Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan-Nov 21, 2015

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan-Nov 21, 2

abhijitm wrote:Modi's unpredictable foreign policy makes the observers and analysts guessing what his intentions are. In my opinion this is the indication of him not being under pressure or external influence. His game has practically become anybody's guess. This is the best strategy. We need unpredictability when dealing with pakis.
Log time ago we wished the India leadership to pretend like Jamla Jatt i.e very unpredictable way toward Paki but with steady aim at the target,to serve national interests. Modi is doing so , making Paki guess and pass gas at every drop of penny.

Dipanker wrote:
Gagan wrote:Peregrine ji
Dunno, but maybe Jindal wants to set up a greenfield steel plant in Gujarat or further down south on the western coast of India, so that sourcing iron ore from Hajigak makes economic sense.

Iron ore will need railways. Road will be uneconomical.
Afghanistan has virtually no rail network to speak of.

AFISCO was supposed to be setting up a 2 million annual steel plant in Afghanistan as part of the deal. Read the article in more detail.

The indian investment might include a railway line from Kabul/Hajigak to Chahbahar, passing close to Kandhar
Iron ore deposits in Goa and Bellary/Karnatka would be much better option for such a steel plant.
Guru's was looking at youtube videos on cwapistan discussing the same, they called about Jindal wants access to karachi to be able to ship ore via karachi , now why karachi and not chhabahar ?

I think of this two reasons 1) May be that route will take years to operationalize and by that time it would be game over for Jindal to loose to chinese .or 2) Have multiple options or 3) Am I missing something

China has promised Pakistan 46 billion dolahs in investment and the Paki army has to guarantee security for the Chinese - and this is openly publicized information. What chance does India have to ship anything via shitland and get security, especially with defunct railways? If Modi, Doval and Jindal can't see this they are all stupid. Jindal in particular is a successful businessman and did not make money from sentiment.

I think all this talk of ore via Shitistan is a bogey with the charge being led by Darkha Butt who claims she "broke the story" about Jindals business interests. Jindal may sell steel to Pakistan, but that's about it. There will be no shipment through Pakistan - except maybe an agreement to allow biscuits and wheat into Afghanistan and get Chana and Almonds in return

The bid submitted by AFISCO to the Afghanistan government proposes development of the Hajigak iron ore deposits in the Bamian province to carry out commercial production of iron-ore. The consortium also proposed setting up of a 6.12 million tonnes per annum (MTPA) steel plant in Afghanistan in two phases.

The plan envisages installation of an 800 MW power plant in two phases of 400 MW each to cater to the operations of the mine and steel plant. As part of building necessary internal infrastructural support, the consortium plans to build 200 kms each of rail, road and transmission line network for the mine and steel project. The total investment by AFISCO on all of the above is estimated to be about US$12 billion in phases.
from 2 years ago.
http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report-ho ... an-1864791

PS:
http://articles.economictimes.indiatime ... co-hajigak
From August 2014:
However, AFISCO had sent a revised proposal subsequently truncating its investment proposal to about USD 1.14 billion for setting up a 1.5 mtpa steel plant and creating necessary infrastructure aimed at reducing vulnerability of the project.
Jindal just needs peace in Afghanistan for the project to proceed.

I assume that the coal needed is Afghan in origin.

From June, this year:
http://www.miningweekly.com/article/ind ... 2015-06-15
The $10-billion project conceived in 2011 proposed setting up a mining project for the 1.2-billion-tonne iron-ore reserves in the province of Hajigak, a six-million-tonne-a-year coal mine and an 800 MW thermal power plant.

Afghanistan total steel consumption is of the order of 1.5 million tons or so annually.
The afghans want a 6 million ton steel plant to be set up.
Hajigak is centrally located and equidistant to afghan borders to the east, west and the north.
It is like 900 kms to zaranj.
Don't know if that railway line has even started building yet, it'll probably be built by IR contractors, but is going to take like 5-10 yrs to build, with disruptions by ISI/Taliban and local afghans.

