India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

But it was tone-deaf for the Biden administration to announce the AUKUS deal just days before the first in-person Quad summit during his term
I don't understand this chest betting about AUKUS. What is the big deal about Aus get nuke tech from US? UK & Aus have shed blood for American policies. what have we done?

How is giving nuke sub a HUGE thing, while F35 already given to Japan, Aus & UK is not worth a word?

If tomorrow US says to India, give back the S400 and we will give you F35. What are the chances of India doing that? Do we have the money to buy nuke sub from US? :roll:

Japan doesn't need nuke sub. It is a premier tech country right there with the US. India will try to get it from Russia or France.

What a level of cribbing!

Biden tells Modi not to answer the American press.

“I think, with your permission, you could not answer questions because they won’t ask any questions on point,” Biden told Modi, referring to the American press. The president also criticized White House reporters for their behavior in the Oval Office.

“The Indian press is much better behaved than the American press,” Biden said. “I gotta watch out; they’ll knock one of those down.”

The White House did not include Biden’s comments in the official transcript of his remarks.

Also - IMO, the Hindi to English interpreter that Modi had wasn't able to convey the gravity of the PMs remarks. Wasted opportunity IMHO.

Mort Walker wrote:Biden tells Modi not to answer the American press.

“I think, with your permission, you could not answer questions because they won’t ask any questions on point,” Biden told Modi, referring to the American press. The president also criticized White House reporters for their behavior in the Oval Office.

“The Indian press is much better behaved than the American press,” Biden said. “I gotta watch out; they’ll knock one of those down.”

The White House did not include Biden’s comments in the official transcript of his remarks.

Also - IMO, the Hindi to English interpreter that Modi had wasn't able to convey the gravity of the PMs remarks. Wasted opportunity IMHO.
I think that was very considerate of Bye-den and protective of Modi too.

the wokes would have primed the ameriki press to ask Modi some very embarrassing questions and the whitehouse press corps would have gotten wind of it.

Biden is not woke like his woke allies in Democratic party. On Foreign policy, his actions can only be termed as realist (from US perspective).

rsingh wrote:^^^^
Writer is full of negativity. Who is asking for boots on ground in case of QUAD?. For start intel sharing, capability enhancing, tech transfer is requested.
the writer is spot on

he is saying that no one will commit to boots on the ground for India, if attacked by the cheeni.

they will not share intel, capability enhancing, and tech transfer beyond a certain point.

so, in effect, QUAD means jackschitt to us, while for them India dutifully will continue to provide logistics, fuel, and port facilities for the honor of a once in a while pat on the head by a white man like you would do for the neighborhood stray.

and now, the UK will muscle in too using the friends and family discount at the "request" of the amerikis.

QUAD or no, aukas or no, we are on our own, just like always.
US did what US needs to. I think they tried to get quad to become more militarized but India saw it as poodling and insisted on it being a non military alliance. The Änglo mindset likes to have clarity and sides/lines drawn. No matter that they can change these as and when they wish even without consulting allies.

India likes to play a balanced game and is comfortable with ambiguity. It's clear that desh will continue to rely on Russia and France for strategic weapons until Desi platforms come online.

"India likes to play a balanced game and is comfortable with ambiguity."
Assumes we are crystal clear on our objectives are and how to go about achieving them and are effectively implementing it.
Lot of assumptions there.
Sorry to sound negative but 70 years of bumbling along have left ingrained reflexes that need to be swept out in one swell swoop if we want to play the high stakes game and throw punches, take blows and throw 3x back.

Elephant mindset has to be replaced by a Tiger mindset of stealth, cunning and ferocity.

Do you see that happening?

Otherwise we'll be poodle in the circus ring thinking we are tiger because at last the ringmaster has shone some light on us.

There is a simple question to be asked. What are we lacking against the Chinis. Answer: Money.

We don't lack in missile, land or aircraft tech or even fighting men. The gaps like jet engines can be filled up, if we throw enough money at it.

The quad is not required for the tech or boots on LAC or to block Malacca straits. The quad is required for MONEY. With US & Japan, will come SK, Taiwan & Europe. With that comes their companies and market.

We are doing what the Chinis did in 71. Get rewarded for being on the side of the money, without being in any formal alliance with the US. We say to the quad, give us economic growth and we will force half of PLA on to the frozen heights of Tibet, away from SCS. Would Japan, Taiwan & SK like that? Ofcourse they would.

