26/11/2008: Never Forget. Never Forgive

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: 26/11/2008: Never Forget. Never Forgive

These two men need to be "suicided"

Posting again, as a memorial. See what Pakistanis did in India in the name of Islam,
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QehgTIOmkmQ

Cross post from DFI
http://goldenboy.blog.com/2009/08/12/chaitanya-kunte-against-ndtv/

This is the original Piece written by Chyetanya Kunte but later on he had to retract because of legal pressure from NDTV. I have posted it here for posterity & preservation since Google Cache may clear it anytime. (http://cuntradiktion.blogspot.com/2009/ ... -post.html)

Shoddy journalism

Appalling journalism. Absolute blasphemy! As I watch the news from home, I am dumbfounded to see Barkha Dutt of NDTV break every rule of ethical journalism in reporting the Mumbai mayhem.

Take a couple of instances for example:
In one instance she asks a husband about his wife being stuck, or held as a hostage. The poor guy adds in the end about where she was last hiding. Aired! My dear friends with AK-47s, our national news is helping you. Go get those still in. And be sure to thank NDTV for not censoring this bit of information.

In another instance, a General sort of suggests that there were no hostages in Oberoi Trident. (Clever.) Then, our heroine of revelations calls the head of Oberoi, and the idiot confirms a possibility of 100 or more people still in the building. Hello! Guys with guns, you’ve got more goats to slay. But before you do, you’ve got to love NDTV and more precisely Ms. Dutt. She’s your official intelligence from Ground zero.

You do not need to be a journalist to understand the basic premise of ethics, which starts with protecting victims first; and that is done by avoiding key information from being aired publicly—such as but not limited to revealing the number of possible people still in, the hideouts of hostages and people stuck in buildings.

Imagine you’re one of those sorry souls holed-up in one of those bathrooms, or kitchens. A journalist pulls your kin outside and asks about your last contact on national television, and other prying details. In a bout of emotion, if they happen to reveal more details, you are sure going to hell. Remember these are hotels, where in all likelihood, every room has a television. All a terrorist needs to do is listen to Ms. Barkha Dutt’s latest achievement of extracting information from your relative, based on your last phone-call or SMS. And you’re shafted—courtesy NDTV.1
If the terrorists don’t manage to shove you in to your private hell, the journalists on national television will certainly help you get there. One of the criticisms about Barkha Dutt on Wikipedia reads thus:

During the Kargil conflict, Indian Army sources repeatedly complained to her channel that she was giving away locations in her broadcasts, thus causing Indian casualties.
Looks like the idiot journalist has not learned anything since then. I join a number of bloggers pleading her to shut the f⋅⋅⋅ up.
Update: In fact, I am willing to believe that Hemant Karkare died because these channels showed him prepare (wear helmet, wear bullet-proof vest.) in excruciating detail live on television. And they in turn targeted him where he was unprotected. The brave officer succumbed to bullets in the neck.

Update 2 [28.Nov.2300hrs]: Better sense appears to have prevailed in the latter half of today—either willfully, or by Government coercion2, and Live broadcasts are now being limited to non-action zones. Telecast of action troops and strategy is now not being aired live. Thank goodness for that.
Update 3 [30.Nov.1900hrs]: DNA India reports about a UK couple ask media to report carefully:
The terrorists were watching CNN and they came down from where they were in a lift after hearing about us on TV.
— Lynne Shaw in an interview.
1. Oh, they have a lame excuse pronouncing that the television connections in the hotel has been cut, and therefore it is okay to broadcast. Like hell!
2. I’m thinking coercion, since Government has just denied renewing CNN’s rights to air video today; must’ve have surely worked as a rude warning to the Indian domestic channels

Lets take a moment and remember & thank Tukaram Omble's courage. Tackling a guy with a AK47 with nothing but his Lathi.

Without Tukaram Omble Mumbai attacks would have been written off as just another RAW/RSS/Djinn/Mossad affair. Kasab's testimony is what nailed the ISI and revealed first hand the extent of the terror machinery against us.

^^^ +1 to that. Omble was the humblest of our security structure. An ordinary cop. No special forces or no special training. Just raw SDRE courage. Salute! brave soul. You did what very few dare.
member_28539

Post by member_28539 »

"Talwar Se Bijli Kadke...Laal Lahoo bahe Dharti..Ye var dena prabhu mohe..Vijay ho ya Veergati- Maharana Pratap Of Mewar"

Shat-Shat Naman to all the Martyrs... Jai Hind!

LokeshC wrote:Asymmetric warfare is the only answer to asymmetric warfare. Hopefully AD sahib cultivates some assets in Bakistan soon.

I will never forget that day, nor will I ever forgive Bakistani pigs who were responsible for this.
Well trained bunch of naval commandos shooting at normal people of India doing daily grind was by any standards asymmetric warfare. Right on, LokeshC ji; just to add that we should use asymmetric warfare decisively and finish off the land of one bit rabid dogs that has exported insurgencies in many states and even went to war against India. They don't deserve any better at all.

PBS Frontline documentary on Dawood Gilani/David Coleman Headley

Maybe now we will get the real handle on those in India who helped the attacks.

