Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan-Nov 21, 2015

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan-Nov 21, 2

nirav wrote:I'm afraid that's all the info public at large will get on covert ops. What exactly are we expecting ? The govt to wage all out war rather than engaging the enemy in covert warfare ?
True, that may be all we get, but I was referring to your original premise that it is proof. My last on the subject.

Even the super Dovish Vajpayee had Pokharan to his credit. What has 56 inch chest done except marketing shows? Even the National Herald is Subbu.
Last edited by Gyan on 02 Jan 2016 14:53, edited 1 time in total.

Gyan wrote:Even the super Dovish Vajpayee had Pokharan to his credit. What has 56 inch chest done except marketing shows? Even the National Herald is Suppu.
right, he is to blame for the air force base attack. out with him. :roll:

Baikul wrote:
nirav wrote:........A befitting reply doesn't necessarily be broadcast on times now. The numerous jhapads BSF/IA gave to the Pakis on the border resulting in the Pakis requesting us to stop,as quoted by Rakha mantri, is proof enough that the govt walks the talk......
While there can be no disagreement that retaliation does to need to be broadcast on public television, the words of a government functionary (Defence Minister) that the actions taken by his government (the jhapads referred to) have been brilliantly successful are not acceptable as proof.
Whom else will you believe then? The only recourse is to then ask the Pakistanis and they have even a policy in place that nothing that disadvantages the image of the TSP forces will not be revealed.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/p ... epage=true
Incidentally the four Mi-25s recently gifted by India to Afghanistan were from this base.

nirav wrote:
Gyan wrote:Even the super Dovish Vajpayee had Pokharan to his credit. What has 56 inch chest done except marketing shows? Even the National Herald is Suppu.
right, he is to blame for the air force base attack. out with him. :roll:
Thats not what was meant. Modi himself has stated if they fire once, we fire twice. Can he fulfil his election promise?

We all knew this was to happen,but didn't express negativity about the peace process with Pak,as one didn't want to be known as a "black tongue". Mr.Modi had to give it his best shot.ABV also tried. Now both have been backstabbed,though the Pathankot base beattack was not on the scale of Kargil by any means,the mentality of the perfidious Pakis remains true to their DNA. Nawaz Sharif is the "eunuch's eunuch".The real Sheriff of Pak wears a uniform.Raheel needs to be "brought to heel"

India can NEVER hope to establish peace with Pak unless there is a revolution in that country and its uniformed tribe are overwhelmed by some calamity throwing them into utter disgrace.

The Q then is not whether there will be a future conflict with Pak but WHEN? If we want to avoid that then Pak must be neutered by other means.India therefore has no alternative but to plan the dismemberment of Pak by any and every means,using proxies,overt and covert forces to annihilate the monster that the British created in the dismemberment of India. The Pakis print fake Indian currency,so too must we and flood their land with it. We must also never forget "perfidious Albion" as well as the "forked tongue paleface Yanqui".The US hs consistently provided Pak with aid and arms to wage war against India.It has not stopped doing so despite India's warm gestures to it. We must act on our own.

Said many a time before,India must up the ante with both diplomatic and military punishment of Pak.First diplomatic.Expel the Paki envoy.Ban our citizens from visiting Pak and theirs from visiting India,even for so-called "humanitarian" reaons.Stop Paki civilian overflights.Establish an "Iron curtain" between India and Pak on india,and as they've just done ,resort to terror when experiencing Paki terror. Send projectiles across the border to those locations where terror resides. Start assisting both the Baluchi and Sindh/Mohajir fissiparious entities in full force. Wage our own proxy war in Pak using terror as well. Sabotage as many Paki mil and key civil establishments. Hit their terror leadership in and out of uniform. Let them feel deep and wounding pain.India has taken enough slaps on its cheeks for decades.It's long past time to hit back.

A respectful message to Mr.Modi and the BJP leadership.Please don't repeat the mistakes of the Cong/UPA regime.They were even more impotent than eunuchs. Let's stop pussyfooting with talk of "there must be peace...there is no other alternative",There are.Alternatives to deeply and fatally wound Pak.They must be employed from now on.Make Pak pay every which way.
Last edited by Philip on 02 Jan 2016 15:05, edited 1 time in total.

nirav wrote:
deejay wrote:Befitting means "suitable; proper; fitting.". Then what would be a "Befitting Reply" to a terrorist attack? Cross Border firing, Suspension of Talks, No Cricket, Dossiers, De Marche or a Protest in UN?
Deejay Saar, you are letting emotion cloud your judgement.

