The Red Menace

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Avinash R

Re: The Red Menace

Post by Avinash R »

:D Kanu Sanyal on his death bed :D

37 AP police personel missing and feared dead in Maoist attack on police patrol boat near AP/Orissa border.
Reports of mortar and machine gun fire which crippled the boat. Police personnel trying to swim away were chased in boats and shot :(

Mortars and machine guns, and then downright systematic execution of helpless survivors in the water :evil:

pradeepe wrote:37 AP police personel missing and feared dead in Maoist attack on police patrol boat near AP/Orissa border.
Reports of mortar and machine gun fire which crippled the boat. Police personnel trying to swim away were chased in boats and shot :(

Mortars and machine guns, and then downright systematic execution of helpless survivors in the water :evil:
There might be something to learn from the Chinese and the Russians when dealing with scums like these. I hope they give the policemen in the area more training and facilities after this. This is a big incident.

Can the human rights groups, the arundhatis, the teesta setelvads, the angana chatterjees and assorted pakis be distracted from their chai and samosa parties to maybe say a word or two.

Oh wait, they must be waiting for more Salwa Judum's to be formed by the bereaved families so that they can then pounce on them.

===

I am surprised that the main stream media is not even picking this up properly. Mortars, Machine guns and then execution of helpless surviros in the water :evil:
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

Avinash R wrote::D Kanu Sanyal on his death bed :D
May God give him and other such geriatric mass murderers in the Stalinist camp a long life. Nothing is more torture for them than watching their favorite ideology being flushed down the toilet bowl and turned into a capitalist casino by their own paymasters abroad. They have seen their dreams collapse and are still re-selling the same flushed out material increasingly convinced that it does not work and yet not willing to admit it.

The fact that they had to rape and murder their own brothers and sisters in Nandigram not to grab land from landlords to re-distribute, but to allot land to a Chinese capitalist moneybag scum of the worst kind ever imaginable must make death much more preferable for any mass murderer with an iota of self respect in him.
Keshav

Post by Keshav »

Sannyaasis attacked by Communist groups in Kerala
The Hindu wrote:
THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: A group of sanyasis met Governor R.L. Bhatia here on Tuesday and urged him to direct the government to take action against the attack on ashrams in different parts of the State.

Swami Gangesananda (Vidyadhiraja Ashram, Panmana, Kollam), Swami Bodhi Theertha (Sivagiri Madhom), Swami Brahmapadananda Saraswati (Sree Ramadasa Ashram, Chengottukonam), Garudadwajananda (Theerthapada Ashram, Vazhoor) and Swami Abhayananda Theerthapadar (Kodakarachira, Kottayam) submitted a memorandum to the Governor in this regard. There are attempts to defame members of a particular religion, they said adding the government is trying to protect those taking the law into their own hands.

The statement of Home Minister Kodiyeri Balakrishnan that no sanyasi would escape, Dewaswom Minister G. Sudhakaran’s remark on the character of sanyasis and Law Minister M. Vijayakumar’s statement that a law would be enacted to control ashrams have given leverage to certain youth organisations to take the law into their own hands. No action has been taken against those who attacked ashrams. All ashrams in the State are being monitored by the police.

A sanyasi of the traditional ashram of Chattambi Swamigal was interrogated by the police. Such moves have cast aspersions on those who lead an ascetic life. There is a conspiracy to malign the Amritanandamayi Madhom which has been rendering social service.

The Governor should examine such instances and direct the government to take action against those targeting the ashrams, they said.

Mr. Bhatia said he would take up the issue with the Ministers concerned, the sanyasis said.
http://www.hinduonnet.com/thehindu/thsc ... 25/&prd=th&

Bengal - East Europe of early nineties is in the making ....... People of Bengal are finally sitting up

After rural polls, civic blow for LF
CPM leaders SHELL-SHOCKED

The Statesman News Service, Kolkata, July 3, 2008

KOLKATA, July. 2: After losing nearly half of rural Bengal in the panchayat polls only about a month ago, it is clear that the CPI-M-led Left Front is losing its grip on the urban areas as well. The Opposition has wrested four municipalities from the ruling combine, capturing eight of the 13 civic bodies where elections were held on 29 June. The results of the elections were declared today. While its drubbing in Midnapore and North and South 24-Parganas - the epicentre of the turmoil over farm land acquisition - was a foregone conclusion, the most shocking defeat for the Marxists was in the heart of the Red bastion in Burdwan.

