Terrorist attack on Delhi High Court

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Terrorist attack on Delhi High Court

Guddu, The Stratfor process is to turn the nation into a paranoid state that fears every amphibian under each rock.
One should worry about the toads (poisonous) and not the frogs(eats insects).

no, but this is the beauty of the tspa attack strategy
plausible deniability means that you can't immediately point the finger even when you know its them
if you say its them you are the belligerent and they are the innocent party
in the meantime, they get to poke an ungli and create tension - whatever happens it is bad for india
and frankly, given the nuclear shadow, its going to remain "tolerable" for considerably longer

our best response is also assymetric
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

brihaspati wrote:
ramana wrote:Sanjeevpunj, Unless there is irrefutable evidence that TSP is involved like capture of Kasab (by ordinary Mumbai police not to forget) it will be difficult. Hence ISI uses disgruntled Indians to carry out the attack to provide palusible denialbility because terrorism is handled as acrime so the burdenof proof is high. If terrorism by a state is handled as act of war then the burden of proof is smaller.

I want people to think what will be scenario if India decides to take conventional military strikes with the proviso that nuke escalation is on cards if deterrence breaks or outside forces intervene like PRC or massa. IOW deterrenc gets expanded from NFU. SS Menon already expanded NFU only to non-nuke/NWS states last year.
It will not happen until domestic opposition gets to the point where it outshines the perceptions of the need to keep internal Islamists happy. Then just like CPC-PLA factional needs, one faction of the current regime may push for military action - to raise "nationalist" sentiment and bypass the threat to dynastic hold. we have not yet reached the point.
Brihaspati ji, the point may not be far away.......What if Dr M M S suddenly surprises everyone with a "once in a lifetime" decision to go all out.
ks das

Post by ks das »

Meanwhile:
If anybody missed the following news from hindi paper.
Afzal is saddened by the blast: http://navbharattimes.indiatimes.com/ar ... 922089.cms
Afzal is going for righteousness and heroism. Assuming he is being honest but still that's enough to provoke another masala article from Madam Arundhoti.

DNA reports:

Fourth e-mail confirms IM involvement

So Special Cell Delhi Police was right after all that its IM all along. Kudos to them.

IM is the preferred on-site delivery team since LeT got negative publicity for previous projects
Patni

Post by Patni »

self deleted as its redundant.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

So if it is confirmed now that IM is involved, what next? At least we can decimate them inside India,whoever they are.Now people will argue that there is a process of law. Does any such organisation get a right to exist in India, first place? Obviously No.The weaknesses of our governance are used by these organisations, and we must decimate these organisations.The task must be carried out secretly,and nothing should be announced to the public about such moves.They threaten the core of India's existence, they threaten democracy.They threaten the very tenets of harmonious co-existence in the world, of Christians,Hindus,Muslims,Buddhists and Sikhs living in harmony.These people are mutants and are using religion as a cover, and must be tackled fast.
Quoting from wiki.....
The Indian Mujahideen have sent several emails claiming responsibility for several bombings.
The complete text of the 14 page carefully drafted Indian Mujahideen email, sent 4 minutes before Ahmedabad blasts can be seen at,.The message refers to Islamic conquerors of India -Ibn-e-Qasim, Ghauri, Ghaznawi.
It warns about havoc about to happen in five minutes:
"... Here we are back - the Mujahideen of India - the terrorists on the disbelievers - the radicals of Islam - after our triumphant and successful assault at Jaipur, once again calling you all, who disbelieve in Allah and His Messenger Muhammad to accept Islam and bear witness that there is none to be worshipped except Allah, and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah. Accept Islam and save yourselves.
O Hindus! O disbelieving faithless Indians! Haven’t you still realized that the falsehood of your 33 crore dirty mud idols and the blasphemy of your deaf, dumb, mute idols are not at all going to save your necks, Insha-Allah, from being slaughtered?
We call you, O Hindus, O enemies of Allah, to take an honest stance with yourselves lest another attack of Ibn-e-Qasim sends shivers down your spines, lest another Ghauri shakes your foundations, and lest another Ghaznawi massacres you, proving your blood to be the cheapest of all mankind! Have you forgotten your history full of subjugation, humiliation, and insult? Or do you want us to repeat it again? Take heed before it is too late!
So wait! ................ Await now……….! Wait only for five minutes from now! .... Wait for the Mujahideen and Fidayeen of Islam and stop them if you can - who will make you feel the terror of Jihad. Feel the havoc cast into your hearts by Allah, the Almighty, face His Dreadful Punishment, and suffer the results of fighting the Muslims and the Mujahideen. Await the anguish, agony, sorrow and pain. Await, only for 5 minutes, to feel the fear of death...".
The email was in the form of a pdf document that included several Arabic quotes from the Quran with translation.
The past emails by Indian Mujahideen include the following:
Serial blasts in three towns of Uttar Pradesh in November 2007
13 May 2008, after the Jaipur blasts email, traced to a Ghaziabad cyber cafe.
26 July 2008, four minues before Ahmedabad blasts, email traced Kenneth Haywood's WiFi IP address in Sanpada, Navi Mumbai.
August 2008, after the press conference held by the Gujarat Police, IP address traced to WiFi network of Khalsa college in Matunga, central Mumbai.
13 September 2008,during the Delhi serial blast, IP address traced to WiFi network of Kamran Power Control Pvt Ltd, at 201-202 Eric House, 16th Road, Chembur.
They did not send any e-mail messages claiming responsibility for the serial blasts in Bangalore on 25 July 2008.

