India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011

** Deleted **

Anyways, Related story seems to be:
India scales down N-power capacity
In what may turn out to be the first indication of India's nuclear energy road map in the coming decade, a key member of India's nuclear establishment has claimed that India may achieve only half of its ambitious target of 20,000 MW by 2020.

The disclosure has come from none other than M R Srinivasan, a member the Atomic Energy Commission and former secretary to the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) who made a presentation at a conference on Thursday. One of the slides in the presentation was the giveaway.

India's projected capacity build up, according to Srinivasan, stands at 10080 MW by 2019-20 if one takes into account operationalisation of all reactors which are under construction at the moment. If any new foreign reactor, apart from the two units in Kudankulam, becomes operational the capacity would go up to merely 11080 MW.

This seems to suggest that Srinivasan has almost given up on timely operationalisation of the first two French reactors at Jaitapur, which are scheduled to be operational by 2019 if the French supplier Areva and Nuclear Power Corporation of India can sign a commercial pact in 2012.

One more year will not make any major difference in India's installed capacity. Going by same trend, the total installed capacity would be 11480 MW (taking only indigenous and KNPP into account) and 14580 MW (if more foreign reactors become critical) by 2020-21.

Either way the projections are far less than the ambitious ‘20,000 MW by 2020’ target which the entire atomic energy establishment and the government touted throughout the last decade; the period when the government went ahead with the Indo-US civil nuclear deal.

Delay in starting

“There has been a slip because of the delay in starting projects including Jaitapur,” Srinivasan told Deccan Herald when asked for clarification.

Srinivasan, a former member (energy) of the Planning Commission, did not take any further queries as he said he would have to rush to attend an important meeting.

A DAE spokesperson in Mumbai, however, said the department's official target still stands at 20,000 MW by 2020.

Agitations in Jaitapur and Kudankulam as well as the shake-up in the nuclear industry post Fukushima may have caused the delay. The new liability regime, which came last week and did not satisfy many vendors, might also delay India's nuclear dream further.

The 1650 MW EPR reactors for Jaitapur are currently undergoing a review by the French regulatory authority (ASN), which will be followed by another round of scrutiny by the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board.

India looking to acquire uranium assets overseas
India is looking to acquire uranium mining assets abroad and enter into a long-term contract with some of the suppliers to meet the future fuel requirements of the nuclear power plants in the country.

Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) Director, R. K. Sinha said that in the new scenario there were opportunities to own uranium mining assets and enter into long-term contracts. “We are exploring… it certainly is on our agenda”, he said without specifying a time-frame for such a deal.

Talking to reporters after the inaugural function of the 22nd annual conference of the Indian Nuclear Society-INSAC-2011 here on Thursday, he could not say anything specific about Australia's willingness to lift the ban on sales of uranium.

Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) Srikumar Banerjee expressed confidence that the stalemate over the Kudankulam nuclear plant in Tamil Nadu would be resolved and “we will be able to win the hearts of the people.” He said that a 15-member experts team, appointed by the Centre, which visited the site previously, had two meetings with the panel constituted by the Tamil Nadu government and gave written answers to them on all points. These were being explained to the local people.

Seeking to allay fears, he asserted that there was no question of any problem such as the one experienced in Fukushima, Japan in the wake of the tsunami which damaged the plant. He said there would be no impact of the nuclear plant on the fishing activities of the local people or their livelihood. There was enough proof on this count at the Tarapur or Kalpakkam atomic plants.

** Deleted **

** deleted **

Why has this moved to a religious debate and not a debate on facts, why is reservation etc . brought here, a few Church representatives does not mean majority of Christians support the protesters? and personally lets not attack the religion of the poster even if the discussion went astray.

** Deleted ** We ll not be importing as many reactors as people think over here.. Most of the components in KNPP are indigenously sourced.. There were a few things that we had to learn from the Russians and that were learnt .. Russians are the best people in the nuclear business..

Second thing is that a lot of indigenous designs of reactors are at various stages of development.. They are unique reactors which have no equivalent in the world

And regarding your earlier question on why Areva deal was cancelled in Khanate .. again it has nothing to do with religion.. Its all about money ..the major stakeholders in big corporations might as well worship pigs crap if it makes them richer..
In khanate , things work by lobbies.. The American companies set up front organizations to create trouble for the french.. Religion was not remotely an issue..Thing is that the Amreeki nuclear research has stagnated.. If contracts go to foreign companies , amreeki companies will shut shops..

