Sri Lanka - News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Sri Lanka - News and Discussion

Retd.Maj.Gen.Ashok Mehta's statements are now being used by western propaganda as proof of "India's complicity" (!) in the deaths of 20,000 civilians.Now where on earth has that exact figure come from? 20,000 dead bodies do make a rather large pile and stink and so far we have not found anything like that number anyehere.There is no denying that a large number of civilians were caught up in the crossfire between the LTTE and the SLA,but that was mainly due to the LTTE using the civilians as human shields.Another fact.How do you distinguish a civilian from LTTE cadre in civvie clothing? During the IPKF's misadventure in SL on many occassions,IPKF suffered casualties because LTTE cadre dressed in civvie clothing ambushed our troops.There are several old stories of LTTE girls with pistols under their skirts and child soldiers up in coconut trees acting as lookouts.Already the SL forces have discovered several LTTE cadre masquerading as refugees.

Maj.Gen.Mehta's crass statements about India not doing anough to prevent ciivilian deaths shows his utter incompetence and ignorance about events in Sri Lanka,as he has never understood clearly the mind of the LTTE and its late fuhrer-the diabolical lngths to which he and they were prepared to do,killing hundreds,even thousands of their people to save the top leadership's skins.He has also not understood the mind of Pres.Rajapakse who armed with the mandate of the vast majority of Lankans was determined to defeat the LTTE come what may and never succumbed to pressure from the most powerful nations on the planet who threatened to bankrupt Sri Lanka and put its leaders up on trial.If he could resist them,does any one seriously think that he would fear the gentle chastising words from our dear PM MMS and Co.? Gen.Mehta is by espusing his cretinous qualities is exposing himself as a choice ignoramus as well as doing the IPKF and the country a great disservice.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/w ... 401557.ece

India accused of complicity in deaths of Sri Lankan Tamil Tigers
Major-General Ashok Mehta, a former commander of Indian peacekeeping forces in Sri Lanka, said that India’s role was “distressing and disturbing”.
“We were complicit in this last phase of the offensive when a great number of civilians were killed,” General Mehta, who is now retired, told The Times. “Having taken a decision to go along with the campaign, we went along with it all the way and ignored what was happening on the ground.”
Last edited by Philip on 01 Jun 2009 12:48, edited 1 time in total.

Danger to India from "hundreds" of LTTE cadre,who escaped to India.

LTTE cadres may have slipped into India

As many as 300-400 LTTE militants may have infiltrated into India in the guise of refugees fleeing Sri Lanka, intelligence agencies have warned. Sources said intelligence agencies had received reports that lower level LTTE cadres may have come in and could be among those currently being held in high security camps for screening.

Coastal states like Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Karnataka have been on high alert for some time now following the Sri Lankan military action against LTTE that had thousands of Tamil civilians fleeing the war zone.

Home ministry sources said they had received reports of LTTE cadres making their way into the refugee camps. "All refugees are being screened and we are keeping any suspicious people in high security camps. The rest are being sent to open camps," a senior ministry official said.

Sources said Indian authorities could not let their guard down with some senior LTTE leaders missing. "While most of the top leadership has been destroyed, whereabouts of certain key LTTE leaders like Pottu Amman is still not known. We have asked the state government to remain alert," a source said.

Officials admitted that the volatile situation in Sri Lanka was a security threat to India. In fact, intelligence agencies had advised Congress president Sonia Gandhi and her son Rahul not to travel to Tamil Nadu following an enhanced threat perception. Former PM Rajiv Gandhi had been assassinated by the LTTE.

Besides the rigorous screening process, authorities have also sent two expert teams to de-mine regions which are free of LTTE-control, along with a team of doctors and relief worth Rs 100 crore.

Meanwhile, the Navy, Coast Guard and troops in the Southern Command are on alert to prevent LTTE elements from entering Indian territory. (Times of India)

PS:The west's hypocriosy is astonishing.The US kept after Iraq and Afghanistan ops,an untold figure,possibly in the thousands in secret torture camps across the world including the outrage Camp Gitmo,for years without any access to relatives or legal help.It now attempts to criticise SL for holding the "refugees" of whom many are LTTE cadre,as they try and weed out the LTTE forces trying to escape.The west cares little if these escaping forces carry out assassinations in Lanka and India,as our top leadership in both TN and Delhi are at risk as the Eelamists try and extraxt revenge for their catastrophic defeat.Only an moron would accept the LTTE's mouthpieces abroad that they are now waging a "democratic war".That's how they got Rajiv Gandhi.The collapse of the secret objective to destabilise India though SL and TN through the LTTE and establishing an independent entity in northern SL has beend efeated.Pres.Rajapakse was correct when he said that he also fought India's war.

John Snow wrote:It is good that Retd Gen Mehta talks his mind.
If any Sri Lankan chauvinist Budhi(st) reads, he will understand to what lengths India went to protect SL territorialy integrity.
Don't count upon it ...

Don't count on the "count" of the London Times either! The UN has disputed the Times ,which has become the LTTE's international mouthpiece in this report.

http://www.sundaytimes.lk/090531/News/s ... ws_27.html
UN says London Times death toll based on unreliable data

By Louis Charbonneau
UNITED NATIONS, The world will probably never find out how many innocent civilians died during the bloody final phase of Sri Lanka's war against Tamil Tiger rebels, the U.N. humanitarian chief said on Friday.

The United Nations believes that anywhere from 80,000 to 100,000 people died in what was one of Asia's longest modern wars, erupting in earnest in 1983 when Tamil Tiger rebels began to fight for a separate state for Sri Lanka's minority Tamils.

In the final months of the war, the civilian death rate rose alarmingly as government forces surrounded the LTTE who retreated to a tiny strip of coast in northeastern Sri Lanka, where the United Nations says they kept hundreds of thousands of civilians as human shields.

U.N. under-secretary-general John Holmes: The Times figure has no status as far as the UN is concerned”
U.N. under-secretary-general John Holmes, who oversees the United Nations' many humanitarian operations, told Reuters in an interview that it was unclear how many died in the months before Sri Lanka declared victory over the LTTE on May 18.

He also disputed a death toll reported in The Times of London that cited a “U.N. source” to support an estimate that at least 20,000 people were killed during the months-long final siege.

“That figure has no status as far as we're concerned,” Holmes said. “It may be right, it may be wrong, it may be far too high, it may even be too low. But we honestly don't know. We've always said an investigation would be a good idea.” He said it was based on an unofficial and unverified U.N. estimate of around 7,000 civilian deaths through the end of April and added on roughly 1,000 more per day after that.

Holmes said the initial figure of 7,000 deaths had been deemed far too questionable for official publication. Those were “estimates based on the best evidence that we had, but that wasn't very good evidence because we weren't really present in the (battle zone) in any systematic way,” Holmes said. “That's why we didn't publish them.”

He said there would likely never be a reliable death toll. “I fear we may (never know), because I don't know that the government would be prepared to cooperate with any inquiry,” Holmes said. But there was no doubt “several thousand” civilians had died during the siege, he added.

During that siege, Holmes repeatedly criticized the government for shelling areas where civilians were trapped, warning that it could lead to a “bloodbath”. He also criticized the LTTE for treating innocent civilians as hostages.

Sri Lanka's U.N. mission did not return calls requesting comment. The U.N. Human Rights Council decided this week not to investigate the civilian deaths in the war, a decision that human rights groups have described as disappointing.