Source:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indian_Mujahideen
Last edited by sanjeevpunj on 09 Sep 2011 21:28, edited 1 time in total.
saadhak

Post by saadhak »

Philip wrote:So the worm has turned.I apologise to all worms and other invertebrates.The lout...sorry ,louse,apologies to all lice,has with one swift statement absolved Pakistan of all terrorism!
:
Truly has this creature reached the level of his incompetence.
Did anyone hear him at the press conference?
http://www.indiatvnews.com/news/India/We_Didn_t_Attack_NDA_After_Parliament_Attack_-10603.html
When Delhi High Court blast took place, there was a terror attack in Quetta (in Pakistan).
How is the Quetta blast relevant to the Delhi HC terrorist strike?
None other than the person responsible for internal security of the country doing an == of our situation with that of the 'epicentre of terrorism' (in his own words)

let us assume that GOI are very clever people, (they must be since they know such ingenious ways to pull scams)
what is gained by having an angry janata and doing an ==; like all things there must a political angle
not just domestic (as i am sure many of you will now add) but international...
what are the scenarios?
1. confuse kiyani?
2. force let-hafix to declare his hand?
3. flush out further attacks in the pipeline?
4. force some sort of unkil-munna game into next stage?
lets start thinking

^^ Wow, i think that at this rate ( after seeing PC's press conference where he is doing == between Quetta and Delhi), MMS will have a address to the nation after every bomb blast in Pak to ask for donations and sympathy for TSP...

a glimmer of a thought is beginning to form in my mind
i think that the GOI is playing a long game to have unkil B52 TSP to kingdom come
the current == tamasha is to force TSPA to get more and more agitated and start jumping around (in afghanistan and elsewhere) until unkil will have no choice but to trample them underfoot

Lalmohan, Lets not fall for that chunky pandeyness.
"Never ascribe to malice that which can adequately be explained by incompetence."
— Napoleon Bonaparte

I would substitute chankianess for malish

Lalmohan wrote:a glimmer of a thought is beginning to form in my mind
i think that the GOI is playing a long game to have unkil B52 TSP to kingdom come
the current == tamasha is to force TSPA to get more and more agitated and start jumping around (in afghanistan and elsewhere) until unkil will have no choice but to trample them underfoot
Isnt this streching the limits of Chankianess?

i am exploring possible alternative explanations

So, the most obvious explanation would still be the US pressure+ INC vote bank politics, Lalmullah? ( other than the alternate explanation)

please keep exploring, lets try to think beyond the obvious

Lalmohan wrote:please keep exploring, lets try to think beyond the obvious
Sir ji, Chanakyan GOI Babbu known as Ram Bharose is assigned to fish in pee pond and expecting to catch fresh water Salmon as well abundance of Poakshrimps.

