India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The raw shortage are for novavax, not AZ. GoI seems to have let the news run through to counter American left wing propaganda against us.

"US export ban killing innocent Indians" in return for "evil modi causing covid in India"

It’s not lost on me that there is a beneficial aspect to this.

It probably has nothing to do with the US but more to discredit the patrons of motivated activism.

And yes I realise it is the Novovax vaccine.

So this is Xiden’s genocide , just like Turks one against Armenians

LoL ! Thats the best example of using leftist tactics back on them that I've come across !

Hehehe it's Modi opening his third eye.

Not just Novavax, this ban was impacting Covaxin, whose adjuvant was being supplied by a Kansas based company. Per a recent report posted on this thread, BBIL have figured out a way to indigenously make it, so they can now scale up.

But it's good to keep up the pressure on the amrikis. Opportunities like this don't come often. Also, there are other vaccines in our pipeline that we'd need going forward, and their supply chains have to be free.

This is what I tweeted...

"What US is doing is 'Genocide by denial'...and Biden admin is complicit in this medical terrorism"

https://www.businessinsider.com/us-to-h ... ies-2021-4

This is a start. Now our own govt should get it's head in the right place and tackle this problem. It's shameful that we are in Year 2 of this pandemic and we still have to beg from foreign governments for essentials.

x posted from the corona thread

Abhijit Iyer-Mitra@Iyervval·1h

Lot of people in D.C. I’m speaking to confirming what
@MacaesBruno tweeted earlier.

America is open to Gov to Biz (G-B) & Biz to Biz (B-B) deals - not Gov to Gov (G-G) Or Biz to Gov (B-G).

They don’t want to “let Modi off the hook”.

The beginning of a soft regime change operation
Last edited by chetak on 26 Apr 2021 00:24, edited 1 time in total.

https://twitter.com/horror06/status/138 ... 69474?s=20 ---> Screwing friends over — the Biden guys may yet put together something, but they have lost a lot of ground with India. When disaster hit, they hoarded. Hard to beat that, US.

[This tweet is from General VP Malik, former COAS - Indian Army and is in response to the tweet above]
https://twitter.com/Vedmalik1/status/13 ... 52229?s=20 ---> Remembering an old lesson...not to become over dependant on the US for defence weapons and equipment.

https://twitter.com/hvtiaf/status/13862 ... 53120?s=20 ---> Russia has been our only long term strategic partner. That said, we need not bend over backwards to buy their aircraft or carriers. But we certainly need a strong cooperation with a willing partner.

https://twitter.com/MichaelKugelman/sta ... 44800?s=20 ---> Yes, India’s relationship with the US has taken off while its relationship with Russia has slowed. But Delhi still describes its ties w/Russia as “time tested.” Doesn’t say that about ties w/US. Events of recent days bear that assessment out. Russia is helping India, US is not.

https://twitter.com/SandeepUnnithan/sta ... 68864?s=20 ---> Friday quiz. One country is India’s strategic partner. And the other, our strategic foe. Spot them.

[This tweet is from Lt General PR Shankar (Retd), Indian Army and is in response to the tweet above]
https://twitter.com/palepurshankar/stat ... 78018?s=20 ---> Sandeep, we are blessed with a reliable enemy and an unreliable friend. You can rely on the harm and not rely on the help! Strange, but true.

Bruno Maçães@MacaesBruno·19h

I think if you want to understand Biden’s deafening silence on India - all levels of government ordered to silence for days - you can check
@RanaAyyub account.

Sense around Biden is this is a “Modi-made disaster” and important to prevent him from “abdicating responsibility”

Statement by NSC Spokesperson Emily Horne on National Security Advisor Jake Sullivan’s Call with National Security Advisor Ajit Doval of India
https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-roo ... -of-india/
25 April 2021
Najunamar

Post by Najunamar »

I think this is a modern day reenactment of the Kacha Devayani story - with the US making a strategic blunder thinking they can fan the discontent towards the Modi admin by putting the squeeze on vaccine ingredients. It backfired and now is a double disaster - 1) On the PR front and 2) Gives a chance for India to unite in condemning the callous calculations of profit and power over human compassion. It should be exploited to the hilt both to beat this US regime into submission for the short term and use this anger to propel India to even greater heights.

