India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The best will be a non-response.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

krithivas wrote:US religious panel, a Government body of Evangelical Christians, want to "blacklist" India again. Obviously they strongly believe being "black" is inferior.

U.S. religious freedom panel again calls for India to be blacklisted
https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/world/u- ... c552&ei=12
The USCIRF is a freakshow of white racist, intolerant fanatics. Just some basic research shows they have no morals and no right to judge India.
The nasty beliefs of its so called "commissioners" past and present needs to be made public.

From this https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_St ... us_Freedom

we get this https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frank_Wolf_(politician), which leads to this https://www.nolandalla.com/congressman-cried-wolf/

and this https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Perkins_(politician)
The man who brought a KKK membership list from David Duke.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gary_Bauer

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Hanford

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_J._Chaput

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_K._Young

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elliott_Abrams
"As Assistant Secretary of State, Abrams advocated for aid to Guatemala under then dictator Efraín Ríos Montt. Ríos Montt came to power via a coup in 1982"
"Ríos Montt, who claimed he had no operational control of the forces involved, was convicted of genocide against the Maya-Ixil population"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leonard_Leo

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Land

There are more, while those on the left, who are alligned with the islamists may applaud this USCIRF, they should be reminded of the racist and social views of these people, the list above is just the white christians, I think one is part Native American Charles Joseph Chaput.

We need to be more aggressive in pointing these things out to those who think this USCIRF has any moral standing. If ever this is discussed on radio shows in the USA, phone them up and point the facts out. The left is all for gay rights, abortion, trans rights etc, they should be made aware. Why is an organization of bigots OK when they target India but not the above mentioned groups ?
sanman

Post by sanman »

These people are mostly NeoCons -- certainly Elliot Abrams is -- and NeoCons are totally invested in Ukraine conflict, just as they previously spearheaded the illegal invasion of Iraq. The fact that India won't toe Washington's line on Ukraine means the NeoCons will be up in arms against it (this in spite of NeoCons having run to India, trying to convince Vajpayee & Co to help US occupy Iraq). Once again, NeoCons will fail in their Ukraine crusade, just as they failed in Iraq. We seem to get along better with Trump, whom NeoCons despise every bit as much as Democrats do.

Haresh, well done & thanks.

SSridhar wrote:Haresh, well done & thanks.
Yes. Thanks and kudos for doing the work to document what the USCIRF is composed off!

Haresh, Can you write an article on
Composition of USCRIF member/commissioners
You have done the research and all it needs is a word article typing the refs together.
Either I or SS will edit it.

We can get it published for sure.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

ramana wrote:Haresh, Can you write an article on
Composition of USCRIF member/commissioners
You have done the research and all it needs is a word article typing the refs together.
Either I or SS will edit it.

We can get it published for sure.
I will try to, time permitting. Just remind me occasionally.
This entire thing just shows the double standards of the left wing liberal media.

The organisation that keeps on popping up as a common theme with the USCIRF is the Family Research Council (FRC) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Family_Research_Council

Now they are very active in Africa against any LGBTQ rights, the left condemn them in Africa, but the same people who support it and are members of the USCIRF are heroes if they talk against India.
Just look at this: https://www.theguardian.com/world/2023/ ... lgbtq-bill
This is the work of the FRC, why is their lunacy acceptable against India but not against women/LGBTQ ?

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/202 ... extremists

https://www.splcenter.org/fighting-hate ... ch-council

Let's have some fairness & consistency.

The problem with most Indians we are too polite and timid.
Never hesitate to phone up radio talk shows, you will be nervous at first, but practice and have the information to hand, be assertive and direct. I say to people quite firmly, "you have access to the same internet as I do, I don't have access to a special one, why can't you find this information? unless of course you don't want to or do not want it revealed, so you are either ignorant or a liar"
Call out their double standards
Never be rude, just firm and direct.
When you say these things back, they are normally speechless and back off, forget the days of the timid overly polite Indian.
In short be a 8astard !!

This is what they think we are https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFKJuzrCGj4
Last edited by Haresh on 03 May 2023 23:02, edited 1 time in total.

I agree Haresh.

