Islamism & Islamophobia Abroad - News & Analysis (9-8-2014)

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Islamism & Islamophobia Abroad - News & Analysis (9-8-20

Mohammadden Bangladeshi authoress Taslima Nasreen says that the Mohammadden holy text, the Koran / Quran, contains verses that instigate violence against Non-Mohammaddens. She says “numerous verses in suras like al-Bakara, al-Nisa, al-Anfal and al-Tauba of the Quran speak of killing people who have no faith in Islam. There is express advice to Muslims to kill non-Muslims. Many Hadith have enumerated instances where Muslims were ordered to murder infidels.”:

Taslima Nasreen says ending terror requires that Islam is reformed, modernised

CNN’s National Security Analyst Peter Bergen poses the question “Does Islam have anything to do with the terrorist atrocities in Paris last week?”

His answer to the question he posed is “Of course it does.”

Goes on the say that “The fact that the Paris attacks have something to do with Islamic beliefs cannot be wished away either by claims that Islam is simply a religion of peace, or by political correctness, or because we live in an increasingly secularized modern era that often doesn't take deeply held religious beliefs sufficiently seriously.”

Read it all:

Does Islam Fuel Terrorism?

China approve ban on the burqa in Xinjiang city with large Muslim population :

The Independant

Anybody "within Islam" that talks about reforming and modernizing the religion almost always turn out in reality to be an atheist.

Taslima Nasreen is not an exception to this rule.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

How lovely to see the self-righteous mofos in the AP press who have been wailing about "hindutva fundamentalists" for a decade are now surrendering to the Islamic fundamentalists. This is instructive in considering AP articles from now on -- this is where these so called journalists in the AP are coming from.

http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2015/01 ... bdo-issue/
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

Interesting paper I read titled "The Impact of Crude’s Collapse on the Islamic State" by Geoff Porter which states that the IS has a lot to lose with the low oil prices, as it was earning a lion's share of its finances from selling crude oil in the black market from the wells captured in Syria and Iraq. They were selling the black market crude for 39$ when the oil prices were > 100$ and earning around 6 million $ a day. However, there seems to be no available information on the price of IS crude in the black market after the fall of oil prices, and no estimate of their current daily earnings either. The author hazards a guess that it is 50% of what it used to be, but that is assuming that the people who pay 6 million $ to the IS have alternate sources of oil. I can see the pakis and paki army make trades with the IS for oil in terms of cash/weapons/whatever and keep IS revenues intact.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

http://indianexpress.com/article/world/ ... ovocative/

The shia clergy in Iran are the same bunch of regressive violent mofos there were in the 80s when they put a price on Rushdie's head. Check out how AP has cleverly censored the cover of the magazine.
Manny

Post by Manny »

If Christians HAVE to follow Jesus when he said "go forth and convert everyone", Why shouldn't Muslims follow Mohammad's orders (whatever they are...objections of non Muslims be damed)?

When christians first give up their need to convert everyone in spite of their scriptures telling them to for the sake of good will towards fellow man, then they can ask Muslims to give up on those aspect of Islam that is not good for world peace.

eh?

For that matter, Hindus should keep up the caste thingi too.. I am told by the sick-ularists that our Hindu religion dictates that we follow the Caste system. From now on if someone who I think is lower than me touches me, I am going to run and have a bath! or wash my house if some "undesirable" comes home, or if they visit my "pooja room"... It's perfectly legal today for me to do that in this country of liberty..USA! In the US, its my Lord Shiva given right to offend anyone. I'd be darned! :rotfl:
Last edited by Manny on 15 Jan 2015 01:28, edited 5 times in total.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

If you wanted any more proof that Eurabia is effed and headed to be 100% islamic -- this time, Ireland.

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Muslim ... rtoon.html
dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

The paki origin muslims are getting a lot of air time. It is so sickening to hear their twisted talk and putting the blame on Charlie instead of condemning the terrorists.

The france Charlie episode and recent events in europe revolves around islamization of west. Isolating the issue of just west does not weed out the problem. The radical islamists will keep fighting the war at different places of their choice, gain strength and keep coming back. The whole world needs to come and fight together as one. The radical islamists should have no place to hide.

If not the real war, India should at least be doing the media war. This is good time for all the affected hindus (kashmiri pandits, bangla hindu victims), jews, buddhists, christians all over the world to rally against the menace. Representatives of these affected communities should be brought on shows and expose the deceitful muslim panelists of their lies and shown the true face how the fringe radical islamists destroyed non-muslim relics (temples) and wiped out native non-muslim communities while the whole peace loving muslim community silently watched and enjoyed the favorable fruits from the outcome.