** Deleted **

gakakkad wrote: .. again it has nothing to do with religion.. Its all about money ..the major stakeholders in big corporations might as well worship pigs crap if it makes them richer..
I suspected Money as well. But then why Christian Amirkhans would protest Nuclear Reactors which have been planned for last 15 years, prior to 123. How come everybody here talked about religion of protestors? It has to be relevant as they work against the country. I don't know how many would agree that Russian reactors are best and Amirkhan's or areva's crap? To me all are christian reactors and when we have unique Hindu design without any equivalent in the world we should try that. No. It must be a christian conspiracy to keep energy security of India bonded to Christian reactors and christian uranium supplies. I think we should do some puja and break coconuts to purify reactors.

theo should agree that religion of protestors have nothing to do with it though I am quite skeptical.

may be it is biryani but then almost all voters in TN take biryani and vote for others.How many times in five years would they get opportunity to eat biryani. Similar people in INC raj at Maharashtra (Vidarbha) and AP commit suicide. We should set up reactors there as well so that they can at least get biryani and live a little longer . But in TN ,that is again a sign of being untrustworthy. Someone here is already blaming them of elemites. We should shift these reactors to Kerala/AP etc. Would Kerala accept it?

I am surprised why this post is worthy of standing on its legs. Looks like some might agree to it. :eek:
Mods please delete it.
Last edited by chaanakya on 25 Nov 2011 13:51, edited 1 time in total.

Warning

Folks, I have deleted posts or portions of posts from various posters which were tangential to the discussion. Do not repeat this type of discussion if you are concerned about getting a warning.
Sanatanan

Post by Sanatanan »

gakakkad wrote:** Deleted ** . . . .Most of the components in KNPP are indigenously sourced.. .. . . .
I do not think this would be an accurate assessment with regard to Koodangulam reactors 1 and 2 (al least). It may be the other way around. Most of the components are imported from Russia. Indigenous inputs are limited to construction and commissioning man power (later would extend to operating and plant management manpower), and probably some of the construction material such as cement, sand, steel etc.

Gak,Acharya,et al,join the dots of the KKM agitation and a clear distinct pattern can be seen.There is an article in one of today's papers ,again by Karnad,about the N-liability Bill,describing the watering down of it by our all-knowing PM,whose actions have betrayed Dr.Homi Bhaba's masterplan for Indian independence in N-energy and have also betrayed the nation's strategic detrrent capability ,taking his orders on the N-deal from his foreign masters,et al.

Upset by the Indian parliament stopping their insidious designs to sell India nuclear junk and with all the possibilities of another Bhopal holocaust,nuclear this time,with peanuts as compensation in the aftermath of the event,KKM and its future reactors giv the Russians a clear lead in developing India's N-industry which has to be sabotaged by the western suppliers.It is why the IB states that "1000 crores" was being spent in the KKM protests by foreign entities.Our beloved PM is also behaving like an Indian quisling ,giving in to all the blatant demands of the US and co. to water down open figure compensation clauses and completely divert India's path to nuclear self-sufficiency,in both the civil and military dimensions espcially at a time when the nation producing the maximum number of nuclear warhads today is Pakistan!

PFBR is fully indigenous and is completely state of our art. Kudankulam is not indigenous at all. We could not build another one.
---------------------------------------------------------

A huge part of the protest is economic. Locals were shocked to find only 200 or so jobs were created for locals by this plant. This was very very upsetting. The land and fisheries in the area alone supported about 15,000-20,000 people earlier. Even if it was subsistence level living. Plants has destroyed about 15,000 marginal jobs and created 200 jobs for locals. Quite a shock. APJ made that a huge part of his response and any such program would calm the locals considerably. This largely why the fishermen and local labor are protesting.