The Harkat-ul-Jihad may have claimed responsibility for Delhi High Court blast on Wednesday, but security expert B. Raman says all evidences point to the Indian Mujahideen.

"Though it's very early to come to any definitive conclusion, my suspicion is Indian Mujahadeen could be behind the blast," Raman told Headlines Today.

Raman said indigenous elements might be behind the blast.

"The blast could have been in retaliation to unfair treatment of Muslims by the criminal justice system i.e. police and judiciary," he said

Sleeper cells that could have escaped detection must be behind the blast, Raman said, adding, that security agencies have been unsuccessful in detection and that could have encouraged the terrorists.

B Raman on Delhi High Court blast
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/secu ... 50433.html

^^ How could B Raman say that (at the bold part), can he provide evidence please?
Last edited by IndraD on 09 Sep 2011 22:26, edited 1 time in total.

Something very weird is going on...

ks das wrote:Meanwhile:
If anybody missed the following news from hindi paper.
Afzal is saddened by the blast: http://navbharattimes.indiatimes.com/ar ... 922089.cms
Afzal is going for righteousness and heroism. Assuming he is being honest but still that's enough to provoke another masala article from Madam Arundhoti.
The correct response for GOI would be to immediately hang Afzal...that should send the right message and is doable.

B Raman 's full article on Delhi High court blast
After nearly three years, we are not in a position to make a meaningful assessment of the new post-26/11 terror threat for want of essential data, says B Raman.

The terrorism situation on the ground is becoming more and more worrying. It is not just because the terrorists have become smarter than they were before. They have, of course, but that should not be the main cause of worry.

It is because they have become more invisible, more inaudible and more unquantifiable than before. After nine terrorist strikes since 26/11, three each in Mumbai and Delhi and one each in Pune, Bengaluru and Varanasi, we still do not have an idea of who they are, what is their ideology, what are their demands, how strong they are, how are they organised, are they home-grown or externally sponsored, where are their roots etc.

After nearly three years, we are not in a position to make a meaningful assessment of the new post-26/11 terror threat faced by us for want of essential data.

You get the data from the network of your human agents spread across the country and abroad, from your TECHINT (technical intelligence) set-up inside the country and along the international borders, from your interrogation and surveillance of suspects, from your local inquiries and from your interactions with different communities.

How come not one of these means of collecting data seems to be functioning? Our HUMINT was generally below par, but deficiencies in our HUMINT (human intelligence) coverage used to be made up by our above par TECHINT coverage.

Many sleeper cells of terrorist organisations were detected and neutralised before 26/11, and many terrorists were identified and arrested after the commission of a terrorist strike by intercepting their electronic chatter.

Why has there been no worthwhile electronic chatter after 26/11? Have the terrorists stopped using modern means of communication or are they using more modern means of communication which our TECHINT set-up is not able to identify and break through?

You could see that the counter-terrorism capability of our TECHINT set-up seems to have weakened from the fact that there have been very few instances -- if at all there are any -- of new sleeper cells being tracked down and neutralised and new suspects being rounded up and interrogated.

What is this apparent weakening of our counter-terrorism TECHINT capability due to? Turf battles? Non-recruitment of qualified and motivated TECHINT experts? Non-investment in equipment?

Whatever be the reason, it is a worrisome development. HUMINT and TECHINT work in tandem. If one is weak, the other makes up for it.

If both become weak simultaneously, we start groping in the dark unable to see or hear the terrorists and sense their furtive movements and actions across the country.

Counter-terrorism has three components: prevention through timely and actionable intelligence, prevention through effective physical security and attrition of the terrorists' capability through successful investigation and prosecution.

The physical security should be so tight that even if intelligence fails or is not up to the mark, we are still able to thwart the terrorists.

Physical security cannot be blamed for seven of the nine terrorist strikes that have taken place since 26/11. But, poor physical security has definitely contributed to the two strikes outside the Delhi high court in May and on September 7.