PS: Pakis are quite eloquent and unflinching even in lying. I see a big difference between Indian and Paki speakers. In India all focus is on science and engg and those not succeeding in those fields pick other disciplines. We need to start paying attention and building expertise in political science, international affairs, media communications and other such aspects.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

If Christine Fair got a visa to go back to Pakistan, she would at once transform in another paki -- she already argues like a paki these days on the charlie hebdo affair on twitter...almost sounds like Mani Shankar Aiyar if you close your eyes and read her tweets.

Here is a summary of her arguments:
Hindus, jains, buddhists, and christians kill, so islam is not doing anything other religions are, so you are a bigot of you think islam is the problem. This stupid joker is unable to see that (a) the statistics on terrorist attacks over the past few decades show that she wrong (b) palestinians being targeted by the state of israel is different from terrorists attacking cartoonists....and this fool is a professor teaching young americans.

This article makes it clear on what the correct stance would be from the US version of Freedom of Expression, which Fair has apparently forgotten...the only point she seems to have is that all countries must treat all religions equally...but why should they? when muslims countries refuse to do any such thing?

http://www.livemint.com/Opinion/BlvIk3D ... Hebdo.html

Every argument made by "liberals" mentioned in this article is made by christine fair.
A week after the horrendous assassinations of some of the staff at the French satirical magazine, Charlie Hebdo, a few axioms need to be stated clearly: that freedom of expression is fundamental; that religion is an idea; that nothing, no idea, is sacred; that ideas don’t have rights, people do.

People may feel offended by something others say, but their emotional response is just that—a response—and not a right. Those who are offended have the right to respond with arguments, by pointing out the flaws in the others’ arguments, or by choosing to disengage, by shutting the copy of the magazine, by not buying it or by picketing against it. But many thoughtful writers, concerned critics, learned academics, and even some serious illustrators have sought to contextualize the massacre.

They remind us that Charlie Hebdo is offensive (so what?); that it is racist (it isn’t, but so what if it is?); that it focuses on Muslims, not others (not true); that it sacked an employee for writing something nasty about Jews (as if victims have to be perfect); or that it “afflicts the afflicted”, (that is, it ridicules a vulnerable minority in France, and not the power elite—and that’s not true either).
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

This unique and simply 8 step guide has been designed for aspiring Islamist apologists, i.e., the "liberals"

http://hurryupharry.org/2015/01/14/being-an-islamist/
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

http://www.meforum.org/4974/muslims-sho ... on-muslims

"moderate" islamists in canadian mosques being the usual violent losers they are
Far from condemning the acts of terror, the cleric, speaking in English, thundered that Islam "will become established in the land, over all other religions, although the 'Disbelievers' (Jews, Christians, Hindus and Atheists) hate that."
At the end of his "khutba" (sermon), the cleric repeated the ritual praying to Allah to grant Muslims victory over non-Muslims. That prayer is: "O Allah, pour patience upon Muslims, strengthen their feet and give them victory over 'Qawm -el Kafiroon' (Non-Muslims).

"O Allah, give victory to our brothers the Muslims, the oppressed, the tyrannized and the 'Mujahedeen' (those who fight jihad against non-Muslims)".

Then we all stood up in orderly rows, turned towards Mecca and followed the imam as he led us in the ritual prayer that is obligatory for all Muslims.
Vile and evil disease of the mind.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Police covered up violent campaign to turn London area Islamic

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/ ... lamic.html :rotfl:
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

Just amazing on how "liberals" are defending the killing of cartoonists with such absurd nonsense. WTF is wrong with these people. Tons of such fools in India it seems -- the same "secular" bunch that sees evil in any act of local groups.

http://thenewinquiry.com/blogs/zunguzungu/the-funnies/

Belgian TV reports three dead in anti-terrorism raid
BRUSSELS (Reuters) - Belgian public television channel RTBF said on its website that it had reports of three people being killed during a police counter-terrorism raid in Verviers in the east of the country.