Bollywood needs to be held accountable.
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

ramana wrote:Maybe now we will get the real handle on those in India who helped the attacks.

Bollywood needs to be held accountable.
Absolutely. We need to bring Rahul Butt to justice. I do not think we dealt with him appropriately. In the video posted above, the rascal was bragging about his special (carnal?) knowledge of Headley and trying to leverage it to make some money from Frontline. There are way too many traitors in Bollywood that need to be dealt with.

Baby Moshe remembers the horror of 26/11 :

DNA

Why isn't David Headley a household name in the US? Why are the only people who have heard of him, in the media, political commentators or in diplomatic circles? What gives, the usual American heavy self absorption?

Anujan wrote:Lets take a moment and remember & thank Tukaram Omble's courage. Tackling a guy with a AK47 with nothing but his Lathi.

Without Tukaram Omble Mumbai attacks would have been written off as just another RAW/RSS/Djinn/Mossad affair. Kasab's testimony is what nailed the ISI and revealed first hand the extent of the terror machinery against us.

Reflecting on the balance of things, Constable Tukaram Omble saved India. By nailing kasab he swept under all the conspiracies that were flowing under the 26/11 rubric.

Anujan wrote:Lets take a moment and remember & thank Tukaram Omble's courage. Tackling a guy with a AK47 with nothing but his Lathi.

Reflecting on the balance of things, Constable Tukaram Omble saved India. By nailing kasab he swept under all the conspiracies that were flowing under the 26/11 rubric.
AR Antulay and other influencial UPA leaders would have got Sadhvi Pragya, Swami Assemanad would have been forced to confess and all would have been well in the secular world.
komal

Post by komal »

Varoon Shekhar wrote:Why isn't David Headley a household name in the US? Why are the only people who have heard of him, in the media, political commentators or in diplomatic circles? What gives, the usual American heavy self absorption?

I believe in Madras there is a saying that you can only awake the sleeping.

On what basis was RandeeTV and their chief Randee Barkha able to force the blogger to retract this post?? It only states facts.

Barkha and other DDM also have the blood of Havildar Gajender Singh Bisht on their hands. They broadcast the NSG slithering onto the Nariman House rooftop live and the terrorists got warned by their handlers and were waiting. When Havildar Bisht came down with his team, he bore the brunt of the 1st grenade thrown at his team and died. What type of sick turds are these journalists? Probably the type whose idea of a lacerating penance is to wine and dine on bail after raping a young girl. Sickening!

Varoon Shekhar wrote:Why isn't David Headley a household name in the US? Why are the only people who have heard of him, in the media, political commentators or in diplomatic circles? What gives, the usual American heavy self absorption?
1:10:100

1 american death = 10 deaths in west/anglo countries like aus, nz = 100 deaths in rest of world

164 people died, it got the coverage of 2 americans dying.
Mihir

Post by Mihir »

Raja Bose wrote:On what basis was RandeeTV and their chief Randee Barkha able to force the blogger to retract this post?? It only states facts.
Kunte had two choices: (a) return to India from the Netherlands, hire a lawyer, and spend years fighting an expensive case against an adversary with deep pockets and strong political connections, or (b) acquiesce to Barkha's demands and remove the post.

Thankfully, the incident gave his piece (and Barkha's douchebaggery) more publicity than it would have received had she just stayed silent.

I still don't know what MMS was saying about MKN having tried but it didn't work out.

Knowing MKN is hardcore DIEnasty minion, the psecular media onslaught, I only wonder.

Sandeep Unnithan's book "Black Tornado" on NSG operation is available.

It's ok and has some good details but a professional author ghost writing it would have been better. Also he doesn't go into proper detailing of the MARCOsS work. The NSG part is decently covered and the Nariman house details are a first. A definite but for this forum and very reasonably priced.

The book is definitely worth a read. It provided some information on the NSG operation that was not easily available.

Hindustan Times cites BBC Urdu on the hotel atmosphere and privileges granted by the Islamic Republic of Pakistan to Mohammadden Terrorist Zakiur Rehman Lakhvi:
…………………… Lakhvi, 55, and six other terror suspects indicted for the assault on India’s financial hub live in several rooms located next to the jailer’s office in the sprawling Adiala Jail. They have the jailer's permission to have a television, mobile phones, access to internet, and visitors, BBC Urdu reported.

"He (Lakhvi) can receive any number of guests, any time of day or night, seven days a week," one unnamed jail official was quoted as saying in the report. The visitors require no special permission and they do not even need to identify themselves to jail authorities.

The report also substantiated a claim that has for long been made by Indian and US officials – that Lakhvi continues to direct the LeT’s operations from jail. Lakhvi's “uninterrupted access to guests, mobile phone and the internet has kept him in effective contact with the LeT rank and file”, it said. ……………………………..

"On an average, he receives about 100 visitors every day; they are escorted to his private quarters where they can meet him without the watch of jail guards, and can stay for as long as they like," he said. ……………………………..

The report, which described Lakhvi as one of “Pakistan's most notorious prisoners”, said he was living in “relative luxury despite the government's protestations that it is cracking down on militants”.

