kiplings verse and yet reject some of his other claims because we have common sense. Any & every individual is not perfect. Common sense dictates that we understand what is what & reject what is clearly dogma or prejudice. I find your repetitive harping on this, somewhat amusing. We are not children who need you to hold our finger & tell us the dangers of British culture and how insidious it is or can be. Enid Blyton was an excellent children's author. She also had "Gollywogs" in her books that were nothing but a completely racist & unacceptable take on black ministrels.
The situation was much the same all around. Take even American authors.

The greatest authority on Lovecraft today - is an Indian. Lovecraft was nothing but a complete racist. Some of the stuff in his books verges on outright fear of the swarthy oriental races. But doesn't make his works anything less than spellbinding when it comes to horror. A couple of his books around the Ctulhu mythos are exceptional.
The same issue occurs across the board.

In a similar way, Robert Heinlein & his work - Starship Troopers can be & is read as a paean to a militarized state. Doesn't make it anything less than an exceptional book on scifi either.

Conan is supposed to have popularized the sword & sandal genre. Again, an American - the author died young. If you read his books, its often a simplistic paean to some pagan glorious western culture, but he did make an occasional effort to research about other non western cultures (Khitai = China, Vindhyas = India and so forth).

At a simple level, if we wish to isolate yourself in a hencoop and only read about those who appreciated Indian culture, then we'll be left with 2-3 authors and books. If we are lucky. Otherwise we enjoy what is available, understand where these fellows where way off target. And if you are the serious nationalist kind, understand enough, that despite the enjoyment you can point out the obvious flaws & contradictions, all with a straight face & appreciating the positive as well. That's victory, right there.

If folks are serious about this - start a website - not a blog, about deconstructing British authors of the Raj, pointing out the more obvious racist swipes & such like. Thats useful.

People who read these books & miss the subcontext may be helped. People on this website though, are unlikely to be at that level. We crossed that bridge a long time back. We can read Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes and appreciate it, while rolling our eyes at some of his fantastical rubbish about the Lost World (masala fantasy at its worst). Bottomline - theres no standard appreciation society here, if that's what you are worried about.

On British Literature

I can only speak for myself. I have a simple way of looking at it.

a) Enjoy the Literature to the Maximum

b) Criticize all the racist aspects of it

c) If there is racism, as is to be expected, condemn the writer as a racist and a pig

d) Throw a lot of mud at the British society along with it.

Here one can perhaps take a little lesson from our friendly neighbors, the Pakis. They watch Hindi films, enjoy it to the maximum and yet they spew hatred towards Indians. At least our criticism of the British would be genuine. But so too should be our relishing of their literature. And no need to hold back the venom towards the British and their writers. The more the better!

Haresh wrote: I've heard/read these sort of comments all over the brit and western media.
"you were living in mud huts, until we civilised you"
"you used to burn widows on funeral pyres, until we stopped it"
"the countries gone down hill, after independence, they can't govern themselves"
etc, etc, it goes on and on.
The big problem with rebutting these sort of comments is that the conditions they depict are still there. Granted, the British did a lot, perhaps the most, to make India a poverty stricken state, full of desparation and inhuman conditions. But we have had 60 years to revamp ourselves. Have we? No.

And at the end of the day, from a propaganda perspective, that is what gives the Brits an upper hand. We can talk of ISRO or DRDO or CSIR, but they can always trot out a picture of a starving kid eating mud in Orissa, and it cuts us to the bone. We can speak of buying Louis Vuitton bags in our new malls, and they can trot out a picture of a hundred people defecating by the railway tracks. Again, they equalize.
The point is that the further away we move from 1947, the more the advantage cedes to them, if we don't get our act together.

The Govt of India, since independence has served as a means for a kleptocracy - led by one family - to seize power, redistribute wealth to its minions, ensure an artificially low growth rate - and further divide indian society on caste and creed. As versus having the country rise to its true potential. India is not a poor country, it has poor people because the wealth it has, is stolen by a few, who use the state to hide behind.

The politics of selective patronage & votebanks have divided the country even further. Whether it be a undergraduate school application or marriage registration, caste madness reigns! Keep crying yourself hoarse about the British imposing "casta" via the census in the 1800's on the Indian varna system and mutating it. But what prevented independent India from reversing this? Nothing. Today, we are a madhouse (if not overt discrimination, the sheer division into groups and subgroups & identity politics is divisive) which even Vivekananda would have used his Kerala analogy for. Again, more ammunition for the Brits.