GoI doesn’t have a setup that can easily poke into US eyes. But, we can do it in other ways. Some MP can ask a question about Indians suffering in the US due to religious hatred and the FM can give a long reply too. Or, Arindam Bagchi can give an elaborate answer to a reporter’s query.

We need to take a leaf out of the Chinese playbook and refine it further. We need to set up a well funded NGO that is independent in name that regularly audits Western social set ups. There is plenty of filth to be found just by scratching the surface. Come up with all sorts of rankings just like Massa does. Institute awards in the name of MLK, Gandhi, Greta Thunberg and give out awards…

If we aspire to be a big power then we need to play these games.

Nandini @NAN_DINI_
God! Woman! You’ve got enough to worry about at home!
Deeply concerning to the rest of the world your drug problem, guns, your unsafe schools, ugly racism, crumbling inner cities, a greedy pharma industry & of course your pronouns for the day!
Hillary Clinton @HillaryClinton

Deeply concerned by the passing of the world's most extreme anti-LGBTQ legislation by the Ugandan parliament. The bill threatens the basic human rights of all Ugandans and puts the lives of LGBTQ people, & their defenders like @frankmugisha at grave risk

One should remember - (though things are breaking down now) - certain functions in the US government go to certain political sides, regardless of who is in power.

For example:

> There has NEVER been a Democrat as FBI Director. All eight FBI directors, starting w/ Hoover in 1924 & including Mueller & Comey, have been Republicans. Republican presidents appoint Repubs to run the FBI. Democratic presidents appoint Repubs to run the FBI. For nearly 100 years!

Similarly, whether the Administration is Democratic or Republican, there is a certain deference into whom all get nominated to USCIRF. It is more complicated than Left vs Right. Think of the politics of appeasement.

@A_Gupta [JEE]

So what?!

Haresh

MEA spokesman:

https://twitter.com/PanchvatiNasik/stat ... OQbFw&s=19

'Misrepresentation Of Facts': India Rejects US Panel Report On Religious Freedom, Asks It To Desist From Such Efforts

Ok you write outline here and will get folks to take it further.

https://www.axios.com/2023/05/06/saudi- ... east-biden
U.S., Saudi, Emirati and Indian national security advisers are expected on Sunday to discuss a possible major joint infrastructure project to connect Gulf and Arab countries via a network of railways that would also be connected to India via shipping lanes from ports in the region, two sources with direct knowledge of the plan told Axios.

Why it matters: The project is one of the key initiatives the White House wants to push in the Middle East as China's influence in the region grows. The Middle East is a key part of China's Belt and Road vision.

Driving the news: White House National Security adviser Jake Sullivan, who is expected to arrive in Saudi Arabia on Saturday, will meet with his Saudi, Emirati and Indian counterparts on Sunday to discuss the project and other regional issues, the two sources said.

A U.S. official said the project will be one of many topics discussed during the visit.

A second U.S. official said Sullivan will discuss with Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman and other Saudi officials the state of the bilateral relationship between Saudi Arabia and the U.S., regional issues, and the possibility of further normalization steps between Saudi Arabia and Israel.

Behind the scenes: The idea for the new initiative came up during talks that were held over the last 18 months in another forum called I2U2, which includes the U.S., Israel, the UAE and India, according to the two sources.
Last edited by ramana on 07 May 2023 21:35, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added bold ramana

I don’t understand the USA. They piss off every partner in the region and then want to build a railroad? What will the rail use for? Moving Chinese goods more efficiently?

vimal wrote:I don’t understand the USA. They piss off every partner in the region and then want to build a railroad? What will the rail use for? Moving Chinese goods more efficiently?
Good initiative. India will become more integrated economically with middle east.

As long as India gets paid. Let's do it.

But I am not too optimistic about the future of this pipeline over the next 20 to 30 years.
vsunder

Post by vsunder »

Hahahaha :rotfl:

These Railways were built a long time ago. People here should read some history or better watch some old time classic war movies.

