Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan-13 June,2016

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan-13 June,2016

Karthik S wrote: First thing for them to admit is that they share same ancestry as us and belong to this soil. When that happens, their superiority complex will come down and hopefully, much of their hatred.
You might be talking about one group that has the vast superiority complex. They might be in the majority, but I was addressing the other groups who are suffering at the hands of the majority.
Ashok Sarraff

Post by Ashok Sarraff »

Islam divides. Otherwise, why would there be dozens of Islamic countries rather than one? And why would these countries be at the throats of each other continuously?

Not only Islam divides countries and societies, it also causes fault lines in people brains. Otherwise, why would normal people who understand the principles of science start believing in hoories and become suicide bombers at the call of Islam?
ArunK

Post by ArunK »

Just wanted to comment on the latest terrorist attack at Uri. I have been expecting this.I also know *anything* overt by India is wrong. We have to quietly increase funding to the covert Ops. Karachi, Quetta, & Peshawar should burn. Our assets are there. Get Pakistan isolated. Squeeze them economicaly. Build dams in Kabul to control water give some means to the Afghans to screw with Paki minds. Let the Chinese know all is not well with CPEC. Get Baluchis, the Pasthuns, the mohajirs, the sindhis, the POK reidents and the Balti riled up. Spend a lot of money on AIR and DD. Spend money to go after Paki financing in the Middle East, UK, USA, Canada & Australia. All those countries are sick and tired of Islamic terrorism.

Watch PAK TV on U-tube. They have been obsessed with India for the past 4 months. EVERY TV show is about India. Manohar Parrikers "Kante se Kaanta" comment has driven vast majority of "Paki Intelluctuals" completely crazy. They have gone so far overboard that they are losing credibility inside Pakistan itself.

Best course of action is to leak some "Info" to the press that India along with some allies is poised to go after CPEC in a major way in retaliation for this terrorist strike. That will create so much confusion that they will overreact. Today they are planning to have 2 security personnel for each Chinese worker for CPEC. I want them to raise that number to 5. Then we play the same hit and run game but not with our personnel but with their own citizens.

CPEC is a small part of OBOR. if we create a perception that the security cost is going to be prohibitive, the Chinese will back out. That will hit them very very hard.

http://www.rediff.com/news/column/time- ... 160918.htm

Rediff.com » News » Time to hit and hurt the Pakistan army!
Time to hit and hurt the Pakistan army!
September 18, 2016 13:42 IST
'For every act of terrorism on Indian territory for which there is credible evidence pointing to the Pakistan army and the ISI's involvement, carefully calibrated military strikes must be launched against the Pakistan army,' says Brigadier Gurmeet Kanwal (retd).
The Pakistan-sponsored fidayeen attack on an army camp in Uri on September 18, that resulted in the martyrdom of 17 soldiers, is the worst since 2002. Though all four fidayeen were killed, that is cold comfort for an army at the receiving end.
Such large-scale casualties must not go unpunished.
Clearly, India's carefully calibrated strategy to fight Pakistan's proxies within its own borders and on its own side of the LoC, in order to keep the level and the intensity of conflict low and maintain a stable environment for rapid economic growth, has not yielded the desired dividends.
The increasing attempts at infiltration across the LoC and the spurt in encounters with terrorists in the Kashmir valley recently show that Pakistan's proxy war against India is continuing unabated.
In order to reduce casualties and damage to property, India's response needs to be reviewed and upgraded to a more pro-active one that raises Pakistan's cost for waging a proxy war.
Despite facing seemingly insurmountable internal security challenges, the Pakistan army and the ISI -- together constituting the 'Deep State' -- have been engaged in a low-intensity limited war against India for almost three decades.
The Pakistan army believes that the balance of terror must be in its favour, especially when the balance of power is not.
Pakistan's Deep State continues to sponsor terrorist attacks not only in India but also against Indian assets in Afghanistan through extremist organisations like the Lashkar-e-Tayiba and the Jaish-e-Mohamed.
Incidents like the terrorist strike at the Pathankot air base in January 2016 and Pakistan's proclivity to remain in denial even though hard evidence of the involvement of organs of the State is given to it, are exhausting Indian patience.
For the Pakistan army it is a low-cost, high-payoff option to keep several divisions of the Indian Army and a large number of personnel of the central armed police forces embroiled in conflict.
For India the opportunity costs have been prohibitively high in terms of the strain on the defence budget and slowing down of the rate of economic growth....
ArunK

Post by ArunK »

Nothing should be done to compromise the economic growth of India. In a few years, Pakistan will cease to matter, its geographic position will be no longer effective. Chabahar and an undeersea pipeline from Omn to India will finish Pakistan's strategic position. It will become a Somalia.

