India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

ramana wrote:Read this Twitter thread on how motivated Indian Americans who have failed in India are driving the narrative at USCRIF etc.

https://twitter.com/vijaygajera/status/ ... 6AG6icNxTA
I posted this in the other thread. It is scary to see how dangerous this filth has penetrated at high levels of US and India Govt.

Vijay Patel @vijaygajera
11. When I checked who runs all these 40 organisations which support CAG, I was shocked to see that very few entities are registered. All other entities are shell organisations and those are not registered anywhere. Even few don't have their official websites.
Vijay Patel
@vijaygajera

12. A group of around 20 to 30 people including radical leftist, radical Islamist, radical Christians and proxy Hindus are behind all these 40 organisations. They are running this fake organisation by swapping their roles in multiple organisations.
The question is how do we fight them and expose them?
mappunni

Post by mappunni »

Garcetti ‘likely knew or should have known’ about aide’s alleged sex misconduct, report finds

https://www.latimes.com/california/stor ... misconduct

Looks like Garcetti Bhai knew about the harassment and looks like his nomination is khatam.

Per diplomatic norms, doesn't not appointing an ambassador to a country for an extended duration indicate the lesser importance being attached to relationship with that country? Something like a de-facto downgrade of the relationship? What can we interpret from this message, if any? Whether Garcetti was involved in some internal lafda is besides the point, the lack of alacrity shown by the USG in appointing an ambassador to India - a full year after the new administration has settled down - is interesting.

I will not read too much into this admin in US not having an ambassador to India.

This is just a general reflection of disfunction within the admin.

Or else they could has withdrawn the nomination and nominated someone else.

Sure, the dysfunction is there for all to see. Which other countries are in the same boat - i.e. without such high level (ambassadorial) appointments? I assume there are quite a few then.
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

arshyam wrote:Sure, the dysfunction is there for all to see. Which other countries are in the same boat - i.e. without such high level (ambassadorial) appointments? I assume there are quite a few then.
https://afsa.org/list-ambassadorial-appointments
Vacant
  • Afghanistan
    ASEAN
    Bahamas
    Belize
    Bolivia
    Brazil
    Chad
    Chile
    Colombia
    Croatia
    Cuba
    Czech Republic
    Denmark
    Dominican Republic
    El Salvador
    Eritrea
    Estonia
    Ethiopia
    Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Tonga, & Tuvalu
    Gabon
    Haiti
    Hungary
    Iceland
    India
    Italy & San Marino
    Kenya
    Kuwait
    Kyrgyz Republic
    Malta
    Mauritius & Seychelles
    Morocco
    Namibia
    Netherlands
    Niger
    OAS
    Panama
    Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands & Vanuatu
    Qatar
    Romania
    Rwanda
    Saudi Arabia
    South Africa
    South Sudan
    Sudan
    Syria
    Thailand
    Timor-Leste
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Tunisia
    Ukraine
    United Arab Emirates
    United Kingdom
    UN / Political Affairs
    UNESCO (U.S. withdrew on 12/31/18)
    Uruguay
    Zambia
    Zimbabwe

^^ Thanks, this is far worse than I thought :rotfl:

Biden - "We are back"
Reality - "We are back of the beyond incompetent"

ramana wrote:The US has a lot of goodwill in India mainly due to a large number of immigrants from all parts of India. At last count, it was 4.5 Million of whom about 1 million are citizens.
My educated guesstimate is that another 1 million are on GCs who will become citizens in the coming years. For perspective, CAIR claims 3+ million Muslim-Americans.

mappunni wrote:Garcetti ‘likely knew or should have known’ about aide’s alleged sex misconduct, report finds

https://www.latimes.com/california/stor ... misconduct

Looks like Garcetti Bhai knew about the harassment and looks like his nomination is khatam.
It’s a shame. Because of this he would have kept a low profile. Now the Xiden admin will pick someone who is much worse and really incompetent. They’ve done it on every front.

zerohedge @zerohedge
*US IS PREPARING MILITARY AID PACKAGE FOR INDIA

*BIDEN TEAM SEEKS TO LURE INDIA AWAY FROM RUSSIAN ARMS PURCHASES
https://twitter.com/zerohedge/status/15 ... 8274809856

Biden bhai wants to lure us with whole $500 M military aid ... LOL

Now that China/Russia axis is coming, the morons in the US are panicking over China and what a mess they are in Russia.