We have all faced these debates & seen the counterpoints, and they are powerful weapons, easily available to any Brit/westerner who has visited India or has a passing familiarity with it.

Unfortunately, as long as these sort of conditions continue in India, the British, the west and all those idiots who follow their lead will continue to look down on us, and will have ample ammunition to do so, no matter how much effort we make to rebut them using facts and logic. Its a sad fact of life. We will continue to face the uphill propaganda issue, and as always the GOI's suit booted MEA mandarins will be least bothered about the image issue the common Indian (or NRI with fondness for his country of origin) faces when against a hostile western interrogative.

As matter of fact, the above imbeciles will even allow social engineering groups to visit India, collect data about indian society to divide & rule, allow idiots like Danny Boyle to use India for their money making - all in the grounds of "democracy". First they fail utterly at governance, and then they allow propagandists in, to mock them for it. Of course, they are not accountable, but India's image suffers.

The reason why I state the above is because the nations development matters. Take a look at Hollywood. When it makes a movie like Training Day, full of violence & drug dealing, corrupt cops, absolute failure of law & order...does it stop people from wanting to move to LA? People are able to subconsciously slot this "narrative" to a lower slot as versus the dominant "narrative" of the US being the land of opportunity. In contrast, Slumdog Millionaire (made by a Brit, who else) is automatically considered by many to be the dominant narrative of India. The failure to develop, the failure to keep our streets clean, cities well organized, well run is something that we Indians take for granted every darn day we go out. Its not considered a plus by the rest of the world.

And those who dislike us, will use every bit of ammunition that they get.

Karan M wrote:Unfortunately, as long as these sort of conditions continue in India, the British, the west and all those idiots who follow their lead will continue to look down on us, and will have ample ammunition to do so, no matter how much effort we make to rebut them using facts and logic. Its a sad fact of life.
Karan M wrote:In contrast, Slumdog Millionaire (made by a Brit, who else) is automatically considered by many to be the dominant narrative of India. The failure to develop, the failure to keep our streets clean, cities well organized, well run is something that we Indians take for granted every darn day we go out. Its not considered a plus by the rest of the world.

This has got nothing to do with our level of development! This is solely a propaganda issue.

They call us poor. We call them robbers!

They call us backward. We call them on their way down.

They call us uncivilized. We call them in free fall, back to obscurity, where they belong.

They call us street-side defecators. We demand their private toilets as compensation!

Why do we want to explain it to them using logic and facts? :-? One finds out in the first few seconds whether the other is just a bit naive or whether he is a troll.

Karan M wrote:Unfortunately, as long as these sort of conditions continue in India, the British, the west and all those idiots who follow their lead will continue to look down on us, and will have ample ammunition to do so, no matter how much effort we make to rebut them using facts and logic. Its a sad fact of life.
Karan M wrote:In contrast, Slumdog Millionaire (made by a Brit, who else) is automatically considered by many to be the dominant narrative of India. The failure to develop, the failure to keep our streets clean, cities well organized, well run is something that we Indians take for granted every darn day we go out. Its not considered a plus by the rest of the world.

This has got nothing to do with our level of development! This is solely a propaganda issue.

They call us poor. We call them robbers!

They call us backward. We call them on their way down.

They call us uncivilized. We call them in free fall, back to obscurity, where they belong.

They call us street-side defecators. We demand their private toilets as compensation!

Why do we want to explain it to them using logic and facts? :-? One finds out in the first few seconds whether the other is just a bit naive or whether he is a troll.
Because your propaganda fire-back won't work.

If you are not new to the entire fight the British/argument thing, remember you are fighting a bunch of racists/nationalist bigots, with a whole lot of fence sitters, and a few leftists - who will more often than not, quote "daleets" back at you, and end up undermining your position.

So, no matter how many counter hits you land - same as those you made above, you are just going to move the fence sitters to move to the side of the nationalists. The aim is to actually convince the fence sitters, because you will never convince the bigot.

The numbers are also against us.

India's net penetration is too low for Indians to dominate the webboards.

In contrast, we are going to be operating at a disadvantage. You can land all the hits you want, but to actually "win" the arguement - as versus just posting away - we need stuff that shows the conditions these Brits talked about are either minimized or non existent (doubtful).