British media reports also said that aerial photographs taken when a U.N. delegation flew over the former conflict zone last week showed evidence of mass graves. Photos of those locations taken by a Reuters reporter traveling with the delegation showed no clear signs of mass graves, though some individual gravesites might be visible.

Holmes said the appearance of makeshift cemeteries was no surprise. “A lot of people were killed, several thousand, so you would expect to see a lot of graves there,” he said.

In an editorial, The Times wrote that “the U.N. has no right to collude in suppressing the appalling evidence” of a government-executed massacre. This clearly annoyed Holmes.

“I resent this allegation that we've been colluding with the government in some way or not taking sufficient notice,” he said. “We have been the ones drawing attention to this problem when the media weren't very interested several months ago.”
Dnirody

Post by Dnirody »

"We were complicit in this last phase of the offensive when a great number of civilians were killed,” General Mehta, who is now retired, told The Times. “Having taken a decision to go along with the campaign, we went along with it all the way and ignored what was happening on the ground.”

Complicit is undoubtedly the innapropriate word, there can be no doubt of that. However, Gen. Mehta has nowhere signed onto the preposterous figure of 20,000 deaths. Even 20,000 casualties would probably be inaccurate. I see no criticism in his statement -- after all, for the SK military to have called a pause would not have helped the civilians in the presumed no-fire zone a whit. It is most fortunate that the SL government didn't suddenly cave under pressure, especially under witless cavilling from the likes of Miliband and HRW. No, that last sentence is actually a credit to both governments, a compliment even. Given that a halt to operations would have given the minions of the fat nincompoop (no, not Gordon Brown -- at least not in this case) a breather and time to organise their defences (formed mostly through forced labour from the people they were allegedly protecting); all that this would have accomplished would have been an even higher civilian death toll.

The 'Times' probably doesn't intend to peddle LTTE propaganda (though this is exactly what it IS doing). Put it down to ignorance. Shooting video of a beach and engaging in speculation afterwards is foolish. HOwever, one must understand that UK journalists have latterly come to regard themselves as military experts -- though given the pap that they habitually purvey I am at a loss to explain WHY this is the case. Besides, we must be suitably understanding; the Brits regard the Swatting of Pakistani Talibs to be in the 'interests' of the 'west.' Apparently icing Prabs isn't in the same category. A crying shame, what?
Manny

Post by Manny »

China gets the last laugh over India in Sri Lanka

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/w ... 401262.ece

For a tiny, teardrop-shaped fragment in the Indian Ocean, Sri Lanka punches far above its weight. Its location off the southeastern coast of India may have put it right in the line of the 2004 tsunami, but it also puts it in pole position to exploit the growing geopolitical struggle unfolding in the Indian Ocean.

China’s role in the Sri Lankan civil war is well known. Its deal to build a major port at Hambantota in southern Sri Lanka is part of a regional strategy to create a “string of pearls” of friendly harbours in Pakistan, Bangladesh and Burma, along key shipping routes through the Indian Ocean. Less well known is India’s involvement in this and other deals. It was Delhi, not Beijing, that Sri Lanka first approached over the Hambantota deal. But having no need of a port so close to home India declined.

China’s entry into Sri Lanka has put India in an awkward position. Should it refuse any of Sri Lanka’s wishes, like weaponry and training, it knows that Beijing will be the next number Colombo calls. Any pressure India might try to exert on Sri Lanka is cancelled out by Chinese acquiescence, and — worse still for India — Pakistan’s acquiescence.

Next month, for the first time, Sri Lanka will attend the Shanghai Co-operation Council as a dialogue partner, a blessing bestowed by Russia and China in recognition of its importance in the new Indian Ocean great game.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Manny, that Times piece is a bollocks at psy-ops. Starts by dissing SL in the first line, whines left, right and center directly and indirectly about how uk and the anglo-saxon tribe has put the money on the wrong paper-tigers, then goes on to pull in Russia into the "game" somehow magically. Guess, the 20k figure and India's "complicity" stories did not get much purchase, so now its back to the other {similiarly titled} toilet-paper-rag-style sensationalist headlines.

Let me repeat this the (n+1)-th time: 1) Under-estimate the MEA babus at your own peril... Thats an advise for well-intended Indics and thats a warning for anti-Indians. Do em good, and good will happen unto you; Think evil, and be prepared for a giant mahabharata which will culminate someday, sometime, somewhere at the choice of the babus. The elephant never forgives.... Nor forgets...., 2a) India has done far more than china could ever dream of in putting the ltte down.... Thats a message meant for Sri Lankans who dream that GoI has been sucking its thumb due to TN's pressure. We did nt supply you weapons, but we did infinitely more than that. After all, if china supplied you weapons, we need to do a lot more to be placed on the top of the influence-chain. Put your emotional glasses down and read the message --- why is Shri Rajapakse visiting India first and not, blothers china who offered you all the weapons you needed to put the ltte down?! 2b) For those Indians who cant believe who you are and know your strengths, we have one PK Dahal counting his beans somewhere in Kathmandu, 3) The MEA-folks know what china is upto and know how to hoodwink them. See, after all SL is just 18 kms to our south whereas china is 1000s of kms away. As they say, the chinese could pay for a one-night stand, but the living expenses come from our collective piggy-bank. Thats a message for those who need to know.

PS: Thusitha, since you seem to be in Oz, do S Lankans also face racist attacks in Oz-land? An innocent question. Please ignore if uncomfortable to answer.

Now the Times is going for its own govt.....for selling arms to it.This is a classic tale of inter-dept. rivalry,where trade and defence want their way while the Foreign Office heads in the opposite direction! It is also a wonderful case of the left hand not letting the right what its upto,especially after David Milli-Bond's intense personal diplomacy that failed to stop the GOSL from ending the war on its terms.

I did say that retd.Maj.Gen. Mehta's comments has been twisted to make it appear that he too agreed with the "20,000" deaths number.We will see more comments from Indian "experts" being used to take a swipe at India.The crude attempt to rope India into the "war crimes" zone is ludicrous when seen in the light of this report about Brit. arms sales.India did not sell offensive weaponry,only defensive but more importantly provided the GOSL with vital intel.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/w ... 410718.ece
Britain sold weapons to help Sri Lankan army defeat Tamil Tigers

Jeremy Page, South Asia Correspondent
Britain and other EU countries sold military equipment worth millions of pounds to the Sri Lankan Government in the last three years of its bloody civil war with the Tamil Tigers, The Times has learnt.

Britain approved commercial sales of more than £13.6 million of equipment including armoured vehicles, machinegun components and semiautomatic pistols, according to official records.

Slovakia provided 10,000 rockets worth £1.1 million, while Bulgaria approved sales of guns and ammunition worth £1.75 million, according to EU documents and officials.

It is impossible to verify whether all the approved sales were delivered as the governments involved do not publish those details. Only Slovakia has confirmed delivery of the rockets.

Sri Lanka and Tigers had plenty of firepower

The approval of the sales still raises the question of whether weapons from the EU were used in the last five months of Sri Lanka’s 26-year civil war, during which UN officials estimate that 20,000 civilians were killed.

“I think we need answers about what these were used for,” said Mike Gapes, a Labour MP who chairs the Commons Foreign Affairs Select Committee and is a member of the Committee on Arms Export Controls.

The sales were cleared despite the 1998 EU Code of Conduct on Arms Exports, which restricts transfers to countries facing internal conflicts or with poor human rights records and a history of violating international law.

