Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Telangana Monitor

Jamaat-e-Islami holds massive public meet for Telangana
Muslim group Jamaat-e-Islami Hind (JIH) on Sunday held a massive public meeting here, supporting the demand for statehood to Telangana
region. Thousands of Muslims, including burqa-clad women and girls, attended the meet.

Even as Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM), the key Muslim political party in the region is keeping mum on the issue, the JIH joined the movement for separate state by holding the meeting at Nizam College Grounds here.

The Andhra Pradesh and Orissa unit of JIH and its frontal organisations like Movement for Peace and Justice (MPJ), Students Islamic Organisation (SIO) and Girls Islamic Organisation (GIO) held the meeting attended by thousands of Muslims from Hyderabad and nine other districts of the region.

Burqa-clad women and girls in large numbers attended the meeting, addressed by leaders of various political parties and groups fighting for Telangana state.

This is the first time that a Muslim group has come out to organise a public meeting for Telangana. Various pro-Telangana Muslim organisations supported the JIH.

Addressing the meeting, Jamaat leaders said they decided to support the Telangana movement as it was a movement for rights and justice for the region neglected ever since it was merged with Andhra in 1956 to form Andhra Pradesh.

JIH Andhra Pradesh and Orissa zone president Malik Moatasim Khan said successive governments neglected the region in basic sectors like education, employment, irrigation and industries though many promises were made for its development at the time of merger.

He, however, said the Jamaat was for a peaceful movement and wanted lives and properties of people of all the regions to be protected.

"After seeing burqa-clad Muslim sisters coming out in such large numbers, I have no doubt that Telangana will become a reality," revolutionary balladeer Gaddar said.

MIM, which has one parliamentarian and seven legislators in Hyderabad, has not spelt out its stand on the demand for Telangana state. The party said it would express its opinion during the consultation process to be launched by the government.

Muslims constitute about 13 per cent of nearly 35 million population of Telangana. They are nine per cent of Andhra Pradesh's total population of about 80 million.
TRS chief promises quota for Muslims
Mr. Rao assured that a special provision in Constitution would be invoked, as was done by Tamil Nadu government, to extend reservation to Muslims in education and employment.

They would get the reservations proportionate to their population which was 13 per cent to 15 per cent in Telangana.

The TRS chief also promised a budget for welfare of Muslims based on their population.

He appealed to the Muslims to shed self-defeatism and assert themselves in separate Telangana.

It is sad that these politicians treat IMs as vote banks that can be bought with reservations. In the process they are insulting IMs and keeping them separated from mainstream India.
anuj

Post by anuj »

Everyone waiting for TOR. Suspicion mainly focused on the ambiguity of semantics used in TOR and that it stays true to the dec 9th statement.

But anuj even Dec 9th statement speaks only a process has started. It also speaks about the Assembly resolution. Do you want to take one sentence of the statement and reject second sentence. From where we are going to get a resolution of the assembly now. With all the rubbish you people have hurled on other people you made them so angry you are not going to get any support from them for any resolution which is going to KCR and his gang heros. We all know that any resolution in Assembly is going to be defeated.

If you what a committee is for the formation of a state and the terms of referece are limited to the modalities for that. Then what about the consultaions and hearing all the sides and all that rubbish from Chindu later on. uch committee will be automatically rejected by all the non telangana people.

Let us be clear you want to achive something then you need to be careful how you go about it. You dont insult majority in the state time and again call them all kinds of names and then expect them to support you. Any amount of effort and agitations from KCR and his naxal frinds is going to yeild any positive response.

The great bad luck of Telangana people is their leaders earlier they have people like Chenna reddy and now they have KCR. These leaders are nothing more than cheats and look for their own profits.

Slightly OT here; but more AP folks visit this thread so I pose my question here. AP seems to be one of the states that was involved with GMO crops. Maharashtra was another prominent state. There has been controversy over the farmer suicides with both pro and anti-gmo folks using that to prove their point.