What will China do? Go to war with us on LAC? Will that stop us from deploying force? No. We will deploy more force. The Chinis know they are stuck in an chicken & egg situation.

Are we really lacking money? How much? If China's tofu economy gets a jolt things can get dramatic pretty fast for them, starting with food security and oil supplies for a demographically skewed population that can revolt if in exchange for oppression they aren't getting stability and some bling.

Cyrano wrote:"India likes to play a balanced game and is comfortable with ambiguity."
Assumes we are crystal clear on our objectives are and how to go about achieving them and are effectively implementing it.
Lot of assumptions there.
Sorry to sound negative but 70 years of bumbling along have left ingrained reflexes that need to be swept out in one swell swoop if we want to play the high stakes game and throw punches, take blows and throw 3x back.

Elephant mindset has to be replaced by a Tiger mindset of stealth, cunning and ferocity.

Do you see that happening?

Otherwise we'll be poodle in the circus ring thinking we are tiger because at last the ringmaster has shone some light on us.
What do you suggest? What is tiger mindset vs elephant mindset?

My take is that India has ever wanted to maintain a non aligned type of stance, it likes to straddle the fence and not be a part of any Bloc, esp. Military. And to some extent at least, it has succeeded in doing so. This is India's foreign policy imperative, at least that much is clear from my pov... And the reasoning behind my statement that you quoted.

Whether it's the right thing to do or not is debatable indeed.
Sonugn

Post by Sonugn »

g.sarkar wrote:https://knews.uk/kamala-harris-gently-p ... an-rights/
Kamala Harris gently pushes India’s Modi on human rights
September 23, 2021 by admin

WASHINGTON –Vice President Kamala Harris invoked her family ties to India when she gently pressured Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on human rights during a historical creation meeting Thursday between America’s first vice president of Indian descent and the leader of a country that has become an increasingly close ally.
Harris, during public remarks at his ceremonial office before the closed door, told Modi that since democracies around the world are threatened, “it is imperative that we defend democratic principles and institutions within our respective countries.”
“I know from personal experience and from my family about the Indian people’s commitment to democracy,” she said, “and the work that needs to be done. [so that] we can begin to imagine, and then actually achieve, our vision for democratic principles and institutions. ”
The remarks marked a subtle change from the Trump administration’s undeniable fidelity to the populist Modi, which has presided over an increase in religious polarization in its country, with more laws targets religious minorities, including its large Muslim population, as well attacks on non-Hindus.
Despite the mild pressure, the two leaders shared warm words, including praise from Harris for India’s role in producing COVID-19 vaccines for the world. Modi thanked Harris for offering a “sense of kinship” in a phone call during his country’s deadly coronavirus rise this spring.
This was actually from https://www.latimes.com/politics/story/ ... 9-pandemic
but I did not want to disable ad bloker.
Apparently, Couptaji's (who still clings on to Sweden's V-Dem) mood is sky high because US VP who is of lower protocol standard has chided PM Modi on human rights & he (Modi) has swallowed his pride.

Sonugn wrote:
Apparently, Couptaji's (who still clings on to Sweden's V-Dem) mood is sky high because US VP who is of lower protocol standard has chided PM Modi on human rights & he (Modi) has swallowed his pride.
like Lord Shiva chose to consume the poison..........
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

g.sarkar wrote:https://knews.uk/kamala-harris-gently-p ... an-rights/
Kamala Harris gently pushes India’s Modi on human rights
September 23, 2021 by admin

‘They treated us like animals’: Haitians angry and in despair at being deported from US
Haitian deportees arriving from Texas say they were ‘rounded up like cattle and shackled like criminals’

Maybe Modi could pay some pushes back, gently ofcourse :mrgreen:

I doubt anyone dared to say anything to Modiji in private, gently or not!!

Even if KH pushed NaMo gently over HR. Why should Indian PM be effected by it. It's not as if he has ordered for people to be disappeared.

So he can take it in his stride. It is the Democratic party that has exposed US to be taken to task over systematic racism.

What with George Floyd and other cases similar to him. So Modi would be chilled out. It's KH who should be sweating.

Modi’s visit to the US – The takeaways with Sree Iyer and Ramesh Swamy, hosted by Dr. Swamy.