US media picks up and runs news feeds under SD guidance as we know from numerous occasions and especially 26/11. The same media is doing the same thing right now with India and not even mentioning the root cause behind it: china who is responsible for all this. Twitter has been blocking off many handles fighting fake narratives and comments are disabled everywhere.

US govt hasn't presented any case so far that says that they are running low on resources to curtail exports. Last year was unknown times when Trump had utilized that act. There was no bound to problems and commercial industry wasn't being helpful. Presently the problem within US is under control and bounded according to Biden administration itself who's talking about 200 millions vaccines.

It's not only about raw materials about vaccines alone. Exporters are in general concerned about being on the bad side of this administration.

Added later:
US administration's silence and choice of words in general about this topic are sending unspoken signals about what exactly US wants to accomplish here. It's not of a point whether materials are for vaccines that can't immediately help. US hasn't sent any other equipment, materials, or anything. Even for PR. Various such things are automatically done for PR. This is like blocking Modi's visa to not affect Modi but to send unspoken signals to many others that held visas and operated outside India.
Last edited by darshan on 26 Apr 2021 01:00, edited 1 time in total.

It's my observation that India/Indians go from one extreme to the other with the US. A few months ago, many of my friend/relatives in India were asking me why the US was in such a pathetic situation "when it is the most advanced country in the world". The ultra Modi fans among those would laugh at Trump and gloat about how Modi had steered the country so well. Some others would volunteer Indian help to the US. I got a lot of Whatsapp forwards about how India was helping the world. Now things are a bit different and the US does not want to share it's vaccine ram materials, and I see the same people behaving like a scorned girlfriend with a lot of self-righteous anger. "We will not forget" etc. Some balance would be nice. Sometimes we behave just like pakis "arrey... dhoka de diya re... if not for them backstabbing us, we would be supah-powah onlee... :(( ".
Last edited by hnair on 26 Apr 2021 04:51, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Banned for a month. Your social life issues are of zero interest to this forum

KJo, I understand your need to wear stars & stripes on your sleeves but please try not to spin the indefensible ban by US admin into your need to display your superiority vis-a-vis your unwashed Indian friends who have the temerity to laugh at the great uncle sam.
Its in bad taste & the next one will earn a ban.

One poster in particular (we know who that is) was ecstatic that the Biden administration would "empower scientists" and that it had so many "Indian faces." How nice, that's working out so well for India now, isn't it. The Biden administration is doing the same thing that Churchill did during the Bengal famine. British soldiers need the food, so Indians can starve (or is that "eat cake"). And in a strange irony, Bengal is in the limelight once again. But on the upswing this time, hopefully.

KJo wrote:It's my observation that India/Indians go from one extreme to the other with the US. A few months ago, many of my friend/relatives in India were asking me why the US was in such a pathetic situation "when it is the most advanced country in the world". The ultra Modi fans among those would laugh at Trump and gloat about how Modi had steered the country so well. Some others would volunteer Indian help to the US. I got a lot of Whatsapp forwards about how India was helping the world. Now things are a bit different and the US does not want to share it's vaccine ram materials, and I see the same people behaving like a scorned girlfriend with a lot of self-righteous anger. "We will not forget" etc. Some balance would be nice. Sometimes we behave just like pakis "arrey... dhoka de diya re... if not for them backstabbing us, we would be supah-powah onlee... :(( ".
This is an incorrect assessment. The raw materials and industrial equipment for filtering would be a short term purchase to ramp up capacity. This is not aid, but permitting the sale of materials in the free market. People are angry because vaccine production can't keep up with demand for the next 3-4 weeks. Many people are dying and are very sick, others can't get medicines! I have family who are in bad shape including children, some in hospital ICUs.

This isn't just India we're talking about. Eventually these various multi-mutations will make their way around the world and even the US will get infected. Let's make this clear-

The longer the Biden administration denies vaccine production materials, it is not just a threat to health in India, but they will be directly responsible for deaths caused by slowing vaccine delivery around the world. It is nothing short of crimes against humanity.

Its that RayBan man Ajit Doval again. The number of times he has stepped into dead-end situations at critical times and found a way forward for India is INCREDIBLE. Bharat Ratna would be too small for him. No amount of Thug Life memes would do him justice. Pranaam Mahoday !

Jay wrote:This is what I tweeted...