Looks like initially AP government resisted GMO crops, but latter had to relent because of farmer pressures. Do people know little more on this? TIA.
anuj

Post by anuj »

There was never any plans to pass a resolution in the assembly. Nor will telangana agree to conclude based on the results of this resolution. Why will it? The support was never expected. It is bound to be rejected in the assembly then why will telangana waste it's time trying to seek a resolution vote on the formation? The dec 9th speech said the process has begun. Andhra's leaders are calling to discuss whether there should be a split as if they never heard or knew what the chidu speech meant. Things have moved on from that stage. What is asked for now is a time frame and that is what the JAC meant when they said "it has to stay true to the dec 9th speech".

How do you quell this movement? This movement is not to be seen through the 69 prism which got propped through burrakatha troupes. These are new times. I have said it earlier, that it is a renewed movement. There weren't as many people taking to the streets before 9th december as there are today. Why? The generation that lost in 69 became teachers for todays generation of telangana. After the 9th speech, the new skool, already propped up by the old skool, took a look at the claims and choose to march ahead. Call it a KCR movement and you dissuade yourself with that.

The word "telangana" itself is rejected by andhra. You will refuse to recognize the new state also. You will remove all references of telangana from your books. You will show telangana as part of AP in the school books. Do you actually think were troubling ourselves with these thoughts? Telangana isn't even talking to andhra, doesn't that give you a picture?
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Announce terms of reference of Telangana panel, demands JAC
http://www.expressindia.com/latest-news ... AC/577157/
anuj

Post by anuj »

From joshvajohn's above posted url
"We will decide the future course of action after the TOR are announced. If we finalise our strategy now, we may have to review that later", he said.
Telangana committee likely to have one year tenure
The five-member Committee constituted on the Telangana issue is likely to have a tenure of one year and its terms of reference (ToR) may be made public this week.
[...]
"It is a very sensitive issue. We have to be careful in every step. So we are trying our best to look into all angles before the terms of reference are announced," an official said.
I hope they don't suggest leasing hyd to andhra.

Re: States News and Discussions

ramana wrote:To me this small states carving/ creating new parties is like the creation/carving of new kingdoms in the olden days.
Probably. The question however is, what is expected of this change/evolution?

More power to people? politicians? external players?

Are we confusing between administrative management of a state with political management? How is it different from a state like AP divided into 1000 Mandals (or municipalities)?

If you take out Bihar and UP, the average Per Capita GDP of large states is equal to that of 2nd group, the medium sized states. If we can bring UP & Bihar to national averages, India as a whole gains a lot.

But what is the root cause of the economic backwardness of those states? Is it really size or political inefficiencies?

RamaY wrote:^^^

It is sad that these politicians treat IMs as vote banks that can be bought with reservations. In the process they are insulting IMs and keeping them separated from mainstream India.
Muslims quota is rejected by HC in its final verdict just today. I do not think it will ever fly in India unless BJP goes down to 50 MP seats as all others together also cannot bring a constitutional amendment.

Muppala garu,

I understand the constitutional barriers to such a move. IMs are the biggest losers in the long run for believing TRS/INC type hounds.
Dasari

Post by Dasari »

anuj wrote:There was never any plans to pass a resolution in the assembly. Nor will telangana agree to conclude based on the results of this resolution. Why will it? The support was never expected. It is bound to be rejected in the assembly then why will telangana waste it's time trying to seek a resolution vote on the formation? The dec 9th speech said the process has begun. Andhra's leaders are calling to discuss whether there should be a split as if they never heard or knew what the chidu speech meant. Things have moved on from that stage. What is asked for now is a time frame and that is what the JAC meant when they said "it has to stay true to the dec 9th speech".
Below was the Statement from Chidambaram on Dec 9th. Without passing an Assembly resolution, seperate T will not be formed. The division impacts all the 8 crore people of andhra pradesh, not just the people of telanagna. It is responsibility of the Srikrishna committee to see whether division is in the best interests of the people of AP and what is the mechansim of such division. When the division takes place objectively, it is easy to sell it to the people of andhra pradesh and pass the resolution in assembly. Until then no division is going to happen.
Buckling to pressure, the Centre tonight conceded to the demand for a separate Telangana state for which the process will be initiated and an appropriate resolution will be moved in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly. The decision was taken at a late night meeting Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had with Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister K Rosaiah after two rounds of consultations in the Congress Core Committee with Sonia Gandhi and senior cabinet colleagues.

