North East & Eastern Himalayan: News & Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
G Subramaniam

Re: North East & Eastern Himalayan: News & Discussion

Post by G Subramaniam »

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Indi ... 568003.cms

Communal fire reduces village to cinders
7 Oct 2008, 0334 hrs IST, Naresh Mitra,TNN
Print Email Discuss Share Save Comment Text:
IKRABARI, UDALGURI: The acrid smell hits you even before you see anything. When the surreal scene finally appears through a haze of smoke, it's a
heart-stopping sight. Charred houses littered with mangled utensils, blackened concrete pillars sticking out like sore thumbs, burned betel nut trees, and granaries reduced to heaps of ash.

You step on what look like pebbles strewn everywhere. It takes a few seconds to realize these are betel nuts — the only source of revenue for most families here — reduced to brittle carbon balls. It's a bit like walking on bones.

There is devastation as long as you can see down the kuchha path that cuts right through what remains of Ikrabari village, some 12 km off Udalguri town and around 165 km from Guwahati on the north bank of Brahmaputra river.

It's a predominantly Hindu village, made up of Bengalis born and brought up here. It has been razed. Mobs methodically went from house to house, breaking, smashing, and burning everything on Friday. Three days later, the ruins are still smouldering. Everything you step on, crumbles. An eerie silence prevails on the deserted roads.

Fear is in the air. Lakshmi Sarkar had first felt it when she saw a murderous mob marching towards her house on Friday. It was 1.30pm. The 48-year-old wife of a small-time farmer had just finished cooking and was waiting for her husband and children to return for the meal.

"I heard a commotion and looked out of the kitchen window facing the backyard. What I saw froze me for a few seconds. There were scores of men in skull-caps, carrying machetes, bows, arrows and lathis. And they were headed straight for my house," she recalled, horror writ large over her face. Once she got over the shock, her survival instincts took over. She rushed out of the kitchen, only to find that the living room had been torched. She turned and ran for her life. Panting, she turned back only once — to see her entire house on fire. "I didn't know where my husband or kids were. I just ran for my life. It's only later that fear about what happened to them gripped me," she said.

She hid from the mobs for an entire day before staggering into Udalgiri Girls High School relief camp a day later, and saw her family safe, but traumatized. They are among the 480 people who have taken shelter there. While 340 of them are from Ikrabari, the rest are from nearby Pakhidia village that also became victim of mindless arson in the ongoing communal violence.

In both villages, thatched roof hutments have been reduced to cinder. In the more affluent homes, all that remains are blackened mud walls that have caked and crumbled. Only concrete pillars stand are left standing, bearing the scars of the horror.
G Subramaniam

Post by G Subramaniam »

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Indi ... 566490.cms

Assam toll reaches 40 as violence spreads
7 Oct 2008, 0050 hrs IST,TNN
Print Email Discuss Share Save Comment Single page view Text:
GUWAHATI/UDALGURI: As the orgy of ethnic violence between Bodos and Muslim immigrants spread to newer areas of northern Assam and the death toll t
Indian Army patrolling
Indian Army patrolling the riot affected Bhakatpara village in Udalguri district of Assam. (PTI Photo)
More Pictures
ouched 40, shoot-at-sight was ordered in riot-ravaged Udalgiri and Darrang districts and more cops deployed in neighbouring Chirang. ( Watch )

Fifteen people have died in police firing alone and nearly 200 villages singed by communal flames. More than a lakh people, from both Bodo and Muslim communities, have been forced to flee their villages.

With the ethnic violence spreading to new areas, the Centre on Monday despatched 1,400 para-military force personnel to the strife-torn state where bloody clashes between Bodos and Muslims show no sign of abating. Almost the same the number of Bodos and Muslims have been killed in the violence so far, with Bodos reporting greater losses in terms of property, according to state government sources.

Chief minister Tarun Gogoi rubbished reports about the involvement of illegal Bangladeshi migrants in the communal clashes and insisted that the people who are being attacked and killed are all Indian citizens. "I request TV channels to practice restraint and also request people to restrain from making wrong comments. We have set an inquiry into the whole matter," he said.

Gogoi ordered helicopter surveillance of Udalgiri on Monday, admitting that 500 houses had been set ablaze and that over 100,000 people had taken shelter in relief camps. "But the majority have been affected due to fear triggered by rumours," he said.

With the situation fast spiralling out of control, Gogoi is under fire for not acting quickly enough to stop the violence and call in the Army earlier.

