India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

Re: India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

A special forces operation now is unlikely to give expected results since there won't be the needed element of surprise. That opportunity is gone.
Raja

Post by Raja »

schinnas wrote:So far the chatter from journalists connected (such as Iyer, ShivaAroor) and corroborated by official govt sources is that:

1. Cheen conducted a barbaric preplanned killing of Indian soldiers including knowingly attacking and killing our CO.
2. They might have gotten away with it, but Divine Grace was on the side of India and they end up with 2x the casualties due to land giving way.

#2 should be viewed as Cheen troops having a topographical accident. While our outnumbered and surprised and unarmed soldiers might have pushed down a few Cheen attackers down the ravine, we have NOT extracted revenue or punished the Cheen for their arrogant and barbaric treachery. May be time to send in covert forces to make some footballs roll on their side of LAC.

India cannot afford to let Cheen escape this unpunished even if they gave back all the occupied areas without conditions.
#2 is also not as reliable information. There is a very real chance that they got away with this barbaric AND premeditated attack. I think this probably a revenge plan cooked up by cheeni soldiers on the ground for the fistfight that occurred earlier.
sajo

Post by sajo »

EAM Has clarified that the soldiers were carrying arms, especially while out on patrol, but did not open fire in accordance to past agreements. In retrospect, if they had opened fire to save themselves, the same accusers would have given it a completely different spin calling India the aggressor instead of the defenders.
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

This is disgusting, being lynched to death because following government dictat of not opening fire even when attacked barbarically. Shame on the government and especially this 'kadi-ninda' fame idiot DM.

Well these agreements worked for 33 years, there are consquences to having a war with China and we could not started one. Now they have things change

A solider risking his life has the right to defend it. Agreements & RoEs be damned.
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

I am still saying - let's take GB now and slay the dragon by cutting off its most precious organ in this region and raison d'etre of this aggressiveness. That will be a true win and shraddhanjali to our martyr's.
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

We dont need to touch AC right now - just take GB and extend upto Wakhan corridor killing this CPEC. AC will automatically become less teneable and of no great value for China, we can move into AC once they have whittled down there.
Last edited by Larry Walker on 18 Jun 2020 17:12, edited 1 time in total.
sajo

Post by sajo »

Use of firearms would have probably led to the exact outcome as the Chinis hoped it will be. Right now we have denied them a narrative (theirs ofcourse) driven course of action.

MEA to address media at 5 pm IST today. NewsX reporting.

Checked https://www.mea.gov.in/ - no info about it or a live webcast.

When will we learn ? :roll:

I hope they won't just read a terse written statement and disappear without Q&A.

In fact if we can set the CHinese up nothing like it. smokes and mirrors.
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

The Parliament of India has passed an unanimous resolution that PoK, GB and AC are part of India. Armed forces executing the will of the Parliament. And there is no direct China involved when it comes to sovereignity or control of GB - but it will definitely bury their CPEC.
Pashupatastra

Post by Pashupatastra »

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/06/17/asia ... index.html

Even US think tanks give India advantage over China in Ladakh /mountainous regions. Need to press for a response in Ladakh /PoK soon.
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

sajo wrote:Use of firearms would have probably led to the exact outcome as the Chinis hoped it will be. Right now we have denied them a narrative (theirs ofcourse) driven course of action.
This is defeatist mindset - why do we always assume that our narrative will be doubted and given less credence than that of Chinese ?? And had our bravehearts fought their way back, we could have published their account directly on how Chinese tricked us and tried to kill us under garb of de-escalation
ernest

Post by ernest »

amar_p wrote:MEA to address media at 5 pm IST today. NewsX reporting.

Checked https://www.mea.gov.in/ - no info about it or a live webcast.