The second layer of protest is the educated, who fear the manner in which the AEC is operating the plant. The GOI committee response to the questions is being studied for response and I won't say anything directly. I would point out that
- no independent authority is checking for safety still.
- No public comment/interaction is being proposed.
- Evacuation zone is still 1.5 km with some preparedness planning for 16 km, simply unacceptable after Fukushima.
- AEC is still hiding behind the sham EIC it issued when laws were criminally lax.
- Liability is still not addressed.
- As far a plant elevation (7.5 M) lets keep in mind that 1964 Dhanuskodi storm surge in parts was almost 25-30 feet. This when it was a Cat 2 Cyclone. It would be a close run thing if another one came this way.
- No plan for decommissioning exists other than collecting a energy surcharge which BTW is criminally low. 2 paisa/kw. No escalator. For 2000 MW with PLF od 80% this is Rs 22 crore per year. Over 40 years about 800 crore will be collected for decommissioning. This is laughable.
- No process exists for locals to provided opinion on plants 3-6. It can still be done on whim of GOI.
- Waste is to be 'concretised' and dumped somewhere. Presumably the ocean. This is bizarre. No other country in the world does this.
- AEC claims no High level wastes will be created by plant, which is laughable.
- For the first time AEC admits Russian fuel will stay in India to be dealt with by India. Plants has Fukushima type pools to store the waste fuel. 400+ tonnes every year.

The lesson of Fukushima is that the way a plant is operated is the greatest risk factor. AEC has not learnt this lesson. It still depends on pumps/motors/valves for safety.

So Can there be a mandate for services to the plant like Canteen, Transport etc. Locals must be hired to create jobs?

SSridhar wrote:Warning

Folks, I have deleted posts or portions of posts from various posters which were tangential to the discussion. Do not repeat this type of discussion if you are concerned about getting a warning.
Thanks SS , I was sick of writing those stupid posts and follow in the footsteps of other similar posts including yours. Poe's law can be stretched thus far and no further.

Aditya_V wrote:So Can there be a mandate for services to the plant like Canteen, Transport etc. Locals must be hired to create jobs?
Aditya such mandate already exists and there is nothing new.

Theo_Fidel wrote: <SNIP> A huge part of the protest is economic. Locals were shocked to find only 200 or so jobs were created for locals by this plant. This was very very upsetting. The land and fisheries in the area alone supported about 15,000-20,000 people earlier. Even if it was subsistence level living. Plants has destroyed about 15,000 marginal jobs and created 200 jobs for locals. Quite a shock. APJ made that a huge part of his response and any such program would calm the locals considerably. This largely why the fishermen and local labor are protesting.
Can you please educate me as to how the setting up of the nuclear plant has displaced people economically? How and why 15K-20K jobs or livelihoods were lost because the plant has come up? As for job creation - are you serious when you point about the job creation part? Are we comparing investment by say, Maruti Suzuki in an area, with a Nuclear Power Plant?

<SNIP>

Theo_Fidel wrote: <SNIP> A huge part of the protest is economic. Locals were shocked to find only 200 or so jobs were created for locals by this plant. This was very very upsetting. The land and fisheries in the area alone supported about 15,000-20,000 people earlier. Even if it was subsistence level living. Plants has destroyed about 15,000 marginal jobs and created 200 jobs for locals. Quite a shock. APJ made that a huge part of his response and any such program would calm the locals considerably. This largely why the fishermen and local labor are protesting.
Can you please educate me as to how the setting up of the nuclear plant has displaced people economically? How and why 15K-20K jobs or livelihoods were lost because the plant has come up? As for job creation - are you serious when you point about the job creation part? Are we comparing investment by say, Maruti Suzuki in an area, with a Nuclear Power Plant?

<SNIP>
Rohitvats -> In TN whichever place a Powerplant comes up, the local panchayat wants its pound of lesh for giving up the land. Private Power companies maken annual donations- it is a sense of entitlement and long term compensation for Farmers giving up land (prices of which are dirt cheap and dont last a lifetime)

So now its lack of job opportunities and not "nuclear safety" that is behind the protests! Talk about scraping the bottom of the bucket for excuses.

"Oh what a tangled web we weave,when first we practise to deceive"!

I am at a loss. When Shri Abdul Kalam spoke about several such things, he was blamed as 'offering a bribe'.
D Roy

Post by D Roy »

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/atomic-energ ... 659-3.html

Dr Srikumar Banerjee, chairman of Atomic Energy Commission of India (AECI), spoke to Saurav Jha, author of The Upside Down Book of Nuclear Power, recently at the former's South Bloc office on a gamut of issues concerning the state of nuclear power development in India.