Like it or not, the dice are stacked against those Indians who debate all this.

About the one thing that can possibly give us more ammo, is a concerted drive to catalog the effects of Brit rapaciousness on India's current economic & socio-economic trajectory.

The GOI, being absolutely beholden to leftist interests (heck even IDSA carries stuff putting down Indian civilizational contributions from time to time) will never do this. Its best left to enthusiasts and amateurs.

Its a big plus.

But over time, even this will "fade", because the farther we get from 1947, the more the issue becomes apparent that the Indians themselves didn't reverse course but continued to fiddle away.

Karam M ji,

that is because we play defense! Even if we are few, let's change to offense. Let's criticize the Brits and British society and show them what kind of dorks and bimbos they are. Let's talk about their screwed up society.

There is really zero need of trying to "improve" the views of the Brits towards India, be they jerks or fence-sitters. The only thing that matters is what the Indians think in terms of which is the better society, and that too according to parameters that Indians choose.

Remind them of the 2011 riots! Remind them of their impotency in stopping white girls from being screwed and pimped by Pakis! Remind them of their shoddy space program! Remind them of the financial crash! Remind them of the drugs and junkies out there!

The thing is there is no need to "defend" verbal attacks on India. When India is ready, our glory would shine on its own, regardless of the verbal attacks of the Brits. The thing is if we cannot show ourselves superior to them in a debate, we just pull them down several notches. It is all torn-shirt, open fly kind of debates taking place in web forums. We feel hurt by allegations against India. That is natural. But we won't be able to defend everything they throw at us to make ourselves feel little. As you said, they will still win the match. So let's not try to defend everything, and thus feel helpless and embarrassed that we lose the debate or they are able to hurt our feelings.

Sure we have to work to make India better. That would take time, and would run its course. But we cannot wait for that first, before take on some loud mouth Brits.

To be mocked are the robbers who robbed so much but are now diving into penury! To be lauded are the robbed, who lost everything but are again standing on their feet and making the robbers uneasy!

If one wants to destroy it doesn't take that much time. That is what the Brits did in India. To build however takes a lot of time, but India still needs to hurry! So what you ask for would take time!

^^^ rajesh, remember this discussion stems from paras written by people at the height of their imperialistic powers and our projection of that mindset onto current times.
nakul

Post by nakul »

^^^these are the same people who practiced slavery, genocide and ethnic cleansing which was supported by their views. You can't criticize islamic terrorism without referring to the koran. Let's not be the defender of the british hadiths(racial views)

as far as i can see no one here is defending british imperialism
i really dont understand how posters come to that conclusion
nakul

Post by nakul »

many are defending their views at the height of imperialism. These views are the root cause of all suffering. It's like ignoring the islamic scriptures while speaking about terrorism. You can't address the problem (imperialism) while ignoring the root cause (superiority complex). Only when one's mind is awash with thoughts of cruelty and sadism towards other civilization, can they indulge in the genocide that British did.

RajeshA,

When you face these guys anyplace on the net, 1-2 are British - rest will all be hangers on. The fencesitters are other westerners. Just calling all of them names is a tiring exercise. How much will you flame?

At the end of the day, winning arguements takes a convincing story - whether it be our own achievements (growth momentum - economically, socially, militarily - all need to go hand in hand) PLUS - the details of what the British actually did. The problem is, if we focus only on what the British did, the Brit/western civilization uber alles types will come back with stories of India today.

Which comes back to the claims of what Haresh pointed out about their usual claims of civilization etc.

Of course I agree that its not an easy thing because India will take time to develop. Perhaps far too much time, if it continues with the absolutely corrupt kleptocracy ruling right now, with its politics of patronage. Which is why the struggle against the "Economists" or "Telegraphs" or the "Guardian"s or the "Daily Mails" and their eager readers, will continue to be a struggle.

The Brits wont give up their place easily either. I find it amazing how they transitioned from losing power, to being the dominant influence peddler by hanging onto the coattails of the US & then continuing to shape American views. I suspect that almost 90% of the caste-cows-curry-fakir-daleets image of India, is actually shaped by British narratives of India, which were then adopted by the left & the evangelicals for their own purposes, and given wide play.
nakul

Post by nakul »

The solution is simple. But as usual, the opposition is from within. Change the people's view that the British are civilized. The easiest way of doing it is to encourage Indic languages & idea.

nakul wrote:many are defending their views at the height of imperialism. These views are the root cause of all suffering. It's like ignoring the islamic scriptures while speaking about terrorism. You can't address the problem (imperialism) while ignoring the root cause (superiority complex). Only when one's mind is awash with thoughts of cruelty and sadism towards other civilization, can they indulge in the genocide that British did.
Who is defending anyone's Imperialists views here?