"What US is doing is 'Genocide by denial'...and Biden admin is complicit in this medical terrorism"
If you have a lot of followers, you may want to say, "The US is commiting crimes against humanity"

US is already seeing that after spring breaks and easter gatherings. Mutations are in US and all the places these US people went on vacations like Mexico.

The repeat of Spanish flu where it became irrelevant that resource constraint people are dying.

And the main culprits are escaping without a scratch. Especially chinese.

Cyrano wrote:Its that RayBan man Ajit Doval again. The number of times he has stepped into dead-end situations at critical times and found a way forward for India is INCREDIBLE. Bharat Ratna would be too small for him. No amount of Thug Life memes would do him justice. Pranaam Mahoday !
This administration are nothing but liars and are equivalent of wind socks that change in the direction of trending. They will say anything to get the monkey off their backs. I'll believe it when we see it.
mappunni

Post by mappunni »

Chithi and Xiden are trying hard to Pin Modi and trying for a regime change.

Unfortunately they are trying it on a wrong person and its going to hit them back really bad!

If idiot Pakis could play the US, Bidenwa with their penchant for trends is chump change for NaMo, Doval and SJ.
Angel Merkel is now playing conciliatory notes as well :)
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

sudarshan wrote:One poster in particular (we know who that is) was ecstatic that the Biden administration would "empower scientists" and that it had so many "Indian faces." How nice, that's working out so well for India now, isn't it. The Biden administration is doing the same thing that Churchill did during the Bengal famine. British soldiers need the food, so Indians can starve (or is that "eat cake"). And in a strange irony, Bengal is in the limelight once again. But on the upswing this time, hopefully.
Saar, it was scientifically determined by mathematical models and quantum predictions by competent Indian-origin scientists who have a direct line to the hair sniffer that it's pointless to export raw materials to indians since their lives are a dime a dozen. It's more bang for the buck if white lives are saved.

Biden only listens to competent Indian-origin scientists who also have a great working relationship with Mudi so you see it's actually Mudi's doing that raw materials are being denied. He must rejine :((

But but what about Christian lives in India?

Let the US dare brandish the CAATSA at us !.. Time to show where it belongs .. interesting times :x

With one stroke Chinabiden managed to do the impossible., polarize indian opinion !
Last edited by kit on 26 Apr 2021 02:28, edited 1 time in total.

Mort Walker wrote: This is an incorrect assessment. The raw materials and industrial equipment for filtering would be a short term purchase to ramp up capacity. This is not aid, but permitting the sale of materials in the free market. People are angry because vaccine production can't keep up with demand for the next 3-4 weeks. Many people are dying and are very sick, others can't get medicines! I have family who are in bad shape including children, some in hospital ICUs.

This isn't just India we're talking about. Eventually these various multi-mutations will make their way around the world and even the US will get infected. Let's make this clear-

The longer the Biden administration denies vaccine production materials, it is not just a threat to health in India, but they will be directly responsible for deaths caused by slowing vaccine delivery around the world. It is nothing short of crimes against humanity.
What goes around will come around., just you wait , keep faith

The ask was for lifting broad restrictions on supplies needed for vaccine production.

Now Biden admin reportedly has swung to the other end and says its rushing theraputics, ventilators, PPE kits etc etc... Ostensibly to "save India".

Perhaps VP's Indian roots got a Doval Root canal.

So many Indian Americans pulled strings and looks like some people really help put the case forward with current WH administration

https://twitter.com/RajivMessage/status ... 9575372803
Rajiv Malhotra
@RajivMessage
·
1h
Many of us called Senators explaining that US blocking Covid material violates US free-trade ideology, runs counter to interests in Indo-Pacific & shows bankruptcy of human rights policy. Thankful to those helping in good conscience.
POTUS himself responds:

https://twitter.com/POTUS/status/1386401947729633280

President Biden
@POTUS

United States government official

Just as India sent assistance to the United States as our hospitals were strained early in the pandemic, we are determined to help India in its time of need.
He replies to Jake Sullivan's tweet
Spoke today with National Security Advisor Ajit Doval about the spike in COVID cases in India and we agreed to stay in close touch in the coming days. The United States stands in solidarity with the people of India and we are deploying more supplies and resources:
Screenshot of discussion and agreed upon action follows:
https://twitter.com/JakeSullivan46/stat ... 52/photo/1

