Should HH The Dalai Lama be elected India's next President?

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Should His Highness The Dalai Lama be elected India's next President?

Poll ended at 24 Jul 2012 21:03

Yes
58%
No
42%

Total votes: 154

Should HH The Dalai Lama be elected India's next President?

Philip wrote:The best way to defeat the inscrutable "oriental" from Beijing?

Make HH the Dalai Lama President of India.He being the spiritual and political head of Tibet will see Tibet automatically and legally become part of the Indian Republic! It is not an impossibility,he has lived in India for decades now.Buddhism's spiritual home IS India,as I've said many a time and Tibet by that yardstick gives India a far greater claim to it as a "protectorate" than Confucian China.This calls for an all-party agreement on it.We've already had a Sikh and Muslims as Pres. before,why not this great humanitarian and spiritual head of Buddhism,who says many a time that he is both Tibetan and "Indian"?I'm sure that the BJP and the larger rump of the Congress will agree,plus all the parties that proclaim Dr.Ambedkar as their political guru.I'm sure that our current Pres.,Pratibha,if requested to step aside in the interests of the nation at this crucial time,will do so gladly.She can then go down in history as a great heroine and saint of India.
Philip wrote:The best way to defeat the inscrutable "oriental" from Beijing?
Make HH the Dalai Lama President of India.He being the spiritual and political head of Tibet will see Tibet automatically and legally become part of the Indian Republic! It is not an impossibility,he has lived in India for decades now.Buddhism's spiritual home IS India,as I've said many a time and Tibet by that yardstick gives India a far greater claim to it as a "protectorate" as Confucian China.This calls for an all-party agreement on it.We've already had a Sikh and Muslims as Pres. before,why not this great humanitarian and spiritual head of Buddhism,who says many a time that he is both Tibetan and "Indian"?I'm sure that the BJP and the larger rump of the Congress will agree,plus all the parties that proclaim Dr.Ambedkar as their political guru.I'm sure that our current Pres.,Pratibha,if requested to step aside in the interests of the nation at this crucial time,will do so gladly.She can then go down in history as a great heroine and saint of India.
Philip, a great idea! :D

Dalai Lama would however have to let go of his "Spiritual Leader of Tibetan Buddhism" position, because otherwise it would not gel with India's secular Constitution. I am not sure, whether a Dalai Lama can simply stand down from that position.

It is perhaps up to him, whether he wants to be the "Political Leader of the Tibetan People", or "The Head of the Tibetan Government in Exile". If he becomes President of India, he would have to step down from that position as well. He cannot be the head of two States. Even if Tibet, hypothetically, is to be considered part of India, he still can't be a Governor/CM of a State in the Indian Union and at the same time the President of India.

But I still like the idea.
Philip wrote:He will bring Tibet with him in a "union" of Tibet and India.Remember the days when Libya and Egypt merged? Anyway,I'm sure that our galaxy of lawyers will find a solution to any legal knot and if he happens to be the head of a branch of Buddhism,so what? It will not affect the Indian Constituion,as it would not imply that he would be making Tibetan Buddhism India's "official" religion,unlike the Quuen.
Philip, I am sold on your idea! :D

We must however then know, that India would cease to be a "Status Quoist" Power, and getting Freedom for the Tibetans would become our national duty. We would also be in direct conflict with China for a very long eternity.

It would however be prudent to go about it, after India has shown that India can get back land, e.g. in PoK, which would give India an immense psychological boost, enough to have the confidence to take on the Chinese.

Just some thoughts!
Philip wrote:Freedom for the Tibetans is the world's national duty! Many international issues like this have been resolved through the UN like East Timor,etc.So there need not be any physical spat between the PRC and Indo-Tibet,and we can afford to wait,we think in "cosmic calendar" time unlike the impatient nations of the Occident.In fact,if the PRC actually sit down and think intelligently,they could even see the possibility of a confederation (unlikely?) between India and China via Tibet !For that however,they would have to swallow a lot of "Middle Kingdom" mentality and acknowledge that we all live in an equal world.
RajeshA wrote:I think we can keep open the option of electing Mr. Tenzin Gyatso as India's President, if China needles India in the future, which it invariably will.