When will we learn ? :roll:

I hope they won't just read a terse written statement and disappear without Q&A.
This 5pm address is regarding the UNSC seat. It will go live on YT here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H9Geay3cbUI

https://www.rediff.com/news/column/lada ... 200618.htm
How Bihar Regiment's bravery at Galwan stunned China
By DAVID DEVADAS, June 18, 2020.
A senior officer confirmed that the Indian soldiers fought valiantly and with tremendous grit "till the last", even to the extent that half of them died in battle, reveals David Devadas.

Bihar earned its place in the sun on Monday, June 15, when the brave soldiers of the Bihar Regiment showed their mettle on the Line of Actual Control with China in Ladakh. They showed courage beyond the call of duty, demonstrating to the Chinese that Indian soldiers are no pushover.
When the Chinese troops viciously attacked the Indian Commanding Officer, who had gone unarmed to talk to them, they probably figured that the soldiers who had come with him would scamper away in fear when they saw their leader fall.
Instead, the Chinese faced the raw fury of the Indian soldiers who ignored the fact that they were outnumbered many times over by the Chinese, who also had the advantage of higher ground. Like men possessed, the Bihar Regiment soldiers fought bare-handed with no less intensity than lions.
A CO is after all something of a father figure to an Indian soldier. The rest of the battalion was no less charged up when the CO's critically injured figure was brought back. A major is reported to have rushed up with a few more soldiers immediately to take charge of the men who were still fighting. The battle went on for several hours, and there were large numbers of casualties on both sides.
US intelligence has reported that the Chinese CO was killed, along with 30-plus of his men. A senior officer confirmed on Wednesday that "there is no doubt" that the Indian soldiers fought valiantly and with tremendous grit "till the last", even to the extent that half of them died in battle.
Startling bravery
The immediate bravery of those Bihar Regiment soldiers must be saluted and memorialised. More important in terms of how this situation now plays out, those brave soldiers demonstrated the indomitable spirit of the Indian soldier. This is a crucial takeaway at a time when China seems to be poised on the brink of escalating hostilities against India. Troops and armaments are massed right across the boundary between the two countries. Strategic moves of China and other potentially antagonistic powers will take on board how ferociously the Indian soldiers fought back despite being unarmed, outnumbered, at a tactical disadvantage in terms of height, and were taken totally by surprise by a huge number of reinforcements who came down from the Chinese side.
I have no doubt that China's actions have been meticulously planned and involve major strategic objectives. Even on Monday, they were evidently lying in wait for a fight, with bats wrapped with barbed wire, nail-studded clubs, and other medieval instruments of battle. And unexpectedly large numbers of Chinese reinforcements were lying in wait just a little behind the forward camp which the CO tried to get them to remove. Those reinforcements turned up quickly to join in assaulting the Indian soldiers. Given how cleverly they seem to be working to a detailed plan, they may not easily be diverted from their objectives. But the heroic valour of the Bihar Regiment soldiers on Monday will surely have a somewhat sobering effect.
Sudden, vicious attack
From what we can piece together of Monday evening's events, the local commanding officer, Colonel Santosh Babu, took a group of around 40 men to the Galwan post, where Chinese troops had dug in. His purpose was to get them to move back in accordance with the agreement reached more than a week earlier, when the corps commander had had a meeting with the Chinese commander. The Chinese not only refused to move back, they attacked the CO with iron-studded clubs. These instruments were brought by reinforcements, who arrived very quickly in large numbers. That was the crucial make-or-break moment. Seeing how badly they were outnumbered, the Indian soldiers could have retreated, carrying their CO. The Chinese probably intended for this to happen. Instead, the Bihar men charged into the Chinese who had attacked their CO, not caring for the extremely poor odds they faced.
PS I do not know why Sugarland is being referred to as "Dragon", there is no such creature. In BRF we have called them "Lizard".
Last edited by g.sarkar on 18 Jun 2020 17:34, edited 1 time in total.
RajaRudra

Post by RajaRudra »

Emergency purchase of 12 Sukhoi and 21 Mig-29 from russia.

