Bangladesh News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Bangladesh News and Discussion

https://twitter.com/i/status/774872822233591808
Don't know how old this video is
Similar video posted on a FB group!
Are these the reason for the purported meeting and things getting out of hand resulting in shooting?? Just a pooch

https://twitter.com/i/status/1185091133556215808
This one though disturbing appears to be more humane on the animal than the earlier video
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

https://www.rediff.com/news/report/misu ... 191019.htm
Rediff.com » News » Misunderstanding led to BSF jawan's killing: B'desh HM
Misunderstanding led to BSF jawan's killing: B'desh HM
October 19, 2019 14:28 IST

Exuding confidence that the recent killing of a Border Security Force jawan by a Bangladeshi border guard won't have an impact on bilateral ties, the neighbouring country's home minister Asaduzzaman Khan said on Saturday he would talk to his Indian counterpart Amit Shah, if needed, to "defuse the situation".

IMAGE: Border Security Force personnel carry the body head constable Vijay Bhan Singh who was killed after a Border Guard Bangladesh soldier fired at him during a flag meeting. Photograph: PTI Photo

Khan also stated that an Indian fisherman, who was arrested on Thursday for trespassing into Bangladesh waters, will be released, in accordance with the norms.

Noting that a "misunderstanding between the forces" led to the killing of BSF head constable Vijay Bhan Singh, Khan said, "Steps would be taken to ensure that such incidents don't recur. If needed, I will talk to Amit Shah to diffuse the situation."

A Bangladeshi border guard fired from his AK-47 rifle during a 'flag meeting' along the border in West Bengal, killing Bhan Singh and injuring another jawan, Rajvir Yadav.

A BSF statement said the incident took place in Murshidabad district around 9 am when a force party approached Border Guard Bangladesh troops, standing at a "char" or a riverine in the middle of the Padma river, to resolve an issue linked to Indian fishermen.

The BGB personnel had held three Indian fishermen who were allowed by the BSF to fish within the International Border, but let go of two later.

Shortly after, a BGB jawan identified as Sayed fired from behind, killing Bhan Singh.
There you go, just a misunderstanding, hope this satisfies his unit and family.

Karthik S wrote:
Not sure what kind of chanakyan statement you are making, bd awam is anti india and anti hindu. Just because present leader appears friendly to India doesn't mean we can turn blind eye to killing of our security forces.
we should not be fooled just because present leader appears friendly to India. This is plain taqiya and nothing else. The beedis have always hated India and that's perfectly OK because they are more of a nuisance than anything else but when they cross the Indian border, it becomes a huge national security issue as well as an economic problem for us.

what is not ok is sneaking into India, taking Indian jobs, sending Indian money back home by hawala channels and scrounging off the Indian taxpayer's money.
Sir. Agree. But once cannot choose neighbour's. Speaking from second hand reports the current government is doing a fabulous job. If you have contacts in BD you can check. It's not going to be a smooth ride but at least things are not at a dead end.

Why Orange Hair Is Everywhere In Bangladesh
"Putting henna on has become a fashion choice in recent years for elder men," confirms Didarul Dipu, head fashion journalist at Canvas magazine.

"The powder is easily found in neighbourhood stores and easy to put on," he adds.

But the quest for youth is not the only reason why more and more Dhaka barbers are adding beard and hair colouring to their services.

Top imams also increasingly use henna powder colour in what experts say is a move to prove their Muslim credentials as some religious texts say the prophet Mohammed dyed his hair.

In Bangladesh most of the population of 168 million is Muslim.

"I heard from clerics that the prophet Mohammed used henna on his beard. I am just following," says Dhaka resident Abu Taher.
According to Dhaka University sociology professor Monirul Islam Khan, the growing number of henna beards "is a sign of increasing Muslim fervour in Bangladeshi society."

But, he adds, even those who are not strict followers do it.

He explains: "They want to look younger. Even the women are getting fond of it as it makes their hair glitter."

Former Bangladeshi military captain, convicted for killing Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, arrested.

A former Bangladeshi military captain, who was convicted for killing the country’s founder Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, was arrested by the police in Dhaka on Tuesday.

Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal confirmed ex-captain Abdul Majed’s arrest and said he had been sent to court to “exhaust legal options”.Majed was one of the six absconding ex-Army officers who were handed down capital punishment after their trial in absentia.

Minister Kamal said previous reports indicated Majed was hiding in India(Congress eco-system) and he was arrested from Dhaka upon his return. The minister said Majed, a self-confessed killer, was not only involved in Bangabandhu’s killing on August 15, 1975, at his private Dhanmandi residence but was also involved in the subsequent murder of four national leaders in high-security Dhaka Central Jail on November 3 in 1975.

Majed’s predawn arrest was led by the Counter-Terrorism and Transnational Crime (CTTC) unit of the police in Mirpur based on a tip-off.“Majed was near a shrine in Mirpur when policemen arrested him,” an official said.

After the arrest, a magistrate court sent the sacked Army captain to jail. Majed appeared in Old Dhaka Court Complex wearing white pyjama and pants. He was handcuffed with a bulletproof police jacket and helmet. “Majed was brought to the court at around 12.15 pm. Dhaka Metropolitan Magistrate A M Zulfikar Hayat passed his order at 12.55 pm asking the police to send him to jail,” a police officer said.

Assistant Public Prosecutor Hemayet Uddin said Majed told the court that he was hiding in India and returned home recently.(Doubtful anybody would willingly return to face certain death by hanging. This looks like BJP administration finding and handing over the fugitive to Bangladesh)

Majed was not allowed to give any statement as according to the law convicts do not have the right to do so at this stage of legal proceedings.Legal experts said a report on his arrest would now be sent to the Dhaka District Judge’s Court, which originally tried the killers of Bangabandhu.

