Page 201 of 364

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Posted: 03 Jan 2014 20:12
by Sanku
Yet another case of shameless behaviour by US -- this time on Indian soil, and Indian govt just does nothing.

Indian researcher exposes US bias
Indian diplomat Devyani Khobragade's case is not the only one where American's have targeted Indians working for their country. Former US embassy employee Dr Aparna Srivastava narrates how she was sacked for not toeing US lines.

Posted: 03 Jan 2014 20:15
by Sanku
Former researcher with US Embassy, Aparna Srivastava takes steps against US diplomat
I had barely worked for three months when the incident happened. I was holding a senior position as an Indian employee in the Embassy on a permanent position and did not deserve this treatment. It is still a nightmare for me," a visibly dejected Srivastava told ET. Srivastava alleged that she was dismissed, as she was not following the diktats of her superior, Stacy Pearce (the American Diplomat), under whom she worked in the human rights section since she was employed at the Embassy in July 2012.

"Stacy wanted me to write reports on human rights issue in a fashion that would suit interests of the US government in India. But this is unethical and distortion of the facts," she noted. "I was dismissed on the grounds that I was defensive and argumentative. I was also accused of being pro-Indian government and pro-National Human Rights Commission. But I would never be disloyal when I am working in a particular organization. I was just giving an unbiased and honest opinion in my reports," Srivastava claimed.

Before joining the Embassy, she was employed with NHRC for seven years. Describing her ordeal on the fateful day, she said the Human Resource department kept her confined in a room with no contact with outside world.

Her phone was also allegedly seized and forced to sign a 'pre-drafted resignation' letter. Subsequently Srivastava was sent out of the Embassy and packed up in a taxi with two boxes of some of her personal belongings. The remaining portion of her belongings was sent to her home at her insistence later.

"This entire episode left me without a job which made life difficult. Later the Embassy paid all my dues. Over the past year I have written several times to the US Embassy including the Ambassador for an audience with Nancy Powell. But I am yet to hear from her or any other diplomat," said Srivastava, adding, "I have contacted the Americas Division of the MEA with all documents. I narrated my ordeal and that I was dismissed under duress. They will look into my case." But Srivastava remains crestfallen and yet to recover from her experience.
No wonder most Indians in US prefer to err on the side of caution while amply toeing US line.

Posted: 03 Jan 2014 20:34
by Aditya_V
When so much at stake it is foolish to talk against Khan unless one is a citizen aldready.

Posted: 03 Jan 2014 21:23
by ramana
In early 80s, my 'redneck' boss told me two precepts to guide me in my career in US:
1) Just because you are paranoid does not mean there is nobody out there to get you!
2) The road to hell is paved with good intentions!

I did say he was a redneck.

Posted: 03 Jan 2014 21:25
by ramana
Altair want to transfer the posts to a GDF thread?
If so start it and will do the work.

I think its an opening skirmish and expect economic slowdown in US ties to India as a one-two punch.

Posted: 03 Jan 2014 21:37
by Altair

Posted: 03 Jan 2014 22:53
by Amber G.
...Does she not travel as a regular American when in USA ? It is not as if frisking is only for ordinary mortals and not for American-RAPE class.
Nowadays they frisk all and sundry even in US Airports ...
Most already know this but no, not all are treated same when they go through US Airports. Many can (and do) get, for example Global Entry Permit which speeds up these things. If you travel frequently this is something to consider. (Those family members, who travel a lot have it, and it really speeds up the custom/security etc ...for example, you don't have to remove your shoes, or take out your laptop, and thus sometimes can save literally an hour or so.as you also have a much shorter queue)

( For those who are interested, any one (or your employer some time because it costs money) can apply. It is a program that allows expedited clearance for pre-approved, low-risk travelers upon arrival in the United States.

At airports one goes to Global Entry kiosks, presents machine-readable passport (or even a Green card, I think), places one's fingertips on the scanner, make a customs declaration. The kiosk issues the traveler a transaction receipt and directs the traveler to baggage claim and the exit. - Of course, one has to be pre-approved and undergoes a rigorous background check).

