Internal Security Watch

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Internal Security Watch

Mean while at Central Prison Parappana Agrahara, Bengaluru...
Madani's bail pea deferred to August

Court stays arrest of Congress leader

Appearing on behalf of the Congress leader, senior lawyer Shanti Bhushan submitted that the entire matter was aimed “only at harassing the petitioner” and that even if the allegation of fake address was true, “the same could have been mentioned in the FIR dated February 2 itself”.

http://www.hindu.com/2011/05/18/stories ... 330700.htm
Karna_A

Post by Karna_A »

Dawood's brother attacked in Mumbai:
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city ... 399149.cms
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Karna_A wrote:Dawood's brother attacked in Mumbai:
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city ... 399149.cms
Work that should have been done by IB is being done by some gangster. IB is busy spying for congress party and tapping opposition leaders phone, poor souls dont have time to eliminate terrorists. Better option would be to disband IB who are a drain on our resources and declare this gang as the new intelligence agency and appoint this gangster as its new chief. At the most he may loot a few crores of public money but atleast he delivers results unlike the IB which eats thousands of crores of public money but has zero results to show for.

IB motto : Paisa janata ka khattein hain par ghulami congress ki kartein hain :mrgreen:

^^ Couldn't stop myself from replying.

yes they do conduct a lot of political spying. But to say that they have "zero results to show for" is quite frankly unfair and BS.
somnath

Post by somnath »

shyamd wrote:yes they do conduct a lot of political spying. But to say that they have "zero results to show for" is quite frankly unfair and BS.
IB has a very very good record in busting terror modules...All successes against Islamist terror modules (arrest of the IM senior leadership in MP a couple of years back for example, or that attack on RSS office in Nagpur), chaps like Kobad Ghandy/Azad - they have all been IB operations...Praveen Swami used to be a good chronicler of IB successes..Its a bit unfortunate that he isnt part of the Indian media anymore...

^^ The closest to IB in current DDM seems to be Vicky Nanjappa of rediff....Not sure anyone else in MSM has too much inside info on IB these days.

The IB has led a lot of counter terror operations even using Technical means (catching people via the internet), netting that Huji chief in SL was a major cross border operation. Lot of quiet operations in J&K. They have virtually demolished a lot of the terror cells in J&K.
vbedekar

Post by vbedekar »

N.T.Ravindranath is a retired IB officer. He had many lucrative offers after his retirement, but he chose to continue research. He specialises in Separatist and Maoist movements and NGOs, which provide intellectual inputs to these movements on ground and in TV and print media.
His following paper speaks volumes

http://www.satyashodh.com/Anna%20Hazare_NTR_180511.pdf
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

shyamd wrote:^^ Couldn't stop myself from replying.

yes they do conduct a lot of political spying. But to say that they have "zero results to show for" is quite frankly unfair and BS.

Just scroll upwards and go through the success of IB

Islamic Students Congregation and Tablighi Jamaat collaborate with Alqaeda to spread its ideology in India, no arrests are made, no prosecution, no chargesheet, After wikileaks exposed this IB sings we knew it and now all is well http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 201154.cms

IB is tasked to prevent penetration of higher levels of Indian bureaucracy from foreign influence but this exposes it uselessness http://expressbuzz.com/opinion/columnis ... 72377.html
These bureaucrats are nothing but spies who are passing on state secrets and will vanish one day like rajinder singh. If this had happened in some other country such shameless bureaucrats lobbying for foreign powers would have been shot dead in cold blood by their intelligence agency, IB choses to ignore such threats while singing all is well.

In the Ishrat jahan case, it was IB which provided the details of her LeT links and now chooses to distances itself from the case because its master congress party wants to derive political mileage out of it. Shows the complete lack of professionalism among IB.

Its a open secret the activities of american christian fundamentalists [evangelists] involved in 'church planting' and encouraging separatism are meant to breakup India. Inspite of Justice Niyogi commission exposing their criminal deeds, IB wont take effective action to checkmate their activities. Maybe enough officers of IB have been paid off that they choose to ignore the threat to india.

The shining jewel in the crown of successes of IB is the Purulia Arms Drop. Try to airdrop arms & explosives in some other country you are sure to get blown out of the sky or get executed on site if you are successful in parachuting out, but IB being karunamayi agency allows them to escape.