Since November, 2007, the Indian Mujahideen had been repeatedly criticising the Indian judiciary and on November 23, 2007, it had carried out seven explosions outside courts in three cities of Uttar Pradesh.

Yet, for four years, we do not have seem to have made any physical security audit of important courts -- particularly in Delhi and Mumbai -- nor have we taken necessary action to strengthen their physical security; either through governmental means or by putting private physical security agencies on the job.

It used to be said and believed before 26/11 that while our preventive capability was weak, our ability to cause attrition in the ranks and capability of terrorist organisations through good investigation and prosecution was high.

Even this capability, about which we used to boast before 26/11, seems to have weakened with the result that we have not made much headway in the investigation of the post-26/11 terrorist incidents.

The series of terrorist strikes carried out by the IM and Pakistani organisations across India outside Jammu and Kashmir since the Mumbai blasts of March,1993, made us realise that jihadi terrorism --whether home-grown or imported from abroad -- had become a pan-Indian threat and that it cannot be dealt with in the same manner as we were dealing with cross-border terrorism in J&K, which was a different kettle of fish.

It was this realisation which brought into existence post-26/11 the National Investigation Agency, which functions under the control of the home minister. But the NIA as it has evolved is neither a donkey nor a mule. One does not know what it is.

Many of us -- like me -- who had been advocating a new counter-terrorism investigation machinery to deal with the new pan-Indian terrorism, wanted some set-up similar to the counter-terrorism division of America's Federal Bureau of Investigation.

The FBI is exclusively responsible for all preliminary inquiries, investigation and prosecution in all terrorism incidents of a federal dimension.

It is for the director of the FBI to assess whether an incident of violence amounted to an act of terrorism. Once he decides so, he asks the FBI to take over the investigation.

He does not require any prior permission from the President or from any state governor. The decision is his and his alone. As a result of this, the FBI has a total picture of the terrorism situation in the US.

The decision to set up the NIA in India was taken in haste after the traumatic events of November 26-28, 2008, in Mumbai.

As a result, neither the ruling coalition nor the opposition carefully debated as to what kind of investigation mechanism we need to deal with this pan-Indian threat, what powers and responsibilities it should have and how to persuade the states to accept the creation of a pan-Indian investigation agency with teeth.

Under the procedure laid down, it is the home minister who decides what cases need to be entrusted to the NIA and what cases need not be. Eight of the terrorist strikes after 26/11 were not entrusted to the NIA.

Only the latest strike of September 7 has been. Why the previous cases were not entrusted to the NIA? How can the NIA investigate pan-Indian terrorism in an integrated manner if the MHA picks and chooses as to what cases will be investigated by the NIA and what cases need not be?

These are some of the issues that need crying attention after the terrorist strike of September 9. It is hoped at least now the government and the opposition will start thinking of pan-Indian terrorism in an integrated and professional manner and not in a manner marked more by considerations of partisan politics than professionalism.

TECHINT was the issue in last month news about India's diminshing capacity to hear the chatter across the border as Poaq and Cheenas have moved, shifted or changed few equipments from the locations.
Is it something to do with Huawei equipment being installed in Desh?

It wouldn't be wrong to call if our PM is CM of India , CMs are PM of their states. In this structure it is difficult for any agency like NIA to work. Also last heard till now NIA doesn't have more than 25 staff!

NIA doesn't have a web site even?? :x
Last edited by IndraD on 09 Sep 2011 22:33, edited 1 time in total.

"The blast could have been in retaliation to unfair treatment of Muslims by the criminal justice system i.e. police and judiciary," he said
Is there a head banging icon here?

Its actually scarier these days to hear our "experts" talk on national security matters than aam-junta giving their views on something.

He probably reads the piskology over here and got lobotomized!

Who has been treated fairly by Indian criminal justice system or police for that matter; a common man is afraid to lodge a complaint even if it's him who gets looted in first place. B Raman is right only for Afzal guru and Kasab have been denied justice only kaffir Veerappan was given his due, how unfair ? :roll:
kumarn

Post by kumarn »

Almost everyone gets unfairly treated by the pandus in India, but only people of a particular idealogy go about bombing public places. Tells me more about this idealogy than the pandus.