About Kudanakulam, how confident are you?

I think we have started to make headway at Kudanakulam. The group of experts (GOE) that we have appointed to deal with the issue has already met protestors and has directly started addressing the concerns being raised. The GOE as you know is made up of individuals with specific areas of expertise and is likely to prove effective.

What would you say to reassure people about Kudanakulam and the benefits that might accrue to them directly from the project?

We have operated coastal sites for decades now if you look at Tarapur and Kalpakkam. The latter is in the very state where Kudanakulam is located. So the people of Tirunelveli need not look anywhere else to believe that nuclear power is safe and ultimately beneficial for coastal areas.

DAE can and will do a number of things to help fisherfolk there. And it does not even have to be done via NPCIL. We have sufficient funds to do it on our own. There have been requests to build a jetty there and we are looking at that. We can also aid the creation of cold storage facilities, fish markets, seed villages and other durable infrastructure for fish preservation. In Kaiga, for instance we have a fish hatchery to demonstrate that fish breeding is favourable in the warm water of secondary coolant discharge. All this is on the anvil. Besides, we will certainly supply much needed desalinated water to the region from our desalination facility at the Kudankulam plant. We are recognised the world over for our capabilities in this field.

@ Sanatanan - It is analogous to the transfer of technology agreement that we have in military projects.. What came from Russia and what was locally sourced is obviously not in public domain.. Indian scientists have learnt a lot from this project.. I have not asked more details as I am presently based in a foreign country ..

Anyway the whole thing (including protests ) has been well planned intelligence operation .. This news item was glossed over here.. From June 21 2011..

http://news.oneindia.in/2011/06/21/topn ... d0126.html

Sergei Ryzhov, Chief Designer of the light water VVER nuclear reactors, built by Russia in foreign countries including at Kudankulam in Tamil Nadu has been killed in the crash along with the top leadership of the Russian nuclear industry.

"In Petrozavodsk crash practically whole leadership of OKB Gidropress (Hydropress) united designing bureau was killed including its director and general designer Sergei Ryzhov, deputy director and chief designer Gennady Banyuk, and head designer and chief of branch Nikolai Trunov," Gidropress spokesman Sergei Sorokin said saying this was a great blow and loss for the Russian nuclear industry.
One might remember another great luminary previously associated with Indian nuclear program who died in a plane crash..

SSridhar wrote:I am at a loss. When Shri Abdul Kalam spoke about several such things, he was blamed as 'offering a bribe'.
We ought to have gotten used to the Paki way of doing thing by now. The protesters against the plant are just following Paki tatics.

Tx Gak for that intriguing post.The crash was very suspicious when it was first reported.It wiped out the cream of Russia's N-scientific elite.In retrospect,it certainly has a bearing on the KKM controversy and the concerted effort to destroy Russia's capacity to export to India its reactors,at the cost of certain western manufacturers.The Mont Blanc crash that killed Dr.Bhaba was also suspicious and came bot ong after he made a statement about India's capacity to build the bomb in a short time.

What was also criminal was to have had the whole lot of scientists travelling in one aircraft.There are supposed to be rules about this,at least in the military,where seenior most officers are not supposed to travel together.Even some business families have such rules.

The global elite got a new group with the assasination of Kennedy in 1963. THis same group which controlled the global nuclear agreements, supplies and NPT etc.
This group based in London is the one which is targetting India after getting India inside the global regime. Indian interest are suppsoed to be trampled with lot of external factors.

Lot of media control and NGO psy ops are used by this global elite to control the rest of the world.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/nationa ... 6206552558

India's nuclear ambitions come up against people power
"There should be no houses within 1.6km of a nuclear plant and only low-density for 5km," says villager Justin Amalraj Leon. "There are 40,000 people living within 5km and yet they say we can stay? They're breaking all their own rules."

Far from the one-day wonders of previous Indian anti-nuclear protests, the Koodankulam campaign has attracted thousands of protest pilgrims since September, when 127 villagers staged a 12-day hunger strike, forcing the state government to defer plant operations.

Jandra, 48, a paunchy, grizzled fisherman whose family has been fishing off Idinthakarai for generations, says he joined the hunger strike because he fears what will happen to his village and his job.