Finally arrest of those small fries that you mention wont hurt the terror groups one bit, those pigs are expendable, in 9 months the sow will give birth to another batch of pigLeTs. Only when IB aims and manages to kill top swines then it can be counted as an achievement.
somnath

Post by somnath »

^^^You would do well to dwell on the topic a bit seriously before shooting off the expletives and innuendos..

IB has had a great record in combating India's many mutinies since independence..

1. Mizoram (the only insurgency that required IAF bombing India's own territory at one point)..It is a legendary intel ops, led by the one-and-only Ajit Doval - first breaking the back of the insurgency and then bringing the top leadership into the political mainstream...Mizoram has remained one of the most peacceful NE states since....

2. JKLF and Hizbul Mujahideen...the decimation of the entire top leadership of both groups, forcing the former into donning a "gandhian" mantle, while rendering the latter irrelevant operationally...In between, it was IB that sponsored that short-lived, but promising dialogue of the Hizb (under Abdul Majid Dar - the Kashmir commander) with GOI...The talks failed, primarily on Paki machinations, but in the aftermath the entire Hizb leadership was wiped out, including Dar...Politically, it meant that the kashmiri insurgency could only be run by "foreign" elements of LeT...

3. Punjab...While KPS Gill and the Punjab Police ran the efficient policing CI effort, the elimination of the top militant leadership had major IB hands all along..Current IB chief, Nehchal Sandu had no mean hand to play in that...

There are lots of instances on lslamist terror groups as well - www would give many details....Its useful to have a balanced persspective, expletives are quite easy in any case...

(All my growing-up life I have lived with IB officers as neighbours - didnt see anyone, though its just anecdotal, getting "rich" by other means)...
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

^^ commie birather nowhere in my post expletives have been used, you are using a typical commie tactic of accusing someone of wrongdoing and then trying to fire towards them irrelevant facts, so as to crush their original argument without trying to counter it.

Let me repeat my points again.

IB failed to inflitrate and breakup alqaeda affliated ISC

IB failed to prevent infiltration of Indian bureaucracy by foreign agencies, now those shameless babus are supporting pakistani terrorism because america asks them too. This will lead to more attacks and deaths which wont affect the babus and their children since they are safe in their mini-forts and police security. We the common people will die not these traitors.

IB is indirectly supporting LeT by not revealing the full facts of Ishrat jahan case, LeT had honored Ishrat after her killing but now her death is being used for propaganda by stating it as 'hindu india killing innocent muslim'

IB has failed to counter the criminal deeds of evangelists

IB has failed to prevent the Purulia Arms Drop inspite of having foreknowledge of it

Finally birds of a feather flock together and duffers who crow about their failures as success live together. All those insurgencies you mention in Mizoram, Punjab and J&K would not have started if IB has maintained a strict vigil and prevented the influx of weapons into Indian territory. Thousands of lives were lost due to the 'sucess' of IB that you crow about. Even today IB is more interested tapping phones of common people, see the reliance statement which mentions lakhs of phone lines having been placed under surveillance, rather than head hunting terrorists. Now stop blabbering about IB successes, enough for today.
somnath

Post by somnath »

^^^Given the fantastic understanding levels about complex political issues that you have shown on various insurgencies, I guess you are a bit incapable of discussions..

As for "expletives", well, maybe in your world these are not considered so..
Maybe enough officers of IB have been paid off that they choose to ignore the threat to india

unlike the IB which eats thousands of crores of public money but has zero results to show for.

IB motto : Paisa janata ka khattein hain par ghulami congress ki kartein hain
Well, a difference in sensibilities I guess....

raghavendra, can you list successes too? The funny thing is all the points you have listed as failures are big issues in themselves. Its funny how you have generalised them as "failures".

Well, only the failures of IB can be highlighted. Its successes tend not to be disclosed. And if the sole measure of success is prevention, then all internal intelligence agencies among the major powers are useless. Things are not so simple and clear-cut.

On the other hand, no harm if non-Indians continue to believe that IB is useless. The trouble is when Indians start thinking exclusively along those lines, without perspective.

>>We the common people will die not these traitors.