"After these consultations, I am making this statement. The process of forming the state of Telangana will be initiated.

An appropriate resolution will be moved in the state Assembly," Home Minister P Chidambaram told reporters late in the night.
The word "telangana" itself is rejected by andhra.
This is just a rhetoric. Let us not do KCR talk here. What we have is andhra pradesh and that includes Telangana. Before Nizam, all of them called themselves andhrites. Kakatiya kings proudly referred their kingdom as andhra desa in their own inscriptions.( Let me know I can show actual inscriptions). This kind of talk only takes out any semblance of credibility in this movement.
anuj

Post by anuj »

content deleted by moderator
Last edited by Gerard on 09 Feb 2010 21:51, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: advocating violence against state government establishments will not be tolerated here. Consider this your first and last warning.
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

I hope the mods take the neccessary action atleast now.

Also let me point to the other thorn. The northern bank of the Godavari in Khammam district right upto Warangal district border was part of East Godavari district. This includes Bhadrachalam and will mean Telangana if formed will have much less claims to the waters. If AP is to be divided based on Nizam's boundary then its Telangana's loss here. Nobody is telling this to common folks as this will mean all the 'dochukunnaru' arguments are void. But this will comeup if an ugly division is sought.

skaranam

Post by skaranam »

anuj wrote:content deleted by moderator. Poster warned.
oh Anuj (literally)

violence hurts telangana cause much more. Kodali Nani's statement was an invite for more violence from T-vadis. Unfortunately, they fell for it. Statements of Kodandaram leave a lot to be desired. KCR cannot control his family. Every member of his family has an agenda. We have a joker in the pack Madiga Krishna. He is one person who wants to be in the news. Recall his efforts to be at all hotspots during KCR fast, OU unrest and OU garjana. This says that TJAC despite being formed much earlier than the other JAC has more fault lines. They need to get their act together..

As of now, the Governor is not a lame duck and nor is our HM (what ever may be their reasons and of-course once bitten twice shy). The patience of CBN was exemplary. Recall all the taunts from politicians, TJAC and the press - he stood tall. KCR is the not the only voice in AP. There are other voices which will be heard.

Recall this incident: Couple of days ago (07/02/10) a lady traveling in Padamavathi express complained to RPF about abuse and harassment from co-passengers. The culprits were caught and the explanation was "the lady is from Andhra". The reality - she is from telangana. Whose fingers got burnt.

Anuj

“There was never any plans to pass a resolution in the assembly.”

Really?? Anuj, Do you really believe that we have not heard what or HM said on that day ???

Anuj

“Nor will telangana agree to conclude based on the results of this resolution. Why will it? The support was never expected. It is bound to be rejected in the assembly then why will telangana waste it's time trying to seek a resolution vote on the formation?”

Where is the question of you or any body agreeing or disagreeing to this? Whether you like it or not the views of the state assembly are to be sought by the President for the division of the state. It is another question the views of the state may not binding on the Parliament. (This will be a major constitutional question on which there may be litigation) So there will be discussion in the Assembly. The conduct of KCR’s gang and your JAC is most unhelpful to your cause. Do you think your continuous insults will not have any backlash from others? When you want to achieve something you have to behave more intelligently than this.

Anuj :

“The dec 9th speech said the process has begun. Andhra's leaders are calling to discuss whether there should be a split as if they never heard or knew what the chidu speech meant. Things have moved on from that stage. What is asked for now is a time frame and that is what the JAC meant when they said "it has to stay true to the dec 9th speech" .