“This would be unthinkable anywhere else, but elements in the Pakistani establishment are known to have provided such facilities to certain jailed militant commanders who they believe they may need in future for reasons of national security,” the report said. ………………………….
From Here:

Mumbai attack mastermind Lakhvi's luxury time in jail: Access to phones, visitors

Article from the BBC on the same subject:

Mumbai attacks suspect Lakhvi's luxury jail time

There is a full video at this link. Why can't our desi media do such reporting.

The Hidden Intelligence Breakdowns Behind the Mumbai Attacks
When Edward Snowden revealed the government’s vast surveillance programs in 2013, the Obama administration responded with a defense that sounded compelling: the high-tech spying apparatus had stopped terrorist attacks.

In a rush to provide success stories, senior officials cited the capture of an American terrorist whose case I knew well. I had spent several years reporting about David Coleman Headley, whose reconnaissance for Pakistani spymasters and terrorist chiefs was crucial to the 2008 terrorist attacks in Mumbai that killed 166 people, including six Americans.

Now the intelligence community was claiming the National Security Agency had played a key role in preventing Headley’s follow-up plot against a Danish newspaper in 2009.

That surprised me. In a series of stories and in the 2011 FRONTLINE documentary, A Perfect Terrorist, ProPublica had detailed multiple breakdowns in the U.S. counterterror system that allowed Headley to elude detection for years despite tips that could have prevented the attacks.

I consulted with intelligence and law enforcement sources involved in the case, and they were mystified, too.

“When I first heard that statement, I was scratching my head,” a counterterror official told me. “I was trying to figure out how N.S.A. played a role. My recollection is that it wasn’t that much at all.”

The mystery soon deepened when ProPublica gained access to a trove of Snowden’s classified materials. Suddenly a new, previously hidden layer in the story emerged, one that largely contradicted the government’s claims and revealed Mumbai as a tragic case study in the strengths and limitations of high-tech surveillance – a rare look at how counterterrorism really works.

Our reporting airs tonight in American Terrorist, a major update of the 2011 FRONTLINE film. It details the story of Headley’s eventual capture as well as the secret surveillance of Mumbai plotters that took place before and during the attacks. (We first reported some of the material in December with The New York Times.)

The Snowden documents show that, months before Mumbai, British intelligence began spying on the online communications of Zarrar Shah, a key plotter who was the technology chief for the Pakistani terror group Lashkar-e-Taiba.

Britain’s General Communications Headquarters, or GCHQ, had the ability to monitor many of Shah’s digital activities, including Web searches and emails, during weeks in which he did research on targets, handled reconnaissance data, and set up an internet phone system for the attack.

But based on documents and interviews, it appears that the British spy agency did not use its access to closely analyze data from Shah until a Lashkar attack squad invaded Mumbai on Nov. 26, 2008. Nor did the British tell the Americans they were watching Shah beforehand, despite the close alliance between GCHQ and the N.S.A.

The British data could have complemented separate chatter that the N.S.A. and C.I.A. were collecting about a potential attack on Mumbai, none of it related to Headley.

Senior U.S. intelligence officials gave us their first account of their warnings to India about a Lashkar threat to sites in Mumbai frequented by Westerners, including the Taj Mahal Palace Hotel, the eventual ground zero.

Meanwhile, Indian intelligence had separately tracked Shah’s communications before the attack, another layer of a complex international scenario.

Once the shooting started, the spy agencies went into high gear. The British realized that prior targeting of Shah gave them real-time access to the Karachi control room from which Lashkar chiefs directed the three-day siege using phones and computers.

GCHQ and N.S.A. pulled a haul of intelligence from the monitoring of Shah and others that enabled analysts to assemble a “complete operations plan” of the plot, according to an N.S.A. document. The evidence helped the Western and Indian governments push Pakistan to crack down on Lashkar.

U.S. officials emphasized that they had warned the Indians. British officials disputed the idea that they had information that could have prevented an attack; they said they would have shared such intelligence with India.

The Indian government did not respond to requests for official comment, though an official in the Intelligence Bureau, India’s counterterror service, told me his agency was not involved in monitoring Shah.

As with past failures to prevent terrorist attacks, more aggressive analysis and better intelligence-sharing could have made a difference. But high-tech spying has its limits.

“I’m not saying that the capacity to intercept the communications is not valuable,” said Charles (Sam) Faddis, a former C.I.A. counterterror chief. “Clearly that’s valuable.” Nonetheless, he added, it is a mistake to rely heavily on bulk surveillance programs in isolation.

“You’re going to waste a lot of money, you’re going to waste a lot of time,” Faddis said. “At the end, you’re going have very little to show for it.”

Headley represents another potential stream of intelligence that could have made a difference before Mumbai. He is serving 35 years in prison for his role. He was a Pakistani-American son of privilege who became a heroin addict, drug smuggler and DEA informant, then an Islamic terrorist and Pakistani spy, and finally, a prize witness for U.S. prosecutors.

