Who Should be India's PM in 2014?

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Who Should be India's PM in 2014?

Considering that the 2014 General Elections are less than an year away and election fever is picking up, BRF should state its choice!

I would have added Priyanka Vadra, Digvijay Singh, Lalu Prasad Yadav, Mayawati and Sharad Pawar to the list, but only 10 options are available.

As it is a poll, it could happen that it dips in the thread list, so please keep nudging it up!

Thank you!

Added Later: Also Mamata Banerjee should have been in the list.
Last edited by RajeshA on 16 Apr 2013 21:20, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Who Should be India's PM in 2014?

Modi for HM. Modi needs to be Levanti Beria for some time before he takes on PM ship. Let Advani get the flack in 2014. Let Modi in the background destroy enemies.

why so many threads, saar....

Atri wrote:why so many threads, saar....
This is only public one on elections, ...

... and that too with a simple query, without any "demands" for an in depth discussion.

For in depth discussions, one already has 2-3 threads in GDF.

In case one feels that somebody other than the front-runner should get a chance at PM, do let us know the reasons. It would add to the awareness about the broader public perception.

Sanku wrote:Modi for HM. Modi needs to be Levanti Beria for some time before he takes on PM ship. Let Advani get the flack in 2014. Let Modi in the background destroy enemies.
Should not Advani be given another chance to be HM, and improve upon his previous mediocre and uninspiring record? His only achievements were to let Quattrochi get away and to permit illegal infiltration of Bangladeshis.

Although I voted for NM. I would hazard a guess about the support of nationalists to a non-NM candidature stems from a belief that the establishment is too powerful to be changed, so they need a bakra (LKA) who would swallow the poison and make a clean path for NM to execute his vision. I see Sankuji following this line of thought.

My only concern is that LKA might not enthuse the cadre and the public sufficiently to get power (even if we assume that he would not try to impose himself more than necessary).

prahaar wrote: My only concern is that LKA might not enthuse the cadre and the public sufficiently to get power (even if we assume that he would not try to impose himself more than necessary).
I agree that this is a real issue, and also I think RSS/BJP would closely weigh the choices.

I personally think Modi will be happy being the campaigner with Advani as PM face. He has practically said that (it does not matter who is PM, destroying congress is the primary agenda) -- in that role, HM position is more important as well. This decision will be taken by RSS/Advani/Modi and other senior leaders of BJP (and I do not mean the likes of V Naidu, I mean SSC etc)

I think Modi is far more subtle than is being credited to him by his followers, his is not the John Rambo approach, and power does not need to be worn on the sleeve.

Pranav wrote:
Sanku wrote:Modi for HM. Modi needs to be Levanti Beria for some time before he takes on PM ship. Let Advani get the flack in 2014. Let Modi in the background destroy enemies.
Should not Advani be given another chance to be HM, and improve upon his previous mediocre and uninspiring record? His only achievements were to let Quattrochi get away and to permit illegal infiltration of Bangladeshis.
Yeah. Why not add Kandhar?

I think Advani's record as HM was decent. Pacification of Kashmir, POTA and destruction of terror modules etc.

On a different note -- a HM under which nothing much happens in India is a excellent HM.
member_23858

Post by member_23858 »

I think Modi understands that if he actively projects himself as the next PM candidate, many non stable NDA allies will get a Ready-to-use alibi to break off from NDA which can be further used to barter with Italian Mafia.
I think it is important for NDA to ensure Loksabha victory in 2013(not sure UPA will stay till 2014) and indulge in mass campaigning to wash off the filth being spread about Modi. Till then a totally new, non controversial, educated, YOUNG individual can give rudder to NDAs Ship. Incidentally BJP has the very person in one Mr. Manohar Parrikar, current CM of Goa.
MY two paisa onlee

Ok now I know Sonia Gandhi participated in this poll - Rahul Gandhi got a vote. That fellow is thick as a brick he openly admitted he does not want to be PM. That leaves all 1.X billions out. Ergo it must be Sonia Gandhi!
member_23686