Modi met with the Vice President and the President of the US and with a few CEOs. All this while his main trip was to address the UN General Assembly. Sree Iyer and Ramesh Swamy discuss the positives and negatives on this trip and what the silver lining is.

A fresh turd journo has surfaced - Nahal Toosi

Biden needs India to counter China, but it comes with a cost

Dismissing such as deranged left liberal woke is not enough. Everyone who writes such trope must feel huge blowback.

I couldn't find a comments section to post a rebuttal. Any other way to get her fired from politico?

Cyrano wrote:A fresh turd journo has surfaced - Nahal Toosi

Dismissing such as deranged left liberal woke is not enough. Everyone who writes such trope must feel huge blowback.

I couldn't find a comments section to post a rebuttal. Any other way to get her fired from politico?
Jihadi

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nahal_Toosi

Nahal Toosi was born in Tehran, Iran. Her family immigrated to the United States when she was six years old. She graduated valedictorian from McKinney High School in McKinney, Texas. In 2000, she received a BA from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where she reported and edited for the student-run The Daily Tar Heel.[3]
Toosi worked for the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel on topics from higher education to foreign correspondence from Iraq (including the US invasion in 2003), Egypt, Thailand, and Germany. In 2005, she joined the Associated Press, where she was both reporter and editor based in: New York, Islamabad, Kabul, and London. In 2011, she was one of the first foreign correspondents to reach Abbottabad, Pakistan, after the killing of Osama bin Laden. In 2013, she joined Politico, where she is now foreign affairs correspondent.[1][3][4]

She has contributed to Rohingya Crisis project at the Pulitzer Center.[2]

Cyrano wrote:A fresh turd journo has surfaced - Nahal Toosi

You can try Twitter, but most likely you will be blocked. US MSM has a narrative they need to push. Better to write to Politico and tell them that such cranks are devoid of reality.

https://foreignpolicy.com/2021/09/24/ch ... ed-states/
China Is a Declining Power—and That’s the Problem
The United States needs to prepare for a major war, not because its rival is rising but because of the opposite.

Very interesting perspective. Thanks for posting.

A third option for US & allies could be to allow China to rise further in order and delay its peaking in the hope to stave off a global scale confrontation. That would be selling the present to buy some illusory future.

But then again, this is a generation suckled on Quantitative Easing, we cant attribute hard nosed realism based decision making to them.

Cyrano wrote:Very interesting perspective. Thanks for posting.

A third option for US & allies could be to allow China to rise further in order and delay its peaking in the hope to stave off a global scale confrontation. That would be selling the present to buy some illusory future.

But then again, this is a generation suckled on Quantitative Easing, we cant attribute hard nosed realism based decision making to them.
The problem for China is not just the west. If Xi wants to destroy his environment and supply cheap stuff quietly, they don't mind.
Xi is now obsessed with taking over the Taiwan, force a war with India, bloody the nose of Japan and US. He doesn't know how to deal with slowdown. He is obsessed with greatness and time to take over colonial mantle from USA.

India Does a Turnaround on Trade Spurred by Post-Covid Economic Reality Archana Chaudhary

India is racing to wrap up a clutch of quick-fire bilateral trade pacts by the end of March, officials said, as economic necessity spurs a shift from New Delhi’s usual go-slow approach on trade deals.

The shift also means that Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government is prioritizing “early harvest” pacts over comprehensive free trade agreements with partners, a move that’s leaving some countries perplexed, officials said, asking not to be identified as the talks are private. Modi’s office is pushing ministries, particularly foreign and commerce, to deliver on initial deals with countries including Australia and the U.K., several officials said. That’s even as India walked away from Asia’s biggest multilateral agreement in 2019 and has shown little interest so far in a Trans-Pacific pact. For Modi’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, historically wary of being tied down to overseas deals and upsetting its loyal vote base of small traders, the emphasis on one-to-one quick trade deals is a U-turn of sorts after pushing for the need to be self-reliant.