Maybe everyone wants Pakistan on board for transportation till then, and to play nice too.
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

From - "We're better than Indians" of 80s & early 90s ...
To - "We can fight the Indians blow to blow" of late 90s to 26/11 ...
To - "Indians are hegemonic, we can survive, we have China abbu" these daays...
I have enjoyed the journey of Paki psyche. Grab your Chaas-Dhokla, the show is still on :)
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

If stability prospects of afghanistan weren't a bit bleak, China would be far more aggressive and like everywhere else, beat India to it.
Feels like there's this wait and watch mode in effect.
Anyway, expecting that Pak could be used as a corridor to Afghanistan is wishful thinking in today's world.
And we can indeed byepass them at least as far as access to Afghanistan is concerned - Chahbahar port.
Yes, pipelines like TAPI etc are open issues.

Best thing is, keep the Paki guessing, talking, dancing, smiling, shaking hands etc. "Yes we're talking" .. "Talks are on" bla bla bla.
Direct Govt. to Govt. contact also helps avoiding/muting the Hurriyat, Track2 parasites, Intl. peace lecturers etc.
Works for now.
surinder

Post by surinder »

Judge for yourself if the data supports the conclusions in this article.

One of the San Bernardino terrorists was from Pakistan. Does that country support extremist violence?

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/mon ... -violence/

surinder wrote:Judge for yourself if the data supports the conclusions in this article.

One of the San Bernardino terrorists was from Pakistan. Does that country support extremist violence?

I didn't see any poll on support for India-specific terrorist pigLeTs. Did I miss it? Or is it the case that WP and their Paki munnas consider India-specific terrorist pigLeTs as "freedom fighters"?

surinder wrote:Judge for yourself if the data supports the conclusions in this article.

Article by Paki designed to whitewash Pakiness. Pointless bullshit.

Explanations galore:
Only 11 from Modi's entourage were issued visas: Aziz
Responding to criticism from certain sections of media regarding violation of immigration protocol during Modi's Lahore visit, Aziz said only the Indian PM and 11 of his personal staff members were given a 72-hour visa, and the full immigration process was followed in this regard.
Giving a policy statement in Senate on the Nawaz-Modi Jati Umra meeting, the adviser clarified that no 'foreigner' was allowed to go outside the airport without valid visa, contrary to what had been reported in certain sections of the media.

Another explanation...
Modi’s good gesture aimed at winning UNSC membership
Member of the European Parliament Afzal Khan on Sunday said the good gesture shown by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi towards Pakistan during his visits to different countries was a part of his efforts to get permanent membership to United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for his country.

Mr Khan, who is also the EU security and defence committee vice-chairman, was speaking at a ‘Meet the press’ programme at the National Press Club.

Err, who was more green here hain ji?
This news from May. The Grenade thrower has just been sentenced to a 14 yr old prison term R&R
Taliban claim responsibility: Saudi consulate official shot dead in Karachi
KARACHI, May 16: A Saudi diplomat was gunned down in the DHA area of the city on Monday morning, days after two grenades had been lobbed at the Saudi Consulate building.

The attack on the consulate official took place in the relatively peaceful neighbourhood of Khayaban-i-Shahbaz, not far from the consulate.

“CCTV footage shows that four men on two motorcycles intercepted Hassan Al Qahtani’s car and opened fire,” Deputy Inspector General of Police (Karachi South) Iqbal Mehmood told Dawn. The official was driving to work and his car carried a diplomatic number plate

shiv wrote:China has promised Pakistan 46 billion dolahs in investment and the Paki army has to guarantee security for the Chinese - and this is openly publicized information. What chance does India have to ship anything via shitland and get security, especially with defunct railways? If Modi, Doval and Jindal can't see this they are all stupid. Jindal in particular is a successful businessman and did not make money from sentiment.