Source- Twitter @FrontalAssault1

Not sure, if that means we are preparing well..or just bulking up for back ups.
Could be replacement ordered for the crashed once in the case of Sukhois, Is the Mig 29 already ordered getting urgency now?
Last edited by RajaRudra on 18 Jun 2020 17:35, edited 1 time in total.

ernest, thanks.
RaviB

Post by RaviB »

Sanju wrote:Agreement on the Maintenance of Peace and Tranquility along the Line of Actual Control in the India-China Border Areas

Please read the whole document, based on which our ROE was based. Posting in full:

Agreement on the Maintenance of Peace and Tranquility along the Line of Actual Control in the India-China Border Areas

September 7, 1993
Sanju ji, this agreement was updated by follow up arrangements in 1996, 2005 and 2013

Current practices of patrolling are based on Articles VI to VIII of the Border Defence Cooperation Agreement of 2013
Article VI

The two sides agree that they shall not follow or tail patrols of the other side in areas where there is no common understanding of the line of actual control in the India-China border areas.

Article VII

In case a doubtful situation arises with reference to any activity by either side in border areas where there is no common understanding of the line of actual control, either side has the right to seek a clarification from the other side. In such cases, the clarification shall be sought and replies to them shall be conveyed through any of the mechanisms established underArticle III of this Agreement.

Article VIII

The two sides agree that if the border defence forces of the two sides come to a face-to-face situation in areas where there is no common understanding of the line of actual control, both sides shall exercise maximum self-restraint, refrain from any provocative actions, not use force or threaten to use force against the other side, treat each other with courtesy and prevent exchange of fire or armed conflict.
From what I know the current practices are to carry guns slung on the back with barrels pointing down. The weapons are left behind during flag meetings and that's when the initial ambush happened. I think our soldiers were carrying spades to remove the tents, which might have offered some protection to them. The Chinese technically stuck to the letter of this agreement since there was no use of firearms and nobody had considered the possibility that they would use clubs.

Have we ever attacked the Chinese, in 1962 it was always them attack we were trying to defend, in 1967 CHo la they attacked and our Motars fired back, 1975 they ambushed 4 soldiers. We have never ambushed or attacked them- may be thats why they have soo much bravado against us. Plus the rest of nations in the Indian Sub continent growel to them, perhaps thinking in terms of race they think we are also not a fighting nation.

The time has come to change this, I hope the 800 chinese men in the Galwan valley get trapped there. Yes the Chinese are strong, but they have not been under fire since 1979- they will make mistakes. We need to choose our time but we have to stand up to them. In action means appeasing a crocodile, we cannot afford that.

The time for surprise is now gone but the time realization is only just dawning upon us.

If we were to take any military action now, it must have clear objectives. While the aam janta is baying for blood, the armed forces focus on attaining its objectives. In this instances, I would love to know from the more knowledgeable folks, as to what can be those objectives.

On the economic front, there are plenty of options and the GoI seems to be exercising some of them. But what are our areas of strength on the border?

Can we realistically aim to cut off the KKH via an SF raid and hold on to it?, or does the Eastern sector hold opportunities for us in creating a buffer zone around Tawang and building fortifications.

RajaRudra wrote:Emergency purchase of 12 Sukhoi and 21 Mig-29 from russia.
Could be replacement ordered for the crashed once in the case of Sukhois, Is the Mig 29 already ordered getting urgency now?
https://www.defenseworld.net/news/25377 ... utUs9VKiUk
India in Talks With Russia for Additional 21 MiG-29s, 12 Su-30s
Our Bureau 09:36 AM, August 30, 2019

This news is dated August 30, 2019, are we purchasing more? or is this old news?
samirdiw