1. First there was the Istanbul to Baghdad railway that was built using German money. At the start of WW1, the line was about 800km shy of Baghdad. The line was finally completed in 1940 and the principal German aim was to bypass the Suez canal which was controlled by British and French interests(now nationalized by the Egyptians in 1956 by Gamal Abdel Nasser). Oil was another German interest. Lot of technical difficulties were encountered in the Taurus mountains to cut a track through.

2. Then there was the famous Hejaz railway from Damascus to Medina. There was a spur line to Haifa port(now Israel's major port run by Adani and Israel is a backer of this project). The line ran through Amman, Jordan. It was the principal way by which Turks could funnel arms, ammunition and soldiers to fight Faisal and his Arab revolt in WW1. The British sent Lawrence of Arabia or TE Lawrence to interdict and blow up trains on this line with the help of Faisal's irregular force and that is depicted in the movie. Faisal was overthrown by Abdulaziz ibn Saud and Faisal and his progeny left Saudi Arabia. One of his sons was made Emperor of a "fake kingdom" Iraq that never existed in history by the British. There was a coup by the Baath party and that guy was murdered. Another son was made king of another "fake kingdom" by the British, yes The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan where again there was a murder. That branch of Faisal's progeny still rules. The Saudis today are the usurpers who kicked out Faisal in the Lawrence of Arabia movie.

Again a method of bypassing the Suez canal and linking Haifa port to the Red Sea directly. This was a narrow gauge 1050mm track and locos of the 2-8-0 class built by the Swiss Loco works ran on this railway. Post WW1 and the defeat of Turkey and Germany, a lot of the rolling stock was turned over to the Palestine railway run by the British. The railway completely fell into disrepair once the Yarmouk railway bridge in Jordan was blown up by the Jewish Hagannah in 1946. This was a fork of the main Hejaz railway which had already started to fall apart after WW1. The Hagannah operation was carried out on the so-called Night of the Bridges.

The Hejaz railway had one principal purpose, connecting the Caliphate that is the Turkish sultan and the holy cities of Islam Medina, a prestige issue. Any railway that is built will try to connect Haifa to Amman and then into Saudi Arabia with some spur towards the UAE. Syria will be bypassed unlike the Hejaz railway, though the line through Syria is the optimal route.

As I suspected it’s a good chai biskit infra project by unkill. Saudis are rolling in money and can build a railroad if they want with Chinese help. Unkill just wasting everyone’s time. They don’t have anything to offer to anyone worth the sand dunes of Arabia.
Last edited by vimal on 07 May 2023 22:05, edited 1 time in total.

Exactly, the US knows that India and KSA are building the infrastructure for Mumbai to Marseilles.
Hence muscle into it and get key inf and impose US standards to export their goods.
They want to kill it.

“We have to start thinking about what kind of A world we want to leave for Henry Kissinger when we’re all gone” - Charlie Robinson

That is the 100th birthday wishes to HK. He turned 100 today. As they say paapee chairaayu. He outlived most of his allies in Paxi-can.

vimal wrote:I don’t understand the USA. They piss off every partner in the region and then want to build a railroad? What will the rail use for? Moving Chinese goods more efficiently?
Blow hot blow cold - This and sending Garcetti to India to stir-up sub-nationalism. bheda strategy is in order; divide the two camps (seem to be at least two camps) in the current administration.

vsunder wrote:Hahahaha :rotfl:

These Railways were built a long time ago. People here should read some history or better watch some old time classic war movies.
@vsunder gaaru, could you please suggest a few movies? I usually watch movies first to prime my interest I the real events which I read later.
vsunder

Post by vsunder »

Blowing up the Hejaz railway Damascus to Medina by TE Lawrence and the Sharifian Arab irregulars during WW1. The Turks were the enemy in WW1.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LH5ihBv7ro4

I have seen the movie "Lawrence of Arabia" long ago. I need to rewatch with railway thing in mind.