Where things have moved Anuj??? Nothing is done as required under the constitution till date. You know it very well. Can you tell one thing other than the statement from Chindu which only speaks about the process? No cabinet meeting was even conducted to pass resolution to approve creation of Telangana State till date.

What time frame you are talking about. For cabinet to pass resolution, for President to ask the state assembly for its views, for assembly to give its views. for Parliament to sit and amend to constitution and all other things needed ? What happens if there are problems at any stage? What happens there is opposition at any stage and from any authority. Do you think there will not be any problems at all??? At every stage the Union Government and all authorities need to seek extension of time your JAC???

Anuj
“How do you quell this movement? This movement is not to be seen through the 69 prism which got propped through burrakatha troupes. These are new times. I have said it earlier, that it is a renewed movement. There weren't as many people taking to the streets before 9th december as there are today. Why? The generation that lost in 69 became teachers for todays generation of telangana. After the 9th speech, the new skool, already propped up by the old skool, took a look at the claims and choose to march ahead. Call it a KCR movement and you dissuade yourself with that.”

Union Government is dealing with lot of “movements” even now. They are hardcore political leaders and they only want to do what is advantageous to them. They do know how to manipulate the things and how corrupt your leaders are (just like any other leaders of any place in India) and if they want to quell they will do so and if they want to accept your wish they do. All they look for is the political advantage to them. As of now they do not see any overwhelming advantage to them so they are not going to support to you. The minute they sense any advantage they will support you. Just like that. The new times you talk have useless leaders of the old times and let us not talk about the peoples movements. We all know what happened to many of such movements all over the world. You speak of lot of people talking to the street. Yes as long as the movement is receiving funds from politicos there will be lot of hungama and once there is no money to pay for all the mobilization there will be no movement. The over ground organizations of Naxals are now doing mobilization of its cadre which kept quite during anti naxal drive. Once the police start acting all these people will show their real colors and I don’t think you want to be with them at that time. The leaders of 69 became ministers MLA’s & MP’s after 69 and enjoyed power at the cost of people of the entire A.P. The same people and groups are now leading a new round of agitations to get more money. Does it not say anything to you? The generation of 69 kept quite enjoying peaceful life power money for all these decades and now after they got old all their children settled aboard comfortably is now coming forward to give press statements so that other peoples children get killed, get them selves in police files, spoil their education etc. Some of them are over ground Naxals like Kodandaram who are only seems to be interested to create disturbances. No parent now wants their kids to join in any agitation now which they know only serve politicos of the country.

Anuj Says

“The word "telangana" itself is rejected by andhra. You will refuse to recognize the new state also. You will remove all references of telangana from your books. You will show telangana as part of AP in the school books. Do you actually think were troubling ourselves with these thoughts? Telangana isn't even talking to andhra, doesn't that give you a picture?”

Where is the question of any one rejecting or accepting “Telangana” word? There is no entity called to Telangana to talk to another entity called Andhra which also does not exist. Who is one state in the country to recognize another state in the country Anuj ?? You living now in some country called Telangana or what? Are you feeling that you are under invasion of some foreign country called Andhra Pradesh. If you feel like that what any one can say. What is going to happen even after the Telangana is created. You can not prevent people from other parts of country including people from the other parts of AP coming to Telangana and settling there. It will be their constitutional right. They will have all the rights just like any people of Telangana. They will vote and elect MLA’s and MP’s. How you are going to prevent it. No one is going to give you another Art 370. So forget about what others will read in their Text books and start reading your High School Text books once again. Particularly Civic part of the Text Books. We can not prevent Bangladeshis and Pakistanis from living without passport and visas in Hyd City even now. So how you are going to keep Telangana pure of Telangana people and kick all Andhra “frauds’ and Rayalaseema “Goondas”. Did you now have the clear picture of what you may have?