The Trinamul Congress registered the maximum gain by capturing three new municipalities - Habra, Midnapore and Guskura - while retaining the Diamond Harbour municipality. The Congress wrested one municipality - Dalkhola, retained Haldibari and stood close to recapturing two others - Alipurduar and Dubrajpur - where it needs the support of the Trinamul and the BJP respectively to form the boards. The Trinamul chief has already made it clear that her party would help the Congress form the two boards.

The LF barely managed to retain five municipalities - Burdwan, Panihati, Chakdah, Balurghat and Mekhliganj, but even this was under a cloud since the Forward Bloc, though retaining the Mekhliganj municipality, had to go through a bitter fight with dummy candidates fielded by the CPI-M.

Though local factors, including corruption on the part of LF board members and pathetic civic services influenced the verdict, the results were clearly a reflection of the people's seething anger at the CPI-M's ruthless attempt to grab farmers’ land for industrialisation by private players and the insolence of its leaders at all levels.

The tell-tale sign of this wrath was the CPI-M's loss of three wards - 24, 25 and 26 - in Burdwan, its bulwark for decades, where the state government had acquired 60 acres of land for setting up a health city with private capital. In the recent panchayat polls, it had lost all the three seats of the Saraitika panchayat that borders the Burdwan municipality. Though the LF retained the municipality by bagging 30 of the 35 seats, the victory was overshadowed by the loss of the three wards, especially because the state industries minister and architect of the controversial industrialisation policy, Mr Nirupam Sen, is one of the most influential leaders of the district.

The most impressive performance by the Trinamul was in the Guskura municipality located in the heart of the red citadel in Burdwan. The Trinamul made significant progress in the Habra municipality in North 24-Parganas increasing its previous tally of 7 to 11 and ensuring victory of an Ondependent candidate backed by it. The CPI-M had captured the municipality in the 2003 polls by bagging 13 seats. The results this time around only confirmed the trend set by the panchayat polls when the Trinamul severely dented the red fort.

The results of the Midnapore municipality went predictably in the Trinamul’s favour as it had swept East Midnapore in the panchayat polls rising on the crest of the anti-CPI-M wave triggered by the Marxists’ Nandigram misadventure.
Similarly, the Trinamul’s victory in the Diamond Harbour municipality was also certain, going by its unprecedented success in the panchayat polls when it captured the entire Zilla Parishad (South 24-Parganas) ending the CPI-M’s uninterrupted rule for over two and a half decades. What brought further cheers to the Trinamul was the fact that while it had been running the municipality since 2003 with Congress support, this time around it won 11 of the 16 seats and hence is in a position to form the board on its own.

CPI-M leaders were so shell-shocked by the defeat that none of them was available for comments.
On the contrary, Trinamul chief Miss Mamata Banerjee said the civic polls were yet another confirmation that the people want a rollback of the state’s industrialisation policy, since they want both agriculture and industry to grow side by side and not at the cost of each other.

X-posting Amit's comments from another thread-
As an Indian who grew up in West Bengal during Jyoti Basu's rule, I grew to intensly dislike his style of political functioning which led to a massive flight of industry from the state, which at one point of time, was one of the most industrialised in India.

I've also seen so many friends and relatives migrating out of the State in search of jobs, both within India and outside - simply because there is not enough decent jobs available. And not all go for great well paying jobs, sometimes is just very ordinary ones which should have been available in West Bengal.

So much so that there are entire localities which have been reduced to housing old people, who's children reside outside the state, and folks who couldn't make it in life. It's happened to the area I grew up in - I feel so depressed when I go back there.

However, I'd give credit where it's due. Jyoti Babu never once gave the impression that he was batting for anyone else other than India of his vision. Maybe a flawed vision but one that was 100 per cent Indian.

Prakash Karat's anticts, not only in this Nuclear deal but things like joining a Shia rally - to give it political legitimacy - when George Bush came to India, have in one short span, as Nitish babu has pointed out, destroyed all the "good work" done by Jyoti Basu and Surjeet.