“The stipulated time for appeal against death penalty expired long ago. Majed now can just seek Presidential mercy unless the Supreme Court decides to consider any plea on his part,” a Supreme Court lawyer said.

Twelve ex-military officers were sentenced to death for the August 15, 1975 killing of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman along with most of his family members and five of them were executed in 2010 while one died of natural causes.

The five were hanged at Dhaka Central Jail on January 28, 2010, after the protracted legal procedure. The trial process began in 1996 when an indemnity law was scrapped as it was protecting the assassins.

The hanged lieutenant colonels were Syed Farooq Rahman, Sultan Shahriar Rashid Khan, AKM Mohiuddin Ahmed and Mohiuddin Ahmed and sacked Major Bazlul Huda, while sacked Colonel Rashed Pasha died of natural causes in Zimbabwe while on the run.

Farooq Rahman, Shahriar Rashid Khan, Mohiuddin Ahmed of the Artillery faced trial in the judge’s court in person.Huda was extradited from Thailand and Lancer Mohiuddin was sent back from the United States after the then district judge Golam Rasul delivered the judgment.

Majed was one of the remaining fugitives believed to be hiding abroad with no confirmed whereabouts.

The fugitives include key mastermind of the August 15, 1975 coup ex-lieutenant Colonel Abdur Rashid.

After the August 15, 1975 carnage, Majed was rehabilitated in civil service during the subsequent regime of former military dictator-turned politician Ziaur Rahman as an ex-cadre official and posted as the director of National Savings Department.

He fled the country while serving later in the finance ministry along with most of the other 1975 coup plotters as the 1996 general elections brought Awami League back to power which vowed bring justice to the killers of Bangabandhu.

^^^^^^^

certainly, he was captured and taken from kolkata and the only ones who can do that are the Indian intelligence agencies.

The GoI is simply returning the favor for the help given them from across the border by the beedis.

Bangladesh: Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s killer Abdul Majed Arrested In Dhaka, Claims He Was Hiding In Kolkata For 23 Years https://swarajyamag.com/insta/banglades ... r-23-years via @swarajyamag

Bangladeshi newspapers speculate that Majed was in Kolkata for decades. He was in touch with his family all this time. He was found in a rickshaw in Dhaka and his speech was disjointed. So, it is quite probable that Indian intelligence delivered him to Bangladeshi authorities, perhaps as a payment for services done. Currently he has put in a mercy petition to the president.

g.sarkar wrote:Bangladeshi newspapers speculate that Majed was in Kolkata for decades. He was in touch with his family all this time. He was found in a rickshaw in Dhaka and his speech was disjointed. So, it is quite probable that Indian intelligence delivered him to Bangladeshi authorities, perhaps as a payment for services done. Currently he has put in a mercy petition to the president.
this joker has now met his fate at the end of a rope.

good riddance.

pity that they wasted a new N95 mask on this criminal

just see how quickly the wheels move in other countries, in direct contrast as to how they would have moved if this had happened in India, especially with a jehadi.

The case would have lingered on for many long decades with the joker being fed biryani every day at state cost oops tax payer's cost:mrgreen:

the just sleep of the milaards would have been disturbed in the middle of the night and that too on numerous occasions.

Bangabandhu’s killer Majed hanged
Abdul Majed, one of the convicts in the killing of Bangladesh’s founding father Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, has been executed at the Dhaka Central Jail.

“The convict was hanged at 12:01am Sunday,” Inspector General (Prisons) Brigadier General AKM Mustafa Kamal Pasha said.
Last edited by chetak on 12 Apr 2020 11:22, edited 1 time in total.

https://www.dhakatribune.com/bangladesh ... jed-hanged
Bangabandhu’s killer Majed hanged
Arifur Rahman Rabbi and Hasan Al Javed, April 12th, 2020

A fugitive for over 20 years, Majed was arrested on Tuesday Abdul Majed, one of the convicts in the killing of Bangladesh’s founding father Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, has been executed at the Dhaka Central Jail.
“The convict was hanged at 12:01am Sunday,” Inspector General (Prisons) Brigadier General AKM Mustafa Kamal Pasha said. He said other concerned officials including a magistrate, police representatives witnessed the execution as required by the law."This was the first case of the execution since Dhaka Central Jail was relocated in Keraniganj," he added. Defying the coronavirus restriction, a number of people emerged in front of the jail at midnight. Earlier, the prison authorities called Majed’s wife for a final visit as per the last wish of the death-row convict. His body will be taken to Bhola for burial today although two MPs, including a former Chhatra League leader from Bhola have said they will not let that happen in their district.
After the execution, Law Minister Anisul Huq told the Dhaka Tribune: “We have pledged to the people that we will make sure the judgement that has been delivered by all the courts of the country, will be properly implemented and executed and I think for the 6th one we have been able to do it and we will continue till we have completed the implementation of the judgement.”
There are five other killers of Bangabandhu and his family who are on the run. Earlier on Friday, four family members, that did not include the convict’s wife, met him at prison.
Majed’s death sentence was executed within four days after President Abdul Hamid turned down his clemency plea on Wednesday.
The same day, the Dhaka District and Sessions Judge’s court issued the death warrant for Majed, who was arrested in Dhaka on April 7.