Is there a head banging icon here?

Its actually scarier these days to hear our "experts" talk on national security matters than aam-junta giving their views on something.
We might as well have A Roy typing this shit up. :roll:

Many top leaders of IM are hiding in Pakistan-Investigators privately admitting they can't decode cases
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... 433479.ece
In an internal 2010 dossier obtained by The Hindu, the Union Home Ministry recorded that 31 members of the Indian Mujahideen and its south India affiliate, the Jamait-ul-Ansar Mujahideen, were still at large. The fugitives included the key commanders of an Indian Mujahideen urban bombing campaign which claimed 2005 to 2008, as well as several mid-rung operatives who facilitated the attacks.

Bar Atif Amin, an Uttar Pradesh resident killed in a shootout with police in New Delhi three years ago, none of the top commanders of the Indian Mujahideen have been located.

Police believe at least three of those leaders — Mumbai resident Altaf Subhan Qureshi, as well as former Karnataka residents Riyaz Ismail Shahbandri and his brother Iqbal Shahbandri — are now hiding out in Pakistan.

Evidence provided by David Headley, who carried out the reconnaissance operation that preceded the 26/11 attack in Mumbai, suggests the men run one of two jihadist cells collectively known as the “Karachi Project”— an operation run by Pakistan's Inter-Services Intelligence Directorate, which uses Indian nationals to conduct operations against the country.

Several of eight Uttar Pradesh residents named in the Home Ministry dossier — notably Mirza Shadab Beigh, ‘Bada' Muhammad Sajid, Ariz Khan and Muhammad Saqib — are alleged to have helped plant explosive devices in New Delhi in 2008.

Shahnawaz Alam, who investigators allege, was involved in bombings in New Delhi in 2005 as well as the attacks on Mumbai's train system in 2006, also figures in the dossier. Police had charged suspects unconnected with the Indian Mujahideen for these attacks, but subsequent evidence suggests innocent people might have been implicated by the authorities.

The dossier also points to the Indian Mujahideen network's nationwide reach: six Kerala residents, along with three from Maharashtra and two each from Kerala and Karnataka, are listed as fugitives.

The involvement of IM, even if it were to be proved, does not absolve Pakistan. They are just puppets and the puppeteer is Pakistan. P.Chidambaram is trying to fool Indians by not stating this fact and is giving TSP a lifeline by making Indians feel guilty.

B Raman 's full article on Delhi High court blast
It is because they have become more invisible, more inaudible and more unquantifiable than before. After nine terrorist strikes since 26/11, three each in Mumbai and Delhi and one each in Pune, Bengaluru and Varanasi, we still do not have an idea of who they are, what is their ideology, what are their demands, how strong they are, how are they organised, are they home-grown or externally sponsored, where are their roots etc.
B.Raman sab is still not sure of their ideology? No idea of their demands? Not known whether they are "entirely" home-grown or externally sponsored? Do the two possibilities have to be mutually exclusive?
After nearly three years, we are not in a position to make a meaningful assessment of the new post-26/11 terror threat faced by us for want of essential data.
Why not? We seem to be sitting on a wealth of information on the so-called "saffron-terror" with deatilsconfessions+confessions+confessions+bikes and people and organization[Abhinav Bharat] and ideology [Hindutva] and motivation[fascist] and roots[RSS]. B.Raman sab - why is their no probelm in doing this for all others except when its "Islam" wafting its scent in the emails?
You get the data from the network of your human agents spread across the country and abroad, from your TECHINT (technical intelligence) set-up inside the country and along the international borders, from your interrogation and surveillance of suspects, from your local inquiries and from your interactions with different communities.

How come not one of these means of collecting data seems to be functioning? Our HUMINT was generally below par, but deficiencies in our HUMINT (human intelligence) coverage used to be made up by our above par TECHINT coverage.
Good question to ask yourself! Well, its not as if its not working - isnt it? It does seem to work against "saffron"! Political authorities who have not been challenged by you seem to be of the opinion that this "saffron" terror threat far outweighs in danger than all other terror threats. So if the greatest "terror" threat can be broken with the same HUMINT and TECHINT - why does this fabulous HUMINT and TECHINT fail for a much "lesser" [by definition which ahs not been challenged by you] threat?
Many sleeper cells of terrorist organisations were detected and neutralised before 26/11, and many terrorists were identified and arrested after the commission of a terrorist strike by intercepting their electronic chatter.