Of course, some rouge TSA officer can still be a jerk, (as they can still select someone for further examination), like it happened to an Indian ambassador, or an US congressman and it becomes a big scandal. (At present US law does not provide enough accountability against the rogue TSA, and they get away from punishment even when they mistreat a high positioned US person as they (TSA) get immunity, and so sometimes arrogant enough to disregard even the local police.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 00:58
by Nandu
IMHO, the only significance of increasing numbers of Indian Americans in the US administration is that the Indian American community is a very educated and accomplished one, and its numbers have increased dramatically in the last couple of decades.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 01:21
by ramana
I sometimes go thru TSA checklines without having to remove shoes etc. It all depends on the boarding pass.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 02:33
by Suraj
Moderator Note: The entire chain of name-calling and stereotyping of various subgroups, whether NRIs, PIOs or RIs, has been deleted. Continuing the same line of discussion further will result in warnings, and if applicable based on prior record, bans being applied.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 03:03
by RajeshA
From twitter
Secular Indian @secular786 wrote:#Devyani worked on Iran Desk before moving to US. That's why she is picked for showing what US can do.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 04:23
by Amber G.
ramana wrote:I sometimes go thru TSA checklines without having to remove shoes etc. It all depends on the boarding pass.
Ramana, I do not think you understood what I was saying. Point was, TSA checking does depend, more than randomness, if you are pre-approved (with GEP, for example or VIP) or not. This is why it becomes a major news item, if GF is asked to remove his jacket , or APJ is asked to remove shoes at TSA checkpoint.
(When you are pre-approved, your going through those lines, in general, is significantly faster)

Anyway my post was for FYI - for those who travel frequently, GEP may help.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 04:24
by Bade
They could have done the same in the previous two cases (Malhotra and Dayal) but did not do, so this one has deeper meanings or reasons.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 04:29
by Amber G.
RajeshA wrote:From twitter
Secular Indian @secular786 wrote:#Devyani worked on Iran Desk before moving to US. That's why she is picked for showing what US can do.
Do they say by whom or why (why US want to that?) What are the sources?

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 04:48
by Amber G.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 05:09
by Amber G.
Interesting development but not surprising ...

As predicted by many, Preet Bharara's office has less power than some thought.. that is according to US and reported by newspapers...

Few points:

Preet Bharara's office on today clarified it will have no role or power to intervene if UN grants DK a visa which gets her immunity.

At best, Bharara’s office may be asked for its opinion “But that opinion, even if sought, won’t be binding,”

( She will after her transfer to the UN mission will enjoy full immunity)

His office is also passing the buck to the state department, whose bureau of diplomatic security launched an investigation, which ended in visa fraud charges against Khobragade.

...But the bureau of diplomatic security, under US laws, couldn’t prosecute the case, which is the domain of prosecution agencies, in this case Bharara’s office...
(Meaning if Bharara does not think the case is prosecution worthy his office is not going to pursue... also there is grumbling that Bharara's office was out of the loop and bureau of diplomatic security inform him only days before the incident .. :shock:

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 05:46
by RajeshA
Do they say by whom or why (why US want to that?) What are the sources?
AFAIK, it was highlighted during Arnab's talk show with General Bakshi.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 07:13
by putnanja
I wonder if the SD or Preet Bahrara's office leaked the video claiming it to be of DK! Wouldn't it put it beneath SD or Preet to engage in these kind of activities.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 07:23
by Vayutuvan
putnanja wrote:I wonder if the SD or Preet Bahrara's office leaked the video claiming it to be of DK! Wouldn't it put it beneath SD or Preet to engage in these kind of activities.
What is the benefit and to whom? (insert the favorite Latin phrase here).

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 07:31
by putnanja
matrimc wrote:
putnanja wrote:I wonder if the SD or Preet Bahrara's office leaked the video claiming it to be of DK! Wouldn't it put it beneath SD or Preet to engage in these kind of activities.
What is the benefit and to whom? (insert the favorite Latin phrase here).
I don't think that US resorted to arresting and strip-searching DK as just another law & order issue. If it was so, it would resolved the issue by now. The way the issue is dragging out, and the fact that DK still isn't issued Diplomatic Immunity even though her papers reached US SD last week makes me suspect there is something deeper behind the whole issue. For Preet, it could just be payback because of the way he has been projected as the villian behind the whole issue. For some in SD, they might just want to make sure that the issue is dragged out, as India would obviously be enraged seeing the video. Will make rapprochement difficult between US and India.

If it was just stupidity on US part, or innocent oversight, DK would have had the immunity by now.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 07:47
by member_26011
Its just hard to believe that:
- SR was a victim of human trafficking, the guise under which her family was evacuated.
- SR and family had no privileged access of any kind, and the evacuation was all normal application of statute.
- Bharara didn't get played, badly. I mean who would fall for this trafficking stuff? An IFS officer in NYC? I mean ch***yape ke bhi had nahi hothi, kya?
- US didn't know of Vienna Conventions, the privileges they unequally enjoy, what the norm is here in terms of making one PNG, or that custodial rape is war, or that she did have immunity, or that 4500 was not the maid's salary, ... it just is such unbelievable crap.

