Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

France is going in to its 3rd lock down. Amazing how EU countries are able to afford multiple lock downs...

Thought BB is approved for regular clinical use now in India...not anymore in trail mode. AFAIK, none of the vaccines are operating in non-emergency mode. Any idea when BB's Ph-3 results will be out. They were saying by March-April time frame...

The fact remains that BB didn't trial is vaccine in as many stages as is needed for normal authorizations and is still under "emergency" authorization, as such some questions are bound to be asked, Now these aren't normal times and it may have been too much of a risk to delay production to do another round of trials but it is still important to get all doubts clarified
AkshaySji, I don’t think this is correct anymore. Phase 3 trials were completed and in fact due to the surge in cases at the time they had more number of positive cases to do a comparative study of as compared to the AZ vaccine.

Of course, the issues highlighted during production are another story and need to be looked at. Efficacy has been proven though.
Uttam

Post by Uttam »

Any news about how the vaccination is going on today as more people are eligible? I saw about 16 lakhs on Cowin dashboard at 6 pm.

AkshaySG wrote:Don't think getting defensive about Bharat Biotech/Covaxin and questioning Brazil's competency in this matter is the right idea

We've laughed when Brazil criticized Sinovax so to get all angry at their standards now is a bit hypocritical

Please don't bring your own strawman here. This is NOT a story of two countries or entities trying to undermine each other. Don't put words in others' mouths.

The original article is self contradictory. The specific statement was quoted. Your view of 'laughing at' and 'being defensive' is your own. It is fundamentally an act of trolling in this context.
AkshaySG wrote:The fact remains that BB didn't trial is vaccine in as many stages as is needed for normal authorizations and is still under "emergency" authorization, as such some questions are bound to be asked, Now these aren't normal times and it may have been too much of a risk to delay production to do another round of trials but it is still important to get all doubts clarified
All existing COVID vaccines are being used under EUA. Normal vaccine development is a multiyear process. The EUAs get reissued or expanded as more trial data is presented. E.g. FDA's reissue of the Pfizer EUA, or the Moderna EUA.

ICMR issued an EUA under clinical trial mode to Covaxin on Jan 11. They reported Phase 3 results on March 3 ICMR Covaxin Phase 3 PR, following up with publication in the Lancet.

On this thread there's a low margin for trolling. We're in the midst of a medical emergency and it's important to stick to facts and not distract readers. Derailment will result in summary short term bans.

My understanding is that BB vaccination was run in parallel with stage 3 trials. In other words the people who were given the vaccine under EUA were tracked and their data collected and analyzed. Efficacy of the vaccine is not in question. But the quality control may be and it has to be improved. Considering that BB has been producing other vaccines it should be easy enough to address.

milindc

Post by milindc »

Kakkaji wrote:Brazil regulator flags safety issues in Covaxin production, denies certificate
Brazil’s health regulator has rejected an application to give Bharat Biotech’s Covaxin a certificate of Good Manufacturing Practices following an inspection of the company’s site in Hyderabad earlier this month. The move, which does not affect Bharat Biotech’s application for emergency use authorisation of the vaccine in Brazil, could potentially still delay its ability to supply doses of the Covid-19 vaccine to the country until the issue is resolved.

Major issues flagged include safety-related observations that the company had not validated the method of analysis to prove complete inactivation of the virus (to prove that it was killed). According to ANVISA, considering that Covaxin is an inactivated vaccine, the company needs to ensure that the virus was completely inactivated, otherwise live SARS-CoV-2 viruses may be present in the vaccine.

The regulator also felt that the company was not taking all the necessary precautions to guarantee the product’s sterility and a lack of adequate control strategies to guarantee the vaccine’s purity.

Other observations were that the company does not use a specific control method to quantify the antigen content and potency of the vaccine. The vaccine may have variations in antigen content and consequently compromise its effectiveness, according to the regulator.

Precisa Medicamentos presented an action plan on March 17 to resolve these issues, but the measures effectively adopted so far have not been sufficient to mitigate the risks associated with the non conformities indicated, according to ANVISA.
Question for Pharma Gurus:

Is this just smoke, or are these serious violations?

In any case, I think the GoI should quickly send its own inspectors to the plant concerned, so that the mind of the public can be put at ease.