What we are saying is that these views existed, were common, and can directly be traced to an era where these views were the dominant narrative. And if you want to replace that narrative, then you have to have a far more reasoned approach than just blind, unremitting hatred for each and every person who brought into that narrative. If you take Kipling's verses (the reasonable ones to heart) and use it to improve yourself, you benefit. However, if you just hate him, and rage, it won't do anyone good, least of all yourself - the man is dead and gone. You have no way of getting back at him. The best way to go forward would be to accept what is good - enjoy it, and as Rajesh A says, do something in a consistent fashion that exposes the racist bigotry that was commonplace across the British Empire.

Instead of saying "xyz was racist" and swamping webboards, create a website, write a book, that, without dripping hatred (because that can be used to discredit your work), with authoritative references, documents why British Empire was racist, how widespread it was & even trace its effects on todays India.

That sinks any and every effort to use the Victorian era remembrancers (;-)) to shape views of Indian culture.
nakul

Post by nakul »

Killing others and viewing them as lesser beings is bad for any era. It does not need a genius to figure it out.

There are far too many British writings, movies and reporting from India. Presumptuous and arrogant of them, and also shameless. They even have the audacity and pomposity, as the Economist did, to criticise India for viewing China as a problem for India. And hence possessing missile and nuclear weapons capability. What they are really saying( duh) is that they despise India having its own perceptions of what its threats/challenges are; those should be given by Brits or perhaps the Americans. Not determined by Indians themselves, perish the thought.

Karan M wrote
People can admire Kiplings verse and yet reject some of his other claims because we have common sense. Any & every individual is not perfect. Common sense dictates that we understand what is what & reject what is clearly dogma or prejudice.
That is the primary question - can you admire Kipling's verse while realizing how he is constructing the role of the "east" as a devoted servant in his "East is is East" verse? Someone who is doing this, is already halfway through accepting or tolerating the very idea of subservience - if it is packaged nicely in golden verse.
I find your repetitive harping on this, somewhat amusing. We are not children who need you to hold our finger & tell us the dangers of British culture and how insidious it is or can be. Enid Blyton was an excellent children's author. She also had "Gollywogs" in her books that were nothing but a completely racist & unacceptable take on black ministrels.
The situation was much the same all around. Take even American authors.
You might find it amusing, and as expected your reaction is more defensive of your justification of separation of enjoyment from content. Did you ever point out the imperialist dogma and degrading model sought to be imposed in the last few lines of the "east is east" verse to anyone else - at school, at home or your next generation - while showing your delight in the "verse" and the pure literary joy of the verse? I do find much greater anger, and a much quicker response against any direct criticism of English literature as text that pushes for acceptance of British/white/Christian supremacy - from supposedly extremely aware Indians - than they are in exposing or pointing out these "insidious" stuff to others in the appreciation societies.
The greatest authority on Lovecraft today - is an Indian. Lovecraft was nothing but a complete racist. Some of the stuff in his books verges on outright fear of the swarthy oriental races. But doesn't make his works anything less than spellbinding when it comes to horror. A couple of his books around the Ctulhu mythos are exceptional.
The same issue occurs across the board.
As it happens, I found both Blyton and Lovecroft, rather poor literature.
In a similar way, Robert Heinlein & his work - Starship Troopers can be & is read as a paean to a militarized state. Doesn't make it anything less than an exceptional book on scifi either.
Again a matter of opinion, and compares nowhere in the genre with Bester, or a Card, or Zamyatin, or Haldeman - if you are looking at scifi in the backdrop of a militarized state.
Conan is supposed to have popularized the sword & sandal genre. Again, an American - the author died young. If you read his books, its often a simplistic paean to some pagan glorious western culture, but he did make an occasional effort to research about other non western cultures (Khitai = China, Vindhyas = India and so forth).
Conan is an epitome of enjoyable literature for you? Of course, its a matter of personal taste.
At a simple level, if we wish to isolate yourself in a hencoop and only read about those who appreciated Indian culture, then we'll be left with 2-3 authors and books. If we are lucky. Otherwise we enjoy what is available, understand where these fellows where way off target. And if you are the serious nationalist kind, understand enough, that despite the enjoyment you can point out the obvious flaws & contradictions, all with a straight face & appreciating the positive as well. That's victory, right there.
No one is asking to be isolated [there goes the subliminal message again - if you are not appreciating and enjoying what English literature dishes out - you are in a hencoop]. What I responded to - was the prompt putting up of the "good English heart" behind an author otherwise openly and viciously imperialist and racist in his texts, and whose that particular side was simply being highlighted by a poster.