"We could have changed the situation had we been authorized in time," said an Army officer deployed in Punia of Darrang district.

In Chirang's Mojabari area, a pregnant woman was among two people gunned down late on Sunday night. Two others sustained critical bullet injuries. Hundreds of Bodo youths armed with bows, arrows and spears could be seen in many places in Udalguri district, armed for self defence. NH-52 that connects the two districts still wears a deserted look.

All Assam Students Union (AASU) adviser Samujal Bhattacharrya, who toured the affected areas, rejected CM Gogoi's claim that the authorities are being even-handed in dealing with the rioters. "The authorities are completely biased. They are protecting immigrant Muslims while blaming the Bodos for the violence. If you visit relief centres, you will see a completely different picture as everywhere it was the Bodos who were the victims," he alleged.

Terming the situation as "very tense", Gogoi said Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and home minister Shivraj Patil had called him to "take stock of the situation".

The CM said an additional 10 companies of security forces have been requisitioned, out of which four have arrived. Four more companies of BSF have been deployed in violence-hit areas and two more are on their way, Gogoi said.

But little seems to have changed on the ground. Throwing a challenge to those who hoisted a Pakistani flag on Saturday at Sonaripara and Bakhalpara, Bodo villagers on Monday took out huge processions with the Indian tricolour at Itabari, Haziarapara and Rowta Bagan areas of Udalgiri on Monday. "Muslims hoisted the Pakistani flag after burning three of my houses completely," said schoolteacher Jiten Boro of Bakhalpara.

On Monday morning, a delegation of Opposition parties led by AGP president Chandra Mohan Patowary visited the affected areas. "What's happening h
Indian Army patrolling
Indian Army patrolling the riot affected Bhakatpara village in Udalguri district of Assam. (PTI Photo)
More Pictures
ere is very dangerous. If Indian are unsafe in India and have to hoist the Indian tricolour, then where will they be safe?" asked Patowary.

Udalguri SP A K Tiwari said no incident of mob violence was reported from any part of the district on Monday, except in Mazbat where police fired at miscreants who tried to burn down a village. "One person was injured in the firing," Tiwari said. Darrang deputy commissioner Dhurba Hazarika said the situation was "under control" and were "no more deaths had been reported".

State home commissioner Rajib Bora, who is camping in Mangaldoi, said they were talking to leaders of various communities to bring the situation under control.

The All Bodoland Minority Students Union (ABMSU) staged a blockade on NH-31(C) at Kashikotra for about 2 hours demanding the arrest of AASU adviser Samujal Bhattacharyya. The minority student body blamed AASU's "anti-Bangladesh drive" for the current spate of violence.
G Subramaniam

Post by G Subramaniam »

http://www.dnaindia.com/report.asp?newsid=1196083

Decisive action necessary to save Assam’
Anil Anand
Tuesday, October 07, 2008 02:20 IST

NEW DELHI: The Centre has been warned by intelligence agencies that Assam is sitting on a powder keg which will explode unless “decisive action” is taken forthwith to find a long-term solution to the standoff between Bodo tribals and illegal Bangladeshi immigrants.

Preliminary reports received by the home ministry from different quarters have pointed to the fact that the lingering issue of ethnic cleansing on account of domination by the illegal immigrants was taking a serious turn. ( In Plain english the BD illegals are ethnic cleansing natives )Moreover, the ministry has received indications that certain elements may use the situation to draw political mileage
G Subramaniam

Post by G Subramaniam »

Chindu

Sangh Parivar behind violence: Brinda

Special Correspondent

BANGALORE:Communist Party of India (Marxist) Polit Bureau member Brinda Karat on Monday accused the Sangh Parivar of instigating communal violence in Assam in the name of “illegal migration” though an international agreement has set a cut-off date for deciding illegal migration.

Speaking at a convention organised by the CPI(M) state unit on “attacks on religious minorities and the role of the BJP government” here, she said: “the violence in Assam between different communities, which has resulted in killings of 32 people, a majority of whom are Muslims, is nothing but the latest instigation by the Sangh Parivar. If they have instigated violence in the name of conversions in other parts of the state, they have taken up ‘illegal migration’ issue in Assam,” she said.
G Subramaniam

Post by G Subramaniam »

Assam tribune

Sattra Mahasabha concern over violence in State
Staff reporter
GUWAHATI, Oct 6 – Samanwita Yuva Tirtha (SYT), the youth wing of Asom Sattra Mahasabha, has expressed deep concern over the recent group clashes that have taken place in Darrang and Udalguri districts recently, which has led to the displacement of indigenous people. The SYT is of the belief that such unprecedented violence could take place because of the apathetic and indifferent attitude of the district administrations and the State government. The government must apprehend those responsible for the heinous acts and give exemplary punishment to them, an official release stated.