Personally, I don't care if not a single dose of Covaxin is exported, as long as they can produce enough of doses with assured quality, for the population of India.
These are basically audit, compliance and procedures related to GxP (Good x Practice), x in this case is manufacturing. What Brazilians are saying is that either BB is not documenting its steps correctly or they don't have processes/procedures to validate that they are following good practices. The issues they have listed are mostly procedural (e.g. how are they ensuring that it is sterile, or inactivated virus or potency). These practices help deliver consistent quality of product and if the consistency fails then allows them to rapidly point to the cause.
It might take few weeks for them to document these steps if they are following the procedures. If they don't have procedures, then it will take few months to establish the procedures and then show the documentation.

Hopefully these are teething troubles when establishing a new facility. There are reports that Ocugen will import some Covaxin to the USA, so the FDA will be inspecting as well.

Ocugen, Bharat Biotech near FDA submission for Covid-19 vaccine

Suraj wrote:1.75 million vaccines up to 8pm on first day of phase 3. Cumulatively 67.5 million
COVID19 Vaccination-Day 76

More than 6.75 Cr COVID19 vaccine doses administered

17.47 lakh vaccine doses given till 8 pm today
COVOID19 reports 24 lakhs ... Hope it touches 3.5 or 4 millions by 8AM tomorrow
#COVID19 - Outbreak In India
@outbreak_india
·
Apr 1
#vaccination details will be updated tomorrow on the portal. There is a gap of 6.7Lakhs in today's count from
@MoHFW_INDIA
It should be as below. Will wait for the updated data in the morning.

Total Doses: 6,75,36,392 +24,18,496

I still don't get why the gov't keeps ignoring comorbidities less than 45 years group. For a govt that has taken a medically sound approach so far, this sustained refusal to include this last vulnerable group defies explanation. Yes, I have a vested interest here due to a family member falling into this bucket, and yes, I have flagged this issue via multiple channels like pgportal, pmo cell, Twitter, etc., but to no effect. Is anyone in the know able to explain this?

Seeing the sustained low interest by the chosen groups to get their shots is even more galling. I mean, at least give the damn shots fo those who need it more urgently and are willing to take it.

arshyam wrote:I still don't get why the gov't keeps ignoring comorbidities less than 45 years group. For a govt that has taken a medically sound approach so far, this sustained refusal to include this last vulnerable group defies explanation. Yes, I have a vested interest here due to a family member falling into this bucket, and yes, I have flagged this issue via multiple channels like pgportal, pmo cell, Twitter, etc., but to no effect. Is anyone in the know able to explain this?

Seeing the sustained low interest by the chosen groups to get their shots is even more galling. I mean, at least give the damn shots fo those who need it more urgently and are willing to take it.
+100

They should at least open it up for paid vaccinations. Even at 2000 per dose, there are many people who would take it immediately as they are desperate to get vaccinated.

India indefinitely puts on hold AstraZeneca's vaccine shipment to Canada
Shipments of the coronavirus vaccine from the Serum Institute to Canada have been put on hold for an indefinite period as India has temporarily stopped vaccine exports so as to cater to domestic needs.

According to Sputnik, New Delhi is concentrating on immunization at home due to a spike in domestic cases.

Expert panel defers decision on Sputnik V Covid-19 vaccine, wants more data
The wait for Sputnik V in India got a little longer as the expert panel reviewing the application has sought more data on safety, efficacy, and logistics.

A source close to the development said, “No approval was given to Sputnik V on Thursday. Some queries have been asked on safety, efficacy, and logistics, which the firm will have answers to at the next meeting.”

The source quoted earlier confirmed that the queries on logistics were related to the minus 25 degrees Celsius cold chain requirements.

Earlier in November, a spokesperson for Dr Reddy’s Laboratories (DRL) had said that the vaccine required minus 18 degrees Celsius. “Current storage temperature requirement is at minus 18 degrees Celsius. We are working on other storage conditions as well,” the spokesperson had said.

DRL and RDIF have lined up 250 million doses of the vaccine for Indian citizens (from manufacturing partners) over the next 12 months.

Sources had then indicated that within a few months, a new version of the Sputnik V would be developed that can be stored at a temperature range between 2 and 8 degrees Celsius. However, the new version does not seem ready, as the expert panel has raised queries on a clear logistical plan to handle the minus 25 degrees Celsius cold chain for the vaccine.

A DRL spokesperson said, “We will not be able to provide an official statement now. We have had our meeting with the subject expert committee on Thursday and will await the official outcome.”

Behind the paywall, but useful information.