KJo wrote:It's my observation that India/Indians go from one extreme to the other with the US. A few months ago, many of my friend/relatives in India were asking me why the US was in such a pathetic situation "when it is the most advanced country in the world". The ultra Modi fans among those would laugh at Trump and gloat about how Modi had steered the country so well. Some others would volunteer Indian help to the US. I got a lot of Whatsapp forwards about how India was helping the world. Now things are a bit different and the US does not want to share it's vaccine ram materials, and I see the same people behaving like a scorned girlfriend with a lot of self-righteous anger. "We will not forget" etc. Some balance would be nice. Sometimes we behave just like pakis "arrey... dhoka de diya re... if not for them backstabbing us, we would be supah-powah onlee... :(( ".
I really hope you were one of those people who along with Rajiv Malhotra (check his tweet posted by me in post above) did their part in helping country of your origin and not just some one who is wasting their time making condescending post on BRF threads.

This withholding of vaccine raw material absolutely had the potential to become another watershed moment similar to the 1971 USS Enterprise one.

The 1971 one was precipitated by a racist scumbag war criminal while this has been precipitated by ultra woke leftists using the Mylapore Mami as the front. Make no mistake, this admin is just getting started and will spare no efforts for a regime change.

Massa will regret this as karma will take its course, but looks like this will not impact covisheld only who/eu ordered doses will this is where money is to be made by Pfizer so won't be surprised if deep state wanted it this way there is lot of money to be made in Gabi orders and they don't want any competition

https://mobile.twitter.com/haryannvi/st ... 4721473542

As a reminder the deaths/million is ~1750 in the US, it is ~140 in India, this when our per capita GDP is $2300 compared to ~$67000 in US. The dishonesty of our mainstream media as well as the hungry vultures from the known western media outlets when it comes to reporting on India is incredible ! If it is funeral pyres in India, then it was refrigerated trucks, mobile morgues, mass graves in the US. And what is the point in showing patients sitting outside hospitals with a oxygen mask ? We saw similar images from many wealthy european countries too last year, this is what happens when any healthcare system gets overwhelmed . So using these images to relentlessly beat India and especially government of India in a time like this shows the disingenuity of the western press and our sold out media dalals.

Holding back critical raw materials for vaccines and hoarding unapproved, expiring vaccines when pandemic is raging on the other side of the world shows the complete moral bankruptcy of the US administration . During the UPA days when India was increasingly getting cozy with the US, a Pakistani diplomat said "Good for them. They(India) will now know what it feels like to sleep with snakes", for once the Pakis were right on the mark. For all their shortcomings China realized this a good 80 yrs ago and worked on developing a robust self-sufficient infrastructure and ecosystem so they never have to rely on anyone for anything except to buy all the junk they produce. Someday this pandemic will also begin tapering in India, and i hope with it our goldfish memory will also end and we will draw lessons from this experience to be a better and a more self-reliant nation.

Rahul M wrote:KJo, I understand your need to wear stars & stripes on your sleeves but please try not to spin the indefensible ban by US admin into your need to display your superiority vis-a-vis your unwashed Indian friends who have the temerity to laugh at the great uncle sam.
Its in bad taste & the next one will earn a ban.
No need to wait, he is off for a month. These are extraordinary times for any Indian living in India and this is not acceptable posting.
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

I noticed that in all of US admin's tweet from top to the low levels, there was one word missing. Modi or PM etc. What it means I don't know. What exactly is the US government playing at? Regime change?

For most part of this admin Modi is going to be the PM of India and by the time they can do a regime change in India regime could change in US as well in matter of 6 months from Indian General Election result. It will be futile to endeavor in that respect and waste all these years in which they can take relationship forward.

Yaar what "regime change"? Is Modi some Saddam or Yanukovych or Maduro, ruling by brute force or hanging on to a corrupt, misgoverning, questionably-elected administration by the skin of his teeth? No, he is the one man on earth to have been elected & re-elected with more votes than any other democratic leader at any time in history. And the next election is a long time away. 3 years is forever in politics.

They tried regime change with Erdogan in 2016... in a country that is known for successful military coups roughly once per decade... and even there, they failed miserably.

As I have asked before on this thread... Modi ki kya ukhaad legi Biden Sarkar? 2024 is a ways off, and if anything Biden Sarkar has buggered its own chances (feeble as they already were) by showing its cards so early in the game.