A befitting reply doesn't necessarily be broadcast on times now. The numerous jhapads BSF/IA gave to the Pakis on the border resulting in the Pakis requesting us to stop,as quoted by Rakha mantri, is proof enough that the govt walks the talk.

I'm certain that this govt will retaliate in kind or more on a time,place and means of its choosing.
It doesn't have to be broadcast to the public at large, how we intend to retaliate ..
Nirav ji, not going to poop with my emotions (or trying not to) but these are my thoughts on exactly what is it that we are trying with Pakistan? Are we encouraging Pakistan with our policies to continue with its double speak (Political Pappi Jhappi and military Terrorist Attacks)? Is there a coherent understanding after so many attempts that engaging Pakistan with overt friendly gestures encourages a response from Pakistan which is essentially an attack?

What will follow as sure as sunrise tomorrow are the attempts to justify the peace process and how we must continue talking irrespective of the attacks. These will be justified as 'factions within Pakistan' who attack India and not Pakistan itself while there is no proof that Pakistan as a whole itself does not indulge in these attacks.

W.r.t the bold part - It has been 26 years since insurgency started in Kashmir. 1993, IIRC, was the first terrorist attack outside Punjab and Kashmir which had Paki backing. Name one response from India which shows that the Govt did indeed "retaliate in kind or more on a time, place and means of its choosing" in response to a Terrorist attack?

Philip wrote: Let's stop pussyfooting with talk of "there must be peace...there is no other alternative",There are.Alternatives to deeply and fatally wound Pak.They must be employed from now on.Make Pak pay every which way.
We did engineer Paki dismemberment in '71 .. Pakis still wont learn even if Balochistan breaks .. They've dared to attack Punjab. Its time we step up the game in Pakjab, where it hurts them the most.

@ Deejay ji,

The one thing that comes to my mind is that in spite of the perceptional timidness of GoI, we sure have a hand in the reverse swing terror pie. Pakis officially deny their role in terror attacks on India and so do we in terror attacks on their soil. Officially India can never be a state which condones or orchestrates attacks in foreign countries.

Our Raksha Mantrii had rightly said, we must fight a terrorist with a terrorist. Its been a while since he made that statement. And will take a while for us to know in the public domain, the effectiveness of the change in policy.

I agree we must up the ante, and wish Pakis a lot more IED Mubaraks.
Dont see any harm in "bagal me churi, muh pe Ram Ram" ..

I firmly hold the view that a no holds barred military exchange with the Pakis is just not in our national interests. Lip service to talks and strong covert retaliation to terror attacks is enough to keep Pakis on the simmer.
We must let Pakis stew in their jihadist juices while we continue our rapid economic progress.

Pakis must be punished so severely that this incident should set a precedence of indian retaliation.

Praveen Swamy writing on the Pathankot Terrorist Attack says “’Indian intelligence officers believe the group, entered India along the banks of the Beas, which cuts across the fencing on the Pakistan border, on January 31”:
Indian intelligence officers believe the group, entered India along the banks of the Beas, which cuts across the fencing on the Pakistan border, on January 31- just hours after Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif said the two countries “cannot live as enemies”. Maulana Masood Azhar, the head of the Jaish-e-Muhammad, has close links to Pakistan’s intelligence services. Even though the organisation is proscribed by the United Nations, as well Australia, Canada, India, the United Arab Emirates, the UK, the US and the UN, Azhar operates openly, from a sprawling seminary in Bahawalpur.
See more at:

Pathankot terror attack strikes at heart of PM Modi’s Pakistan peacemaking

Our BJP led Government and especially our Prime Minister Narendra Modi, must set aside lust for the Noble Peace Prize, status of being a Mohammaddenphile and forthwith suspend all contact with the terrorist fomenting Islamic Republic of Pakistan unless the Islamic Republic of Pakistan conclusively proves to India’s sole satisfaction that the terrorists did not cross over from the Islamic Republic. The Islamic Republic should not be given any opportunity of plausible deniability nor should India take on the onus of establishing the Islamic Republic of Pakistan’s culpability until such time in the future when the Islamic Republic establishes the norm of shooting dead Terrorists who seek to exfiltrate from there into India on their border / LOC. Let us see some 56 inch chest and not 16 inch Pigeon Chest.