I still think there are many pragmatic elements with the CPI(M), Buddhadev Bhattacharya being one of them. And if this goes to elections and if the Left does badly - as is being widely anitcipated - there will be plenty of churning within the CPI(M), IMO. And if the pragmatists (some chai walas tell me Sitaram Yeuchury is actually with this group) do manage to get Karat and his wife Brinda sidelined, maybe that would be a good thing for India.

JMT and sorry for the long ramble.
A few comments on similar lines -

The reason I find the current communist ideaolgues so despicable is exactly for this reason. Their shift in thinking from an India centric view to one with links outside. I have had and still do have commie ideologues in my close family. Some strong enough in their views and with enough conviction to actually have made enough real personal sacrifices involving personal wealth and life. Gramps was one such person.

I have no beef with them and in fact as much as I do not agree with them I believe that while they had a different vision for India it was still rooted with Indian interests in mind. A far cry from many of the current comrades.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

KS in Rediff interview gives an interesting perspective on Stalinist strategy..

http://specials.rediff.com/news/2008/jul/02slid2.htm

If only the dynasty digs up its self-respect we would not be in this position.

Amit,

Saying Jyoti Basu 'always batted 100% for India' is more than a stretch, IMHO.
Jyoti babu voted for WB to join BD in 1947 and defended the PRC in 1962 by playing == with 'Indian army incursions'. The statements are not hard to find online.
Last edited by vsudhir on 03 Jul 2008 20:36, edited 1 time in total.
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

A Naxal remembers

Kerala’s Naxalbari: Memoirs Of A Young Revolutionary
Ajitha
Translated by Sanju Ramachandran
Srishti
288 pages
Rs195
Book review. Should be a nice read.

http://www.dnaindia.com/report.asp?newsid=1172667
pushkar.bhat

Post by pushkar.bhat »

I think the most scary thing about the Red Menace is that the supporter of the Nax are seemingly innocuous Middle Class Chacha's. West Bengal has a lot of these fellows and they spread across the country along with their sympathy and loyalties. Its time that the intelligence agencies dugout the files on these folks and did a roundup of the fella's..

pushkar.bhat wrote:I think the most scary thing about the Red Menace is that the supporter of the Nax are seemingly innocuous Middle Class Chacha's. West Bengal has a lot of these fellows and they spread across the country along with their sympathy and loyalties. Its time that the intelligence agencies dugout the files on these folks and did a roundup of the fella's..
You have no clue how Bharat functions. It's not a chick-flick hindi film where you can round-up thousands of people just by barking an order. A few things:

1. If you spend some time in deep rural areas in Bharat then you'll see how porest of the poor are exploited. No I'm not talking in the commie lingo, and I have no love for them. But I happen to grow up in those areas, and surprisingly the exploiters of the poor masses are the oilers of 'secular' congress/SP/BSP or hindutva BJP.

2. If you think that IB can be let loose on keralite or bengali middle-class ("chacha' in your terms), then these two states can also let the state CIDs loose on local businessmen who'll make ph calls to delhi to stop the 'nonsense'.

3. Have seen naxalite activities very closely since late sixties since some close familymembers/friends were involved. The way to stop all the naxalite menace is very simple
- have little patience (say about five years) and have local level very honest babus (who are indeed in short supply) to make sure that every rupee meant for development (water, irrigation, land distribution, health and education) is spent properly. I have been to western part of West bengal and southern part of Bihar (now in Jharkhand) for quite some time; 90 paise of each rupee was/is siphoned off by the crooks. If you can stop that, especially in tribal belts, then you won't need greyhounds or other laughable means to stop maoists. maoists are like skin disease parasites - they will thrive only when the body is weak. Do some yoga and tone up the muscles - all these diseases will be gone.

spot on, kati.

If I may add, this is one area where the assertion "mainstream apathy leads to terrorism" is closer to the truth. of course I'm not arguing that it's not the urban ideologues who flame and fan the extremist tendencies in these people but there is no denying the fact either that the depraved conditions of these masses make them ideal hunting ground for the naxals.

IMO this is the obvious reason why the naxals are so anti development.

Rahul,

It is a Communist commentary of false future!
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

RayC wrote:Rahul,

It is a Communist commentary of false future!
Agree with you hundred percent.
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

but there is no denying the fact either that the depraved conditions of these masses make them ideal hunting ground for the naxals.
There is no basis for such statement. If that were the case then pretty much most of the India would be Naxalite. But that is not the case. What is interesting is that the same line of excuse is given by Islamists in support of Islamic terror attacks.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

The West Bengal government is not considering banning Maoists. It will tackle them politically, administratively and by implementing socio-economic development programmes in areas where they are trying to establish a presence, Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee said on Thursday. “We have no intention of banning them; we want to isolate them politically,” he told the Assembly.