Post by samirdiw »

ldev wrote:
williams wrote: I am going out on a limb here and saying that as of today India does not have a conventional retaliation capability beyond some parts of Tibet. India cannot lob conventional missiles 2500 kms away in eastern China unless it uses Agni 3 and Agni 2 missiles which are specifically reserved for the nuclear strike role. And India will not dis-arm itself of it's nuclear strike option just to lob a handful of conventional warheads into eastern China. How many such missiles does India have. It is the credible minimum deterrent that is talked about. You will find that number if you look hard enough. I do not want to publicize it here. That is why I have always been in favor of a long range cruise missile with a 2500-3000 km range. The US Tomahawk is under US $ 2 million to produce per unit. That is less than Rs 15 crores. If India could have fast tracked and produced an extended range Nirbhay at Rs 15 crore a pop imagine the retaliation options.
Can we take out their conventional SRBM/IRBM sites in Tibet through our missiles before they target our cities ?

sajo wrote:Use of firearms would have probably led to the exact outcome as the Chinis hoped it will be. Right now we have denied them a narrative (theirs ofcourse) driven course of action.
Given a choice between saving the narrative or saving the lives of Indian soldiers, what would you prefer?
RajaRudra

Post by RajaRudra »

g.sarkar wrote:
https://www.defenseworld.net/news/25377 ... utUs9VKiUk
India in Talks With Russia for Additional 21 MiG-29s, 12 Su-30s
Our Bureau 09:36 AM, August 30, 2019

This news is dated August 30, 2019, are we purchasing more? or is this old news?
As per that handle, this plan is long..but it is currently getting approved in a few days. Personally i don't think it is going to affect the current things any way. It will take years to get delivery even if its ordered this second.

May be, some last minute buttering for Ruskies to get their support(or being neutral) for many things(tangible / non tangible).
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

I repeat ad-nauseum - we retake GB and kill CPEC. Everything else will be an aimless shooting war. When the lizard can hide thousands of corona deaths, a couple of thousand more will not matter - so a shooting war on LAC will not yield dividends in terms of slaying the lizard.
RaviB

Post by RaviB »

amar_p wrote:I've seen Major Gaurav Arya's latest report on the events at LAC. It was disappointing on 2 counts:
1. Nothing new was said, analyses by India Today were ahead of the curve compared to what R-TV came up with.

2. Images of grieving families of our soldiers killed in action in loop used as a public spectacle shows a total lack of sensitivity and decorum. Respect for a fallen hero must include letting their families grieve in private and with dignity. They can't be made objects of media sensationalism.

Information & Broadcasting ministry should immediately release guidelines to all media houses on this.
This is very much necessary. Posts of grieving families of soldiers are circulating everywhere on Chinese social media and as you can imagine are being misused.

Heres's the ANI story: https://www.aninews.in/news/national/ge ... 618164920/

Nothing "emergency" about it, we wont get these for a couple years at least if ordered now. And trying to order more MKIs now after the assembly line has closed :evil: . Honestly I would not be surprised if this is some lifafa/natasha based source within the government or media trying to push this at the opportune time.

RajaRudra wrote:
As per that handle, this plan is long..but it is currently getting approved in a few days. Personally i don't think it is going to affect the current things any way. It will take years to get delivery even if its ordered this second.

May be, some last minute buttering for Ruskies to get their support(or being neutral) for many things(tangible / non tangible).
Do what is practical. We are short of Portable ATGM's, MANPADS and ULH. Get them in big numbers or it will be too late.
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

RaviB wrote:
amar_p wrote:I've seen Major Gaurav Arya's latest report on the events at LAC. It was disappointing on 2 counts:
1. Nothing new was said, analyses by India Today were ahead of the curve compared to what R-TV came up with.

2. Images of grieving families of our soldiers killed in action in loop used as a public spectacle shows a total lack of sensitivity and decorum. Respect for a fallen hero must include letting their families grieve in private and with dignity. They can't be made objects of media sensationalism.