I think all this talk of ore via Shitistan is a bogey with the charge being led by Darkha Butt who claims she "broke the story" about Jindals business interests. Jindal may sell steel to Pakistan, but that's about it. There will be no shipment through Pakistan - except maybe an agreement to allow biscuits and wheat into Afghanistan and get Chana and Almonds in return
Consider this scenario:

China builds a highway / industrial corridor from Gwadar through pakjab and POK to Tibet with branches off into Afghanistan. This is heavily protected by pak army with the maximum degree of accountability they are capable of. And most of Pakistan's sovereignty is ceded to china so as to protect China's sizable investment.

India participates in a TAPI pipeline that intersects the CPEC corridor. Pak army protects this with the minimum degree of accountability that they can get away with. Because India, yindoos.

Some non state actor blows up the TAPI pipeline. He would have to do it in KP or Baluchistan or in the deserts of Sindh, so as to keep away from CPEC.

Now, will a supposedly rational actor like Pakistan 's new chinese master accept this paki "operation " because it is "far enough " away from CPEC? Or will they follow the chinese pattern of freaking out at destabilizing actions that would barely cause a ripple in Pakistan or even India? To look at it another way, if you are underwriting insurance for CPEC, will the premium change after the TAPI pipeline is blown up?

What about people and politicians of KP, Baluchistan, and Sindh who see themselves falling farther behind, with pakjab getting all the benefits from CPEC while they get explosions? Would chinese masters step in to stem the destabilization?

I think Modi-led GOI decided they needed to invest diplomatic energy in the scenario that china will actually manage to bring about a long term de-kabilafication of Pakistan. If it doesn't work out, the energy is not wasted as it buys us the moral high ground.

Either way, nothing goes of our father by playing nice for now. Modi the self-described optimist is putting down a marker for the best-case scenario.
Falijee

Post by Falijee »

Musharraf ‘seeks apology over Akbar Bugti murder’ :roll:
ISLAMABAD (Online) – A son of slain Baloch leader, Nawab Akbar Bugti, has claimed that former President of Pakistan General (Rtd) Pevez Musharraf is seeking forgiveness over Akbar Bugti muder case.
Talking to media persons on Wednesday, Jamil Akbar Bugti revealed Pervez Musharraf sent a message of apology through his lawyer.
Jamil Akbar, however, said that he would never forgive the murderers of his father Nawab Akbar Bugti.
His death led to widespread unrest in the area and a surge in the nationalist sentiment in Balochistan.(which is still going on :mrgreen: )
Pervez Musharraf was the then chief of army staff.
Mush is well known for "brilliant tactical decisions" (e.g. Kargil and this !)
Falijee

Post by Falijee »

Modi’s drop-in at Lahore was security risk: experts
Security experts say the guard of honour to Prime Minister Narendra Modi during his Lahore stopover did not follow protocol. | AP
They had in mind the attack on Rajiv Gandhi in Sri Lanka in 1987.

The intimate reception accorded to Prime Minister Narendra Modi during his “drop-in” at Lahore on Christmas day was an uncomfortable spectacle to many security experts, reviving memories of the attack on Rajiv Gandhi in 1987 during a guard of honour in Sri Lanka.

As Mr. Modi came down from an Indian Air Force aircraft at the Allama Iqbal Airport, lining up on either side of the red carpet were men of the Pakistan Air Force. With traditional Heckler & Koch G3 rifle mounted with a six-inch bayonet, the personnel stood on either side, hardly a couple of feet away from the two Prime Ministers.

A former Protocol Officer told The Hindu that nothing about the Lahore visit fitted into any rule book. It was a completely impromptu visit, he said. “We don’t have a protocol for drop-ins.”