They were approved while the EU called for peace talks in Sri Lanka, saying that it did not support a military solution, and expressing concerns about human rights abuses after the collapse of a 2002 ceasefire.

The US also sold Sri Lanka millions of pounds of military equipment in 2006-07 but suspended all military aid and sales early last year because of concerns about alleged rights abuses.

British MPs and MEPs, as well as activists against the arms trade, said that the EU should have done the same as early as 2006, when the ceasefire began to unravel.

“The EU had an obligation not to supply these things,” said Malcolm Bruce, a Liberal Democrat MP who visited Sri Lanka last month. “There were too many unanswered questions. With hindsight, Britain’s sales did violate the EU code of conduct.”

John Battle, a Labour MP, former Foreign and Commonwealth Office minister and now a member of the Committee on Arms Export Controls, said: “We should have been sharper off the mark and so should the EU.”

He called for an immediate suspension of EU arms sales to Sri Lanka until it lifted all restrictions on journalists and aid workers.

Several MPs and MEPs also called for the EU code of conduct, which became legally binding on December 8, to be strengthened to ensure consistency and transparency across the 27 member states.

The code says: “Member states will not allow exports which would provoke or prolong armed conflicts.” It also says that member states should “not issue an export licence if there is a clear risk that the proposed export might be used for internal repression”.

Until December 8, however, it was up to member states to decide whether the criteria applied to any given arms sale.

Slovakia said that its rocket deal was justified because there was no UN arms embargo on Sri Lanka, the island had a right to defend itself and the Tigers were banned in the EU as a terrorist organisation.

Britain disputed Slovakia’s position at the time but approved its own arms sales out of concern that countries, such as China, would take its place.

Arms deals

Arms sales approved by the British Government include:

2008 £4 million of equipment including military sonar detection items and components; components for aircraft military communications equipment and military communications equipment

2007 £1 million of equipment including ejector seats, grenades, ground vehicle military communications equipment, military parachutes

2006 £8.6 million of equipment including 50 semi-automatic pistols, components for combat aircraft, military aircraft communications equipment, armoured all-wheel-drive vehicles, components for general purpose and heavy machineguns, small arms ammunition

Political gadfly Mangala Samaraweera,who in his earliest avatar 25 years ago was a celebrated fashion designer,was a key cabinet member of the SLFP led govt. of former pres.Chandrika ,also holding the post of foreign minister at one time.These days,"Mangy",as his pals call him,is on the other side of the politcial divide after falling out with the govt. of pres.Rajapakse.He has been one of the most savage critics of the regime in recent times,even earlier alleging that elements within the regime intend bumping him off.As usual,Mangy's take on the situ in SL post LTTE makes excellent copy for scribes.

Mangala's warning.Excerpt:

"If we don’t give a political settlement, the next phase of the war will not be fought in the jungles of the Vanni, but in the corridors of power in the west, where the still very powerful LTTE Inc, with added money power – because more and more Tamils started contributing of late because they saw what was happening, and people who had never contributed before are now sympathetic to that cause, - they will use whatever influence they have to claim nationhood legitimately through the United Nations like what happened in East Timor and some other countries."

The ‘Gota Kalliya’ is calling the shots - Mangala Samaraweera

http://www.island.lk/
The ‘Gota Kalliya’ is calling the shots - Mangala SamaraweeraMangala Samaraweera is no stranger to controversy. In this interview, he speaks to C.A.Chandraprema about the reasons that led to him falling out with the Rajapakse government, his views on the manner in which the LTTE was crushed, and his own political future.

Q. There is a question in many people’s minds as to why you, who did so much to bring the present government into power, ultimately left a very popular and successful government to join what is obviously not a successful and popular opposition.

A. I must correct you by saying that I didn’t leave. President Rajapakse removed me on the 9th of February 2007, along with Anura Bandaranaike and the late Sripathy Sooriyarachchi. There were several invitations subsequently to rejoin the government and I did not do so and I will not do so, on certain principles. As early as 2006, when I was the foreign minister under president Rajapakse, I saw the writing on the wall when the white van culture started. When those students in Trincomalee were abducted and killed followed by the 17 aid workers who were executed in the east, I met president Rajapakse and told him several times the implications of this culture of impunity. I met the defense secretary, Basil Rajapakse and Lalith Weeratunga as late as December 2006 when things were moving in an unacceptable direction, and the president was becoming a prisoner of the extremist elements in the government. I wrote a confidential letter to the president on the 13th of December, (which I released to the press after my removal) where I put down all my concerns and the risk of international isolation. Many of the things which are happening now were anticipated in that letter. On the 28th of January I was removed as the foreign minister and on the 9th of February, I was removed from the government. The reason why I will not go back is because I sincerely believe despite all the euphoria even at this moment, that the direction that president Mahinda Rajapakse is taking is very detrimental to the future of this country. Even very recently, there were certain messages passed to me, and I can very comfortably be the 110th minister in this government with all the perks, but my conscience will not permit it. Even if the whole country and the whole world endorses president Rajapakse’s actions at the present moment, and there is only one person left behind, I am willing to start my journey all over again, on behalf of what I believe in.

Q. If you take this white van culture which you say was one of the turning points in your relationship with the government, the UNP, which you are now associated with, had to do it on a much larger scale in order to crush the JVP. That was the way that war was fought. There was no alternative.

A. Yes, certainly we know that was how the JVP was fought and that is why at that time, the president (Mahinda Rajapakse) and myself were the joint convenors of the Mother’s Front which fought against the death squads at that time. One can’t change one’s tune when you are in power. But at this moment in time, I feel that the UNP and the opposition forces I’m working with, are far more democratic and also they represent some of the values I stand for, because I have always been an extreme liberal. I have always loved the SLFP and because I have always believed that the SLFP represents the centrist values which I hold dear, but unfortunately under president Rajapakse the SLFP has become an extremist party and today the decisions are not taken by the traditional SLFP but by other extremist forces whom I feel are keeping the president almost a prisoner.

Q. Aren’t you overestimating the influence of the JHU and the Wimal Weerawansa group, because there is the LSSP, the CP, Rajitha Senaratne, Tissa Vitarana, D.E.W.Gunasekera, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, and others in the government as well.

A. Yes, all those very progressive people are within the government, but they have become just names and nothing else. They are just waiting there and have absolutely no influence over the policy direction which the government is taking. Most of them are there for the perks and privileges of whatever post they hold. But the decisions are taken by the JHU and the Weerawansa faction. Within SLFP circles, they are called the ‘Gota kalliya’. That faction is very, very powerful. When Professor Tissa Vitarana had spoken at that recent meeting at the parliamentary grounds and he expressed the view that the proposals from the APRC will see the light of day, I was told by those who had been on that platform that Wimal Weerawansa had gone right up to Professor Vitarana and blackguarded him in filth. Subsequently the president had endorsed that action. I was also told that the president had questioned Tissa Vitarana on the contents of his speech.

Q. Why do you say they are extremists? I would see Gotabhaya Rajapakse as a man very similar to Ranjan Wijeratne. They are both not politicians, but practical men. Both of them fought wars to win, not to lose. Can the fact that they were both successful, be held against them?