A good friend of mine, and a close confidant of the neighboring country's head once chided me saying (in so many words in bong) -
"You guys (i.e., Bharat) spend too much time with the Jihadis, giving them the legal help, and thereby wasting years after years.
On the other hand, we don't waste time; we execute them in the earliest opportunity..... no need to give them all the legal due course...." :idea:

Kati wrote:A good friend of mine, and a close confidant of the neighboring country's head once chided me saying (in so many words in bong) -
"You guys (i.e., Bharat) spend too much time with the Jihadis, giving them the legal help, and thereby wasting years after years.
On the other hand, we don't waste time; we execute them in the earliest opportunity..... no need to give them all the legal due course...." :idea:
How long did it take to hang this guy, from the time Mujib was murdered? How many assassins were given jobs in Indian embassies? How many coups did the Indian Military commit? How many president's family did the Indian army murder? Bangladeshis tend to forget the time their coup leaders were financed by Col. Gaddafi.
Yes, we have a different system. There is no question about it. And we do not need to learn anything from Bangladesh regarding enforcing our laws.

g.sarkar wrote:
Kati wrote:A good friend of mine, and a close confidant of the neighboring country's head once chided me saying (in so many words in bong) -
How long did it take to hang this guy, from the time Mujib was murdered? How many assassins were given jobs in Indian embassies? How many coups did the Indian Military commit? How many president's family did the Indian army murder? Bangladeshis tend to forget the time their coup leaders were financed by Col. Gaddafi.
Yes, we have a different system. There is no question about it. And we do not need to learn anything from Bangladesh regarding enforcing our laws.
Sure, we don't have to imitate them, or hang someone in a week (actually these guys were convicted and sentenced in absentia so it was just the execution that was carried out in a week), but surely we can do better than give Kasab or Delhi gangrape type accused 7 years of wasting everybody's time and a lot of publicity, before they are executed? Process should wind up in max 6 months or a year, which is more than enough time for a fair trial and process to complete.

A trial and death sentence in absentia is considered a violation of natural justice. Actually carrying out a death warrant and denying an appeal on the basis that time had expired is not something that would occur in most countries. The convict would normally be given a hearing and at least a chance to challenge the verdict and sentence by an appeal court once in custody.

https://history.state.gov/historicaldoc ... 76ve08/d42
SECRETARY KISSINGER: Let's talk about Bangladesh.

MR. ATHERTON: Well, it was a remarkably well-planned and executed coup for Bangladesh.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: What does that mean? Is Mujibur alive or dead?

MR. ATHERTON: Mujibur is dead; his immediate clique, which was largely family, nephews, brothers.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: I get good advice from INR.

MR. HYLAND: He wasn't dead when I talked to you.

[Page 3]
SECRETARY KISSINGER: Really? Did they kill him after some period?

MR. ATHERTON: As far as we know — I can't say we have got all the details. But the indications are that the plan was to kill him. And they simply surrounded his palace and went in and killed him. That is as far as we know now.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: Didn't we tell him that last year?

MR. ATHERTON: In March we had lots of indications—

SECRETARY KISSINGER: Didn't we tell him about it?

MR. ATHERTON: We told him at the time.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: Didn't we tell him who it was going to be, roughly?

MR. ATHERTON: I will have to check whether we gave him the names.

MR. HYLAND: We were a little imprecise on that.

MR. ATHERTON: He brushed it off, scoffed at it, said nobody would do a thing like that to him.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: He was one of the world's prize fools.

MR. ATHERTON: But it seems that the coup leaders are in complete control.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: Who are they?

[Page 4]
MR. ATHERTON: They are military officers, middle and senior officers, who are generally considered less pro-Indian than the past leadership; pro-U.S., anti-Soviet.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: Absolutely inevitable.

MR. ATHERTON: Islamic. They have changed the name to the Islamic Republic —

SECRETARY KISSINGER: That they would be pro-U.S. was not inevitable. In fact, I would have thought at some turn of the wheel they were going to become pro-Chinese, and anti-Indian I firmly expected. I always knew India would rue the day that they made Bangladesh independent. I predicted that since '71.

MR. ATHERTON: I think our biggest problem is going to be to avoid too close an embrace.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: Why — because they are friendly to us?

MR. ATHERTON: I think they are going to want us to come in with promises.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: The principle being we only embrace on the sub-continent those who oppose us. What is the principle?

MR. ATHERTON: I think our principle ought to be we are giving about all the aid we can really give or Bangladesh [Page 5]can really absorb.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: Before we implement it, let's check that. I know we can't do a huge increase in aid. But I think if people who think they are pro-U.S. come to us and then get a technical lecture that unfortunately we can't do any more — there must be some maneuvering we can do on food aid and some token increase in aid.

MR. ENDERS: We can do a little more on food aid.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: I would like them to get it, if they are indeed what you say they are, which I don't know.

MR. ATHERTON: These are all the initial indications.

SECRETARY KISSINGER: Then they ought to get a friendly reception.

Gerard wrote:A trial and death sentence in absentia is considered a violation of natural justice. Actually carrying out a death warrant and denying an appeal on the basis that time had expired is not something that would occur in most countries. The convict would normally be given a hearing and at least a chance to challenge the verdict and sentence by an appeal court once in custody.
"justice" and "natural justice" seem to have very different definitions in "islamic republics", as well as, with jehadi muslims the world over. Even in europe, uk and many other so called first world countries, some infected jehadi muslims are spitting on non muslims

In India, a chinese virus positive muslim tablighi willfully spitting on many Hindu policemen seems to be a mere spectator sport with demented commies, naxals and liberandus widely justifying it as the fault of the police for harassing muslims.