The Belga news agency quoted federal prosecutors saying there had been a police operation near the center of the town but did not confirm there had been casualties. Belga said there were several casualties and said police activity was continuing.
Melwyn

Post by Melwyn »

Mr. Sadanand Dhume is crying hoarse why India did not send "a high-level representative to honor the victims of the Charlie Hebdo shootings".
I don't remember France or EU ever sending any "a high-level representative" to India for anything except for selling arms.
So SDREs must bow to White massas!

http://www.wsj.com/articles/sadanand-dh ... utologin=y
debadutta

Post by debadutta »

amitkv wrote:Mr. Sadanand Dhume is crying hoarse why India did not send "a high-level representative to honor the victims of the Charlie Hebdo shootings".
I don't remember France or EU ever sending any "a high-level representative" to India for anything except for selling arms.

+1000 . No one bothers when hundreds of people die in India or when 2000+ people die in Nigeria. Why should India send a 'High level Rep'.

Why should we even send a Rep? Its an internal matter of another country. No rep should have gone in the first place. I am half serious.

amitkv wrote:Mr. Sadanand Dhume is crying hoarse why India did not send "a high-level representative to honor the victims of the Charlie Hebdo shootings".

amitkv Ji :

Mr. Sadanand Dhume should be asked if Ombaba or Eleven or Shinzo Abe or Putin were there?

Meantime

Muslims respond to Prophet Mohammed cartoons?
Jacques Myard, French National Assembly member, tells Channel 4 News that Muslims “will have to get used to it”.

What happened to our ancestors part 1:
https://twitter.com/ScrewedbyState/stat ... 7750359040

What happened to our ancestors part 2:

https://twitter.com/Tarek_uk/status/555 ... 18/photo/1

Raids are still going on in Belgium. Serves them right for giving these worthless creatures refuge in their country. Hope they learnt their lesson and deport all these monsters from their country and ultimately from Europe.

TNT coming true all over the world .

Jindal doubles down on Muslim "no-go zones" in Europe
Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal, a potential candidate for the 2016 Republican presidential nomination, will give a speech Monday in London and reiterate the disputed claim that Muslim immigrants have created "no-go zones" in Europe where non-Muslims are not welcome.

An advance text of Jindal's speech, circulated by his office, warns that Islamic radicals are fomenting anti-Western sentiment in "no-go zones" where they rule themselves by Islamic religious law, not the laws of their host nations.

"In the West, non-assimilationist Muslims establish enclaves and carry out as much of Sharia law as they can without regard for the laws of the democratic countries which provided them a new home," Jindal's text reads. "It is startling to think that any country would allow, even unofficially, for a so called 'no-go zone.' The idea that a free country would allow for specific areas of its country to operate in an autonomous way that is not free and is in direct opposition to its laws is hard to fathom."
Jindal's larger point is that Western nations can embrace immigrants who are arriving with the goal of assimilating "coming to join your culture, your mores, your laws, and become a part of your history." But nations must ask, he says, "are they coming to be set apart, are they unwilling to assimilate, do they have their own laws they want to establish, do they fundamentally disagree with your political culture? Therein lies the difference between immigration and invasion."

Jindal warns, "What some immigrants of late desire to do is to colonize Western countries because setting up your own enclave and demanding recognition of a no-go zone are exactly that."
Is it some Chaanikyan move or is he expressing his inner feelings. Whatever it may be, I am happy that someone in US admin is saying the truth without any sugar coating.

There is a difference in the way Islamic extremism presents itself in Europe and in India, and I am not able to put my finger on it definitely. But I see a germ of a picture emerging. Let me try..

For us on BRF, Islamist extremism and terrorism are the same, whether they emerge from Pakistan or from Arab lands. Even though there has been little direct involvement of Arab terrorists against India, we have never seen any difference in the ideology, and hence we cannot imagine any real difference in whether the actual man who commits the terrorist attack is a Pakistani or someone from further west. Particularly, we don't see much difference between Shia and Sunni - they are one and the same. India's recent history has taught us that anyone from Pakistan will be anti-India whether he is shia or sunni and he will automatically claim allegiance to some power further west. So, from our viewpoint, seen through Pakistani actions - Islam is a monolith.

It is now beginning to appear to me that to Europe, Islam does not appear like it does to us. They see mainly Arabs and Turks. Europe saw conquest and war from AD 700 to about 1100. Then the Ottoman empire came and sat between Europe and the trade routes for 500 years. So for Europe, the Islamic world has been that of a powerful empire that dominated what they could see of the world from nearby. The world for the Islamics was much bigger. They could go east and south to India and China; they could go south to Africa and north and west to Europe. Europe was boxed in by Islam on one side and the Atlantic ocean on the other side.