It amazes that one even has to make the moves of giving DK "immunity" to save honor, instead of saying WTF, get the f**k out and, in a matter of hours, set pandus loose on some of the worthies that are surely being tracked.

I mean there must be a lot more going on here, even if sometimes, a munna is just a munna. Doesn't this strike the readers as totally knackered?

At least for me, it isn't until Altair's notes that the case of where even to look made any sense.

So the best theory now could be: SR an asset trailing DK, at Iran desk, a series of escalating moves there, unsure, that she was a center piece of. Asset discovered, things had to move fast, and both pieces got docked. I don't know, may be more dramatic than real, but at least this whole trafficking shafficking business seems kaput to me.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 07:47
by SSridhar
By arresting DK, strip-searching her and incarcerating her along with prostitutes and drug peddlers, the US has crossed many redlines and humiliated India. Dropping the case citing immunity (which looks like the most probable way out) after extensive damage is done with only cursory and ambiguous 'regrets' thrown as crumbs, is not going to mend the relationship. The damage is done. Before the issue concludes with the dropping of charges or whatever, India has to arrest at least one American consul for violation of Indian tax laws. India would not be able to retaliate after the DK case concludes and we would have lost a golden opportunity. Yes, we have to do tit-for-tat so that it does not recur.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 08:15
by amit
Sridhar,
Normally I would agree with you 400 percent. However if we give credence to the Iran angle, and I don't see why we shouldn't as it looks very plausible, then that implies that there are two camps in Amir Khan who are slugging it out and DK got in between. In that case the moment we do retaliation even the side supporting us would be forced to take a stand against us. Assuming our babus have handled this well so far, maybe that's why there has been no retaliation so far. The Ian aspect is suddenly doing the rounds to send a message that we understand the game IMO.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 08:21
by Gus
SS, that time window is passed. that should have been done on day 2, with day one for us to come up with charges in the quiet and a warning "give us what we want or we have to do what we have to do" that expired end of day.

i don't think we are going to arrest anybody in retaliation, even with enough tax evasion and visa fraud culpability.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 08:26
by Bade
There is only one big gorilla in the SD who is a also another middle-east player with lot of pull whom if named without evidence would ruffle feathers here. If Iran is the reason, then it can be difficult for us as we depend on the other party too.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 08:58
by a_bharat
Any factions etc. within US SD are internal to US and are irrelevant to India. India should not look for excuses to not retaliate against an unprovoked and unjustifiable brutal assault on its female diplomat. India should not over think the consequences and should retaliate appropriately (even belated is better than not doing at all).

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 09:04
by ramana
So it was a US State Dept play all along with preet Bharara roped in for the actual arrest. The Bureau of Diplomatic Security handed DK over to USMS for the cavity search etc. And were quite mum early on and let Bharara take the flak!!!

I did maintain Bharara was a patsy quite early on in this very thread, on Dec 20th

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 4#p1561644

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 09:26
by pankajs
The 2009 report is getting some play. Hope this is picked up by Indian media big time to expose the US hypocrisy.

US missions abroad paid some local staff less than $1 a day
WASHINGTON: For all the complaints about India and its diplomats underpaying domestic help on their postings abroad, a 2009 state department evaluation of practices in US embassies and missions abroad revealed that some local employees they hired earn less than $1 a day. In fact, some of them were so poorly paid they had to cut back to one meal a day or send their children to peddle on the streets, the report said.

The report from the state department's Office of the Inspector General (OIG), which has been dusted off for scrutiny by some Indian officials amid a flaming row between Washington and New Delhi over the l'affaire Devyani, looked at how the US pays more than 51,000 local, non-American employees in about 170 missions abroad. In addition to the hardship caused to the workers because of inadequate pay, the report found that the US pays in what in some cases amounts to universal below-poverty level wages.

"Twenty-seven missions presented compelling arguments that their lower-grade employees fall short of minimal living standards," the report said. "These arguments included accounts of LE (locally employed) staff removing children from school, cutting back to one meal a day, sending children to sell water or little cakes or toiletries on the streets ... employees depending on salary advances and defaulting on loans in order to cover basic expenses ... (pay) grades 1 to 3 earning less than $1 per day."