The above line is uncalled for. There is no way you can know how many IB employees have died in the line of duty. And "traitors"? There was a period on BRF when this sort of language was used against people who cannot defend themselves here. It is no longer the case. I strongly suggest you desist.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

somnath wrote:^^^Given the fantastic understanding levels about complex political issues that you have shown on various insurgencies, I guess you are a bit incapable of discussions..

As for "expletives", well, maybe in your world these are not considered so..
Maybe enough officers of IB have been paid off that they choose to ignore the threat to india

unlike the IB which eats thousands of crores of public money but has zero results to show for.

IB motto : Paisa janata ka khattein hain par ghulami congress ki kartein hain
Well, a difference in sensibilities I guess....
Making well founded accusations of corruption is not expletive, silly commie, dont waste my time if you dont have the courage to defend your point

And commies dont have sense neither sensibilities, running dog is their favorite word, they may forgot their wife's name but wont forgot to use running dog atleast once daily. I dont think your sensibilities would be offended knowing your intellectual level

Raghavendra,

The personal attacks must end. This is a caution.

Post by Klaus »

Raghavendra, dude you've been skating on thin ice for quite sometime now. Dont get banned is all I've to say.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

shyamd wrote:raghavendra, can you list successes too? The funny thing is all the points you have listed as failures are big issues in themselves. Its funny how you have generalised them as "failures".
When IB manages to smash dawood ibrahim terror network I will list it as a success

When IB manages to free itself from congress party slavery I will list it as a success

When IB manages to expose the known linkages between maoists and foreign NGO's I will list it as a success
Marut

Post by Marut »

^^^ JEM, you are being too soft IMHO. Some lines should not be crossed at least in BRF.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

JE Menon wrote:Well, only the failures of IB can be highlighted. Its successes tend not to be disclosed. And if the sole measure of success is prevention, then all internal intelligence agencies among the major powers are useless. Things are not so simple and clear-cut.
Let me remind you there have been no terrorist attack in US or UK after 9/11 and 7/11 respectively. This speaks volumes about their efficiency, both countries kill terrorists outside their country rather than allow them inside to cause mayhem. The list of terrorist attacks in India which IB has failed to prevent is to long to be listed here.
JE Menon wrote:>>We the common people will die not these traitors.

The above line is uncalled for. There is no way you can know how many IB employees have died in the line of duty. And "traitors"? There was a period on BRF when this sort of language was used against people who cannot defend themselves here. It is no longer the case. I strongly suggest you desist.
I didnt call IB traitors

Traitors are those babus working as american agents and following Keep-Pakistan-Happy policy http://expressbuzz.com/opinion/columnis ... 72377.html

If there is better word to describe their behaviour, please suggest
vbedekar

Post by vbedekar »

Binayak Sen gets reward for his work. He is appointed as advisor to Planning Commission on health issues. He is on bail and not exonerated yet. Unbelievable speed with which he is rehabilated.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... 007261.ece

>>IB failed to prevent infiltration of Indian bureaucracy by foreign agencies, now those shameless babus are supporting pakistani terrorism because america asks them too. This will lead to more attacks and deaths which wont affect the babus and their children since they are safe in their mini-forts and police security. We the common people will die not these traitors.

This was the para where you referred to "these traitors". You are obfuscating. And persisting. I recommend you cease this line. Everyone is valued. None is indispensable.

This is your second caution.
aditya

Post by aditya »

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/site/story ... 38689.html
After Wazhul Kamar Khan, another fugitive on the Indian list of most-wanted terrorists handed over to Pakistan has been traced to Mumbai.

Feroz Abdul Rashid Khan, listed at number 24 in the list, has been lodged in Mumbai's Arthur Road Jail. This was discovered on Wednesday.
What more to expect when the country's security apparatus is run like your local limited-budget grocery store, as evidenced by the following story from 2005:

Early next morning, UP cops quietly bury terrorists, say bodies of no use
When asked why the bodies were buried in a hurry, SSP Avinash Chander said: ‘‘Where was the haste? We could not have kept the bodies any longer. It was unnecessary. There is so much heat, they would have decomposed. Plus, there is no cold storage at the mortuary here in Faizabad.’’