Bharat Biotech mulls booster dose six months after second shot of COVID-19 vaccine
Bharat Biotech, the maker of Covaxin vaccine, is evaluating the option of adding a booster dose to its two-shot jab, amid concerns that emerging variants may weaken the effectiveness of vaccines designed to fight against older strains of coronavirus, a government official said.

The company is studying administration of a booster dose in a separate Phase-2 trial. It has approached the Subject Expert Committee (SEC)

Govt may help India's Covid vaccine cos get IFC, ADB funds: Economic affairs secretary Tarun Bajaj
The government could help India’s vaccine makers get funding assistance from the International Finance Corporation or Asian Development Bank to lift capacity, said revenue and economic affairs secretary Tarun Bajaj.

Lot of interesting details, hence posting in full:

Eyeing a daily target of 5 mn jabs in Phase-3: RS Sharma, CEO, National Health Authority
The Centre has set a daily target of 5 million jabs in the third phase of the vaccination drive which will cover all those aged 45 and above from Thursday, National Health Authority CEO RS Sharma told ET. Private hospitals had been allowed more flexibility to meet this target, he said.

In the second phase, we had touched 3 million on some days. We want to increase the speed to at least 5 million. This is a race against time. The more we vaccinate, the more we will be able to break that chain of transmission. This is what we are aiming for. We have the vaccine supply and capacity for vaccinating 5 million per day. However, ultimately it is the willingness of the people to come forward and get vaccinated,” he said, adding that the government was working on the “minimum wastage and maximum speed” mantra.

‘Payment Process Streamlined’
For this, Sharma told ET that private hospitals have been given the flexibility to make weekly instead of monthly procurements.

“We have told them that they don’t need to procure for a month, they can make weekly payments and get vaccines. This should not deter them from publishing a timetable for a month,” he said.

The government had asked private hospitals to indicate vaccination slots to beneficiaries up to a month but the visibility being offered continues to be at up to 15 days, said Sharma.

“Private hospitals look at their stocks and then give the timetable. We have assured them of adequate supply and now told them that even if you do not have vaccines, you can publish the time slots for a month. You procure as you use the vaccines,”
he said.
The Government seems to be very confident of being able to supply 5 million doses per day for an indefinite period.

I read a statement elsewhere from the GOI that now they want vaccination centers to provide vaccination all 7 days a week.

Kakkaji wrote:Behind the paywall, but useful information.

Bharat Biotech mulls booster dose six months after second shot of COVID-19 vaccine
Bharat Biotech, the maker of Covaxin vaccine, is evaluating the option of adding a booster dose to its two-shot jab, amid concerns that emerging variants may weaken the effectiveness of vaccines designed to fight against older strains of coronavirus, a government official said.

The company is studying administration of a booster dose in a separate Phase-2 trial. It has approached the Subject Expert Committee (SEC)
I think all vaccine makers will come up with booster doses six months from now. There will need to be a second round of vaccinations globally to counter the new variants.

Phase 3 is off to a good start - 3.7 million on the first day , 68.7 million total .

Not far from here to 5 million a day.

Kindly do better research before posting. Furthermore, because of the standards we maintain on being relatively serious, people quote data from here without doing any secondary checks. If you post incorrect info it has 2nd and 3rd order effects in influencing opinion.

BB conducted Phase 3 trials and the interim data, suitable for the regulators was provided to them.

Just because other vaccines had issues does not mean that BB deserves the same criticism. That's a pretty illogical line of argumentation to take. If BB is not satisfied with Brazils claims and if the arguments they make are not "good faith", BB should just withdraw its vaccine from the Brazil market.

India has huge needs itself and BB's production can be used well here.
AkshaySG wrote:Don't think getting defensive about Bharat Biotech/Covaxin and questioning Brazil's competency in this matter is the right idea

We've laughed when Brazil criticized Sinovax so to get all angry at their standards now is a bit hypocritical

The fact remains that BB didn't trial is vaccine in as many stages as is needed for normal authorizations and is still under "emergency" authorization, as such some questions are bound to be asked, Now these aren't normal times and it may have been too much of a risk to delay production to do another round of trials but it is still important to get all doubts clarified

An thorough inspection of their facilities and closer monitoring of the process wouldn't hurt and its something that pretty much every vaccine has had to face

AstraZeneca was banned by several EU nations for "blood clots"
Sinovac has faced issues in pretty much every country its been exported to

Sputnik V faced trial concerns

J&J has to halt shipments of 15 million doses because of an ingredient mixup at their Baltimore Plant

Its not surprising that a fast rollout such as this with companies and countries bidding for global market would run into roadblocks and issues, What's more important is how we address them

The sooner all doubts are cleared the better it is

arshyam wrote:I still don't get why the gov't keeps ignoring comorbidities less than 45 years group. For a govt that has taken a medically sound approach so far, this sustained refusal to include this last vulnerable group defies explanation. Yes, I have a vested interest here due to a family member falling into this bucket, and yes, I have flagged this issue via multiple channels like pgportal, pmo cell, Twitter, etc., but to no effect. Is anyone in the know able to explain this?