Why has there been no worthwhile electronic chatter after 26/11? Have the terrorists stopped using modern means of communication or are they using more modern means of communication which our TECHINT set-up is not able to identify and break through?

You could see that the counter-terrorism capability of our TECHINT set-up seems to have weakened from the fact that there have been very few instances -- if at all there are any -- of new sleeper cells being tracked down and neutralised and new suspects being rounded up and interrogated.

What is this apparent weakening of our counter-terrorism TECHINT capability due to? Turf battles? Non-recruitment of qualified and motivated TECHINT experts? Non-investment in equipment?
I thought normal axiomatic approach for intel experts would be not to dismiss anything as potential factor without having solid grounds to reject them. Is it so difficult for one of the foremost security gurus of India to consider the possibility that these are not "weakened" as supposedly proved in cracking "saffron" terror? But that these units deliberately or are forced to protect certian types of "terror" - especially if they are of Islamist flavour?

[...]
It used to be said and believed before 26/11 that while our preventive capability was weak, our ability to cause attrition in the ranks and capability of terrorist organisations through good investigation and prosecution was high.

Even this capability, about which we used to boast before 26/11, seems to have weakened with the result that we have not made much headway in the investigation of the post-26/11 terrorist incidents.
Is it not then consistent with the need for only certain ideological radical positions and movements to be physically protected?
The series of terrorist strikes carried out by the IM and Pakistani organisations across India outside Jammu and Kashmir since the Mumbai blasts of March,1993, made us realise that jihadi terrorism --whether home-grown or imported from abroad -- had become a pan-Indian threat and that it cannot be dealt with in the same manner as we were dealing with cross-border terrorism in J&K, which was a different kettle of fish.
But then weren't you of the opinion that we are clueless about the ideology-who-roots?
It was this realisation which brought into existence post-26/11 the National Investigation Agency, which functions under the control of the home minister. But the NIA as it has evolved is neither a donkey nor a mule. One does not know what it is.

Many of us -- like me -- who had been advocating a new counter-terrorism investigation machinery to deal with the new pan-Indian terrorism, wanted some set-up similar to the counter-terrorism division of America's Federal Bureau of Investigation.

The FBI is exclusively responsible for all preliminary inquiries, investigation and prosecution in all terrorism incidents of a federal dimension.

It is for the director of the FBI to assess whether an incident of violence amounted to an act of terrorism. Once he decides so, he asks the FBI to take over the investigation.

He does not require any prior permission from the President or from any state governor. The decision is his and his alone. As a result of this, the FBI has a total picture of the terrorism situation in the US.

The decision to set up the NIA in India was taken in haste after the traumatic events of November 26-28, 2008, in Mumbai.

As a result, neither the ruling coalition nor the opposition carefully debated as to what kind of investigation mechanism we need to deal with this pan-Indian threat, what powers and responsibilities it should have and how to persuade the states to accept the creation of a pan-Indian investigation agency with teeth.

Under the procedure laid down, it is the home minister who decides what cases need to be entrusted to the NIA and what cases need not be. Eight of the terrorist strikes after 26/11 were not entrusted to the NIA.

Only the latest strike of September 7 has been. Why the previous cases were not entrusted to the NIA? How can the NIA investigate pan-Indian terrorism in an integrated manner if the MHA picks and chooses as to what cases will be investigated by the NIA and what cases need not be?

These are some of the issues that need crying attention after the terrorist strike of September 9. It is hoped at least now the government and the opposition will start thinking of pan-Indian terrorism in an integrated and professional manner and not in a manner marked more by considerations of partisan politics than professionalism.
So after all this elaboration, all you can suggest is more of "professionalism" and an administrative solution onlee? Was it possible for the NIA to understand ideology and roots? Will it be possible for a pure professional - who does not analyze say for example even his own outbursts against suspected ideological leanings of forums or groups - to be really unbiased in understanding ideologies and roots? Motivations? What about hidden possible preferences for or rosy self-delusions about the very ideology one is faced with in opposition? There have been so many examples of most intelligent intel operatives getting "converted" by their intended victims! Any mention of political will? Which of course necessarily means ideological commitment?