deejay wrote:Nirav ji, not going to poop with my emotions (or trying not to) but these are my thoughts on exactly what is it that we are trying with Pakistan? Are we encouraging Pakistan with our policies to continue with its double speak (Political Pappi Jhappi and military Terrorist Attacks)? Is there a coherent understanding after so many attempts that engaging Pakistan with overt friendly gestures encourages a response from Pakistan which is essentially an attack?

What will follow as sure as sunrise tomorrow are the attempts to justify the peace process and how we must continue talking irrespective of the attacks. These will be justified as 'factions within Pakistan' who attack India and not Pakistan itself while there is no proof that Pakistan as a whole itself does not indulge in these attacks.

W.r.t the bold part - It has been 26 years since insurgency started in Kashmir. 1993, IIRC, was the first terrorist attack outside Punjab and Kashmir which had Paki backing. Name one response from India which shows that the Govt did indeed "retaliate in kind or more on a time, place and means of its choosing" in response to a Terrorist attack?
Well you have put a finger on our basic issue that in years past we have let both our covert and conventional military capabilities wither away. Now both need to be developed and former needs to be deployed 24/7.

Conventional military capability can only be used once we get overwhelming advantage. Otherwise people in border areas will constantly complain about their loss to life and livelihood if all we engage in are artillery duels without a clear cessation from TSP side afraid of Indian capability.

Even so arty fire assaults are needed but need of the hour is to build up a way so that Hafiz Suar et al realize what their terrorism entails
Vinu

Post by Vinu »

"Befitting response" - Do they care to explain what was the "Befitting Response" given for Gurdaspur Attack or for any other terrorist attacks before?

For Gurdaspur attack, befitting response was a delicious meal in Lahore. For pathankot , the befitting response would be some chai-biscuit in islam-a-bad.
I guess everybody in South bloc is busy generating ideas for dossiers and designs for dove cards to be presented to Nawaz and Obama.

I'd suggest instead of outraging over the fact the attack occurred, we figure out ways and means the GOI can actually impose a cost on TSP. Talking, no talking is meaningless symbolism at best. What needs to be done is to impose a cost on TSP and its various actors all of whom claim to have no influence on other. IMHO, targeting ISI and the jihadi infra should be our #1 priority. How to do it, thats the question.

Sudheendra Kulkarni
‏@SudheenKulkarni

#Pathankot underscores the need for an effective, trust-based #IndiaPakistan Joint Anti-Terror Mechanism to counter the common enemy.

^^^ And this Joint Anti Terror Mechanism will oversee terrorist training in Pakistan and attacks in India. Excellent suggestion from Shri Kulkarni.
sunnyP

Post by sunnyP »

Vian wrote:"Befitting response" - Do they care to explain what was the "Befitting Response" given for Gurdaspur Attack or for any other terrorist attacks before?
Like robots they say the same thing after every attack- something the BJP quite rightly used to criticise Manmohan Singh and Congress for.

After Gurdaspur Rajnath said:
"I can't understand why time and again cross border terror incidents are taking place when we want good relations with our neighbour," Home Minister Rajnath Singh said, according to news agency PTI. "We will not be the first to strike, but if we are hit, we will give a befitting reply," he said.

abhishek_sharma wrote:Sudheendra Kulkarni
‏@SudheenKulkarni

#Pathankot underscores the need for an effective, trust-based #IndiaPakistan Joint Anti-Terror Mechanism to counter the common enemy.
Let Pakistan demonstrate first that it has given up terrorism as an instrument of its foreign policy. We can then think about joint counter intelligence. Where is joint counter intelligence when Pakistani officers who were part of 26/11 are in service probably even having been rewarded for their acts of terror? Who has to establish credibility here? Pakistan is an internationally accepted terrorism-sponsoring sate.

The problem is that when India calls off talks after bad behaviour of Pakistan, these traitors demand 'talks' and when India shows generosity and Pakistan reciprocates with terror, these same Jaichands demand even more generosity using a circular argument. This is the problem in India.