Ultimately the European renaissance and the loss of power of the Catholic Church, encouraged the development of ocean-going ships that could cross the Atlantic and go past the horn of Africa to India. That allowed European powers to confront Islam from the "Eastern side" where the Portuguese both control over the spice trade from the Arabs. As European power rose, Islamic power declined. Napoleon conquered Egypt and later the Brits took over from him. The Suez canal was built and the trade dynamics were changed like never before. Europeans were then free to "study and characterize" Arabs as Orientals - like animals to be studied and written about. They were defeated and dominated; they had to be modernized and led by Europe

In the meantime, Europeans got into India. It appears to me that they initially viewed India much more favourably than Arabia or the Middle east, not least because philologists saw, in Sanskrit, their own history. It allowed them to create a new history where Aryans went all the way from Europe, across Asia to settle in India in a civilization much older and much more well read and well informed than the hated Semitic races of Islamic and Jewish Arabs.

Sanskrit and the antiquity of the Vedas, in a language that was not alien like Arabic but familiar like Latin and Greek gave the European a history much more grand and much older than the Semitic religions. It had to be Aryans from Europe who first conquered all the Semitic lands (evidence: Mitanni horse texts) very early on who later went and settled in India. And because the Semitic lands received Aryan blood and knowledge - they developed and attacked Europe, which they otherwise would not have been able to do. And the Aryans who went to India simply degenerated, by mixing with dark local aborigines retaining only the language and the Vedas that came from Europe.

By the time the Europeans found India, the Mughal Empire was at its peak. As the British made inroads into India the Mughal empire started its decline - but the British never saw the Mughals as the mainland Europeans saw Islam and the Semitic Arabs. The British saw Mughals are noble rulers who dominated the degenerate locals. As always, white man's burden was to guide these people and lift them out of their misery. They saw wealth and culture, beauty and pageantry. The wealth and culture was islamic. The degeneracy was Hindu. For the British, the history of India was crystal clear. The Aryans brought their civilization from Europe via the middle East to India. In india the civilization degenerated and was dominated by the powerful Muslims who challenged Europe in the west and conquered India in the east. If the Europeans defeated the Muslims, the Hindus were a double defeated race - already having been defeated by the Mughals.

But in the 19th century it was the Hindus that rebelled and became politically active. It was the loyal Mussalman who helped the British. It was the loyal Mussalman about which magical stories of the Orient were written. tales of the Alhambra, A thousand and one nights etc were a romantic amalgam of tales from India and Persia and Arabia - even if many were lifted straight from India originally. Ultimately it became fixed as "history" that the European were at the top of the heap, the Muslims second, to be ruled and dominated and the dregs at the bottom were Hindus. This "history" has been internalized both in Europe and among Pakis.

The Americans have inherited both the "European western view" and the "European eastern view" of Islam from Europe (but not the Indian view). The Western view is mainly of troublesome Arabs, to be kept in check by balancing them and bribing them. The eastern view is of Pakistanis, "moderate, secular, loyal" "great guys to be with" - who can offer them the charms of the Orient and yet not be an obtuse tribal like the Arab.

Throughout the post WW 2 and cold war era this has been the view of the "west". It still is that way. But gradually, Pakistan is showing to the west the same Islam that Europe saw in the 600 to 1000 period and India saw from 1000 to 1500. Europe, having dominated Islam, have forgotten that Islam appears cultured and friendly when it is winning, but murderous when it is losing. India never saw anything else so other than dhimmitude, Hindus have, and hopefully should have, no illusions.

^^^^ great post shivji!

Let me add one small point of observation:

WKKs and DIE in India have obviously been bought up in colonial education view the power of Hindus through democracy as an aberration. Thus they go the extra mile to accommodate Moslems who they consider having been robbed of their righteous role of being the ruler of the Hindus.

More later as I'm typing on mobile device.

Jhujar wrote:TNT coming true all over the world .

Given the nature of that religion, this IS how everything should be(not just airport security). Unfortunate for the follower, but he or she is free to unfollow
ashvin

Post by ashvin »

Its does get scary for us SDREY people here, too. They do not know the difference.
Last week (day after the Paris shooting) there was a terror alert at the Charleroi airport in Belgium. I was walking from my work building to another building for a meeting with a colleague. The two buildings are roughly half a kilometer apart. Anyway, it was raining and windy and I was holding up my hood to cover my head. I had a bag slung over my shoulder and I was walking down the path toward my colleague's building. I had covered around 300m, when two squad cars suddenly appeared and blocked my path. I looked back and an officer rushed out of the car and starting ordering me to stand still (in French). I was confused, but I immediately assumed the position with my hands on my head. They grabbed my bag and did a full body search and took my wallet for my ID card. While they were checking, another officer stood in front of me. He was in full tactical gear with an Uzi pointed at me. He asked me if I was a muslim and I replied that I was a Hindu. He then asked me where I was from and replied, India. They asked me all sorts of questions as to what I was doing here and where I was going? I replied that I worked here and was on my way to see a colleague for work. I gave them all the details. I was scared. I asked the officer with the Uzi as to the reason for stopping me? He replied that I looked like a terrorist (shrugged his shoulders). Finally everything checked out and they let me go.