The SYT stated that it has observed attempts by foreign fundamentalist groups to dismember India, and the raising of Pakistani flag in Assam has highlighted this challenge.

Unless the State and central governments do not take strong steps, the entire national identity would be undermined. The organization asked for the reasons behind the State government not taking suitable measures to protect the interest of Assam’s indigenous people, and urged the Tarun Gogoi government to tackle the situation with seriousness and sincerity.

Read Pioneer article. The perpetrators are Christian orgs of Bodo areas. Here we see the allegations against sangh parivar for Assam's violence.

Speaking at a convention organised by the CPI(M) state unit on “attacks on religious minorities and the role of the BJP government” here, she said: “the violence in Assam between different communities, which has resulted in killings of 32 people, a majority of whom are Muslims, is nothing but the latest instigation by the Sangh Parivar. If they have instigated violence in the name of conversions in other parts of the state, they have taken up ‘illegal migration’ issue in Assam,” she said.
Someone please do the country a favour and air drop Ms. "Suzanne" A.Roy and Ms.Karat into the Assam plains where the "poor and harassed" illegal immigrants are peacefully protesting...

Since they(the BDs) are anyways harmless, both the esteemed ladies should not have a problem there.
G Subramaniam

Post by G Subramaniam »

Assamese muslims attacked by BD muslims

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Indi ... 571590.cms

Sons-of-soil' Muslims face attacks from migrants
8 Oct 2008, 0238 hrs IST, Naresh Mitra,TNN
Print Email Discuss Share Save Comment Text:
ROWTA CHARIALI (Udalguri): The charred courtyard is all that remains of the house that Iqbal Ahmed built from his meagre savings as a farmer. Ahm
ed, an Assamese-speaking Muslim, watched helplessly as Bangladeshi migrants burned down his home in retaliatory attacks on October 4.

If the communal clashes in Udalguri had their genesis in the conflict between Bodos and Muslims, Rowta Chariali has a different story to tell. The attack on Ahmed's house indicates that the communal flare-up in Udalguri and Darrang is not a simple conflict between two communities. After all, Ahmed is a Muslim and should not have expected an attack from a Muslim.

But it so turned out that he was Assamese-speaking, living in an Assamese neighbourhood. The Bangladeshi migrants who went on a rampage made no further distinction about the target of their fury than the fact that they were all Assamese. Ironically, it was the Bodos who first informed Ahmed that Assamese Muslims, too, were being attacked which, says Ahmed, ''helped me send my family to safety before the mobs struck.

But in the event at least six houses of Assamese Muslims - they are also known as Morias in Rowta Chariali area - were either gutted or looted by migrant Bangladeshis.

Zia-ul-Haque was attacked the same day as Ahmed. Everything he had, including eight cows and six goats, were looted and his four-room house razed. ''The miscreants took away even our bullock cart and a television set. They are from my religion. How could they do this?'' Haque said
G Subramaniam

Post by G Subramaniam »

Bodos trust only army

http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryPage ... +only+Army

odo tribals have accused the Assam police of not being able to control the violence resorted to by Bangladeshi Muslim immigrants settlers against them in Assam's Udalguri and Darrang districts.

The tribals have sought deployment of the Army in the affected areas instead of local police.

Several violence-affected Bodo tribals living in relief camps at Udalguri Girls High School and Udalguri College have accused local policemen of siding with miscreants.

“Some of villagers informed a police patrol party present nearby about the violence and arson but they did not take any action against the miscreants. We were surprised at police's attitude,” alleged Arati Saha, Arati Saha, a resident of Ekrabari.

Meanwhile, one Bodo youth was injured in police firing at Moinaguri Naharghat village on Monday evening.

Agitated villagers, demanding withdrawal of a particular battalion from Mazbat, gheraoed the police station later. It was only after a magistrate assured them action against the policemen, the gherao was called off.

In Darrang district too, there were allegations against the Assam police's inaction against those who indulged in violence.
In the backdrop of unabated violence in these two districts, 10 companies of BSF, four companies of SSB were deployed in both the districts on Tuesday.
G Subramaniam

Post by G Subramaniam »

In Assam, Durga Puja has been cancelled in many towns that are BD infested, for fear of Islamist rioters

Incidentally often in BD, Hindus are afraid to visit Durga Pujas for the same reason

As far as hindus go, Assam has become defacto BD
G Subramaniam

Post by G Subramaniam »

assamtimes

Indigenous tribes victims of Bangladeshi immigrants
Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Monjib Mochahari 07 October, 2008 07:40:00
Who can save the indigenous people in Assam? I wonder. Can the government of Assam, ever hear the cry of the indigenous people in Assam?