Philip ji,
May be you can start a facebook page asking Indians to elect the Dalai Lama as India's next President.
Last edited by RajeshA on 14 Sep 2010 21:46, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Should HH The Dalai Lama be elected India's next Preside

Just voted yes,

Impracticable as hell. But then who cares!

Besides, it is message to the ROW. That, we Indics are serious about holding the line against the forces interested to eliminate Central path from the world.

I voted no. For he is not an Indian citizen. And further he loses his marquee value by accepting it. His uniqueness is in his religious leadership of Tibetian Buddhism.

Hell No.
He should be recognized as the President of the independent state of Tibet in Exile.
All Indian Embassies should have a Tibet Section with his HH's picture. etc etc.
derkonig
Location: Jeering sekular forces bhile Furiously malishing my mijjile @ Led Lips Mijjile Malish Palish Parloul

Post by derkonig »

Is the HHDL an Indian citizen? I guess not. Besides, the office of the President of India is much too dignified to be used for settling scores with foreign nations. If the idea is to bring Tibet into the global spotlight & ultimately force PRC out of Tibet, then we must choose the appropriate tools. PRC will surely get riled up on HHDL holding any constitutional post in India, but that will hardly make them leave Tibet. The liberation of Tibet can only happen through war be it an overt all out war or a covert war driven by Tibetan refugees in India. The war will have to be supplemented with strong diplomacy. Nothing else will liberate Tibet.
Last edited by derkonig on 14 Sep 2010 21:36, edited 1 time in total.
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

No Way..
unless we plan to make Tibet a part of India.

Voted no. In addition to the what Ramana sir has said the President the supreme commander of the Indian Armed Forces, a job which doesn't set in with the ideologies that Dalai Lama believes in.

I voted NO.

Instead India should invite HH Dalai Lama as the chief guest on Jan 26 from Tibet.
Last edited by RamaY on 14 Sep 2010 21:40, edited 1 time in total.

The idea is interesting.We have had some bad Presidents and a great president.

I have to vote NO
We cannot elect someone just to piss some body. If we start to think in this manner, we might end up like Pakis. This line of thinking is plain dangerous and must be discouraged.

Rupesh wrote:No Way..
unless we plan to make Tibet a part of India.
That is the implication.

The Tibetan Parliament in Exile passes a bill making Tibet (currently PRC occupied) a part of India. HH Dalai Lama signs the Bill making it Law. The Bill allows the Central Govt. in Delhi to control Foreign Policy and Defense for Tibet. The rest remains with the State Govt. of Tibetan Autonomous Region of India. The Indian Parliament passes an Indian Law legalizing Tibet's accession to India.

That makes all Tibetans, including those in PRC-Occupied Tibet as well as HH Dalai Lama, citizens of India, paving the path for HH Dalai Lama to become President of India.

The Dalai Lama can always claim that he has been trying his best to find an amicable solution for Tibet with China, but China refuses to reciprocate, so he had to look for new solutions. PRC is to blame.
Last edited by RajeshA on 14 Sep 2010 21:50, edited 1 time in total.

Voted no because DL is not an Indian citizen.

And if the objective is to use the Tibetan cause to humiliate CHina, then it is a short term strategy at best.
A better way would be recognize Tibet as independant.

Voted No, because the Dalai Lama is not a Congress Party member.

vera_k wrote:Voted No, because the Dalai Lama is not a Congress Party member.

abhischekcc wrote:If the objective is to use the Tibetan cause to humiliate CHina, then it is a short term strategy at best.
A better way would be recognize Tibet as independant.
True, if the objective is humiliation then it is useless, but it can be just as much be a serious policy change, where India goes on the offensive. Instead of having China recognizing and de-recognizing parts of India - Arunachal Pradesh especially Tawang, Aksai Chin, Ladakh, Sikkim, etc., India retorts back that whole of Tibet belongs to India, and it is China that is sitting on Indian Land.