We will have to deal with their nukes but we will have help there as it is a threat to the rest of the world.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1284399/the-th ... -sanctions
The threat of US sanctions
FOLLOWING the failure of Pakistan’s effort to revive talks between Kabul and the Afghan Taliban, a US drone strike killed Taliban leader Mullah Mansour, the US Congress blocked money for Pakistan’s acquisition of eight F-16 aircraft and later the US defence secretary stopped repayment of several million dollars of ‘Coalition Support Funds’.
In a US Senate hearing last July, several American legislators and ‘experts’ expressed anger against Pakistan for its alleged failure to act against the Haqqani ‘network’ as well as the Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and Jaish-e-Mohammad (JeM) ‘terrorists’. The hearing was stacked with anti-Pakistan legislators and ‘experts’. Several proposals were made to impose new sanctions on Pakistan, most specifically by Zalmay Khalilzad, the Afghan-origin ex-US ambassador to Afghanistan, Iraq and the UN. Even more disturbing were remarks by some US senators, such as Dana Rohrabacher’s expression of support for the ‘independence’ of Balochistan, Sindh and other ‘parts’ of Pakistan.
A second Senate hearing in early September was more balanced. While there were expressions of frustration from Senator Corker and other legislators, all three ‘experts’ testifying at the hearing advised against recourse to sanctions against Pakistan. The US State Department spokesman also assured afterwards that the administration had no intention of imposing anti-Pakistan sanctions and fully supported Pakistan’s territorial integrity.
Something obviously changed between the first and second Senate hearings. Perhaps sober minds in Washington assessed the high costs and dangers of anti-Pakistan sanctions for America’s short- and longer-term objectives in the region. Perhaps warnings and/or assurances were conveyed from Islamabad. While the US rhetoric has been dialled down, Secretary Kerry was obliged to please his Indian hosts recently by urging Pakistan to do more against the Afghan and Kashmiri ‘terrorist’ groups.
The Indians have gone into diplomatic overdrive. At the G-20 and Asean summits, Modi railed against Pakistan as the ‘instigator’ of terrorism. Kabul has joined the campaign, as evidenced by the recent Modi-Ghani joint statement in New Delhi.
At the second Senate hearing, Robert Grenier, the former CIA station chief in Islamabad, recalled that in 1994 Pakistan “came within a hair’s breadth” of being put on the US list of “state sponsors of terrorism”. Actually, Pakistan forcefully rejected the threat, telling the US that the legitimate Kashmiri struggle for self-determination could not be equated with terrorism and Pakistan would not sit idle while Indian occupation forces were killing thousands of Kashmiris. The threat was not pursued further.
In 1994, despite the Pressler nuclear sanctions, the Benazir Bhutto government still had many friends in Washington. The Indo-US strategic partnership had not been formed. Pakistan’s image had not been systematically trashed. Today, Pakistan has few friends and many enemies in Washington......
______________________________________________________________________________________________
http://www.dawn.com/news/1283918/histor ... i-passport
History of the Pakistani passport
This is a good laugh.

ArunK wrote:Nothing should be done to compromise the economic growth of India. In a few years, Pakistan will cease to matter, its geographic position will be no longer effective. Chabahar and an undeersea pipeline from Omn to India will finish Pakistan's strategic position. It will become a Somalia.

We will have to deal with their nukes but we will have help there as it is a threat to the rest of the world.
The problem is this argument will always be there even if and when India becomes the number one economy in the world. Then the argument will be let's exercise strategic restraint lest we slide from our top position. If we don't punish Pakistan now, they will next come after our economic interests. Then what? What's the use of high economic growth if we can't protect our economic interests? That a rogue army with a piece of land is able to hurt us regularly without any fear of consequences is just ridiculous.
ArunK

Post by ArunK »

If we don't punish Pakistan now, they will next come after our economic interests
Who said we won't punish Pakistan? We will of course extract revenge -- but that will not be via direct military action. Anything like that will backfire badly for India. India should covertly sponsor Pakistanis to kill their own. India has been very successful. Look at what is happening in the rest of Pakistan other than Pakjab.