‘More than a lakh people in relief camps, more than 600 houses burnt to ashes, more than 60 live lost – is no wonder, but the smoke and flame is on. Who is responsible for such tragedy?

Every passing year, the demographic landscape is turning into the hands of the illegal Banglashi settlers. Piece by piece they are pouring into the land of the local people. Why it so? Is the state government so caring to the unwanted guests?

No wonder, reality is yet to come and we are all there to experience it. The illegal settlers will become the real kingmaker in the next couple of years in Assam. Even then, the successive government with its backdoor-politics has failed to accept the reality. But the people of Assam continue to suffer.

By turning a blind-eye to the situation, the government is adding more agony to the peace-loving indigenous people whose very survivable is under threat today.

To live with Bangladeshi is ‘no-good business’.
The ongoing clash in Udalguri and Darrrang districts is a clear indication of the ground reality that the immigrants will continue to ignite fuel to the local people in order to occupy their land.

The clash in Udalguri and Darrang district is not between Bodos and illegal Muslim settlers. It’s between the indigenous tribes and illegal Bangladeshi immigrants. Though, the Bodos are the main sufferer in the clash, other communities like Rabbhas, Garos, Addibasis, Nepali, Assameses are equally being threatened in their own motherland. The government denied to acknowledge the truth.

Today, they are on the verge of being extinct due to increased pressure from the illegal immigrants. Dubri district in Assam is no exception to this where the local people have already become minority.

The hour has come to give safety and security to the people of Assam against illegal immigrants. By imposing indefinite curfew in the region will solve the problem. Unless and until the massive migration of Bangladeshis in Assam is stopped for ever, the indigenous people in Assam will continue to be the victim of Bangladeshi immigrants.

The state government cannot turn a blind eye to the indigenous people. To give safety and security to the people is the responsibility of the state government. The Congress led government in the state is making a mockery of the people of Assam by calling the illegal immigrants as ‘citizens of India’.

Everything he had, including eight cows and six goats, were looted and his four-room house razed. ''The miscreants took away even our bullock cart and a television set. They are from my religion. How could they do this?'' Haque said
What is the bolded part supposed to mean? It was ok if the attackers attacked the kufr but its not ok if they touch fellow-"Ummahite"?
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

an example that bengalis will have to follow before the bangladeshis turn wb into another jehadi swamp.
Drive against illegal migrants intensifies in Meghalaya
http://www.zeenews.com/print_articles.a ... 71&sid=REG

Shillong, Oct 17: A drive against illegal migrants continued to gain momentum in Meghalaya as over 50 suspected Bangladeshis were apprehended from various parts of the state in the past few days.

At least 12 foreign nationals were held from different parts of West Khasi Hills district yesterday, police said.

Altogether 26 others were also caught by student activists in Jaintia Hills district and were handed over to police. The migrants could not produce any valid citizenship certificates.

Khasi Students Union general secretary Hamlet Dohling said the student body would continue to oppose the illegal influx of migrants and carry on their drive against the immigrants.

Various village councils have also launched drives to detect and deport the illegal immigrants. The councils have alleged that the state government has failed to take the problem seriously and despite presence of infiltration check gates, the immigrants were entering the state from Bangladesh and other neighbouring states easily.

Meanwhile, following demands from pressure groups, the state police have decided to strengthen manning of the infiltration check gate at Byrnihat along Assam-Meghalaya border.

A police spokesman said additional personnel would be deployed at the check gate as a good chunk of the illegal migrants are reported to have entered the state through it.
ukhrul

Post by ukhrul »

Forgive me if I sound anti-national, but if GoI and all its political allies are out to destroy my place, I would request a plebiscite be held in Bodoland as well as all tribal places.

Will we be better off as an independent country surviving as an American satellite state? I wonder. Tribals in North-East, aided by unscrupulous tribals have brought calamity in name of either 'liberation from India' or 'mainstream politics'. What choice does the tribal have? Choke to death in total apathy or resort to violence, where the Government of India in north east is an extension of Bangladesh?