No ban on Maoists, cos we are em
pushkar.bhat

Post by pushkar.bhat »

Kati wrote:You have no clue how Bharat functions. It's not a chick-flick hindi film where you can round-up thousands of people just by barking an order. A few things:

1. If you spend some time in deep rural areas in Bharat then you'll see how porest of the poor are exploited. No I'm not talking in the commie lingo, and I have no love for them. But I happen to grow up in those areas, and surprisingly the exploiters of the poor masses are the oilers of 'secular' congress/SP/BSP or hindutva BJP.

2. If you think that IB can be let loose on keralite or bengali middle-class ("chacha' in your terms), then these two states can also let the state CIDs loose on local businessmen who'll make ph calls to delhi to stop the 'nonsense'.

3. Have seen naxalite activities very closely since late sixties since some close familymembers/friends were involved. The way to stop all the naxalite menace is very simple
- have little patience (say about five years) and have local level very honest babus (who are indeed in short supply) to make sure that every rupee meant for development (water, irrigation, land distribution, health and education) is spent properly. I have been to western part of West bengal and southern part of Bihar (now in Jharkhand) for quite some time; 90 paise of each rupee was/is siphoned off by the crooks. If you can stop that, especially in tribal belts, then you won't need greyhounds or other laughable means to stop maoists. maoists are like skin disease parasites - they will thrive only when the body is weak. Do some yoga and tone up the muscles - all these diseases will be gone.
Kati you hit the nail on its head. For one I have seen a lot of Bharat and have grown up in Bharat rather then "India".. So lets have a healthy debate on the same offline. :)

My problem with the Nax is their means of achieving their goals. Violence of any type against people is and cannot be justified whatever be the end objective.

The Nax are against any form of Government other then their own [which by the way is not democratically elected. As a matter of fact the first few stages of the revolution don't have a place for a democratically elected government] and would typically kill all the Honest Babus because they will start eroding their mass base.

The Coomi and the Nax movement has a huge number of turncoats and people of double standards just as in the case of the mainstream political parties [and yes count the business men or the Indian Oligarchs in the list].

My post was not meant to target a particular set of Chacha's from one state but rather reopening the files from the bygone era to recheck the current activities of previous commie supporters.

Communism is a real threat as long as they are not ready to join the mainstream and give up the right to take up arms.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Let the brainwashing and 're-education' by commies begin.
Nehru's last will and testament changed in Kerala texts by CPI-M
New Delhi | July 07, 2008 2:35:06 PM IST

He didn't believe in "religions ceremony", to be forced to do so, he said, would be a "hipocracy"... those are, according to a textbook for government schools in Kerala, the words of India's Cambridge and Harrow educated Jawaharlal Nehru.

The 'Last Will and Testament' of India's first prime minister, a lawyer by profession, was in elegant English and stated simply: "I wish to declare with all earnestness that I do not want any religious ceremonies performed for me after my death. I do not believe in such ceremonies, and to submit to them, even as a matter of form, would be hypocrisy and an attempt to delude ourselves and others."

However, in the Class 7 Social Science textbook for schools following the syllabus set by the ruling Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) the words have been mangled.

It now reads: "I do sincerely desire to declare that no religions ceremony be performed for me after my death. I do not believe in any such ceremonies. To be forced to do them even as a formality is hipocracy and an attempt to scare us and others."

While narrating the story of Marxist veteran A.K. Gopalan, the book states: "The roof was not thatched for the last years and so it was not friendly with the wall. The family mix the previous day's left over cooked rice with the rice soup they got form the landlord's house and ate."

Besides, there are other bloomers like "wills and fancies" instead of "whims and fancies".

The issue of the textbook has snowballed into a major controversy with religious leaders and the opposition alleging that the government was trying to propagate Communist theory by trying to introduce atheism, materialism and anti-religious feelings into young minds.

An adamant state government says it will not withdraw the textbooks, but will appoint an expert committee :rotfl: to examine the complaints. Persons wanting to join the committee will have to show their jhollawallas and communist party card during their interview by comrade carrot.