Basically do I wonder you or any one of your kind really understand what does a new state gives you ??? You are not going to get Heaven in a new state and nor present state is a Hell. Even if you get the new state you will get the same politicos who looted people for decades and the nation everywhere and there will be additional cost of feeding all these ministers etc.

Anuj Says

“content deleted by moderator. original poster warned.”.

One hopes our Anuj and his stupid ideas are not implemented by T Vadis. There will be retaliations and the end result will be horrible. Let no one have doubt what will happen if any single person from Rayalaseema is attacked. Even costal people may not keep quite. Todays TV will make situation worse. It is not Kashmir where you can kick out all hindus and keep them out for some 20 years now. Irresponsible people like Kodandaram and all the naxals and other politicos around him are now making useless statements. I am surprised how these people think that they can do what ever they want and get away with that. I wonder if only intention of the Kodandaram is to create a big law and order issue to divert national attention from the anti naxal drive.

Narayana Rao wrote:
Basically do I wonder you or any one of your kind really understand what does a new state gives you ??? You are not going to get Heaven in a new state and nor present state is a Hell. Even if you get the new state you will get the same politicos who looted people for decades and the nation everywhere and there will be additional cost of feeding all these ministers etc.
Let me explain, what a new state gives. It will give the people of Telangana region a separate state. People with political aspirations such as Anuj can get MLA seat and they can start a Razakaar movement against the Andhras, there will be nobody to stop them. They can enjoy the Andhra wimmen, they can blackmail the business men, and get lotsa money and they can secure their kith and kin's future. The statement made by Chidu is a god sent opportunity for the people like Anuj. What actually happens on the ground is reality, which could be the same as what Anuj thinks or it could be different. But a Blue Print has to be prepared by them. That is what they are doing. A common man in Telangana does not care anything, as it is not going to give them any Heaven, nor is it going to become a Hell.

It will definitely be a Heaven for people like Anuj, who have suddenly realized that Chidu's statement is a god sent gift.
skaranam

Post by skaranam »

TKiran wrote:
Narayana Rao wrote:
Let me explain, what a new state gives. It will give the people of Telangana region a separate state. People with political aspirations such as Anuj can get MLA seat and they can start a Razakaar movement against the Andhras, there will be nobody to stop them. They can enjoy the Andhra wimmen, they can blackmail the business men, and get lotsa money and they can secure their kith and kin's future. The statement made by Chidu is a god sent opportunity for the people like Anuj. What actually happens on the ground is reality, which could be the same as what Anuj thinks or it could be different. But a Blue Print has to be prepared by them. That is what they are doing. A common man in Telangana does not care anything, as it is not going to give them any Heaven, nor is it going to become a Hell.

It will definitely be a Heaven for people like Anuj, who have suddenly realized that Chidu's statement is a god sent gift.
and not to be forgotten...enjoy naatu kodi and kallu...:-)

Can we move on please?

anuj has already been warned for his post. There will not be another warning.

It seems some poor lady set herself on fire by accident while lighting an effigy of CBN.

Narayana Rao wrote:Anuj Says

“content deleted by moderator. original poster warned.”.

One hopes our Anuj and his stupid ideas are not implemented by T Vadis. There will be retaliations and the end result will be horrible. Let no one have doubt what will happen if any single person from Rayalaseema is attacked. Even costal people may not keep quite. Todays TV will make situation worse. It is not Kashmir where you can kick out all hindus and keep them out for some 20 years now. Irresponsible people like Kodandaram and all the naxals and other politicos around him are now making useless statements. I am surprised how these people think that they can do what ever they want and get away with that. I wonder if only intention of the Kodandaram is to create a big law and order issue to divert national attention from the anti naxal drive.
Have you considered that "civil war" situation in AP is exactly what Kondandaram and his naxals want?