In recounting that odyssey, we previously explored half a dozen missed opportunities by U.S. law enforcement to pursue tips from Headley’s associates about his terrorist activity. New reporting and analysis traces Headley’s trail of suspicious electronic communications as he did reconnaissance missions under the direction of Lashkar and Pakistan’s Inter-Services Intelligence Directorate (ISI).

Headley discussed targets, expressed extremist sentiments and raised other red flags in often brazen emails, texts and phone calls to his handlers, one of whom worked closely on the plot with Shah, the Lashkar communications chief targeted by the British.

U.S. intelligence officials disclosed to me for the first time that, after the attacks, intensified N.S.A. monitoring of Pakistan did scoop up some of Headley’s suspicious emails. But analysts did not realize he was a U.S.-based terrorist involved in the Mumbai attacks who was at work on a new plot against Denmark, officials admitted.

The sheer volume of data and his use of multiple email addresses and his original name, Daood Gilani, posed obstacles, U.S. intelligence officials said. To perfect his cover as an American businessman, Headley had legally changed his name in 2006.

“They detected a guy named ‘Gilani’ writing to bad guys in Pakistan, communicating with terror and ISI nodes,” a senior U.S. intelligence official said. “He wrote also in fluent Urdu, which drew interest. Linking ‘Gilani’ to ‘Headley’ took a long time. The N.S.A. was looking at those emails post-Mumbai. It was not clear to them who he was.”

“They hadn’t connected the dots,” the official said. “They had only some of the puzzle pieces. They needed something external, like a specific entity helping us.”

In fact, it was the FBI and Customs and Border Protection which finally zeroed in on Headley — with foreign help. FBI agents in Chicago told us the story for the first time during our reporting for the film.

On July 22, 2009, a lead landed on the desk of a youthful FBI agent named Jeremy Francis. He had joined a Chicago counterterror squad five days earlier. The tip was brief but specific: British intelligence was monitoring two suspected Al Qaeda militants in a northern city called Derby. The duo had received phone calls from a man in Chicago named David who planned to travel to meet them soon.

Francis and his partner traced the calls to a pay phone on Chicago’s north side. The agents worked with border protection analysts in Washington, D.C., who pored through flight manifests looking for passengers with the first name “David” who had imminent plans to fly Lufthansa from Chicago to Manchester via Frankfurt.

Border protection analysts whittled down the list to Headley, whom airport inspectors had questioned in the past. The FBI relayed his identity to British counterterror officers as his flight was in the air on July 25.

The British shadowed Headley in Derby. The suspected Al Qaeda men told him they couldn’t give him the $20,000, guns and volunteers he wanted for an attack on a Danish newspaper that had published cartoons of the Prophet Muhammad. European agencies monitored Headley as he traveled to Sweden and Copenhagen, where he did reconnaissance for the newspaper plot.

He came home to Chicago. FBI surveillance teams deployed. The case grew.

“At some point nearly every agent and analyst in the Chicago field office was working some aspect of this case,” Francis told us. “There were hundreds of people back in FBI headquarters that were working this case.”

Their most urgent fear: a plot in the United States. Headley’s simultaneous ties to Al Qaeda, Lashkar and Pakistan’s ISI were unprecedented.

“What’s the ISI’s role, what are they doing … is he working for them?” Robert J. Holley, the special agent in charge of the FBI’s Chicago Division, recalled thinking. “We don’t know what we have here.”

Once Headley had been identified, the N.S.A. played a role in the investigation. But our reporting showed that its contributions were more modest than the accounts offered by the intelligence community in 2013.

Senior officials had asserted that Headley’s Denmark plot was stopped by the N.S.A.’s 215 program, which involves bulk collection of U.S. phone records: date, duration, numbers called. When a White House-appointed panel reviewed the 215 program’s role in counterterrorism investigations, however, it concluded the claim was wrong.

“We are aware of no indication that bulk collection of telephone records through section 215 made any significant contribution to the David Coleman Headley investigation,” David Medine, who chaired the Privacy and Civil Liberties Oversight Board, told us in an interview.

Senior officials also had suggested that the N.S.A.’s 702 program, which collects the content of overseas emails and other communications, foiled Headley’s plot. Interviews with counterterror officials showed that, in reality, it played only a support role.

The 702 program was “a piece of the investigation” that helped to map out Headley’s overseas contacts, Holley said. But he made it clear that the N.S.A. did not crack the Denmark case or identify Headley.

“This was not a plot, though, that is discovered by that program?” I asked Holley.

“That’s correct,” he said.

In interviews about our findings, U.S. intelligence officials conceded that some of the assertions about the N.S.A.’s role in Headley’s capture were overstated, though they insisted that the agency’s work on the case was valuable.

Officials reminded me of the super-heated atmosphere after the Snowden revelations. The Obama administration was under pressure to defend secret programs that had never been discussed before. As a result, statements about Headley and other cases sometimes lacked nuance and accuracy, officials say.

“These were highly classified programs, and it took a while to analyze the benefits of the programs and to articulate them publicly,” Medine said.

Experts say portraying bulk surveillance and other intelligence programs as a magic bullet that can stop attacks is too simplistic. In reality, a mosaic of intelligence from multiple sources is usually required.