Another officer who handled protocol during Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s Lahore visit in 1999 recalled that “we preferred Bhangra to the ceremonial welcome by the armed forces”. “As Indians, we remember the incident involving a Sri Lankan soldier at a guard of honour for Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi on July 30, 1987.”
On July 30, 1987, a day after the India-Sri Lanka peace accord was signed in Colombo, the then Indian Prime Minister, Rajiv Gandhi, was hit with the butt of a rifle by Vijitha Rohana Wijemuni, a Sri Lankan Navy sailor, as Mr. Gandhi was inspecting a guard of honour. Recalling that moment, security experts, too, sounded a note of caution.
“It is very strange. When I saw him [Mr. Modi] walk past the Pakistan Air Force personnel along with Nawaz Sharif on the red carpet, what struck me was the Rajiv Gandhi moment,” Maj.Gen. (retd.) Ashok K. Mehta, who served in the Indian Peace Keeping Force in Sri Lanka, told The Hindu. “The spontaneity of the visit clouded everything else,” he said.
Another retired Army officer Brig. Gurmeet Kanwal said that while the reception for Mr. Modi was arranged in haste, the use of bayonets could have been avoided.

If the PakMil has any sense, the bayonets would have been shiny plastic, as is the case in usual guards of honor.

The Modi magic
Till now, it was only a dream. Then it unhinged everybody invested in the established ways. I know, there are different ‘takes’ on it, and I will explain why I tend to go along with the hypothesis of spontaneity more than an international conspiracy that may have pushed Modi to make the birthday call. For one, I want to live in the dream-world a bit longer and sustain the charm of the magic that leaves one curious, intrigued as well as enchanted in a loving way; and I am a realist too not to forget what is at stake here. But don’t you think it is kind of cute.One can understand why it is so difficult to take in. We all are raised in a certain style of thinking when dealing with India-Pakistan issues. We have never given ourselves the freedom to think positive or on a happier note. Our glum faces, while discussing Indo-Pakistan issues, only reflect pessimism, defeatism and morbidity that nothing can seem to wash away – till someone like Modi walks in and changes the paradigm of possibilities. Cheer up; no one can snatch away your family silver in a handshake.
Modi thinks fast because he talks fast. He is in his element when unrehearsed and uncoached. Such a man can think and say anything, anytime; sometime something good as well. Only his types decide something on the spur, which in diplomacy is heresy. He is the prime minister of India and will always have India’s interests upmost in his mind (why do we assume that being nice and friendly means giving up one’s interests and submitting before others?). But what he will surely do is to take a road ‘less travelled’, creating opportunities for fresher experiences and opportunities. That is what will change the paradigm of engagement.For those who perpetually fear losing the family silver, here is a bit of realism. Neither Mian Sahib nor anyone else, by themselves, can give up or win Kashmir. These issues will see their end only through a deliberate, structured process by experts. This will take time. In the meanwhile, visits and interactions like the two prime ministers have had in the recent weeks – candid, friendly and impromptu – if studiously sustained, will instil and improve mutual confidence to take on more complex issues.
In strategy there is something called an OODA loop which aims at snatching the initiative away from the other and keeping him in a lag - reactive, never sure of what might come next, and more consumed by responding to what has already come his way as a surprise.Modi’s visit to Lahore came close, despite being essentially a personal visit; but look at the implications. The man is sure of himself – despite the drubbing that he has been dealt domestically. He has the guts to spring a surprise in international diplomacy. He can walk into your house at the time of his choosing and say what he pleases – at times nice things. And he is unfettered and unshackled from convention. You don’t know what he might do next. Those incremental, deliberate, structured, and coached types simply keep guessing. This is when he moves far ahead of you in the OODA loop.They will also help open frontiers to newer engagements filling in the remaining spaces on the ‘comprehensive’ list. Think disease, poverty, education, environment and water – stuff that makes you human. At the least, Ajit Doval will be kept under some check given the atmospherics. The meeting at Jati Umra exhibited political will and direction to pursue what is necessary to these ends. It is good that Modi came, but be under no illusions: he did not make this visit to gift Kashmir to the PM as a birthday present. For that the road remains long and hard.

When relentlessly abused by one with the power to decide your fate, some develop a Stockholm syndrome. Pakistanis do have a perverse love for Modi. It comes throgh their media quite clearly.

Af-Pak trip obviously had much more to do with Afghanistan than Pakistan which was more of Modi visiting NS, nothing more. Nothing to be curious/intrigued about as far as one can see, other than 'international' diplomacy at work, prodding by big boys at high table to make more intellectual bubbles and forgetting Kashmir itch for some time.