In 1969 the telephone exchanges, police stations, buses used to be attacked and burnt. The talk on street was that Naxals were doing it.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Telangana JAC decides to intensify agitation
http://www.expressbuzz.com/edition/stor ... 5nzqumeA==
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

Muppalla wrote:
Muslims quota is rejected by HC in its final verdict just today. I do not think it will ever fly in India unless BJP goes down to 50 MP seats as all others together also cannot bring a constitutional amendment.
Such a quota can be implemented at the level of the state.
It exists in Kerala, TN and Karataka.

From the R Sachar commission:
Chapter Ten of Sachar Committee Report

..it is logical to suggest that Muslims in India, in terms of their social structure, consist of three groups-ashrafs, ajlafs and arzals. The three groups require different types of affirmative action. The second group, ajlafs/OBCs, need additional attention which could be similar to that of Hindu-OBCs. The third group, those with similar traditional occupation as that of the SCs, may be designated as Most Backward Classes (MBCs) as they need multifarious measures, including reservation, as they are 'cumulatively oppressed'.

Karnataka: All Muslims whose income is less than Rs. 2 lakh per annum have been declared backward and placed exclusively in one of the sub-categories of 'More Backwards' with four per cent of the seats set aside for them.

Kerala: At present, the reservation system in Kerala is as follows: Backward Classes 40 % (Ezhavas 14 %; Muslims 12 %; Latin Catholics 4 %; Nadars 2 %; Christian converts from S.C.s 1 %; Dheevaras 1 %; Other Backward Classes 3 %; Viswakarmas 3 %) and S.C.s and S.T.s 10 %.

TN: Muslims as a distinct category are not eligible for reservation. The Sattanathan Commission (1970) endorsed the 1951 categorisation, it identified 105 castes/communities as backward, and recommended 31 % reservation, whereas 18 % was left for the SCs and STs. Tamil speaking Muslim groups, such as Labbais, Deccani Muslims and others were included in the backward list.

http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?233259
However, when done by individual state governments, the "goodwill" cannot be generated.
Zoya Hasan, a professor of social sciences at Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), Delhi, said linking the NCRLM report with the Andhra Pradesh verdict showed the Congress was not serious about implementing it. “If...(quota is implemented), it will help them get goodwill among the community and thus help them politically,” she said.

Firoz Bakht Ahmed, an expert on social and educational issues, also said the Muslim community should realize the promised sops would never materialize. “It’s all just an eyewash,” Ahmed said.

http://www.livemint.com/2010/02/0923134 ... Musli.html
And by building consensus in the Parlianemt, the law can out do the judiciary. Positive affirmation. :)

I agree with the analysis below.

Meanwhile,

Telangana JAC decides to intensify agitation
According to its convener M Kodandaram, the budget session of the Assembly will not take place regardless of whether the terms of reference are announced or not. Though he did not elaborate on how the Telagnana MLAs would not make the Assembly function, it is understood that all of them will either boycott the session or disrupt the proceedings causing embarrassment to Chief Minister K Rosaiah.
anuj

Post by anuj »

content deleted by moderator

The forum is not a platform for advocating violence against Indian government personnel or property to achieve political ends. Criminality of this sort will not be permitted here.
Last edited by Gerard on 10 Feb 2010 16:16, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Content deleted. User banned.

Looks like you're not heeding moderators' warning. I thought you snapped yesterday may be due to a bad day but from this post it doesn't look so. Attacking people's and government assets is nothing but violence. In your sickle-and-hammer thinking only killing is violence. Attacking other people's assets will cause them to defend and lead to violence. If your solutions are like these, I don't think there will be any reasonable arguments can take place.
anuj wrote:content deleted by moderator
skaranam

Post by skaranam »

meanwhile

Times Now reports that [AP Govt. asked Deccan Charges to boycott IPL3 if Hyd. is not retained as a venue for matches...