Exchanges in Washington also suggested the two nations are at an impasse over New Delhi's intended scrutiny of wages at US embassy and consulates in India following the Khobragade spat. Administration sources maintain that salaries of employees at missions abroad are not made public for a variety of reasons, "including their own privacy and security". But they insist — while asserting the need for confidentiality — that "despite some current negative reporting ... our embassies and consulates are actually very generous in our compensations to local employees".

"The differences in how salary increases are initiated and implemented for American and LE staff are a point of tension, and make it difficult for the management to explain the compensation process to the LE staff," the 2009 report said.
If the data is not provided then the US embassy and consulate should be barred from employing Indian help and case of cheating launched for current claims of Indian employees.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 09:49
by pankajs
India prepares for showdown with the US as Devyani's January 13 trial date draws closer
As the January 13 date for Devyani Khobragade's trial in New York to begin draws closer, India has winched up the pressure on the US by telling interlocutors that there will be severe strain in bilateral ties if public prosecutor Preet Bharara goes ahead with his attempt to indict the Indian diplomat.

Foreign Secretary Sujatha Singh who is leading the firefight with Washington with her core team in New Delhi has sent out a tough message during her interactions with US Under Secretary of Political Affairs Wendy Sherman.

A similar message has been sent through India's envoy to Washington S Jaishankar.

The US is still sitting over India's notes to grant a G1 visa to Devyani which will give her full immunity. Mail Today had earlier reported that the Ministry of External Affairs has asked the Central Board of Excise and Customs to look into alleged tax violations.

It has also asked about the tickets purchased to fly out the family of Khobragade's domestic help Sangeeta Richard to the US from India, which was not known to Indian authorities.

The family is in the protection of the US Department of Home Land security.

Now, the proposal has put under the movie screenings at the American Centre in New Delhi and other cities under the scanner of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

The proposal suggests the screenings were without any permissions or censor certificates.

Another recommendation is to have the Revenue Department of the Finance Ministry examine the violation of a 1973 understanding between India and the US, which exempts only 16 employees of the American school from paying taxes.

The foreign office believes that this concession has been extended to all staffers.

Sources say the Income Tax department will also do an unprecedented 360 degree mapping of diplomats and their families.

The MEA has also made a follow up plan which includes stopping diplomats' spouses and relatives working without requisite permits.

There is also likely to be a close scrutiny of the diplomatic status of those working in US Information Service and American Centre in the country.

Besides as a follow up of complaints received by the ministry from a number of local employees of the US mission, the MEA also wants to examine the contracts for the local employees and wants to make it mandatory for the US mission to file all contracts with the MEA, to ensure their scrutiny.

These measures form part of proposals aimed at putting pressure on the US to make them realise the seriousness of the situation.

PM Manmohan Singh who has been a huge backer of the Indo-US relations has also distanced himself from the affair and has clearly said the matter has to be settled by diplomats, endorsing the tough response of the foreign office in the issue.
Munna must have gotten all teary eyed on being told of the diplomats arrest in NY .. not for the sufferings of the diplomat but for the vile accusation against his massa in the Indian media and the diminishing prospects of the cherished nob@ll piss prize.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 09:50
by a_bharat
Can't say if the video is real or fake, but it will boil your blood. It is on gizmocrave.com website.
The marshals were all men, and it is very brutal.

GoI must retaliate strongly.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 10:47
by Satya_anveshi
Video matches the description DK gave. If she confirms that it is her in the video then it hardly matters what US and MUTUs say. This will and should enrage people further.

It is amusing why will US make this video available and then calls it hoax. Kerry and Nancy Powell need to come out and explain really what this is all about. If not, there is little choice not play their game for now starting from declaring NP as PNG nothing less. Make *many* retaliatory arrest and stop any and all non consular activities indulged by US personnel in India.

There is a complete breakdown of communication and confidence - an essential element to maintaining relationship.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 10:48
by pankajs
Bilateral ties will be severely strained if Devyani is indicted, India tells US

Read more at: http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/devy ... 34313.html

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 10:50
by Satya_anveshi
So, Kerry managed to do an == between India and Pak. Dr. DK==Dr. AS