Today Bodoland is not Tamil Nadu, because we never had facilities like in TN, which of course were majorly built by British rulers. Were we supposed to develop universities and roads, hospitals and rail links by ourselves to compete with rest of India and respected? Is it where the tribal has failed? To outdo you in the fields of technology and business? Is this is why we are lesser people surviving on your pity? Is this why we are 'Chinkie people'?

Why write volumes on our problems when nothing is going to happen? You will watch North East slow poisioned, and the Indian soldiers laying their lives for their duty. Do you care about those fine young men, Delhi babus in swank cars. are you listening? At least they are your own!

I feel frustrated by all talk and no action on part of everybody including the 'liberation' howlers.

Can anyone tell me when will all these end? Will we ever be recognised as Indians by people from North India?

Ukhrul.

Will we ever be recognised as Indians by people from North India
Dude, Why do you care about recognition from North India :eek: . You are an Indians and you don't need recognition from anyone else.
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

Slightly outdated news, but had not seen this posted here - hence, posting it...

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/Now-m ... ls/208309/
Now minority group threatens to expel locals
Samudra Gupta Kashyap Posted online: Aug 03, 2007 at 0035 hrs

GUWAHATI, AUGUST 2 : Two weeks after Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland started pushing out suspected Bangladeshi migrants, the row over infiltrators continues to keep Assam on the boil, especially with one “minority” student body leader threatening to push out Assamese-speaking residents from the minority-dominated districts of Goalpara and Dhubri.

The issue flared up when district-level units of the All-Assam Students’ Union (AASU) and Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha began detaining people pushed out of Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland and labeling them as Bangladeshi infiltrators.

Abdul Aziz, President of the All-Assam Minority Students’ Union accused AASU and BJP of trying to label all Bengali-speaking Muslims as Bangladeshi infiltrators. Aziz’s stand on the issue evoked sharp reactions and prompted AASU and other groups to demand his arrest. The AASU has also tied up with All-Bodo Students’ Union and All-Rabha Students’ Union and called for a public rally at Dudhnoi on Saturday.

“This is a dangerous trend. The AAMSU has proved that it belongs to the Bangladeshi migrants,” said Tapan Gogoi, AASU General Secretary. “Though CM Gogoi claims that the ones pushed out of Arunachal and Nagaland are genuine Indian citizens, it is common knowledge that they are all Bangladeshi infiltrators,” he added.

The BJYM said the AAMSU threat had only proved what former Governor of Assam S K Sinha had said a decade ago. “Ten years ago, Sinha had said that the day was not far away when Bangladeshi migrants would demand merger of the border districts of Goalpara and Dhubri with Bangladesh. This has come true with the AAMSU threat,” said Dilip Saikia, BJYM chief.
harik

Post by harik »

ukhrul wrote:Forgive me if I sound anti-national, but if GoI and all its political allies are out to destroy my place, I would request a plebiscite be held in Bodoland as well as all tribal places.

Will we be better off as an independent country surviving as an American satellite state? I wonder. Tribals in North-East, aided by unscrupulous tribals have brought calamity in name of either 'liberation from India' or 'mainstream politics'. What choice does the tribal have? Choke to death in total apathy or resort to violence, where the Government of India in north east is an extension of Bangladesh?

Today Bodoland is not Tamil Nadu, because we never had facilities like in TN, which of course were majorly built by British rulers. Were we supposed to develop universities and roads, hospitals and rail links by ourselves to compete with rest of India and respected? Is it where the tribal has failed? To outdo you in the fields of technology and business? Is this is why we are lesser people surviving on your pity? Is this why we are 'Chinkie people'?

Why write volumes on our problems when nothing is going to happen? You will watch North East slow poisioned, and the Indian soldiers laying their lives for their duty. Do you care about those fine young men, Delhi babus in swank cars. are you listening? At least they are your own!

I feel frustrated by all talk and no action on part of everybody including the 'liberation' howlers.

Can anyone tell me when will all these end? Will we ever be recognised as Indians by people from North India?

Ukhrul.
Ukhrul ,

Have always looked forward to post from You and Victor.

Please dont reduce everything NI.

Cant talk abt NI , but ELM only talks abt NE only when some female gets raped in Mumbai.

Speaking for myself , if it matters, I care.
harik

Post by harik »

VikasRaina wrote:
Will we ever be recognised as Indians by people from North India
Dude, Why do you care about recognition from North India :eek: . You are an Indians and you don't need recognition from anyone else.
Raina,
Ukhrul has been a very sensible poster over here, not that he is seeking affirmation.

