India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

ACTION ALERT:

Hello all. Amazon Prime has a documentary series "Kashmir: The Story" that's produced by TimesNow Television. It's not perfect but it's a rare case of OUR side of the Kashmir conflict getting some air-time in the US media market (as opposed to relentless Pakistani and Islamist propaganda).

https://www.amazon.com/Kashmir-The-Story/dp/B0819XQY9R

As a result, Pakis and Chinese bots have begun to review-bomb it with downvotes. You know what to do. Please sign into your Amazon Account, visit the link, go to review/comment, and (1) give it a 5-star review (2) add a comment that is NOT confrontational or controversial-- that could get your review pulled (3) Check all the other positive reviews you see as "Helpful".

Done!
I hope others too.

Incorrect thread though post in politics also.
Last edited by vimal on 28 Jan 2021 02:29, edited 1 time in total.
morem

Post by morem »

Done

Done, hope mine does not get pulled though.

Rudradev wrote:ACTION ALERT:

Hello all. Amazon Prime has a documentary series "Kashmir: The Story" that's produced by TimesNow Television. It's not perfect but it's a rare case of OUR side of the Kashmir conflict getting some air-time in the US media market (as opposed to relentless Pakistani and Islamist propaganda).

https://www.amazon.com/Kashmir-The-Story/dp/B0819XQY9R

As a result, Pakis and Chinese bots have begun to review-bomb it with downvotes. You know what to do. Please sign into your Amazon Account, visit the link, go to review/comment, and (1) give it a 5-star review (2) add a comment that is NOT confrontational or controversial-- that could get your review pulled (3) Check all the other positive reviews you see as "Helpful".
Thanks for the heads up. I would add a
(4) report the paki-Cheeni comments
Punjabi

Post by Punjabi »

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/what-jo ... _topscroll
Here we go...SleepyBuddaBiden & KamaliKamala administration starts the "India UN Permanent Seat" Hai Hai...Why? Can't do that shitshow!
US President Joe Biden's pick for the ambassador to the United Nations, Linda Thomas-Greenfield, on Wednesday did not explicitly commit the support of the new administration for India to be a permanent member of the Security Council.
Three previous administrations, that of George W Bush, Barack Obama and Donald Trump, had publicly said that the United States supports India's bid to be a permanent member of the UN Security Council.

Punjabi wrote:https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/what-jo ... _topscroll
Here we go...SleepyBuddaBiden & KamaliKamala administration starts the "India UN Permanent Seat" Hai Hai...Why? Can't do that shitshow!
US President Joe Biden's pick for the ambassador to the United Nations, Linda Thomas-Greenfield, on Wednesday did not explicitly commit the support of the new administration for India to be a permanent member of the Security Council.
Three previous administrations, that of George W Bush, Barack Obama and Donald Trump, had publicly said that the United States supports India's bid to be a permanent member of the UN Security Council.
Well she did not say no. Her stance seemed more nuanced but not negative. Anyway, chacha Cheen will block everything so this is not even a big agenda item.
Punjabi

Post by Punjabi »

vimal wrote:
Punjabi wrote:https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/what-jo ... _topscroll
Well she did not say no. Her stance seemed more nuanced but not negative. Anyway, chacha Cheen will block everything so this is not even a big agenda item.
Yeah, BUT this does not bode well for India...Xinpoopoos & pigglees will have a free pass except some useless scolding in words no actions...bad for India overall...these new morons...

Its all part of the script for Beijing Biden and well anticipated by the forum members. Not sure if you've been around and noticing.

We Indians have a "UNSC Permanent Membership Cycle" with respect to all US Presidents.

It goes like this:

1. President X sworn in. Indian media buzzes: "Will the Administration of President X support India for Permanent UNSC Membership?"

2. 6 months into President X's term. No forward movement on the issue.

Indian Opposition spokespersons say "failure of GOI diplomacy! Relations with US have suffered! See, the Americans won't support our bid for Permanent UNSC Membership!"

GOI supporters say "arrey what UNSC. Who cares about UNSC. It is a symbolic entity. It has no real power. China will oppose us getting in anyway. Why bother about that. Bother about real issues."

3. 2 years into President X's term. Either Indian PM visits Washington or President X visits Delhi. Indian Media is simply elated. US Media barely notices.

At the climax of the trip, President X (in response to a question from an Indian reporter) says: "We believe the composition of the UNSC should be updated to reflect a changing world, and India as a rising superpower & invaluable strategic partner of the US must take her rightful place on it."

Indian Media goes nuts. "President X declares US support for India's Permanent Membership of UNSC!"

US Embassy does not deny or issue a clarification.

Now it is GOI supporters who say: "Grand success of PM's bonhomie with his American counterpart! In a major diplomatic coup, US commits support for our membership of the P5!"