>>Sadanand Dhume ‏@dhume 9h9 hours ago
This prediction by Kanwal Sibal looks prescient after #Pathankot attack. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahome/in ... -2016.html

Karan M wrote:I'd suggest instead of outraging over the fact the attack occurred, we figure out ways and means the GOI can actually impose a cost on TSP. Talking, no talking is meaningless symbolism at best. What needs to be done is to impose a cost on TSP and its various actors all of whom claim to have no influence on other. IMHO, targeting ISI and the jihadi infra should be our #1 priority. How to do it, thats the question.
X-post from another thread: If JeM is proved to be involved, can we use real time sateklite and HUMINT to lob couple of Prithvis or Brahmos to take out Masood Azar?

Forgive a not very well informed civilian like me wondering why we should not immediately after launching the missile use the hotline to communicate to Sharif and a public statement that we launched punitive strikes on the terrorists responsible for the attack.
kancha

Post by kancha »

arun wrote:Praveen Swamy writing on the Pathankot Terrorist Attack says “’Indian intelligence officers believe the group, entered India along the banks of the Beas, which cuts across the fencing on the Pakistan border, on January 31”:
Some morons don't even know that the Beas does NOT flow across the international boundary at all. :roll:
kancha

Post by kancha »

ShivJi,
The link to your ebook given in first post of the page is not working.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Pathankot attack: Pakistan number used to hire taxi on Friday by terrorists
Date published: Saturday, 2 January 2016 - 5:35pm IST | Place: Pathankot | Agency: PTI

The terrorists, who carried out the attack in Pathankot, were in regular touch with their Pakistani handlers, who even arranged a taxi for them by calling from a mobile number of that country. Sources said the terrorists had first used a Toyota Innova vehicle on Friday and it has been found that the driver was called from a Pakistan number.

Security agencies are questioning the driver and trying to find out whether he (driver) had been offering regular services to Pakistan-based smugglers, who have links with the terrorists, or was it a case of him not realising that it was a Pakistan number.

The driver of the Innova was called to a particular spot near Pathankot where the terrorists boarded the vehicle. The sources said that the car was used for travelling on an untarred road and dumped after a while as the rim of the vehicle got damaged. The terrorist then hijacked an SUV (Mahindra SUV X500) in which a Superintendent of Punjab Police was travelling along with a friend and a cook. The SP and the cook were forced to leave the vehicle while the friend, a jeweller, was taken as hostage.

The terrorists snatched a mobile phone from them and used it to dial the number in Pakistan which was used to call the driver of the Toyota Innova. From this number, they had called their handlers thrice and once to a family member who was told that they were on a suicide mission.

Security agencies have found that from the Pakistani mobile number, the handlers were actively giving the directions to the terrorists. Since the Pakistani number was under surveillance, security agencies were able to find out the possible target of the terrorists, leading to dispatching of 160 NSG commandos, army special forces besides others.

Son, eat before you die: Pakistani mother told Pathankot terrorist
Last Updated: Saturday, January 2, 2016 - 17:01

Pathankot: Hours before terrorists struck at the Indian Air Force base in Pathankot early on Saturday, at least one of them spoke to their families back in Pakistan.

Sources told Zee Media that Indian intelligence agencies intercepted four international calls to Pakistan from in and around Pathankot after 12:35 am on Friday midnight.

The terrorist spoke to his mother on phone who in turn asked him to “have food before dying”.

A group of terrorists launched an attack at the Pathankot air base early this morning.

Four terrorists have been confirmed killed in the attack in which three jawans were also martyred.

Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

‘Indian’ dream eludes many from Pakistan
Yudhvir Rana & IP Singh | TNN | Jan 2, 2016, 03.13 AM IST

Amritsar/Jalandhar: The grant of Indian citizenship to singer Adnan Sami has left a number of Pakistan nationals, waiting for Indian citizenship for decades, fuming.

Several Pakistani Muslim women of the Ahmadiyya community live in Qadiyan town of Gurdaspur after marrying Indians. Many of them have not been granted Indian citizenship for over two decades.

A total of 200 Hindus from Pakistan, who live in Jalandhar, are yet to be made Indian citizens despite having moved their applications years ago.

Pakistani brides in Qadian learnt Hindi and Punjabi, adapted to local traditions and even gave birth to children, but Indian citizenship still eludes them.