“Most threats are not detected by this kind of bulk collection alone,” said Andrew Liepman, a former deputy chief of the National Counterterrorism Center now with the Rand Corp. “Most of it is a combination of good work from the FBI, intel from human sources, and the product from N.S.A. is essential in this mix.”

The N.S.A. contributed to the massive amount of data investigators used to build a portrait of Headley during the weeks they shadowed him. As agents planned the arrest in early October of 2009, they consulted with an FBI behavioral specialist and Headley’s former DEA handler.

The assessment: Headley saw himself as a soldier. He responded with deference to authority and was likely to cooperate, as he had after past drug busts. The trick was to treat him with respect, like a worthy foe surrendering on the battlefield.

Headley was planning to leave the country again. Holley’s team decided to arrest him at O’Hare Airport after he passed through a security checkpoint. They would approach him discreetly — no drawn guns, no shouted commands, no swarm of agents in body armor.

It worked. He politely complied. The agents who escorted him to the interrogation room at the Chicago field office made his former DEA handler briefly visible. The message: time to change sides again.

Two agents, military veterans chosen for their interrogation skills, sat down with Headley. He didn’t stop talking for two weeks.

Although the communications surveillance had hinted at links to the Mumbai attacks, the agents were stunned by the extent of his role in the plot and his high-level contacts. He gave the FBI unprecedented evidence and intelligence about Al Qaeda, Lashkar and the hardest target of all, the ISI. His testimony resulted in the unprecedented U.S. indictment of a serving ISI officer, known only as Major Iqbal, for the terrorist murders of the six Americans in Mumbai.

Today, Major Iqbal and other fugitive masterminds are at large in Pakistan protected by the ISI, an intelligence service that is nominally a U.S. ally, according to Western and Indian officials and court documents. Although Pakistan arrested a few Lashkar bosses, their trial remains stalled – six years later.

In the latest display of impunity, two weeks ago Pakistani authorities released on bail Zaki ur-Rehman Lakhvi, the military chief of Lashkar.

Even the defendants behind bars are still a threat. Shah, Lashkar’s technology and communications chief, and his fellow militants continue to direct terrorist activity from the prison, according to current and former Western and Indian counterterror officials.

“They’re able to continue operating unfettered there,” said Tricia Bacon of American University, a former State Department intelligence analyst. “The control room that they once had in Karachi to oversee the Mumbai attacks they essentially now have in the prison in the middle of the military capital in Pakistan.”

That’s another reason why Headley’s story is still relevant. Justice has not been done.
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

^ sad reading, esp the last sentence. 'Justice has not been done'

Why cant the govt hire/ recruit / train professional assassins, kit them with the best weapons money can buy, and take out Hafiz Pig , Dawood and other pigs in public.

Preferably some western or east asian assassins, so that ingress and egress is simple.

Even if it costs 50 million dollars, it is chump change to send the message across that they are not safe

wasn't there a story of Invisble Pigeon while undercover met a fakir who turned out be Hindu. Cultivate some assets like those [patriots who while away their productive life inside that cesspool of a country, but could be called upon to terminate pig feed at will.]

I hope the current govt is working on some sort of solution to take out every 'famous' jihadist when they came out to raise funds.

dnivas wrote:^ sad reading, esp the last sentence. 'Justice has not been done'

Why cant the govt hire/ recruit / train professional assassins, kit them with the best weapons money can buy, and take out Hafiz Pig , Dawood and other pigs in public.

Preferably some western or east asian assassins, so that ingress and egress is simple.

Even if it costs 50 million dollars, it is chump change to send the message across that they are not safe

wasn't there a story of Invisble Pigeon while undercover met a fakir who turned out be Hindu. Cultivate some assets like those [patriots who while away their productive life inside that cesspool of a country, but could be called upon to terminate pig feed at will.]

I hope the current govt is working on some sort of solution to take out every 'famous' jihadist when they came out to raise funds.
why not start by reestablishing/reactivating the IA's Technical Support Division (TSD)

the pakis were terrified of it.

Killing Hadley in Jail is not such a difficult task. Prisoners die in US all the time. :mrgreen: With regard to others accidents etc always happen. :D

No nation will and want to accept do such things publicly. US is stupid to say that they are firing hellfires etc. They should have simply said that they do not know what is happening and deny having done anything. But Obomber and others needed to show their Mojo and started to talk rubbish about how they are firing hellfires from 30k feet etc.

Pakistan keeps proving that it is a terrorist supporting despicable nation with no shame..

Lakhvi exempted from in-person appearance in 26/11 attack case
ISLAMABAD: A Pakistani anti-terrorism court today exempted the mastermind of the 2008 Mumbai attack Zaki-ur-Rehman Lakhvi from appearing in-person after the LeT operations commander cited "serious threats to his life."

"The trial court (Anti-Terrorism Court Islamabad) has exempted Lakhvi from in person appearance in the court on security grounds," Raja Rizwan Abbasi, Lakhvi's consel, told PTI after the hearing.

"The court has admitted Lakhvi's application after the report of Islamabad Inspector General that he (Lakhvi) is facing serious threats to his life," Abbasi said.

Abbasi had filed an application in the court requesting it to exempt his client from appearing in-person in the 2008 Mumbai attack case as Lakhvi, 55, faces serious threats to his life (from a foreign intelligence agency and a Taliban wing).

"Lakhvi may be assassinated while coming to or leaving the court," Abbasi said.

"Since the trial in the Mumbai attack case began in February 2009, Lakhvi and six other suspects had been attending the proceedings inside Adiala jail (Rawalpindi) but after his release Lakhvi will now have to appear before the court on his own thus putting his life in serious danger," he said and requested the court to exempt Lakhvi from personal attendance during the hearings till the case concludes.

The ATC-Islamabad judge who held the proceedings at the Adiala Jail Rawalpindi also recorded the statements of two witnesses. The judge adjourned the hearing till tomorrow.

The Mumbai attack mastermind, who was released from Adiala Jail on April 10 on bail, has skipped appearance in the court on several occasions in the past, though the law mandates for an accused on bail to appear in a court hearing.

He was was released from Adiala Jail after the Lahore High Court suspended his detention under a security act.

The Islamabad High Court in mid April had ordered the trial court to conclude the Mumbai attack case in two months.

The two-month deadline has passed but the pace of the case had not yet picked up.

Lakhvi is living at an undisclosed location since his release.

Lakhvi and six other accused - Abdul Wajid, Mazhar Iqbal, Hamad Amin Sadiq, Shahid Jameel Riaz, Jamil Ahmed and Younis Anjum - have been charged in 2009 with planning and executing the Mumbai attack in November, 2008 that left 166 people dead.

The trial court has decided to hold the hearing twice a week - Wednesday and Thursday - to expedite the case.

Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Hua Chunying's Regular Press Conference on July 9, 2015 ……………

Q: Yesterday, Chinese President Xi Jinping met with Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Ufa. Is there any update on this meeting? Some Indian official said after the meeting that Prime Minister Modi expressed concerns about the technical hold placed by China on India's move to ask the UNSC 1267 committee to review Pakistan’s release on bail of Zakiur Rehman Lakhvi, the suspect of the Mumbai terrorist attacks. What's your comment on this?

A: Yesterday, President Xi Jinping met with Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Ufa. Relevant information has already been released. Both leaders commented positively on the sound momentum of growth of bilateral relations and further identified the key areas and future direction to enhance bilateral cooperation.

President Xi Jinping noted that in Xi'an last May, he and Prime Minister Modi reached important consensus on enriching the bilateral strategic partnership and forging a closer partnership for development. This sends a positive signal of China-India cooperation and common development to our two peoples as well as the international community. With concerted efforts by both sides, the consensus reached between the two leaders are now being translated into steady progress in bilateral cooperation on legislative institutions, railways, industrial parks and smart cities. Our two sides should make joint efforts to maintain the sound momentum of growth for bilateral relations and break new ground in pursuing win-win cooperation. Two sides should also continue to maintain frequent high-level exchanges, enhance strategic communication on all levels, complete feasibility studies on major cooperation projects as planned and develop flagship programs for China-India cooperation. Efforts shall also be made to implement the China-India cultural exchange program, step up think-tank, media and local cooperation, properly manage the differences and join hands to maintain peace and tranquility in the border areas. China and India should work together to push forward the development of the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB), the BRICS New Development Bank (NDB) and the Bangladesh-China-India-Myanmar Economic Corridor (BCIM), and explore ways to effectively connect China's Belt and Road initiatives with India's relevant development plans, in a bid to achieve mutually beneficial cooperation and common development.

Prime Minister Modi pointed out that now China and India enjoy sound growth of bilateral relations and enhanced mutual trust. High-level officials from two sides maintain close communication. Bilateral trade and economic cooperation continue to deepen in various areas as science and technology, outer space and infrastructure. India welcomes investment by more Chinese enterprises and stands ready to enhance strategic communication and coordination to properly handle the boundary question and other differences between the two countries.

As for your specific question, I’d like to say that China opposes terrorism of all forms, supports the central coordinating role of the UN in global efforts against terrorism, and actively participates in international anti-terrorist cooperation. As a permanent member of the UN Security Council, China always addresses issues related with the UNSC 1267 Committee based on facts with a fair and objective position. China has maintained close communication with all parties concerned, including India, on issues related with the UNSC 1267 Committee.

Clicky

x post - in TSP thread there was a Paki story about Pakis shooting down an Indian drone.. x posting here for the record..

Speaking of drones.. today in TSP ... (NO I am NOT making it up)..

A paki claims, in a PAKI COURT (as a witness) that his brother (Abdullah - a scum who is on trial wrt 26/11 along with Lakhvi) was killed by a :evil: drone 6 months before 26/11 :twisted: :evil:

(So this drone - could be an evidence - all that is needed for Pakis Judge to let the terrorist go free...)

