India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

Not just Bharat, the whole world will move away from financing the 33T and growing debt at some point of time, some sooner than others. And since when did trading in respective currencies between sovereign countries become a crime?

For now most of the world does not know how exactly to go about it, these local currency payments are timid experiments.

If the dollar goes, then so will China. The RoW isn't prepared to deal with the unpredictable fallout. Everyone will suffer.

Bharat will bank on its agricultural, services, pharma and a bit of mfg strength to tide over, we can even trade some food for oil. US has all that plus oil and arms.

Russia will be ok, south America will be ok, Africa will be torn apart by Europe and China unless US and Bharat step in. Which we probably will. EU has no fire power so they can brought to reason.

That leaves China which has no friends.

IMO the coming decade will play all this out, over the decade after that. Which is needed for the world to achieve a soft landing with USD cut to size.

If the neocons have their way and keep making wars, then we better dig more shafts and get our own kinzhals etc on all 3 legs.

FWIW, the document is downloadable

India is cognizant of the fact that American leadership still “doesn’t count India as one of its closest friends and partners… [and] few would assert that we [U.S. and India] have become allies, natural or otherwise.”

~ Rich Verma, former US Ambassador to India, Overcoming the Hesitations of History: An Analysis of U.S.-India Ties; Ph.D. dissertation; Georgetown University; 2020.

https://repository.library.georgetown.e ... 22/1059481

https://repository.library.georgetown.e ... sAllowed=y

local currency payments
There are many nations around the world who import stuff from India more than they export back to India. Even nations like UAE who export crude buy refined products back from India. If we have a global India bank that can lend Rupee for a reasonable interest rate things can be managed in rupees. Take some examples:

1. Russia sells crude to India and they have accumulated 50 B rupees. They park it in this global India bank and get paid interest of say 10%.
2. UAE sells crude to India and they have accumulated 50 B rupees. They park it in this global India bank and get paid interest of say 10%. But UAE imports refined products from India and say this cost 25 B rupees. Then they simply deduct from their cash stash of rupees. India gets paid in rupees for refined products.
3. Kenya has resources to sell to India (worth 2 B rupees) but say they import more (3B rupees) from India. Where are they going to get the loan. The global india bank can lend the money at 12% or Russia/UAE can lend the money at 11% (slightly higher rate than getting paid at 10% but undercuts the India Bank at 12%).

All short term activities can be done, provided the rupee does not drastically decay in value. If India manages to export more than its imports this can be sustained reasonably well. Loans are risky without a collateral. But India has enough experience in mudra loans given to needy within India and the repayment is around 90% or so.
sanman

Post by sanman »

sanman

Post by sanman »

I think it's time for India to start rallying the nations of the Global South, and not merely just turn to Russia as a fallback option.
hgupta

Post by hgupta »

sanman wrote: 28 Dec 2023 16:52 I think it's time for India to start rallying the nations of the Global South, and not merely just turn to Russia as a fallback option.
And not only that but start accusing US officials of ordering assassinations and sanctioning murder etc.

Actually who really cares about what the sta(l)te dept is saying except NYT and wapo etc? SD rubbing Bharat the wrong way gives us the foil to sulk and negotiate better with DoD if used cleverly.

When you pause and reflect how long the pakis have played SD & DoD seems we just have grown a pair and are warming up :P
sanman

Post by sanman »

sanman

Post by sanman »

Pannun threatens Indian stock exchange

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8-yflYY6iMU

Please use links only for YouTube

Summary from the Indian point of view.

Sikh militancy casts a shadow over U.S.-India relations
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

"Democracies" are those states in which the US has managed to overthrow or install a client regime.

"Authoritarian regimes" are countries where the US has not yet been successful in doing so....