There is a vaccine supply demand mismatch because of multiple reasons, so the GOI is behaving in this manner.

I also agree we should just open up the paid vaccinations beyond the concessional rates, might incentivize the manufacturers to expand capacity and seek alternatives more rapidly.

There is nothing wrong in having a "vested interest" of the kind you mentioned. It just means you have skin in the game, so are more likely to be asking for a genuine reason, not just making a rhetorical statement.

^^ It's worrying, saar. My family member needs to visit the hospital weekly for treatment, and with every visit my feeling of dread increases. Isolation at home to manage a comorbidity is not an option for us. And the mostly empty vaccination counters in the same hospital is even more infuriating. The hospital on their part actually tried registering my relative, but the damn system wouldn't allow it due to GoI rules. It's been a month since I raised my first grievance, and beyond a polite "we'll take it into consideration" response, nothing has moved.

Arshyam, I've read (not known personally) people who are less than stipulated age get vaccinated in certain centers. So, I do think it is possible...1st option would be to see if any HCW you know quite well, will be able to hook your family member up with an appointment.

Second option would be to just call all vaccination centers let's say around 2Kms radius within your house. You can explain them the situation & perhaps it will be suggested to come around noon or some time (to prevent wastage of doze once the bottle is opened) and get the shot.

Probably you have tried both options but I did read on TBHP Forum one individual who I think is in his 30s or something get his vaccination shot at a center near HSR Layout during Ph-2. Perhaps, you can go through that thread in TBHP (I think it is Covid vaccination registration & experience thread) and I believe he has mentioned the name of clinic/hospital where he way able to get his shot.

arshyam wrote:^^ It's worrying, saar. My family member needs to visit the hospital weekly for treatment, and with every visit my feeling of dread increases. Isolation at home to manage a comorbidity is not an option for us. And the mostly empty vaccination counters in the same hospital is even more infuriating. The hospital on their part actually tried registering my relative, but the damn system wouldn't allow it due to GoI rules. It's been a month since I raised my first grievance, and beyond a polite "we'll take it into consideration" response, nothing has moved.
Completely understand. :(

In all large setups of this sort, the outliers get ignored or at a lower priority, and its worrisome.

Also seems to be a state driven policy. In TN, Chennai in particular, I believe anyone 20 and above is getting the vaccine?

At the very least, they should allow the hospitals to do vaccination for the doses that would be otherwise wasted. One should be allowed to pre-register and based on priority, health, and only then FIFO, it should be allowed.
AkshaySG

Post by AkshaySG »

Karan M wrote:Kindly do better research before posting. Furthermore, because of the standards we maintain on being relatively serious, people quote data from here without doing any secondary checks. If you post incorrect info it has 2nd and 3rd order effects in influencing opinion.

BB conducted Phase 3 trials and the interim data, suitable for the regulators was provided to them.

Just because other vaccines had issues does not mean that BB deserves the same criticism. That's a pretty illogical line of argumentation to take. If BB is not satisfied with Brazils claims and if the arguments they make are not "good faith", BB should just withdraw its vaccine from the Brazil market.

India has huge needs itself and BB's production can be used well here.
cleared the better it is
You need to look at the dates, The Phase 3 wasn't started before BB had gotten authorisation to be used and it wasn't finished before BB and PM signed their deal.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source= ... 3LWSVMyI4e

Their own agreement clearly states that private supply in Brazil is based on obtaining a certificate from ANVISA and that they plan and had planned to do so from the start and will continue to work with them on it, Which is why they're not worried about the fate of the deal already signed... Not sure how that seems "self contradictory" to many

What's illogical is going up in arms over a complicated procedure of global vaccine laws and regulations where every country has their own import laws and standards as is getting unnecessarily defensive or argumentative over procedural and paperwork issues which every major drug producer faces.