We want Tech transfer of all the weapons now :D

Mort Walker wrote: ... Now the Xiden admin will pick someone who is much worse and really incompetent. They’ve done it on every front.
Possibly. Or even more probably, Xiden has forgotten about it.

vijayk wrote:..
Biden bhai wants to lure us with whole $500 M military aid ... LOL

Now that China/Russia axis is coming, the morons in the US are panicking over China and what a mess they are in Russia.

We want Tech transfer of all the weapons now :D
Exactly. And $500M is moongfali for us.. talk in the tens of billions, then we baniyas will consider thinking about it :lol:

Bhai log., dont look at a gift horse in the mouth ., but i want to see how this offer to "reduce Russian dependence" goes :mrgreen:

honestly hilarious :((

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... id-package

ooohh lalala Potential $500 million deal would put India near Israel, Egypt

the optics of it all .. just to pander to the western audience

Boy, no wonder the US has trouble understanding Indian motivations WRT, Russians.

The poor people actually think that India would have criticized Russia if it was not buying Russian arms.

Do they truly not understand why Russians India today and the then USSR developed a defence relationship?

When all you have is a hammer (fiat money printing press) everything looks like a nail.

I wouldn't be so casually dismissive of this US package. Think the $500 million is just a start, a very small one. My guess is that it will creep up very, very quickly. The US MIC is solidly powerful and needs to cement funding for the next 20-50 years. 500 million for it is peanuts. This is just appetizer. What was it that Ukr got in just a couple of months? $60 billion? Yeah - thats what we might be looking at in short order. Mostly at the expense of the US taxpayer mind you. The MIC wins, and so might India, if it goes well.

The US corporate interests have gained huge winnings via China, and have sold everything to the Dragon. In comparison, the USMIC has received very little from this bonhomie. It is smarting, and needs a piece of the action. The Euros, Aussies and the Gulf are already in the bag. But the Indian market is HUGE. They know it. And they will sweeten the pot to gain a foot(strangle)hold in it esp. wrt India's most pliant arm - the Navy.

But they will start slow. Don't want the progressives to lose it. The woke lobby is strong but the MIC is stronger, the former will be borgified and assimilated. Not to say that the progs won't get some leeway to do RnD and try some clever sh*t visavis India (MIC couldn't care less), but big juicy fruit will be offered, and it won't be easy to resist.

India needs to play its cards well - no harm in engaging IMVHO. The Navy could use more expeditionary assets and power. So long as the neighborhood can be kept safe without US hardware, which it can. The idea should be to play MIC vs progressives - drive a deep, unbridgable wedge there, and all is well. This has potential to be a win-win.

Partnership yes, aid no. Right now the SSNs as part of the AUKUS deal are needed by India including the ability to buy HEU for the reactors. Favorable financing will be needed.

Zia Ul Haq had called a $400M package offered by Carter as peanuts after the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan. This was in 1980.

Then a more hawkish Reagan came up with a $3.2Billion arms package only for Pakistan. May be we need to wait for a Republican President who is more Hawkish on China to come to WH and then negotiate.

Don't worry. Modi Sarkar has legendary baniya skills. If there is a deal to be made, it will be on the most beneficial terms for India imaginable.

The dance so far has been to try and get India to fold cheaply. Appeal to "freedom and democracy/natural alliance", send flacks like Dalip Singh to issue crass threats, plant media hit-pieces to attempt to shame India for not participating in sanctions. These are all things that would have made MMS wet his salwar and do Massa's bidding.

At the 2 plus 2 summit it became painfully clear to Biden Sarkar that none of it was going to work. Even Blinky's statement at the presser about "keeping watch on India's human rights situation" was slapped out of the way by SJS' remarks on motivated lobbies hijacking political discourse within the US.

NOW they've started to talk business. The initial low-ball offer has been made. I trust Modi Sarkar implicitly-- they will sign nothing that isn't completely favourable to India, because they have no reason to. Let the offers keep escalating. The longer the Russia-Ukraine war drags on, the higher they will go.

Its actually curious, why they think India needs $500M of aid to buy American mil stuff. They know we have the money, we bought lots of stuff already, they know we bristle at the idea of receiving "aid" and getting "beholden" or getting clubbed with Pakis et al.

Is lack of 0.5B$ the only thing stopping us from shopping at AMICmart for everything now on? Or they think we can be swayed that easily under this Govt?!

What happened to that Dalip Singh? Does he get another shot at his 15 minutes of fame?

sanjaykumar wrote:What happened to that Dalip Singh? Does he get another shot at his 15 minutes of fame?
He was sent home for some wishy-washy dealing

Cyrano wrote:Its actually curious, why they think India needs $500M of aid to buy American mil stuff. They know we have the money, we bought lots of stuff already, they know we bristle at the idea of receiving "aid" and getting "beholden" or getting clubbed with Pakis et al.