One cannot help sensing a sense of identification with the British, a subconscious sympathy for and acceptance of the totality of the identity - helped along by the supposedly brilliant literary flourish.
If folks are serious about this - start a website - not a blog, about deconstructing British authors of the Raj, pointing out the more obvious racist swipes & such like. Thats useful.

People who read these books & miss the subcontext may be helped. People on this website though, are unlikely to be at that level. We crossed that bridge a long time back. We can read Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes and appreciate it, while rolling our eyes at some of his fantastical rubbish about the Lost World (masala fantasy at its worst). Bottomline - there's no standard appreciation society here, if that's what you are worried about.
I am not worried. Thankfully - a large number of Indians do miss out - out of necessity, the so-called literary brilliance of the English. Those who are so confident of having crossed the bridge, might be the most vulnerable actually. Those odd pieces of biographical information, or the logic of forgiving an inherently genocidal ideological bias because of literary brilliance - pave the way for softening resistance. That appreciation of literature for literature's sake, often covers for an acceptance of the values and perceptions of the admired sources.

By the way - there has been a lot of work on how the very sense of literary appreciation is constructed, by early or educational conditioning. If you write out the texts you "appreciate", and note where you first encountered them - through whom and in what environment, you will see a pattern of selection, often guided by your school, adult opinion, and so-called "peer reco", which agin takes its cues from other selectors.

I rarely hear appreciations of Quincey's confessions of an English opium eater, for example, or the peculiar ref to India in Lawrence's Lady Chatterley's Lover, or George Ade's stories of benevolent assimilation, or Howard Crosby's Swords and plowshares, or Dean Howell's between the dark and the daylight. PS : forgot to add Steinbeck and Grapes of wrath, or even Cranes careful explorations in the red badge of courage. How about Jean Rhys?

A good test for me has always been to ask for the books of Mark Twain that one appreciates, it inevitably shows up the guided nature of most English literary brilliance appreciation tours.

karanm wrote:60 years...
Come on sir 200 years of unmitigated rapaceousness
and another 60 years of instigating an implacable enemy ...

A sad series of posts on this thread, saying more about what was done to us and still remains than anything else!

>>"Go to a "stiff-upper-lipped" bretard and tell him the depths of Indian culture and how positive Indian culture is."

Why? Does his/her opinion matter?

>>The only way the brits can justify their pillage/loot of India and other parts of the world is by painting the original inhabitants as savages, umcivilised, backwards etc.

Yes. And so we have to prove to whom otherwise?

>>The average gora in the UK does not know or care about ancient Indian civilisation.

If they said they did, whom would it make happy? Why does it matter to you or me whether they know or care about our civilisation? Speaking for myself, I don't give a crap whether the Brits (or any non-Indian for that matter) know or care.

>>Do you think they will acknowledge the achievments of ancient India? If they do that how will they justify their "civilising mission?"

Even if they sang paeans to our ancient acheivements and aknowledged their physical and mental holocaust imposed upon us, will that change anything? Not for me. We were screwed. Saying "sorry" now does not matter. Who cares if they acknowledge? We know what was done. Keep it in mind. Be practical. Whether you want to forgive and/or forget is a personal choice.

>>Trust me, until the queen and the UK government, media, establishment recognise this, we will always be viewed as the ungrateful dark savage.

Good. I need any advantage I can get.

>>Let's criticize the Brits and British society and show them what kind of dorks and bimbos they are. Let's talk about their screwed up society.

Absolutely. But do it not because they did xyz to India, rather simply because now we are in a position to look at their society from inside, in every way, and say objectively "hey, that's fu(ked up"...

>>The problem is, if we focus only on what the British did, the Brit/western civilization uber alles types will come back with stories of India today.

And that only matters because we care...

other's opinions should only matter to you to the extent that your opinions matter to those others...