And it is Indian Opposition spokespersons who say: "arrey what UNSC. Who cares about UNSC. It is a symbolic entity. It has no real power. China will oppose us getting in anyway. Why bother about that. Bother about real issues."

4. 3.5 years into President X's term. Washington is 100% focused on the coming elections, and has all but forgotten that the UNSC even exists (let alone that India desires to be on it).

Indian Media runs "US Election Special" stories. "Who will win? President X or Candidate Y? And what will it mean for India's Permanent Membership of the UNSC?"

Last edited by Rudradev on 28 Jan 2021 10:27, edited 1 time in total.

I agree, unsc is a bit overrated at this point.

Good summary Rudradev !

Rudradev wrote:We Indians have a "UNSC Permanent Membership Cycle" with respect to all US Presidents.

Indian Media goes nuts. "President X declares US support for India's Permanent Membership of UNSC!"

And it is Indian Opposition spokespersons who say: "arrey what UNSC. Who cares about UNSC. It is a symbolic entity. It has no real power. China will oppose us getting in anyway. Why bother about that. Bother about real issues."

Indian Media runs "US Election Special" stories. "Who will win? President X or Candidate Y? And what will it mean for India's Permanent Membership of the UNSC?"

We with the UNSC and Paxatan with Kashmir!
If we replace Kashmir it would be Paxtan news
UNSC then its Indian Masala news :lol: :lol:

As I predicted, Bhaidanwa moves to give relief to H-1B wallahs:

https://qz.com/india/1965384/joe-biden- ... -h4-visas/

Now H-4 holders (spouses) can go back to work while they are in the US.

I will note that some on this fine forum ridiculed the jobs done by H-4 spouses. These kinds of things, and the peddling of Trump campaign BS (election fraud et al), has been detrimental to this fine forum's credibility.

The US will hopefully adopt a "hospitable but no-residence" policy for H-1B holders, especially those working in IT. Complete your assignment (3-6 years), gain career experience, and go back to India where your skills are needed by your country. This is in India's interest. It allows our IT (and other) sectors to engage with the US economy, and also does not create a drain of skilled workers needed in India.

Similarly, I hope Bhaidanwa will get rid of the random rules and proposals on F-1 and J-1 visas (students and exchange scholars) made during Trump's time.

In short, India's interest as far as the US is the following:

- Any steps that facilitate Indians to gain knowledge, skills, and experience in the US or other countries are welcome.

- Things that permanently drain the country's high-skilled workforce and best brains are not welcome. In that sense the 80-years backlog on EB2 and EB3 etc created by Trump is good. On our side, we should create our own controls and "return-to-india" requirements on this, rather than rely on fluctuating policies of the USA.

Some on this forum question how the Indian-American community in the US will be sustained if India adopts controls on outbound immigration. Here is your answer:

1) So far I have not met an Indian H1B/H4 couple that haven't had kids in the USA already or aren't planning on it. These kids are US citizens by birth. In future these kids are free to claim US citizenship if they want to. Assuming 50% of them decide to, that is a good supply of Indian-Americans for you. Plus there is absolutely no hassle or drama regarding their emigration, the USA is obligated to admit them and cannot use immigration as a bargaining chip with India any more.

2) This also means that we will be creating a new breed of Indian-American, i.e. the kind we really want. A person who has grown up in India and educated in the Indian system. Not somebody who has grown up in the USA with all its stereotypes about India. In other words, we will be able to control the type of people we are inserting permanently into the USA. They can go about their business confidently without being beholden to visas, green card applications, etc. A lot of Indians in the US fall in with the "liberal democrat" gang because of insecurities over visas and GCs. That won't be an issue any more, Indian-Americans can then be effective ambassadors of what India wants to project in the US.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 511597.cms
Although it is not expected to be survivable against modern air defenses by 2028, the F-15EX could perform homeland and airbase defense, no-fly zone enforcement against limited or no air defense systems, and deploying standoff munitions.

saar big bag of peanuts from massa, wake me up when they talk F-22 if they are serious. Till then its Maya only solah, satrrah, attharah.

Chhee. What do we need that turkey for? We already have Su30-MKI in the heavy air superiority/strike fighter role, right?

And the roles they are describing: homeland/airbase defence, strikes against positions with minimal ADS coverage... can't Tejas do all that & more?

Well put sir.

US and others are desperate to sell us something before Mk2 comes into production. Once we have Mk2 ready there will be little reason to import any fighter other than a fifth Gen one. Then the confidence of Mk2 will push IAF to support AMCA.

So goras and ruskees are desperate.

Secretary Antony Blinken@SecBlinken
·13m
US government account
I was delighted to speak today with my good friend
@DrSJaishankar
to discuss U.S.-India priorities. We reaffirmed the importance of the U.S.-India relationship and discussed ways we can better seize new opportunities and combat shared challenges in the Indo-Pacific and beyond.

f35s....- thats what I'd like to see on offer. A silver bullet force of even 2 sqds will clear the air plenty! teens they can keep.