The man is sure of himself – despite the drubbing that he has been dealt domestically. He has the guts to spring a surprise in international diplomacy. He can walk into your house at the time of his choosing and say what he pleases – at times nice things. And he is unfettered and unshackled from convention. You don’t know what he might do next. Those incremental, deliberate, structured, and coached types simply keep guessing. This is when he moves far ahead of you in the OODA loop.
Exactly what BRF had been asking India to do w.r.t TSP from past few years: become as unpredictable as the Pakis are and see the panic set in.

I believe we are seeing that being put into action and TSPians running around like scattered mice unable to fathom whats happening :mrgreen:

Jhujar wrote:The Modi magic
. . . but be under no illusions: he did not make this visit to gift Kashmir to the PM as a birthday present. For that the road remains long and hard.
That's what they are hoping for- gifting away Kashmir to them.

Modi offered Nawaz a house in Luteyns' Delhi in case of Mucchar Sharif exiled him.

My CT.

SSridhar wrote: That's what they are hoping for- gifting away Kashmir to them.
Short of that, they want "uninterrupted" and "Unterruptible" p!ss talks while their terror rages in Kashmir, and they will during this Unterruptible process, they will propose to "gift" India the stoppage of terror in return for the "gift" of Kashmir. After that, they will look for the next "gift".

Post by amdavadi »

Pakis should be worried about how long they are
Going go hold on to pok....NaMo or any future PM
Of India can't give away Kashmir to Pakis.

Kashmir belongs to India.it doesn't belong to bjp,NDA,upa
Or any other political party of India...

With all this talk of relations with Pakistan, I hope I don't start hearing of talk of export of electricity from power surplus Punjab to power deficient Pakjab.

The process or enriching Uranium for nuclear bombs needs a lot of electricity. If you read news from Pakistan you find that they are having no trouble in making nuclear material for nuke bombs but have no power for the people. That means that whatever power they are producing is being selectively supplied to industries such as Uranium separation centrifuges.

By giving Pakis power, India ensures that Paki people are smiling even as they make more bombs to kill us. I hope our planners and people who want to sell power to shitistan realize this

^^ Let me put it this way, if you put a clean litter box in front of the cat then it feels obligated to relieve itself given the opportunity and its understanding/interpretation of the litter box availability. A litter box has been presented to the business interests, many cats will take a p1ss.

Let me read that again after ingesting some peyote.
Sabyasachi

Post by Sabyasachi »

shiv wrote:With all this talk of relations with Pakistan, I hope I don't start hearing of talk of export of electricity from power surplus Punjab to power deficient Pakjab.

The process or enriching Uranium for nuclear bombs needs a lot of electricity. If you read news from Pakistan you find that they are having no trouble in making nuclear material for nuke bombs but have no power for the people. That means that whatever power they are producing is being selectively supplied to industries such as Uranium separation centrifuges.

By giving Pakis power, India ensures that Paki people are smiling even as they make more bombs to kill us. I hope our planners and people who want to sell power to shitistan realize this
1+

I thought power shortage could have been deliberate to justify frequently getting new reactors form China in the name of (so called) grandfathering of the decades old deal.

shiv wrote:With all this talk of relations with Pakistan, I hope I don't start hearing of talk of export of electricity from power surplus Punjab to power deficient Pakjab.

shiv Ji :

I hope you and all BRFites had a Merry Christmas and a wish you and all the BRFites a Very Happy and Prosperous New Year.

Supply of ELKAYTRICITY to Cwapistan will give the Evil Indian Hindus Rice Eating Dark and Short to make an IMMEDIATE & PUNITIVE RESPONSE to any Cwapistani Cross Border Firing as well as any Terroristic Attacks will lead to an Immediate Shutting Off of Power. In addition have a very Strict Visa Regime of have a Limit of One Month for India visit for Personal - Pilgrimage - Business Reasons.
Please add any more conditions you deem fit.