"I was married in 2003. I completed all formalities, but I have not been granted Indian citizenship after all these years. I wonder why the Indian government showered so much love on Adnan," said Tahira Zahoor, who belongs to Faislabad in Pakistan and is married to Chaudhary Maqbool Ahmad of Qadian. She is a mother of three.

Qadian is the headquarters of the Ahmadiyya Muslim community in India. Ahmadiyyas have divided families across the India-Pakistan border and marriages are common among them.

Many Pakistani Ahmadiyya woman are married in India and vice-versa. Maqbool said another Pakistani woman, Abida Parveen Anjum, has been waiting for Indian citizenship for the past 32 years.

He said his wife had approached the National Human Rights Commission and United Nations seeking their help in getting Indian citizenship.

"I have been married and living here for more than 12 years, but I am not allowed to leave Qadian. Is this some kind of house arrest?" asked Tahira.

According to her, they did not know about the status of their application for years and when they approached the ministry, they were told that their application was being processed.

"The government has shown much interest in making Adnan an Indian national, but those at the helm of affairs seem to be unaware of us or may be it is because we are not Bollywood personalities," she said.

Some Pakistani women have received Indian citizenship like Nusrat Jahan, who even contested civic body election and became a municipal councillor.

Over 300 Pakistan Hindus living in Jalandhar and Pathankot await Indian citizenship even as most of them are here for the last 15-20 years. Some arrived even before that.

Most of them are poor and less educated and barely able to make both ends meet.

Their Pakistani passports have expired and they are getting visa extensions, but an element of apprehension remains in them.

"Total 312 Pakistani passport holders are living in Jalandhar and Pathankot. Over 220 are in Jalandhar alone, and several came with their children whose names were on their passports," said Falak Chand, who came here in May 1998, and is now working in a surgical factory.

"We have been getting visa extensions and our passports expired long back. I applied for citizenship in 2005 but still waiting for it," said Falak who got married in India with a local woman.

"While we are waiting for the citizenship, 42 of our elderly fellows have already passed away after reaching here as their dream to become Indian citizens remained unfulfilled," said Kala Ram, who reached here in 2006 from Sadra Badra village in Sialkot district of Pakistan.

"Our relatives were here, and there are only six Hindu families in our village in Pakistan now. Only my wife reached here. Other members of my in-laws family, living in Bagge Chak village of Sialkot, converted to Islam in 2009 as they could not find any support system here," he said.

"As now our families are very few in Pakistan, they do not get matches for their kids and traditions do not allow them marry close relations."

These Pakistani Hindus are from Bhagat community, which is notified here as scheduled caste, but they are unable to get the benefits available to persons from that category.

"Most of our children have started doing jobs after attending school. They started working as labourers or doing other small jobs. Financial constraints also discourage from pursuing further studies," said Hans Raj who arrived in India in 1999.

SSridhar wrote:Should Pathankot attack halt Indo-Pak talks? : Poll - ToI

30% - Yes
70% - No
:-?
milano

Post by milano »

Milano wrote:....one should consider that this type of attack would have been weeks/months in the planning, as opposed to < 7d.
Yes, but however long the planning was, it could always be called off, even in the second-last moment. The decision to pull the trigger could have easily come in < 7d.
A_Guptaji, great point.

With a lot of info coming out that this was JEM and that the attack was handled from Pak, let us see what India does and what actions Pak takes in the days and weeks ahead.

Irrespective of whether the decision came from Pak Army or ISI (or both), or let's say JEM/LET acted independently, the onus clearly lies on the Pak govmt to do something meaningful given that its territory and citizens was used to plan and execute this.

If India cannot compel Pak to take decisive action, or is not seen to have imposed costs, then I think the government's and particularly Modiji's credibility is shot. Under the previous regime, I think we were all conditioned to expect complete inaction in the face of every attack. This govt did start out well in terms of imposing costs on the LOC - this incident is going to be a very interesting test - they had set very high expectations, and it appeared that we were pursuing peace from a position of strength. To not do anything meaningful quickly (or not be able to show a change in Pak's behaviour) would be very bad.

I am of course not going to hold my breath.

Guys, my take. I haven't yet scanned DDM in full this morning, but has the bean counting hit ModiJi started in full force by India's opposition? If so, and if nothing else, TSP would have already gained by that.