"Our fishing will be spoilt and our children will get diseases," he says. "Yes we need power but we can take from windmills or solar. We will develop with or without this plant.

"But if a rich country like Japan can't save their people from radiation up to 200 miles away, how will India save us?"

Campaign leader SP Udayakumar says this has become one of the biggest questions in people's minds post-Fukushima, when the Japanese government fumbled its emergency response.

He says the next demonstration will be a letter in a bottle addressed to Julia Gillard, urging her not to reverse the ban on uranium sales to India.

"Julia Gillard says it will create jobs in Australia and would be good for the economy. She's doing the right thing for her country but someone needs to think about us."

After going into nitty gritties of Singur and Noida protests, I am more sympathetic to farmer protests. They are paid peanuts. Like in Noida farmers are paid around Rs. 800 psm while same land is resold at 20,000 psm after one day. I think that "compensation" has to way way higher
Sanatanan

Post by Sanatanan »

gakakkad wrote:@ Sanatanan - It is analogous to the transfer of technology agreement that we have in military projects.. What came from Russia and what was locally sourced is obviously not in public domain.. Indian scientists have learnt a lot from this project.. I have not asked more details as I am presently based in a foreign country ..
gakakkad-ji,
Recalling that this brief exchange of views between us began with the earlier post that specifically referred to KNPP and stated, that "Most of the components in KNPP are indigenously sourced", and noting that as per common understanding "KNPP" refers to the Koodangulam project which is the subject of debate in these pages, I respectfully beg to disagree with you again in respect of the italicised and underlined part in the above quote.

Here is a reference to an article titled "The VVERs at KudanKulam" by S.K Agrawal (former Director of the Koodangulam Project), Ashok Chauhan and Alok Misra, published in a well known technology magazine "Nuclear Engineering and Design", Volume 236, Issues 7-8, April 2006, devoted to the topic "India's Reactors: Past, Present, Future" , Pages 812-835.
The KudanKulam Project is being implemented on a technical co-operation basis. The Russian organizations are responsible for the design, supply of equipment, material, machinery including nuclear fuel, construction supervision, training of Indian personnel for operation and, maintenance, commissioning and operations of the plant till final takeover by NPCIL.

NPCIL on its part is responsible for land acquisition, setting up of infrastructural facilities, civil construction, electrical and mechanical erection of the plant and commissioning under Russian supervision. The Russian side will also supply a training simulator for establishing a training center in India.
As an aside, I may add here that those who are thirsty for information in the public domain about the Koodangulam Project, including many of its technical details may like to read the full article (priced at $31.50 plus taxes if any, unless you have access to the magazine issue from a friendly neighbourhood library) linked above. A look at the link I have provided above, which gives the contents of the article, and thumbnails of some of the drawings in it, might be convincing. (Disclaimer: I am not in any way associated with either www(dot)sciencedirect(dot)com, or ELSEVIER, the publishers of the magazine "Nuclear Engineering and Design". I am only an occasional, interested reader of it. So, I am not trying to sell the article.)

Finally, yes, I do tend to agree with you with regard to the statements coloured in blue in the quote above, in case you had used the acronym "KNPP" to euphemistically refer to Koodangulam's "sister" project, namely the PWR in the "ATV" project. This reference from Wikipedia gives some information about it. There may be other references too in the public domain, but I have not looked for them.

Theo Fidel wrote:It still depends on pumps/motors/valves for safety.
Which plant in the world does not use pumps and motors and valves? Can you please give an example?

Also:
- Liability is still not addressed.
WTF? What was the nuclear liability bill then?
- Evacuation zone is still 1.5 km with some preparedness planning for 16 km, simply unacceptable after Fukushima
You still keep dodging and banging both sides of the drum. Make the EZ too large and you claim murder because people are displaced and here you now claim its too small. Why not make up your mind first?
- No public comment/interaction is being proposed.
Whats going on right now then?

Yes sanatanan.. ATV seems to be the target of the protesters ... Someone I know is associated with the industry.. That guy does not BS nor does he exaggerate.. He used the term "national security emergency" and "war against nation".. Not the language he normally uses..