A. If you are a person who believes that the end justifies the means, certainly yes. I admit that the end was something that Sri Lanka needed. I welcome the defeat of the LTTE. Long before Gotabhaya and these new found heroes started talking about the LTTE, in the past ten to fifteen years, when Mahinda Rajapakse was a minister and never ever opened his mouth in parliament against the LTTE, I was one of those who criticized the LTTE publicly in and out of parliament. When I was foreign minister, the external affairs commissioner of the European Commission told me that it was only because of my assurance that we would use the listing of the LTTE as a terrorist organization to pressurize them to come back to the negotiating table that they had finally given in.

It was on a request made by me that Condoleeza Rice agreed to open up a full time unit in the FBI with 41 full time agents, to follow and monitor the fund-raising activities of the LTTE. So I welcome the fact that the LTTE has been decisively defeated. But I am not happy with the way in which that victory was achieved. I think it could have been done without losing the confidence of the moderate Tamil people. We have not yet won the war, because we have yet to win the peace. The battle for Eelam has been defeated in the jungles of the Vanni, but we have merely elevated it to a higher international level. We have internationalized our internal issue, unnecessarily, by the manner in which the defense secretary and the army commander handled the situation. Sri Lanka has a wonderful disciplined army. But their reputation has been tarnished. I don’t want to go into details, because if I do, there may be white vans hovering around my house. The leadership given by Mahinda Rajapakse was correct. He gave the army whatever equipment they wanted, but this war could have been won without the international condemnation we are facing now. We can all play to the gallery and say that we don’t need the international community, but we do. There was nothing to celebrate in the victory in the UN human rights council, because all those countries which matter to us in economic terms were against us. Finally, Bolivia or Cuba is not going to help us financially. What people will realize soon is that what is more important than the war to defeat terrorism is the war against poverty. We are losing the friends we need to win that war. And yes certainly, Gotabhaya Rajapakse can be compared to Ranjan Wijeratne.

I have no respect for the manner in which he handled the JVP problem. This is something that will bring howls of protest, but I am also rather ashamed at the way the authorities handled the surrender of the LTTE. I am a Sinhalese and a Buddhist. In school we were told stories of how magnanimous the Sinhalese were. We were made to believe that the Sinhalese were a compassionate forgiving nation. The way the authorities handled the surrender of some of the LTTE leaders and the families of LTTE leaders, was to me rather unacceptable. But having said that, let’s move forward. But then again, the president’s speech in parliament gave me the chills. It confirmed my worst fears. The fact that he said that there will no longer be minorities in this country is a clear indication of his thinking. When you say there are no minorities, it almost implies that the genuine grievances of the Tamil people can be wished away by a presidential statement. President Rajapakse is reflecting the world-view of some of the Sinhala chauvinists who always held that there is no ethnic problem in this country, but only a terrorist problem. Now that the terrorist problem has been taken care of, their logic would be that there can’t be an ethnic problem either. This is a very dangerous situation because I feel that if there is no political settlement, Prabhakaran’s death may not be the end. We may see many more Prabhakarans in the future. If we don’t give a political settlement, the next phase of the war will not be fought in the jungles of the Vanni, but in the corridors of power in the west, where the still very powerful LTTE Inc, with added money power – because more and more Tamils started contributing of late because they saw what was happening, and people who had never contributed before are now sympathetic to that cause, - they will use whatever influence they have to claim nationhood legitimately through the United Nations like what happened in East Timor and some other countries.

Q. You are a politician and all politicians are in the game for power. The position that you hold today is extremely unpopular. How does this mesh with your political ambitions?

A. Yes, I admit, it is extremely unpopular at the moment, and also I agree with you that I am not a politician who believes in spending years in the political wilderness for one’s principles. But at a critical moment like this, when I have to chose between my principles and being in power, I chose my principles, because I finally believe that is what matters the most. But I am not at all pessimistic. Despite all this wild euphoria, I believe that there is a vacuum for a moderate, liberal minded political leadership. If we look at the last WPC elections, the government won a significant victory, but the minorities have completely deserted the SLFP and the UPFA. Of the 66 elected only one, Nauser Fowzie was from the minorities and all others were Sinhalese. So we have an alienated minority community, both the Tamils and the Muslims. What is even more important is that when 150,000 voted for the UPFA, 142,000 didn’t vote at all. It was 142,000 who despite all that hype during the election period, didn’t bother to go to the polling station and vote. But of course I must say that they did not vote for the UNP either. Usually the proportion of spoilt votes is 1.1%, but at the WPC election, it was nearly 4% these are the ones who actually go to the polling station and spoil their vote and these I know, in most areas, were disgruntled SLFPers. So there is a vacuum for a social democratic leadership.

Q. You have hitched your bandwagon to that of the UNP…

A. Yes, and no. I am still a member of the SLFP, I still pay Rs 1000 out of my salary to the SLFP fund, and I still believe in the founding principles of the SLFP. Sri Lanka is still a two party system. It has to be either the SLFP or the UNP. At this particular moment where the leadership of the SLFP has been hijacked by the extremists I think it is important that I work with the UNP, as an alliance, not a member, and I am at the moment trying to forge along with the UNP, a broad, liberal democratic alliance which will represent all those values that I talked about earlier.

Q. For the past fifteen years, the UNP has been a sinking ship…

A. I always had a weakness for sinking ships. I see the UNP today in the same position that I saw the SLFP in 1989-90. By that time, Mrs Bandaranaike was ageing, we had lost all elections since 1977, and the SLFP was riddled with factionalism. I remember as a new member of the central committee, when I was appointed by Mrs Bandaraike in the 1990s. I was shocked to see some members throwing chairs at one another. There were times when these meetings used to end up in fisticuffs. In 1990, even diehard SLFPers had given up hope of ever seeing an SLFP government again. It was in this situation that S.B.Dissanayake and I, with Mrs Bandaranaike’s blessings canvassed for a broad alliance, which Anura and Mahinda both opposed vehemently using much the same kind of argument that some within the UNP are raising against a broad alliance today. "How can they sacrifice the hand symbol?" and other arguments of the like were put forward. But we went ahead and formed this alliance initially with the Desha Vimukthi Janatha Pakshaya which did not have even a proper membership. Then we got the LSSP and one faction of the SLMP. At that time, these parties did not have a huge vote base, but by the very fact that the alliance was formed, that gave a certain amount of confidence, to the people that this was now becoming a winnable entity. That alliance which was formed with such great difficulty is still in power today. So there are ways and means of salvaging a sinking ship. Whatever people may say about the UNP leadership, I now that the UNP rank and file and the voters at the village level as well as disgruntled elements from the SLFP and other parties are very much there. They need to be energized. I think we must stop being obsessed by what the leadership is doing or ought to be doing.

Q. In the early 1990s, your efforts were helped by the LTTE who killed off the entire leadership of the UNP. But today, it doesn’t seem look you are going to get that kind of help…

A. I don’t agree with you that the LTTE killing off the UNP leaders helped, because by that time, the country anyway was in a mood for a change of government. If the LTTE helped by killing off the UNP leadership in 1994, then the LTTE boycott also helped to bring the present president into power in 2005. But in the immediate future, for the first time, the LTTE will not be a major factor. I think we can win the next presidential or general election with a lot of hard work. My feeling is that people will realize the value of Ranil Wickremesinghe in the months ahead. Sri Lankan will need the Ranil Wickremesinghes, the Mangala Samaraweeras and Rauff Hakeems as time goes along, because the economy needs to be straightened out, and the country needs people who can deliver. Don’t write off Ranil just yet.
thusitha

Post by thusitha »

http://tamilnet.com/art.html?catid=99&artid=29504
The Eezham Tamils and their political representatives have no obligation to anyone now, to engage in the deliberations of fruitless alternatives. But the world has an obligation now to tell the Tamils whether its opposition is to what it has perceived as 'terrorism' or to Tamil nationalism. The Eezham Tamil mainstream has a historic responsibility on its shoulders to be performed right now. If the oppression to their nationalism is trans-national, the Eezham Tamils have to respond by forming a trans-national government fully responsible to them based on democracy, to negotiate with the world and to look after their own affairs.
Does anyone know how to fight a trans-national Eelam war? Hopefully by the times these guys get ready, we would have come to a political solution using 13th amendment plus in SL. Otherwise things might get ugly again.