Ironically, the CPI-M had led a tirade against 'saffronisation' of textbooks during the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government - saffron is the colour identified with the main opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ideological parent Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS).If bjp and co are sangh parivar then cpm and co must be the dung parivar.

A CPI-M politburo statement issued on Oct 8, 2002 had come down heavily on the National Council of Education Research and Training, the central government's educational organisation, for "unprofessional pedagogical approach, shoddy editing, gross inaccuracies and blatantly pro-Sangh Parivar bias of the authors and the editors".

The politburo had then also demanded: "Given the enormity of the mistakes, the new books should not be introduced until a thorough public review by an expert body has been undertaken."
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Two maoists killed in Gadchiroli
Nagpur | Monday, Jul 7 2008 IST

Two maoists were killed in an encounter with the police in Gadchiroli district in Vidarbha region of Maharashtra today.

According to police, the maoists, who have not been identified yet, were killed in an exchange of fire in the forests near village Shitatola this afternoon.

The encounter took place when a patrol squad was carrying out combing operation in the area, when a group of maoists, lying in wait, opened indiscriminate fire on the police party, who returned the fire, police said.

The exchange of five lasted for about 45 minutes, after which the maoists were forced back deeper into the jungle, police added.

The police later recovered the bodies of two maoists, who had been killed in the exchange, besides a large quantum of arms, ammunition and articles of daily use.

The amount of blood on the spot indicated that at least four or five more maoists were either killed or injured in the encounter.

A policeman was injured in the firing and has been admitted to hospital in Gadchiroli, they added.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Plight of Naxal victims' families
Bijapur (Chhatisgarh) | July 07, 2008 6:11:47 PM IST

Naxal violence has claimed the lives of many persons, security forces personnel, policemen and innocent villagers caught in the cross fire in Chattisgarh, Jharkhand and Orissa.

While there is spotlight on the violent incidents and the victims, hardly any attention is paid to the families of the victims of Naxal violence, except for a short while when the Government announces some compensation.

The violence indulged in by the Naxals kills not just the individuals. In addition, it ruins the entire family: parents, widows and children.

Recently, two residents-- Bhaman and Huma-- of Kotarpal Village in Chattisgarh's Bijapur district fell vicitim to Naxals' bullets.

Huma and his father-in-law Bhaman were on their way to their working place when they became targets of Naxals.

Both were the breadwinners of their respective families.

"My father used to run our home and was the breadwinner for us. Now we have nobody to seek help. We are facing a lot of trouble. We have got no help from the government. Police do came here to investigate but nobody else except them came thereafter," said Balo, Huma's daughter.

The family has taken refuge at the transit camp set up by the government authorities for the victims of Naxal violence.

Under the rehabilitation scheme, the families at the transit camps are given Rs.12,000 for building a house . For monthly rations, each family here gets 35 kilograms of rice at rupees three per kilogram.

Most of the residents of Kotarpal Village have been forced to desert their homes by Naxals. They are left to fend for themselves in transit camps.

"The Naxalites had troubled us. That's why we fled our village and came here. We are afraid of returning back to our village. The conditions at the camp aren't good at all. We can't go out. All of us are scared. We don't get proper food. We received 12,000 rupees two years back to construct our homes after that we haven't got anything," said Mangal Ram, a neighbour of Bhaman.

The Government can set up camps, give food, but it does not 'rehabilitate' the victims' families. The victims need to be members of families. They want to belong. But they can't.

It is impossible for the Naxalites to understand their plight. For the Naxals do not believe in families, in humanity. Who will teach them its worth?
Mihir

Post by Mihir »

Red Out - Shiv Aroor
It comes as true joy to me – and I suspect all Indians who love their country – that our Left parties have finally shed their political cowardice, and relieved the UPA government of their uninspiring, obtuse, regressive and deeply duplicitous presence. I for one truly hope, for the sake of our country, that the Left parties have had their first and final taste of political power at the Centre – and are ejected by their scruffs when the General Elections come. India has seen audacious and deeply vindictive dispensations, but never once has it seen a political collective so wilfully hypocritical, so hopelessly outdated in its world view, and so untrusting of the fabric of Indian foreign policy, as that motley bunch we call the Left....