If they were looking for compensation they should have asked for compensation.. Why did they start BSing djinn fizziks about the reactor..They never demanded more monetary compensation...What did they shout.. Fukushima...boo...outdated roosi maal ..Pain-da-butt .. poor quality Indian technology ..moordabad ... They interfered with India's foreign policy...They violated India's maritime security.. Not the way to demand more compensation.. Is it..

Wonder if Julia Gillard going to give them the compensation ..

gakakkad wrote:Yes sanatanan.. ATV seems to be the target of the protesters ... Someone I know is associated with the industry.. That guy does not BS nor does he exaggerate.. He used the term "national security emergency" and "war against nation".. Not the language he normally uses.
India should immediately announce a new project wherein ships with Thorium nuclear plants be built and electricity exported with mobile power on demand as a niche business.
Sanatanan

Post by Sanatanan »

Now, Thermal projects too!
Land grab projects?
Farmers and fisher folkat a rally protesting against the thermal power projects proposed in Tharangambadi in Nagapattinam district, Tamil Nadu, in December 2010.
Apologies if this has already been posted.
Last edited by Sanatanan on 26 Nov 2011 19:18, edited 1 time in total.
Sanatanan

Post by Sanatanan »

Look who is saying what!!
Seismologists draw parallel between Jaitapur, Koyna-Latur

[quote]Thiruvananthapuram, Nov 26: A leading US-based researcher is of the view that the proposed Jaitapur nuclear power plant should be designed for future shaking of a magnitude of up to 6 on the Richter scale.

Sanatanan wrote:Look who is saying what!!
Seismologists draw parallel between Jaitapur, Koyna-Latur

[quote]Thiruvananthapuram, Nov 26: A leading US-based researcher is of the view that the proposed Jaitapur nuclear power plant should be designed for future shaking of a magnitude of up to 6 on the Richter scale.

He may not entirely be BS ing. The region around Latur was considered seismologically inactive by geologists till 93. Yet their was an earthquake. There is no harm is designing a plant in with adequate protections.
kvjayan

Post by kvjayan »

"Anti-KKNPP protests take on pluralistic note"

http://expressbuzz.com/states/tamilnadu ... 37097.html

CHENNAI (26 Nov 2011): With Centre and Department of Atomic Energy(DAE) trying their level best to contain the Anti-Koodankulam Nuclear Power Plant, protestors took a pluralistic route to strengthen their bases in their agitation against the Nuclear Plant.

Muslim and Dalit outfits jumped into the protestors bandwagon considering the humanitarian crisis.

P Abdul Sadar, general secretary, Manithaneya Makkal Katchi, who hails from Kalpakkam, wondered what precautionary measures were taken by the DAE to evacuate people in the event of a crisis.

Echoing the views of Sadar, SM Bakkar, president, India Towheed Jamaath, demanded a review of Kalpakkam plant on the health hazards and a white paper report to this effect.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
The New Indian Express fans the fire by talking about "humanitarian crisis". Looks like this paper has also been co-opted into the "people's struggle" now certified as "pluralisitic".

The "protest" and that too of a "pluralistic" nature now extending to Kalpakkam makes one to think that these protesters have smelt a big backroom settlement pie in Kudankulam and are hoping to get a share in Kalpakkam also.

There is something , I am terrified of in this health hazard business. The cancer rates near the plants are not higher than the general population . I have posted the links before. But coincidentally if someone does suffer from cancer near a nuclear plant , people (quacks , greens , "pluralistic" committee etc ) might attribute this to plant. That can create a panic in the country due to DDM sensationalising it . That , gentle rakshaks could well end any hopes of India becoming a super power.
member_19969

Post by member_19969 »

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/enrichment-c ... 66-61.html

Well in the case of reprocessing, certainly. We may yet not be setting up reprocessing plants as big as Rokkasho in Japan or Sellafield in UK but the new reprocessing facilities that are slated to come up in the next decade or so are going to be appreciably bigger than what we have now. Even the one that is nearing completion in Kalpakkam is a fairly large facility.
The planned integrated nuclear recycle plant for instance will be handling close to 500 tonne/year of heavy metal and will be sited at Tarapur which is in one of our existing sites. During the next plan period we will look at two more such facilities.
Talking about enrichment, we are quite happy with the progress we are making and with the new Chitradurga facility we are closing in on what you could refer to as industrial level capability. Again, this won’t be as big as the largest out there but it would be substantial.