Whoever sent the mail : but who drafted it -a pure speculation- might have Gujarat or Kerala connection/origin, and has something to do with web-design. Also likely in profession at the moment. Just repeated reading of the mail - thats all.

Wow.... :)

Another terror email, now Ahmedabad added to ‘hit list’
During two days after the blast in Delhi high court, security agencies have received four emails claiming responsibility for the carnage and threatening more action on at least three targets — the Supreme Court and Narendra Modi’s Ahmedabad, and a shopping mall in the Capital. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh asked home minister P Chidambaram and law minister Salman Khurshid on Friday to call on Chief Justice of India SH Kapadia and beef up the security in the Supreme Court complex. The Modi government has also been alerted on the threat.

Chidambaram said in a press briefing of Friday that though there were promising, but not very convincing leads so far, all the emails were being taken seriously. The third received on Thursday night — investigators, however, suspect — was amateurish, as the coded target mentioned by it could be decoded in minutes.

The sender identified himself as Ali Saed El-Hoorie and sent the mail from the ID,kill.india@Yahoo.com’. It also claimed to be from the IM and gave a numeric code for the identity of its next target that was decoded as Ahmedabad.

So far, the agencies have been able to nab the sender of the first email, Muhammad Sayeed Sheikh, in Kishtwar in Jammu and Kashmir for sending the first email which claimed that the Harkat-ul-Jehad-al-Islami (HuJI) was behind the blast.

Two more persons were detained in Srinagar. One of them, Farooq Ahmad, had visited the high court on the day of the blast. Farooq’s accomplice, Ejaz Ahmed, had also been under police surveillance for quite some time as he had made a suspicious call to Srinagar central jail after the blast.

Sheikh, an undergraduate student, got help from two more persons, Muhammad Imran and Ashiq Hussain, for drafting the email.

The fourth email was received by television news channels on Friday. It was sent from the same email ID, ‘chotoominani5@gmail.com’, from which the second mail reportedly from the Indian Mujahideen was sent.

The sender claimed to be a member of the terror outfit held responsible for almost all the blasts took place in major Indian cities during the last few years. Investigators from the special task force of Kolkata Police suspect that the second email was sent from a mobile phone in the city.
‘New module behind blast’
Two days after the blast, Delhi Police commissioner BK Gupta announced Wednesday’s blast was very much “our case”. “The National Investigation Agency (NIA) is helping us with the investigation at the all-India level,” he told HT, adding that three Delhi Police teams, comprising more than 600 officers, had been constituted to liaise with the NIA.
He also said the Capital would witness unprecedented security till the end of the month.

Meanwhile, sources claimed the high court blast was the handiwork of a new terror module with its links to the absconding functionaries of the Indian Mujahideen (IM).

“This has to be a new module because after the Batla House episode in 2008, all the indigenous operatives of the IM had fled to foreign countries. We believe it is operating these cells from there and resurfacing through new recruits,” said a senior police officer.

He said that in each of the four cases, beginning with the Mehrauli blast in 2008 to the May 25 blast outside the Delhi High Court, not only was the chemical composition of the bombs different, but the bombs themselves had been placed in different kinds of containers.

While on May 25, a larger number of nails were found embedded in M-seal, the latest bomb was placed in a black briefcase or a backpack and only seven to eight nails were recovered from the blast site.

Meanwhile, more than 20,000 officers are conducting dummy checks in crowded markets, and questioning suspicious looking persons.

Their counterparts in traffic have been instructed to conduct checks not only on commuters’ vehicles but also the driver’s identity.