Then we can - I am now dreaming - force them to settle the Kashmir Issue as per Indian Requirements.

Added Later : I hope you can recall the Cwapistani Analist crowing about TAPI through Pakistan, Access to CARS and Kashmiris using Karachi to access world Markets for Trade would give Cwapistan "Leverage" to make India dance to it tune. India would be able to turn the table by have Leverage of Cwapistan over the Supply of ELKAYTRICITY.

Would beggar Paki really care if India shuts off electricity in case of hostilities. They anyways were willing to eat grass in exchange for a nuke. Nothing stopped Turkey from shooting down Russian plane despite business contacts , Gas pipelines and tourism.
I think this whole business exposure giving leverage is overrated except for politicians and business to make more money while terror tap keeps flowing unabated.
Falijee

Post by Falijee »

Sundays to consume public holidays in 2016 :roll:
LAHORE (Staff Report) – While Pakistanis are all set to greet 2016 with hearts full of hopes and eyes looking for better and peaceful days, there is something little bit worrying as well. Because at least five of the public holidays in 2016 will fall on Sundays, which means ‘No extra holidays.’
To be frank, does this make any difference in Pakhanistan, where on one pretext or the other ( Saudi monarch/ Chini-blother head visiting Pakiland, sports team wins against India ) national holidays is declared - of course not counting work days wasted because of internal turmoil ie riots, curfew etc :mrgreen:

But Bakees have juma as holiday. Why to bother about Sunday?
Abhay_S

Post by Abhay_S »

rsingh wrote:But Bakees have juma as holiday. Why to bother about Sunday?
Jumma is now only a half day and the weekend is sat-sun. this was changed in 1997 by Ganja Sharif by saying that this will save the momin from other distaractions like entertainment and can focus on prayers from Friday afternoon.
Falijee

Post by Falijee »

Abhay_S wrote:
rsingh wrote:But Bakees have juma as holiday. Why to bother about Sunday?
Jumma is now only a half day and the weekend is sat-sun. this was changed in 1997 by Ganja Sharif by saying that this will save the momin from other distaractions like entertainment and can focus on prayers from Friday afternoon.
Abhay_S - Ji:
Friday was "proclaimed" as weekly day-off (alongwith ban on sharab) by the late Z.A.Bhutto, as one of his last desperate measure, to curry favours with the mullahs, so that he could still cling to power; did not work, and he was deposed by the Paki fauj, and jailed, and hanged; and has now become a martyr, at least for the Aam Abduls of Sindh. :mrgreen:

sanjaykumar wrote:When relentlessly abused by one with the power to decide your fate, some develop a Stockholm syndrome. Pakistanis do have a perverse love for Modi. It comes throgh their media quite clearly.
It's not just Modi.
Muslims in general and Pakis in particular just respect 1 thing. Strength. You cannot negotiate or deal with them, you have to show them the danda. Modi is no pushover like MMS so they respect that. IG was another.

KJo wrote:
sanjaykumar wrote:When relentlessly abused by one with the power to decide your fate, some develop a Stockholm syndrome. Pakistanis do have a perverse love for Modi. It comes throgh their media quite clearly.
It's not just Modi.
Muslims in general and Pakis in particular just respect 1 thing. Strength. You cannot negotiate or deal with them, you have to show them the danda. Modi is no pushover like MMS so they respect that. IG was another.
+ 116
And I dare say that if it was MMS and not Modi and somehow some pappi jhappi ghazal lover from south block would have thought of the same Birthday party crash of Nawaz on Dec-25, Pakis would have rejected the possibility sighting some security constraints or just shown Indian Ambassador the finger.
The fact that they swallowed the bitter pill and welcomed Modi is a sign of acceptance of who is the Dog and who holds the leash.
Falijee

Post by Falijee »

IS-linked man arrested in Lahore :shock:

FO denies IS presence in Pakistan :((

Sooner or later,the ISIS brand is going to make its debut in Pakiland, no ifs and buts :mrgreen: