Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Telangana Monitor

May be the nation press has not reported as it is busy filling Paga3 news. The local Telugy papers and Tv are full of the loot taking by YSR and Sonia criminal gang. He may be popular because he is a strong leader. But everyone knows that he looted and supplied to Italian Mafia huge amounts. Every one in congress was allowed to loot in all the manners and it was leterally free for all. So it is not a suprise to any one.

the loot generated by YSR and his sycophants in AP was enough for INC to win in 2009. most of their funding money across the country came from AP. even the never before heard of "Marketing Minister" during YSR's rule is supposed to have netted close to 100 crores in cash assets and much more in real estate and hard assets in the 5 year period from '04 to YSR's death...

what to say of the true power shakers and movers in AP INC like Lagadapati, etc. my estimate is that men like Lagada amassed at least 500 crores during YSR's era. this figure doesn't include the personal favors he might have pulled for his own local cronies and family, friends, etc...

arunsrinivasan wrote:So much for the "Messiah" http://www.indianexpress.com/news/graft ... e/846643/0

How unfortunate is it that we need to depend on the diplomatic cables to learn about corruption while our own media remains blind to it.
It may not be so unfortunate as per civilized understanding viz Amrikuns who knew this all along and let it be so, unlike immediate red flag to NaMo for HR violation reports. In global village, the heathens are in minority and in penury.

a good benchmark is that from now on, if you see "official" declarations against certain sections of India from the Western press, especially US, then it means that these sections are hurting or could possibly hurt in the future, the interests of the US.

of course, that can't be the only parameter, b/c sooner or later, it could become a route for reverse-disinformation...but for now, it is a good benchmark.
pramodkumarca

Post by pramodkumarca »

Where united Andhra supports are?
May be afraid to see so called united telangana – you all will see formation of telangana soon as this T-strike is so successful
Many of my friend in this forum has tried to say that is just a creation and it is not a people movement now where are this people – hiding? –now wrap up your belonging as you will be thrown away from telangana and Hyderabad

pramodkumarca wrote:Where united Andhra supports are?
May be afraid to see so called united telangana – you all will see formation of telangana soon as this T-strike is so successful
Many of my friend in this forum has tried to say that is just a creation and it is not a people movement now where are this people – hiding? –now wrap up your belonging as you will be thrown away from telangana and Hyderabad
How is it that people will be 'thrown away'? Could you elaborate please.

:rotfl: we are busy wrapping up our belongings.

pramodkumarca wrote:–now wrap up your belonging as you will be thrown away from telangana and Hyderabad
fire in the hole ...

It Telangana is not created it is because of people like u sir. Every one knows if congress feels that it is going to benefit by division of AP it will do it. If it does not benefit by division it will not do it. Any amount of agitations or no agitations will not create Telangana

>>now wrap up your belonging as you will be thrown away from telangana and Hyderabad

What a noble sentiment, sir. Do you stand by these threats that are criminal and unconstitutional in nature? Thanks for proving your critics' point more effectively than they could have hoped to do.

Bitter feelings will only get more bitter if this issue is not resolved; from my vantage point I have always been a big advocate of division of states. What is noteworthy is it has worked well for each of the new one's which were created and in more than one instance it has sort of lead to a healthy competition amidst the neighboring states for eg. Bihar, jharkhand and UP and Uttarakhand. As I see things the only advantage of bigger states is a big treasury and more money at the disposal of the gobmint to launder; a division would mean in theory there are chances of a least one of them being governed better.
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Negi-ji
Your comment misses the nuances of the current issue. This is unlike the issues with creation of J'khand, C'garh, U'khand etc. Here for the first time we have a demand from a part of the state that has the state Capital! Another issue is the amount of aggression being shown with curse words like 'settler' and 'robber'(dochukunnaru) being thrown in liberally. That is asking for 60yrs of investing the states resources in the capital in one go! My own grandparents moved in from the coastal areas in search of better jobs and opportunities that were available only in the capital which was Hyderabad. When AP was formed, Hyderabad became the Big Apple for the Andhraite an everyone flocked there. Govt offices were setup in Hyderabad, industries were incentivized to move here at the cost of the rest of the state. Naturally people moved in from everywhere. Now afterall that isnt it unfair to call them settlers suddenly? And what is the perceived evil these settlers have done? The relative backwardness of the rest of the T-districts. Statistics have proved this claim to be the exact opposite. Coastal districts like Guntur and Nellore lost out to T-districts like Medak and R-Reddy due to the new Capital.
While your assessment what small states are more beneficial to the nation may have its merits it misses an important point vis-a-vis Telangana. When a smaller state is carved out the security apparatus becomes weaker and a large influx of Naxals cannot be countered by a small Telangana police force as opposed to a larger AP Police force.

The T-issue is much deeper. 2 most important factors which consistently anger T-vadis are:

1. lack of proper irrigation infra, even after 60 years, which can keep some of the water from flowing into low-lying Coastal areas.
2. the perceived, whether real or imagined, disrespect shown by Coastals for the dialect spoken in T.

the above 2 issues make it emotional and bitter at the same time.

There is no hard and fast rule sir. True that small states can be better administered. At the same time there is also a danger that small states may not stable like Goa or can not take on threats like Naxals and will be creating caste based rule like Huryana. No one can object if a national level policy on how the states are to be organized and the policy is implemented. But at present the same is not there. Various reasons given for division of AP are also applicable to other states and areas like Vidhrbha. But no one is seriously talking about them. Gurkhaland demand is there for about 100 years. No one seriously ready to give that state.

Further this argument that entire non Telnagana Telugu people are evil people and should be ethnically cleansed from Telangana area is being openly advocated and no one objects for that. Funny thing is families of KCR and Vijayashanthi ( I am not sure of her family origin, but they are not from Telangana) both MP's are not even from Telangana area. Should we accept this ethnic cleansing or not is the question. We have Kashmiri pundits before our eyes. There will be millions who will be attacked and driven out their homes by KCR and his neo Razakar gangs if they are allowed to have their run. I have no faith in present UPA that they will try to prevent it. At present they are afraid because of possible election fallout in rest of AP and similar problems all around India. Otherwise they will not mind even if the neo Ruzakars take over Telangana
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

devesh wrote:The T-issue is much deeper. 2 most important factors which consistently anger T-vadis are:

1. lack of proper irrigation infra, even after 60 years, which can keep some of the water from flowing into low-lying Coastal areas.
2. the perceived, whether real or imagined, disrespect shown by Coastals for the dialect spoken in T.

Devesh
Not sure point 1 will be solved with the formation of Telangana as they can still only lay claim to 50% of the Krishna flowing in current AP as the River will be the southern border for the T-state. As for Godavari, if T is formed the northern banks of the river upto Venkatapuram in Khammam will go to the Andhra state as this was historically part of that region and was included in Khamman only on administrative grounds. In that case here too T gets only 50% of the water of the segment of the river that forms the border. Tribunals will be formed and sharing controversies will erupt frequently but the rivers will continue their flow into the coastal districts.

right now, the % that flows into Coastal is higher. I have been searching for "official" stats here, but can't find them. the high flow into these areas is one of the reasons why flooding is a major threat into some coastal areas. even if T gets only 50%, once it becomes the law that T gets that share, then clearly that 50% will be utilized to the fullest extent. right now, it's not being done. just using that 50% share is enough solve the extreme poverty circumstances in T.

irrigation/water projects which keep T's share of water in T will go a long way in recovering agriculture. this is absolutely necessary. without this, T or AP or Deccan can never "recover".
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Devesh
The real reason T cannot utilize the rivers fully is not the 'exploitation by the coastal/seema peoples' it is more to do with geography and geology. It is simply economically impracticable for damming these rivers and lifting its waters up the plateau in the T-region. . Till such time that technological progress makes it practical T must wait. This is exactly why they must see the setting up of Hyd as capital as the best thing to happen to the region. The barrenness of the region will not allow agri to thrive as in coastal and delta areas so the next best thing is to attract other non-agri intensive industries to the area which is exactly what Hyd achieved. Horses for courses
Methinks AP formation was infact the best thing to happen to the suppressed lands under the Nizam's yolk. They not only connected back to their roots but also had the kind of all round development that was impossible with the Nizams. In fact some parts of the region(Medak, Ranga Reddy, Nalgonda) have out-paced parts of the agri-rich areas of coastal AP an Seema in my spheres. The people found voice and the by now outdated communist mindset had given way to an entrepreneurial zeal that can be born only in regions of aggressive development like Hyderabad city. Suddenly out of the bag is pulled out this T-agitation by vested interests and every semblance of growth in the entire state is ground to a halt.
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

One thing that gets my goat on this issue..
When a river is flowing for hundreds of kilometers before joining the sea there will be all kind of different regions that it will pass thru. Some of the regions will have favourable geography to exploit the river and some will not. The best thing to do is to have a horses for courses policy and do what is best for the country or region within the given limitations. Making Telangana an industrial hub and the delta regions a rice bowl was the best thing to do. What exactly is the gripe here about exacting rations from the river waters? What to say if after the formation of T-state Khammam will not complain that Adilabad is using up more water than its share or pi$$ing into the river more than Warangal? It can forther be broken down to an upstream village complaining about a downstream village..where will this end?

Lifting water for irrigation purpose for is not viable. I worked on the water supply project for Bangalore earlier and can tell you the power cost is prohibitive. You can not get such returns to make water lifting an option. Further we need to remember power expenditure is going to be a recurring one year after year. We dont have such power production also. Yet this water stealing argument and hurling insults will continue.
Vashishtha

Post by Vashishtha »

my domestic servant is from Andhra and is a strong T-vadi... Now I don't understand the T issue in detail so I asked him how he feels about it..
According to him People from the telangana region are discriminated against by the rest of the Andhra people. They don have roads, education/health infrastructure and proper irrigation facilities.. Whenever they try to complaint about this to the AP government their voices get thrashed.. He alleges a racial discrimination of sorts against the T people.. The coastal's and other districts of AP get all the good stuff whereas they are left to feed on the crumbs... Also Hyderabad MUST go to telangana according to him..
AND THE MOST IMPORTANT PART: Congress is 'SOOOPER-EVIL' for all telangana people...

Congress for 4 time more seats than TRS in the last elections. The won 11 of 17 MP seats from that area. So they are not super evil. With regard to infrastructure etc you can read Justice Krishna Committee report.
milindc

Post by milindc »

devesh wrote:right now, the % that flows into Coastal is higher. I have been searching for "official" stats here, but can't find them. the high flow into these areas is one of the reasons why flooding is a major threat into some coastal areas. even if T gets only 50%, once it becomes the law that T gets that share, then clearly that 50% will be utilized to the fullest extent. right now, it's not being done. just using that 50% share is enough solve the extreme poverty circumstances in T.

irrigation/water projects which keep T's share of water in T will go a long way in recovering agriculture. this is absolutely necessary. without this, T or AP or Deccan can never "recover".
You can't irrigate the Deccan plateau without Lift Irrigation. The basic calculation (based on an existing project) is 2L per acre in setup cost of irrigation project, and about 5K per acre per year in Electricity costs. Any farmer will be better if Govt just subsidies him that amount rather than go for farming.
The whole scheme and the accompanying rhetoric that water flows to coastal areas is plain and simple dumb.
If it was so simple, the water would have been blocked long time back. The Godavari and Krishna rivers flow 600m (not feet) below the Deccan plateau.
pramodkumarca

Post by pramodkumarca »

Narayana Rao wrote:
It Telangana is not created it is because of people like u sir. Every one knows if congress feels that it is going to benefit by division of AP it will do it. If it does not benefit by division it will not do it. Any amount of agitations or no agitations will not create Telangana
you cannot stop any people movement if congres do not give up it will vanish from Telangana - why cannot you also stop this T-movement ... ****** like you will be thrown away that is of sure... i will not repend even mod going to ban me ---

SandeepA wrote:Negi-ji
Your comment misses the nuances of the current issue. This is unlike the issues with creation of J'khand, C'garh, U'khand etc. Here for the first time we have a demand from a part of the state that has the state Capital!
Comment does, but I am aware how these issues unfold; the demand for Hyderabad to be included in the new state is another topic it's more of a demarcation of the border type of a thing; it has happened when Uttarakhand was carved out with tussle for Udhamsinghnagar and Haridwar. The elites and fat cats of Udhmasinghnagar did not want to join the new state as land reforms would have forced them to give up on acres of land. As for Haridwar UP did not wan't to give it up as it was an important tourist destination. Eventually both went to Uttarakhand. I am not saying Telangana should get to keep Hyderabad, but I am definitely for the formation of a new state.
Another issue is the amount of aggression being shown with curse words like 'settler' and 'robber'(dochukunnaru) being thrown in liberally. That is asking for 60yrs of investing the states resources in the capital in one go! My own grandparents moved in from the coastal areas in search of better jobs and opportunities that were available only in the capital which was Hyderabad. When AP was formed, Hyderabad became the Big Apple for the Andhraite an everyone flocked there. Govt offices were setup in Hyderabad, industries were incentivized to move here at the cost of the rest of the state. Naturally people moved in from everywhere. Now afterall that isnt it unfair to call them settlers suddenly? And what is the perceived evil these settlers have done? The relative backwardness of the rest of the T-districts. Statistics have proved this claim to be the exact opposite. Coastal districts like Guntur and Nellore lost out to T-districts like Medak and R-Reddy due to the new Capital.
You seem to be reading too much into the language and words they imho only are a reflection of frustration of people on ground. The rest of the part about Hyderabad is nothing different from say the Bangalore or even Mumbai . Whether Telangana be formed or not has little to do with inclusion of Hyderabad city, eventually compromises would have to be made by either sides.
While your assessment what small states are more beneficial to the nation may have its merits it misses an important point vis-a-vis Telangana. When a smaller state is carved out the security apparatus becomes weaker and a large influx of Naxals cannot be countered by a small Telangana police force as opposed to a larger AP Police force.
This is simply not true; may be during the transition there might be issues with regards to ramping up the state machinery but in the long run a smaller state will always be better equipped to handle such things. Also what do you mean by influx of naxals they are already there within India ? I think your fears are unfounded .

Right now as I see things this issue is only putting a huge spanner in the works as far as the development or even policy making in the state of AP is concerned; it's in larger interest of everyone to take it to it's logical conclusion and a new state be created. There is little space for sentiments when it comes to running a state/country.

Narayana Rao wrote:There is no hard and fast rule sir. True that small states can be better administered. At the same time there is also a danger that small states may not stable like Goa or can not take on threats like Naxals and will be creating caste based rule like Huryana.
Goa is one of the well administered states in India, the quality of life in general and crime scene is at a very acceptable level. Naxal problem is a long standing issue it cannot be addressed overnight and imho has little to do with formation of new state for it's not like AP as a state is doing very well fighting the Naxals.
No one can object if a national level policy on how the states are to be organized and the policy is implemented. But at present the same is not there. Various reasons given for division of AP are also applicable to other states and areas like Vidhrbha. But no one is seriously talking about them. Gurkhaland demand is there for about 100 years. No one seriously ready to give that state.
Telangana is a much larger region and the demand for new state has gained significant traction amongst the electorate that is why every political party makes it an election issue during polls; once people on ground themselves want a separate region within the republic of India I simply don't see any merit in the argument of the naysayers. They are not making demands to secede from India.
Further this argument that entire non Telnagana Telugu people are evil people and should be ethnically cleansed from Telangana area is being openly advocated and no one objects for that. Funny thing is families of KCR and Vijayashanthi ( I am not sure of her family origin, but they are not from Telangana) both MP's are not even from Telangana area. Should we accept this ethnic cleansing or not is the question.
You guys are reading too much into this; name calling and such rhetoric will fly when demands will not be met all shall return to normal once the political hot air is released .

Negi, the governance argument cannot not make sense and should be considered in all seriousness. Buts thats not the platform and agument made by the Telangana proponents. They have shifted and weaved when trying to understand what it was they were looking for. And no, not just random folks venting, like one gent on this forum, but just look at the utterings of the top echelon of the Telangana front. They might have rallied and sounded off with the telangana cry as nothing more than a political opportunity, but the subsequent monster they have created and the scent of blood they are using to rally it further is scary. The folks being played are just cannon fodder.

pramodkumarca wrote:you cannot stop any people movement if congres do not give up it will vanish from Telangana - why cannot you also stop this T-movement ... ****** like you will be thrown away that is of sure... i will not repend even mod going to ban me ---
Take it easy mister. BRF doesn't seem to be right forum for you. TRS and T-Congress are looking for fresh recruits to make even more spectacular display.

negi wrote:
This is simply not true; may be during the transition there might be issues with regards to ramping up the state machinery but in the long run a smaller state will always be better equipped to handle such things. Also what do you mean by influx of naxals they are already there within India ? I think your fears are unfounded .

Right now as I see things this issue is only putting a huge spanner in the works as far as the development or even policy making in the state of AP is concerned; it's in larger interest of everyone to take it to it's logical conclusion and a new state be created. There is little space for sentiments when it comes to running a state/country.
Naxal issue is minor. It is an issue as far as government is concerned- looking at 8th Chapter of Srikrishna report and Governor's objections. It is less of an issue from people's argument (resources, jobs, Hyderabad) point of view.

If the divsion of country into smaller states for better administration, it is what the non-T peopel are countering the division with - bring in national policy or another SRC to better divide the country.

As far as T is concerned it is to play sentiments to gain control of T resources and money to be exploited by a few folks. It is laden with political opportunism.

Government is arguing one thing. Peoples are arguing one thing. Leaders are arguing one thing. And real reasons for recent movement are none of them.

SandeepA wrote:Devesh

Methinks AP formation was infact the best thing to happen to the suppressed lands under the Nizam's yolk. They not only connected back to their roots but also had the kind of all round development that was impossible with the Nizams.

liberation from Nizam was long overdue and a welcome step.

as for the "returning to the roots" part, this is where it gets tricky. language was the one "unifier" of Telangana and Coastal areas. but the variation of dialect put a spanner in this too.

geographically, Telangana is much more similar to North Karnataka, Vidarbha, and Chattisgarh. there is a fundamental dissonance in the thinking of Coastal AP and T. and I am not saying this lightly. the fertile regions of the East and the arid areas of T have completely different orientation in terms of priorities and socio-political thinking.

it might be rash on my part to reach this conclusion, b/c my own thinking on this has not fully evolved.
So, I'm open to changing my mind if someone convinces me. the way I see it, the objectives and needs of Telangana have now become so divergent from Coastal areas that segregation is needed.

devesh wrote:The T-issue is much deeper. 2 most important factors which consistently anger T-vadis are:

Devesh garu,

On Point 2; I was listening to the songs in various "Telangana" movies and found the language to be very similar to the rest of Andhra.

There are there dialects (when it comes to movie songs) in Telugu
- the traditional Telugu: simple yet Sanskritised Telugu
- Red Telugu: the language of maoists (reminds one of old communist movies)
- tribal Telugu: the dialects used by various tribal groups (oggu katha, etc)

The Telangana yasa (dialect?) came into Telugu movies only recently. Before that the villains and comedians used various andhra dialects.

negi wrote: Whether Telangana be formed or not has little to do with inclusion of Hyderabad city, eventually compromises would have to be made by either sides.
I hope you are right about this one, but I think you are simplifying the situation too much without realizing some ground realities. It is what happens when you apply one 'bizness' model to all situations. Let me know if you have heard *any* Telengana leader even hint that not having Hyd. is of no consequence. And please dont say 'this is merely a negotiating position'. Keeping Hyd within Telangana is a lot more than that. Nowhere else have I heard of talk about settlers and outsiders. India has had several state divisions in the last decade. In which of these have they discussed chasing out 'outsiders'. If your position is that this is merely rhetoric and things will quiten down, I think you are mistaken. You seem very confident that our own promodkumarca is either an overly excited T-vadi, or in the minority.
Last edited by SriKumar on 19 Sep 2011 03:10, edited 1 time in total.

the language isn't different. T people understand Coastals and Coastals understand T people. the sticky issue starts with the perceived feeling of insults/derision for Telangana yaasa (way of speaking?).

how about Telangana joined with North Karnataka? or Vidarbha+Telangana duo? or Vidarbha+Chattisgarh & Telangana+North Karnataka???

I'm fantasizing here. :P
Last edited by devesh on 19 Sep 2011 03:18, edited 1 time in total.

Narayana Rao wrote:Lifting water for irrigation purpose for is not viable. I worked on the water supply project for Bangalore earlier and can tell you the power cost is prohibitive. You can not get such returns to make water lifting an option. Further we need to remember power expenditure is going to be a recurring one year after year. We dont have such power production also. Yet this water stealing argument and hurling insults will continue.
I can understand this 10-15 years ago but I think it should be economical in the current scenario. There are different aspects to this

1. Driking water: every Telangana village must have access to clean driking water irrespective of the cost. If they can get water to Hyderabad needs, they should be able to do it for rest of Telangana.

2. Agricultural purposes: Has two parts. In the first part, GoAP should be able to setup say 3000MW renewable power sources (30-50,000 crores out of 1Lakh crore Jalayajnam budget) and use them to pump water during the rainy season, thus saving some of wastage in to BoB. The current projects don't need to suffer in this approach. The second part is that during summer days the power generation can be used for industrial purposes. Like Ramanaji said (we put some links in this thread) some of Jalayajnam projects try to do this except thru non-renewable energy.

3. Modernization of Agri industry - It is stupid to expect Telangana to have same water-intensive crops as in costa. GoAP should educate and support water conserving industrial crops in Telangana region. Perhaps they could do something like I proposed in alternative budget scenarios. With that 50,000 crore budget they could have permanently alleviated 1crore telangna farmers in this administration alone covering ~5crore acres.

4. Andhra people buying t-agri lands before starting a project. This is a real issue. I think there is lot of truth in this allegation. Someone with 1acre land in andhra sells it for 10 Lakhs and buys 10-20 acres land in Telangana. This is not fair. There is a song about this in Poru Telangana movie - Ayyoniva neevu Ammoniva. It is very sad. How to solve this, I do not know; perhaps a moratorium on t-farming land sales until some of these projects are completed?

devesh wrote:the language isn't different. T people understand Coastals and Coastals understand T people. the sticky issue starts with the perceived feeling of insults/derision for Telangana yaasa (way of speaking?).
Is this true. I can understand someone joking about one's yasa but is it really serious? There many jokes between Krishna-Gunter, West and East Godavari districts etc... But that is considered affectionate leg-pulling.

I haven't seen anyone making racist comments about T-dialect in the past 20 years.

I think this is manufactured perception by T-Vadis, which might have had some non-racist jovial background.

devesh wrote:the language isn't different. T people understand Coastals and Coastals understand T people. the sticky issue starts with the perceived feeling of insults/derision for Telangana yaasa (way of speaking?).P
devesh garu, genuine question: have you heard the Telengana Ramayanam, and if so, was it funny or offensive or both?

never heard of it before. what is it?

devesh wrote:never heard of it before. what is it?
It is Ramayanaman as narrated in Telengana yaasa but with some embellishments to the story/script to make it like a comedy. Google search should get you mp3s. Perhaps it is not as widely known as I had imagined (I had heard it in Hyd.) but versions of it have been available for sale. I do not know who the narrator is but would like to know.

Sir, List irrigation for Huge areas is not viable for crops likes Paddy. If intensive water management and dry crops may be solution. But even the dry crops and better water management may not give sufficient returns to justify the costs. Cost of not just initial project but for year after year power cost. One more thing is the power production. Is there sufficient Power production at present or can we produce such quantity in near future. Even now there is no power in most of the AP during normal seasons and irrigation suffers like anything even now. Existing free power just killed the power production and distribution in AP. With huge subsidy for power and all other things, presently there is no money even to pay 108 services.

Is there any estimation projects say - Panahitha Chevella and how much Power is needed for that? For example - We are lifting and transporting was for 100 Km from Kavery to Bangalore. every normal household in Bangalore pays 300 to 400 per month. Then how much it will cost to pay for cultivate an acre in similar situation or even in more favorable situation.

Narayana Rao garu,

so what do you suggest? that Telangana should commiserate its geography and develop a self flagellating mentality that T will never develop?
this is the same argument that you've used before, several months ago. The project costs are too prohibitive, etc therefore, it is perfectly ok to starve T.....it is this kind of thinking that gives credibility to T-vadis when they say that "Circars are ruthless exploiters who don't care how much they hurt T's people".

I'm sorry if that hurts you, but the argument that "it is too costly or unpractical >> always like this onlee >> better get used to it >> too bad, tough luck" is absolutely disgusting.
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Devesh
No one is suggesting T should starve. Please do not attempt to derail the argument here.
If getting water from the rivers is unsustainable due to geography whats the other option for development? The answer is to develop industries that are not as dependent on water. That is city based economies and that is EXACTLY what we did by making Hyderabad the capital and incentivizing other industries to move there !! The result - Hyderabad, Medak, Ranga Reddy, Nalgonda etc developed at an incredible pace far far out-pacing the Circar lands. Can any other arid part of the country boast of such a solution? So the argument that the united state did nothing for T falls flat. Its just the vested interests who are whipping up a frenzy by shifting focus to water management. If this argument is valid then the coastal areas can also complain that a far greater injustice was done to them by not making one of their cities the capital. Honestly there is no end to this if the arguments stoop to this level.