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 10:54
by pankajs
Satya_anveshi wrote:There is a complete breakdown of communication and confidence - an essential element to maintaining relationship.
Agree .. This cloak and dagger game played by the US embassy and the state department is ample proof.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 11:00
by a_bharat
The only logical explanation I can think of at the moment for the US's behavior is that it wanted to clearly demonstrate to pakistan that it is breaking up with India.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 11:13
by habal
Feel very sorry for Devyani, it is an abject lesson to all Indian middle-class aspirants as to what USA is all about. We didn't learn it the right way during the needless war on Iraqi civilians and when an old ally Saddam was executed, there were people tomtoming about some 'Indian growth story' and we still didn't learn during war in Syria or when Gaddafi was tortured in Libya. So now the evil ahs landed at our doorsteps and we have no options but to learn it the hard way. US is a police state in control of Sauron with very little oversight and a few puppets as frontmen.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 11:14
by Altair
Satya_anveshi wrote:Video matches the description DK gave. If she confirms that it is her in the video then it hardly matters what US and MUTUs say. This will and should enrage people further.

It is amusing why will US make this video available and then calls it hoax. Kerry and Nancy Powell need to come out and explain really what this is all about. If not, there is little choice not play their game for now starting from declaring NP as PNG nothing less. Make *many* retaliatory arrest and stop any and all non consular activities indulged by US personnel in India.

There is a complete breakdown of communication and confidence - an essential element to maintaining relationship.
If there is weight to Iran angle and there are two camps in SD then it could be possible that it was leaked by the team which India is in contact with. It could be part of internal house cleaning of SD.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 11:16
by Raja Bose
Satya_anveshi wrote:Video matches the description DK gave. If she confirms that it is her in the video then it hardly matters what US and MUTUs say. This will and should enrage people further.
To be honest, the girl in the video doesn't look like DK to me but even if 0.1% of what is shown in the video was done to DK, the US has gone way too far and needs to get smacked. Maybe all US needs to do to avoid that is promise MMS a Pakistani Visa to visit his beloved birth place. :roll:

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 11:20
by putnanja
We have a PM who cares more about the US relationship than how they treat Indian diplomats, what more can you expect :roll:

US agrees with PM's remarks; says working to get ties on track
The US has agreed with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh that the arrest of an Indian diplomat has caused hiccups in bilateral ties, but said it is now focused on getting the relationship back on really strong footing.

"When you hear the Secretary (of State) express regret about something, that means that everything hasn't gone as it should," State Department Deputy Spokesperson Marie Harf told reporters at her daily news conference yesterday.

"What we're focused on now is getting the relationship back on really strong footing," Harf told reporters. "We just have too much important work to do together going forward on a host of issues in the region and around the world."

The US, she said, continues to review the paper work that the State Department received from the UN on the transfer of Khobragade to the Permanent Mission of India to the UN, which would give her the necessary diplomatic immunity.

"There's a judicial process, a legal process underway, and I don't have any estimates for how long that will all take to play out. There's also our diplomatic discussions as well. Just nothing new to announce or guess about here today," Harf said in response to a question.

She also that said Assistant Secretary of State for South and Central Asia, Nisha Desai Biswal, is looking forward to her maiden visit to India. No dates have been announced yet.

"Our Assistant Secretary certainly looks forward to visiting India as soon as possible. It's my understanding there was nothing locked in stone on the calendar. I know there were some rumors out there. When it works in her schedule, she's very much looking forward to traveling there, to the region and talking to folks on the ground," she said.

Khobragade row: Indo-US ties stay stressed as US delegation defers trip
The Khobragade episode is taking a toll on high-level visits to India from the United States. After the Indian-origin US Assistant Secretary of State Neha Desai Biswal postponed her first official India visit that was scheduled for the second week of January, a US defence delegation has also deferred its trip, fearing that it may not get audience amid the diplomatic standoff.

The defence delegation that was scheduled to have a meeting with the Ministry of Defence in India has postponed its visit in the light of the unsavoury issue, government officials said.

The State Department has indicated that Biswal may now visit India around January 13, but this is still not certain because the logjam over the Khobragade issue may not be resolved by that time. Meanwhile, there are no major outgoing visits planned from India to the US in the near future, they said. The last Indian official to visit to Washington was Foreign Secretary Sujatha Singh.

Posted: 04 Jan 2014 11:25
by anmol
Raja Bose wrote:
To be honest, the girl in the video doesn't look like DK to me but even if 0.1% of what is shown in the video was done to DK, the US has gone way too far and needs to get smacked. Maybe all US needs to do to avoid that is promise MMS a Pakistani Visa to visit his beloved birth place. :roll:
The girl in that video is Hope Steffy wikipedia.org/wiki/Stark_County_Sheriff's_Office‎

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WrjHEhNrwlE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gDRsCkc-9k0