In saudi, a man who spat on some shopping carts in a mall may well get himself a death sentence

https://www.moneycontrol.com/news/world ... 07801.html

g.sarkar wrote:
Sir, my friend was talking about the current dispensation in the neighboring country, and our conversation took place in the capital city while he was giving me a ride at Dhanmundi. He also clearly said (translation from bong) - "our country is surviving on two true friends - you (India) and Russia."
Prithwiraj

Post by Prithwiraj »

I thought they swore by China.

Prithwiraj wrote:I thought they swore by China.
they do.

just like the pakis.

with India it is taqiya.

If they don't do this they stand to lose many things.

If the now porus India beedi border closes up, the beedis will strangle slowly

Kati wrote: Sir, my friend was talking about the current dispensation in the neighboring country, and our conversation took place in the capital city while he was giving me a ride at Dhanmundi. He also clearly said (translation from bong) - "our country is surviving on two true friends - you (India) and Russia."
Sirji, if you really care to know about the friendliness of Bangladeshis, read their news papers in Bengali, meant for local consumption. Then talk to Hindus that are living there. Bangladeshi newspapers are easily available on line, and they spew hate towards India. Though more recently Myanmar bears the brunt of it. Even the Bangladeshis that are close to me deny that there is a sizable illegal Bangladeshi population living in India.

Bangladesh has total of 30 ventilators for a population of 130 million. So much for the european conditions these middle-class bengladeshi chauvinists keep dreaming up about. It has a long way to go even before it reaches Sri Lanka standards. Any poor person would like to escape from bangladesh to Assam or North east India even today.

There is one big plus that Bangladeshis have which is that they are willing and able to work. They are not genetic plunderers like the RAPE class. Let's give them credit for pulling themselves out a huge hole by sheer effort - whether in the textile sweatshops, or as poorly paid emigrant labour. The creation of Bangladesh is as much due to their socialist leanings which survived the saturation of Islam, and which attuned their politics to the needs of the poor, the labourers, the farmers and the fishermen. Let's pick our foes carefully, and let's try to use persuasion to bring our frenemies to our side.

habal wrote:Bangladesh has total of 30 ventilators for a population of 130 million. So much for the european conditions these middle-class bengladeshi chauvinists keep dreaming up about. It has a long way to go even before it reaches Sri Lanka standards. Any poor person would like to escape from bangladesh to Assam or North east India even today.
Middle class Bangladeshis come to India for medical treatment, as it is good and cheap compared to other countries offering them. So, they have no incentive to spend money on medical facilities.
yensoy wrote:There is one big plus that Bangladeshis have which is that they are willing and able to work. They are not genetic plunderers like the RAPE class. Let's give them credit for pulling themselves out a huge hole by sheer effort - whether in the textile sweatshops, or as poorly paid emigrant labour. The creation of Bangladesh is as much due to their socialist leanings which survived the saturation of Islam, and which attuned their politics to the needs of the poor, the labourers, the farmers and the fishermen. Let's pick our foes carefully, and let's try to use persuasion to bring our frenemies to our side.
My thoughts on this are Bangladeshi advancement is due to the absence of a war like situation with India. They are spending much less on defense, compared to Pakistan. Indian businessmen have also invested there. Pakistan could also develop much faster if it could have peace with India. But that is not possible.

g.sarkar wrote:
Kati wrote: Sir, my friend was talking about the current dispensation in the neighboring country, and our conversation took place in the capital city while he was giving me a ride at Dhanmundi. He also clearly said (translation from bong) - "our country is surviving on two true friends - you (India) and Russia."
Sirji, if you really care to know about the friendliness of Bangladeshis, read their news papers in Bengali, meant for local consumption. Then talk to Hindus that are living there. Bangladeshi newspapers are easily available on line, and they spew hate towards India. Though more recently Myanmar bears the brunt of it. Even the Bangladeshis that are close to me deny that there is a sizable illegal Bangladeshi population living in India.
Gautam ji,

Irrespective of the party in power in beediland, this has always been the state policy of the beedis towards India: the immediate and constant refrain that there is not even a single illegal beedi in India.

However, of late they have quite reluctantly got around to saying that perhaps one or two may be illegally in India.

Some of their "diplomats", when they leave India on completion of their assignments spew venom against India.

you just need to watch youtube and also note the venomous behavior of their cricket teams against India, always hatefully cheered on by the beedi public to gage the very high levels of loathing.

why do the beedis need to have their chancery in assam, if there are no beedis in India. Are there so many spurious Indian citizenship holding and false paper beedis visiting their relatives back home.

we must be realistic when dealing with such countries and not get carried away by some silly misplaced concept of "people to people" contacts.

the people, their army, their govt as indeed their very cultural ethos, all spring from the selfsame anti India, anti Hindu, religiously poisoned beedi well

The beedi border guards have, on and off, always killed our BSF personnel with impunity and we have not retaliated even once.