So kindly keep off untill You have been here long enough.
harik

Post by harik »

http://news.google.co.in/news?hl=en&q=n ... sults&cd=1

Daily dose untill we consiouscly care abt it.

Ukhrul's frustration is a common sentiment in the Northeast. Dangerously common. The average Indian would be shocked to see the lack of basic infrastructure even in the most "advanced" city of Guwahati. For the average Northeasterner, a trip to "India" is like a visit to a foreign country and the feeling that he does not belong in India and/or is being neglected is reinforced. This inspite of the Northeast being one of the most naturally beautiful and richest parts of India, producing most of it tea and oil. Add illegal banglas being mollycoddled for votes (specially by kangress) even though they threaten to swamp the locals and rampant consumerism in the form of cars, malls etc on nonexistent roads and you have a really absurd and pathetic picture. The hope is that connectivity in the form of the East-West and other highway systems along with additional broad gauge rail lines will open up the region to tourism and more economic integration. That should take care of the angry extremists. It's about time after 70 years of "independence". Every time I visit, I am convinced that the only reason that the region has not already seceded is because the different movements are fractious.

I can understand the sentiments of Ukhrul and Victor. I felt the same way when I travelled briefly to NE in 1990. Gross injustice to the region in terms of basic infrastructure development. It is extremely important to have a Railway Minister from NE. AGP should negotiate with the next central dispensation to be part of the coalition.

Did Assam lose the demographic war? Are BDs more than Assamese in most of the districts?

Can someone tell me as to why the ULFA , which IIRC was formed to rid the state of the menace of the hordes of BDs as the Kangress didnt move a finger to do anything, is working in tandem with BD now? Isnt it a contradiction?
Tamang

Post by Tamang »

IIRC ULFA's aim is to have an indepedent Assam.

Tamang wrote:IIRC ULFA's aim is to have an indepedent Assam.
Yes, but i do remember reading somewhere that they were formed after the Kangress govt failure to do anything about the BDs and after the AASU, which was leading a violent anti-BD agitation, went mainstream as the AGP....Barauh and co disagreed and formed the ULFA on the anti-BD plank but later morphed into anti-India plank...

Not sure if im right,though...
ukhrul

Post by ukhrul »

Dear Members,

The recent blasts in Assam shows the audacity of BD illegals who have set up ISI-DGFI to set up a very vast network with the help of sections of CONGRESS, AGP, BJP, student bodies, NGOs, rotten eggs in Police. Now these networks were not built in one day, and surely RAW had been watching. Now if a political establishment which counts on Muslim votes for election win...remember so many politician crititicized the Batla House encounter where we lost a gem of a policeman!
Question is how and when are we going to clear our own house?In such cases you cannot arrest an MLA and hang him (remember Subba Rai?) for nexus with underground.The only way out is to eliminate them, yes my friends, gruesome executions. I cannot blame the Army, Paramilitary, Police or the Intell for failing 'to do something'. All these act under a corrupt civilian leadership.We need a stronger espiocracy with operational freedom. If we do not do it now, Northeast and West Bengal is lost. How? The locals get fed up with India, with underground, and ultimately give up all they cared for.
My friends, I vent my frustration here in the previous post because I wanted to convey the feelings that are rampant there. I am an Indian, all of us are at heart. We are not anti-Indians, will never be. Now the people of India have to understand we are Indians too.
We have to act, my brothers-in-arms, we have to act in every capacity we can individually, by spreading awareness among the people. We will bring forth the situation in NE and the Bangladeshi illegals issue in every public forum, and warn people about the Bangladeshi illegals. If the government does not act, its individuals who will act, we must act now.

Ukhrul.

ukhrul, I feel the only way is for people from NE to come forward and use every legal and activist methods available in the book to demand the assistance and recognition that is rightfully theirs.
once the movement gains the recognition support will pour in from the rest of the country.
politically, an alliance with a national party would help too.
we are with you people.
waiting for the shadowy operators in delhi won't cut it.
regards.