Cross Posting from US arms thread
https://www.deccanherald.com/city/top-b ... 45155.html
What does this mean???
Is this a message sent to China or ??? sales pitch!!!.
With BIF's working overtime in Dilli how can their aka's in US allow this to happen
Or is it just 'Business trumps everything else'
Kaivalya

Post by Kaivalya »

For folks who are thinking about Market Capitalism, US stock market, Brokerage firms like Robinhood, supporting companies like google, FB,CNBC etc :

https://bgr.com/2021/01/28/gamestop-sto ... xplained/#

I learned a few things :
1. Free market/stock market advise from anywhere in the world specifically US should be taken a notch down

2. Companies like Robinhood are owned by other financial institutions for a reason

3. Shutting down trading on specific stocks by a lot of trading companies without major blowback says something about the entire system not just wall street

4. No matter what everyone might say about google,FB etc being left or right has to be examined. They are in the side of money :-)

There is a video from WeBulls CEO explaining the situation. Apparently Robinhood is in trouble regarding the liquidity it has to maintain for transactions with clearing houses.
Kaivalya

Post by Kaivalya »

Thakur_B wrote:There is a video from WeBulls CEO explaining the situation. Apparently Robinhood is in trouble regarding the liquidity it has to maintain for transactions with clearing houses.
Thakurji - webulls also claimed the same issue. Like I mentioned, it is systemic. Why would google remove 1000s of negative ratings? Systemic

https://newsrnd.com/business/2021-01-29 ... y0Wed.html

https://www.truthorfiction.com/does-cit ... robinhood/

They have a very friendly admin in the US. So, in the end, they all will be good.

Cain Marko wrote:f35s....- thats what I'd like to see on offer. A silver bullet force of even 2 sqds will clear the air plenty! teens they can keep.
Are you sure?

https://tech.slashdot.org/story/21/01/3 ... ke-fighter

Kaivalya wrote: Thakurji - webulls also claimed the same issue. Like I mentioned, it is systemic. Why would google remove 1000s of negative ratings? Systemic
Google, Apple, and Yelp does this on a pretty routine basis when an App or an entity is raided by web users to diminish their rating as part of a phenomenon.

I wonder if Myanmar coup is an precursor of things to come under Biden. SD is back to its old ways.

vimal wrote:I wonder if Myanmar coup is an precursor of things to come under Biden. SD is back to its old ways.
Are you saying that the coup was orchestrated by the US? Or are you criticizing the US condemnation of the coup?

It seems more likely to be a Chinese-backed coup.
Kaivalya

Post by Kaivalya »

Jay wrote:
Kaivalya wrote: Thakurji - webulls also claimed the same issue. Like I mentioned, it is systemic. Why would google remove 1000s of negative ratings? Systemic
Google, Apple, and Yelp does this on a pretty routine basis when an App or an entity is raided by web users to diminish their rating as part of a phenomenon.
Saar - what you refer as a "phenomenon" or the entity claiming as "preventing manipulation" etc. All point to the same thing :

SM entities are judge,jury and executioners and are dutybound to their shareholders. Here is the robinhood app back to 1.1 rating. Apple IOS ratings remains like it was a couple of weeks ago - so much for the left leaning/right leaning theories. There needs to be laws to govern them.

https://www.theverge.com/2021/2/1/22261 ... top-reddit
sreerudra

Post by sreerudra »

Kaivalya wrote:For folks who are thinking about Market Capitalism, US stock market, Brokerage firms like Robinhood, supporting companies like google, FB,CNBC etc :

https://bgr.com/2021/01/28/gamestop-sto ... xplained/#

I learned a few things :
1. Free market/stock market advise from anywhere in the world specifically US should be taken a notch down

2. Companies like Robinhood are owned by other financial institutions for a reason

3. Shutting down trading on specific stocks by a lot of trading companies without major blowback says something about the entire system not just wall street

4. No matter what everyone might say about google,FB etc being left or right has to be examined. They are in the side of money :-)
What is happening in Wallstreet is simple experimentation. If you see it worldwide there are leaderless agitations. This could have been an instigated experiment than a mere coincidence IMO. Deep state may be taking on the "other siders" of wall st that supported outsider DJT. Otherwise, SleepyByeThen will not sit idle without controlling through some sort of compliance.

https://www.politico.com/news/2021/02/0 ... acy-464444
An inconvenient insurrection tests Biden on China, democracy support
In a statement Monday, Biden blasted the takeover and said the United States would review its sanctions policies toward Myanmar, also known as Burma, “followed by appropriate action.”