I could never figure out one thing: are we saving ourselves or are we saving them.
Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

habal wrote:Bangladesh has total of 30 ventilators for a population of 130 million. So much for the european conditions these middle-class bangladeshi chauvinists keep dreaming up about. It has a long way to go even before it reaches Sri Lanka standards. Any poor person would like to escape from bangladesh to Assam or North east India even today.
This number (30) looked abysmally low to me, did a little bit of googling on the subject and found this
According to Health Minister Zahid Maleque, the country has 550 ventilators and the government is in a process of procuring 380 more.
Dr Zafrullah said though there are nearly 600 ventilators in the country one-third of them are not functional. “These defective ventilators should be repaired as soon as possible.”
Source:-
https://www.researchgate.net/publicatio ... Bangladesh

But then again this article says
Hospitals across Bangladesh have fewer than 1,500 ventilators, the health minister said Monday, after rights group Save The Children pointed to a severe nationwide shortage of the machines amid the coronavirus outbreak....
Bangladesh, a nation of about 165 million people, has “slightly more than 1,475 ventilators” at all of its government-run and private hospitals, he said
Source:-
https://www.benarnews.org/english/news/ ... 50700.html

600 or 1475 (whatever correct figure it may be) ventilators for approx 17 crore population is a pathetic number :shock: :shock:
No wonder that we always see huge BeeDEE crowd at private hospitals of Kolkata, specially the ones around EM bypass (Apollo, Fortis, Medica, RN Tagore). I personally know a few guys who work as agents/ facilitators bringing patients from BD and helping them during their stay at Kolkata and thus earring some facilitation charge. It's an open secret that many private hospitals of Kolkata also give such agents a commission for bringing business (medical tourists) for them.

PS another paper with some more details.
http://m.theindependentbd.com/post/244042

quoting friend->"You guys (i.e., Bharat) spend too much time with the Jihadis, giving them the legal help, and thereby wasting years after years...
Well now we won't know where or where all else he spent years since he is hanged. Unlike paki jihadi kasab.
In saudi, a man who spat on some shopping carts in a mall may well get himself a death sentence
And there must be some law due to airborne killer virus from Wuhan China. Unless it is some religious law that doesn't apply here.

g.sarkar wrote: My thoughts on this are Bangladeshi advancement is due to the absence of a war like situation with India. They are spending much less on defense, compared to Pakistan. Indian businessmen have also invested there. Pakistan could also develop much faster if it could have peace with India. But that is not possible.
Right, and who can take credit for the absence of a war like situation? India, for sure. But also the Bangladeshi state, their politicians, military and intelligentsia who do not see themselves as the claimants to the mughal empire, do not see themselves as a reflection of un/anti indian-ness, and who have a strong sense of identity & nationhood rooted in language and culture (and yes, religion).

Pakistan always had the exact same choice.
Mollick.R wrote: No wonder that we always see huge BeeDEE crowd at private hospitals of Kolkata, specially the ones around EM bypass (Apollo, Fortis, Medica, RN Tagore). I personally know a few guys who work as agents/ facilitators bringing patients from BD and helping them during their stay at Kolkata and thus earring some facilitation charge.
Why only Kolkata? BD patients are seen in Chennai in large numbers. Fact is that BD is the biggest source of tourists to India, and many of them are medical tourists. And it earns us valuable Forex. So let's not look a gift horse in the mouth.

A dated article but still, there it is, warts and all about the entitledness of their islamic republic and yet somehow, and very conveniently too, the beedi media fails to mention the horrendous ill treatment of beedi Hindus at the hands of the local muslims that goes on fairly regularly.

beedi "intellectuals" see India as their lebensraum and for long have pushed this devious and depraved point of view thus further fuelling the sense of entitlement among the beedi masses and their unabated illegal economic migration to India.

Dominant in every media piece is the underlying concern of what a Modi government might do to Bangladesh.

SREELATA MENON
07/06/2014

SREELATA MENON looks at what their newspapers are saying.

1971 may have brought Bangladesh her independence. However, the political maturity and acumen that necessarily go with the nurturing of a newborn nation were soon found wanting. Having given the principles of Democracy the go-by, more often than not in the 40-odd years since, Bangladesh is still struggling to come to terms with her devastatingly violent past.

The run up to her last elections – even without the Shahbagh showdown- was extremely disturbing and even today, the Opposition leaders continue to spew venom and speak of sacrificing lives while threatening to topple any which way the elected governments.

And caught in a time warp, Bangladesh’s mainstream media tries hard to change the discourse but past affiliations and present compulsions make it more ineffectual than otherwise. The social media on the other hand, energised by the youth of the country, is vocal, more aggressive and determined to make a stand for what it believes is Bangladesh’s rightful place in the sun. And yes India also figures hugely in that dialogue. For despite the fact that it was India who helped them become a free nation, she is surprisingly still viewed with suspicion and resentment. India, it is believed, has also a tendency to take unfair advantage of Bangladesh giving her nothing in return. So if tweets are an indication and media reports an index, what does seem like regular killings on the border, the non-signing of the Teesta agreement and the often expressed Indian indignation at the ‘illegal’ influx of Bangladeshis have only encouraged this fixation.

Thus, a Bangladeshi on an average does not quite like India. You can sense it in the air and you can see it in the media. Yet they appear resentfully fixated on most things Indian. It is no less so with the recently concluded Indian elections. The results of which made the front pages in huge fonts. The media coverage in the run up to and after the elections has also been tremendous. Endless editorials and opinions have surfaced ad nauseam these last few months on ‘the way forward for India’ or ‘what might be the pros and cons of a BJP government as against a Congress one’, especially in the Bangladeshi context.

Not restricted to the Indian media alone, is that constant obsession with Modi’s track record vis-a-vis Godhra and its aftermath. Qualifying Modi’s credentials for India’s top post, almost all media pieces have unfailingly highlighted it. And again thanks to Modi’s campaign rhetoric which has had everyone -not just in Bangladesh- but the world over worried, some experts have sought to give a definite communal cum religious slant too, to his/her opinion. Ms Sharbari Ahmed a Bangladeshi US resident who writes regularly for The Daily Star went as far as to say that the Indians by voting for Modi could well be embracing a serpent to their breast!