GoI really needs to open up donation vaccine drives for all ages. I either bribe my way out or donate my way out. Mandirs have paid lines and educational institutions have donation seats. There's hardly such thing as optics in Indian setup. If it was then khujli to penguins won't be in power.

There's no reason why BB can't resort to crowdfunding and donation drives without GoI interfering in age restrictions that are not for Indian setting. Many criteria seem to be tracking western world. In US, states like Texas don't even have restrictions anymore.

https://www.deshgujarat.com/2021/04/01/ ... t-decides/

Gandhinagar: The Government of Gujarat in a meeting of core group on Covid19 pandemic today decided to cover all migrant labourers above 45 age in ongoing vaccination programme. The State has major presence of migrant labourers in Ahmedabad, Surat, Kutch and other districts.

Govt is doing a terrible job of vaccinating the population. The stupid f***s have introduced totally avoidable bureaucratic processes, wasting a lot of time of people getting vaccinated and of the hospital employees. They shouldn't be requiring anything more than an aadhaar number, but they enter all stupid details into the computer. The people who created this process, and the higher ups who just don't care how this impedes the speed of vaccination deserve a bullet each in their bottoms (where their heads are firmly stuck). In addition to wastage of time, they are making hundreds of people wait in rooms for hours, increasing the probability of catching the virus while waiting for the vaccine.

I went to one of the big corporate hospitals in Hyd today. There were may be about 8-9 people ahead of me. It took the lady entering the details about 40 minutes for the 8-9 people ahead of me. Even though I had already registered on the cowin website, it was of no use. By the time my turn came, the room almost got full and the late comers would be sharing the air with lots of strangers for hours in a closed space.

A_bharat: a majority of that 40 min delay in a private hospital is of their own making and not the governments fault. When you go to a corporate hospital for a jab, their own processes require you to register you as an out patient of theirs with all the forms and formalities involved. This is the bigger delay.

If one goes to a government vaccine centre, is fairly quick and you are out in 40 mins which includes the 30 min wait. This assumes no significant queues.
vipins

Post by vipins »

arshyam wrote:^^ It's worrying, saar. My family member needs to visit the hospital weekly for treatment, and with every visit my feeling of dread increases. Isolation at home to manage a comorbidity is not an option for us. And the mostly empty vaccination counters in the same hospital is even more infuriating. The hospital on their part actually tried registering my relative, but the damn system wouldn't allow it due to GoI rules. It's been a month since I raised my first grievance, and beyond a polite "we'll take it into consideration" response, nothing has moved.
saar , not sure where you are based but there are some instances where people of 18+ age were vaccinated. chennai-civic-clinics-vaccinating-those-over-18
Anoop.G

Post by Anoop.G »

a_bharat wrote:Govt is doing a terrible job of vaccinating the population. The stupid f***s have introduced totally avoidable bureaucratic processes, wasting a lot of time of people getting vaccinated and of the hospital employees. They shouldn't be requiring anything more than an aadhaar number, but they enter all stupid details into the computer. The people who created this process, and the higher ups who just don't care how this impedes the speed of vaccination deserve a bullet each in their bottoms (where their heads are firmly stuck). In addition to wastage of time, they are making hundreds of people wait in rooms for hours, increasing the probability of catching the virus while waiting for the vaccine.

I went to one of the big corporate hospitals in Hyd today. There were may be about 8-9 people ahead of me. It took the lady entering the details about 40 minutes for the 8-9 people ahead of me. Even though I had already registered on the cowin website, it was of no use. By the time my turn came, the room almost got full and the late comers would be sharing the air with lots of strangers for hours in a closed space.
My experience was very different...I went to a large private hospital in Gurgaon... All done within 5 mins at three desks - registration/verification, vaccination and verification (again). The registration guy in fact assured me that he will take less than 30 seconds to verify Aadhaar and he did. Was asked to seat for 30 mins and left. Total time:35 mins. The vaccination facility was created inside the underground car park with easy walk in access from outside without affecting the hospital. By the way, no additional data was captured.

Mutations could render current Covid vaccines ineffective in a year or less, epidemiologists warn
Two-thirds thought that we had “a year or less before the virus mutates to the extent that the majority of first-generation vaccines are rendered ineffective and new or modified vaccines are required.”

Number of fatalities today will most likely cross 600+. :(
MH alone is 481 dead today.

Total fatalities is 711 but there is a lag in the site where numbers from NE states don't get updated. 481 out of 711 are from one state alone, Maharashtra.