“We will work with our partners throughout the region and the world to support the restoration of democracy and the rule of law, as well as to hold accountable those responsible for overturning Burma’s democratic transition,” Biden said.

He also noted that the U.S. would be “taking note of those who stand with the people of Burma in this difficult hour.” :roll:

Asked during a press briefing on Monday whether that was a message to China, White House press secretary Jen Psaki said it is “a message to all countries in the region and countries who, you know, will be asked to respond, or to consider what the appropriate response will be, in reaction to the events that have happened over the past couple of days.
A few things we can already tell about the Bye-Done administration here.

1) In response to blatant Chinese provocation, the old man staggers to the podium and unleashes a blustery word-salad of seemingly strong-willed and aggressive rhetoric.

2) Jen Psaki (and other freshly-appointed Nurse Ratcheds) calm down grampa and see him back to his wheelchair. Then they clarify what was meant with a mealy-mouthed walk-back: "oh, he didn't specifically say China, he meant all countries, who, you know, will be asked to think about saying that what happened in Myanmar was just maybe bad stuff."

End result: Nothing happens to China. Sanctions are imposed on Myanmar, and China joyfully jumps in to sponsor the Myanmari government instead.

Meanwhile countries like India, which do not want Myanmar to slip completely into the Chinese orbit, will be frowned at and reprimanded if we do not cut off all ties and sanction Myanmar. Because that would mean we do not
stand with the people of Burma at this difficult hour.

Sen. Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), the incoming chair of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, explicitly called for strict economic sanctions to be imposed if the military does not pull back.
This guy is a complete Chinese/Paki/Islamist stooge. No wonder he wants hard-hitting US sanctions on Myanmar govt: they create immediate space for his Chinese masters to step in, fill the void and enhance their influence in Yangon. Not to mention that sanctions would appease the rabid CAIR and ICNA Islamists of his domestic constituency, who want to punish Myanmar for standing up to the Islamic-supremacist terrorism of the Rohingya ARSA.

Menendez was one of the loudest voices denouncing India on Article 370 abrogation, CAA etc. With all the well-off Desis in New Jersey I am appalled that someone like this is allowed to reach the Democratic Senate Primaries, let alone the Senate itself.

^Deleted. Have just read your post above.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

Question for anyone familiar with the nuances: How will the chinese get around the unkill sanctions? And why can't we do the same?

m_saini wrote:Question for anyone familiar with the nuances: How will the chinese get around the unkill sanctions? And why can't we do the same?
chinese get around as US looks other way....

Have you ever seen any raging debate about how china became the threat in US Congress?

US corporations bend over backwards to comply with chinese laws even without having any presence in china. And no one within US thinks that these corporations should not be investigated.

Just like chinese have been getting around forever with respect to "sanctions" on even themselves. All this decades there's hardly anyone in US who's stopped shipments to china. One is always happier to ship to china compared to India due to sure lack of enforcement towards chinese shipments. Even various defense suppliers got only slap on their wrists for violations with respect to china.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

darshan wrote: chinese get around as US looks other way....
True, especially the US corporations bending over for the chinis part. Hopefully, as we grow that same service is provided to GoI too.

Rudradev wrote:
Sen. Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), the incoming chair of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, explicitly called for strict economic sanctions to be imposed if the military does not pull back.
This guy is a complete Chinese/Paki/Islamist stooge. No wonder he wants hard-hitting US sanctions on Myanmar govt: they create immediate space for his Chinese masters to step in, fill the void and enhance their influence in Yangon. Not to mention that sanctions would appease the rabid CAIR and ICNA Islamists of his domestic constituency, who want to punish Myanmar for standing up to the Islamic-supremacist terrorism of the Rohingya ARSA.

Menendez was one of the loudest voices denouncing India on Article 370 abrogation, CAA etc. With all the well-off Desis in New Jersey I am appalled that someone like this is allowed to reach the Democratic Senate Primaries, let alone the Senate itself.
Menendez is also extremely corrupt and crooked. It's a fair guess that he is getting money from China, and getting money from china through Pakistan.

We have seen this movie of "standing with Burmese people" before when Hillary was Secretary of State. She tried to browbeat the GoI of the day into practically declaring war on the Tatmadaw, and when that failed, she appealed to Mamata Banerjee. (On that same trip, she tried to get Jayalalitha to stand against the SL government, and implicitly with LTTE, which is a measure of her ignorance).

Vayutuvan wrote:
Cain Marko wrote:f35s....- thats what I'd like to see on offer. A silver bullet force of even 2 sqds will clear the air plenty! teens they can keep.
Are you sure?

https://tech.slashdot.org/story/21/01/3 ... ke-fighter
Yes. Teething issues will be there.... With every platform. But Khan will get them resolved faster than most. The f35 is by far the best that they can offer India. Teens, all of them are of little use especially considering the price is the same.