But what is most certainly agitating the local intelligentsia is, whether Modi will translate into actual fact, on religious grounds, his various statements on Bangladeshi infiltrators. A fear again and again expressed by many, including well known writer ‘Chintito’ known usually for his tongue-in-cheek pieces. Thus, dominant in every media piece is the underlying concern of what a Modi government might do to Bangladesh. These fears could well have been fuelled and compounded by a spate of articles before and after by various India-based intellectuals like Praful Bidwai and others who write regularly for the Bangladeshi media. They make no bones about their distrust of Modi or the inefficacy of the previous government and have no qualms about displaying their apprehensions to the world at large.

The other bone of contention that has everyone in Bangladesh believing that India, rightly or wrongly, has played dirty is the Teesta water-sharing agreement-a problem that first surfaced as early as 1952. As per the UN Convention, the Teesta is an international river and thus needs to be shared by the countries it flows through. Originating in India, it is one among fifty-four rivers common to India and Bangladesh and India controls its flow. Its waters are vital to Bangladesh as it irrigates large tracts of her rice producing areas as well. As per an earlier ad hoc agreement (1983), India was granted 39% and Bangladesh 36% of the Teesta waters. It was to be reviewed later and since Bangladesh’s need was dire, a more even distribution of the Teesta waters, it was believed, was required and agreed to in principle. So in the subsequent -yet to be signed-agreement it is presumably to be shared equally and more equitably. Something apparently objected to by Mamata Banerjee, her contention being that the increased volume to Bangladesh would cause West Bengal problems. Hence it hasn’t been ratified till now.

So, the fact that the promised Teesta water-sharing agreement is still in abeyance has kept the country constantly pre-occupied before, during and after the Indian elections.

Fifteen days after the results and the swearing-in of Modi, though the editorial by M Serajajul Islam, in one of the main newspapers The Independent, still harped on a ‘BJP victory and Indian secularism’ by declaring that ‘the veneer of secularism was no longer able to resist the push of Hindu Fundamentalism’, you have a rather refreshingly different article by Syed Badrul Ahsan of The Daily Star who applauds India’s democratic process. And there was another comparative piece, by Ziauddin Choudhury, holding up India’s functioning democracy as an example.

So, while most of the pre-elections coverage was negative and indulged typically in Modi bashing, the coverage after the elections has been by and large more positive thanks mainly to Modi’s brilliant diplomatic stunt that has everyone stumped.

Sheikh Hasina, the current Prime Minister, who is seen to be close to the former Indian government, Begum Khaleda Zia of the Opposition, who is supposedly anti India, and even the Jamaat who allegedly indulges in regular Hindu killings, have been prompt to congratulate him. And Speaker Shirin Chaudhury’s one-on-one meeting with Modi appears now to have put a positive spin on an otherwise fluctuating and wavering relationship.

And while the media in yet another editorial debated on what Modi’s foreign policy could be- on the Teesta issue appeared this hope that things under a Modi government might augur well for Bangladesh. A new government, new beginnings- already promoting a perceptive softening of stance maybe?

And finally a ray of hope for the Congress. Muhammad Zamir, former Ambassador and foreign affairs specialist, in an in-depth analysis of what might be, believes it’s too soon to write off the Congress party.

Prime Minister Modi may perhaps have hoped with his very first inclusive action and subsequent bilateral interaction, to lay the ghost of the rhetoric of his election campaign and allay lingering apprehensions, but the anxiety over the Teesta water-sharing matter is palpable; the worry over the illegal immigrant issue is evident and the nervousness of an India perhaps going ‘Hindu’ appear to be genuine concerns that are all still hanging fire.

But for the moment though, it’s a policy of wait and watch. And yes - hope.

Pakistan always had the exact same choice.
Pakis have many non convoluted choices ie part of global ummah when needed, or anti India gang member, or pro China and fourfathers (same thing) and so on.

But why isn't there much elaborated discussion on MSM since the hardliners killed leftists and this guy is just a criminal in front.

The mollycoddle of immigrants is different from one's hiding religious mob behaviour and will remain so till situations favour the immigrants. And the first ones to be hit will be leftists but wait that's what they did in Bangladesh isn't it. A problem getting bigger is not solution but what you know about leftists who may know something beyond votebank politics.
Having given the principles of Democracy the go-by, more often than not in the 40-odd years since, Bangladesh is still struggling to come to terms with her devastatingly violent past.
Meaning something related to state religion ie religious angle against democracy.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/worl ... 56216.html

yensoy wrote:
Mollick.R wrote: No wonder that we always see huge BeeDEE crowd at private hospitals of Kolkata, specially the ones around EM bypass (Apollo, Fortis, Medica, RN Tagore). I personally know a few guys who work as agents/ facilitators bringing patients from BD and helping them during their stay at Kolkata and thus earring some facilitation charge.

Why only Kolkata? BD patients are seen in Chennai in large numbers. Fact is that BD is the biggest source of tourists to India, and many of them are medical tourists. And it earns us valuable Forex. So let's not look a gift horse in the mouth.

How do you account for the foreign exchange remittance from India to beediland of approx $4.16 Billion in 2014. This is our money that was being illegally shipped out, mostly through havala channels and of course there will be some little amount of legal remittances officially transferred too.

https://www.business-standard.com/artic ... 138_1.html
Yet, recent World Bank data (Bilateral Remittance Matrix, 2014) show, of the $7.6 billion of outward remittances from India, 54 per cent or $4.16 billion was to Bangladesh alone in that year. Almost every year, 50-55 per cent of India's total outward remittances are to Bangladesh.Jan 8, 2016

Migration and remittances

Why Bangladesh leads in remittance outflow from India According to India’s 2001 census data, 5.1 million persons were reported as migrants. Nearly three million were from Bangladesh, 900,000 from Pakistan, 500,000 from Nepal and 100,000 from Sri Lanka. That’s only part of the story, for research documents indicate India is home to a large pool of undocumented migrants, especially from Bangladesh and Nepal.