Link: 26/11 attack accused killed 6 months before the assault in a drone strike: Witness

Pakistani origin Mohammadden Terrorist, Tahawwur Hussain Rana, who among other terrorist related crimes was found guilty of providing material support to the Islamic Republic of Pakistan’s State Sponsored Mohammadden Terrorist 26/11 Mumbai attack may be stripped of Canadian citizenship;

Pakistani-Canadian imprisoned over plot to decapitate newspaper employees targeted for citizenship revocation

^^^^^^ Seriously, India should get her hand on him [Tahawwur Hussain Rana].. extradite him after and transfer him to an Indian court for a trial.
R . According to the U.S. Bureau of Prisons, his scheduled release date is Dec. 28, 2021. Upon completion of his sentence, he would have likely been deported to Canada. But if his citizenship is successfully revoked, he could only be returned to Pakistan.

Never forget all these scums..

(David Headley, Tahawwur Rana, HafizSaeed, Zaki-ur-Rehman Lakhvi, second row Ilyas Kashmiri, Sajjid Majid and Abdur-Rehman )

An anguished look at 26/11 attack by

E.N. Rammohan Rao IPS Retd.

http://usiofindia.org/Article/?pub=Jour ... 4&ano=2186

7 years after 26/11: Are We Safe? Live Q&A with Sandeep Unnithan

chetak wrote:Kasuri's visit was an psy ops attempt to put the paki version of things into the Indian public discourse. He was helped by traitors like kulkarni who never bothered to place the Indian position on record but gave the false impression that kasuri was right in his blinkered one sided view.

The substance was lost in the polemics of the shiv sena's short sighted actions

Khurshid Kasuri’s flight of fancy

M. K. NARAYANAN November 5, 2015

Pakistan’s ex-Foreign Minister Kasuri presents an overly optimistic picture in his book, not only of the state of India-Pakistan relations during his tenure in office, but also of his role. Though back channel talks did make progress, official talks hardly impacted the bilateral ties

Khurshid Mahmud Kasuri, the Foreign Minister of Pakistan from 2002 till 2007, was recently in the news (while in India) for the launch of his book Neither a Hawk nor a Dove: An Insider’s Account of Pakistan’s Foreign Policy. This had less to do with the contents of the publication, and more with extraneous circumstances.

M.K. Narayanan Kashmir takes up a preponderantly large amount of space in this dissertation on Pakistan’s foreign policy. The narrative confirms the centrality of Kashmir in its relations with India, though Mr. Kasuri avoids referring to Kashmir as the unfinished business of Partition. He makes clear that he disagrees with India’s stand that there are only two parties to the Kashmir dispute, viz. India and Pakistan, and reiterates Pakistan’s demand to include the third stakeholder, viz. the Kashmiris, in negotiations.
No new ideas on Kashmir

While chronicling events, the author offers no new ideas on how to solve the dispute, which by now has the dubious distinction of being the longest-standing border dispute in the world. Unwavering adherence to old, stereotypical thinking on Kashmir among higher echelons in Pakistan suggests that there is little scope for an early settlement of the Kashmir dispute.

Mr. Kasuri presents an overly optimistic picture not only of the state of India-Pakistan relations during his tenure in office, but also of his role. By 2001, some of the hostility generated by the Kargil conflict (1999) had begun to dissipate. Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s invitation to President Pervez Musharraf to visit Agra for talks (2001) seemed to augur well for an improvement in relations. The failure of the talks was a setback. Worse was to follow, with Pakistan-based terrorists carrying out an attack on the Indian Parliament in December that year, and India mobilising its troops on the border in 2002. It was not till Prime Minister Vajpayee took the initiative in 2004 to visit Islamabad that some measure of cordiality was restored.

The 2004 Joint Statement between the Indian Prime Minister and the Pakistani President was significant in that Pakistan agreed that it would not allow its territory to be used to support terrorism against India. (It is another matter that the agreement was breached almost immediately, as demonstrated by successive waves of terrorist attacks on Indian targets during 2005-2008). The Joint Statement also called for a revival of the Composite Dialogue (first mooted by Prime Minister I.K. Gujral in 1997). Proposals for confidence-building measures in Kashmir were also mooted.

Despite the fact that the pendulum often swung between the extremes of comprehensive engagement and almost-complete disengagement, bilateral talks were never off the table. Part of the reason for this was that Prime Ministers Vajpayee and Manmohan Singh maintained cordial relations with their Pakistani counterparts, viz. Presidents Musharraf and Asif Ali Zardari, and Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani.

Accusations against India

However, this hardly meant that the atmosphere was warm. In his book, Mr. Kasuri accuses India of “wanting to calibrate the dialogue process in accordance with its own priorities, and mistaking Pakistan’s flexibility for weakness”. He also highlights the irreconcilable differences between the two countries over Kashmir, with India preferring the “status quo” as the basis for a solution to the Kashmir dispute, while Pakistan believing that a solution was possible only by revising the “status quo”.

Propping up the separatist All Parties Hurriyat Conference (APHC) in Jammu and Kashmir was a deliberate and highly-provocative move on Pakistan’s part to queer the pitch regarding a negotiated settlement. Inviting them to Pakistan, and holding discussions on the possible contours of a resolution to the Kashmir dispute, together with wooing hard-line Hurriyat leaders like Syed Ali Shah Geelani, could have only one end result.