The point being...why is Govt. is reacting now, when the decision to move out was announced on 22Jan2010
IPL 3 opening ceremony, 1st match moved to Mumbai from Hyd

Suddenly that is since the Dec 9th anouncement all our english media people started saying how bad Telangana is and how people got looted etc. What happend to the great AP Sucess story and great leader YSR and CEO CBN who were actively promoted by these people. Did any one noticed no negative covarage for any attacks movies, shooting, all kinds of violent insults in any English Tv or papers. They regularly write against SEva Sena or MNS but how come no reporting of what is happening in AP.

Any gurus.
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

No prizes for guessing that.
The English media's heart always is where the pinko's heart is. Thats one reason I take any coverage(or suspicious lack of it) from them with a pinch of salt.

How should I escape from the mess that I created? How should I save my party and my government? Hmmmm... We have our friends to blame and there will be a lot of intel anyway. Ok done deal. Use Naxals as the reason for watering down Telangana.

Congress jittery over Telangana on Naxal concerns
Latest intelligence inputs suggesting that the outlawed Naxals will be the sole beneficiaries in a bifurcated Andhra Pradesh has made the Congress leadership jittery. The Telangana issue was discussed in detail at the special meeting of the party's core committee held Wednesday night. A key member of the committee{is it Pranab Da} later told Business Standard: "Many in the party feel it would be suicidal to form a separate state of Telangana."

At the meeting, Home Minister P Chidambaram presented a draft Terms of Reference (ToR), but the committee felt there was scope for "better" ToR for the committee on Telangana as it is a very sensitive issue. {In the final ToR if bifurcation should even be mentioned or not is the contention. They will give atleast something to Telangana INC to bark about if they put that atleast in the reference. otherwise it will be a open whitewash. This is the senstive part that I guess.}

The brass decided to hold another meeting before announcing the ToR. On February 3, the United Progressive Alliance government had announced the formation of a committee headed by former Supreme Court judge B N Srikrishna to look into the issue of Telangana.

Home ministry released terms of reference to separate or keep united the state of AP. It is mostly for wider consultations as announced earlier. Hopefully AP will go back to a peaceful state
Last edited by ShyamSP on 12 Feb 2010 10:51, edited 1 time in total.
skaranam

Post by skaranam »

Terms of Reference of B.N.Srikrishna Committee announced
(1) To examine the situation in the State of Andhra Pradesh with reference to the demand for a separate State of Telangana as well as the demand for maintaining the present status of a united Andhra Pradesh.

(2) To review the developments in the State since its formation and their impact on the progress and development of the different regions of the State.

(3) To examine the impact of the recent developments in the State on the different sections of the people such as women, children, students, minorities, other backward classes, scheduled castes and scheduled tribes.

(4) To identify the key issues that must be addressed while considering the matters mentioned in items (1), (2) and (3) above.
Does the above mean find a logical base for separation or continue status quo? What happens once the key issues that need to be addressed are identified? Is the Dec 31 hard deadline. I am sure extensions are possible.

I think we must appriciate our babus for attempting to write something which people are decided to reject. KCR and his gang will not accept anything which is not compleately thier side. Such reference will be opposed by the united side. Babu's tried to bring some balace to the reference but will KCR now accept to these terms is a big big question. They have already taken a stand that unless the terms of reference is their side they will not accept. Since the terms are not outrightly for Telangana they may reject this and start on a agitation path. Their stated stand of all or nothing is now going to be problem. United side may be happy that their side is is going to be heard. We do not know that. Most of thier leaders have kept quite till now. Further there is no force like Naxals in that side. So there is a chance for moderation. In telangana side all the modarate voices are simply surpressed under theat of force.

The Budget of the state is may not be passed this financial year. We are looking at Presidents rule which may run for a year or so. No one in congress (or TDP) for that matter will be interested for elections now. May be TRS PRP BJP will be interested. May be extermist INC leaders like Damodar Reddy may also be interested in elections wherein they can force the issue. But one thing is also sure no one in the United side is going to support the division. So now the entire elections will be fought on the division and congress will be in a very difficult position to explain why and how this situation has come to pass. It will have difficulty in one side why it has not divided the state and other side why it is not hearing to the majority of the people. It will be difficult job for them.In the next elections Rajamatha and Rajkumar may not even visit the AP.