Now the Times is going for its own govt.....for selling arms to it
Very interesting. UK let its attack dogs loose. Now they are attacking the U.K. government. GoSL should provide all the information necessary for war crimes charges against U.K. :rotfl:

It appears that the Eelamists might try and (if united) install a "govt. in exile",like the good old Russian emigres after the Revolution.They will then plan to lobby various nations and international forums like the UN,etc.,trying to get "Eelam" placed as an international issue using the money power earned from their criminal activities.It will be interesting to see who will be the "head" of the exiles.

The GOSL will face a lot of flak in the future from the west if nothing moves on the political front in the north.The ebst exa,ple of devolution of power is to showcase the east and how former terrorists have chosen the ballot instead of the bullet.They can be roped in to speak at international fora and spike the Eelamists guns.In any case,none of the SAARC nations (even though they might have bi-lateral problems with each other) will support the Eelamists.Russia and China can be relied upon to stymie any efforts at the UNSC. The GOSL must now get proactive on the criminal face of the Eelamists and lobby hard in the west to get them to close down the activities of the Eelamists and deport known terrorists and their mouthpieces.Accusing the west of doublestandards will put them on the backfoot.Everyone loves a winner though and SL is too important as a strategically located nation for the west to antagonise it.Once the displaced Tamils are sent out of the camps after screening,the women,children and the elderly can be let out as early as possible,the noise will come down.New international issues like NoKos nukes have become far more important right now than events in SL.

The hunt for KP.

http://www.sinhala.net/
Lanka asks for extradition of Malaysia based ‘KP’

Last Updated:
Monday, June 01, 2009
[COLOMBO, SinhalaNet 2009.06.02 06:05AM] Sri Lanka is confident that Malaysia would expel LTTE leader Velupillai Prabhakaran’s successor Kumaran Pathmanathan aka ‘KP’ wanted on terrorism charges. Although no formal announcement has been made, ‘KP’ has been recognised by various LTTE fronts as their top representative.

Sri Lankan Foreign Minister Rohitha Bogollagama last Friday (May 29) requested Malaysian Defence Minister Dr. Ahamd Zahid bin Hamidi Y. B. Dato Seri to hand over ‘KP’ to facilitate ongoing investigations into LTTE operations overseas.

Well informed sources told The Island that the appeal was made on the sidelines of the 8th Shangri-La Dialogue in Singapore. A Foreign Ministry press statement on Bogollagama’s meet with his Malaysian counterpart issued on Saturday didn’t refer to Sri Lanka’s call for KP’s extradition though it said Sri Lanka had urged Malaysia to proscribe the LTTE.

Authoritative sources said that ‘KP’ had sought refuge in Malaysia some time ago after his presence in Thailand came to light. India, too, had made inquiries when KP’s presence was made public.

Sources said that a high profile presence of the LTTE in Malaysia had been revealed in an unprecedented FBI investigation which targeted an LTTE arms procurement ring involving Singaporeans and Indonesians.

Sources said that some of the funds for procurement of armaments were to be transferred from a Malaysian Bank.

Ongoing police investigations have also revealed that a Lieutenant Colonel of the Sri Lanka Army on the Tigers’ payroll now in custody had visited Malaysia before the collapse of the LTTE..

A few days before the killing of Prabhakaran, Sri Lanka monitored ‘KP’ directing a close associate of the LTTE leader trapped in the Vellamullivaikkal area to hold the army until an international lifeline could be thrown in.

Recently Sri Lanka appointed Brigadier Udaya Perera as Sri Lanka’s Deputy High Commissioner to Malaysia to meet a new threat posed by the LTTE. Perera is the first serving army officer to receive a diplomatic appointment. Sources said that the appointment followed after Perera impressed foreign ministry mandarins at a special meeting called to brief top envoys of several countries in the run up to the final battle.

KP’s presence captured media attention after the Norwegians made contact with him in Malaysia and also facilitated contact between him and top UN officials.
PS:Eelamist's hatred of India from Tamilnet.We cannot afford to drop our guard as a number of LTTE cadre are at large believed to have escaped to S.India.When the Eelamists talk of "treachery",they conveniently forget how they assassinated Rajiv!

"The bias of the Indian Establishment towards the independence of Eezham Tamils and their liberation movement played a crucial role in keeping the genocidal Sri Lanka at the crest of the waves and the Tamils at the receiving end.

But this treacherous foreign policy of India is heading for the same disaster Krishna Menon led India into in the 50s and 60s on the question of Tibet and China.

The stubbornness of the Indian Establishment in refusing to recognise the need for the liberation of Eezham Tamils is what that paved way for the Co-Chairs meddling cum failure and the prolonged agony in the island. The 'punishment' meted out by India for Tamils accepting Co-Chairs mediation is massacre and incarceration."
Last edited by Philip on 02 Jun 2009 18:17, edited 1 time in total.

LTTE are used to ruling through the gun. Their remaining warlords aren't going to take any feedback from those they claim to represent. They're terrorist gunmen, not politicians. And are they still going to be able to extort money from the diaspora in the way they have in the past? They may be opening themselves up to criminal prosecution, even from within their own community.

Sri Lanka shouldn't necessarily wait to have crooks like KP extradited. Just send a team over to liquidate him.

Sanjay,from my 2+ decades of interaction with JTs,abroad,as well as in SL,they behave just like the Chinese community,extremely closelipped ,where it is very difficult to get information out when some of the community are punished by the equivalent of the triad chiefs.In certain towns in the west,where they are in large numbers,the criminals at the top run matters in the diaspora.Those that rebel will face severe punishment and will have a hard time in obtaining justice if they go to the authorities for lack of community support.At the moment though,because of the tragedy of the large scale civilian deaths in the last phase of the war,the diaspora is united and filled with rage against SL and India.I've posted above excerpts from their mouthpiece which shows their hatred for India.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Op-ed in Pioneer
OPED | Wednesday, June 3, 2009 | Email | Print |

Colonial mindset

Anuradha Dutt

‘Liberal’ West weeps over LTTE’s decimation

Some in the British Government seem to believe that the sun has not set over the empire. How does one otherwise view British Foreign Secretary David Miliband’s officious attempt to meddle in the internal affairs of Sri Lanka, an erstwhile colony? Possibly in the same way that his lapse on Kashmir was condemned by Indian foreign office sources after he proclaimed that the Kashmir ‘issue’ needed to be resolved in order to curb Islamist terrorism.

After the Sri Lankan Army’s offensive against the LTTE wiped out its top leadership, and perhaps Tamil insurgency on the island nation after almost three decades, Western powers have been trying to mobilise international opinion against the military action by the Lankan Government. The effort is disguised as a human rights initiative, with concern being expressed for the safety of civilians.