80% work on Kalpakkam PFBR completed
The construction work at the 500 mega watt (MW) Prototype Fast Breeder Reactor (PFBR) in Kalpakkam is going as per schedule, according to Prabhat Kumar, Project Director of the PFBR.

Pointing out that no time frame had been fixed for the commissioning of the project, Mr. Kumar {Prabhat Kumar, Project Director of the PFBR} said “we are concentrating on the completion of the construction work and by mid-2012 we would be able to know the date for the commissioning of the project.” He said that two more PFBRs were in the pipeline at Kalpakkam.

To a query whether water released from the Madras Atomic Power Station (MAPS) would be detrimental to the fish population, K. Ramamurthy, Station Director, MAPS, said the temperature of water released from MAPS was less than the stipulated norm of seven degree Celsius.

Why no protests against the Kalpalkkam reactor. Is this not an untested design, is this not located in an area where people will be displaced?

Pratyush dear ? you want a protest ? IIRC the fbr at kalpakkam is unsafeguarded and probably will be used for JDAM .(Correct me if I am wrong on this one , feeling too sleepy to check) ..last thing we want is a protest there .. and I am sure the perpetrators are closely observing this site.. shiv opened the the thread in GDF and next day it was in the papers...

The deliberate snub that our beloved PM,well-wisher of the west,got from Obama,should've given us a hint of what was to come.Remember that the still unknown undercurrents of the N-deal was a hue buy iof US weaponry as q quid-pro-quo.US officials have openly stated this over the last year,after the two US fighters were KO'd by the IAF/MOD.This rage at India's "impudence" notwithstanding the massive and expensive C-17 order,an acquisition which jumped the queue of priorities of the country like an Olympic hop-step athlete,was not sufficient repentance enough for Uncle Sam Obama.The MMRCA success of a US aircraft was meant to pave the way for many more aircraft deals across the globe,particularly as the JSF is in serious trouble with delays and cost overruns.In this situ,buying upgraded '70s era fighters like the F-16 and F-18,in service with allies like OZ,etc.,especially if India chose either bird,would keep US industry going for a much longer time than envisaged.With Israel was also roped in to advise India to buy the F-16 instead of the Gripen.India shockingly rejecting both in afvour of the two twin-engined European birds in its face-of \f saw the immediate resignation of the US ambassador in protest and stunned silence from washington.This also means that two European aircraft have now leapt over the aging US beauties (with an overdose of makeup) in the remaining contests! What has galled the US totally is that both were rejected,whereas if at least one,the F-18SH had made it to the final roundd,a " triple playoff",much face would've been saved.India's decision has thus wounded the US aricraft industry very deeply.It's rejection also of the JSF in favour of the Russian FGFA has angered the US which has decided to "teach India a lesson",and as in the US's viewpoint since the N-deal was linked to unmentioned and classified definite "buy" of a US aircraft for the MMRCA,India's N-ambitions must suffer especially so as added to inury has been Parliament's N-Liability open-end compensation assertion!

The protests we now know are being carried out mainly by the US's fifth column in India,the so-called "Christian" churches and fringe TN politicos with strong LTTE connections.various NGOs which are allegedly also receiving funding from abroad are part of the motley gang oif anti-national "activists".In fact this "occupation" is fast becoming a rsspectable one! One increasingly sees it in the CVs of individuals,who without proper scientific or expert abckgrounds are trying to sabotage development as if tilting at windmills thst titillate one's fancy,in fashionable manner a la one A Roy, and acting against the state for the sake of becomingg a media celebrity ,is a legitimate noble pastime! we will see many more such "activists" in the future,who take their orders or inspiration from abroad.

The game is afoot.The agenda is diabolic,to sabotage India's nuclear independence.Unfortunately,our beloved PM has been for the better part of his life an IMF babu and genuflects to the west as habit.His attempt to water down the N-Laibility clauses in afvour of the suppliers must be resisted with all the might of parliament.We now have the contentious issue od FDI in retail.Is the entire country's "silver" being sold off to western robber barons? KKM is the most vital issue that will protect the nation's N-security,militarily and commercially.It cannot fail.