Interestingly, after Bangladesh, Pakistan accounts for the second highest remittance outflow from India, at 27 per cent of the total.

Interestingly, World Bank data shows that 90 per cent of outward remittances of India are to the countries with highest migrant population, viz, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Nepal.

Another report by the International Labour Organization quotes a study by P Wickramasekara in 2011, which says migrant movements within South Asia are primarily geared towards India and Pakistan. “Although these are largely undocumented, the United Nations Population Division estimates India hosts some six million migrants (mainly from Nepal and Bangladesh)," it says

Last edited by chetak on 13 Apr 2020 13:06, edited 1 time in total.

One of the reasons of 'not ready' for corona and such black swan events (like slowing Wuhan virus lockdown effectiveness) is lethargy to deal with issues that grow bigger with religious numbers but who is gonna deal with it.might as well deal with consequences and carry label of secularism until problems grow bigger still.

chetak wrote:How do you account for the foreign exchange remittance from India to beediland of approx $4.16 Billion in 2014. This is our money that was being illegally shipped out, mostly through havala channels and of course there will be some little amount of legal remittances officially transferred too.
Yet, recent World Bank data (Bilateral Remittance Matrix, 2014) show, of the $7.6 billion of outward remittances from India, 54 per cent or $4.16 billion was to Bangladesh alone in that year. Almost every year, 50-55 per cent of India's total outward remittances are to Bangladesh.Jan 8, 2016
These numbers have been debunked multiple times. It's completely made up.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/nr ... aign=cppst
The numbers are astonishingly high considering direct remittances are highly restricted and there may not be many NRIs in Pakistan who would be sending money back home.

Reached for an explanation, Dilip Ratha, Manager, Migration and Remittances at the World Bank, said, "The reported remittances from Pakistan to India are not an actual, official data. It is an analytical estimate derived from a global estimation of bilateral remittance flows worldwide. This estimate is just that, an estimate based on logical assumptions."
Another one, from Yawn: https://www.dawn.com/news/1285479
EVER so often an absurd piece of information tends to go viral and sparks theory construction on an epic scale. Most recently there is the example of a report, hosted on the World Bank website, which uses a model based on the stock of migrants in each country and their income levels to try and generate a guess about how much they would send back in remittances to their country of origin. The model mistakenly included all migrants from India who settled in Pakistan after Independence in its calculation and came up with the figure of $4.9bn as an estimate of the remittances they would be sending back to India. Since the report was hosted on the World Bank website, people took the number seriously.

yensoy wrote:
chetak wrote:How do you account for the foreign exchange remittance from India to beediland of approx $4.16 Billion in 2014. This is our money that was being illegally shipped out, mostly through havala channels and of course there will be some little amount of legal remittances officially transferred too.
These numbers have been debunked multiple times. It's completely made up.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/nr ... aign=cppst
The numbers are astonishingly high considering direct remittances are highly restricted and there may not be many NRIs in Pakistan who would be sending money back home.

Reached for an explanation, Dilip Ratha, Manager, Migration and Remittances at the World Bank, said, "The reported remittances from Pakistan to India are not an actual, official data. It is an analytical estimate derived from a global estimation of bilateral remittance flows worldwide. This estimate is just that, an estimate based on logical assumptions."
we are talking about outward remittances from India to beediland.

you are talking about Indian NRIs in pakiland, if such an exotic bird actually does exist, the numbers may be pitifully small, too small to matter in any way or even appear on any radar

the pakis have no outward remittances to India except for some piddly amount in legal cross border trade and a large underground havala business with India for their drug smuggling related payments, fake Indian currency business and widespread terrorist funding activities, generally routed via third countries or via POK for over and under invoiced "apple" & "dry fruits" business :mrgreen:
Last edited by chetak on 13 Apr 2020 13:55, edited 1 time in total.
Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

yensoy wrote:
Saar, I just posted a fact, no problem as such, it's good to earn some dollars.

But for all those only thing I expect from BeeDees is to behave properly and keep aside their anti India/ anti Hindu , ungrateful attitude.
India has been always a good neighbour and forgiving big brother to all. BDs take it as weakness.

After we have tightened the medical visa to Pakis (though we were earning Forex through it, and it too was a form of help or facilitation to Paki citizens not any right or entitlement of them) now I hope they must have understood what it means for denial/restriction of such "Help".

Our healthcare Infra can always survive without their money.

chetak wrote:we are talking about outward remittances from India to beediland. you are talking about Indian NRIs in pakiland, if such an exotic bird actually does exist, the numbers may be pitifully small, too small to matter in any way or even appear on any radar
Those particular World Bank numbers for remittances are made up numbers, that's the point. Let's not give too much credence to them.

We certainly have our legitimate grievances with BD and illegal BD immigrants, but let's give credit where it is due. BD is no Pakistan; in fact it is the antithesis of Pakistan in many ways. But the Pakis are too TFTA to look at SDRE Banglas for lessons.

yensoy wrote:
chetak wrote:we are talking about outward remittances from India to beediland. you are talking about Indian NRIs in pakiland, if such an exotic bird actually does exist, the numbers may be pitifully small, too small to matter in any way or even appear on any radar
Those particular World Bank numbers for remittances are made up numbers, that's the point. Let's not give too much credence to them.