They are scared shitless. They have lost control of these south punjab terrorists LeT and JeM. India cannot *EVER* do anything to touch these guys without provoking a wider conflict. You have to force Pakistan to take action by making their life unteneable. By covert action, India will have the world's support.

Instant gratification should be set aside and a cold revenge should be extracted. The dice has been rolled. Light up Baluchistan, POK, Gilgit Baltistan and Pashtunistan on the international stage. Pakis are pushing Afghan refugees across the border. Listen to KP pathans who are claiming that the Pashtuns are in *THEIR OWN* land. Heat up the Durand line issue.

UAE has banned visas for Pakis. Thousands of Pakis have been laid off at Saudi and their remittances are dropping massively. In spite of massive efforts, Pakis are forced to choose sides *AGAINST* Iran and with Saudi Arabia. The Saudi grand Mufti has declared Iranians non-muslims. Iran has been denied HAJ this year. We have to exploit all this to the fullest.

India should adopt a *mature* way to fight back. Everybody understands why India needs covert action. Evidence -- Nobody batted an eye lid about Pakistani stories about Kulbhushan Yadav. The Pakis are crying everyday on their TV shows about that.

Arun, the economic interest argument is flawed for multiple reasons. First of all it assumes that I India will continue to economically hobble itself with nehruvian economic policies.

An India that's free from nehruvian dogma has enough room to grow while dealing with TSP.

ArunK wrote:
If we don't punish Pakistan now, they will next come after our economic interests
Who said we won't punish Pakistan? We will of course extract revenge -- but that will not be via direct military action. Anything like that will backfire badly for India. India should covertly sponsor <b>Pakistanis</b> to kill their own. India has been very successful. Look at what is happening in the rest of Pakistan other than Pakjab.

They are scared shitless. They have lost control of these south punjab terrorists LeT and JeM. India cannot *EVER* do anything to touch these guys without provoking a wider conflict. You have to force Pakistan to take action by making their life unteneable. By covert action, India will have the world's support.

Instant gratification should be set aside and a cold revenge should be extracted. The dice has been rolled. Light up Baluchistan, IOK, Gilgit Baltistan and Pashtunistan on the international stage. Pakis are pushing Afghan refugees across the border. Listen to KP pathans who are claiming that the Pashtuns are in *THEIR OWN* land. Heat up the Durand line issue.

UAE has banned visas for Pakis. Thousands of Pakis have been laid off at Saudi and their remittances are dropping massively. In spite of massive efforts, Pakis are forced to choose sides *AGAINST* Iran and with Saudi Arabia. The Saudi grand Mufti has declared Iranians non-muslims. Iran has been denied HAJ this year. We have to exploit all this to the fullest.

India should adopt a *mature* way to fight back. Everybody understands why India needs covert action. Evidence -- Nobody batted an eye lid about Pakistani stories about Kulbhushan Yadav. The Pakis are crying everyday on their TV shows about that.
I propose - disband the Indian Army, Air Force and Navy. BSF and ITBP will suffice, since we don't want to take direct military action. This alone will add ~1.75% of GDP plus no more pensions and Pay Commission. Also if there is no Army, Paki terrorists can't kill army soldiers - can they?

Some more short term Capital Gains will be had by selling off the Military Equipment that we have. Long Term Capital gains can be had by GOI selling military land holdings over a sustained period of time. We will also have a fewer army widows and slowly demand of expenses for building war memorials will die removing another expense head.

We should also do away with MOD and DPSUs since there will be no military. All Defence Civilians associated costs and overheads will also be removed. The point of spending few millions on aircraft, submarine, ship, gun, tank development will also be lost and that will save a few 100 millions per annum too. Just imagine the benefits that accrue to the Indian Economy. We will become very strong economic giant in short order. Just like the economic giant we were before the Islamic hordes came or before the British came.

Win, Win, Win. Maturity at its best. Indians should Introspect.

The problem is that if Pakis keep quite for 2 months, we go intto everything is normal mood. I agree there should be no instant gratification as they will be ready now and have attacked at a time of thier choosing, we must keep them in contant alert and when things die down, attack a Prominent Pakistani miltary barracks with MRBL(and then act innocent- ask Pakistan for clear evidence that the shells or rockets came from India) or sink PNS KHALID or some Augusta 90B(do not claim responsilitbilty) or get gulf nations to execute retired Paki miltary personal in the Gulf.

Problem is the Pakistani Miltary is not made to pay in blood. Attacking these miltants is a waste of time, attackt he Paki miltary and they will take care of the miltants.
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

you know this is a pattern that I have observerd on brf every time something like this happens. kill pakis... burn pakis... maim pakis.... no no no.... what about economy.... wait I have got it, economic cripppling the enemy will salvage pride plus being chankian...
if we are baniya nation, I ask keep the lives+blood of martyrs on one scale, what balances this? some intangible feeling that the enemy will spontaneously combust one day and we just pour ghee when that happens .. well only pussies wax eloquent about losing . there is nobody in our country that keeps score of our losses barring a few on sm. this gathering is the vanguard for keeping the nation's conscience alive to the fact of our losses. but we get into the fine print every goddam time. did the sp of pathankot go full on traitor? yes let's debate that instead of our losses, we lose track of the true goal every time please don't let it happen this time.
Last edited by ricky_v on 19 Sep 2016 13:34, edited 1 time in total.

ArunK wrote:
Who said we won't punish Pakistan? We will of course extract revenge -- but that will not be via direct military action. Anything like that will backfire badly for India. India should covertly sponsor Pakistanis to kill their own. India has been very successful. Look at what is happening in the rest of Pakistan other than Pakjab.

Instant gratification should be set aside and a cold revenge should be extracted. The dice has been rolled. Light up Baluchistan, POK, Gilgit Baltistan and Pashtunistan on the international stage. Pakis are pushing Afghan refugees across the border. Listen to KP pathans who are claiming that the Pashtuns are in *THEIR OWN* land. Heat up the Durand line issue.

All this must be done but in addition to overt military action. I for one still can't get over the fact that we did nothing after 26/11 which according to me is the biggest act of war by Pakis against India till now. If we had attacked Karachi (20% of Pak's GDP) in response, Pakis would probably not have done P'kot or Uri. Instead of CPEC, they would have been reduced to seeking funds to rebuild Karachi.

ArunK wrote:Just wanted to comment on the latest terrorist attack at Uri. I have been expecting this.I also know *anything* overt by India is wrong. We have to quietly increase funding to the covert Ops. Karachi, Quetta, & Peshawar should burn. Our assets are there. Get Pakistan isolated. Squeeze them economicaly. Build dams in Kabul to control water give some means to the Afghans to screw with Paki minds. Let the Chinese know all is not well with CPEC. Get Baluchis, the Pasthuns, the mohajirs, the sindhis, the POK reidents and the Balti riled up. Spend a lot of money on AIR and DD. Spend money to go after Paki financing in the Middle East, UK, USA, Canada & Australia. All those countries are sick and tired of Islamic terrorism.

. . . .
ArunK, all that must be done, IMHO. Also more along those lines because GoI, or at least the incumbent GoI, has determined that there is no decent way to negotiate with Pakistan at all because it is not a normal nation-state. This realization must have dawned a few decades back. Anyway, no crying over spilt milk.

But, there *MUST* be a visible and open punishment. There can be no compromise on this.

Today, the area to our north, north-west is Chin-Pak, not merely Pak. It is the very strong Chinese backing that is the source of Pakistani bravado. In the years to come, the mere presence of China and its investment would be used as a deterrence by both of them against us, just how terrorism is today carried on against us under the threat of nuclear weapons. Now is the right time to signal to China also that its investments would be in jeopardy if its cat's paw thinks it can violate us with impunity. The Chinese must get the message that India will attack Pakistan irrespective of whether it is a Chinese province or not.

TSPA, must be told that survival is not equal to victory. In no uncertain terms.

GOI should send a Prithvi up Muridke's ass and own up to it, I say.

No non-state actor-factor kinda pussilla-enimity. Keh ke lo. Only.

I disagree Hari Seldon ji.
Muridke walas are just cannon fodder anyways.
My reflex angry shot will be a B'mos on aabpara.
I kid you not, the pakis will fume, jump up and down, and only do some cross LOC shelling.
If there is one thing they simply are not prepared for, it is all out war in any form, weather short or long.

@ Partha
I for one still can't get over the fact that we did nothing after 26/11 which according to me is the biggest act of war by Pakis against India till now.
:shock:

Bigger than 1965.. Bigger than 1999.. :?:

Manish_P wrote:@ Partha
I for one still can't get over the fact that we did nothing after 26/11 which according to me is the biggest act of war by Pakis against India till now.
:shock:

Bigger than 1965.. Bigger than 1999.. :?:
I only had terror attacks in mind.

Very interesting news:

Russia has called off military exercise with Pakistan. Did GoI convey to Russia that safety of their troops can't be guaranteed in case India decides to go for the military option?

partha wrote:Very interesting news:

Russia has called off military exercise with Pakistan. Did GoI convey to Russia that safety of their troops can't be guaranteed in case India decides to go for the military option?
Astute observation. Media is spinning it away as a diplomatic victory.

Habalji, the diplomatic victory is a win-win for India-Russia. Russia can keep their vodka bottles intact and India can have a free hand to operate.

the diplomatic victory is an unintended consequence no. Real substance is something else.

Hari Seldon wrote:GOI should send a Prithvi up Muridke's ass and own up to it, I say.

No non-state actor-factor kinda pussilla-enimity. Keh ke lo. Only.
That seems to be the direction that many "experts" and "analysts" are learning. To me Arnab's show was almost like preparing the country for a war, or some hit at Pakistan. People at all levels want India to hit and show that it hit for a reason. Arnab and Maroof were tearing the land of honey and milk, were urging the country to hit and isolate Pakistan.

I think nobody wants anymore covert nonsense, looks like the aam admi is being prepared for the retaliations after a covert hit. It feels like Modi gov has to do something now to show Indians that somebody paid the price.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-new ... r8e5J.html
Pakistan promoting cross-border terrorism: India tells UN rights council
In a blunt message, India asked Pakistan on Monday to stop supporting terrorism and vacate illegal occupation of Pakistan-Occupied Kashmir as it highlighted human rights violations in Balochistan, Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa and Sindh and persecution of minorities including Hindus.{Hindus! Not sure If we were this specific before. So we have expanded to KP and Sindh too. I say, Isolate Pakjab within Bakistan}

“We, once again, ask Pakistan to stop inciting and supporting violence and terrorism in any part of India and refrain from meddling in our internal affairs in any manner. We call upon the Council to urge Pakistan to fulfill its obligation to vacate illegal occupation of Pakistan Occupied Kashmir,” India said in its right to reply at the 33rd Session of the UN Human Rights Council (HRC) in Geneva. {We have officially started referring to the pre-condition in the UN resolution}

It said Pakistan continues to test the patience as well as wisdom of the Council with its unceasing false-narrative backed by fabricated facts and figures about Jammu & Kashmir.

“Pakistan has had territorial ambitions over Kashmir since 1947 that has found concrete expression in the aggression it embarked on in 1947, 1965 and 1999. As on date, Pakistan is in illegal and forcible occupation of 78,000 sq kms (approx) of Indian Territory in Jammu & Kashmir,” it said. {Doe this include *gift* to China?}

The fundamental reason for disturbances in Kashmir is cross-border terrorism promoted by Pakistan, it added.

Raising human rights violations in Pakistan, India said, “the people of Balochistan, amongst other provinces, have been waging for decades a bitter and brave struggle against their daily abuse and torture.

Religious and sectarian minorities such as Hindus, Christians, Shias, Ahmaddiyas, Ismailis and others continue to face discrimination, persecution and targeted attacks in Pakistan. Places of worship belonging to minorities have been destroyed and vandalized. Blasphemy laws remain in force and are disproportionately used against religious minorities.”

Noting that various international organizations have documented how enforced disappearances continue with impunity, particularly in Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Sindh where members of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement are routinely abducted and killed, India said selective but extremely opaque and high-handed use of force by Pakistani authorities has affected civilian populations on a large scale.

Underlining that more than one million people remain displaced as a result of the current and past armed conflicts in the northwest of Pakistan, India said, “Pakistan will be well-advised to focus its energies on setting its own house in order and acting against the perpetrators of terrorist attacks on its neighbours instead of ritually raking up alleged human rights violations elsewhere.”

Earlier, making a statement at the session in Geneva, India called upon the Council to urge Pakistan to put an end to cross-border infiltration; dismantle the terrorism infrastructure; and stop acting as an epicentre of terrorism.

India said it firmly believes that a policy of “zero tolerance” against terrorism is as much an international obligation as it is a commitment to its own people.

The Indian statement comes a day after heavily armed militants suspected to be from Pakistan-based JeM had stormed an army base in Uri in Kashmir on Sunday, killing 18 jawans, in one of the deadliest attacks on its military.

“It is time that moral and material support provided by Pakistan to the perpetrators of this continuing heinous violence on the Indian soil should attract this Council’s attention,” India said.

Raising once again the “blatant abuse and violation of human rights in the Pakistan-occupied Kashmir and in other parts of Pakistan, including Balochistan”, India said it was adversely impacting the stability of the entire region.{Seems to have been lifted from Baki's latest pronouncements}

Pakistan’s continued mistreatment of large parts of its own population has created a cauldron of tumult that has begun to jeopardise the safety and security of its neighbouring countries,” the statement said.

Asserting that the acts of terrorism are the most egregious violations of human rights as they rob their victims of the most fundamental of human rights - the right to life, India said this should be clear to any impartial observer of the issue.{Hitting at the UNHCR toady}

“India has been a long-suffering victim of terrorism emanating from our neighbourhood. The fundamental reason for disturbances in Kashmir is cross-border terrorism promoted by Pakistan which is so ruthless that it does not shy away from using civilians and even children by putting them in harm’s way, at the forefront of violent mobs instigated and supported by their handlers from across the border,” it added.

The fact that known terrorists like Hafiz Saeed and Syed Salahuddin have been able to hold huge rallies in Pakistan’s main cities is a reflection of the state of affairs and can mean only one thing: active support for such personalities and the designated organisations they lead in blatant disregard of rule of law is the new normal in Pakistan, it said.

Rather than internationalising issues with India, Pakistan should cleanse itself of its terrorists.

The time has come, when the international community needs to address the plethora of human rights concerns in Pakistan because its impact has moved beyond the county’s domestic problem and has begun to affect the region and the world at large, the statement said.{Stealing the baki verbal thunder}

“We urge this Council to take a holistic view of this threat and not permit the use of terrorism as state policy to be masqueraded as advocacy of human rights,” it added.

^^ we have moved to a new level of verbal warfare, lol.

sorry pankajs - not directed at you but at the general state of this dhimmi, hinduphobe elite ruled country, where even speaking the above basic items qualifies as a huge step.

but sad fact is it won't deter TSP one bit. what will deter them is 10x the pitai, and there modi & co's actions are awaited.

Are we ow begging UNSC to "intervene"? I bet they are sitting and laughing their asses off.

We have to do whatever ourselves. "We are isolating Pak" means squat.

We are not going to the UNSC. This is just the verbal hawabazi that has become routine at the UNHCR. My view is that it is part of the process and has to be done. Means nothing really. Part of the *befitting reply* to fool the mangos at home.

Another hawabazi session is about to begin and similar barbs will be traded. Rituals at the high low table.

No
A case is being built internationally to preempt
UN will get involved the moment India uses its military

GoI wants to ensure that UN does nothing more than Ninda/Kadi Ninda of war in the indian subcontinent

Don't discount India's diplomatic reach. India is a P6 country with adequate enough global clout!

IMHO, Cases are built quietly in the various capitals away from the public view. Speeches at the UN/UNSC/UNHRC are for mango consumption. At these forums real work happens behind closed doors.
saurav_jha

Post by saurav_jha »

^^ Interesting to see "Shias" included in the statement. Will cause some serious burn in Pindi.

Arun, the economic interest argument is flawed for multiple reasons. First of all it assumes that I India will continue to economically hobble itself with nehruvian economic policies.

An India that's free from nehruvian dogma has enough room to grow while dealing with TSP.
Indians have build economy many-many times in past only to be looted by foreigners!
According to economic historian Angus Maddison in his book Contours of the world economy, 1–2030 AD: essays in macro-economic history, India had the world's largest economy during the years 1 AD and 1000 AD.
Muhammad Ghazni attacked India in around 1000A.D. India even after this loot was still #1 in world. Then in 1190s Ghauri attacked and slowly they took all of India's wealth out of India.

The best defense is offense and at least 3 times the money spent of armament and armed forces personnel than all of your neighbors. When will we learn?