Couldn’t the bodies have been shifted to King George Medical University in Lucknow? ‘‘What would have come out of it? Body se kya milta?. They were not locals who could have been identified from here. Nothing could be revealed from their clothes.That is why we buried them. It was done according to Muslim rites.’’ The SSP said the photographs of the bodies have been sent to the CID wing of the J&K police. ‘‘They may get identified. Unke paas to puri list rehti hai aise logon ki,’’ he says.
derkonig
Location: Jeering sekular forces bhile Furiously malishing my mijjile @ Led Lips Mijjile Malish Palish Parloul

Post by derkonig »

The raging insomniac is back....wonder what kept him awake, may be he feared having to take action against his pyara pakistan...
clicky

No one paying attention to the wrong people(two so far out of 50) on wanted lists being submitted by MHA?

What happened to the rigor that PC is supposed to have introduced after MKN was retired out to West Bengal?

Read this news with the wikileaks of the US Amby asking for clear fingerprints and non-smudged documents from India!

I think after 26/11 PC did some shock and awe drama and its business as usual in his dept.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

ramana wrote:No one paying attention to the wrong people(two so far out of 50) on wanted lists being submitted by MHA?
The count has risen to 3 and further 2 are suspected to be dead

After my success of IB posts, didnt post in this thread to avoid hellfire missiles from adminullah but replying to one adminullah's post makes it hard for another to use his hellfires :mrgreen:

ramana wrote:Read this news with the wikileaks of the US Amby asking for clear fingerprints and non-smudged documents from India!

I think after 26/11 PC did some shock and awe drama and its business as usual in his dept.
It's back to usual business in MHA and its agencies

Apparently some weapons brought after 26/11 have been rendered useless, as remedial action the agency has filed a case against the person who reported it in the newspaper :mrgreen:

Reading the wikileaks makes one weep about the cluelessness of agencies which allow terrorist spokesperson and their funders to walk free among us, link to one such cable http://wikileaks.ch/cable/2006/05/06NEWDELHI3506.html

If INC has to admit to a IM being a "possible terroist", the guy must be the real deal:

Indian held in France may have SIMI links
Rashid was arrested by the French police along with six other suspected Islamic militants on May 10 and French authorities suspect that he was recruiting volunteers there for joining a Pakistan-based terrorist outfit, Chidambaram told a mediapersons in New Delhi [ Images ].

"It is reported that Rashid admitted that he was part of a network which is recruiting people for jihad in the Pakistan-Afghanistan region," he said. "Further investigation is underway and we are in close touch with French authorities," he said, adding France [ Images ] is sharing information with India.
Contending that Rashid has been under the radar of Indian intelligence agencies too, Chidambaram said the Mechanical Engineer had reportedly a "militant bent of mind" and had joined a SIMI-affiliated organisation at 21.

Guess he is in transition stage to rogue element on the periodic table!

Sorry if posted already.

The arms depot at CMP quarters matches with the arms taken after the Maoist ambush that killed 23 jawans and 1 civilians

What could be common between Trinamool leader Sadhan Pande, Top Human Rights victim Vinayak Sen, and "Chira Harit" M.J.Akbar?!! :roll: Could they have shared the same "school"?
Manish Jain

Post by Manish Jain »

Committee for saving Teesta formed :-)

Teesta Bachao Andolan
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Manish Jain wrote:Committee for saving Teesta formed :-)

Teesta Bachao Andolan
cool, zaheera sheikh should seek the help of these eminent fartists in getting justice. teesta used her as a pawn in her congress funded plan to dislodge gujarat govt, ahmed patel must be sweating to see both his cunning plan and chamcha teesta exposed :mrgreen:
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

In lonely Melur house, mother in dark about son’s arrest in Paris http://www.indianexpress.com/news/in-lo ... s/795175/0
Trying to find out more about Mohammed Niaz, the Indian held in Paris over suspected links with the al-Qaeda, a team of investigators from central agencies visited a house in Melur near Madurai before daybreak today.
kenop

Post by kenop »

Explosion in parking lot of Delhi HC
An explosion occured outside the Delhi high court on Wednesday.

The explosion took place in the court's parking lot. There were no casualties reported. Five fire tenders have been rushed to the spot.