Mr Miliband is most vocal in this respect. He speaks of how the Sri Lankan leadership should behave at this juncture: “This is the moment to show that it governs in the interest of all the people of Sri Lanka, not just some of them.” He also wants the military’s conduct to be scrutinised, as too the armed operation against the LTTE. He favours investigation of “serious and credible reports of war crimes,” though adding that there are charges against both sides, and these should be probed.

Such pronouncements have made Mr Miliband even more unpopular in Colombo than after his visit at the end of April when he, along with his French counterpart Bernard Kouchner, tried vainly to pressurise the Lankan Government to call a ceasefire with the Tamil Tiger militants. Sweden’s Foreign Minister Carl Bildt was supposed to have joined this peace mission, but he was denied a visa by Sri Lankan authorities. European Union reacted adversely to this, leading to a diplomatic row.

The British emissary conveyed to Colombo that international calls for a ceasefire were intended to save civilians, not rebels. His visit was followed by a telephone call from British Prime Minister Gordon Brown to Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, reiterating concerns about the plight of civilians but really pressing him to end the offensive. Mr Miliband must qualify as being the most unpopular foreign dignitary to visit the island country, for, even then protestors charged Britain with attempting to protect the militants. A few weeks later, the LTTE was brutally quelled. Celebrations were marked by a burning effigy of the Foreign Secretary being thrown on to the premises of the British High Commission in Colombo. To compound the insult, demonstrators threw rotten eggs and stones into the compound. The placards they carried displayed slogans like “Hands off Sri Lanka, we are not your colony” and “White Tiger”, an obvious allusion to Mr Miliband.

Even the British media’s reporting of the military operation and its aftermath mirrors a colonial, even imperialist bias. To quote from ‘Slaughter in Sri Lanka’, The Times, May 29:

Deeply disappointing was how a human rights group described the vote in the United Nations Human Rights Council, hailing the victory of the Sri Lankan Government. This is a breathtaking understatement. It was an utter disgrace. It was asked by its European members to investigate widespread reports of atrocities and war crimes committed by both Government troops and Tamil Tigers in the final weeks of the conflict. The council chose instead to debate a one-sided, mendacious and self-serving motion put forward by the Sri Lankans. This welcomed the “liberation” of tens of thousands of the island’s citizens, condemned the defeated Tigers, made no mention of the shelling of civilians and kept silent on the desperate need to allow the Red Cross and other humanitarian groups into the camps.

“Support for this deeply flawed resolution came from the usual suspects — China, Russia, India, Pakistan and a clutch of Asian and Islamic nations, determined to prevent the council ever investigating human rights violations in their own country.”

However, an entry on Mr Miliband’s internet site is edifying. Dated April 30, it states: “In the most recent combat operations, the Armed Forces of Sri Lanka have uncovered evidence of UN/NGO complicity with Tamil Tigers — use of equipment, vehicles as well as material and other support. As far as our own BBC complicity with the Tamil Tigers is concerned, it is well-documented and more than evident.”

Another entry states: “Diaspora is worried that if the war is over, they will lose their refugee status. The same diaspora that funded a terrorist outfit.”

The tremendous surge of sympathy in the West for militants who killed former Indian Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, Sri Lankan and Tamil leaders and thousands of civilians merits an explanation from Mr Miliband and others of his ilk.
Keshav

Post by Keshav »

Mr Miliband is most vocal in this respect. He speaks of how the Sri Lankan leadership should behave at this juncture: “This is the moment to show that it governs in the interest of all the people of Sri Lanka, not just some of them.” He also wants the military’s conduct to be scrutinised, as too the armed operation against the LTTE. He favours investigation of “serious and credible reports of war crimes,” though adding that there are charges against both sides, and these should be probed.
Oh, that Milliband! What a tyrant - asking for probes? Unthinkable!

Don't worry.Mill-Bond,whose perch is very insecure thanks to the British MP's expenses scandal,which might even bring down the Labour govt.,and who doesn't want to be shifted,might very well be shafted in the imminent cabinet reshuffle.His disgusting display of interfering in the on-going war in Lnaka,where he was batting by proxy for the internationally disgraced LTTE ,trying to save fuhrer Prabhakaran on "humanitarian" grounds,has turned him into the global laughing stock of the year.In addition,Britain's once renowned diplomacy has seldom been served so shabbily and many former imperial colonies must be wondering what relevance the Commonwealth has today,when its members like Sri Lanka are treated with such contempt and inequality as displayed by Milli-Bond,and the once convivial "old boys club" should not be pensioned off.

BTW, why do the views of these millibunds get such prominent coverage in asian media? UKstan is almost bankrupt and has nothing except a veto in a farcical UN. So, on what strength does millibunds of UK put a finger in others business so far away from their home? And why are they taken seriously?

400+ N-warheads delivered by Trident missile nuclear subs,that's why!

Now is the time to win over Tamil hearts: Rajapaksa
COLOMBO: Sri Lanka President Mahinda Rajapaksa declared on Wednesday that now was the time to “win over the hearts of the Tamil people.”

At a colourful ceremony at Galle Face Green, facing the Indian Ocean, to mark the end of Eelam War IV, Mr. Rajapaksa spoke his first few sentences in Tamil.

“The Tamil speaking people should be protected,” he said. “They should be able to live without fear and mistrust. That is today the responsibility of us all.” The who’s who of Sri Lanka and the diplomatic corps attended the event.
Talking of the people in the north, Mr. Rajapaksa said that they had to be provided all the facilities they were denied for 30 years.

A statement by the Foreign Ministry said that Mr. Bogollagma emphasised that the Indo-Sri Lanka Accord on devolution of power would be implemented in the form of a 13th Amendment-plus plan.

Philip wrote:400+ N-warheads delivered by Trident missile nuclear subs,that's why!
IOW, a new kind of Pakistan .
Keshav

Post by Keshav »

I was being sarcastic. Let them have all the probes, interviews, investigations, and what not - no Tamil in Sri Lanka or abroad who cared about the outcome is going to think that everything was fine and dandy for the civilians under artillery fire. Everyone with an IQ above mentally retarded knows what happens in war.

The Sri Lanka probably killed many thousands of civilians in the process of fighting the LTTE.

What will the probes and investigations find out? Probably confirm what everyone already knew - the LTTE killed Sri Lankan and Tamil civilians; the SLA killed Tamil and Sri Lankan civilians.

Big deal. No probe is going to change the outcome of the war and if the Sri Lankans integrate the Tamils properly, it won't change the feelings that the average SL Tamil has towards the government.

A probe is the preliminary step to legal prosecution of Lankan Government and Military. The eelam supporters wish revenge. They seek to achieve in the courtroom what they failed to achieve on the battlefield.

Apologies if this was posted earlier:

Indo-Lankan pact was the cure: Cho
An interview with Cho Ramaswmy.

And somebody's response as an Open letter to him.

where's jrjrao... I miss the dude... he would have had us been absolutely rotfl with his sarcastic remarks on this particular situation...
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

What Cho Ramasami said is true and what Sunderapandian retorted back is also true. The dichotomy lies in understanding the Tamil mind and what drives it. The Tamil issue was simultaneously both a poll plank as well as not one. For the SLankan folks, that may seem like a load of BS, especially given what I had stated here before. Let me explain.