I already see KMs speaking with a forket tounge. That slime ball Omar Abdullah already said talks must go on. And here is another KM speaking in a forked tongue (leave aside the puke-worthy western report glorying the pigLeTs as "gun men")

http://news.yahoo.com/4-gunmen-2-troops ... .html?nf=1

"These kinds of attacks are nothing new and have generally been the outcome of the dispute of India and Pakistan over Kashmir," said Noor Ahmed Baba, a political scientist at Central University in Indian Kashmir's capital, Srinagar.

Baba said that there were elements in both countries that would like to see the peace process fizzle out, and that all sides must "exhibit political maturity and sagacity to defeat the vested interests."
So this is going according to script. TSP will continue to press for talks in consort with its 5th columnists and 3.5, "condemn" attacks, and then say talks must continue. So you get the drift. Fire away pigLeTs and then press for "Uninterrupted" and "Uninterrutiblle" talks till Kashmir is handed over on a silver platter.

Bottom line: I am not a piskologist nor rocket scientist but I can decipher from elementary TSP 101 that TSP (every one of those b@stards including "moderate TSPians" which TSP's 3.5 refer to TSP RAPE as) is quietly celebrating this thumbing of their nose and watching India cry. I am no military expert either, but unless India finds some way of raising the costs to TSP, this will only continue. This is so brazen that TSP has shown once again that it can strike at will and with no fear of an Indian retaliation, and but for the coordinated and timely Indian response, TSP would have succeed in creating a "nuclear flashpoint".
Last edited by CRamS on 02 Jan 2016 19:39, edited 1 time in total.

SSridhar wrote:Should Pathankot attack halt Indo-Pak talks? : Poll - ToI

30% - Yes
70% - No
This is civilian hypocrisy. Result would be reverse had the killed been civilians. There is this appalling lack of compassion about military deaths within many civilians and politicians as if they are dispensable! A$$h0les not even your best friend or brother will die for you and here is the guy who has a kid, a wife, a mother, a father has taken oath to protect you and gives ultimate sacrifice so that you can live, drive cars, go to malls...have some respect :roll:

appalling simply appalling.

Is it advisable for GoI to read the riot act to Puki (both Sharifs over the appropriate channels) and give them a hard deadline to act against Masood Azhar (deadline should be within few days). If no verifiable action takes place (Such as Azar running into an accident), we should launch precision missile strike to take out JeM infrastructure and top leadership in the days to come while announcing it to the wide world as soon as our missiles get released from their silos so that this is not misunderstood for a nuk bum strike.

We do seem to have cruise missiles with the necessary range and precision and in good numbers for such operations.

Can we game this scenario? What would be the international community's reaction and what would be the reaction of Pukistan for such a targetted punitive missile strike. What would happen if there were collateral damages?

Schinnas, unless Indian military can give an unequivocal or at least a high probability of success to ModiJi, such a threat will back fire and India loses credibility. We have seen this before during op Parakram, and even now with Rajnath's Singh's talk of giving a "befitting reply". As much as I praised ModiJi for his statesmanship, my own opinion is that he should have never done this down hill ski-ing by kissing up to TSP. Those like Minhaz Merchant in India were advising that India must isolate TSP as much as possible would have been the best course of action.
sunnyP

Post by sunnyP »

4:23 p.m.: The BJP says the resumed dialogue with Pakistan cannot be revoked due to “one attack” and accuses the Congress of “politicising” the Pathankot terror incident. Union Minister Prakash Javadekar bats for continuation of talks with the neighbouring country.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/m ... epage=true

Indeed, as of now, I haven't seen anything else

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india/why ... 11CKK.html

7:43 p.m.: Enemies of humanity who can’t see India progress attacked Pathankot, says Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
from same Hindu link as above http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/m ... epage=true

Fmr RAW officer on TV.

We have lots of Intel inputs. We need to connect the dots. Says that is Punjab is sorted - Pakistan will be sorted

Others on TV - fmr diplomats say "Why talk?. We can act.

