RIP Bahukutambi Raman

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

RIP Bahukutambi Raman

Passed away June 16th, 2013 after a prolonged battle with cancer. Whatever his political opinions may have been, his career of service is worthy of honoured remembrance by every patriotic Indian.

Re: RIP Bahukutambi Raman

‏@Vikram_Sood
My friend of 30 years and mentor, B Raman lost his battle with cancer a short while ago. Deeply mourned. I shall miss him dearly.
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

RIP Raman Sahab

rip. wrote good stuff.

RIP Sir, despite what differences may have cropped up in the last few years on your opinions, you were a humane person, and did your job as an analyst as sincerely for Bharat till the end. Rest in peace and yes all of us in many ways learnt a lot from you.

apart from his Congress friendly slant in later years, his analysis were very objective...another great servant of the nation... we may not agree with some of his views but we all would agree whole heartedly to his patriotism... Bharat Mata loses another worthy son of hers...RIP

May he rest in peace. He was a very able person.

Introduced me to KSgaru.

His death is a loss to the nation, for he gave it all. May his soul find peace.

Farewell B Rawman ji, may Ishwar lead you to a greater role in your next life, Hopefully again as a full fledged son of Bharat-mata.

A man of many talents and knowledge Shri B. Raman's aatma sadgati ko prapta kare.
Narad

Post by Narad »

RIP saar.

RIP B Raman sir. Will miss our talks

RIP Raman sir, was following his blogs though not always agreeing with him.

Sad to hear the news. I think he was a member here for some time.

I met him in DC a few years back at a terrorism conference and then a reception hosted at the capitol by friends of India Israel forum. Ditto Harbans.

RIP sir.

Sad to hear the news. His services to the nation are monumental, though they would never be known. May you rest at the feet of your Lord, sir.
member_23360

Post by member_23360 »

RIP sir ...

Very sad day. Pranams to a great son of India.

harbans wrote:RIP Sir, despite what differences may have cropped up in the last few years on your opinions, you were a humane person, and did your job as an analyst as sincerely for Bharat till the end. Rest in peace and yes all of us in many ways learnt a lot from you.
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

RIP sir. We will all miss your incisive wisdom.

RIP B Raman.
He had stopped posting on his blog. His last post was on the 14th of May. His previous post had details of his disease. The cancer was slowly but progressively spreading within his body, invading his bladder, bones, other organs. He was passing blood in the urine.

RIP Dear Sir, you are truly a great son of India.

RIP B. Raman ji. A patriot.

Farewell B.Raman sir. Will miss you

His famous structured style will be missed! RIP
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Another fallen star, RIP sir. Bhagawan aap ki atma ko shanti de.

Pranaam Guru ji! A fantastic life lived in service of Mother India. May your soul rest in peace!

Saddedned to hear this. Its a big loss to the nation. Rest in peace sir.
skaranam

Post by skaranam »

Met him in Atlanta few years ago...gave a beautiful talk which opened my eyes and views on pakis. Loved his papers at SAAG and later in his blog...A true soldier of Bharat...Koti pranams to him.

Is there a way to know where he is cremated. It should be marked.

I absolutely admire the old school B raman way before he was roped in by the media networks as a guest in many of their ridiculously staged programmes. Somewhere in the middle he got caught up by the anti-anna hazare media team and taken on board and it just went downhill from there. The old blog posts on his website holds mountains of golden information that I doubt if any other indian strategic defence writer has ever communicated with the general audience.

Raman remained genuine for a major part of his life. Ignore his recent metamorphosis because I've seen many people who change completely once they got placed inside a big decorated media studio. They basically become a part of the programme.

RIP Raman garu

Raman garu was aam aadmi's first guru in strategy matters. Many got introduced to strategy, foreign policy etc thru his writings.

KSgaru was an Acharya/Mahaguru.

That post showed he was loosing his battle, he wrote twice he will be 77 come aug , almost as if he wanted to somehow make it

R.I.P sir
Raja Ram

Post by Raja Ram »

Shri B. Raman, was indeed a great son of India who in his distinguished career in the service of this nation has made tremendous contributions, often unnoticed for that was the nature of his service and job profile. His contributions in RAW's efforts in the Bangladesh Liberation was probably the epitome of his career.

His forthright views and razor sharp mind provided for compelling reading whenever he wrote. His was a voice that was heard with respect in the corridors of power, in the media and academic circles and by lay citizens. For it was always based on facts and his interpretation of them would be demarcated and shown separately. He never combined both.

He was a nationalist first and foremost. Being part of a Civil Service whose thoughts and training were shaped by Gandhi-Nehru vian vision of India, his political leanings were closer to the predominant political entity in post independent India, the Congress. A fact that came to the fore in his writings. He did however serve the NDA administration as part of the NSAB. His natural affinity to the Congress party perhaps came in the way of him taking a higher profile in the NSAB and he felt he was overlooked.

Like many others in BR, I was an avid reader of his prolific writings and did have the privilege of meeting him personally once. It is indeed a great loss that he is no more with us.

His life was lived well and he served this nation as a true patriot. May he now take his place in the heavens!. OM SHANTI!

A legend passed away.......Pranam and RIP Guruji......
Always acknowledged my personal notes, and gave patient replies.....
Took time off from his busy schedule to have a face to face dinner....somewhere
in some big city, in some nice place.......
Will miss him very much.
member_26919

Post by member_26919 »

I knew him from ORF Chennai. A man forthright in his views but reserved revealing his thoughts to his select circle of friends- mostly his peers in the same profession or in government.His expertise was often tapped by governments of the day well after he retired. He believed and worked towards improving the nation's security culture, governance structure for security matters and raising public awareness of security matters. He was profilic in his writing. For such a reserved man, he was remarkably open about his cancer and his fight against it. His body of work and writings will remind us of the great service this son of India did for the nation. May his soul rest at the lotus feet of the lord.

RIP, sir
Raja Ram

Post by Raja Ram »

A glimpse into the mind of Shri B. Raman by Chidanand

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/worl ... 628240.cms

Bhagawan aap ki atma ko shanti de.

I wish him a safe journey and earnestly wish his safer and faster return journey!!!

See you in new clothes soon, B.Raman garu !!!