Well said!
A matter of time before the same is applied on them...
sanman

Post by sanman »

No more orders for Apaches and Chinooks:

Najunamar

Post by Najunamar »

sanman wrote: 02 Jan 2024 10:42 Pannun threatens Indian stock exchange

In the past U.S. used to say “He may be a dictator, but he is our dictator”. Now they have moved on to “He may be a terrorist but he is our terrorist. Also, it is neatly bifurcated into domestic vs international terrorism. We need only concern ourselves with domestic terror.”
hgupta

Post by hgupta »

Najunamar wrote: 02 Jan 2024 21:48
sanman wrote: 02 Jan 2024 10:42 Pannun threatens Indian stock exchange

In the past U.S. used to say “He may be a dictator, but he is our dictator”. Now they have moved on to “He may be a terrorist but he is our terrorist. Also, it is neatly bifurcated into domestic vs international terrorism. We need only concern ourselves with domestic terror.”
In that case, we need to demand that US be placed under the FATF radar for US's failure to monitor terrorist funding and US be labeled as a state sponsor of terrorism.

According to reliable sources - Harvard President Claudine Gay to Quit After Months of Controversy.

The anti-merit, racist (Anti - India among others) of institutes like Harvard, Stanford, Penn etc are becoming more visible.

Added later: Just confirmed, she quits.
hgupta

Post by hgupta »

Wow. Looks like Bill Ackerman did have some effect after all. He is not someone who you would want to mess around with.

Many of us are wondering (and hoping)..(As Rajiv Malhotra , HAF and others or reacting to this news:

"Could this be the tipping point? The beginning of the end of Woke? We have to appreciate the Jewish resilience against the might of Harvard. India must evaluate the subsidiaries operating in Indian universities & corporate houses."

Meanwhile, I share this excellent piece - worth reading - how dangerous this kind is :
Please do read it ..
[url-https://www.grumpy-economist.com/p/argu ... audine-gay?]Argue Honesty in the Claudine Gay Affair[/url]
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

Just like how Hindutva is a supremacist idea targeting Muslims, Christians and Dalits; Zionism is a racist ideology targeting Muslims, South-Asians, and Blacks. In other words, pit both the ideologies as against everyone else. Nonsense such as the above being mindlessly parroted in national media is only leading to more hate against Hindus/Jews being normalized. I believe we are at a turning point where the mindless-empowerment and no-consequence free-speech space is fast dwindling. The universe is already beginning to be correcting itself.

Black and Muslim patients at risk from ‘Zionist’ doctors, claims US anti-racism campaigner
Saira Rao, a former Democrat congressional candidate, said she was “genuinely terrified for Palestinian, Arab, Muslim, South Asian and black patients” because of the number of “Zionists” among American doctors and nurses....... “Zionism is a supremacist; racist ideology and we see Zionist doctors justifying the genocide of Palestinians. How does their outlook/position impact priorities in US medicine?”
https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/world/bl ... ba69&ei=20
Note- Saira Rao (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saira_Rao)

This garbage scum runs an NGO most likely funded by soros

Her name is Saira of the same type that Saira Banu begum is.

^ Mother Christian doctor, father Hindu (?) doctor. Guess she saw how terrified Muslim patients were of them :roll:

^^Manishji
My theory(and I maybe way out of line or crazy) is these people need not have to have accepted the ROP as their professed religion.
Majority of them are in their 30-40-50 born out of inter-religion marriage.
Scars of childhood (real or perceived, as 60/70/and even 80's there was fair amount of taboo against these marriages) can mar or alter your outlook.
This is more so if one if the parents (more if its mother) a upper caste, there is barrier put up especially us against them during any social gatherings.
Partly we have to accept the hand of societal response to such marriages and offsprings having to deal with social stigma.

and the by looks of it quite a few of anti-India US funded or US based NGO's are run by such people.
They sure have an axe to grind!
sanman

Post by sanman »

Worth reading:
My kids, many relatives and friends went to MIT- this is happening to some of the best universities in USA:
Lesson for India too..
Why I Quit My Dream Job at MIT
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

What exactly are the lessons for India in that article?

https://www.thequint.com/news/world/nik ... atest-news

Nikhil Gupta Case: US Govt Declines To Share Material With Defence Counsel
On 4 January, Nikhil Gupta's lawyers had filed a motion to compel discovery in a New York court.

New Delhi: A US federal court on Thursday (January 11) denied Nikhil Gupta’s motion to compel the American government to produce materials relating to his alleged murder-for-hire case.

PTI reported US District Judge Victor Marrero as saying on Thursday that the court was persuaded by the US government’s argument that Gupta did not yet have the right to be provided with the case materials and evidence he sought.