A great deal separates India and Pakistan, and this goes well beyond the dispute over Kashmir. During recent decades, terrorism has been the main weapon wielded by Pakistan to try to ‘bleed India through a thousand cuts’, and reflects Pakistan’s penchant for perilous risk-taking. During Mr. Kasuri’s tenure as Foreign Minister, and despite the solemn assurance contained in the Joint Statement, the ambit of terrorist attacks further expanded, extending to different parts of India.

Mr. Kasuri’s narrative glosses over the impact that such attacks — including the 2006 Mumbai suburban train attacks (in which over 200 persons were killed) and the November 26, 2008 attack on multiple targets in Mumbai (in which over 170 persons were killed) — had on India-Pakistan relations. Instead, he delivers a homily on how statements by Indian officials critical of Pakistani role in these attacks adversely affect India-Pakistan relations.

The period of improved India-Pakistan relations that Mr. Kasuri waxes eloquent about also coincided with the period when Pakistan was engaged in creating the “Indian Mujahideen” which was to be ‘Pakistan’s proxy’ to ‘wage war against India’. The ‘Karachi Project’, conceived by the ISI during this period, involved training disaffected Muslim youth from India to be sent back to India to carry out terror attacks. Mr. Kasuri can hardly feign ignorance, for very recently his former President acknowledged Pakistan’s role in backing and supporting the Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT).

At times, Mr. Kasuri seems to confuse between official-level talks and ‘back channel’ negotiations when he talks of the forward movement taking place. The official-level Composite Dialogue/Comprehensive Dialogue Process after their revival in 2004 witnessed little forward movement during this period.

Obfuscatory approach

Even summit-level talks hardly yielded results. On occasions during summit meetings between Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and President Musharraf, attempts were made by Pakistan to obfuscate issues so as to put India at a disadvantage. In April 2005, during the meeting in Delhi between President Musharraf and Prime Minister Singh, Pakistan tried to circumvent India’s insistence on ground-level authentication in the Siachen sector by proposing the use of sensors and aerial monitoring. India resisted this, being aware of Pakistan’s earlier perfidy on the Siachen Glacier.

On another occasion in September 2005, even as India and Pakistan were talking peace on the sidelines of United Nations General Assembly, President Musharraf made a blistering attack on India on the Kashmir issue. In his book, Mr. Kasuri provides an ingenuous explanation for this speech, stating that the President had no idea of what was contained in his brief as it had been prepared by an official of Pakistan’s Permanent Mission in New York.

The back channel negotiations between Satish Lambah, India’s unofficial envoy, and Tariq Aziz, his Pakistani counterpart, did show greater promise. They helped facilitate the Srinagar-Muzaffarabad bus service. They also facilitated the decision to move the military into the barracks in all urban and populated areas.

The back channel negotiations were premised on replicating the ‘European model’ — as adapted to Kashmir — of ‘soft borders’ as against a redrawing of borders, and on making the boundary between the two parts of Kashmir irrelevant. The idea was to pave the way for better communication and contact between Kashmiri people on both sides of the LoC, and, at a later date, graduate to a coordinated consultative mechanism, progressive removal of tariff and non-tariff barriers and opening of more trade routes. To create the proper climate, on the Indian side, a series of Round Tables with stakeholders in Jammu and Kashmir were organised. All this was, however, contingent on an end to hostility, violence and terrorism.

Mr. Kasuri has been voluble, both in his narrative and in public, about so-called details of back channel negotiations. This is intriguing, since the details were closely held, and the Foreign Offices and Foreign Ministers on both sides were kept out of the loop. Mr. Kasuri, however, claims that the Pakistani side was periodically kept informed of the progress achieved.

A word on what Mr. Kasuri terms as the “McCain episode”. The reference is to U.S. Senator John McCain, seeking his opinion on Pakistan’s possible reaction to a limited air attack by India on Muridke (headquarters of the Lashkar-e-Taiba). The entire matter seems rather bizarre and it may be useful to set the record straight. Despite many fanciful and speculative versions of what India contemplated following the November 26, 2008 terrorist attacks, the fact is that India was against any knee-jerk reaction leading to random killings. It, hence, did not contemplate any form of retaliation such as bombing of civilian targets in Pakistan.

(M.K. Narayanan is India’s former National Security Advisor and former Governor of West Bengal.)

7th anniversary.

Pakistan is still sending in terrorists

Pakistan is still training terrorists

I continue to repost this video of what the ba%tards did. Please watch and remember what was done in the name of Islam
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QehgTIOmkmQ

Looking for the following men preferably dead.

Hafiz Muhammad Saeed
Zaki-ur-Rehman Lakhvi
Yusuf Muzammil
Zara Shah
Hamad Ameen Sadiq
Abu Hamza
Khafa
Muhammad Ashraf

dont forget the ISI head honchos of the time.

I pray for the well being of the families of everyone affected by that dastardly attack by scumbags. We will never forget the victims and the bravery of our police and soldiers. Thank you Shiv sir for posting that video again.