Ulfa has hooked up with pakis via BD because they have been provided shelter,
funds and businesses in BD and promised greater riches and high office if they
can actually succeed.

they were never really explicitly against the BDs except in empty rhetoric,
but spent their energies trying to undermine and attack the Govts of the day.
if we look back in history of ulfa attacks it been against govt, security forces,
hindi speakers, random attacks that killed anyone never really any attack on BD
settlers. their 'war' has been always against GOI.

in short, the resentment against BD/poverty of NE just provided them a popular
cause to rise to position of power, they were after power and money from day1.

they were in some sort of entente with the AGP on revenue sharing basis
until GOI was forced to act and impose presidents rule when things got out of
control and op bajrang was launched. maybe a cash consignment didnt
reach dilli and the senators made their displeasure known.

just as in J&K there is a conflict economy in NE that has people on the take
from delhi down to the state capitals and extremist camps. nobody in power
wants to upset the gravy train.
ukhrul

Post by ukhrul »

So, now the question is how to bell the cat. It is well known DGFI has a mole in the NSA, moles in West Bengal and Northeastern state governments. So the need of the hour are strong hands to upset the gravy train. How it is to be done in an impotent country like India is what we need to figure out.
satya

Post by satya »

So, now the question is how to bell the cat. It is well known DGFI has a mole in the NSA, moles in West Bengal and Northeastern state governments. So the need of the hour are strong hands to upset the gravy train. How it is to be done in an impotent country like India is what we need to figure out.
Creation of Chittagong Autonomous Hill Region should be the foreign policy aim in B'desh for a start to make BDees feel the pain & also not a bad real estate area to gain ( Russia's action in Georgian wars have set a precedence that can provide the necessary diplomatic cover ). If possible put on hold the electoral roll containing B'deshis as electorates to make sure they can't be used in elections decreasing their value . In long run , issue work permits to BDees to work the most menial jobs at lowest possible salaries with their families not allowed any stay in India by putting impossible conditions to be fulfilled if they want to bring in their families ( Netherlands has such laws ) and charging heavy fees to issue such work permits every year .

Another thing increase the salaries of BSF soldiers patrolling the border with accountability system in place . You don't want fakirs to guard nation's frontiers .
These are ideal solutions other/final solution we all know .

JMHTs

Excellent idea Satya, in fact this will establish the BD land firmly as India's playground and tell the BDs that if India could come into the region to set the things right in 1971 then it can do so again. This is the way to go for India and its foreign policy establishment. Let us all welcome the Buddhist republic of Chittagong :twisted: !

munna wrote:Excellent idea Satya, in fact this will establish the BD land firmly as India's playground and tell the BDs that if India could come into the region to set the things right in 1971 then it can do so again. This is the way to go for India and its foreign policy establishment. Let us all welcome the Buddhist republic of Chittagong :twisted: !
I used to dream of all these as a true blue jingo but going by the attitude of all govts since the start of 90s(even the "nationalist" BJP which almost showed the other cheek when 16 of our BSF boys were handed back tied like animals), it would be a great achievement if we are able to keep our own country in one piece going by the "eyes-shut" attitude of the netas even when the country is being bled by even two bits like BD!!!

So, will not even bother imagining any such far-sighted, stratergic moves by GoI(of any party)!!! :cry:

reason being delhi's defence focus so heavily pak and china centric they prefer leaving
the back door open and work on the front door which has many holes (on china front).

but its proving a dangerous miscalculation. we will have to garrisson the BD border
on par with punjab border to curb their mischief.
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

http://www.dailypioneer.com/132014/Assa ... Nepal.html
Assam blasts were planned in Nepal

Rakesh K Singh | New Delhi

The Assam serial bomb blasts which rocked the State on Thursday were planned at a three-day 'terror" conclave held at Dhulikhel, 30 km north of Kathmandu, between October 15 and October 17.

The secret meeting, organised by the ISI at a resort, decided that the responsibility of future terror blasts in Jammu and Kashmir and the north-eastern States would be owned by the Indian Mujahideen and other splinter terror groups. The terror planners identified Gujarat and the poll-bound Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan as targets for major attacks in the coming days, top intelligence sources said here on Sunday.

The other major decision taken at the meet was to assign one of the six iconic cities -- like Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore and Hyderabad -- each to Dawood Ibrahim, HuJI, DGFI, SIMI, LeT and JeM as their targets, the sources added.

The sources said Colonel Ahmed Sufi of DGFI (Directorate General of Forces' Intelligence, Bangladesh) made a detailed presentation for targeting the north-east, which included the terror plan for Assam (that was executed last week). The ISI was represented at the meet by a lieutenant general-level official responsible for overseeing affairs in South Asia. The ISI official took a circuitous route from Pakistan to Dubai to Dhaka before reaching Kathmandu via Biman Bangladesh airlines in order to avoid any suspicion by Indian security agencies, the sources revealed.