There is no way we can outrace the virus by vaccination now. The surge in numbers is much worse than anything imaginable a few weeks ago. The self congratulatory tone just a few weeks ago were as misplaced as the bold claims back in March 2020.

What can be done in addition to vaccines: Time to ringfence hotspots like Maharashtra that will buy other states more time. Mass VitaminD+Zinc supplementation to increase immunity. Renewed focus on masks and awareness to rejig our lives so more business can happen online or outdoors or in places with great ventilation.

Expanding vaccine access after 2-3 weeks to all ages should be considered in order to get numbers up past the 5 million a day mark. Even if the virus is not very deadly for the young, they can still spread it.
Raja

Post by Raja »

sudeepj wrote:There is no way we can outrace the virus by vaccination now.
Like I already said several days ago, it is about stopping wave #3. This one we will just have to ride it out with fingers crossed. So many people have covid in my parent's neighborhood now. Scary situation. Real numbers are probably at least 2x of what we know. I really don't see how we are going to manage without more lockdowns shutdowns, but hoping for the best.

Ambar wrote:Total fatalities is 711 but there is a lag in the site where numbers from NE states don't get updated. 481 out of 711 are from one state alone, Maharashtra.
I lost a relative in Mumbai in the current wave. Symptoms started with simple cold/cough which remained for some time. He didn't even get a covid test initially because the symptoms were so minor. By the time he did and was hospitalized, the Oxygen sat. was already down to around 60%. Required a ventilator immediately and was given plasma infusions as well but nothing worked.

One thing everyone should do in my opinion is buy a reliable Pulse oximeter and keep checking their blood oxygen saturation periodically. Even if you have no symptoms. This disease can be a silent killer. People often do not feel much discomfort right up until the O2 sat. drops to dangerous levels after which even if you get medical help it can be too late.

nachiket,

Sorry to hear that about your relative. How old was he? Apparently it hits over 60 really hard. Lots of pulse oximeters are available on Amazon India. I ordered an additional one for my family there and was delivered in 2 days. Not expensive in relative terms.

Nachiketji, I am sorry for your loss. Yes, a oxymeter is a must at home but sometimes even that doesn't help. My father constantly checked his o2 when the symptoms first started . His o2 levels were normal for his age and condition (he suffered from chronic asthma much of his adult life), but on day 8 his o2 suddenly dropped and he never recovered. It is not the virus itself but the body's reaction which once entering a cytokine storm significantly reduces the chances of recovery . So catching it early and treating it soon seems to be the key. In elderly especially those with comorbidities pneumonia sets in by day 5 or 6 and then it quickly turns fight against fate.

I don't understand MH's numbers at all. Yes, it is being run by an imbecile but there are equally inept local governments in many of our states. Its not like the general behavior of the population in Pune is any different compared to someone in Belgaum, so it is very strange that MH should be reporting 40x more daily deaths and 5x more cases than some of its neighbors. It is the wealthiest state in the union, it has private and public healthcare system far better than most states , so what gives ?

MH is reimposing lockdowns and curfews but i don't think its the way to go. The flu will continue to rise atleast until late monsoon as it always does, vaccine, repeat vaccine and just hope that someone also comes up with a better anti-viral and anti-inflammation drugs to deal with this virus. Swine flu never went away but it weakened considerably over the years, i hope the same will happen with covid-19 as well but until then it is wishful thinking on our part if we think the virus will just disappear .

Raja wrote:
sudeepj wrote:There is no way we can outrace the virus by vaccination now.
Like I already said several days ago, it is about stopping wave #3. This one we will just have to ride it out with fingers crossed. So many people have covid in my parent's neighborhood now. Scary situation. Real numbers are probably at least 2x of what we know. I really don't see how we are going to manage without more lockdowns shutdowns, but hoping for the best.
The problem is, because of weather patterns, infections will keep rising till august or september when monsoons start, and temperatures come down a bit. This is obvious from last years numbers. This six month long exponential wave can really cause a lot of misery. Its also likely that people will need a third booster to protect against different variants.

Maharashtra and perhaps a couple of other high disease load states should be locked down, or impose border type controls to buy the rest of the states some more time.

I have a faint hope that we may still have time to take up vaccination on a wartime-effort and aim to vaccinate the 500 million people above the age of ~40. Push out the second dose further just like UK did and get it in the arms of more and more people.

Early CDC data indicated that vaccinated people help significantly reduce transmission . It’s very important right now to drastically carpet bomb the population with vaccinations and more of the previous cocktail of HCQ/VitD.