Post by member_23686 »

rahulg gets a vote ..... on brf.... ghor kaliyug onlee

dharmaraj wrote:rahulg gets a vote ..... on brf.... ghor kaliyug onlee
It waj me. :P
brihaspati wrote:This is not about jingoism, but using a very old concept in theories of civilization - that spectacular transitions in the more organized phases of human civilization, were most likely to have been brought about by the need to prepare for war. The actual war may not need to be fought, but the idea of all encompassing expansion can be a serious engine of growth.
As long as C-system exists, this purpose cannot arrive in India. For C-system to be destroyed, it requires one final push (I am optimistic) which will come after 2014... I wish RahulG with slender majority be the PM of India when shit hits us.. It is only then that people will rally in numbers big enough to vote in NM with considerable majority so that he may introduce the necessary systemic changes (primarily removal of word secularism and socialism from preamble, abolition of art 370, UCC, POTA, Recall, CBI independent like CAG after cleansing, abolition of NIA, abolition of NREGA and associated crap... the list is quite long). NM will require absolute surety of his stability in Loksabha. I do not think India has reached that level of hopelessness. Sadly, this is what Hindus are waiting for before they support a Shivaji. Mahakaleshwara will gladly give this hopelessness to them.. Phuckers have enjoyed their freedom for too long without doing enough for reestablishment and protection of Dharma and elimination of Asuras..

However, things are building up. I would love to see that C-system is the one who hangs some modern Mangal Pandey.. This is when Hindus will rally and support a gem like NM the way they should have long ago.
Last edited by Atri on 16 Apr 2013 18:05, edited 2 times in total.

Advani first. India is not yet ready to spoil Modi's record and consign him to the waste bin of history. That can come later. Let Advani become PM and retire into obscurity.

shiv wrote:Advani first. India is not yet ready to spoil Modi's record and consign him to the waste bin of history. That can come later. Let Advani become PM and retire into obscurity.

Post by Klaus »

Modi can handle 3 ministerial portfolios (external affairs, power & energy, defense) if somebody else could take the PM chair. That would be more effective for the nation.

2 years for Advani and the remaining 3 for Jayalalitha would be a good bargain, provided there are minimal cabinet re-shuffles. If NDA gets a second term in 2019, then its a different story.
Samudragupta

Post by Samudragupta »

Why not Mamata Banerjee???

Samudragupta wrote:Why not Mamata Banerjee???
She is not shown to be stable yet for sure (I realize you are being sarcastic)

Samudragupta ji,

Have added her name to the list of "further prospective PMs" in the first post.

Thank you!

I voted for Modi.

I think Rahul Gandhi is put up in an unfair contest. His biggest shortcoming is that he carries the stolen "Gandhi" last name which deprives him of fair chance to even fight municipal corporate level elections and win on his own merits, gain some "real" experience and show some meaninful impact on society of his own making.

Gandhi family's corrupt political life is just too overwhelming to even notice the real worth of Rahul (assuming there is any). My suggestion is to shed the last name and re-invent his own true personality.

another (free) suggestion for congress - if Rahul is PM candidate then I suggest the "Hand" symbol should be slightly modified to show lot of hair on the hand so people can quickly relate to that as hand of Rahul the Gandhi.

Satya_anveshi wrote:Gandhi family's corrupt political life is just too overwhelming to even notice the real worth of Rahul (assuming there is any). My suggestion is to shed the last name and re-invent his own true personality.
Agree. How about Maino as last name!

RajeshA wrote:Agree. How about Maino as last name!
No guarantee that it is not stolen either. But step in the right direction.
Samudragupta

Post by Samudragupta »

Replied in the strat thread...

RajeshA ji

Can you please add M Karunanidhi, Chandrababu Naidu, Sashi Tharoor, Farook Abdullah, Navin Patnayak, Sharad Pawar and Aravind Kejriwal to the list?

I want to vote for one of them... :((

Thx

RamaY ji,

if you want to vote only one of them, why the request for addition of so many names? :)

The application only allows ten choices! Sorry!
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

Modi will be a good Prime Minister for India so you can count on us Indians not electing him.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

I want Amma
She is strong
She has base
She is fluent
She is reasonably corrupt
She can throw weight around issues
She has no issues to amass wealth for posterity
She is not insecure
She can fill the Dias for any occasion

Much much more
Most importantly
She will suit perfectly for
Adhi nayaka
Jaya hey Jaya hey

pentaiah wrote:I want Amma
She is strong
She has base
She is fluent
She is reasonably corrupt
She can throw weight around issues
She has no issues to amass wealth for posterity
She is not insecure
She can fill the Dias for any occasion

Much much more
Most importantly
She will suit perfectly for
Adhi nayaka
Jaya hey Jaya hey
The only problem with JJ is we will have a war with Sri Lanka in near future.