What struck me and stayed with me was his last statement about my looks.

I dont know if this is your first brush with racism (not bigotry, but racism), I know that all too well. Having a gun (that too an automatic) pointed at you is no joke and I am sorry that you had to go through it. I live in a place where that is all too common but we brown folks dont bear the full brunt of racism (its reserved for the blacks).

While it is unfortunate, what your experience shows is that the Europeans have no answer to Islamic onslaught. Separating someone out for "skin color" is not the same as separating someone out for being a part of a violent cult. These are two very different acts. Isolating you for your beliefs is fundamentally ok since it is the society saying : "Your beliefs dont fit in here, you are not welcome". Isolating you because of your skin-color has no such justification, it tells the victim : "We dont care what your beliefs are, YOU dont fit in here". Both of them cause resentment in the mind of the "victim", however the latter causes a hatred of the larger society to emerge, even in the minds of the most well meaning "victims". Yet the Europeans and the AmirKhans make the same mistake over and over again.

The Islamics already have gamed this into their actions: They will BANK on such mistakes. Just like Europeans mistake race for beliefs resulting in justified feeling of being targeted among the coloreds. The Islamics will use this victimization narrative and connect it to the struggle against the Infidel who is upto no good. It will be hard for any muslim to ignore that call to unity and brotherhood, even the atheistic secretly-apostate Islamics would join in with their brothers.

The above two is a vicious cycle. Islamics cause violence, Oiropeans use racism to counter it and create large number of victims for the Islamics to choose cannon fodder from, Islamics choose cannon fodder and cause even more violence.

Oiropeans are in a catch 22.
ashvin

Post by ashvin »

You observations are spot on! The Europeans have no clue what's coming their way. Anyway, its an experience.

I dont know what else to say to Indians stuck in Oirope and the west other than to take care because you are the enemy of both the sides. Its a war where we are collateral damage. I have an Oirope trip coming up soon, so I am a bit worried about it as well.

The only way Europe can survive is to openly state that Islam is an evil cult, stop immigration of Muslims and start action against mullahs and mosques and watch these people and deport them when they break the law. That will take decades.

Muslims are smart that they use votebank politics and victimhood and PC guilt to increase their numbers until the tipping point.
csaurabh

Post by csaurabh »

Europeans have been misunderstanding 'race' and 'religion' for centuries. During World war 2, for instance, white Jews got classified as a 'race' which was different from the 'Aryan' white people.

The Brit colonialists and missionaries saw Hinduism as an evil pagan religion and identified with the 'primitive' yet 'monotheist Islam' and hence created the worldwide issue of not being able to face Islamism yet putting down its opponents as extremists.
member_28533

Post by member_28533 »

csaurabh wrote:Europeans have been misunderstanding 'race' and 'religion' for centuries. During World war 2, for instance, white Jews got classified as a 'race' which was different from the 'Aryan' white people.
Not a misunderstanding, but an intentional decision as religious differences do not elicit as much hatred as racial differences do among europeans. Thats the reason why anti-jewish works like "protocols of the elders of zion" failed to make as much impact as "mein kampf" did.
Manny

Post by Manny »

....the cleric, speaking in English, thundered that Islam "will become established in the land, over all other religions, although the 'Disbelievers' (Jews, Christians, Hindus and Atheists) hate that."
How is that any different from what the Vatican and many christian churches and evangelical organizations preach?
Manny

Post by Manny »

mchilian wrote:
csaurabh wrote:Europeans have been misunderstanding 'race' and 'religion' for centuries. During World war 2, for instance, white Jews got classified as a 'race' which was different from the 'Aryan' white people.
Not a misunderstanding, but an intentional decision as religious differences do not elicit as much hatred as racial differences do among europeans. Thats the reason why anti-jewish works like "protocols of the elders of zion" failed to make as much impact as "mein kampf" did.
The reason for antisemitism in Europe was because of Martin Luther the founder of Protestant movement... his book "Jews and their lies" was the impetus for the Holocaust.. Hitler was just a trigger that caused the explosion. The Antisemtism was well seeded within Europe by then.