Information & Broadcasting ministry should immediately release guidelines to all media houses on this.
This is very much necessary. Posts of grieving families of soldiers are circulating everywhere on Chinese social media and as you can imagine are being misused.
What are they saying? I know it wouldn't be any good but we need to know the enemy. How is their public is reacting to this?

larry sir. do you have a vehicle? I will donate an Indian flag, please drive to GB and host the flag. Stupid IA, they are planning things like logistics, men required, counter attack by TSP, also worried about trivial items like forces not being cut off and surrounded. And please while you are at it, please do not announce your plan on internet, currently there is no TSP soldier in GB, after they read you, they might move 3-4 division worth of men (which in mountain is a lot if you are trying to prevent few known ingress roads), IA is really shivering in its dhoti

btw are you reading sources that we are already king of Neelam valley (if you do not know that will be part of GB and first thing to capture if we went for GB), of course Modi ji will have to perhaps personally come and present proof for some people to satisfy.

Since you such a bright strategy, would you know which mountain division will be leading that charge and where it is currently positioned?
Or are you just going to repeat ad-nauseum (very hard English word). Take nimbu pani to avaoid feeling of vomit.

Regarding why our troops didn't use the guns to fire-

While they carry guns, it's on the back with magazine removed. It will take a minute to get it operational. When sudden fist tight happens and a group is surrounded and numerically overwhelmed, it's not practical to take out weapons.

Besides, without fire order from officers on ground soldiers wouldn't do it. Probably they never got to make that decision.

now that that world is firmly divided into Pro/Anti china ... what are the implications if India gives bases to USA in ladhak,Sikkim, AP ?? . that puts a dagger up Chini backside and truly destroys CEPC ?

manjgu wrote:now that that world is firmly divided into Pro/Anti china ... what are the implications if India gives bases to USA in ladhak,Sikkim, AP ?? . that puts a dagger up Chini backside and truly destroys CEPC ?
Sorry what? US bases in India? At the first sight of skirmish do you think India should run to Unkil?
samirdiw

Post by samirdiw »

Nihat wrote:The time for surprise is now gone but the time realization is only just dawning upon us.

If we were to take any military action now, it must have clear objectives.
This is what is concerning. Shouldn't we have already gamed basic scenarios for actions by the chinese and have atleast standard responses which maintains equality or are the leadership going to huddle every time some escalation happens on their side? What about in the midst of a war when they escalate on things like sending SRBM on a border city first and then follow up with another city little later away and then stop? Will we be looking for ships then after 14 days?

Finger 4-8 area was already a grey zone. Shouldnt there have been a automatic response to surround them and dismantle? Talks can come later. What leverage does our major or eam have at talks with them? Even after the killings at galwan why wasn't there an immediate action to surround and capture or remove them from the area?

It looks like we have only identified very limited set of responses. Hold the line which keeps moving upfront(skirmish/war) and be open for talks. Maybe thats what the current situation is but we need to learn from it and be better.

The eam response that the soldiers didnt use guns when attacked due to roe is also a bit concerning. It sounds very naive - like jaan jayenge par vachan na jayenge type. This is not bollywood.
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

fanne wrote:larry sir. do you have a vehicle? I will donate an Indian flag, please drive to GB and host the flag. Stupid IA, they are planning things like logistics, men required, counter attack by TSP, also worried about trivial items like forces not being cut off and surrounded. And please while you are at it, please do not announce your plan on internet, currently there is no TSP soldier in GB, after they read you, they might move 3-4 division worth of men (which in mountain is a lot if you are trying to prevent few known ingress roads), IA is really shivering in its dhoti

btw are you reading sources that we are already king of Neelam valley (if you do not know that will be part of GB and first thing to capture if we went for GB), of course Modi ji will have to perhaps personally come and present proof for some people to satisfy.