....An Army major with the Korea Brigade at Tawang (Arunachal Pradesh) in 2006 said to me, “If the Chinese invade India, I think our Karats and Yechuries would be the happiest. They will just take a plane, land in Beijing and take new citizenship. They do not care one bit about this country, only about their so-called ideology.”

The Commies can shroud themselves in sanctimonious, smug rhetoric – the kind that says, we know what’s good, and you’re all villains – will hopefully die now, and be but a stain on India’s parliamentary history. I’ve spent a week in Nandigram, and have seen the carnage, rhetoric and insincerity straight-up. No disguises. I hope today begins the process of purging of the red. For our country's sake.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Union Home Secretary to convene anti-Naxal meeting today
Wed, Jul 16 10:05 AM

New Delhi : Union Home Secretary Madhukar Gupta has called a special meeting of senior officials and police chiefs of four severely Naxalite affected states here today, the focus of which will be how to counter the growing Maoist menace.

Police chiefs and senior officials of Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Orissa and Andhra Pradesh, which together accounts for over 80 per cent of Naxal violence in the country, are expected to discuss current efforts on the security front to deal with Naxalism.

The meeting will be followed by another meeting at the Cabinet Secretary level where these states will be asked to implement Central Government's scheme in a time bound manner.

The meeting has been called in the wake of the killing of Jharkhand's former Welfare Minister Ramesh Singh Munda and over 50 personnel of the elite "Greyhound" anti-Naxal force in Orissa.

This force was created by the Andhra Pradesh Government to deal with the Naxal menace in the state and in other parts of the country.

The Central Government also plans to fine tune a proposal to create a specialised security force of 10,000 people before submitting it to the Union Cabinet for approval.

Since it will take at least two years to raise the special force of 10 battalions, Home Ministry sources said that the Central Reserve Police Force has been asked to provide two battalions (nearly 2,000 personnel) to take up anti-Naxalite operation across various states.

They strike once again! At this rate there is no point talking about external security, our pest infestation inside has gone extreme. Fumigation needed.

24 Cops killed in Malkangiri, Orissa by Maoists.

http://www.deccan.com/
Jaeger

Blasts in Jharkhand

Post by Jaeger »

Blast in Jharkhand

What is happening?
Jaeger

Re: Blasts in Jharkhand

Post by Jaeger »

Seems 5-6 people injured, blast happened at a bus stand. Checking TV for further details.

... this is our friendly neighborhood Maoists in action, onlee.

Five policemen killed as Maoists trigger landmine blast in Jharkhand
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

And the friendly neighbourhood dragon with 1% burns onlee
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Maoist pig held, arms seized
Tirthahalli : In a prize catch, the police arrested a naxal and seized huge arms and ammunition at Durvasapura village in Shimoga district on Tuesday.

IGP East Range Satyanarayana Rao told reporters that Krishna (28), resident of Koranakote village of Hosanagar taluk, had joined naxal squad two years ago and was part of the Maoist group which had torched a KSRTC bus at Gubbiga-Tallurangadi near Agumbe last year. The arrested was an active member of Tunga and Bhadra squads of the naxals.

Based on the information, police seized huge cache of arms and ammunition which was dumped in forest near Potlur of Belthangady taluk and Tingalamakki of Karkala taluk. The seizure included 2,076 rounds of ammunition, 113 detonators, five explosives, four used cartridges, 2 .303 rifle butts, and a .303 rifle, grenade, walkie talkie, camera flash, printer, polythene tents, pamphlets and books. He told the police at least 30 naxals are active in Tirthahalli region.

Special police training institute to combat Maoist pigs
Bangalore : Home Minister V S Acharya on Wednesday announced in the Council that the government proposed to set up a special police training institute at Kudremukh to combat the naxal menace in the Malnad region.

Intervening in the discussion on budget proposals, Dr Acharya said already one round of discussion had been held with the officials in this regard. “The government proposes to set up the Institute to give a proper protection to the people in the districts of Chikmagalur, Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Kodagu and parts of Mysore,” he said.
RETIRED MILITARY MEN TO TRAIN COPS
Bangalore : The state government is contemplating to utilise the services of retired military personnel to train police and youth to combat terrorism.

Replying to the budget discussions in the Legislative Assembly, Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa said there was an urgent need to strengthen the police department in the wake of increasing threat from terrorists.