I think it is good time for all the people to put their idea, problemns, issues on the Telangana or united arguments. But unfortunately it may not happen.

I think the end result of all this now is a big law and order problem benifiting naxals only. The HM should coontinue the drive against naxals and tell all the agitating leades of AP to shut their mouth for some time. State finances are in a very bad condition now. Salaries of the employees may be difficult to pay as of now. Assembly is going to be on and all Congress leaders of Telangana are now saying that they will not attend the same. The Governament may not have majority in the house if that happens and house may be suspended to save the day. I don't think congress wants an election as of now.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Govt announces ToR on Telangana,TRS calls it betrayal
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/govt- ... al/578948/
'Ok to Telangana, no to Hyderabad-T'
http://www.expressbuzz.com/edition/stor ... 5nzqumeA==
Telangana leaders to take tough stand
http://beta.thehindu.com/news/states/an ... 104795.ece

It is better to accept the resignation of the MPs and MLAs from Telangana region if they are offered or insisted again. test the Telangana people's mind through an election. If people make their choices clear then the central government has to go along with it. Sharing capital can be a proposal.

Crazy!

What is going on?

Should there be Telengana or should it not be there.

I just saw KRS ? on TV.

Getting to be a bit boring.

Decide.
bhavani

Post by bhavani »

I don't think anything significant or worthwhile to write is going on. Everybody seems to be a bit tired.

I don't know if telangana should exist or not, but i think it should not disrupt general public's life.

I feel as if we are back to the days when there used a bandh every week and strikes used to be everywhere. There were so many hindu-muslim rights in hyd. During chenna reddy's rule muslims pretty much occupied old city and evicted or butchered all hindus. Those were horrible days.

Recently we had the feel that hyd was becoming a bit metropolitan and now all this, i dont know where we are headed. They pulled so many IT seminars out of Hyd to banglore or chennai. The chidambaram could not shut his trap and all this falls of sky.

What ever kind of guy YSR was i wonder if all this might have happened if he was alive. The current CM is spineless and is always looking for Amma's direction.
skaranam

Post by skaranam »

I believe TRS has lost it. If they are serious about telangana, the SriKrishna report will provide the exact backing to justify the claims (lack of development, jobs, usurping of culture etc). This panel will come up with one hell of document detailing the exact situation. All the figures and their correct interpretation will done.

Is KCR thinking his demagoguery will proved with the the report? Hence, the resignation drama. Apparently it was announced out of JAC. Leader of other parties are miffed. Also, it appears the madam is prepared for T-Cong resignations.

RayC wrote:Should there be Telengana or should it not be there.
RayC ji,

IMO, it is a matter of time when Telangana is a reality. there are no two ways about it. People in cities, towns, mandals (kind of taluqas), and even at village level are looking forward to this. While the initial decision seemed to be top down, it is also true that the support at the bottom is too strong - only a complete politics blind will deny it.

People, I hear from my folks (none of whom are remotely connected to politics), are little frustrated and even angry but make no mistake all one can postpone is until next elections. that ground swelling of the opinion is not going to change.

In the state we are now, I believe it is just too much circus to focus on anything. It is inconceivable that a Rayalaseema CM or a coastal Andhra CM will do any justice to Telangana. I admit that they aren't even doing justice to their own regions (but that is relative). That is not how we are going to collectively progress.

Currently the one strand on which the whole opposition or scuttling is centered on is the Maoist angle. This is just too convenient for everyone to paint Telangana supporters as Maoist. Curtailment of political aspirations of this large population is not healthy for India and no sane political party will take such a stand - that is the reason why every major political party is neck deep on Telangana bandwagon.

Let's see how it all plays out.