“The defence counsel present in Prague has no evidence or other case materials other than the bare indictment,” his counsel in the US Jeff Chabrowe told the court according to PTI.

Chabrowe continued: “Most critically, the defendant continues (to be) interrogated by US officials, after the indictment, where his uninformed counsel has no ability to secure his rights.”

The government responded by saying that it was ready to produce discovery upon Gupta’s appearance in court and that he was not entitled to discovery until then, PTI reported.

It also denied that Gupta was repeatedly interrogated by US officials in the Czech Republic, adding that Gupta and law enforcement authorities had only met twice.

Gupta voluntarily spoke to authorities in their first meeting and declined to be interviewed upon their second meeting, PTI cited the US government as arguing.

https://thewire.in/world/us-court-denie ... -discovery

^^ classic case of Kangaroo court. If you don't know the details of what you are charged with then that is not justice, it is mere accusations. I am amazed at the level of jurisprudence displayed by a US district judge. He has been told to toe the line. Expect Gupta to be charged without producing any worthwhile evidence.

It doesn't seem right to me too.

But in the US, there is an extradition hearing for a person arrested in state A who is wanted in state B - this is the American form of federalism. And in those procedures:
In deciding whether to extradite, states may not delve into the underlying charge behind an extradition request. Instead, the U.S. Constitution (Sixth Amendment) requires informing the accused about the nature and cause of the accusation. The Sixth Amendment requires that states notify the fugitive of:

The extradition request
The underlying criminal charge
The individual's right to seek legal counsel
The key question is therefore, what do the Czechs require for extradition?

A search indicates:
The Czech Republic requires the documents stated in Article 12 Section 2 of the European Convention on Extradition.
A further search indicates that basically a formal charge sheet is all that is needed.
https://rm.coe.int/1680064587

It seems to indicate that the disregard of India's requests for extradition of various terrorists resident in the US, Canada, etc., in which India has a charge sheet, is either the lack of a sufficient treaty between the two countries or else blatant bias against India. (Another possibility is that the US, Canada etc., classify the crimes of these terrorists as "political crimes", for which the above mentioned extradition treaties all have exceptions. But almost all terrorism is for political motives, so I don't know how they distinguish all that.)
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

What is this about ?
Another excuse to throw mud

Victim in St. Charles Co. human trafficking case reveals more from overseas

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCal4kCL3m0
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

Orange County, Florida rejects proposal for Hindu temple
“I think a lot of the points brought up against of us making our home there were mostly about the unknowns. Exactly what we do. How we practice our faith,” he told WESH.
https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/us/orang ... 6b706&ei=8

krithivas wrote: 25 Jan 2024 21:56 Orange County, Florida rejects proposal for Hindu temple
It's not the first nor the last time this will happen. My guess is they'll build it eventually.

https://www.hinduismtoday.com/magazine/ ... -of-lands/

This dispute went on for more than a decade, but the BAPS mandir was built by 2007 and is now the pride of Lilburn, GA.

krithivas wrote: 25 Jan 2024 21:56 Orange County, Florida rejects proposal for Hindu temple
“I think a lot of the points brought up against of us making our home there were mostly about the unknowns. Exactly what we do. How we practice our faith,” he told WESH.
Why isn't anyone in India crying about secularism. The death of democracy under Biden and USG. Human rights.
Visits by parliamentarians.

Big News, IMO: India confers its third-highest civilian award Padma Bhushan to Taiwan based Foxconn Chairman Young Liu

vimal wrote: 26 Jan 2024 00:33

Why isn't anyone in India crying about secularism. The death of democracy under Biden and USG. Human rights.
It's a county issue, under republican governor.

Cybaru wrote: 26 Jan 2024 03:52
vimal wrote: 26 Jan 2024 00:33

No no no, this is the new Biden's America. Politics of hate.

vimal wrote: 26 Jan 2024 06:31
Cybaru wrote: 26 Jan 2024 03:52

No no no, this is the new Biden's America. Politics of hate.
Okay if you feel that way. I don't want to debate it. What state do you live in if you don't mind sharing? Helps me understand your perspective. Again you don't have to share.