The stakes are high politically as Modi looks to revive an economy battered from the pandemic and attract more investment from the U.S. and its allies looking to India as a counterweight to China. The urgency to wrap up deals swiftly stems from the realization that the window of opportunity to benefit from the realignment of global supply chains may be short lived, according to officials. New Delhi is currently negotiating bilateral trade agreements with 20 nations and expects to complete half a dozen deals, including those with Australia and Britain by this Christmas and March next year respectively. This push for one-to-one trade agreements with emphasis on early harvest deals instead of comprehensive FTAs has perplexed at least two countries, the officials with knowledge of the talks said, asking not to be identified as talks were ongoing. There was no immediate comment from the prime minister’s office or the foreign ministry. India’s realization about the need to prioritize trade as a geopolitical strategy in turn has led to a bigger focus on pushing for....

https://www.bloombergquint.com/global-e ... ic-reality
Copyright © BloombergQuint

The push for early harvest deals may be for different reasons than what the article states (assuming its true)

1. Modi govt's end of patience with commerce ministry babudom's pace of work - setting internal deadlines to show results.
2. Since we haven't done substantial trade deals for a long time, a lot of pros and cons being endlessly debated is guesswork of insular babus who are used to say no and raise objections than propose creative solutions to move forward. The Govt is having no more of it.
3. Early harvest deals are likely to be time bound - perhaps 3-5 year - trade pacts. This may give us some experience on how the intent of the deal actually pans out in fast changing reality and help us negotiate better and more realistically for the actual longer term trade deals.

Bloomberg as usual gives a defeatist spin, but I see Modi pushing for much needed pragmatism and "do and learn" approach which is a good thing.

https://www.usnews.com/news/national-ne ... plications
Colin Powell Praised as Soldier, Statesman
The former general and secretary of state was the type of Republican that even many Democrats miss – a universally admired combination of independence and commitment to country first.
Susan Milligan, Oct. 18, 2021

Colin Powell, the barrier-breaking former top diplomat and military leader who represented the waning vestiges of cross-partisanship in the country he served, has died of complications related to COVID-19, his family announced Monday morning.
"We have lost a remarkable and loving husband, father, grandfather and a great American," the Powell family said on Facebook, thanking Walter Reed National Military Medical Center staff for their "caring treatment" of the former secretary of state and chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.
Powell's death at 84 was a grim reminder of the stubborn, deadly force of the virus that has already claimed the lives of 724,000 Americans. The four-star Army general was fully vaccinated, his family said, meaning he was among the small group that has died from a breakthrough infection.
Powell had also been diagnosed with blood cancer, CNBC reported.
The son of Jamaican immigrants, Powell was known as both a military warrior and a political peace-seeker. The first Black secretary of state and a moderate Republican who served in five presidential administrations, Powell was known for his willingness to buck his own party. He endorsed former President Barack Obama in 2008 and 2012, and endorsed President Joe Biden in 2020.
PS I wanted to add my thoughts. But one does not speak ill of the dead.

Meanwhile check out Kabbadi, Snowball fight, Volleyball ..
Only takes placed in Alaska in Yudha Abhyas 21 between US and India..

Powell's death at 84 was a grim reminder of the stubborn, deadly force of the virus that has already claimed the lives of 724,000 Americans. The four-star Army general was fully vaccinated, his family said, meaning he was among the small group that has died from a breakthrough infection.
Colin Powell had multiple myeloma—a cancer of plasma cells that **makes antibodies**. Thus, vaccines are weaker in myeloma patients because the cells that make antibodies are killed by myeloma treatments.
(The General and his family knew this - that vaccines for him was less effective yet he encouraged everyone to get vaccinated)

Please get Vaccinated!

FWIW - Few comments about some of the criticism/discussion I have seen about the IITK's report which I linked/posted above. The report about "UP Model" got a lot of attention from - not surprising the usual crowd. Anyway a few points:

- Most attacks on that report are ad-hominem. They miss the mathematical aspect and do usual India/GoI bashing.
- A few comment that the report is validating use of ivermectin - It does NOT.
- A few accuse that it is just using government data - It does NOT. It is scientific report.
- *Many* say things like "What about dead bodies floating in Ganga" (Well it's an old practice)
- Yes for the two week period the situation was out of control and many died due to lack of bed or oxygen. Given the heath infra in the state and its population, it is no surprise that situation was out of control -- BUT this is not the whole story.

Impressive part - the situation was brought under control very quickly. And the report explains how did that happen, what worked and what did not etc.
vsunder

Post by vsunder »

Discrimination against Hindus and Jews on US campuses. A panel discussion:

https://act.ajc.org/site/MessageViewer; ... 714E1CC842
vsunder

Post by vsunder »

Dear HJC members,

We need your support to condemn the large scale atrocities happening in Bangladesh by signing on to the letters provided below, addressed to the Government of Bangladesh and to the US Congress.