If India accepts that Tibet is part of China, which it at the moment does, then India's right to the above mentioned areas would always be contested by China. Even if India recognizes Tibet as an independent country, it does not change anything, because PRC sits on it, and India has no locus standi on it to speak with the Chinese about Tibetan independence. In fact the Chinese would say, that India sits on Tibetan land (Tawang) and India should first give it free.

So basically India's territorial integrity, even the current one, itself to some extent depends on India's claim to Tibet.

Either India lays claims to Tibet or we would start losing our Ladakh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh sooner or later, because China is contesting them on the basis of their claim on Tibet.

Marten wrote:Unfortunately HH asks only for autonomy, not complete independence. :)
He should ask for it within the Indian Union. :)

No. Actually, His Holiness needs to be "deported" to Tibet. Enough of his smile, books and celebrity status. Send him to his people. They need him there and not in USA or India. He is their leader no, let him fight for Tibet within Tibet.

Yeah right, he will bring Tibet into India. Some of you are smoking potent weed.
Last edited by SwamyG on 14 Sep 2010 22:06, edited 1 time in total.

RajeshA ji

wouldn't BRF be obsolete and we be debating in Chindu or TOIlet forum when what you said is a possibility?

When UPA was funding all thos big toys, we thought MMS outsourced Paki policy to USA and is focussing on China threat (pls read the origins of Chinese threat threads). Now the same Chinese, whom MMS was supposed to deter are fingering in Af-Pak theater, which was supposed to be unkils headache leaving our e-con-o-mist PM to focus on economy and inflation (which has been raising for the past 9yrs...

Heck NO.
India is too much into messaging some one when the other party is directly threatening. Then there will be WaH, WaH etc. This culture may be from kingdoms where there are appointed poets to do the wah, wahs when King does something. India in simple terms facing serious threats and our response has been so far all diplomacy and some "messaging". If Dalai Lama is made President of India, then it is also another form of "messaging". How in the world that will reduce the threat?

We are extremely good at (1) messaging (2) doing a lot of cost benefit analysis to find all the good reasons why economy growth is more important than Tawang, Assam, 24 parganas District and Cashmeer too.

May be time has come to show some real action. Arms race, missile deployments in friendly countries, proliferation threat, blackmailing etc are better than these perceived-chanakyan stuff.

RamaY wrote:RajeshA ji

wouldn't BRF be obsolete and we be debating in Chindu or TOIlet forum when what you said is a possibility?
Well, the strategy is to reach for the moon, so that we get to the first floor without losing our breath! Without the moon, we may not even get up from our musharrafs.

No because enough of this sending subtle message to opponents bull$hit. We need to punch in the face and kick some a$$ this time.

It is very impractical.
lot of changes have to be made to do this which will only score brownie points.
why would of any one make HHDL president of India.
He is a honored guest of India. He is the spiritual guide to tibetans worldwide. Let him be.
there is a tibetan govt in exile.
Better for India would to issue visas to tibet separate from chinese ones and go on from there.
We would like to have friendly relations with tibet as we have had in the past.
Support and make Tibet a buffer state free and independent. It will take years so be it.
Suppose by making HHDL president for 5 years- what is going to happen---only loss of face for Tibetans in a way.
panda will be in tibet in the next 5 years. the bearings will be lost if HHDL becomes president.
On top of it who will support him-- agreed he is a good man and all Indians love him without any doubt.
The question is who will support him- all like him but he requires support which I doubt will materialises.
If he fails it is a shame for everyone(Tibetans and Indians alike).

For heavens sake dont ever think of it.
thanx.

Instead, why not pick someone credible from Arunachal Pradesh as the President ?