He said the recent blasts in Bangalore had sent shock waves across the world. Modern gadgets, weapons and vehicles will be provided to the police department and an additional grant of Rs 25 crore had been sanctioned for this purpose, he said.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

Good news and bad news.

Surjeet is dead but Arjun is recovering

http://www.hinduonnet.com/holnus/002200808011140.htm
Amitayus

Post by Amitayus »

Suppiah wrote:Good news and bad news.

I think this kind of tongue-in-cheek comment is uncalled for and is in extremely bad taste. Even if in case of political difference, rejoicing at the death of a person who incidentally was a follower of Bhagat Singh and a veteran freedom fighter only indicates the bankruptcy of thoughts. We are still living in a democracy where some minimum respects need to paid to political opponents.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Amitayus wrote:
Suppiah wrote:Good news and bad news.

I think this kind of tongue-in-cheek comment is uncalled for and is in extremely bad taste. Even if in case of political difference, rejoicing at the death of a person who incidentally was a follower of Bhagat Singh and a veteran freedom fighter only indicates the bankruptcy of thoughts. We are still living in a democracy where some minimum respects need to paid to political opponents.
Bhagat singh gave his life for the indians while surjeet and his communist party killed indians in the nandigram genocide. There can be no sympathy for a hitler's clone atleast on this forum. it is another matter that nazi and commie forum like saja will be mourning his death.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

Stalinists, Chinese puppets, traitors, and their cheerleaders and commanders are long dead as human beings when they embrace the ideology of mass murderers and rapist goons. They show little respect for humanity, human rights and human values. Treat them as they treat you.

http://hindusamhati.blogspot.com/2008/0 ... nk-of.html

Another outrage in Bengal - Hindu Monk of Ramakrishna Order stripped and beaten mercilessly for Ashram land.

My Comments: Do have a look at the pictures given in the link.

Rahul M wrote:http://hindusamhati.blogspot.com/2008/0 ... nk-of.html

Another outrage in Bengal - Hindu Monk of Ramakrishna Order stripped and beaten mercilessly for Ashram land.

My Comments: Do have a look at the pictures given in the link.
:(
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

IAF may take part in anti-Naxal ops
8 Aug 2008, 0321 hrs IST,TNN

Air Chief Marshal F H Major
NEW DELHI: It’s for the government to decide whether it wants to use airpower in the ongoing counter-insurgency and anti-naxal operations in the country, IAF chief Air Chief Marshal F H Major said on Thursday.

‘‘Every balanced air force in the world has the capability to handle the entire spectrum of conflict, ranging from low-intensity to high-intensity,’’ said ACM Major.

But, he added, the decision to use airpower against asymmetric warfare, insurgency or terrorism within the country ‘‘has to be a very cautious and deliberate one’’, which was strictly a decision for the government to make.

‘‘If the government so directs, we are ready for it. Airpower, after all, can be used very effectively,’’ said the IAF chief. Unlike before, when the use of airpower could lead to ‘‘collateral damage’’, IAF now had the capability to ‘‘put a missile through a window,’’ he said.

The IAF does deploy helicopters, transport aircraft and UAVs (unmanned aerial vehicles) to aid the Army and paramilitary forces during operations against militants or naxalites but their use has been largely restricted for logistical and surveillance duties till now.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Indi ... 339609.cms
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

The pogrom conducted by communists against farmers in west bengal continues.
it is more than a year now and the commie scums are not stoppping the killings. shame on the dhimmi national media for keeping silent on this issue and being hand in glove with commies on this.

17 people injured in Nandigram clash
Nandigram, Aug 12: Seventeen persons were injured, some critically, as fresh trouble flared up in the villages of embattled Nandigram this morning.

Police said the injured included 15 Trinamool Congress activists, all of whom were rushed to a primary health clinic at Jonka.

The condition of persons having gunshot wounds, was stated to be serious.
Seven persons were injured in an armed clash in the area last night.

Meanwhile, Bhumi Ucched Pratirodh Committee (BUPC) held a protest demonstration in front of Nandigram police station and demanded that the police immediately seize firearms from CPI(M) cadre in the trouble-torn areas.

The BUPC also demanded that the police should play an impartial role in Nandigram and should withdraw all "false" cases lodged against BUPC leaders for the murder of CPI(M) leader Niranjan Mondal on August 8.