Thank you for your prompt attention,

Hindu Jewish Coalition

---------- Forwarded message ---------
Date: Thu, Oct 21, 2021 at 5:46 PM
Subject: Support human rights in Bangladesh by signing on: Mass violence this past week
To: <raoraghus@gmail.com>
Namaste, We need your urgent help!

If you’re not already aware, a recent wave of mass violence against Hindus has taken over Bangladesh. Although violence against Hindus has been a longstanding issue in the country, the organized violence this past week has substantially increased resulting in targeted killings, assault, rape, destruction of homes and businesses, desecration of sacred images and temples, and other forms of physical attacks. Here are links to resources that corroborate this news:

US Commission on Intl Religious Freedom Troubled by Violent Attacks on Durga Puja Procession in Bangladesh
Amnesty Intl - Bangladesh: Protection of Hindus and others must be ensured amid ongoing violence
Statement from the State Department Office of International Religious Freedom
Statement from U.S. Congressman Ro Khanna
Statement from U.S. Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi
NY Times: Bangladesh Strengthens Security as Violence Targets Hindu Festival

The Hindu American Foundation (HAF) has been working urgently to get this issue addressed by the US government and the UN. We have 2 requests for you:

1) An important step we can all take as supporters of human rights and basic dignity is by addressing this issue directly with the Government of Bangladesh. Towards that end, we request your organization’s support for this coalition letter. Please fill out this Google Form to sign on to the letter.* Given the time sensitive nature of this issue, the deadline to sign the letter is this Monday, October 25, 2021 at 11:59 PM PST.

2) Please take action here to Urge Congress to Condemn Hindu Persecution in Bangladesh. Please share with your networks as well so others can take action.

We appreciate your time and support, and will continue to work hard to advocate for Hindus in Bangladesh.

Best Regards,

Deepali Kulkarni
Director of Human Rights
Hindu American Foundation

MIHIR MEGHANI
Board Member and Co-Founder | Hindu American Foundation
*By filling out the form, you authorize us to list your organizational information (only information specified in the form) publicly (through email communications, on the web, and social media) for the purpose of this letter only. We will not use your information for any other purpose. A final version of the coalition letter will be sent to you.

Don't forget to check us out on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube and Instagram

Hindu American Foundation, www.HAFsite.org
The legal stuff we have to tell you but is too long to fit in an email so you can find it here.

Hindu American Foundation
910 17th St NW
Suite 316A
Washington, District of Columbia 20006

NY Times: Bangladesh Strengthens Security as Violence Targets Hindu Festival
Violence descended from up in the sky to target a festival according to the ma***c**ds of NYT

Contact your Representatives and urge them to condemn violence against Bangladeshi Hindus from this link:

https://cohna.org/bangladeshi-hindus-us-lawmakers/

Rudradev wrote:Contact your Representatives and urge them to condemn violence against Bangladeshi Hindus from this link:
https://cohna.org/bangladeshi-hindus-us-lawmakers/
Done.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OhgltCeJ3vQ

The New York Times' racist fabrications on Hindus & India | Ashley Rindsberg on The Gray Lady Winked

"Racist & untrue."

US author & journalist Ashley Rindsberg on his groundbreaking investigation of The New York Times' fabricated & racist propaganda against India, Modi & Hindus

chetak wrote:The New York Times' racist fabrications on Hindus & India | Ashley Rindsberg on The Gray Lady Winked
Most Inidian-origin people here have known this for a long time. I also agree with Ashley's research. NYT has been and will continue to be a rabidly biased medium against anything Hindu/Hinduism/Modi. See this report by Wion:

India just wouldn't agree to form an alliance
banrjeer

Post by banrjeer »

Seems like some shifts ongoing because Taiwan temperatures are rising? Theres the waiver on S-400 but any nipping at dragons heels has to come with a higher price tag. like territory gain at the expense of the western neighbour. It makes sense for China to buy peace by dumping the pukes who are worthless anyway.

PM Modi and President Biden today. This single picture makes me quite optimistic and I feel happy. Two great leaders.Image
<source: link>

Amberji, this is a genuine question, why do you refer Biden as a great leader?

I suggest we leave it as a difference of opinion and not invite the wrath of BRadmins upon this thread.

From our point of view, if Modi has successfully charmed Biden it can only be a good thing for India.