Sushma Swaraj is better , she is non controversial , accepted by all allies , is good at her task.

Make Modi a Deputy PM and assign him Part Finance and HM role . .....Keeps every one happy.

Banish Advani from active politics ...annoint him as BJP Pitamah for life.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

A little war with out LTTE is good one to wake up our generals and BRawman types now used to ferry money to Swiss and Italian Alps

Austin wrote:Sushma Swaraj is better , she is non controversial , accepted by all allies , is good at her task. .
I am surprised, I have heard this from many people around me. I sort of never expected this, but then what do you know.

pentaiah wrote:A little war with out LTTE is good one to wake up our generals and BRawman types now used to ferry money to Swiss and Italian Alps
Yes but not at the cost , life and limb of Indian soldiers .... if we lost politically or economically to Sri Lanka then we should not compensate it with blood of our soldier.

Austin wrote:Sushma Swaraj is better , she is non controversial , accepted by all allies , is good at her task. .
I am surprised, I have heard this from many people around me. I sort of never expected this, but then what do you know.
Can you explain what are you trying to say ?

I am saying that I personally did not expect to see fairly wide spread sentiment in favor of Sushma Swaraj, but I do see that. A number of people like her and would be okay if she was PM. (These people would also anyway always vote BJP)

Why did I not expect that? Too much of BRF think I guess. Outside different thoughts exist.

Did that clear it up?

Yes it does , I feel Sushma would do quite well she is perhaps underrated too much and is just projected as a women face of BJP not more than that , I feel she has all the qualities to become a PM , Qualification & long Experience in Politics.

Ofcourse Modi is also a good candidate but considering all the allies might not have the same view and with opposition exploiting Modi past , it would be difficult for BJP to continue projecting Modi unless they are confident they will get full majority or can run a minority government which i think may not happen.

It would do a lot good to BJP to project Sushma as consensus PM for NDA ( Shiv Sena for one supports her and opposes Modi ) and then appoint Modi as Deputy PM , I think Modi will do a good job in what ever post he gets and one does not need to be a PM to do something good for this country.

OT , Met a very senior Congress vadi last month in Mumbai and in talks he was of the view since he is frequent visiter of Congress Dilli Inner Circle , Congress is quite sure they wont win next time so they are trying to make most of it now and for future they would like some 3rd party alliance govern this country with congress giving outside support , The thinking is this will keep BJP out of power and the Work and Black Money wont be affected as well at the appropriate time favorable to them they can always bring down the Govt.

Sharad pawar is trying to convince Congress that in such a 3rd party alliance he would be the ideal PM as he gets along well with all parties and has PM ambitions.........any way lets see how things shape up.

^^^ In such a scenario, pre poll alliances and shoring up NDA will be critical. Loose pieces floating around will play into hands of congress for sure.

Yes they should and without loosing time ...the gradual decline in congress is not being capatilised by BJP and we have regional parties and new formed AAM Admi etc growing up which divides the vote and eventually post poll they all tend to gravitate towards congress because its mastery over saam daam dhand bhed

If BJP/NDA is serious of winning the next year then it should go for winnable candidate and alliance with an acceptable PM without getting fixed to any individual no matter how good they may be , A party is always bigger then an individual.

Else you can be dead sure we will have a Congress supported 3rd party alliance.

No need for allies. BJP should try and will get simple majority on its own under NM.
Vipin_Upadhyay

Post by Vipin_Upadhyay »

^^+1

Even if under NaMo BJP is not getting majority, 200+ figure will do. Alliances can be formed after election also. By delaying NaMo as PM, BJP will end up loosing disenchanted Hindu votes of Congress & Co.

Everyone is fear mongering of NDA allies loosing Muslim vote bank to Congis because of NaMo, but no one is paying attention towards new Hindu vote "bank" that can be brought back to polling booth for voting first time should BJP decides to go in Poll campaign with NaMo as their PM face.