Voted Yes!! anything out of the box to break out of status-quo is worth trying after 63 years of Independence.

I just don't like always striving for the "Status-Quo" attitude of the Grand Old Leaders of India.

As far as our Northern areas are concerned J&K, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh India is on the backfoot w.r.t. China. We are always pleading with them to make peace with India, to solve our border disputes, and every year the Chinese de-recognize some new area or tell us we need to take back some border posts, etc.

In fact, the Chinese have succeeded in making us Indians wonder, "whether it is all worth it, and what does the loss of a few bighas make. Who cares about Arunachal, etc.! May be the Chinese are right! If all these Northern areas once belonged to Tibet, and Tibet is a part of China, and even we recognize it as such, then may be we should give them those areas."

Tibetan Independence is a hopeless concept. India's policy is not to involve ourselves in the disputes of others - 'non-aligned' :roll: !!! Moreover unrealized Tibetan Independence does not help India one bit. But Tibetan Accession to India helps us strengthen our claims and gives hope to the Tibetans, that one day it may be possible.

We need to stop going on the back-foot. We don't need to reclaim Tibet just as yet. We can always say, India is looking for a peaceful means of solving the issue. But we can then damn well tell the Chinese, that their claims are worth as much as horse §hit. We have an Instrument of Accession by the Tibetan Parliament and by HH The Dalai Lama, the leader of all Tibetans.

We don't need to go the Pakistani way, (unless of course we are sure of success)! We can bide our time, and always retort that the Chinese are simply building on land which would anyway one day be India's.

We need to push back, otherwise the Chinese are not going to stop pushing us around.
Last edited by RajeshA on 14 Sep 2010 22:42, edited 1 time in total.

I vote IB4TL. Even though it is too late for that.

This is going to break narayan murthy's little capitalist heart.

He is so set on becoming the president.

He may have to "innovate" if the The Dalai Lama comes into the picture.
Rahul Shukla

Post by Rahul Shukla »

So the idea is to turn Tibet into China's occupied Kashmir and India into China's Pakistan? Hmm... novel idea, but impractical and it almost guarantees a two front war with the western front crossing the nuclear threshold. I voted "No".

The geography of Tibet is too surmountable. It is all white if you look at Bing pictures. It is easier to elect Hu Jintao as president of India. We have enough support for this proposal within BRF as well.

:evil:
Rahul Shukla

Post by Rahul Shukla »

RajeshA wrote:... It would however be prudent to go about it, after India has shown that India can get back land, e.g. in PoK, which would give India an immense psychological boost, enough to have the confidence to take on the Chinese ...
Yes! India must resoundingly defeat the feather-weight boxer (Pakistan) over Kashmir before stepping into a heavy-weight duel with China over Tibet.

Voted No. His Holiness is Tibetan. Thats what he stands for. They are living as guests on Indian soil. You need to be an Indian national to get the post anyway. HH is the defacto head of the Tibetan Govt in Exile.

His Holiness is Tibetan.
Why can't Tibet be part of the Indian union? Sikkim became part of India in 1975 after a referendum, Sikkim was part of British protectorate before 1947(just like Tibet which paid tribute to British as well as Chinese emperors). What if HH Dalai Lala declares that Tibet is part of Indian state and he is CM in exile of the Indian State of Tibet. Indian parliament by majority voting decides that Since Raj Bhavan at Lhasa is currently occuped by the Communist forces of China., he gets Rajya Sabha Membership of Indian parliament and after x number of years He can become President of Indian union.

Hint: Tigers and Elephants and not Jackals and Hyenas.

Marten wrote:Unfortunately HH asks only for autonomy, not complete independence. :)
He should ask for it within the Indian Union. :)
Actually, the options are more than within the Indian Union or Autonomy with China.
One possibility is an Autonomous Tibet in defense and economic link with India.
TonyMontana

Post by TonyMontana »

You guys can't be serious. To me, this is the kind of stunt that North Korea or Iran pull.