Blast near Delhi high court, no casualties reported
An explosion of low intensity ocurred outside the Delhi high court this afternoon. No casualties have been reported so far. The explosion took place in a plastic bag kept near a silver Ford Figo in the parking lot near gate number seven of the court complex. Dharmendra Kumar, special police commisio
ner, New Delhi, said that the explosion was in a plastic bag kept near the car and that some kind of crude material was found near the car.

The explosion happened at around 1:15pm and triggered panic among people.
Trial run?
Manish Jain

Post by Manish Jain »

We all already know this but WKKs and media need some more slaps -

Headley confirms Ishrat as LeT fidayeen
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

More proof of SIMI role in terror http://dailypioneer.com/340838/More-pro ... error.html
May 25, 2011 3:45:30 PM

Pioneer News Service | New Delhi

The Indian national arrested in France last month in connection with suspected Al Qaeda link is a product of the outlawed Students Islamic Movement of India. Mohammad Niaz Abdul Rashid, who hails from Tamil Nadu, joined the SIMI at the age of 21. When he left for France in 2008, he had been on the roll of SIMI for three-four years. The disclosure has confirmed widely held views that the SIMI was actively involved in training militants for carrying out terror attacks.

French media has reported that the intelligence agency was also probing Niaz for his contacts in Pakistan, which he visited often. He was also under probe for his alleged links with Karachi-based anti-Shia terror outfit, Jundullah, which was designated a foreign terror organisation by the US. Niaz’s arrest on May 10 in Paris came in the wake of warning that Al Qaeda could launch retaliatory strike to avenge Osama bin Laden’s death. He was arrested on his return from Algeria.

Niaz is the second Indian national to be arrested on terror charges overseas after Mumbai resident Roshan Jamal Khan, picked up from a Barcelona mosque in 2008 and serving a six-year jail term.

Contending that Rashid has been under the radar of Indian intelligence agencies too, Home Minister P Chidambaram said the mechanical engineer had reportedly a “militant bent of mind” and had joined a SIMI-affiliated organisation at 21. The Home Minister said Rashid hails from Trichy district of Tamil Nadu and “he was radicalised at a very early age and he found his way to France.”

Chidambaram said Rashid is an educated man and believed to be a mechanical engineer, who is acquainted with technology. “It is stated that at the age of 21, he joined a SIMI- affiliated organisation based in Tamil Nadu. He first arrived in France in 2008. He was already a trained activist with a militant bent of mind,” he said.

Chidambaram ruled out any immediate move to seek consular access to Rashid, saying India was awaiting the result of the investigations underway by French authorities.

“It is reported that Rashid admitted that he was part of a network which is recruiting people for jihad in the Pakistan-Afghanistan region. Further investigation is underway and we are in close touch with French authorities,” he said, adding France is sharing information with India.

To a question, he said there is no report yet of Rashid having recruited anyone in India. “He seems to have recruited French nationals of different origins, mostly African origin.”

The Home Minister said in a short span of six months, Rashid has been able to set up a nucleus of like-minded people of jihadis in France. “That consists of four French citizens of Moroccan origin, one French national of Turkish origin, one French national of Pakistan origin and two others,” he said.

Manish Jain wrote:We all already know this but WKKs and media need some more slaps -

Headley confirms Ishrat as LeT fidayeen
Not really helpful since i clearly recall that in debates a year back ( when it was disclosed that IB had tipped off Guj police about Ishrat being LeT), esteemed INC spokesperson(s) were arguing that the matter wasn't about Ishrat being a LeT agent but the important thing was : was a fake encounter correct way even if we knew she was a anti-national? :-?

There is only that much one can do to wake up a person pretending to be asleep.

sum wrote: There is only that much one can do to wake up a person pretending to be asleep.
It becomes a crime when Gujarath Police does take some action. BTW, along with Ishrat was one Javed @ Pranesh Kumar Pillai. He was a Keralite who had been in Maharashtra, who later converted to Islam married a Muslim lady and settled down. When Javed was gunned down vested interests in Kerala had tried to rake up some controversies. All that was silenced quickly when it was proved that Pranesh Kumar Pillai had another passport in his name, and a new one under the name of Javed. Many people dont carry more than one passport for the sake of convenience.