The Tamils are an effusive lot. They get informed from multiple sources, and many a time the puzzle is not even complete. They hear about how the SL Tamils have been mis-treated by the SLA and they go to one extreme in reacting. They then hear how the LTTE has been assassinating other Tamils who disagree with the LTTE ideology and they get confused. To top that, there is the elephant in the room of RG's assassination which everyone knows who did it. So when you have multiple pieces of the puzzle, coming at disparate times, reactions range from this end of the spectrum to that end. Obviously, if you are a Sinhalese, it is easy to see what you need to see, and ignore the rest. Even for a non-Tamil Indian, such a conclusion is quite likely.

The common theme and the theme that matters is not the reactions that are more exasperations based on instantaneous information overload, but reactions which are consistent. So what are these: 1) SL Tamils need to live in dignity and with equal rights, there is no ambiguity in this. 2) The trust deficit against the GoSL is very high given the past history which is very much prejudiced (from both viewpoints). 3) LTTE is (was) an organization that uses (d) terror to get what it wants (ed), but there is a considerable range of opinion on whether this terror is (was) justified or not. 4) The hopelessness of the situation in terms of what GoI can/is willing to do/enforce causes a range of responses in the population depending on the mood. 5) While all these are relevant points, there is only a small microscopic minority that would give up on his/her own life for the sake of SL Tamils. While many would make bold statements about this and that, at the end of the day, most have a family and love goes only that much. There may be a reluctance to move on, and anger that will overflow at the next occurrence of info overload, but chalta hai comes quicker than you can utter it.

So SL Tamil issue matters and does nt matter, at the same time. The devil is in the details. In 1991, after RG episode, the swing was 233-1. Some of these very same folks would fight for the defeat of the congress is possibly not obvious to others, but should not be so to someone who knows what is going on.

Stan_Savljevic wrote: Even for a non-Tamil Indian, such a conclusion is quite likely.
Disagree, what you have stated is the quintessential Indian behavior, all Indians exhibit it and all Indians understand it when displayed by other Indians.

What Indians dont understand and hence get bowled out by is the Lahori logic that Pakistani's follow and the duplicity of the Anglo-saxon crowd.

IMHO, the confusion arises from mixing Tamil sympathy for the suffering of Tamil-speaking Sri Lankans with issues that decided the poll. Whatever decided the polls, it certainly was not the Sri Lankan issue. Some parties might have tried to create such an impression by trying to politicise the issue by referring to the SL situation in fiery political meeting speeches. That didn't mean anything to the people at large.

What most Indians do not understand is that there is virtually nothing in common between northern Lankan Tamils and Tamils in Tamilnadu.The two are different species.The Tamils in the southern coastal belt like Tuticorin do have relatives who migrated to Sri Lanka found mostly in the Mannar and the Colombo region about three generations ago during the colonial days.They are generally Catholic from the fishing community.These Tamils and others from South India,Chettiars,plus a small number of Sindhis and Gujaratis and a few Parsis who can be numbered on the fingers of one hand,generally dominate the trading community and are called "Indian Tamils" ("kalathonis",meaning "black boats",the type used for coastal transport from Tuticorin once a familiar sight in Colombo harbour),distinguishing them from the three other species (pardon the SL slang used at times which some consider offensive.),the Plantation Tamils ("coolies" to the JTs,"tea bushes" to some others-came from the "wrong side of the blanket" if you get my meaning),the Eastern Tamils (including Muslims who speak Tamil but once the ethnic conflict started and the LTTE started ethnic cleansing of them in Jaffna and the east, have distinguished themselves as a separate entity and label themselves as Muslims) and the Northern Jaffna Tamils ("demalas" to the Sinhalese).

The "Indian Tamils" and the "Plantation Tamils" have the closest affinity for India,as they are migrants in recent times and have relatives in India.A small Malayalee population used to also exist during the colonial days where a Malayalee servant was very highly prized by the aristocratic families.The Jaffna Tamils have affinity only for thier own tribe.

Which is the best place to invest in Asia?Why Lanka says Jim Rogers!

http://www.dailymirror.lk/DM_BLOG/Secti ... RTID=50874
Sri Lanka best place to invest in s. asia: Jim Rogers

Jim Rogers, a renowned global investor, in an interview with the Economic Times (ET) of India, said yesterday that Sri Lanka is the best country to invest in the Asian region.

Answering a question raised by the ET on comments made by him recently, saying that he would invest in China and Sri Lanka, he said that if anyone wants to invest in this particular part of the world, the best place would be Sri Lanka. Because it looks like the 30-year war is coming to an end.

”Throughout history, if you go to a place after a war ends, you usually find that there are enormous opportunities if you have energy. In my view, investing in Sri Lanka in May 2009 is probably a better bet than Pakistan, Bangladesh, India or some of the other countries nearby. Let's hope the new Indian government does something. I have heard wonderful things from Indian politicians for 40 years. And rarely do they produce. It's not the first time that the Congress party has been in power. If they mean it, India's going to be one of the greatest development stories in the next 20 years. But I don’t know if they mean it.” he said.

Speaking on global economic forecasts and sudden stocks surges, he said that the market is very risky today. Mr. Rogers said that Central Banks all over the world have printed huge amounts of money, and the real economy is not strong enough for all this money to be absorbed... so, it's going into stocks and real assets such as commodities. It's a mistake what they are doing. It's giving short-term pleasure, but there will be long-term pain as we are going to have much higher inflation, much higher interest rates and a worse economy down the road.

The American bond market is already beginning to go down dramatically as people realise that the American government has to sell huge amount of bonds; also, there is going to be inflation, serious inflation, as it has always happened in the past when you had governments printing huge amounts of money.

Stocks are rising even as fiscal deficit is widening. Somewhere it has to snap...

It's going to snap. Maybe later this year, maybe next year, we are going to have currency problems, even a currency crisis.

I don't know with which currency — maybe with the pound sterling, maybe with the US dollar, who knows? It may be with something none of us have at the moment. When you have a currency crisis, stocks will be affected, many things will be affected. It is not sound, what's happening out there in the world.

In the 1930s, we had a huge stock market bubble which popped. And then politicians started making many mistakes. They became protectionist. They made solvent banks take over insolvent banks and then all banks failed in the end.

They are making many of the same mistakes now. What's different this time round is that they are printing huge amounts of money which they did not print at that time. So, we are going to have inflation this time.
Psst! You wanna invest,just ask me!

>>What most Indians do not understand is that there is virtually nothing in common between northern Lankan Tamils and Tamils in Tamilnadu.

How about the language to begin with? Don't they both speak Tamil with different dialects?
aryank

Post by aryank »

thusitha

Post by thusitha »

Indian Tamils warn Diaspora against MEP candidate Jan Jananayagam
http://www.asiantribune.com/?q=node/18195
Brussels, 04 June, (Asiantribune.com): Many community leaders of South Asian origin persons in the United Kingdom appealed to their constituents not to vote for candidates sponsored by ‘terrorist organizations or their proxies’. South Indian Tamil lobby in UK said that Jan Jananayagam should be shunned by voters as she represents ‘the terrorists who killed our bellowed former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi’.
Janannayagam, an independent candidate for EU Parliament is a member of Genocide Against Tamils, which has been labelled by Sri Lankan Government as a front organization of the LTTE. Many countries including the European Union, US, and India have proscribed LTTE as a terrorist organization.
Many Indian political analysts believe that Jananayagam, if elected as an MEP, could encourage separatist trends in Tamil Nadu, the South India state where some separatist elements are linked to the LTTE. "Jan Jananayagam recently said in a BBC interview that there is an "existential threat to Tamils" and her support will be an encouragement to South Indian Tamil separatist groups," warns Atul Saxena, a member of the Indian National Congress.
The LTTE is doing their best to get her in to the EU parliament.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Sri Lanka holds 'Tamil aid ship'
Friday, 5 June 2009 08:51 UK

Warning:Links to terrorist friendly site.