“We have asked the home affairs ministry to recommend Electronics Corporation of India Limited for the fast-track installation of CCTV cameras at all court complexes and advised mall authorities, too to get them at the earliest. Currently, 34 market places and 10 border areas are under surveillance and soon licence-plate-reading system will also be in place,” Gupta said.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Once the MOH gathers enough evidence pointing to IM they will pass this evidence around, seek unkil's opinion, send charges to Paki and Bangladeshi ministers, then PK and BD will say we need more evidence, then the delay cycle goes on reiterating itself till the matter fizzles out and it is time for the next bang.
Bhaskar

Post by Bhaskar »

sanjeevpunj wrote:Once the MOH gathers enough evidence pointing to IM they will pass this evidence around, seek unkil's opinion, send charges to Paki and Bangladeshi ministers, then PK and BD will say we need more evidence, then the delay cycle goes on reiterating itself till the matter fizzles out and it is time for the next bang.
I doubt it. PC and the Congress government considers Indian Mujahideen an internally based and funded organization, even though IM was formed by Pakistan's proxy war operation : The Karachi Project. Truth is the Manmohan Singh government is simply (and I apologize for the lack of a better word) "afraid" to confront Pakistan on terrorism.

Unkil is not interested in any evidence which doesn't effect the lives of its' own citizens.

What does the govt of US gain from "Al-Qaeda" ? It gains complete control over the liberties and freedoms of its citizens. The citizens of that country are no more free agents who are entitled to express their view and opinion but sort of serfs under an authoritarian system which is purpotedly protecting them from a mysterious terrorist group.

In India, the Pakistan angle always skewed this debate. You can't curtail freedoms of citizens when the terrorists are always from 'across the border'. That is where the IM comes in. It is supposed to be local and 'homegrown', this is MMS's own terror group. Now he can go about replicating the American model of curbing citizen rights and freedoms on pretext of protecting citizens from a mysterious terror group whose members can't even type ahmedabad.

And ofcourse he and minions are helpless and can't do anything about. After mumbai there is complete absence of any chatter or techint trails of terrorist activities. So convenient.

i hear the reward money has been increased to 1 million Rupi, i still remeber the pomp with which the balding
NIA super cop in charge was introduced, they even counted his medals and mentioned the number of cases cracked, what does the super cops do? announce rewards and then double it within 24 hours, this make me remember an old cow belt saying "haathi aya haathi aya sab bhage haathi padlus bhoo" (an elephant came to the village every one ran to watch and the elephant farted bhoo) BRF seriously needs a head banging smiley.

Guys,

Ignore B Raman. He vacillates back and forth without much reason & sense. Lets stick to people who still have their dispassionate analysis skills intact.

[I mean look at Pakistan, on daily/weekly basis Muslims kill other Muslims and even inside mosque. Freaking, there is no sanctity of life and basic human values in that country anymore. Muslims hardly are at peace [or for that matter safe] there. A set of Muslims [Bangladeshis] earned their freedom after being subjected to discrimination and oppression culminating in a gruesome genocide, conveniently ignored by certain champions of democracy. For its own selfish interest Pakistan destroyed stability and progress of another Muslim neighbor Afghanistan. None of these IM morons will be willing to see/acknowledge that. Or even if some of them are willing to consider those facets, they consider it as their (ummah's) internal problem not to be equated by actions/intentions of kaffirs. These morons from India go there and believe that oh these Hindus are doing all injustice against Muslims etc ... must be made to pay. In all honesty I feel hard to believe that any one can be really that naive and stupid. In my opinion these guys are not some young/middle aged folks who have been brainwashed or misled into believing all this crap [Possibly a few could be]. Instead their own "innate" desire to see Islamic Caliphate established over India stemming from belief in supremacy of Islam, it being final & chosen faith of God, the fact that Muslims had already conquered India and had established rule according to Islamic principles furthering the golden era Caliphate finds not just more than willing natural ally in Pakistan but also an agent that can lend substantial material support & implementing mechanism owing to its state manufactured, funded & protected state of the art Jihadi machinery.]

Excellent debate on TimesNow. One could only have expected Arnab to do something like this: Exploring Pakistan angle with G Parthasarthy, Commodore Uday, C RajaMohan and Shishir Gupta the author of Indian Mujahideen.

http://www.timesnow.tv/Debate-HuJI--LeT ... 383506.cms