Is lack of 0.5B$ the only thing stopping us from shopping at AMICmart for everything now on? Or they think we can be swayed that easily under this Govt?!

I don't think it's a question of them thinking we "need" it. It's just what any dukaandaar might do to attract a customer... a "one time free" offer. What we used to buy from AMICmart & pay for, they are offering to give us at US govt expense, and then some. I expect GOI to respond that we would rather pay hard cash for what we want and maintain our strategic independence... unless it comes with complete TOT, etc. The bargaining will go on.

What's important is just this: the fact that they made the offer shows that for now, in their perception, they need us more than we need them. And that's a perception I hope GOI plays for maximum leverage.

Realistically there is no way to get out of Russian h/w for the next 50 years - if not more - without a massive infusion of like 200 billion dollars which India cannot afford. USA knows this. What else can it do other than offer military aid ultimately?

Why did they block EE Lightning sale - Karma I guess...
Last edited by V_Raman on 19 May 2022 04:01, edited 1 time in total.

V_Raman wrote:Realistically there is no way to get out of Russian h/w for the next 50 years - if not more
It need not be all or nothing. Things will happen in a phased manner and the goal should not be to leaves russia's vodka and jump into uncle Sam's whiskey pool.
RajeevK

Post by RajeevK »

kit wrote:https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... id-package

I am sure with $500 million India can get one F35 with some weapons thrown in to round it off.

Then we reverse engineer the heck out of that puppy.

5 billion in aid would be nice

^^ The US is sitting on at least 1 Trillion of Desi origin people's 401K accounts. 5 B is nothing. If the US can provide some of the Bond money at Fed Rates that would be welcome. India has a need for at least 1 T to upgrade not only the Defence forces but other socio-economic factors quickly.
Najunamar

Post by Najunamar »

I think we should wait and get some goodies in kind with the understanding we have already paid for it in their perfidy with the Pakis supplying freebies over years. No aid it is karma debt that US has to pay - absolutely no moral high ground (to those who say US will continue in its position of strength history shows the time it takes for an empire to crumble can startle you).

RajeevK wrote:

I am sure with $500 million India can get one F35 with some weapons thrown in to round it off.
That will never happen, since the India/ Turkey or any operator will have to share the F35 radar signatures with Russian engineers involved in the S400 system for IFF and to avoid friendly fire incidents.

They are playing equal equal before arming Pakistan again to target India.

RajeevK wrote:

it was sarcasm though :D

bala wrote:^^ The US is sitting on at least 1 Trillion of Desi origin people's 401K accounts. 5 B is nothing. If the US can provide some of the Bond money at Fed Rates that would be welcome. India has a need for at least 1 T to upgrade not only the Defence forces but other socio-economic factors quickly.
No bond shond, cash transfer like PMJDY.
They just gave $40b to Ukraine, 500m is disrespectful

If GE can set up a wind tunnel testing, with a test bed aircraft and building GE F400 and F404 engines with Indian suppliers supplying parts from Ore to making the engine blades, Indian engineers writing the software code and Indian engineers designing the plant for assembly with an Indian workforce doing the assembly I will be more than happy.

Well, let us paint the entire picture:

* Prez asks fr $33 billion as aid to UKR. The Congress, in its infinite wisdom to print monies, give $40 billion

* Turkey asks for a stairway, made of gold, to Heaven, AND changes in Swedish laws to allow Sweden and Finland into NATO

* IMO, India, in addition to an independent FP, should ask for IP to F414, a operational miniature nuclear pant, and an operational nuclear submarine. Include 2 squadrons of brand new L&G F-18s as a tip

This chain of salivating posts even as jokes seem beneath BR to me. Xposting from CAATSA thread on MilForum:
We should just tell them to bugger off.

Reminds me of a joke where a guy goes to a famous actress and offers a 1000$ to sleep with her, which she rejects with horror and says I'm not for sale. He keeps upping the offer and when the offer reaches 500M$ for a night, she agrees. The guy immediately drops the price back to 1000$ saying now that we've established you're for sale it's just a matter of negotiating the rate!

Aditya_V wrote:

If GE can set up a wind tunnel testing, with a test bed aircraft and building GE F400 and F404 engines with Indian suppliers supplying parts from Ore to making the engine blades, Indian engineers writing the software code and Indian engineers designing the plant for assembly with an Indian workforce doing the assembly I will be more than happy.
Boeing was contracted for wind tunnels as part of offsets ., they did zilch