Many voices: "No point talking to Pakistan"

Maroof Raza: Attack on forces compels them to maintain very high security leading to loss of concentration on other duties and decrease in morale

Modiji - what are you going to do? You are talking like a wimp today and I am astounded to agree with Sagarika Ghose on Twitter saying "So India and Pakistan agree that enemies of humanity attacked us"
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

I feel it is Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif who is answerable and under pressure. This is not the time to be kind to him to promote his stability; in fact he needs to be savaged by the international community for his inability to rein in the elements opposed to the peace process. The Americans must read the riot act to the Army Chief who probably gave all assurance of his support during his recent US visit where the issue was extensively discussed.
But does the Bakistani army chief really control the army or is he just the PR face behind whom the Inbred Snakes of Islamabad (I.S.I) are hiding.

http://nation.com.pk/columns/27-Dec-2015/the-boyzes
Yet one sees journalists, television anchors and social media accounts associated with the ‘boyzes’ trying to run a spoke in the wheel, and denigrating Prime Minister Modi’s Christmas day visit. This had a senior journalist clearly puzzled, which speaks volumes for the fact that generally the military’s aims, policies and actions thought of as unanimous. Clearly, that is not the case. The military’s premier agency has demonstrated in the past that it has a mind and agenda of its own, and will cross the powerful military chief in its own ways. And this is what explains tweets from ‘senior journalists’ such as: “Strong earthquake in Kabul and Islamabad. India’s PM Modi was in both places today. He’s famously known to jinx his hosts”, “(to Modi) Sorry, bro. But the only thing we are celebrating today is the birthday of the Quaid. Hope you liked the pakoras” and “Narendra Modi let whole of Pakistan dance into a ‘simple harmonic motion’ leading to worst earthquake; God this was literally hell”; it also explains further bile from other ‘senior television anchors’ opposing any peace overtures towards India. These ‘journalists’ continue to be the master’s voice. Since the military has traditionally used the ISI to control electronic media, the ISI is able to get away with its own agenda, even when it runs counter to the military chief’s.

To illustrate this assertion with facts from the past, the hawaldar media (military controlled journalists and anchors) first egged the then military dictator General Pervez Musharraf to clean up the Laal Masjid, after its khateeb established a parallel government in Islamabad in 2007. After operation cleanup, the same anchors began to call for Musharraf’s blood, calling the killed militants ‘innocent girls’ and ‘innocent kids’. The switch was stunning. But guess who were the media handlers? The ISI. It was headed by General Ashfaq Pervez Kayani at the time (who went on to inherit the mantle of military chief after Gen Musharraf’s fall). One anchor is on record as having said, ‘we were told to keep Mush tight on spot.’ And there you have evidence of the ISI working against the military chief.

The second episode that bears testimony to my assertion also relates to the same year: the military chief and dictator General Musharraf was encouraged by the then ISI head General Ashfaq Pervez Kayani in 2007 to go after the then Chief Justice of the Country, CJ Iftikhar Chaudhry. On the other hand, General Kayani assured Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry of his support and to dig in his heels against the military dictator. Helped by other factors, he achieved his aim and Musharraf quit his uniform and Kayani was sworn in in November of 2007 as the army chief.

Kayani left the ISI in the hands of his own man, General Shuja Pasha, who later left it in the hands of his own man, General Zaheer ul Islam, in 2012. Now fast forward to 2014 and Mr. Imran Khan’s sit ins. Once again these were supported by the ISI, and the government was at the brink of collapse. Here too, it is public knowledge that the military chief and the ISI were not on the same page. But Gen Sharif could not risk a coup from within coming out to bat for PM Sharif too publicly or too strongly. The government only stabilized after the ISI coterie of five generals retired from service and Imran Khan was left dangling on his container. He was ordered off the container after the Army Public School attack and he obediently heeled once he knew his support was gone.

It is no wonder then, that now despite General Raheel Sharif’s support of the peace processes, the ‘hawaldar media’ is denigrating it. But lest anyone confuse the whole thing again, let it be clear that it looks like a repeat of the ISI running its own agenda as opposed to the army chief’s.

Will Pakistan take even token action against the enemies of humanity?

shiv wrote:Maroof Raza: Attack on forces compels them to maintain very high security leading to loss of concentration on other duties and decrease in morale
I heard him and I am bit confused. Don't we have levels of alertness like 1 2 3 4 ? Or we are either on high alert or no alert? If we have then why a low to medium level alert should prevent the forces to carry on with their other duties?