The meeting, hosted by Pakistani covert agency Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI), was attended by DGFI, besides representatives of the banned Students' Islamic Movement of India (SIMI), Lashkar-e-Tayyaba (LeT), Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM), the Bangladesh-based Harkat-ul-Jehad-al Islami (HuJI) and an aide of global terrorist Dawood Ibrahim. The SIMI representative, an activist from Uttar Pradesh, is based in Bangalore and has a master's degree from MIT, top intelligence sources said.

The ISI has been trying to project terrorism in India as a "homegrown" phenomenon by co-opting local militant outfits like SIMI. During narco interrogation, SIMI leader Safdar Nagori had also revealed that he used to frequently visited Guwahati and Nepal for identifying and executing missions in those areas.

As reported earlier by The Pioneer, the ISI had held a meeting in 2005 at a resort in Nagarkot, near Kathmandu, to put in place a three-tier terror plan to target different cities. As fallout of the plan laid out at the meeting, attacks were carried out in the national Capital, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Jaipur and Ajmer.

Incidentally, the responsibility for the serial bomb blasts in Assam was taken by the little-known Islamic Security Force-Indian Mujahideen, pointing to the high level of coordination between outfits like SIMI, LeT, JeM, HuJI and others at the behest of the ISI.

Intelligence officials also said that more such new outfits could spring up in the future for similar attacks. The north-east has been identified by the ISI as a major target in the coming days, they added.
Tamang

Post by Tamang »

MORIGAON: The priest of an ancient temple, Goranga, in central Assam's Morigaon district received three threat calls that the place of worship would
be blown up by bombs, said a top district police official on Monday.

The priest of the Ram and Krishna temple near Pobitora Wildlife Sanctuary received three calls on Sunday night from a mobile phone that Goranga would be blown up by bombing, district superintendent of police Madan Chetia told.

The identity of the caller was yet to be ascertained and the service provider of the mobile number, Airtel, has been asked to provide the details of the phone number's owner, Chetia said.

Meanwhile, security arrangements around the temple has been tightened in view of the threat calls, he added.

In view of the recent SMS to a private television news channel by Islamic Security Force-Indian Mujahideen claiming responsibility for the Thursday serial blasts in the state, the police was taking Sunday's threat calls with utmost seriousness, he said.

Investigations into the ISF-IM SMS revealed that at least 200 phones were being used in Morigaon district under false names and addresses with certificates provided by village headman, official sources said.

Several mobile PCO owners were picked up for interrogation in this connection, they added.
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

From Indian Express, BSF had prior info about blasts.

http://www.expressindia.com/latest-news ... SF/382245/
iajdani

Post by iajdani »

..deleted.
Last edited by archan on 06 Nov 2008 19:48, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Trolls have no place on BRF.

(Edited to remove quote from troll per request from shiv)

You are a troll.

You will not last long on this forum. I hope you have fond memories that you can tell your brother, who is also your step-son about the really really funny posts you made on an internet forum.
Last edited by enqyoob on 08 Nov 2008 08:47, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: troll's quote removed per request

iajdani,

Thanks for your advice. That is all on our to do list. All that is however preceded by another point on the list, and that is to get rid of all Pakistanis from the Indian Subcontinent. After that we will do as you say! Big Promij! :)

On second thoughts, considering that your economy is already in deep deep shytt and all Pakistanis are on the verge of becoming beggars, may be you can take care of cleaning our toilets. And you know what, considering you are soon not going to have a drop of water to drink after we turn off the tap in Kashmir, as a bonus you can keep all the water with which you have cleaned the toilets!

Asalam u Aleikum, ijdani. I am, as you can readily verify by visiting the Khabar-e-Jehad Al Pingreji dhaga, already a very well-known mullah, except in some minor technical details that I will p(a)ss (meaning fail) on, thank you very much.

We are well aware of the tremendous civilization and social advantages that come with this, see Khabar thread and any thread about Pakistan and Bangladesh for details. We all yearn to be like Pakistanis and Bangladeshis, and all of us, of course, want to be like Somalis, except that we also yearn to be tall, fair, and tight musharrafed.

To paraphrase a famous Kufr of the Great Satan
Ich bin ein Paki. AllahoAkbar!

Hope you take with you fond memories of your (unfortunately likely to be short) visit to BRF.

Every time pakis & BDs come on here to puke for ten seconds and then be shot in the head, I feel good about the future. They are so constipated by their own hellish environments and so envious of what lies hopelessly outside their reach that they can only gain some relief by puking and then blowing themselves up. We make fun of their dysfunctional societies and jinn-based educational systems that have made them universally recognized toilet-cases but every once in a while an example/product comes here to confirm our musings and entertain us.