Anyone remember B3W ? Didn't think so, it was launched with some fanfare by Bidenwa at the start of his presidency screaming "America is back". I remember getting enthusiastic about it as a counter to BRI. But no one has heard of B3W ie Build Back Better World or even its "for US release only" version BBB ever since.

vsunder wrote:Blowing up the Hejaz railway Damascus to Medina by TE Lawrence and the Sharifian Arab irregulars during WW1. The Turks were the enemy in WW1.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LH5ihBv7ro4
vsunder ji,

what makes you think that situation has changed even today...

on the surface, the confrontation is just a bit more civil now, but it's also gotten a lot more covert too

erdogan fancies himself the new caliph

White house announces: Indian PM Narendra Modi to visit US on june 22, 2023 (State dinner and all)

India also confirms!

-----
I know some negative comments are likely to follow here but FWIW:
As I posted earlier this is the highest honor in terms of protocol - First official State Visit - - 21 gun salute.. flag-street lining, invitation to stay at Blair House ityadi.. It is higher (in protocol) than earlier Modi's visit(s), or Obama's state dinner to MMS etc.. as I look at the WH records only thing comes close to is June 1963 - State Visit by President Radhakrishnan, or another state dinner to J. Nehru in 1961.

Show and pomp. But Modiji is immune to it.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Amber G. wrote:White house announces: Indian PM Narendra Modi to visit US on june 22, 2023 (State dinner and all)
I know some negative comments are likely to follow here but FWIW:
As I posted earlier this is the highest honor in terms of protocol - First official State Visit - - 21 gun salute.. flag-street lining, invitation to stay at Blair House ityadi.. It is higher (in protocol) than earlier Modi's visit(s), or Obama's state dinner to MMS etc.. as I look at the WH records only thing comes close to is June 1963 - State Visit by President Radhakrishnan, or another state dinner to J. Nehru in 1961.
Vayutuvan wrote:Show and pomp. But Modiji is immune to it.
We gettin the Zia-ul-Haq treatment now, coz we so important.

But western lefty media still crappin all over us.

I think we all know how NYT, WaPo, etc will report on this.

I think we have passed way beyond what the west, especially western media thinks of us. Let them write what they will, can be used conveniently to poke their eye when needed.

More importantly, we should focus on what are the desired outcomes for India and US from this visit? Please share your Top 5 points for each side.
RajaRudra

Post by RajaRudra »

Gracette in India

1) Supreme Court siding with Uddhav
2) Supreme Court championing for Same sex marriage
3) Supreme Court Interfering in the work of Governor in Delhi.

Are we up to some Roller Coster ride in near future?

Cyranoji
The left leaning Dems and DS are setting this up for a mighty fall
This for the beating stick to be used in December campaining me thinks!! :roll:

RajaRudra wrote:Gracette in India

Unbelievable that this woke fellow is working for India or Soros?
He cooks up some issue of nonsense that Governor can't ask for floor test throwing own SC's verdicts into dustbin
Avid

Post by Avid »

Strongly recommend forum members interested in US/India relations to watch this.
It is a different perspective, and in many ways a straight talker.

https://youtu.be/SFqDTwXMYjY

Eric Garcetti ( Ambassador of the United States of America) in India - today presents credentials to Indian President Murmu.

Have you seen those verdicts? Uddhav got nothing, SSM went no where and back with legislative, Dilli CM will get services but not police which was the target.

I'm no Garcetti fan, but what is the connection and what is your point?
RajaRudra

Post by RajaRudra »

Cyrano wrote:

Have you seen those verdicts? Uddhav got nothing, SSM went no where and back with legislative, Dilli CM will get services but not police which was the target.

I'm no Garcetti fan, but what is the connection and what is your point?
Uddhav got nothing
- From today, even if 70% of MLAs ditch the party. a lunatic/sold out party leader can decide the way forward. Even if all the MLAs against that decision. Foreign powers can easily buy that one person and decide the fate.
- SSM - The talk is now mainstreamed. It will be a normal (not some comedy) in cinemas and advertisements. People may start putting cases on house owners who will not rent their house to homos.
- Delhi Gov issue - What if SG start interfering in Central minister homes, offices and even PM house services. ( i may be over worrying or over simplifying things in this).

We like it or not. Courts are taking control of the work for which NGOs are used and Govt is not reacting. The difference between ngos and courts is courts can pass verdicts.
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

^^^Toolkit is leveraging a very-supportive-SC CJI to force disruptive cultural and political changes.