We certainly have our legitimate grievances with BD and illegal BD immigrants, but let's give credit where it is due. BD is no Pakistan; in fact it is the antithesis of Pakistan in many ways. But the Pakis are too TFTA to look at SDRE Banglas for lessons.
why on earth would the WB makeup remittances figures and for whose benefit

the beedis are sending money from India to beediland. There is no doubt about this fact.

The economic times are you have quoted does not mention remittances from India to beediand and this is the headline of that article

From Pak to India: $14.36 billion in remittances over 3 years!

this is patently false as any Indianschool kid will tell you. WB is not needed :mrgreen:

you forget that the toilet (times of India) paper that owns and controls the economic times has a very anti India stance.

let us assume that there are legitimate BD business in India that send back their profits from India to beediland.

there are illegal migrants who send money back to beediland

the share of moneys sent back from India by illegal beedi migrants is very much more and moreover, every illegal beedi migrant has wilfully and consciously taken away a job in India that some Indian could have done and consequently is unemployed because some beedi joker has undercut or displaced him or deprived him of a job.

towards India, the beedis are culturally as hateful and as greedily envious as the pakis but are better able to disguise it so the gullible SDREs are fooled.

migrants in the gulf are sometimes jailed/beheaded for political activities but hamare India me saab chaalta hai, the beedis have full freedom in India to riot on the streets of dilli our capital, and that too, right in the middle of trump's visit.

the paki army and the ISI are using the beedi agencies to target India through the porous beedi border. illegal migrants influencing demographics in India's border areas, drugs, fake notes, rohinghiyas and what not come flooding through and yet we will not see a paki hand or even the convenient collusion between two islamic republics both of whom have nefarious designs on India especially to choke off the chicken neck and separate assam from India.

islamic republics are the same cookie cutter versions the world over and for all of them, the words kaffir and infidel have the same common and hateful definition.

from the article, I quoted above and this is not world bank stuff
Geographical proximity, a large pool of undocumented migrant labour, porous borders, historical ties and, more recently, the increasing interest of Indian companies in Bangladesh are some of the reasons behind the trend.

At present, non-banking finance companies are not allowed to facilitate outward remittances from India to there; all the transactions must be routed through banks. However, for major global remittance companies, Bangladesh is a major market.

Promoth Manghat, chief executive officer at UAE Exchange, says: “Actual outward remittances from India are much more than any official figure.

Globally, Bangladesh is a major market for remittances for us. We are actively looking at starting remittance services from India to Bangladesh but regulations do not allow us to do so. We are in dialogue with the regulators.”
Last edited by chetak on 13 Apr 2020 16:34, edited 1 time in total.

^^^^ did you even read the linked articles I sent you? Those so-called "WB figures" were one of a dime-a-dozen internal studies which by their own admission were estimates, and there were all sorts of fallacies including attributing monies earned by a person who was born on the wrong side of undivided India as a remittance. Please put that to rest. Of course there are remittances otherwise, and probably large numbers too. Don't forget that we also have folks working legally on both sides, in addition to the illegals in India.

I prefer to focus my dislike on the folks who are most worthy of it, i.e. the Pakis. You may choose otherwise, your choice.

yensoy wrote:^^^^ did you even read the linked articles I sent you? Those so-called "WB figures" were one of a dime-a-dozen internal studies which by their own admission were estimates, and there were all sorts of fallacies including attributing monies earned by a person who was born on the wrong side of undivided India as a remittance. Please put that to rest. Of course there are remittances otherwise, and probably large numbers too. Don't forget that we also have folks working legally on both sides, in addition to the illegals in India.

I prefer to focus my dislike on the folks who are most worthy of it, i.e. the Pakis. You may choose otherwise, your choice.

a person who was born on the wrong side of undivided India

Got it now.

sorry.

seem to have touched a nerve there.

so why focus your dislike the pakis since they also fit right into your very convenient defnition.

My last on this.

g.sarkar wrote:
Duly acknowledging Sir.
B'Deshi newspapers (like Prothom Alo, Jugantar, etc) are more sane, but you have to read the readers' comments to feel the vitriol they have for Bharat.
I was referring to the feeling expressed by my friend who belongs to the inner circle of the country's head. He openly acknowledged how a powerful lobby within the ruling party plots anti-Bharat moves, and puts pressure on the head. Moreover, it is the same lobby (some of whom I met in a gathering) who actively instigated killing of the head's father. Jamaat or BNP are known enemies, but more dangerous are the hidden enemies within the ruling class who masquerade as friends. This has made the head more paranoid about the head's own personal safety. In spite of Bharat providing max possible help the head is now reaching out to 'furin' land through a close relative who is now a member of that land's parliament for alternative back-up.

abdul majed, the killer of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman who was hiding in Kolkata for over 23 years with help of Left & TMC was hanged.

Locals refused to allow majed's burial at his home town which is in the southern district of bhola

amid protests, bangabandhu's killer majed buried in Narayanganj

Hasan Al Javed
April 12th, 2020

He was buried at his in-laws' house at Sonargaon on Sunday dawn

In the face of protests, abdul majed, one of the convicts in the killing of bangabandhu sheikh mujibur fahman and his family members, has been buried in Narayanganj after his execution.

majed, a sacked bangladesh Army officer who later served in different government positions, was buried at his in-laws' home at sonargaon on Sunday dawn, majed's nephew bashir told dhaka tribune.

his body was supposed to be taken to his home district bhola for burial but local lawmakers and chhatra league leaders declared that they would not let that happen in their district.