Swamy,true,but it is the equivalent of comparing a Brazilian with a Portugese or Spaniard with a Mexican!

Going through the "Christian LTTE" conspiracy theory,there was nothing "Christian" about either the LTTE or their western supporters.The LTTE was proscribed by European govts. after the assassination of Lakshman Kadirgamar,the SL FM during Chandrika's presidency.The acusation that the LTTE was being used as pawns by foreign powers is absolutely true-mutual backscratching took place all the time,as can be judged from the disgraceful performance of the Norwegian peaceniks and ceasefire monitors who were on an all expenses paid tropical holiday,with alleged special perks in the form of dusky damsels and other goodies provided for sex crazy Norwegians like Solheim.The Lankan govt. was being sold down the Mahaveli!

The other accusation about the LTTE's treatment of Muslims echoes what I said earlier,that even though they speak Tamil,the LTTE never regarded them as such and "cleansed" the entire Jaffna peninsula of Muslims,butchering them in the hundreds in the east.It is because of the LTTE's rteatment of them that the Muslims in Lanka now have banded together into a separate political entity.Caste and religion has played its part.We've had many a priest batting for the LTTE regardles of its heinous crimes.I can't remember a single instance when a prominent priest ,Catholic or Protestant,called upon the LTTE to turn away from violence,the message of Christ.If so I plead ignorance.We will have to wait for thr truth to emerge from the diaspora in the fullness of time as to what went on behind the scenes for a better understanding of the methods and tacttics of the LTTE under fuhrer Prabhakaran.They too are now free from his bestail influence and hopefully some of them will think afresh as to how to obtain their genuine rights through the ballot and not the bullet.

Prabhakaran was captured alive, then shot dead
A day before his pudgy, lifeless body was shown across television channels globally, LTTE chief Vellupillai Prabhakaran was captured alive and then shot at from point-blank range, the bullet blowing a third of his skull.

Sources close to the Sri Lankan army’s military intelligence disclosed to Deccan Herald that in the last gunfight between the LTTE and the Sri Lankan special forces, Prabhakaran’s bodyguards and a core of the Tigers’ fighting force exchanged heavy gunfire after they were surrounded.
“He (Prabhakaran) was captured alive after the Tigers ran out of ammo and then shot just like everybody else. No special treatment was given,” the source said. On May 19, television footage showed Prabhakaran’s body was found by the banks of Nanthikadal lagoon in the Mullaitivu area.
When Nadesan and Pulidevan did try to surrender along with their families, waving white flags, they were machine-gunned.

But before that, as the source said, “they got on their knees begging for mercy. (But) no mercy (was shown) by the special forces”. Sources said that the Sri Lankan special forces located Prabhakaran’s hideout in Vellamullivaikkal at least two days before the end came.

Sources, however, insisted that Prabhakaran’s bodyguards and he gave up firing when escape looked impossible only after the soldiers from the special forces and the 59th Division closed in.

The bullet wound just above his right temple and the absence of any other injury on his person suggests he was killed from close range.

Lanka to Become Next BPO Powerhouse?

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/Can ... 623443.cms

>>>Swamy,true,but it is the equivalent of comparing a Brazilian with a Portugese or Spaniard with a Mexican!
Philip, you should know how tamilians feel about their language and fellow tamilians, especially folks living so close to them.

Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Ban pressures Colombo for inquiry
Sunday, Jun 07, 2009
COLOMBO: U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon has reiterated his appeal to Sri Lanka to heed international calls for accountability and transparency and for an inquiry into alleged abuses committed during the recent war even as the government resumed the Yala Devi train service beyond Vavuniya town in the war ravaged north after a gap of 20 years.

“It is crucially important that the Sri Lankan government follow up on all the promises that they have made,” a report posted on the U.N. News Centre website quoted Mr. Ban as telling reporters following an informal discussion with Security Council members on Sri Lanka.
The Sri Lankan government, in a report, quoted India’s Permanent Representative to the U.N. in Geneva A. Gopinathan responding to the remarks on Sri Lanka included in the statement of the High Commissioner for Human Rights Ms. Navi Pillay as saying: “...it will be prudent to adhere to the outcome of the special session and be sensitive to the concerns expressed already, rather than take a position on contested proposals or controversial issues and ideas, which did not find eventual acceptance in the outcome of the special session.”
Meanwhile, The Australian, an English daily, in a report said three Australian nationals caught in Sri Lanka’s overcrowded refugee camps could face more than a year in detention after the government in Colombo ruled out any special treatment or early release. So far Sri Lankan authorities have found 14 foreign citizens in the camps for the war displaced.

The Tamil language is alive and well in SL.It is state policy that all communications with govt. depts use a tri-linguial form.Some years ago my partner ,after visiting SL for the first time,enjoyed telling his Tamil brethren from TN that in Air Lankan aircraft announcements were made in three languages,Sinhala,Tamil and English,while flights in India emanating from Tanilnadu had only Hindi and English announcements.Tamils in Colombo have enjoyed a riot-free environment for 25+ years now and have been busy with their professions abd businesses without any hindrance.Compare it with some other Indian cities and states.The locals learned to live with terror and remain calm ,to allow the govt. to deal with terror depsite the horrendous terror attacks and provocations.Anuradahapura and the sacred Bo-tree was attacked with hundreds of pilgrims killed,the most sacred Budhist shrine,the Temlpe of the Tooth in Kandy was also attacked by the LTTE.Imagine the siutu in India if a religious shrine was attacked by terrorists of another religion.

As the Pioneer article (in an above post) mentioned,there has been an insidous propaganda exercise by the LTTE along with its western partners in crime, to throw as much mud at the GOSL as its "Great Game" for South India has been decisively defeated.The charges levelled against SL are so similar to those levelled against India by the west in recent years,showing video clips of fightng in Chechenya ,reporting it as being in Kashmir.The tall tale of "20,000 massacred" is total fiction and if any masacring has been done,it has been by the LTTE from reports from the refuhees.This is not to deny that there were heavy casualties in the last stages,civilians caught in the crossfire.When you however compare the Lankan war with events in Afghanistan and Iraq,they pale into insignificance by comparison.There lakhs of civilians have been killed due to "collateral damage" and the prisons run by the US ,with secret prisons abroad in allied countries are genuine war crimes on a similar scale of those in WW2.These western double-standards are despicable and the west is rapidly losing the friendship of many former "colonies",as the balance of power in the world shifts away from the US and the west.As an EU expat working in India told me just a few hours ago,his country is just half the population of Bombay!

As for Tamil and Tamil Nadu sentiments towards the Eelam issue and Lanka,they showed their mind in the recent elections ,where the decibel levels of the pro-LTTE Eelamist parties reached fever pitch,with JJ even calling for Indian military intervention,they were all soundly defeated.The onus is now upon the GOSL to deliver a peaceful settlement-devolution of genuine administrative power to the provinces as was envisaged in earlier Indo-Lankan agreements .It will take some time for genuine demnocratic leaders of the northern Tamil community to emerge,but they inevitably will and hopefully the ballot will prevail over the bullet and bomb which has failed the Tamil cause utterly.