Since you such a bright strategy, would you know which mountain division will be leading that charge and where it is currently positioned?
Or are you just going to repeat ad-nauseum (very hard English word). Take nimbu pani to avaoid feeling of vomit.
If i was so knowledgeable, then probably I would have been in the strategy circles atleast - if not in the war room. Modi government has already declared its open intent to take back GB, so maybe we should have told AS not to declare that on the floor of the Parliament else Pakis will wake up and move their divisions there !! The point I was making is that once we have decided to give military response, then rather fighting on LAC and keep climbing unpredictable escalation ladder, it is more purposeful to take over GB.

what can make current difference is some spikes, spices etc.
Spike was thwarted (perhaps rightly) in favor of indigenous ATGM which has not arrived yet (not for this war), please excel wale uncle take note. But apparently it is a game changer and could be effective against vehicle born, IFV and light tanks (if spike works at that altitude and weather). IA could only get small numbers only because authorization under a certain small amount, local commander could order anything. Many choose Spike (even they could ordered anything), and by all account they have been game changer at LOC (proof is in the pudding).
This also tells the disconnect that the MOD, the real soldiers and BR internet warrior. Apparently it is an effective ATGM and can be procured in thousands within few days to be effective (I do not know about training and effectiveness at high altitude)
RaviB

Post by RaviB »

AshishAcharya wrote:
RaviB wrote:
What are they saying? I know it wouldn't be any good but we need to know the enemy. How is their public is reacting to this?

I posted some things I saw on their social media yesterday but it's difficult due to the requirement for verified sources and such. To summarise what I read yesterday:

* The Chinese government has withheld pretty much all information apart from the statement by their Foreign Minister Wang Yi.

* There was some speculation on SM about casualties but it was all later removed. Their speculated numbers ranged from 0-40 probably because they were getting info from Indian media. Also a tweet by Hu Xijin (Gobar times) was widely shared to justify the government's hiding of casualties

* Chinese SM users are almost completely relying on Indian media and Indian twitter accounts to find out what's happening.

* There is plenty of racist and hateful stuff about India. After the censors removed the initial warmongering and replaced it with something bland, the Chinese started using "Printing" as a code for talking about the conflict [Printing written in Chinese can also be read as a short form for India Conflict]. 3D printing, referring to beating up Indians was a popular hashtag.

Unlike Chinese SM users who can be quite rowdy, the government is trying to suppress the warmongering. They are also trying to downplay the conflict as much as they can. Global Times is really more of a tabloid and doesn't give a picture of the government thinking except in the 2nd round. First they publish nationalist, jingoist garbage and then the government decides if the tone is appropriate. So day 2 is somewhat useful. Xinhua was downplaying it heavily. The border conflict was at number 6 with the top story about some speech by Xi about China-Africa unity. They might have decided to deescalate and hide the casualties and pretend this never happened. But with China one never knows. From the way they're handling the news, they at least want to keep that option open.

fanne wrote:. Stupid IA, they are planning things like logistics, men required, counter attack by TSP, also worried about trivial items like forces not being cut off and surrounded.
To add lot of resources are diverted due to Chinese virus, cyclone, and number of mini pakistans and chinas that have gone up within India.

How many additional medical facilities or redundant infrastructure has been built?

Where do all the surplus supplies stand?
shettyp

Post by shettyp »

RaviB wrote:
AshishAcharya wrote:
Unlike Chinese SM users who can be quite rowdy, the government is trying to suppress the warmongering. They are also trying to downplay the conflict as much as they can. Global Times is really more of a tabloid and doesn't give a picture of the government thinking except in the 2nd round. First they publish nationalist, jingoist garbage and then the government decides if the tone is appropriate. So day 2 is somewhat useful. Xinhua was downplaying it heavily. The border conflict was at number 6 with the top story about some speech by Xi about China-Africa unity. They might have decided to deescalate and hide the casualties and pretend this never happened. But with China one never knows. From the way they're handling the news, they at least want to keep that option open.
What if that is what China Government wants you to think? i.e. they want to de-escalate?