Indians keep on making money while foreigners come and loot it time and again. READ YOUR HISTORY!!!
rgosain

Post by rgosain »

SBajwa wrote:

Indians have build economy many-many times in past only to be looted by foreigners!
According to economic historian Angus Maddison in his book Contours of the world economy, 1–2030 AD: essays in macro-economic history, India had the world's largest economy during the years 1 AD and 1000 AD.
Muhammad Ghazni attacked India in around 1000A.D. India even after this loot was still #1 in world. Then in 1190s Ghauri attacked and slowly they took all of India's wealth out of India.

The best defense is offense and at least 3 times the money spent of armament and armed forces personnel than all of your neighbors. When will we learn?

Indians keep on making money while foreigners come and loot it time and again. READ YOUR HISTORY!!!
Absolutely spot on. Development and prosperity comes from security, and those who are prepared to compromise on security deserve neither prosperity or security. The cost of doing nothing now becomes greater in a decade.

America, Russia, Israel et al hit their opponents whenever they deem it fit. They have established the norm as far as their own responses go. Only in a large scale war - like invading Afghanistan or Iraq needed a coalition of a few other important partners. Otherwise they acted solely.

If the above is the norm called - 'N', then India is no where near that. In order for India to operate like them, it has to get its people, other political parties, elites, businesses etc ready. Next it has to get some basic level of diplomatic immunity from the other big countries when it decides to hit.

The previous governments have not done either step. The people of India are ready, but the other political parties, elites and businesses are not ready. So 3 out of 4 steps have to be done now. Next the diplomatic immunity has to be earned or purchased. IMO, India has been purchasing that via the trade deals it has been striking with myriad countries.

Unless Pakistan starts the war using the official 'means', India government has to do the above steps. Once the norm 'N' has been reached, in future India would be able to take action against Pakistan just like America, Russia, Israel et al.

Ironically, Pakistan is the country helping India reach that norm; while the 3.5 powers do not want India to reach that norm. Once that norm is reached India becomes an equal equal onlee.

Hussain Haqqani is a Shia?

SwamyG wrote:America, Russia, Israel et al hit their opponents whenever they deem it fit. They have established the norm as far as their own responses go. Only in a large scale war - like invading Afghanistan or Iraq needed a coalition of a few other important partners. Otherwise they acted solely.

If the above is the norm called - 'N', then India is no where near that. In order for India to operate like them, it has to get its people, other political parties, elites, businesses etc ready. Next it has to get some basic level of diplomatic immunity from the other big countries when it decides to hit.
As I see it - "norm" in this case is attacking at will but not necessarily reaching a satisfactory end point where the entity that is attacked stops being a threat. Pakistan has actually already achieved that norm and the Paki army boasts to its people that they are hitting India at will.

There is, unfortunately in this issue a lot of self deluding and obfuscation even from "the best" - i.e America. To my mind the US has sunk to new lows - from a situation in which - a decade ago, on a private mailing list I was cockily informed by a desi of how the US' response was so robust that there was no more terror in the US, to a situation now where a man called Abdul (or is it Ahmed) sets off a bomb in New York that hurts 27 people and 7-8 other bombs are found and the US announces before any investigation and indeed before anyone is arrested that this was not a terrorist attack in a copycat scenario of Benazir Bhutto's killing. I mean Pakistan has learned all its deluding lies from the US. It seems to me that instant hitting of enemies is simply a way of becoming politically popular at home without solving anything

X posted from the “India-Russia: News & Analysis” thread.
saurav_jha wrote:Apparently Russia has called off the drills with Pukistan...

http://www.financialexpress.com/india-n ... an/382372/

I could not find any confirmation from Russian or from Islamic Republic of Pakistan based media sources that Exercise Druzbha 2016 had been postponed.

News might be over enthusiasm on the part of News 18. Wait and watch.

NY bomber Rahami has pakistan connection.

From cnn:
Rahami first came to the United States in 1995 as a child, after his father arrived seeking asylum, and became a naturalized US citizen in 2011, according to a law enforcement official who reviewed his travel and immigration record.

Ahmad Khan Rahami: What we know about the bombing suspect?

Rahami traveled for extended periods to Afghanistan and Pakistan in the last five years, officials said. While in Pakistan in July 2011, he married a Pakistani woman. Two years later, in April 2013, he went to Pakistan and remained there until March 2014, visiting Afghanistan before returning to the United States.