http://www.nobeliefs.com/luther.htm

Although Luther did not invent anti-Jewishness, he promoted it to a level never before seen in Europe. Luther bore the influence of his upbringing and from anti-Jewish theologians such as Lyra, Burgensis, (and John Chrysostom, before them). But Luther's 1543 book, "On the Jews and their lies" took Jewish hatred to a new level when he proposed to set fire to their synagogues and schools, to take away their homes, forbade them to pray or teach, or even to utter God's name. Luther wanted to "be rid of them" and requested that the government and ministers deal with the problem. He requested pastors and preachers to follow his example of issuing warnings against the Jews. He goes so far as to claim that "We are at fault in not slaying them" for avenging the death of Jesus Christ. Hitler's Nazi government in the 1930s and 40s fit Luther's desires to a tee.

So vehemently did Luther speak against the Jews, and the fact that Luther represented an honorable and admired Christian to Protestants, that his written words carried the "memetic" seeds of anti-Jewishness up until the 20th century and into the Third Reich. Luther's Jewish eliminationist rhetoric virtually matches the beliefs held by Hitler and much of the German populace in the 1930s.

No apologist can claim that Martin Luther bore his anti-Jewishness out of youthful naivete', uneducation, or out of unfounded Christianity. On the contrary, Luther in his youth expressed a great optimism about Jewish conversion to Christianity. But in his later years, Luther began to realize that the Jews would not convert to his wishes. His anti-Jewishness grew slowly over time. His logic came not from science or reason, but rather from Scripture and his Faith. His "On the Jews and Their Lies" shows remarkable study into the Bible and fanatical biblical reasoning. Luther, at age 60 wrote this dangerous "little" book at the prime of his maturity, and in full knowledge in support of his beliefs and Christianity.

Few people today realize that Luther wrote 'On the Jews and Their Lies.' (He also wrote such works like "Against the Sabbatarians.") Freethinkers should become aware of the anti-Semitic influence that Luther has brought on the world. His vehement attack on Jews and his powerful influence on the German faithful has brought a new hypothesis to mind: that the Jewish holocaust, and indeed, the eliminationist form of anti-Semitism in Nazi Germany may not have occurred without the influence from Luther's book "On the Jews and Their Lies."

ashvin wrote:^^
Its does get scary for us SDREY people here, too. They do not know the difference.
Last week (day after the Paris shooting) there was a terror alert at the Charleroi airport in Belgium. I was walking from my work building to another building for a meeting with a colleague. The two buildings are roughly half a kilometer apart. Anyway, it was raining and windy and I was holding up my hood to cover my head. I had a bag slung over my shoulder and I was walking down the path toward my colleague's building. I had covered around 300m, when two squad cars suddenly appeared and blocked my path. I looked back and an officer rushed out of the car and starting ordering me to stand still (in French). I was confused, but I immediately assumed the position with my hands on my head. They grabbed my bag and did a full body search and took my wallet for my ID card. While they were checking, another officer stood in front of me. He was in full tactical gear with an Uzi pointed at me. He asked me if I was a muslim and I replied that I was a Hindu. He then asked me where I was from and replied, India. They asked me all sorts of questions as to what I was doing here and where I was going? I replied that I worked here and was on my way to see a colleague for work. I gave them all the details. I was scared. I asked the officer with the Uzi as to the reason for stopping me? He replied that I looked like a terrorist (shrugged his shoulders). Finally everything checked out and they let me go.

What struck me and stayed with me was his last statement about my looks.
What a terrible experience. I am so sorry it happened to you. But glad you are safe.

Islamism & Islamophobia Abroad - News & Analysis (9-8-2014)

Paris post office gunman arrested, hostages freed: Police

PARIS: An armed man, who took an unidentified number of hostages at a post office northwest of Paris, has been arrested by police.

No casualties were reported in the incident and all the hostages have been freed, according to local police.

The man was equipped with a military weapon had taken an unconfirmed number of hostages at the post office in the town of Colombes, not far outside the capital, French media reported earlier.

"I cannot confirm or deny whether it is linked to terrorism," the official said declining to give further details.

BFM TV, citing an unidentified source, said the hostage taking was not related to last week's attacks in Paris.

French police arrested 12 people earlier on Friday suspected of helping militant Islamist gunmen in last week's killings in Paris. There have been numerous false alerts across the city since the attacks.