TonyMontana wrote:You guys can't be serious. To me, this is the kind of stunt that North Korea or Iran pull.
Please elaborate on the stunts that North Korea and Iran pull off and what is the similarity to this case? If possible in the Geopolitical Thread. please.
TonyMontana

Post by TonyMontana »

Now that my disbelieve has died down. Let me contribute something too.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Breaking News

(Beijing) The Chinese government Today reacted with disbelieve and bemusement that India has offered the Dalai Lama the role of President of India. The Chinese government restated their position that Tibet is an intergal part of PRC. Further, the CCP stated in a press release that this action confirms that India does not have the Tibetan communities' best interest at heart and instead has her own territorial ambitions in the region. A low ranking government official said:"They can make me the president of USA too. But that doesn't make it so." Statement from the PLA confirms their resolve to defend against any foregin designs on the motherland. An unnamed general said:"At this stage we are quite capable of defending against any Indian attack on the Chinese homeland."

The free tibet communities reacted with glee at the annoucement. But are unsure what impact this will have on actual tibetan welfare. And has shown reservations that India is now claiming Tibet as a part of her union. A spokemen said:"Any recognition of Tibet's independence is welcomed, but we don't want to see Tibet switching one overlord for another."

The Dalai Lama himself has yet to make a statement regarding this offer. But insiders say he is unlikely to take it up.

Here's Tom with the weather...

Voted yes, because Tony Montana got upset. :D

Besides nice points by SBajwa.

TonyMontana ji,

CPC is not offering him anything. India would be offering (hypothetically speaking) its leadership.

Secondly, lets not put the cart before the horses. The proposed chronology is something completely different.

Thirdly, it is China which marched into Tibet, pushing its leadership to look for asylum elsewhere. What makes Tibet a part of China, except that it is presently occupied by China. China may have control over Tibet, but they have no legitimacy.

Some rhetorical words of some CPC functionaries have no meaning in India. China took over a buffer state between China and India and now we are in an uneasy quiet (can't really call it peace)!

The question of this poll was to collect some thinking on the issue, and search for possibilities in dealing with the abrasive PRC.

Besides if HH The Dalai Lama's election as President of India has no meaning for PRC, try to ignore it. Why get all worked up?

TonyMontana wrote:Now that my disbelieve has died down. Let me contribute something too.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Breaking News
<snip><snip><snip>

The Dalai Lama himself has yet to make a statement regarding this offer. But insiders say he is unlikely to take it up.

Here's Tom with the weather...
It is now learned that HH issued the following statement:
I, er... the Tibetans demand legitimate and meaningful autonomy as they have experienced hell on earth. As Tibet is an autonomous region of China, I cannot accept this offer. {he turns away smiles at the camera, signs autographs and goes to his next interview}
yogi

Post by yogi »

I voted No. Why waste an important post like that of President of our nation just to make a point? There are better (and cheaper) ways of doing the same thing. Further, we need to increase the number of Tibetan players, not reduce them.
TonyMontana

Post by TonyMontana »

Karan M wrote: Voted yes, because Tony Montana got upset. :D
RajeshA wrote: Why get all worked up?
I'm so not worked up. I'm typing this with a big smile on my face. BRF might just made my day. Let's not talk about Tibet or anything else. The Dalai Lama as the president of India? You guys want a Tibetan as the President of India? What?

The President of India, (Hindi: राष्ट्रपति[1] Sanskrit, lit. Lord of the realm) is the head of state and first citizen of India, as well as the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces.

Why do you guys want to turn the president of such a dignified nation into a political stunt, who's only purpose is to piss off a bunch of old men in Beijing? The common chinese on the street will just laugh.

India can do better with the Dalai Lama then to turn your own presidency into a joke. This to me, is like Iran digging mass graves now for all the US soldiers that they are going to kill. A pointless stunt to make a point. It's beneath a country like India.